Manhattan Prep
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 414 reviews
juliaclark15
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
College: University of Michigan
Major: Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best Course for Maximizing Your Score!

5 stars
June 29, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Teacher: Mark Sullivan, Jeff Vollmer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I took the Manhattan Prep Live Online Course because I had read great reviews of the company and also saw that they offered a 25% student discount (I am currently a college student, so this was very appealing to me). Manhattan Prep doesn't hold any in-person classes near me, so I had to take the online course. I was a little nervous about it at first because I thought I would get distracted if I wasn't in a classroom. However, I think the online course was a great decision for me. The Manhattan Prep instructors are extremely helpful and make time during class to give you one-on-one attention. There were ~10 people in my class and 2 instructors. The class met for 3 hours every week. The instructors engaged everyone in the classroom by calling on students and making an effort to understand everyone’s thought process. The instructors solved practice problems with us, thoroughly explained common mistakes or misunderstandings, and walked through ways to approach problems that I found extremely useful on the test. I felt comfortable asking questions in class and reaching out to the instructors outside of class as well. Manhattan Prep also offers several practice exams with full, worked-out solutions and performance analytics capabilities. In addition to the 9-week online class, the plethora of resources available to me during through Manhattan Prep (GMAT Official Guide, Manhattan Prep books, practice exams, etc.) were invaluable to my success on the exam! I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to maximize their score on the GMAT!

nicholaus.tucker
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
College: University of Central Arkansas
Major: Music
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep - Shelton Windham

5 stars
June 29, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location) 10 reviews
Teacher: Shelton Windham
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 760
I took the complete GMAT prep course with Shelton, and it was a great experience. He delivered really high-quality, exploratory lectures that really dove into the heart of what the GMAT tests: logic. My first practice score was a 580, and I ended up with a 760 when I finally took the GMAT.

I saw my practice test scores go up considerably during the duration of the course, and kept studying on my own well past the end of the class. My time with Shelton proved more valuable the longer I studied, and I really credit a lot of my success both to his actual instruction and his methodical way of teaching his students to analyze their own weaknesses and address them head-on.

There are no miracles when it comes to test-prep, and you won't wake up with a 700+ score if you don't put in the effort. If you're willing to work for it, though, there's no better choice than Shelton to get you up-to-snuff with the material.

bobgrech
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Great Experience with GMAT Manhattan Prep Course - Ryan McGorman

5 stars
June 28, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Ryan McGorman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I took the 9-session GMAT course with Manhattan Prep with Ryan McGorman. Class was extremely helpful in preparing for the test. I increased 140 points from my first practice test. Ryan was a great instructor and does a great job teaching how to approach every type question on the GMAT. He is also very helpful and willing to speak outside of class. The course also comes with great study material for all of the subjects covered on the test as well as 6 realistic practice test

nvs2110
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Definitely worth it!

5 stars
June 10, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 30 reviews
Teacher: Logan Thompson
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 750
Would not have been able to get this score without Manhattan Prep. The framework that they put around the questions is critical and makes it easy to understand how to approach problems. Logan was a fantastic instructor - he reinforced key frameworks / concepts in every class and challenged us to always think of multiple ways to solve problems. In addition to the standard Manhattan Prep offerings, I used the Advanced Quant strategy guide. Even though I only got the book a week before my official test, I felt much more comfortable approaching the more difficult quant problems after reading through it. Would definitely recommend Manhattan Prep and Logan to anyone looking to take the GMAT!

sj1234
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
College: Columbia University
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Would highly recommend if you need a good study schedule and to learn specific GMAT strategies

5 stars
June 1, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Teacher: Michael Morgan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 740
Came here for the full 9-week GMAT course and my instructor was Mike Morgan. It was a really useful course. The materials and syllabus for the class are well-planned and kept me on track to take the exam about 1.5 months after finishing the course. I worked a 60+ hour/week job while studying, so the homework was a bit tough to keep up with, but I felt it was very valuable to do so. My instructor was also great. His strength was definitely Quant, which is what I most needed help on and it ended up being my strength on the actual exam. He also did a good job of sending up post-course materials whenever we needed and working with us individually during breaks in class if we had specific questions. Most of my coworkers recommended Manhattan Prep over other prep sites and I agree. I would recommend that you take this course if you want an in-person weekly class to keep you on schedule. In addition, if you don't struggle as much with the content but more with specific GMAT strategies, this course would also be a good option. It's not really a course to teach you math/verbal content, since usually the content itself is straightforward - I feel that this is where a lot of other prep companies fall short, as they spend too much time on the content - but rather the tricks and strategies to help you do well on the exam. Each course also comes with a lot of guides, the OG, and a testing dry-erase pad. The online exams are also extremely helpful to supplement the 2 official GMAC practice exams. To me, the MPrep exams were much harder but also helped me perform better as a result.

jtheffelfinger
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A Surprisingly Enjoyable Experience

5 stars
May 21, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 32 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Vollmer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 710
It was not until after the 9 week in-person group GMAT course was complete that I learned that we had been Mr. Jeff Vollmer's inaugural class. I must say that I was surprised, because Jeff's teaching throughout the course was so effective and seamless. Jeff has an uncanny ability to answer questions and address confusion in such a way that benefits the entire class despite widely varying ability levels amongst the students. He also has a knack for demonstrating multiple viable methods for attacking the same problem. For those new to the exam, this a critical skill; you will not always have time to execute a full algebraic solution to a problem for instance. You must have multiple tools in your GMAT toolbox, and you must be comfortable in quickly discerning which approach is appropriate for the problem at hand. To boot, Jeff is also a humorous and inclusive teacher, and he made our multi-hour Thursday night study sessions, dare I say it, enjoyable.

As a military officer transitioning out of the service to business school, whose quant skills were certainly a bit rusty, I am very happy that I was able to achieve a 710. I am grateful to Jeff and MPrep, and I would enthusiastically recommend the service to anyone who is considering it.

dd43565
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Daniel Fogel

5 stars
May 6, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Teacher: Daniel Fogel
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 750
After I took the GMAT four times, I saw my score go from a 670, to a 600, to a 660 to a 680. I wanted to break into the 700-club. After exhausting nearly every book, website, CAT exam, I turned to the experts. Daniel is an incredible tutor. Daniel showed me that it isn't enough to simply do the problem and then review the ones you get wrong. Take the time to reflect on the problems and ask questions such as: What could I have done differently? Should I have skipped? On the math section, aside from helping me get a better grasp on the material, Daniel helped me develop a plan of which problems I should skip. Giving the time constraints, this proved invaluable.

I think where Daniel added the most value was for Verbal. Remember, the GMAT is beatable! Man made it, man can beat it. Daniel showed me the tricks of the trade when it came to issues such as parallelism and how to spot those tricks, something that is very important when you get to the higher-level verbal questions.

In addition to going over problems, Daniel also had me do targeted sets and make up my own problems. This type of teaching definitely helped push me over the hump. Now I am riding high on a 750. I know that Daniel is too humble to take the credit, but he deserves all of the credit and then some. He is a great teacher and really helps break down the material into digestible pieces all while rewiring your brain to really learn how this test is made.

I would recommend Daniel to anyone is having trouble getting over the 700 hump.

Best of luck!

moshelibbin
Joined: Jun 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
College: Emory University
Major: Business
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Breaking 700: Practice, Persistence and a Perfect Instructor

5 stars
May 1, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Teacher: Daniel Fogel
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 720
While I was initially hesitant to hire a private tutor due to the cost, I can wholeheartedly say that time with Daniel Fogel is worth every penny. Daniel explained even the most complex of topics in a simple and digestible manner and also was fantastic at incorporating humor into his sessions. Moreover, Daniel was unbelievable at identifying my weakness areas and he expertly prescribed a very specific set of work for me to do each week. Daniel was always mindful of my goal to break a 700 and having him encourage me to continue pushing by taking CATs and completing tailored material was an absolute difference maker. Daniel shared numerous unique tips and tricks and he shed light on test-taking strategies just as often as he helped me bridge my content gaps in both verbal and quant!

I highly recommend working with Daniel based on his upbeat attitude, strong background in test taking, friendliness and passion for wanting to help others succeed. Daniel was always flexible with appointments and ensured that each session was recorded with detailed notes so that I could allude back to his points! Additionally, Daniel made himself available at almost all hours to ensure I was making progress and comfortable with my weekly assignments.

Daniel helped me push my score from a 680 to a 720 and I could not be happier! Daniel had me work hard and dig deep but there is no doubt in my mind that I would not have attained my dream score if I had never committed to the 2 months of sessions with Daniel.

jmyron
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: Miami University of Ohio
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome teacher and overall experience

5 stars
March 13, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Teacher: Elaine Loh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I took a 9 session, live online course with Elaine Loh at Manhattan Prep. I couldn't speak more highly of her and the overall experience. I got a 580 on my first practice test at the start of class. My score slowly went up throughout class and peaked on test day at a 730 about 4.5 months after the start of class. Elaine brought a ton of enthusiasm and motivation to every single class. She also was extremely responsive and helpful after the class ended. She gave me multiple suggestions and strategy tips in the weeks leading up to my exam. I was able to increase my verbal score 3 points thanks to her last minute advice. I recommend Manhattan and Elaine especially to all GMAT takers.

Laurachez4
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: Smith College
Major: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies, and Humanities
Industry: Real Estate Development
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep helped me raise my score 150 points!

5 stars
March 13, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Reed Arnold
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I had a great experience with Manhattan Prep! My starting practice GMAT score was 560 and my final official score was 710. A 150 point increase!! I took the class in NYC with Reed Arnold, and I highly recommend taking the course especially with him. Reed made the classes very enjoyable and effective, and he scheduled weekly "study groups" at a nearby coffee shop for students to get extra help from him and other classmates. I went to a couple of the study groups and was able to ask him about specific problems, and get detailed explanations for them. The Manhattan Prep guide books were a great resource, too. I studied about 25-30 hours per week outside of class for about 8 weeks, so you can't expect the course to raise your score without your own self-guided study. Manhattan Prep was the an awesome resource, along with the Wiley guides.