Manhattan Prep
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 414 reviews
kdailey
Joined: Nov 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep Is Exceptional

5 stars
January 31, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Matthew Brandon
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I had an excellence experience with Manhattan Prep. Manhattan Prep provides a complete package of study material (including practice exams and subject-specific books), ideal for people aiming to reach a top ten percentile score. My instructor, Matthew Brandon, kept the class engaged and had a superb grasp on the content. I left each class excited to practice the skills I learned and discover how much my performance had improved. In the end, it most certainly paid off, as I achieved a score of 760 (Q50, V42), which was well above what I was targeting.

jaririzvi
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: Haverford College
Major: Economics
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

If you want to get your best score, sign up for Manhattan GMAT right now!

5 stars
January 30, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Silicon Valley 8 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Jacobs
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 490   After: 750
Manhattan GMAT is really worth the money! I took an in-person course with Ryan Jacobs, and the overall quality of the class far surpassed my expectations. If you make full use of the homework, subject guides, practice tests, and online "Interact Lessons", you will see significant improvement in your scores (260 points from my first practice test, 100 points from my second)!

Ryan brings a lot of GMAT teaching experience to the class. He has done his MBA, so he also explains why the GMAT tests concepts the way it does. This helped me to adjust my thinking throughout the course, ultimately shaping my test-taking strategy. I come from a mathematics background, so I was used to working on a problem until I got it right. It took a lot of practice and guidance from Ryan to adjust to thinking like a test-writer, improving my speed, and increasing accuracy.

If you are serious about getting the best GMAT score you can, sign up for Manhattan GMAT and do all of the practice problems, assigned homework, practice tests, and Interact Lessons. You will see significant improvement in your scores!

tytham
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring - Dave Mahler

5 stars
January 30, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Dave Mahler
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 720
Got my target 720 score after approx 4 months that comprised self study, Manhattan Prep's 9-week course on Wall street Manhattan (Dave Mahler was our instructor), and private tutoring (also with Dave Mahler). I started with a 590 Manhattan Prep GMAT practice test.

After the 9 week course, I spent a couple of weeks wrapping up the GMAT OG and then I took a real GMAT test. Bombed it. I decided I needed more targetted tutoring, so I splurged on the private tutoring (8 lessons in total). This was worth every penny. Dave diagnosed my flawed test-taking strategies, and his private lessons sharpened my quant and verbal reasoning skills. These lessons were challenging but crucial to my success on the test - he would often ask me to explain my thought processes WHILE I solved tough problems (DS, PS, SC, CR), and this invariably forces you to think critically about every single step in your own problem-solving process. Every step in my problem-solving process was critiqued and improved upon. As important, Dave was extremely optimistic and encouraging throughout this whole process. He was a firm supporter and you feel that he's invested in your success.

TL DR: Manhattan Prep's private tutoring is very strongly recommended. Dave Mahler is very strongly recommended.

tytham
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep Review

5 stars
January 30, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Dave Mahler
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 720
Got my target 720 score after approx 4 months that comprised self study, Manhattan Prep's 9-week course on Wall street Manhattan (Dave Mahler was our instructor), and private tutoring (also with Dave Mahler). I started with a 590 Manhattan Prep GMAT practice test. Quite frankly, I could not have managed the 720 without Manhattan Prep.

1. The 9-week course: This was a great start for me as my math skills were very rusty (haven't touched math since high school and my day-to-day work doesn't require the use of any meaningful quant skill - I'm a lawyer). The math foundations and GMAT test strategies explored in class were concise and immediately helpful. Dave Mahler was our instructor - I highly recommend him for the clarity with which he explains tough concepts (particularly Data Sufficiency and Critical Reasoning). FYI the 9-week course comes with the full suite of Manhattan Prep Books, which were all great - concise, clear, and effective - no verbiage which is good for busy professionals.

2. Private tutoring: After the 9 week course, I spent a couple of weeks wrapping up the GMAT OG and then I took a real GMAT test. Bombed it. I decided I needed more targetted tutoring, so I splurged on the private tutoring (8 lessons in total). This was worth every penny. Dave diagnosed my flawed test-taking strategies, and his private lessons sharpened my quant and verbal reasoning skills. These lessons were challenging but crucial to my success on the test - he would often ask me to explain my thought processes WHILE I solved tough problems (DS, PS, SC, CR), and this invariably forces you to think critically about every single step in your own problem-solving process. Every step in my problem-solving process was critiqued and improved upon. As important, Dave was extremely optimistic and encouraging throughout this whole process. He was a firm supporter and you feel that he's invested in your success.

TL DR: Manhattan Prep's 9 week course and private tutoring are both very strongly recommended. Manhattan Prep's books are very strongly recommended. Dave Mahler is very strongly recommended.

alliem
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: May 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome - Take Stephanie M's Class!

5 stars
January 26, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Teacher: Stephanie Moyerman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
Amazing -- I could not recommend this place more. Stephanie Moyerman was incredibly and I fully credit her with getting me to an awesome score. Stephanie was incredibly attentive and knew how to pace the class so that no one was left behind or getting bored / feeling like they weren't be challenged. Even though it was a "Live Online" class, Stephanie made herself available outside of the classroom to answer any questions / provide a morale boost. Thanks to Stephanie and MP, I received a full ride to my dream school!

sarasuper
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Verified Real Student Review

10/10 Highly Recommend -- ESPECIALLY CHRIS

5 stars
January 20, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Teacher: Chris Peckover
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I've conceded to the idea that almost no one is naturally good at the GMAT. I genuinely think that you have to learn how to do this test, and that's the whole reason its so tricky. Manhattan is exceptional in making their test strategies clear and re-framing studying for the GMAT as a process of learning tactics. Their trigger-response methodology is sensible and manageable. Moreover, the course takes 9 weeks, which feels like an appropriate amount of time to get a basic understanding of all the work that should go into the "studying process." When I finished the course, I personally felt energized to get to work with the foundation my phenomenal teacher had laid down.

More on my teacher-- Chris. This guy is where its at. Point blank.
Not only is he brilliant but also he's hilarious. He's the kind of guy that makes even the most ridiculous math problem sound annoyingly logical because of how clearly his brain dissects it and how conversationally he can explain it. He makes the hours of class fly by by keeping his energy up throughout the course. Plus, he's consistent-- every day he showed up to class with the same energized and excited demeanor. Chris truly made the whole 9 week process feel like we were training for a fun event, like learning the new strategies was doing a crossword or a sodoku with friends, as opposed to studying for a big looming test.

If you're going to do a prep course, do Manhattan. And if you're going to do Manhattan, do yourself a favor and get into Chris's class.

wendersyang
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: Ivey Business School, Western University
Major: Business
Industry: Food/Beverage
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you Elaine Loh!

5 stars
January 17, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - West LA 6 reviews
Teacher: Elaine Loh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 720
Without Manhattan Prep and specifically, my private instructor Elaine Loh, I could not have broken through the 700 barrier. I owe my entire 720 (Q49, V40) to Elaine's guidance, tutoring, and her holistic way of teaching. Content is not the sole focus of Elaine's teaching; of course, content is important up to a certain point, but your style of studying and mentality are equally important. Elaine put a huge emphasis on error logging and having a positive and relaxed mindset, and I can honestly say that these two things probably made the biggest difference in my studying.

After I started error logging and becoming more "mindful", upon Elaine's suggestion, my practice scores shot up exponentially. Just for reference, I began my GMAT journey at 600!

More so than her awesome way of teaching, Elaine is just really darn knowledgeable about the GMAT. The way that she is able to clarify points of confusion in a very clear and concise manner is not something that just any smart person can do! She also taught me certain strategies that were very helpful to ultimately succeeding on the GMAT.

All in all, as you can see, I am a huge fan of Elaine and Manhattan Prep. While I can't speak for other instructors, I certainly have no doubts that Manhattan Prep is a top-notch company. If you are struggling with the GMAT, I would highly recommend Manhattan Prep and Elaine Loh!

amvought
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: University of Southern California
Major: Anthropology
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Helped this liberal arts major score a 720 with 46 Q!

5 stars
January 16, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - West LA 6 reviews
Teacher: Dan Patinkin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I completed 10 hours of private instruction with Dan Patinkin upon the enthusiastic recommendation of a personal friend, who had in turn been enthusiastically recommended by both of her MBA bosses. I would like to keep the enthusiastic chain of recommendation momentum going!

Obviously, everyone's results will vary depending on what their strength and weaknesses are, and their individual learning styles. So I'll just keep this to my personal experience.

I began studying for the GMAT in August of 2017. I work in non-profits and studied the liberal arts; the last time I did math was AP Stats in high school and I never took anything more advanced than Algebra 2. Thinking about standardized testing, let alone math, still makes my heart race.

From the get-go, I knew my work with Dan would be pretty much exclusively dedicated to quant, and that's partially why it was important to me to spring for personal tutoring rather than a class. Wouldn't have made sense to spend my precious time and money practicing verbal, since I desperately needed extra support with math.

Manhattan's attention to detail, and that of Dan specifically, helped me transform over the space of a few short months. Don't get me wrong, you have to work a lot.... like 10-15 hours per week for 4+ months... but for me, the hardest part of studying has always been knowing exactly WHERE to focus my efforts, and that's what Manhattan/Dan took care of for me.

So all I had to do, thanks to his help, was.... practice.

At one point, I scored a 490 on a practice test and CRIED. I am proud to say that last month, I sat for my very first (and final!) GMAT in December 2017 and scored a 720 -- 46 Q (WAY above my target) and 44 V!

I wouldn't have been able to make a fraction of these gains -- let alone keep my cool -- if it weren't for Dan's insight, generosity, and encouragement.

Thank you!

zancap
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
College: Rhodes College
Major: Political Science
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Instructor, Great Resources

5 stars
January 4, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 32 reviews
Teacher: Marcus Hedahl
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I had a highly positive experience taking a GMAT prep class at Manhattan Prep on Wednesday evenings from March to May 2017. I came in with little familiarity with the GMAT's format as well as a poor understanding of the level of effort necessary to prepare for the exam. Manhattan Prep did a fantastic job of acclimating me to the exam's content and providing excellent resources for preparation.

The most impressive part of the class was, however, the instructor, Marcus Hedahl. Marcus has an exceptional grasp of the GMAT's topics and does a great job of coaching students through the content effectively. Even more impressive, Marcus brings energy and engagement to the class despite its three-hour runtime at the end of the workday. There was never a dull moment over the course of the nine-week class.

Marcus helped me better understand what score range I could reach by test day. Initially, I was happy with the 80th percentile I was getting on Verbal in practice exams, but Marcus encouraged me to push for the high 90th percentile. After putting in additional work on Reading Comp and Critical Reasoning, my Verbal score on test day (44) definitely went a long way in bringing my total score up into the 700s.

I was also really pleased with the wide array of resources- both online and printed- that Manhattan Prep included in their 9-week class. In the final weeks leading up to test day, I used the online video lessons to refresh on earlier topics. I also used topic-specific practice question sets to drill hard on weak points.

Thanks to Manhattan Prep's first-rate instruction and excellent resources, I went from prep scores in the mid-600s to a 730 on test day.

MirandaZ
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Manhattan GMAT

5 stars
January 3, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Keith Blume
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 740
I was very lucky to have studied with Keith from Chicago. I initially met Keith through the Manhattan GMAT class pack in which he was the instructor, and later took a few private classes with him to improve my understanding.

Overall, Keith is a very efficient and to-the-point instructor. I was quite confident in math but was making unnecessary mistakes so Keith pinpointed it to exactly where it was and provided CUSTOMIZED study plans for me based on my goal and schedule. As for verbal, he was instrumental in teaching me how to read and answer the question.

My first practice test was in the 600, and with the help of Keith and many hours of hard work, I increased a score of 100+. I would highly recommend Keith to any student who would like to learn and achieve a good score.

Manhattan GMAT also offers one of the best online platforms. It syncs up with the book and the explanations really helped me understand why an answer was right, and better yet, why other answers were wrong. In addition, you can use the report feature to see your overall performance and area of improvement. I would recommend taking a GMAT course with Keith through Manhattan. Thank you Keith!