Manhattan Prep
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

Best Promo Code 2019 & Verified Reviews

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 418 reviews
wendersyang
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: Ivey Business School, Western University
Major: Business
Industry: Food/Beverage
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you Elaine Loh!

5 stars
January 17, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - West LA 6 reviews
Teacher: Elaine Loh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 720
Without Manhattan Prep and specifically, my private instructor Elaine Loh, I could not have broken through the 700 barrier. I owe my entire 720 (Q49, V40) to Elaine's guidance, tutoring, and her holistic way of teaching. Content is not the sole focus of Elaine's teaching; of course, content is important up to a certain point, but your style of studying and mentality are equally important. Elaine put a huge emphasis on error logging and having a positive and relaxed mindset, and I can honestly say that these two things probably made the biggest difference in my studying.

After I started error logging and becoming more "mindful", upon Elaine's suggestion, my practice scores shot up exponentially. Just for reference, I began my GMAT journey at 600!

More so than her awesome way of teaching, Elaine is just really darn knowledgeable about the GMAT. The way that she is able to clarify points of confusion in a very clear and concise manner is not something that just any smart person can do! She also taught me certain strategies that were very helpful to ultimately succeeding on the GMAT.

All in all, as you can see, I am a huge fan of Elaine and Manhattan Prep. While I can't speak for other instructors, I certainly have no doubts that Manhattan Prep is a top-notch company. If you are struggling with the GMAT, I would highly recommend Manhattan Prep and Elaine Loh!

amvought
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: University of Southern California
Major: Anthropology
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Helped this liberal arts major score a 720 with 46 Q!

5 stars
January 16, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - West LA 6 reviews
Teacher: Dan Patinkin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I completed 10 hours of private instruction with Dan Patinkin upon the enthusiastic recommendation of a personal friend, who had in turn been enthusiastically recommended by both of her MBA bosses. I would like to keep the enthusiastic chain of recommendation momentum going!

Obviously, everyone's results will vary depending on what their strength and weaknesses are, and their individual learning styles. So I'll just keep this to my personal experience.

I began studying for the GMAT in August of 2017. I work in non-profits and studied the liberal arts; the last time I did math was AP Stats in high school and I never took anything more advanced than Algebra 2. Thinking about standardized testing, let alone math, still makes my heart race.

From the get-go, I knew my work with Dan would be pretty much exclusively dedicated to quant, and that's partially why it was important to me to spring for personal tutoring rather than a class. Wouldn't have made sense to spend my precious time and money practicing verbal, since I desperately needed extra support with math.

Manhattan's attention to detail, and that of Dan specifically, helped me transform over the space of a few short months. Don't get me wrong, you have to work a lot.... like 10-15 hours per week for 4+ months... but for me, the hardest part of studying has always been knowing exactly WHERE to focus my efforts, and that's what Manhattan/Dan took care of for me.

So all I had to do, thanks to his help, was.... practice.

At one point, I scored a 490 on a practice test and CRIED. I am proud to say that last month, I sat for my very first (and final!) GMAT in December 2017 and scored a 720 -- 46 Q (WAY above my target) and 44 V!

I wouldn't have been able to make a fraction of these gains -- let alone keep my cool -- if it weren't for Dan's insight, generosity, and encouragement.

Thank you!

zancap
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
College: Rhodes College
Major: Political Science
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Instructor, Great Resources

5 stars
January 4, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 289 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 32 reviews
Teacher: Marcus Hedahl
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I had a highly positive experience taking a GMAT prep class at Manhattan Prep on Wednesday evenings from March to May 2017. I came in with little familiarity with the GMAT's format as well as a poor understanding of the level of effort necessary to prepare for the exam. Manhattan Prep did a fantastic job of acclimating me to the exam's content and providing excellent resources for preparation.

The most impressive part of the class was, however, the instructor, Marcus Hedahl. Marcus has an exceptional grasp of the GMAT's topics and does a great job of coaching students through the content effectively. Even more impressive, Marcus brings energy and engagement to the class despite its three-hour runtime at the end of the workday. There was never a dull moment over the course of the nine-week class.

Marcus helped me better understand what score range I could reach by test day. Initially, I was happy with the 80th percentile I was getting on Verbal in practice exams, but Marcus encouraged me to push for the high 90th percentile. After putting in additional work on Reading Comp and Critical Reasoning, my Verbal score on test day (44) definitely went a long way in bringing my total score up into the 700s.

I was also really pleased with the wide array of resources- both online and printed- that Manhattan Prep included in their 9-week class. In the final weeks leading up to test day, I used the online video lessons to refresh on earlier topics. I also used topic-specific practice question sets to drill hard on weak points.

Thanks to Manhattan Prep's first-rate instruction and excellent resources, I went from prep scores in the mid-600s to a 730 on test day.

MirandaZ
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Manhattan GMAT

5 stars
January 3, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Keith Blume
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 740
I was very lucky to have studied with Keith from Chicago. I initially met Keith through the Manhattan GMAT class pack in which he was the instructor, and later took a few private classes with him to improve my understanding.

Overall, Keith is a very efficient and to-the-point instructor. I was quite confident in math but was making unnecessary mistakes so Keith pinpointed it to exactly where it was and provided CUSTOMIZED study plans for me based on my goal and schedule. As for verbal, he was instrumental in teaching me how to read and answer the question.

My first practice test was in the 600, and with the help of Keith and many hours of hard work, I increased a score of 100+. I would highly recommend Keith to any student who would like to learn and achieve a good score.

Manhattan GMAT also offers one of the best online platforms. It syncs up with the book and the explanations really helped me understand why an answer was right, and better yet, why other answers were wrong. In addition, you can use the report feature to see your overall performance and area of improvement. I would recommend taking a GMAT course with Keith through Manhattan. Thank you Keith!

accy410
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you Manhattan Prep!

5 stars
December 29, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 289 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 98 reviews
Teacher: David Mahler
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I got my target score of 720+ thanks to Manhattan Prep, and highly recommend the MP program to anyone who is seriously considering applying to a top b-school. I say this for a few reasons:
1) The resources and course content are unparalleled, and very well structured. You start the process by taking a practice test that immediately pin-points your strengths vs areas that may need improvement, and then track your progress by taking more exams throughout the course.
2) The content is carefully curated, and is structured in a way that makes the classes effective without being overwhelming. The MP problem sets enable you to absorb content in the most efficient way.
3) The online interface is well designed and easy to use. Whenever I saw other interfaces friends were using, I was always thankful I decided on MP.
4) The instructor that I had (David Mahler) was amazing. He was intelligent, personable, always prepared, and a great teacher. He was diligent in answering emails, and always made himself available to students.
5) On top of the classes, Manhattan Prep offered a ton of events with top MBA programs which really helps when you get to the application stage.

trevwiessler
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: USC
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Multimedia
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Investment

5 stars
December 21, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 289 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - San Francisco 21 reviews
Teacher: Isaac Puglia
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
The Manhattan Prep 9-session GMAT training course greatly exceeded my expectations and made it possible for me to achieve my target GMAT score. One of the best investments I have made. Isaac was a great teacher who kept the entire class motivated throughout the course.

davidturner744
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Effective 9-week night course, more than manageable while working a full-time job.

5 stars
December 20, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 289 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Josh Yardley
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
Manhattan Prep was the main reason that I more than achieved my target score on the GMAT. My score went up almost 200 points from the pre-course exam to my final score, which was in the 99th percentile. Josh was a great teacher - really helped to understand the ins and outs of how to approach the questions and develop a strategy for the GMAT as a whole. I was able take the 9-week in person course at my own pace, which really helped while working full-time. Doing the work suggested for each class was helpful, but i was certainly was not lost if I didn't get to the material in a given week.

allegra0209
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
College: USC
Major: Film, Cinema and Video
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

You're in the hands of an expert

5 stars
December 20, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Teacher: Dan Patinkin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
I was beyond thrilled with my outcome after working with Dan. If you're willing to put in the work and the time, he'll get you where you want to go. Over the course of four months, I went from a 620 (35Q, 41V, Princeton Review Practice Test) to a 770 (48Q, 48V, Official GMAT). I worked with Dan for 12 hours total, and about 150 hours on my own. I was astonished by how well Dan knew the material - he seemed to have hundreds of questions committed to memory and knew exactly which one to throw at you when. I felt like I was in incredible hands. I also really appreciated that Dan was conservative about how much time we were spending together (minding my budget) and that he was generous with his time between sessions if I had questions via email. After I finished up with Dan, I passed him along to my best friend, and she saw an equally sizable leap between her initial and final scores. I put a lot of faith in Dan as a guide and I am so glad that I did. Highly recommend working with him.

hancaw0
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
College: Wake Forest University
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Huge Factor in 90 Point Swing

5 stars
December 20, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Teacher: Chris Gentry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 730
I highly recommend Chris Gentry to anyone in the Atlanta area looking to take the GMAT or looking to improve score. I achieved a 90 point swing over the course of three months, which I attribute greatly to Chris's help during our weekly hour-long sessions.

Learning about different GMAT-tailored test-taking strategies, learning how to manage time crunch more effectively and different approaches to common 700-800 level questions I feel made the difference for me. Getting this score was way above my expectations when I started the process, and I decided to apply to an additional three top-5 schools as a result.

luismtnzara
Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Verified Real Student Review

MGMAT - Very good course

4 stars
December 18, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 289 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Keith Blume
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Manhattan Prep has an amazing and organized program that walks you through the GMAT books quickly and thoroughly. My professor, Keith was really good, very engaging and fun. He understood our questions and path and customized classes to them. The only weakness that I saw was that for people with quant background, they can get bored easily some times, when professor keeps explaining basic math stuff to people that don't know squat. Overall, I think Manhattan Prep has built their reputation thanks to great professors and amazing results. Their mock-up tests are really good. Quants are more difficult that actual exam but Verbal is really close to actual exam.