Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 396 reviews
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Dec 2009
Verified Real Student Review

MGMAT offers thorough and comprehensive GMAT preparation

5 stars
August 4, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 276 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 91 reviews
Teacher: Jonathan Schneider
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I enrolled in Manhattan GMAT's NYC Winter C 2010 9-Session Prep Course and was extremely satisfied with both the services provided by MGMAT as well as my score.

My instructor, Jonathan Schneider, was engaging, energetic, and most importantly, an awesome instructor. His grasp of the test and the material was seemingly unparalleled. Jon would consistently push students to their limits in way that everyone felt comfortable to participate and to learn. He had the command of the material to make up examples on the spot that targeted specific areas, which are tested on the GMAT. These can range from relative clauses to number properties. Jon was able to clearly and concisely review key concepts in order for the students to learn the material and do well on the test. This brings me to my next point. The goal of MGMAT is to teach the material as opposed to gaming the test with tricks/tips, which may or may not work on test day. I have found myself using the grammar learned in the class on a day to day basis. I understand this isn't the goal of the course but it helped me to A. score well on the test and B. become a more polished writer.

In addition to the weekly live in person session, MGMAT offers all of its students more tools than I believe any student can actually use in order to prepare for the GMAT. Some of these include video labs, online q banks, spreadsheets to track your progress on OG problems, 30 minute telephone tutoring sessions, calendars aimed to guide your preparation, Ipod flash cards, in class handouts, and the list goes on. This is important because everyone studies a little differently and it is great to have a bevy of resources so that each student is able to find multiple offerings to aid in his/her test prep.

The personal touch is something that set MGMAT apart in my opinion. Due to some unforeseen plans, my test date got pushed back later than I would have liked and Jon was still willing to review all of my test data and help guide my preparation during the final weeks leading up to the test.

I recommend MGMAT to all prospective students. From my experience you will have an instructor that feels vested in your success and will provide you with all the tools necessary to reach your potential.

Joined: Apr 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great Preparation

5 stars
August 4, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 276 reviews
Teacher: Sajeev Cherian
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
After researching prep classes for a few weeks, it became clear that Manhattan GMAT would be the best class for me. The focus on 700+ scores along with emphasis on learning the fundamentals of the subject matter made the course well worth the cost. I'd recommend it to anyone willing to put in the effort.

Make no mistake about it, the course load is heavy, particularly if you are working a full time job at the same time. The curriculum focuses on drilling the fundamentals of each subject into your head, as opposed to just giving you test day tricks and strategies. While this takes considerably more time and effort, I think this is the best way to achieve a 700+ score. You aren't going to get to that tier of scores by simply eliminating a few answer choices and guessing. You need to have the fundamentals down pat.

Their website is a bit intimidating initially, but only because there is so much information available on it. I highly, highly recommend using the OG tracker from day one. This spreadsheet helps you zero in exactly where you need to focus your study time leading up to the test, both in regards to accuracy and time. This is priceless in that last week before the test when you're just trying to improve your score on the margins.

My instructor (Sajeev) was great. He built a good rapport with students and really seemed interested in improving our scores. I'm very happy with my choice to go with Manhattan GMAT, and the score I was able to get with their help.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2010
Verified Real Student Review

No Gimmicks

5 stars
August 4, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 2-Week Boot Camp 3 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 91 reviews
Teacher: Jonathan Schneider
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
Manhattan GMAT really knows how to teach the topics covered by the GMAT, so much so that "educated guessing" techniques are not a huge focus of the class. The instructors take the time to understand each student's individual weaknesses and addresses any and all problems. In addition, the Manhattan GMAT tools are very effective at allowing students to self diagnose areas which need additional work so the student can focus their studies and then make the one on one coaching sessions with the instructors more productive.

All in all a great class with instructors who care. You walk out of the class prepared for the exam because you know the material, not because you are shown how to guess. This is essential if you want to master the GMAT. I wish I had taken the Manhattan GMAT class immediately.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course; Big Results

5 stars
August 4, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 276 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 91 reviews
Teacher: Jon Schneider
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
I bought the 9 session MGMAT package, and I strongly reccommend the course for anybody looking to post a serious score on the exam.

I scored a 580 on my first practice, and needless to say, I was extremely concerned. Furthermore, the materials provided by GMAC, while useful practice tools, did little to help me learn the neccessary materials. Furthermore, the explanations GMAC provides for correct answers are flat-out useless.

The materials provided by Manhattan GMAT, however, were extremely helpful. They are well-ordered, easy to follow, clear and thorough. Furthermore, the vast resources available on the online Student Center, the addtional office hours, the 9 class sessions and the 6 adaptive practice tests provided so many practice opportunities, that I walked into the actual exam feeling there was nothing that could surprise me. And as result, I left the actual exam having scored in the 98th percentile.

My one quibble is that perhaps there was too much emphasis on the material as opposed to exam-taking strategy. However, overall, if you are shooting for a 700+ score, Manhattan GMAT can certainly help you get there.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Oct 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Most comprehensive review out there!

5 stars
August 4, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 276 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Glendale/Pasadena 1 review
Teacher: Jason Arvanites
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
Let me preface that I learn best in a live classroom but if you're an online student, I'm sure Manhattan GMAT would be just as good.

I cannot say enough good things about this company. They really have it together.

Material: Their materials are extremely comprehensive. I have been out of school for almost 20 years. Their materials weren't just about how to take the GMAT, they reviewed all those little things you might have forgotten. The course does give you the strategies on how to answer certain questions but a lot of the material rebuilds that foundation from your years in high school and college. If you know the foundation, you can answer the questions, even the 700 ones.

Teacher: My teacher, Jason, was very knowledgeable. He would show you 2-3 ways of answering a question just depending on how your brain works. The nice thing about Manhattan GMAT is that they don't just hire anyone. You needed to have scored over 700. This told me that their teachers not only got it but actually took the GMAT too so they could share their own experiences.

Tutors and other teachers' office hours were always available as well to answer questions.

Back Office: Another HUGE plus for this company. Never have I dealt with a company that got back to me so quick. Whether I had a question on my account, needed materials, anything, they were always there to accommodate my needs and answer my questions. So many companies could take a lesson from this.

Manhattan GMAT is superior to other companies. I signed up for Kaplan close to 10 years ago and their customer service and instructors fell very short to what I experienced with Manhattan GMAT. You won't be disappointed!

Joined: Nov 2009
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan GMAT is the BUSINESS!

5 stars
August 4, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 276 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Santa Monica 9 reviews
Teacher: Jason Arvanites
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I had the opportunity to take the Manhattan GMAT Prep Course and it was honestly the best thing for me. The MGMAT books you receive are very helpful, especially the Number Properties, Sentence Correction, Geometry & Word Translations Books. The course itself was very challenging but the GMAT is very challenging. The curriculum MGMAT employs during the 9 week session is very helpful and helps guide students on what they should be doing everyday. The class component was very helpful as well. I was fortunate to have a great teacher and an intimate class setting and I definitely learned a lot from the class sessions. If you are serious about boosting your score and getting into the schools you want, I highly recommend taking the Manhattan GMAT prep course.

Good luck!

Joined: May 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Great Prep Material, Would Recommend Taking Live Course Over Online

4 stars
August 3, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 53 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I originally purchased the entire MGMAT book set, but after having trouble staying focused and working through some of the difficult material, I decided to fork out the money for the class. I don't live near any of the live courses, so the online option was my only choice.

First, the class was useful for what I needed it for. It kept me on track and I moved through the material much faster then I was doing on my own. However, I think this would have been much more effective in a live classroom environment. The online environment seemed to move pretty slow at times as we waited for everyone to get on the same page, for occasional technical difficulties to be solved, or for students to type in their answers/figure out their microphone. All of these seemed to slow down the pace and made it awkward at times.

But with those annoyances removed, I think the overall content of the course is unmatched. The MGMAT guides are incredible, and if you're like me, having someone there to walk you through them is essential to mastering the material. I also think some of the online tools such as the assessment reports, OG companion, and OG tracker are great resources.

So with that, if you're good at staying focused and reading the material, I'd opt for the books w/ access to the additional tools mentioned above. If you need help staying on track, I'd go for the live class (if possible) or the online class if you're willing to be patient with the pace at times.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Good stuff

5 stars
August 3, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 276 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Santa Monica 9 reviews
Teacher: Dan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
Manhattan GMAT was totally worth it and a great investment. After my initial CAT I scored in the low-mid 600s. Over the course of 9 weeks, the weekly classes combined with the rigorous homework schedule helped me a ton in preparing for the real thing. I ended up scoring in the low 700s with both 80+ percentile on quant and verbal on the actual thing. Dan was a great teacher and made the classes lively and fun.


Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 2009
Verified Real Student Review

ManhattanGmat can really help - but you have to do the work ...

4 stars
August 2, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 276 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 91 reviews
Teacher: Grace
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
First off - it helps that the ManhattanGmat teachers recently went through the test. For the most part they know what they're doing; however, like any sort of teaching environment, you will find some teachers that are better or worse than others.

For the 9 week session, they give a description of your teacher. My advice is to read it closely - a teacher can make or break the process. My teacher Grace was awesome in that she touched on the material, but really didn't treat the class as a chance to rehash the book. She really emphasized how that material will appear on the exams and what does mean about the way you have to think about it. This is the value of having a instructor over the books. The books will give you the content. If you're a good test taker you'll probably figure a lot of this out on your own. However, if you're like me - hearing Grace talk about better ways to approach a problem or how you can sense the GMAT "tricks" really helped.

That being said, I had to relearn geometry, number properties, and grammar. And then I had to unlearn how to read passages or arguments and make my own conclusions. However, Grace's tips and tricks about questions definitely always helped.

It was more than a year between my course and the test - which I don't recommend. After reviewing all the content - AGAIN - I then had my notes and the practice tests to get me through. In the end, the practice test were the saving grace as they helped me feel ready for the test. The official guides were a huge help as they provided more questions and allowed for studying on the go (you can't be all GMAT all the time). The test did not feel like a surprise - really you knew what to expect. If you're a good test taker then the practice tests, official guides, and the content books might be enough for you. But if you need to hear the strategy then sign up for the test.

Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: Apr 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan GMAT guided my 99th percentile score (760)

5 stars
July 30, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 53 reviews
Teacher: Kara Thornton & Keith Blume
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
In my opinion:

Most importantly, Manhattan GMAT has, by far, the best course materials available. During my prep course selection process I could only realistically compare the course curriculum between companies. I spent more than a few visits at Barnes and Noble to look at the Manhattan GMAT, Kaplan, and Princeton Review books.

Anyone who seeks to score well on the GMAT must acknowledge that the majority of the prep work will not be done in the classroom. Therefore, I thought it was crucial that the prep books had good knowledge to impart. I am a math tutor, and easily recognized the vast amount of effort Manhattan GMAT has put forth in their prep books. I found myself thinking, this is exactly how I would break this problem down for my clients. As I knew that all programs would have highly qualified teachers, the study guide content carried much weight in my decicion making process.

Moreover, Manhattan GMAT is unique in that the prep books INTEGRATE the official GMAC study guides. The "study" portions of the GMAC books seem like summaries of the Manhattan GMAT guides. At one point in ealy March, I remember looking at the Manhattan guides and telling my friend "I think MANHATTAN GMAT IS THE REAL DEAL."

I finally decided to pursue the test with Manhattan GMAT. At first I was slightly dissappointed with my decision. The classroom interface was not as sleek as some of the other programs. The additional tools, such as the OG Tracker (you will find out soon enough), were also not as sleek as some of the prep programs appear to be in tracking progress.

Although, after some time, I began to appreciate using the bulkier tools. The reason is two fold: 1. I knew every single data point I entered, watching my right/wrong and timing over/under for every single practice problem 2. The time spent entering information gave my brain brief breaks from problem sets and studying. The result was, that I was mentally fresher and well aquainted with my strengths and weaknesses.

Finally, the staff at Manhattan GMAT have been fantastic. The instructors were prompt in response to any questions outside of class. The customer service team was professional, reasonable, and helpful. Manhattan GMAT and its employees also never made any kind of silly promises. Promises like refunds for unimproved scores. (Please save yourself the time!) The GMAT will teach you the value of wasting even 2 minutes.

If your score doesn't improve during a Manhattan GMAT course, it is not Manhattan's fault. Manhattan GMAT marks the trail, gives you a compass, and a map; but you have to hike for youself to climb the mountain. They can help you climb higher and faster more safely, but the work still rests on the student to achieve the final score.

If you want to be the best you can be, commit yourself to working this program and you will not regret it.

On January 10, 2010 I took a free practice CAT with Manhattan GMAT, my score was a 580.

In early Feburary, I took a brief, non-adaptive, pre-test with Kaplan, my projected score was 630.

In April, May, and June I studied with Manhattan GMAT. In July I reviewed my course objectives and practiced problems daily.

On July 24, 2010 I felt my heart pound as I revealed my unofficial score at the Pearson testing center... 760 99th Percentile.

Thank you Manhattan GMAT. Business School, here I come.

-Brent Carpenetti
Carpenetti Calculus