Course
ADMISSION CONSULTING COMPANY

Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting

5 stars
(5/5) - 14 reviews
Joined: Jun 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Scott Gets the Job Done, Success!

5 stars
April 17, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 14 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 14 reviews
Teacher: Scott
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
When doing my initial search for an admissions consultant, I was first drawn to the big-name consulting companies. Yet, after doing more research I realized that I did not merely want to be another faceless customer at one of these big firms. I knew that I needed the personalized support that Scott at Personal MBA Coach provides in order to get through the application process in one piece, allowing me to get into my dream school of CBS.

Joined: Sep 2012
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: Berlin School of Economics and Law
Major: Computer Science
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Simply the best. Scott got me into Stanford GSB!

5 stars
April 13, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 14 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 14 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I don't write online reviews. Especially not 6 years after the purchase. But Scott deserves an exception.

I knew MBA applications were a long shot for me to begin with. Coming from a no-name international school (not known to the U.S. application dropdown menu), I was hoping that I "had it in me", but at the same time know that I needed to craft the perfect application, most importantly the essays, to stand out.

My first call was into Sandy Kreisberg. My second into Scott. I went with Scott, and never regretted it. The results spoke for themselves: 4 applications (all top schools), 3 admissions, including my dream choice: Stanford GSB.

Scott knows inside out how to tailor your best and hightest-chance-of-success application package. He continually challenged me to craft the unique and authentic essays that opened the doors to the top MBA programs for me. And as if that all was not already a utopia of awesomeness, Scott helped me secur e a full-ride scholarship from my national government. I mean, give me a break, Scott.

When I arrived on campus, GSB's (back then) Dean of Admissions Derrick Bolton took me by the side and told me it was my "What Matters Most To You and Why" essay that made the difference. I honestly look at that essay and I think it's the best piece I have ever written in my life. Would have not been the case without Scott.

Beyond essays, Scott is a fountain of wisdom for school selection, general application strategies, resume editing, picking recommenders, and being there for you during the emotional rollercoaster than MBA applications can be. Take my word. I could not think of a better person than Scott to partner up for this journey that can be such a life-changer. Certainly was for me. THANK YOU, SCOTT.

Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: Providence College
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Scott got me into grad school!

5 stars
April 11, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 14 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 14 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Scott is a friendly, honest and matter of fact guy. He is easy to get along with and I always benefited from having conversation with him. As far as the consulting goes he is not only a great resource to bounce ideas off of, but also an excellent essay editor. Much of my reason for a consultant was to get a strategy for my application to school. Scott was great and this and I had success at 3/4 schools I applied. However, Scott's strongest suit is his essay editing that I have to believe are second to none. He could take my writing/ideas and really make it all come together. Lastly, I was waitlisted at two of my top choices and Scott helped me develop a timeline and plan to strategically show my enthusiasm for the programs while not overwhelming the admissions committee with materials. I would highly recommend him for all facets of the application process.

Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Strong results

5 stars
April 5, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 14 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 14 reviews
Teacher: Scott
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
After meeting with and chatting with over 7 MBA admissions consultants, ranging from the biggest brand names to the smallest independents, I decided to go with Scott, Personal MBA Coach, as my advisor for 8 schools. Not because he was the most optimistic or pessimistic, but because he seemed honest and like an easy guy to work with, with an equal to or better track record of success versus his competitors.

We agreed on some safe schools, some matches, and some reaches, and decided that a strategy of applying to 8 match-to-reaches with no safety schools would be an optimal strategy for my goals and risk tolerance. I applied to all of the M7 and Tuck, and to my surprise received offers of admission to 3 of the 8 schools, with interviews and eventual waitlist at 2 more, which I chose not to pursue.

As a realist, I understand that a lot of your profile is set in stone. GMAT, GPA, Work Experience, but there is still a huge amount of room to market yourself in a certain way that personal MBA Coach was key in. Knowing what pieces of my career and background to emphasize were part of this.

One additional reason I chose Personal MBA Coach over some of the larger companies was that he ensured me that whether it was interview prep, essay brainstorming, or essay revisions, he would be the only person I spoke and dealt with whether by phone or email. This ended up being absolutely 100 percent true. There are of course other good consultants out there, but Scott is extremely connected to the process and is able to identify trends that others cannot.

Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
College: Fordham University
Major: Business
Industry: Entertainment/Leisure
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best decision I made

5 stars
March 29, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 14 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 14 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Reaching out to Personal MBA Coach was the best decision I could have made upon deciding to pursue my MBA.

Though I was late to the game (1 month from final deadlines) Scott Edinburg and his team at Personal MBA Coach were down for the challenge and jumped right in with me to make the most of my expedited timeframe. Working with the Personal MBA Coach team I was able to create succinct and impactful applications that were leagues above what I could have done on my own. I was invited to interview with both of the programs I applied to and, again, Personal MBA Coach was there to set up mock interviews with admissions personnel at top-ranked universities. I was recently accepted into my #1 program choice and could not be happier I chose to work with Scott and the Personal MBA Coach team. I highly recommend them to anyone who wants to pursue their MBA education and is not afraid to jump in head first, follow their lead, and put in the work necessary to make the best application they possibly can.

Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Verified Real Student Review

What you see is what you get

5 stars
March 22, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 14 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 14 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I decided to apply for MBA late in June, and to make the GMAT that I took 5 years ago count, I had to go for round 1, which left me with only 2-3 months to complete the whole thing. I talked to several friends who had MBA experience, and figured hiring a consultant would be very helpful in my case.

I did not know where to start, so I googled. After visiting a few forums, I collected a few names, including both big names with a large team of consultants, as well as smaller shops like Personal MBA Coach. After completing several free consulting sessions, it was almost no brainer to go with Scott. The big firms are super good at marketing, followed up warmly with you, but at the end, you were just talking to sales guys. You don't even know who would end up being your consultant. With Scott, it was pretty simple, what you see is what you get. I liked that he was very straightforward with the pros and cons in my profile after initial review, and he has had a lo t of success with top 10 programs which are definitely my targets.

Throughout the process, Scott was very responsive. He's working really hard and I have seen him replying to my message anytime of the day. The promised turnaround is 24 hours but was usually much sooner that. He never shy away from honest opinions, but at the same time was receptive to ideas. At the end of the day, I know it was essay and I need to own it, but Scott has definitely provided a lot of valuable advice, from how to tell a story, to which word to choose.

When it comes to mock interview, he has a great network and was able to find interviewers that actually went to the school that I applied for.

I was very satisfied with the results. I applied for 2 top ten programs that I like and got offers from both. Without Scott's help, I'm not sure I could pull all these off in such a compressed timeline. His dedicated and personal approach definitely made a big difference!

Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Aligns your story, perfects the execution

5 stars
March 8, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 14 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 14 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Accepted: CBS ED (full tuition)
Services Used: Comprehensive package for CBS

My application was unique in that Scott and I started the application one month before the deadline. After the initial free profile discussion with Scott, I found him to be down-to-earth, knowledgeable, and seemed to genuinely care about his clients (vs larger companies). I encourage everyone on the fence about admission consultants to give Scott a call and test the waters - he will likely change your mind.

Once I decided to go with him, Scott expedited our approach given my timeline, of course while still covering key aspects and providing top quality feedback, usually within 18 hours. Generally speaking, the first step was to fill out some forms and provide more background information on myself (typical resume history, interests, and motivations). A day or so later, we scheduled a call for Scott to really learn more about me. Scott takes into account almost everything in your life (or everything your willing to share) in crafting the perfect story for you. When all that is done, we worked together to create outlines for the essay, and later the writing process. I think I had at least 8+ edits on each of the 3 essays we worked on. Scott definitely takes the extra time to ensure you are satisfied with the final product. This is what you're paying for - world class story crafting services with unlimited edits until both of you feel comfortable with the execution. Might I say that Scott delivers constructive criticism the way its is without the sugar coat, and is ultimately what should be provided in getting into your dream school.

All in all, very happy Scott was involved in my application. My first drafts, the ones without Scott's help, were terrible in retrospect. I know many are skeptical about admission consultants, but the upfront fee is nothing compared to potential scholarships or having to avoid rejections. A+ for Scott and the highly personalized services provided by PMC.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: May 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Personal MBA Coach is Excellent

5 stars
January 27, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 14 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 14 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
My experience working with Scott/Personal MBA Coach started with a recommendation from a good friend who had recently been admitted to a top 10 school after working with him. Having never been through the MBA admissions process before, I knew i needed help crafting a strong application if I wanted to get into top 10/top 15 school. I had only talked to one consultant at a big company prior to Scott but I could tell after our initial conversation, he approached the process a lot differently than the other consultant. Even when I was still debating whether it was the right time to apply for an MBA program, Scott gave me sound advice based on my career goals and I ultimately decided to sign up for one of the comprehensive school packages.

Throughout the process, Scott provided thoughtful and honest advice around my overall story and always pushed for ways I could make myself stand out from the rest of the applicant pool. He challenged me to think hard about my career goals and why receiving an MBA is an important part of my career path. While I'm sure most consultants can claim they do the same, Scott's readily available for any questions you have, ideas that are running through your head, or if you're hitting any road blocks with essays. He was an invaluable asset for the entire process from brainstorming essay ideas to interview prep.

As with business school, work, life, etc. - what you put in is what you get out. If you're serious about getting into a top MBA program, Scott will give you the resources, advice, and no BS feedback to put you in a strong position but it's ultimately up to you to execute on all fronts.

I was accepted into my top choice program and I doubt I would be in this position without Scott's guidance. I cannot recommend Scott/Personal MBA Coach highly enough.

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
Major: Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing work with awesome results!

5 stars
December 28, 2017
Company: Personal MBA Coach 14 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 14 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I took the comprehensive school package with Scott. Since I had already created a shortlist of my schools, we concentrated more on essays/application content and interviews. The overall experience with Scott was excellent! With his help, I got into two of my dream schools (INSEAD + LBS).
I started preparing for applications pretty late (mid August with September timelines). This plus a demanding job meant I was working late in the night on applications and needed someone who could help me finish the applications in such short time with quick turnarounds. Scott exceeded these expectations and was as invested in my applications as I was! There were times when he replied to my mails with edits/quick responses within hours. I would send him content at 3AM in the night and he would respond by the time i woke up in morning and then I would take up the version control from there.
He is excellent at essays. He has a no BS approach to essays and when I compare the first and last version of my essays, I can see a huge difference. He gave direct and honest feedback on my essays and helped me craft my story well. His focus was not on completing the applications, but on making them perfect. This helped me create really amazing essays, resume and overall application.
If I have to compare him to other consultants (based on my initial free consultations and feedback from multiple other friends who used other consultants), I would say Scott is much better, personalized and invested in your applications/success than other consulting companies.
One important thing - Scott is great for essays/applications/interview prep/recommendation letter strategy. However, if you are looking for someone who provides you with a lot of content (e.g. pdfs about schools, resume writing document etc) like other big name consulting companies, you may need to look for someone else. I personally was able to research well using all the free content from the internet. All other things - Scott and I ran the show together!

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Major: Hospitality Management
Industry: Food Service/Lodging
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A company that truly cares about your dream

5 stars
December 16, 2017
Company: Personal MBA Coach 14 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 14 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I initially reached out to Personal MBA Coach for a consultation, as I am from a non traditional background (casino industry) and not sure if I will have a chance for top B-schools. After speaking with Scott from Personal MBA Coach, I was convinced that I could actually be an ideal candidate. Based on my initial conversation with Scott from Personal MBA Coach, I knew he is very experienced in the MBA admissions consulting and really knows what candidate each school is looking for. He is also honest about the weaknesses in my application for improvement. I immediately decided to work with Personal MBA Coach. Throughout the application process, I have worked with Scott from Personal MBA Coach on brainstorming ideas to reflect my true self and weave a holistic story for each school I applied for. As I was only interested in applying to smaller MBA programs, I would not put together targeted essays without Scott's expertise and guidance. Most importantly, not only Sco tt is extremely knowledgeable in this field, he deeply cares about your development with heart and soul and wants to do whatever he can to help you get into your dream school. It has been a fantastic experience of working with Scott and he made my application process very enjoyable. I would not get into Haas and Tuck with scholarships if I did not work with Scott from Personal MBA Coach. I highly recommend anyone who wants to get to your dream school to talk to Personal MBA Coach and you will be surprised by the personalized services and the amount of attention you will receive from Personal MBA Coach. I am truly grateful for my choice of working with Personal MBA Coach!