Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C.
Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C.

4.6 stars
(4.6/5) - 33 reviews
1327 14th St. NW
Suite 350
Washington, DC 20005
DCstudent
Joined: Jun 2011
Purchased Course: Mar 2011
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend the DC Course with Marcus

5 stars
June 16, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Marcus Hendahl
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 780
I decided to take the Manhattan GMAT course during the spring semester of my senior year of college. I was only taking 6 hours and, though I wasn't interested in heading to business school until after 2-4 years of working in finance, I figured I'd have more time on my hands then than I would have at any other point int he near future. A friend from school and I decided to sign up for Marcus's GMAT course because it best fit our schedule, and we were both very, very pleased with the experience.

Besides an amazing beard, Marcus has a lot of positive attributes as a GMAT teacher that made the course an enjoyable and productive experience. He has a very good knack for presenting information in a way that is understandable to everyone in the classroom. He provided a good blend of direct teaching and practice problems. Though the sessions were three hours long and at night, I was always engaged and never bored in class. As well, he was very good about detailing what work we should be doing before and after classes, and how we should go about practicing and taking practice tests.

After the first class, I took my diagnostic exam essentially cold and got a 690. Half-way through the course, I took another and received a 720. After each, I took advantage of the weekly Office Hours service, where a Manhattan teacher evaluated my progress, gave me insight to my weaknesses and offered advice for further practice. After my final class session, I took another test and got a 750.

After taking a week off to graduate/celebrate graduating college, I dug in for two weeks of GMAT studying in preparation for my test, taking 2 more Manhattan tests (740,750), and felt relatively frustrated at my stagnant score. With my Verbal score in the 99th percentile and my Math score in the mid to high 80s, I decided to focus exclusively on math. I re-read each of the Manhattan guides multiple times, completed all of the practice problems, and solved the OG guide and the Quant guide in their entirety.

Finally, during my last week of studying, I took the two GMATPrep tests and, to my surprise, found them significantly less challenging than the Manhattan prep tests, and received 770s on both. While some might see this as a failure of the Manhattan test to accurately match the 'official' prep tests, I saw it instead as the same sort of strategy baseball players take in warming up with heavy bats before stepping up to the plate.

When test day came, I was more confident going in. I finished both sections with 10-15 minutes to spare, and came out with a 780. All in all, I had a very pleasant experience with Manhattan GMAT. I would highly recommend the course, and specifically Marcus as an instructor, to anyone looking to raise their score.

paulaklein
Joined: Jun 2011
Purchased Course: Jan 2011
College: University of Michigan
Major: Biology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A wonderful preparatory course!

5 stars
June 9, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Sean Murphy
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I went into the course having never taken a practice exam before, and was able to improve over 100 points from my initial assessment to the actual test. I credit my success on the GMAT to materials Manhattan GMAT provided as well as their EXCELLENT instructors. If you utilize all the resources they make available (free weekly "office hour" phone tutoring sessions each week, comprehensive web study materials, fantastic workbooks broken down by topic) and put in the time, Manhattan GMAT will absolutely improve your score.

My instructor, as well as the instructors I interacted with during office hours, were so passionate about making students comfortable with the exam and mastering effective ways to approach each question. I cannot recommend them highly enough! Even the staff at the front desk and on the phone were friendly and helpful when I interacted with them. Overall my experience was wonderful.

davejglaser
Joined: Dec 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2010
College: College of William and Mary
Major: Finance
Industry: Venture Capital
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan GMAT is the way to go

5 stars
December 13, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Stacey Koprince, Kate McKeon
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I had many friends recommend various GMAT prep classes, but in the end decided to do Manhattan GMAT. I could not have been more pleased with my choice. The classes were fantastic, instructors were engaging, and supplemental materials were beneficial. I exceeded my target score by 30 points and have Manhattan GMAT to thank. Without the class, I would not have been able to score as well as I did. I highly recommend the Manhattan GMAT program to anyone interested in taking a prep course.

scheol79
Joined: Nov 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: Bucknell University
Major: Accounting
Verified Real Student Review

Build a solid foundation and learn the best strategies.

5 stars
December 1, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Guided Self Study Prep Plus
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Stacey Koprince
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
Frist, I am a very picky shopper, and I researched extensively before settling with MGMAT. I am very happy with the result as I made a vast improvement on verbal.

If you take a full advantage of MGMAT's resources, you will solidify your base knowledge on all aspect of GMAT and learn a great deal of effective strategies. Keep up with the syllabus and complete everything in the curriculum. Rest is up to you. Practice!! Practice!! Practice!!


Math: 49
I thought that I did not need as much help on math except I just needed to refresh my memory , but MGMAT provided me with time saving tactics and strategies in approaching frequently appeared question types. Some people may be able to finish math section early, but I needed full 75mins on every practice exams I took. I found real exam harder and thought that I did worse than 49. I probably would have scored lower if I wasn't able to utilize strategies MGMAT taught me.

Verbal: 42
I am not a native speaker, so I was most concerned with verbal section. MGMAT breaks down and tackles questions by their types and subsections of the types. Manhattan SC books are considered the SC bible by many. I didn't need additional materials besides MGMAT lessons and books. I just took as many practice exams as I could leading up to the real test with careful analysis on questions I found were tough.

Insturctor:
I took GMAT twice. One on October and other on November. I didn't have a designated instructor as I was a guided self study customer, but the guided self study comes with two 30 minute sessions with an instructor and post exam analysis session. Stacey took extra time to help me figure out my weaknesses after my first GMAT, and I made a vast improvement on verbal on the second attempt. MGMAT claims that their instructors are what separates MGMAT with the rest, and I strongly agree.

Good luck everyone who wish to beat the GMAT.

Thank you Stacey and Ron from MGMAT!!

adam1080
Joined: Sep 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
College: University of Maryland
Major: Metallurgical & Materials Science
Industry: Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Strongly Recommended. Got me to my 700 80/80 goal

4 stars
September 29, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: JR Tomkinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I entered the Manhattan Online course with basically no foundation or previous study. I have a material engineering degree from a major state university, but my math and verbal skills were both rusty. I was confident in my math skills, but I knew verbal was going to be a major challenge. The Manhattan course was the most useful for me because I simply could not study on my own. It takes a lot of time and effort to get to the 700+ level, and I was not going to be able to do it on my own. The course provided all the material and online content necessary, but most importantly it provided me with a schedule. The teachers of the course held students accountable for knowing the information, and that was the ultimate motivation for me.

The actual class structure was far superior than I was expecting. The software utilized by the program was very user friendly and allowed classroom interaction. The teachers called on students regularly and asked for volunteers to speak over the microphone. I was extremely impressed with the class immersion from an online class. As for the teachers, I could not have asked for a better pair. Both guys had scored in the 790-800 range multiple times and could answer any question you had. JR in particular was outstanding. I strongly recommend taking his class if you have the option.

As for the actual content of the course, I would say they provide a fully comprehensive set of skills to succeed. My initial practice exam came in at a 600 and by the time I was ready to take the actual exam, I was regularly scoring in the 690-740 range. Although I definitely left some points on the table and was slightly disappointed with a 700, I reached my goal and am moving on to the applications.

My only criticism of the course was the advanced content of the Manhattan books were not covered in the course. This is a very small portion of the subject matter, but for anyone scoring in the 700+ range, these skills are essential. I put in extra 5 weeks of intense studying after the course to take it to the next level. I would have liked the teachers to encourage you to cover this material during the course, but I realize everyone is not at the same level.

All in all, I have zero regrets after taking the course. The materials and support provided are priceless. If I have to give one peice of advice that I did not take myself, USE THE OFFICE HOURS! You will wish you did when you are having trouble with absolute values later.

-Adam

ray210
Joined: Aug 2009
Purchased Course: Aug 2009
College: Yale
Major: Political Science
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Scared me into studying (the math part).

4 stars
September 24, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Andrew Mara
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I thought the instructor, Andrew, was pretty good. He was patient when I was completely clueless about something everyone else seemed to understand, and explained it to me. One thing I really dislike is the "pick an answer" exercises, using the cards labeled A through E and a question mark for "I have no clue." It's kind of embarrassing. The classroom is on 14th Street, next to the men's bathhouse -- kind of a transitional area and a hassle to get to if you don't live nearby. Some of the math questions were incredibly difficult (in my opinion), and that scared me so much that I was really giving it my all. In verbal, I was pretty strong already, so I kind of took that part a bit easier (a change to breathe). I give it four stars, vs. 5, because it's kind of an uncomfortable class to take: everyone else is really smart and seemingly smug; it's intimidating and the questions are so much harder than the real exams. I didn't feel happy in the classroom; I felt afraid, insecure, and stupid. But I guess the class did its job.

mymagic
Joined: Sep 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 2010
College: Spelman College
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan GMAT is amazing.

5 stars
September 24, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Andrew Mara
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
If you’re willing to do your part----Manhattan GMAT will absolutely help you beat the GMAT. The course material that is provided covers every topic you need to know in order to do well on the test. The course is outlined in such a way that students have an opportunity to familiarize themselves with the material to a great extent and to master the concepts needed to grasp the concepts being covered. The Math guides that the course offers break the seemingly impossible quant section down into different subtopics that are tackled on a weekly/bi-weekly basis generally speaking so that students can become fairly comfortable with the material being covered before moving on to the next area. The Verbal content of the course was spread fairly evenly throughout the class although, for Sentence Correction for example, students would work of Subject/Verb Agreement one week, modifiers another week, pronoun agreement another week etc. etc. Basically, the course and course materials are organized in such a way that students don't feel as overwhelmed as they otherwise might when faced with the test as a whole.

My instructor Andrew Mara was phenomenal. He broke down complex math/verbal concepts to the very basics so that my classmates and I could better understand the tougher material that we covered. He was always engaging (which is saying something considering we aren't covering very interesting stuff when we’re talking about the GMAT) and he was always willing to answer any and all questions from the class. He gave me advice that was probably the most important piece of information I received when preparing for the GMAT: "Finish the Test." With his help, I came to face the fact that if you can’t answer it within a certain amount of time on the GMAT (i.e. 2 mins for math questions) you need to make your best guess (quickly!!!) and move on. Literally with this advice and the material that we covered in the course that helped shore up my foundation in math which was shaky at best---I saw my score increase over 160 points from my first practice CAT with Manhattan GMAT to the actual exam. In closing---this company knows the GMAT. They give you everything you need do well on the test if you are willing to use the tools they provide and put your best foot forward. The Official Guide Companion and the bright yellow stopwatch and towards the end of my prep period the dry erase board they provide all helped me a great deal. You cannot ask for much more than you get with Manhattan GMAT.

shivanikpandya
Joined: Sep 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 2010
College: Georgetown University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The best decision I ever made!

5 stars
September 3, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Andrew Mara
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
The Manhattan GMAT Prep course is designed for students that want to get a score in the high 600s and 700s. The classroom sizes are small and the instructors themselves have scores in the high 90s percentile. In addition to your weekly classes, Manhattah GMAT offers a free one-on-one phone session with instructors to answer any questions you have - I found this to be really helpful when working through homework problems. What I loved the best about the course however was the test prep materials, including the step by step syllabus - they're set up really well. I would recommend this course to everyone - seriously the best decision I ever made!

carrahej
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
Verified Real Student Review

530-680

4 stars
August 6, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Andrew Mara
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
My math score went from 29th percentile to 73rd percentile. My verbal went from 73rd to 91st. The books are terrific and the tutors are fantastic. Personally I used my tutor strictly for quantitative purposes but my verbal score went up just by doing the homework. I highly recommend this course for anyone who has been away from math since high school. They go through the basics and the tutors quickly realize your general ceiling to create the most effective approach.

I scored a 530 on my first diagnostic and I'm hoping to get a 700+ on my exam!

dbowles1607
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great instructor, phenomenal strategy guides made all the difference.

5 stars
August 5, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Marcus
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I completed the Manhattan GMAT course about 8 weeks prior to taking the actual test, which was a really good idea. Working full-time in finance while taking the class was tough, but spending time to familiarize myself with the type of material through the individual classes was a big help in allowing me to get to a decent level of competency. From there, I built on my notes and studied the strategy guides (which were awesome; see below) for hours on end to get up the learning curve.

While everyone learns differently, I felt like this was the right way for me as the individual classes didn't quite give you enough to truly master the material. Even with the six days of prep time in between, working a busy job didn't really allow me to get a firm grip on some of the broader topics, like number properties, which appear frequently on the test.

That being said, Marcus (the instructor) was really great in showing several different ways to get to the end result. I sat in on other classes a few times and found that Marcus's methods were more in line with my own way of thinking, and quite frankly his teaching style made the 3 hour classes much easier to sit through.

Admittedly, my strategy relied heavily on the strategy guides--ordinarily, I wouldn't have been that comfortable with this, but the guides were so good that it made the work a bit easier. The level of detail contained in the books was perfect, and the breakdown between the "normal" level of material and the "advanced" material was super helpful. This way, I didn't get frustrated by problems that I couldn't solve with a basic understanding of the material, and could master the basics that allowed for the more creative thinking required to solve many of the advanced problems.

The online CAT exams were also extremely helpful, as I found them significantly more difficult than the practice tests available on MBA.com. This helped to prepare me for the real test. In the end, I took 8 practice tests--with scores starting at 550 (taken before the course) and ending with 730 (last practice test, taken two days before the actual test). On the real test, I came out at a 710, which was above my stated goal of 700. I'd say 160 points of improvement was well worth it.

In the end, I would definitely recommend MGMAT to anyone preparing to take the test. Allow for a couple of months, use the strategy guides, and take A LOT of practice tests.

Dan