Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C.
Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C.

4.6 stars
(4.6/5) - 33 reviews
1327 14th St. NW
Suite 350
Washington, DC 20005
btg7777
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Material, The Best Teacher, Class a little too large

4 stars
August 5, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Sean Murphy
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
As a veteran of the SAT, the LSAT, and now the GMAT, I have a pretty good perspective on test prep.

Material:
The materials provided by Manhattan GMAT are top notch. They are incredibly thorough, very easy to use, and will teach you everything that you need for the GMAT. I liked the material because it focused on teaching you the subject, not just on a few tricks. When it comes down to test day, tricks can let you down, while knowing and understanding how the GMAT approaches math, grammar, etc. will get you through the test.

Teacher:
Sean Murphy, my instructor, was hands down the best instructor for test prep that I've had. He was incredibly smart, very energetic, and helped keep some rather dry material interesting. He clearly knew the GMAT inside and out and shared everything he could to give his students the edge.

Class:
I was a little frustrated that the class I was in was so large. It had about 20 people, some of which didn't show up every week (nothing the course could do about that). It is frustrating to have such a large class because you get bogged down in things you don't need to focus on. Were I to prepare for the GMAT again, I would definitely choose Manhattan, but I would want a smaller session with Sean. To be fair, Manhattan offers small group rates which are comparable to the larger class if you can get a group of 5-6 friends together.

Lock0ut
Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Efficient, convient, effective: three words to describe Manhattan GMAT

5 stars
August 5, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Andrew Mara
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I found MGMAT's class, online CATs and content terrific. Some thoughts on my Manhattan GMAT experience:

(1) The online supplement that explains the OG's quantitative solutions and offers alternative methods for solving the problem is worth the price of admission alone. Let's be honest, unless you majored in mathematics, some of the OG explanations are, at best, downright useless.

(2) The available online homework banks and problem sets are phenomenal practice and do a fantastic job of facilitating learning - students can set the time to whatever you like, allowing themselves time to practice without worrying about the clock or setting a time limit per question or for the whole section.

(3) I found the online Fundamentals of Math workshop and accompanying problem sets priceless, particularly since I hadn't taken a math class since high school.

(4) Manhattan GMAT's forums are phenomenal. Manhattan staff have an almost superhuman ability to respond within a day, unwrapping difficult problems into manageable bites.

(5) The ability to watch prerecorded classes online is a convenient asset for those students who may have missed a session or two.

(6) The proprietary books are second to none. Scan any non-partisan GMAT forum and you'll read the same. The math books and Sentence Correction guides are crucial to any student prepping for the exam. I didn't find the Reading Comprehension or Critical Reasoning books earth-shattering, but I was scoring consistently high in verbal coming into the class and ended up with a verbal score in the 98th percentile.

(6) Last, but certainly not least, I have to give credit to Andrew Mara. He was a fantastic instructor. He cared about the students and by the third or fourth session had a pretty good sense of what areas of the GMAT students excelled and where they were struggling, and, most importantly, adapted to those parameters.

As I see it, the whole endeavor is run both efficiently, conveniently, and – most importantly – effectively. I wouldn't have cracked the 700 barrier without Manhattan GMAT.

hsperry
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 2008
Verified Real Student Review

The best out there!

5 stars
August 5, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Jon Winaver
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I took the online course in Washington DC which I believe extends beyond the DC area. I had taken Kaplan years before but showed no improvement in my score. Key differentiators for MGMAT is the organized way of teaching the material, and the quality of faculty. Aside from a slightly better price, the online offers you the convenience of taking the course from your living room, two professors vs. 1 to not slow down the pace of the class (one person answers questions in a chat/voice room while the other one teaches), and custom over-the-phone office hours. My score improved 100 points and I am not attending Kellogg. Great course!