Manhattan Prep
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

Best Promo Code 2019 & Verified Reviews

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 418 reviews
dd43565
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Daniel Fogel

5 stars
May 6, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Teacher: Daniel Fogel
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 750
After I took the GMAT four times, I saw my score go from a 670, to a 600, to a 660 to a 680. I wanted to break into the 700-club. After exhausting nearly every book, website, CAT exam, I turned to the experts. Daniel is an incredible tutor. Daniel showed me that it isn't enough to simply do the problem and then review the ones you get wrong. Take the time to reflect on the problems and ask questions such as: What could I have done differently? Should I have skipped? On the math section, aside from helping me get a better grasp on the material, Daniel helped me develop a plan of which problems I should skip. Giving the time constraints, this proved invaluable.

I think where Daniel added the most value was for Verbal. Remember, the GMAT is beatable! Man made it, man can beat it. Daniel showed me the tricks of the trade when it came to issues such as parallelism and how to spot those tricks, something that is very important when you get to the higher-level verbal questions.

In addition to going over problems, Daniel also had me do targeted sets and make up my own problems. This type of teaching definitely helped push me over the hump. Now I am riding high on a 750. I know that Daniel is too humble to take the credit, but he deserves all of the credit and then some. He is a great teacher and really helps break down the material into digestible pieces all while rewiring your brain to really learn how this test is made.

I would recommend Daniel to anyone is having trouble getting over the 700 hump.

Best of luck!

moshelibbin
Joined: Jun 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
College: Emory University
Major: Business
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Breaking 700: Practice, Persistence and a Perfect Instructor

5 stars
May 1, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Teacher: Daniel Fogel
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 720
While I was initially hesitant to hire a private tutor due to the cost, I can wholeheartedly say that time with Daniel Fogel is worth every penny. Daniel explained even the most complex of topics in a simple and digestible manner and also was fantastic at incorporating humor into his sessions. Moreover, Daniel was unbelievable at identifying my weakness areas and he expertly prescribed a very specific set of work for me to do each week. Daniel was always mindful of my goal to break a 700 and having him encourage me to continue pushing by taking CATs and completing tailored material was an absolute difference maker. Daniel shared numerous unique tips and tricks and he shed light on test-taking strategies just as often as he helped me bridge my content gaps in both verbal and quant!

I highly recommend working with Daniel based on his upbeat attitude, strong background in test taking, friendliness and passion for wanting to help others succeed. Daniel was always flexible with appointments and ensured that each session was recorded with detailed notes so that I could allude back to his points! Additionally, Daniel made himself available at almost all hours to ensure I was making progress and comfortable with my weekly assignments.

Daniel helped me push my score from a 680 to a 720 and I could not be happier! Daniel had me work hard and dig deep but there is no doubt in my mind that I would not have attained my dream score if I had never committed to the 2 months of sessions with Daniel.

jmyron
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: Miami University of Ohio
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome teacher and overall experience

5 stars
March 13, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Teacher: Elaine Loh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I took a 9 session, live online course with Elaine Loh at Manhattan Prep. I couldn't speak more highly of her and the overall experience. I got a 580 on my first practice test at the start of class. My score slowly went up throughout class and peaked on test day at a 730 about 4.5 months after the start of class. Elaine brought a ton of enthusiasm and motivation to every single class. She also was extremely responsive and helpful after the class ended. She gave me multiple suggestions and strategy tips in the weeks leading up to my exam. I was able to increase my verbal score 3 points thanks to her last minute advice. I recommend Manhattan and Elaine especially to all GMAT takers.

Laurachez4
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: Smith College
Major: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies, and Humanities
Industry: Real Estate Development
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep helped me raise my score 150 points!

5 stars
March 13, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 289 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 98 reviews
Teacher: Reed Arnold
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I had a great experience with Manhattan Prep! My starting practice GMAT score was 560 and my final official score was 710. A 150 point increase!! I took the class in NYC with Reed Arnold, and I highly recommend taking the course especially with him. Reed made the classes very enjoyable and effective, and he scheduled weekly "study groups" at a nearby coffee shop for students to get extra help from him and other classmates. I went to a couple of the study groups and was able to ask him about specific problems, and get detailed explanations for them. The Manhattan Prep guide books were a great resource, too. I studied about 25-30 hours per week outside of class for about 8 weeks, so you can't expect the course to raise your score without your own self-guided study. Manhattan Prep was the an awesome resource, along with the Wiley guides.

kdailey
Joined: Nov 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep Is Exceptional

5 stars
January 31, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 289 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 98 reviews
Teacher: Matthew Brandon
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I had an excellence experience with Manhattan Prep. Manhattan Prep provides a complete package of study material (including practice exams and subject-specific books), ideal for people aiming to reach a top ten percentile score. My instructor, Matthew Brandon, kept the class engaged and had a superb grasp on the content. I left each class excited to practice the skills I learned and discover how much my performance had improved. In the end, it most certainly paid off, as I achieved a score of 760 (Q50, V42), which was well above what I was targeting.

jaririzvi
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: Haverford College
Major: Economics
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

If you want to get your best score, sign up for Manhattan GMAT right now!

5 stars
January 30, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 289 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Silicon Valley 8 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Jacobs
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 490   After: 750
Manhattan GMAT is really worth the money! I took an in-person course with Ryan Jacobs, and the overall quality of the class far surpassed my expectations. If you make full use of the homework, subject guides, practice tests, and online "Interact Lessons", you will see significant improvement in your scores (260 points from my first practice test, 100 points from my second)!

Ryan brings a lot of GMAT teaching experience to the class. He has done his MBA, so he also explains why the GMAT tests concepts the way it does. This helped me to adjust my thinking throughout the course, ultimately shaping my test-taking strategy. I come from a mathematics background, so I was used to working on a problem until I got it right. It took a lot of practice and guidance from Ryan to adjust to thinking like a test-writer, improving my speed, and increasing accuracy.

If you are serious about getting the best GMAT score you can, sign up for Manhattan GMAT and do all of the practice problems, assigned homework, practice tests, and Interact Lessons. You will see significant improvement in your scores!

tytham
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring - Dave Mahler

5 stars
January 30, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 98 reviews
Teacher: Dave Mahler
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 720
Got my target 720 score after approx 4 months that comprised self study, Manhattan Prep's 9-week course on Wall street Manhattan (Dave Mahler was our instructor), and private tutoring (also with Dave Mahler). I started with a 590 Manhattan Prep GMAT practice test.

After the 9 week course, I spent a couple of weeks wrapping up the GMAT OG and then I took a real GMAT test. Bombed it. I decided I needed more targetted tutoring, so I splurged on the private tutoring (8 lessons in total). This was worth every penny. Dave diagnosed my flawed test-taking strategies, and his private lessons sharpened my quant and verbal reasoning skills. These lessons were challenging but crucial to my success on the test - he would often ask me to explain my thought processes WHILE I solved tough problems (DS, PS, SC, CR), and this invariably forces you to think critically about every single step in your own problem-solving process. Every step in my problem-solving process was critiqued and improved upon. As important, Dave was extremely optimistic and encouraging throughout this whole process. He was a firm supporter and you feel that he's invested in your success.

TL DR: Manhattan Prep's private tutoring is very strongly recommended. Dave Mahler is very strongly recommended.

tytham
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep Review

5 stars
January 30, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 289 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 98 reviews
Teacher: Dave Mahler
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 720
Got my target 720 score after approx 4 months that comprised self study, Manhattan Prep's 9-week course on Wall street Manhattan (Dave Mahler was our instructor), and private tutoring (also with Dave Mahler). I started with a 590 Manhattan Prep GMAT practice test. Quite frankly, I could not have managed the 720 without Manhattan Prep.

1. The 9-week course: This was a great start for me as my math skills were very rusty (haven't touched math since high school and my day-to-day work doesn't require the use of any meaningful quant skill - I'm a lawyer). The math foundations and GMAT test strategies explored in class were concise and immediately helpful. Dave Mahler was our instructor - I highly recommend him for the clarity with which he explains tough concepts (particularly Data Sufficiency and Critical Reasoning). FYI the 9-week course comes with the full suite of Manhattan Prep Books, which were all great - concise, clear, and effective - no verbiage which is good for busy professionals.

2. Private tutoring: After the 9 week course, I spent a couple of weeks wrapping up the GMAT OG and then I took a real GMAT test. Bombed it. I decided I needed more targetted tutoring, so I splurged on the private tutoring (8 lessons in total). This was worth every penny. Dave diagnosed my flawed test-taking strategies, and his private lessons sharpened my quant and verbal reasoning skills. These lessons were challenging but crucial to my success on the test - he would often ask me to explain my thought processes WHILE I solved tough problems (DS, PS, SC, CR), and this invariably forces you to think critically about every single step in your own problem-solving process. Every step in my problem-solving process was critiqued and improved upon. As important, Dave was extremely optimistic and encouraging throughout this whole process. He was a firm supporter and you feel that he's invested in your success.

TL DR: Manhattan Prep's 9 week course and private tutoring are both very strongly recommended. Manhattan Prep's books are very strongly recommended. Dave Mahler is very strongly recommended.

alliem
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: May 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome - Take Stephanie M's Class!

5 stars
January 26, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Teacher: Stephanie Moyerman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
Amazing -- I could not recommend this place more. Stephanie Moyerman was incredibly and I fully credit her with getting me to an awesome score. Stephanie was incredibly attentive and knew how to pace the class so that no one was left behind or getting bored / feeling like they weren't be challenged. Even though it was a "Live Online" class, Stephanie made herself available outside of the classroom to answer any questions / provide a morale boost. Thanks to Stephanie and MP, I received a full ride to my dream school!

sarasuper
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Verified Real Student Review

10/10 Highly Recommend -- ESPECIALLY CHRIS

5 stars
January 20, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 289 reviews
Teacher: Chris Peckover
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I've conceded to the idea that almost no one is naturally good at the GMAT. I genuinely think that you have to learn how to do this test, and that's the whole reason its so tricky. Manhattan is exceptional in making their test strategies clear and re-framing studying for the GMAT as a process of learning tactics. Their trigger-response methodology is sensible and manageable. Moreover, the course takes 9 weeks, which feels like an appropriate amount of time to get a basic understanding of all the work that should go into the "studying process." When I finished the course, I personally felt energized to get to work with the foundation my phenomenal teacher had laid down.

More on my teacher-- Chris. This guy is where its at. Point blank.
Not only is he brilliant but also he's hilarious. He's the kind of guy that makes even the most ridiculous math problem sound annoyingly logical because of how clearly his brain dissects it and how conversationally he can explain it. He makes the hours of class fly by by keeping his energy up throughout the course. Plus, he's consistent-- every day he showed up to class with the same energized and excited demeanor. Chris truly made the whole 9 week process feel like we were training for a fun event, like learning the new strategies was doing a crossword or a sodoku with friends, as opposed to studying for a big looming test.

If you're going to do a prep course, do Manhattan. And if you're going to do Manhattan, do yourself a favor and get into Chris's class.