Test Prep Companies,GRE Prep Company

The Princeton Review

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Jul 1, 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 27, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Princeton Review Booster Sessions

July 1, 2016
  • Teacher: Merrily Tobin / Ram Kumar
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

I took the GMAT test in June 2016 and my score was greatly enhanced by the booster sessions offered by Princeton Review. These sessions primarily emphasized upon efficient test taking strategies that helped push up my scores by ~40-50 points.

The primary benefit of these one-on-one sessions was the ability to go through practice tests and recognize areas that were quick wins as well as areas that required actual concentration on content. The analysis of performances across the various prep tests that I took greatly helped in ensuring that repetitive mistakes were avoided. Additionally, the boosters also helped me in tackling questions in a manner that was much more timely than the approach I had earlier.

It was an absolutely great personalized experience with no restrictions on any kind of support that I needed. Would highly recommend these sessions to anyone who is planning on cracking this exam.
Joined: Apr 1, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 30, 2015
College: NMIMS University
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Princeton Review's GMAT course delivers results!!!

January 18, 2016
  • Teacher: Merrily Tobin
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

Princeton Review's GMAT course is very well structure, 10 Math and 11 Verbal classroom sessions of Verbal and Math each. Batch size of each GMAT batch is adequate, faculties are well-versed with GMAT course and tactics, and test series prepares one adequately for a 650+ score. Princeton Review offers free Booster sessions for those (after completion of course) for those individuals who have been scoring 650+ on at least 2 tests. These booster sessions are one-on-one sessions by Master Trainers extending from 2-3 hours each. I have had the privilege of being qualified to Booster session and having one-on-one session with Merrily. In booster session the master trainer analyze one?s performance in every section and work with the person to master these weak sections. Prior to my booster session I was scoring 650. Post my booster sessions with Merrily and Ram I was scoring at 700 level. The mock tests at Princeton Review have been adequately and meticulously designed to give an individual same level of difficulty and variation in questions w.r.t. difficulty and topics covered as one would encounter on an actual GMAT test. Princeton review has a colossal pool of questions and the 10 mock tests mimic the actual GMAT. This makes one aware of his current level of understanding a topic and help one to overcome the weak sections. The overall structure of the course is flexible enough for someone who is currently working, thus making it ideal for an individual to give time to both work and course. Apart from the classroom sessions, booster sessions, workbooks, Princeton Review also provides access to their video lectures. Apart from the workbooks, sessions (online and classroom), Princeton Review also conducts Intensive Workshops for Math and Verbal. These workshops are highly effective and focus on the medium to hard difficulty level questions on the test. I would highly recommend Princeton Review?s GMAT course for anyone who want?s positive results for themselves.
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 5, 2015
College: India
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Good tests and great for verbal

January 16, 2016
  • Teacher: Merrily Tobin
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I was hoping for 740 but will have to make do as there is no time left for this year's applications! However, I thought I would give everyone here a summary of my experiences and wish all of you good luck in your preparations.

I did the two month course with Manya Education, they are partnered with The Princeton Review (TPR). The course is well laid out for people who have been away from academics and eases you in to the GMAT experience. If you are struggling with quant or verbal, it is essential you spend time going through this course before you attempt the the GMAT. TPR have 10+ practice tests and use material that is closer to GMAT than MGMAT (though the TPR algorithm has lots of room to improve). The TPR tests are still a one of the better test taking resources out there and provides the most tests for your buck. TPR is also the ONLY company that has your essays scored and reviewed - essential for a AWA score of 6!

I think the Manya team is good with some very helpful trainers. The Master trainers are definitely a cut above the rest and are very helpful. The booster sessions are essential for 700+ and Manya organizes 1-on-1 booster sessions for all students who score just 600+ on TPR (relatively easy, I scored 640 before starting the course). I cannot say much for the Quant boosters but I will comment on the Verbal boosters and Master Trainer Extraordinaire Merrily Tobin...

Legend has it that every good verbal trainer in Bangalore has learnt from her. In fact, one legend who said this was a drunk quant instructor from another company (that I shall not name). Regardless, Merrily knows her way around the intricacies of verbal rules like no other. Her lectures are on point and her notes are fantastic for all levels. I'm extremely disappointed with 38 as her teachings deserve a 40+! She is very helpful, encouraging and motivating - a huge factor as 90% of students will not have an easy journey to their dream score. My mind was blown away by her 24/7 help and dedication to her students - always great to see teachers with such enthusiasm and love for students! Thank you very much Merrily and all best to you!

My most important learning is that you must know your ability and aim for a score that reflects it; don't aim for more and don't settle for less. You must do the test in your most accurate and efficient mindset (I went from 640 to 710 with mainly a mindset change, but that is a story for gmatclub). Lastly/Finally/Ultimately, I wish you all the best of luck on your journey. I hope that your attempt is successful so that you can enjoy your country's moderately fresh air once again!
Joined: Mar 21, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 28, 2015
College: Panjab University
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Other Services
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Thank u Princeton Review for making my dream come true!

August 7, 2015
  • Teacher: Deepti Singh & Suman Rawat
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 570 After: 710

Having scored 710 in GMAT, I am very hopeful of fulfilling my dream of getting into a good B school and earning a management degree. Getting this score definitely took some hard work but I never knew it would be so much fun ! Thanks to Manya - Princeton Review Chandigarh for making things easy for me. I first thought of enrolling only for Verbal classes at Princeton as it was my weak area but I was guided by trainers to attend math classes as well so that I can stabilize my strong area and secure a good score in it. And today I realize how valuable that advice was :)
I had a wonderful time at Princeton Chandigarh with the trainers and batchmates . We used to have very informative at the same time very interactive and friendly classroom sessions with our teachers. Both our teachers Ms Deepti Singh (Math) and Ms Suman Rawat (Verbal) encouraged us to come up with doubts not just during our classes but also after all our classes were over. They not only helped strengthen my concepts but also counseled me on complete preparation plan. Comprehensive study material helped me improve my grip on concepts. As verbal was my weak area, Suman Ma?am provided me with some extra practice material and detailed analysis sessions. My performance was very closely monitored by my trainers due to which I could identify my weaknesses and correct them. GMAT is not only about knowing all rules or concepts, time management & using the right approach is required and must be followed ? this valuable lesson also came from my trainers. Despite their busy schedules, they ensured individual attention and I can?t thank them enough for that. I wanted a good score but my trainers wanted it badly too and I must say that the combined effort has made 710 possible for me. Thank you so much Princeton Chandigarh for making it possible !!
Joined: Jun 28, 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 10, 2014
College: BITS Pilani
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

The Princeton Review Classroom program was indeed a very rewarding experience

June 28, 2015
  • Teacher: Merrily Tobin
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

If you are based in Bangalore and looking for a GMAT classroom program, I would strongly recommend that you consider the Princeton Review, Indiranagar centre. The course structure is comprehensive and well structured. Periodic tests and the immense support from the faculty helps you streamline your preparation and gives you the cutting edge. Its a 10 week program, and I can vouch for it that by the end of it you will be fully equipped to tame the dragon called GMAT.
Best of luck with your preparation.

Cheers,
Sutirth
Joined: Aug 30, 2013
Purchased Course: Jan 13, 2014
College: India
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent GMAT course Manya-The Princeton Review, Chandigarh

May 16, 2015
  • Teacher: Muhvinder Kohli, Deepti, Mukul
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 660

Really glad that I have been offered admission at ISB for the batch 2015-2016. Thanks for the help & Support that I got from my trainers in Manya-The Princeton Review, Chandigarh.

Due to my hectic work schedule I had to look for a good coaching institute for GMAT. Princeton was my choice and today i can proudly that it was one of the very good choices i made in life. The faculty at Chandigarh Manya education is by far the best in Chandigarh tri-city for GMAT. My english teacher Mukhvinder mam, was my mentor not only in English class but also guiding me through the whole process till i got admitted. The way of her teaching is very interactive and for Students who fear english, Mam is the solution to all your problems. 430 in dignostic to 650 in actual GMAT was due to efforts of mam. Deepti mam and Mukul sir were my math teachers. I thought Math was my strong point but mam and sir made me realise that i needed way more hardwork than i thought. Sir's class was very interactive and it was always fun to have a teacher cum friend.
Again thanks to the Manya Abroad- Princeton Review chandigarh for shaping my career.

Thanx again..:)

Gaurav Joshi
Joined: May 1, 2015
Purchased Course: May 1, 2013
College: NIT Jalandhar
Major: Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome experience with personal touch

May 1, 2015
  • Teacher: Anindita Bose
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

"I joined Princeton review in June 2013 for Gmat preparation. I enrolled in the class room training program as i wanted to have my basics correct. For three months i worked on the quant and verbal sections and finally in September 2013 i took the Gmat. I scored 680(Quant-50, Verbal-31). I was disappointed as i had worked hard but failed to obtain a 700+ score.

So in August 2014 i decided to prepare again. I contacted Anindita and expressed my desire to join the verbal classes again. She very happily allowed me to join a batch which has just started without any additional cost ! This time she worked with me to eliminate all my doubts in sentence correction which was a point of major concern. I was very confident of my abilities in critical reasoning and reading comprehension but after attending Anindita's class i released how i could solve them in even lesser time. I took the Gmat in November 2014 and scored a 700(Quant-49, Verbal-36). Anindita was instrumental in my success as she helped me not only inside class but also outside it. Apart from the Princeton Review material she made me solve countless number of questions she had gathered from her years of teaching. She helped me keep my faith in myself and always made me believe that i could do it. I thank Anindita for the unconditional support and help she has provided. "
Joined: Mar 2, 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 31, 2013
College: NITK Surathkal
Major: Electrical Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience!

March 2, 2015
  • Teacher: Merrily
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

I took the GMAT in August 2014 and scored a 760 (Q51, V42, IR 8, AWA 5.5). I went to Princeton Review, Bangalore for GMAT coaching and would recommend it to anyone looking for GMAT coaching. Princeton offers 10 weeks of classroom coaching after which you can qualify for booster sessions in which you work one-on-one with master trainers who are experts in verbal and quant. While the classroom sessions ensure you are at a 600+ level, the booster sessions take you to 720+ scores. The master trainers analyze your performance in every section and work with you to strengthen them. These one-on-one sessions are extremely valuable and can easily give you a 100 point jump on the GMAT. The personal attention and effort of the master trainers helped me get a 760 on the GMAT. Just after my classroom sessions, i was at a 650 level. The booster sessions took me up another 110 points from there. I would strongly recommend Princeton Review to anyone aiming for a high score on the GMAT especially because of the one-on-one booster sessions.
Joined: Dec 20, 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 19, 2014
College: Manipal Institute of Technology, Manipal University
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Prep Course

December 21, 2014
  • Teacher: Rajarshi Ghoshal, Anindita Bose, Jyoti Datta
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

Hi Guys,

A few months back, when I decided that I would write the GMAT, I had no idea about the preparation required or how daunting the preparation would be. Through the grape vine I heard about The Princeton Review preparatory courses and after some research I enrolled the full time classroom course and availed individual sessions provided by the organization.

Know next to nothing about the exam and the preparation I started by classes with The Princeton Review. I found that from the very first class I found that the instructors did not sugar coat the preparatory activities and gave me a very realistic picture of the tasks that lay ahead of me. This I feel was paramount in me giving my best to my GMAT studies. The faculty was very thorough with their respective subjects and topics. Even in the classroom sessions they gave individual attention to the students which is something I found to be extremely helpful in the long run.

Since I had been working for the last four years I barely had any touch with the subjects or a strict regiment of studies one is accustomed to when attending school or college. Besides being friendly and patient, the faculty was very understanding of my situation and drew up a study plan which was best suited to my needs. The instructors' uncanny ability to pin point my areas of weakness and structure my lessons accordingly was probably the most helpful thing in my preparation.

The classes were always scheduled at a convenient time and the pace at which the lessons proceeded where very apt for a 3 month GMAT preparatory course. The lesson plan was very structured and the additional material provided at the center was of a very good standard. As the lessons proceeded the standard of teaching only got better. For me, Critical Reasoning was the topic that was most troubling. But both my Verbal instructors gave me such a targeted approach to understanding the topic that by the time I was done with my preparation, Critical Reasoning was one of the topics that I was most confident in. Data Sufficiency was another question type which troubled me, mainly because my time management in such questions was not up to the mark. My Quantitative faculty noticed this early on and gave me additional material and strategy tips which were most helpful to me during my exam.

Alongside all this, the faculty provided me with constant motivation and counselled me during the entire course of my preparation. There was a time when my mock test scores were on the downward trajectory and the advice that the faculty gave me then has still stuck with me even months after completing my exam.

Through their continual tutoring and counsel I was able to score a 690 on the GMAT, a score that at one point never seemed possible in my eyes. I have unwavering faith in The Princeton Review and their faculty that they can make a success story out of anyone. I have since and will continue to recommend The Princeton Review to my friends and acquaintances for all their GMAT preparatory needs and requirements.

Thank you Princeton Review for your hard work and motivation. I will always be indebted to you for my success.
Joined: Jul 15, 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 6, 2014
College: JSSATE
Major: Computer Engineering
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Princeton Review Jayanagar Bangalore Review

October 11, 2014
  • Teacher: Dr. Ramya Nitin, Bodhana Pavithran
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

Math: The course consisted of explanations of the Math concepts tested by GMAT divided into different topics. Review Material was comprehensive on the content. In the class room, questions were worked out and the approach to be used for each question type was discussed e.g. When to plug in, split approach for DS etc. Importantly, solving GMAT math problems was made to seem like a fun activity in class.

Verbal: Lessons in the verbal review comprise of different types of approaches to be used for each question type on the GMAT. SC: The common and rare correction types were separate, good list of idioms that can come in handy etc. My SC accuracy was near 100% most of the times. RC: Different approaches to working passages of different kinds followed by the techniques to be used for each kind of question on the passage. CR: Working the argument by finding the flaw, line of reasoning etc.

Other things of note: Online drills and tests were very helpful in my preparation. Homework schedule, if one sticks to it, is comprehensive enough as a study plan. Class timings were convenient. Teachers very much knowledgeable and approachable.

Boosters: Students are eligible for booster sessions if they score a 600 on one of the online tests during the course. I took the Verbal boosters where Merrily Tobin was my teacher. Although I went in for these sessions with hardly a week before my GMAT, these sessions helped me a lot in time management on the test, RC and CR accuracy.

I scored a 630 on the first practice test before the course started and ended up with a 730 (M:50,V:40,IR:7,AWA:6) on my actual GMAT after the course. I owe a big chunk of my success to The Princeton Review and the awesome teachers there- Dr.Ramya, Bodhana and Merrily :)
Joined: Oct 26, 2012
Purchased Course: Jun 12, 2013
College: AEC & RI
Major: Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Greatly Helpful course

September 22, 2014
  • Teacher: Merrily Tobin
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 670

Hi!

My experience with Princeton Review was Fantastic.
The apparent strengths of TPR are the teaching methods, course content, lab & library facilities, and the qualified trainers. Also, I found the Trainers updated with the test contents, & formats and constantly working on teaching methods to help students go through the changes, if any.
In my view, what puts TPR apart is the availability of trainers outside classrooms and their sincere effort to focus on every student.
Both my tutors Merrily & Rohit were there for me throughout my GMAT prep. They spent so much extra time with me that without any doubt pushed my GMAT score in my second attempt (from 520 to 670). Especially I found each of Merrily?s classes as well as booster sessions Energy packed and motivating.
Booster sessions were definitely more than just a technical discussion, very useful, as they helped me identify the flaws in my thought process. Apparently to approach GMAT questions, it is critical to know the weakness than the strength.
I wasn?t either a fast learner or a quick thinker. So I took more than 4 months after finishing all my classroom sessions to take my first GMAT test. Then my second attempt was 3 months after that. Both my tutors did not deny once when I asked for an extra help throughout my prep. Merrily would come to the centre just for my Booster session though there were no other classes scheduled for her that day. Tutors? faith in my ability instilled a responsibility on me to give my best. Each booster session was a real confidence booster. Moreover, after my second attempt (with 670), when I approached Merrily for help with my third attempt, she readily accepted. May be I was lucky to have found the right coaches to start working on my dream career.
I would highly recommend TPR for all those looking for real help with GMAT prep.
Joined: Sep 10, 2014
Purchased Course: Dec 8, 2013
College: M S Ramaiah Institute of Technology, Bangalore
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing experience. Value for money

September 10, 2014
  • Teacher: Merrily Tobin, Rohit Maiya, Sonal Kochar, Asma Jabeen.
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I joined for gmat classes at Princeton review in December 2013. My classes were taken be Sonal(verbal) and Asma(quant). These classes gave me a thorough grounding in all the concepts needed for the GMAT. After gaining all basic training in verbal and quant, I was put for booster sessions around FEB. I think this structure of the course is very effective. It caters to the individual needs of each student.
My verbal boosters were taken by Merrily and quant by Rohit Maiya. Unlike the basic class which gives you all the relevant skills for GMAT, the boosters specifically identify where we are going wrong and corrects them.
In verbal boosters, Merrily would make me redo the questions which were answered wrong or which took more time. She would analyse the thinking process which went into solving the questions and gave detailed feedback which helped me correct the approach. The common mistakes I was making in verbal were-
1)In CR I was not deconstructing the argument and was not able to identify patterns. I was giving more time in selecting the answers than deconstructing the argument. But the answer choices confuse you more. Once I started identifying patterns and started predicting answers before reading the answer choices, I started getting around 90% of the CR questions right from 50%
2) In SC there were many areas I was going wrong in. My approach was corrected to a large extent. I was also thought when to give up and move on.
3) I was made aware of the time killers. Some of the questions just cannot be answered. I became aware of such questions which helped me immensely in the real GMAT.
4) In RC I was taking more time in reading the passage. I stared giving more time to important stuff and skip the details. Also predicting what the sentence is going to say by reading the first 3 or 4 words was of immense help in putting the sentence in w.r.t the main idea of the passage.

Quant boosters too improved my skills immensely. Rohit always asked me to work smart not hard. He would come up with different approaches to the same problem which would save time and effort. This approach of trying out different methods of solving a problem helped me immensely in improving my Quant score which had stagnated. I was really bad in plugging-in, arithmetic and Geometry, which were made a lot easier by Rohit.
And I gave my first GMAT on April 11th. The mistake I did was I didn't go for any boosters for about 20-25 days before the test. This was a major mistake. I just concentrated on studying more and more material which was there on the net.
In the end I didn't apply any approach and scored a 610(q45,v27).
This was a terrible score considering I had scored 740 in two of the GMATPREP s.
I had lost complete hope in my ability. That's when Merrily motivated me a lot. TPR had done everything from giving me classes, to boosters to MGMAT tests , library of books etc. I didn?t expect them to do more. But merrily had not lost hope in my ability. She asked me to take rest for 4/5 days and asked me to come for boosters. She analyzed that I had completely strayed away from the approach in Sc, Cr and Rc. I took about 4/5 verbal boosters in a month and was back on track. I scored a 690 (q49,v34) on May 22. It is considerably better score than 610.
I am thoroughly satisfied with Manya group gmat classes. They tailor the course according to the students needs and abilities.
I was quite satisfied with my score of 690. Recently I realized I can give one more try as the score will not go lower even if I score less. But I really hope to cross the 720-730 this time. I recently attended a sc workshop conducted by merrily. The questions we solved were the once which will propel the score to 700+. The questions are also representative of the recent trends in GMAT which is moving away from pure grammar and towards meaning in SC.
Hope to cross the elusive 700 this time when I take my GMAT on sept 2nd. I thank TPR for being a constant companion in my GMAT journey.

P.S- I gave my GMAT again on Sept 2nd and I have scored a 710(Q49, V38).
Joined: Dec 31, 2013
Purchased Course: Mar 23, 2013
College: Manipal Institute of Technology
Major: Computer and Information Sciences
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

My Princeton Review Experience for GMAT

December 31, 2013
  • Teacher: Merrily Tobin
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

When I decided to start preparing for the GMAT (at Bangalore) I looked at a lot of prep classes among which Princeton Review was the best. My experience at Princeton was excellent because of the following:

1. Excellent trainers who know the content well and can put it across to students very efficiently.
2. Trainers are helpful in clearing doubts and take interest in the student's performance.
3. Princeton Review Books (they provide their own books along with the Official Guide).
4. Their Online Portal where every student gets an account with a set of practice questions, full length Mock Tests (gear you for the Computer Adaptive tests) and online tutorials (very helpful for self study at home and for quick revision before the test).
5. Their lab and library where you could sit and do self study.
6. Booster sessions: Any student who crosses a 600 mark in any of the mock tests gets to have one on one sessions with the master trainers. These sessions are extremely helpful in identifying deficiencies particular to a student and then correcting them for a better score.

I would like to extend a special thanks to Merrily for helping me out very patiently, with a lot of interest to improve my Verbal score. I give full credit to Princeton Review for my 710 score. Highly Recommended.
Joined: Aug 15, 2013
Purchased Course: Feb 7, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Princeton Review Classroom Coaching

December 9, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

The Classroom Coaching that I attended at TPR for GMAT has definitely played a key role in me achieving a score of 710!

Best things about the overall package they offer are:

1) Their faculty especially for verbal is very experienced. The tutors have been in the GMAT training field for a long time and they know exactly what has to be taught to a potential GMAT test taker. They approach the training in a systematic and organized way so that you are well versed with the concepts that you have learned before moving on to the next topics. Also, the tutors are just not limited to queries been asked in the classroom - they are available to schedule any extra help sessions. One can tremendously improve their score just by being attentive and regular to the classroom.

2) The facilities TPR offers are really good. Their library is up to date with all the materials that you need for your GMAT preparation. You can also take up mock tests at the center at any time of the week. I had been taking practice tests even after 6 months of my completion of their classroom course!

3) Their course material unlike many other big brand materials has a very simplified approach to even the tricky topics. GMAT does not test you much on the depth of knowledge on a subject, instead you just need to know right approach to specific problems or questions. The course material provides basic guidelines and also very simple techniques which can get you to the right answer and take seconds to solve as compared to the traditional approach which can be very laborious.

Last but not the least - I would like to mention about their Booster sessions which offer unlimited one-to-one support. This has been instrumental in improving my score by atleast 70 points and helped me identify and correct the common mistakes that I was making. Verbal tutor Merrily Tobin has helped me understand the way questions on GMAT need to be approached and pointed out the errors I was making repeatedly and helped me avoid them by analyzing every single question in detail and identifying the root cause. This really helped me change the way I approached a GMAT question and get a score of 40 in verbal.

All the Best with your GMAT prep!
Joined: Sep 13, 2013
Purchased Course: Jun 8, 2013
College: University of California Irvine
Major: Bio(medical) Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great way to prepare for the GMAT!

September 13, 2013
  • Teacher: Becky Robinson
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

I'm very glad that I took this course prior to my first actual exam. Becky was an amazing teacher that really broke down all of the tricks and methods necessary to get the higher score I was aiming for. Although math is a strong suit of mine, Becky was still able to make the problems seem like clockwork by teaching specific methods for each topic, allowing me to bypass all of the hard algebra or long equations I was normally used to using in my undergrad. This was especially helpful in keeping with the test's timed nature. Similarly, her teaching style for the verbal section allows the student to only focus on the important aspects of the question, making the process of elimination quite simple once you've mastered all of the rules. All in all, I would absolutely recommend her, and the Princeton Review, to any students looking for a way to study for their GMAT.
Joined: Jun 9, 2013
Purchased Course: Mar 5, 2013
College: Dartmouth College
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing Teacher

June 9, 2013
  • Teacher: Martin Cinke
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 720

After getting a lower GMAT score than I hoped for the first time around, I signed up for private tutoring through the Princeton Review and started working with Marty Cinke. I cannot say enough good things about Marty. He was extremely thorough, and he did an amazing job at breaking down some of the math problems I previously struggled with. In addition to extensive review of all of the classroom materials and workbooks, Marty went above and beyond to find me additional materials to make sure that I was prepared beyond just the scope of PR's materials and practice tests. I also had materials from a different course that I would sometimes bring in, and Marty was always game to work through problems with me, even when they were not materials he had not worked with previously. Marty's knowledge of the material, and his insight into what warranted extra focus versus what was less important, were both invaluable to my GMAT preparation.

In addition to his abilities as a GMAT tutor, Marty is just a really great person to work with. He was always clear, supportive, encouraging and very funny. He made the very stressful process of preparing for the GMAT much more manageable, and I would recommend him to anyone.
Joined: Mar 21, 2013
Purchased Course: Jan 5, 2013
College: University of California, Irvine
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Curriculum was good, teacher was amazing

March 21, 2013
  • Teacher: Becky Robinson
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

The Princeton Review curriculum is very good and will help familiarize you with the test and raise your score. The curriculum is very helpful in re-teaching you all those math concepts you forgot from highschool/college and introducing you to the verbal concepts covered on the GMAT. However, I do think that the Princeton Review focuses a little too much on math and should work on building out their verbal curriculum further. They offer tons of math drills that break apart every math concept, but have very few verbal drills which do not isolate concepts at all. I also think that that Princeton Review, while extremely helpful with raising your math score, focuses just a bit too much on strategies such as "plugging in." Yes, this is a helpful strategy, but at the end of the day its not a substitue for learning how the problems and algebra really work. Plugging in is a good strategy but a bit too time consuming if you're really looking for that top tier math score. Also, if you take this course, be sure to take the practice GMAT exams you get when you sign up for your GMAT. Princeton Review practice exam questions are easier than the real GMAT but the curve is very different. Your score on the real GMAT will be close to Princeton Review practice tests, but you'll probably miss a lot more questions than you can on PR tests. You need to get a feel for the real exam too.

On another note, my live online class teacher Becky Robinson was amazing! She was always extremely responsive to any email, responding within hours of sending her a question. She is very patient with her students and never makes a student feel like a question is silly or too easy. She has a very clear and concise way of explaining the answer to any question she receives and she tailors her response to your test taking level. In general she is also full of great suggestions for study techniques and test day techniques, I would highly recommend her if you can ask for her by name.
Joined: Jan 13, 2013
Purchased Course: Feb 6, 2013
College: Santa Clara University
Major: Marketing
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT Prep Review - Martin Cinke

January 13, 2013
  • Teacher: Martin Cinke
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I would recommend Marty to anyone looking to improve their GMAT score and or to get comfortable with the GMAT.

Before taking the course, I scored a 570 on my first practice test. After the course, my GMAT score improved to a 700.

Marty's teaching style and personality made the course actually fun, if you can believe that. I became comfortable with the GMAT questions, and Marty's tips and tricks really helped me to improve my time spent on each question, especially math. Overall Marty made the whole experience easy and I was confident as I took the GMAT.

Thanks to Marty I got the score I was aiming for and will be attending the Ross school of Business this upcoming fall to pursue my MBA.
Joined: Nov 21, 2012
Purchased Course: Aug 31, 2013
College: louisiana state university
Major: Accounting
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very helpful! teaches all the tricks of the gmat!!

November 21, 2012
  • Teacher: terry stehlik
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 550 After: 640

The gmat class was so great. i had no idea there were so many tricks. it also helped me a lot with timing and the verbal section. mr. stehlik was a great teacher, making the class fun and making sure it was tailored to my needs. he also would stay late and give me extra time on topics i had trouble with. i would recommend this course to anyone looking to improve their score!
Joined: Sep 18, 2011
Purchased Course: Aug 12, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Great Improvement

November 12, 2012
  • Teacher: Tony Pumilia
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

My first practice scores hovered in the 600 range and I ended up with a 690 so I was ecstatic. The great thing about the TPR review materials is the focus on strategy. It isn't just about the skill sets you need, it's about maximizing your time and learning to maneuver around intentionally confusing phrasing.

My private tutor, Tony Pumilia, did a fantastic job. I went the private tutor route because while my verbal was up to snuff, I hadn't touched math since high school. He was a huge help. If I had to do it over with unlimited resources, I would have taken the course and supplemented with tutoring. However, with my time and financial constraints (and the imbalance in my knowledge base), tutoring was the right path for me.

Overall, very encouraging, understanding, and patient.
Page:1 2 3