Personal MBA Coach
Company
ADMISSION CONSULTING COMPANY

Personal MBA Coach

Best Promo Code 2019 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 40 reviews
newgreg
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
College: Fordham University
Major: Business
Industry: Entertainment/Leisure
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best decision I made

5 stars
March 29, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 40 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 40 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Reaching out to Personal MBA Coach was the best decision I could have made upon deciding to pursue my MBA.

Though I was late to the game (1 month from final deadlines) Scott Edinburg and his team at Personal MBA Coach were down for the challenge and jumped right in with me to make the most of my expedited timeframe. Working with the Personal MBA Coach team I was able to create succinct and impactful applications that were leagues above what I could have done on my own. I was invited to interview with both of the programs I applied to and, again, Personal MBA Coach was there to set up mock interviews with admissions personnel at top-ranked universities. I was recently accepted into my #1 program choice and could not be happier I chose to work with Scott and the Personal MBA Coach team. I highly recommend them to anyone who wants to pursue their MBA education and is not afraid to jump in head first, follow their lead, and put in the work necessary to make the best application they possibly can.

oys
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Verified Real Student Review

What you see is what you get

5 stars
March 22, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 40 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 40 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I decided to apply for MBA late in June, and to make the GMAT that I took 5 years ago count, I had to go for round 1, which left me with only 2-3 months to complete the whole thing. I talked to several friends who had MBA experience, and figured hiring a consultant would be very helpful in my case.

I did not know where to start, so I googled. After visiting a few forums, I collected a few names, including both big names with a large team of consultants, as well as smaller shops like Personal MBA Coach. After completing several free consulting sessions, it was almost no brainer to go with Scott. The big firms are super good at marketing, followed up warmly with you, but at the end, you were just talking to sales guys. You don't even know who would end up being your consultant. With Scott, it was pretty simple, what you see is what you get. I liked that he was very straightforward with the pros and cons in my profile after initial review, and he has had a lo t of success with top 10 programs which are definitely my targets.

Throughout the process, Scott was very responsive. He's working really hard and I have seen him replying to my message anytime of the day. The promised turnaround is 24 hours but was usually much sooner that. He never shy away from honest opinions, but at the same time was receptive to ideas. At the end of the day, I know it was essay and I need to own it, but Scott has definitely provided a lot of valuable advice, from how to tell a story, to which word to choose.

When it comes to mock interview, he has a great network and was able to find interviewers that actually went to the school that I applied for.

I was very satisfied with the results. I applied for 2 top ten programs that I like and got offers from both. Without Scott's help, I'm not sure I could pull all these off in such a compressed timeline. His dedicated and personal approach definitely made a big difference!

financenoob
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Aligns your story, perfects the execution

5 stars
March 8, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 40 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 40 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Accepted: CBS ED (full tuition)
Services Used: Comprehensive package for CBS

My application was unique in that Scott and I started the application one month before the deadline. After the initial free profile discussion with Scott, I found him to be down-to-earth, knowledgeable, and seemed to genuinely care about his clients (vs larger companies). I encourage everyone on the fence about admission consultants to give Scott a call and test the waters - he will likely change your mind.

Once I decided to go with him, Scott expedited our approach given my timeline, of course while still covering key aspects and providing top quality feedback, usually within 18 hours. Generally speaking, the first step was to fill out some forms and provide more background information on myself (typical resume history, interests, and motivations). A day or so later, we scheduled a call for Scott to really learn more about me. Scott takes into account almost everything in your life (or everything your willing to share) in crafting the perfect story for you. When all that is done, we worked together to create outlines for the essay, and later the writing process. I think I had at least 8+ edits on each of the 3 essays we worked on. Scott definitely takes the extra time to ensure you are satisfied with the final product. This is what you're paying for - world class story crafting services with unlimited edits until both of you feel comfortable with the execution. Might I say that Scott delivers constructive criticism the way its is without the sugar coat, and is ultimately what should be provided in getting into your dream school.

All in all, very happy Scott was involved in my application. My first drafts, the ones without Scott's help, were terrible in retrospect. I know many are skeptical about admission consultants, but the upfront fee is nothing compared to potential scholarships or having to avoid rejections. A+ for Scott and the highly personalized services provided by PMC.

blevy326
Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: May 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Personal MBA Coach is Excellent

5 stars
January 27, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 40 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 40 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
My experience working with Scott/Personal MBA Coach started with a recommendation from a good friend who had recently been admitted to a top 10 school after working with him. Having never been through the MBA admissions process before, I knew i needed help crafting a strong application if I wanted to get into top 10/top 15 school. I had only talked to one consultant at a big company prior to Scott but I could tell after our initial conversation, he approached the process a lot differently than the other consultant. Even when I was still debating whether it was the right time to apply for an MBA program, Scott gave me sound advice based on my career goals and I ultimately decided to sign up for one of the comprehensive school packages.

Throughout the process, Scott provided thoughtful and honest advice around my overall story and always pushed for ways I could make myself stand out from the rest of the applicant pool. He challenged me to think hard about my career goals and why receiving an MBA is an important part of my career path. While I'm sure most consultants can claim they do the same, Scott's readily available for any questions you have, ideas that are running through your head, or if you're hitting any road blocks with essays. He was an invaluable asset for the entire process from brainstorming essay ideas to interview prep.

As with business school, work, life, etc. - what you put in is what you get out. If you're serious about getting into a top MBA program, Scott will give you the resources, advice, and no BS feedback to put you in a strong position but it's ultimately up to you to execute on all fronts.

I was accepted into my top choice program and I doubt I would be in this position without Scott's guidance. I cannot recommend Scott/Personal MBA Coach highly enough.

akashrungta
Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
Major: Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing work with awesome results!

5 stars
December 28, 2017
Company: Personal MBA Coach 40 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 40 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I took the comprehensive school package with Scott. Since I had already created a shortlist of my schools, we concentrated more on essays/application content and interviews. The overall experience with Scott was excellent! With his help, I got into two of my dream schools (INSEAD + LBS).
I started preparing for applications pretty late (mid August with September timelines). This plus a demanding job meant I was working late in the night on applications and needed someone who could help me finish the applications in such short time with quick turnarounds. Scott exceeded these expectations and was as invested in my applications as I was! There were times when he replied to my mails with edits/quick responses within hours. I would send him content at 3AM in the night and he would respond by the time i woke up in morning and then I would take up the version control from there.
He is excellent at essays. He has a no BS approach to essays and when I compare the first and last version of my essays, I can see a huge difference. He gave direct and honest feedback on my essays and helped me craft my story well. His focus was not on completing the applications, but on making them perfect. This helped me create really amazing essays, resume and overall application.
If I have to compare him to other consultants (based on my initial free consultations and feedback from multiple other friends who used other consultants), I would say Scott is much better, personalized and invested in your applications/success than other consulting companies.
One important thing - Scott is great for essays/applications/interview prep/recommendation letter strategy. However, if you are looking for someone who provides you with a lot of content (e.g. pdfs about schools, resume writing document etc) like other big name consulting companies, you may need to look for someone else. I personally was able to research well using all the free content from the internet. All other things - Scott and I ran the show together!

maddyhan
Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Major: Hospitality Management
Industry: Food Service/Lodging
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A company that truly cares about your dream

5 stars
December 16, 2017
Company: Personal MBA Coach 40 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 40 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I initially reached out to Personal MBA Coach for a consultation, as I am from a non traditional background (casino industry) and not sure if I will have a chance for top B-schools. After speaking with Scott from Personal MBA Coach, I was convinced that I could actually be an ideal candidate. Based on my initial conversation with Scott from Personal MBA Coach, I knew he is very experienced in the MBA admissions consulting and really knows what candidate each school is looking for. He is also honest about the weaknesses in my application for improvement. I immediately decided to work with Personal MBA Coach. Throughout the application process, I have worked with Scott from Personal MBA Coach on brainstorming ideas to reflect my true self and weave a holistic story for each school I applied for. As I was only interested in applying to smaller MBA programs, I would not put together targeted essays without Scott's expertise and guidance. Most importantly, not only Sco tt is extremely knowledgeable in this field, he deeply cares about your development with heart and soul and wants to do whatever he can to help you get into your dream school. It has been a fantastic experience of working with Scott and he made my application process very enjoyable. I would not get into Haas and Tuck with scholarships if I did not work with Scott from Personal MBA Coach. I highly recommend anyone who wants to get to your dream school to talk to Personal MBA Coach and you will be surprised by the personalized services and the amount of attention you will receive from Personal MBA Coach. I am truly grateful for my choice of working with Personal MBA Coach!

Jannicke
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: University of St Andrews
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Transportation
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic!

5 stars
December 15, 2017
Company: Personal MBA Coach 40 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 40 reviews
Teacher: Scott
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
When I decided to apply to Bschool, I knew that I needed some extra support. After some research, I found Personal MBA Coach and had a chat with Scott. He was friendly, genuinely interested, and understood where I was coming from and my needs.

Scott was so helpful and open from the beginning and constantly challenged me. He critiqued my essays and references with great detail and endless patience. I have an unconventional background and was very unfamiliar with this kind of process; Scott helped me to pull out the right elements of my background and experience and convey it in the ''Bschool way''.
I had a low GMAT score for the schools I applied to and there's no way I would've gotten into LBS without Personal MBA Coach's continuous support, flexibility, advice and patience. I even got a scholarship from one of the schools I applied to! It was great to work with Scott - fun, interesting, and a great learning experience.
Thank you Scott!

mbastudent123
Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: USC
Major: Business
Industry: Venture Capital
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Personal MBA Coach - well worth it

5 stars
October 18, 2017
Company: Personal MBA Coach 40 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 40 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburg
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I highly suggest you schedule a short consultation with Scott before pulling the trigger with any MBA consultant. Before deciding on Scott, I spoke with a couple bigger names, and what helped make my decision was Scott's honesty, passion, and direct relationship with the applicant. Unlike some bigger names, Scott worked with me on almost every part of the process, from brainstorming schools to thinking of essay stories to even writing the blurbs in the application. He has a true interest in seeing his "students" succeed. Granted I started the process very early, so I had a lot of attention and was able to turn many drafts of my materials -- Scott helped transform my essays from very surface level writings to much deeper stories that resonate with any reader. All in all, I was admitted to my top M7 choice. It was a pleasure working with him -- I definitely recommend at least speaking with him.

Mbaprospect500
Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
College: Oxford
Major: Bio(medical) Engineering
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Conscientious and very frank consultant who does this for a living not a side job

5 stars
August 27, 2017
Company: Personal MBA Coach 40 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 40 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Scott did a great job and I could not have asked for better. Considered the big MBA consulting shops but chose Scott because it's his full time job to do this and he's been doing it for almost a decade now and I simply felt more comfortable with him.

He is very honest in his feedback and solutions focused but I valued that highly because others sugar coated feedback or suggested I not apply to certain schools. Scott was always available for helpful advice through the application process, interview process and even McKinsey Emerging Scholars applications after. He is responsive usually within 24 hours which is important considering I decided to apply for round 2 in mid November.

In the end, I got into Wharton and had six figure scholarship to go to another M7. If he hadn't advised me to do this or not that I wouldn't have gotten in. Word of advice for those going into this but consultants seem like a lot of money but you get what you put into it.

Scott had to encourage me to work harder on my essays and I'm glad he did because if I hadn't put in the effort in some of these early rounds the material would not have come off as authentic. Also check reference clients for people who have used the consulting service. Scott will put you in touch with his and even has drinks

nycmba12
Joined: Nov 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
Major: Engineering
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great MBA Admissions Consultant - A+++

5 stars
August 8, 2017
Company: Personal MBA Coach 40 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 40 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
After speaking with numerous consulting services about my background and specific plans to pursue a top-tier MBA, I hired Scott from Personal MBA Coach. I had a short timeline to submit four applications and knew very little about the application process. From the beginning, Scott appeared (and was) genuinely interested in my situation and made a point to gather every detail. By the end of our time working together, I felt Scott knew everything about me.

As stated in some of the other reviews, Scott is clear and to the point. I didn’t need someone to boost my ego and praise my accomplishments. I needed someone who could comprehend my background, goals, etc. and guide me in telling an effective story. That was exactly what Scott did throughout the process!

Scott continually pushed me to think about how I (my essays) would look to the admission committees. This was very helpful in writing essays that effectively displayed my strengths and specific motivations to attend the different schools. After submitting all of my applications, I was depleted, but I felt that I had submitted my best possible essays and left nothing on the table.

Scott also coached me through the interview processes and performed mock interviews over the phone. This guidance was very helpful and gave me the confidence I needed to ace the interviews.

In the end, I was admitted to one of my top three schools (M7). I dedicated myself to those applications and feel worthy of admission, but credit much of my success to Scott. Without his knowledge of the process and ability to push me for more details and polished stories that were directly applicable to each school, there is no way that I could have crafted my story in such an effective way. Thank you, Scott!