Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services
Course
ADMISSION CONSULTING COMPANY

Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services

5 stars
(5/5) - 35 reviews
ndx91
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Couldn't have done it without SBC

5 stars
November 9, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: Erin Barry
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I am so glad I was able to work with Erin, who used to be an admissions officer at CBS. I applied to CBS and Wharton, and I ended up getting into CBS for ED and withdrew my application for Wharton, where I also received an interview invite due to Erin's help.

I spoke with several consultants and ultimately felt that SBC was the right fit for me. I had my intro call with Esther and she was very enthusiastic and encouraging, even though I felt nervous about my untraditional background and not having done as many extracurricular activities as some other applicants.

I truly couldn't have done it without Erin's guidance. My essays went through several edits and in the end, they were completely different from where they started and so much better. My background is a little bit untraditional and Erin was able to help me turn that into a strength. Because Erin used to be on the admissions committee at CBS, she knew what they were looking for and helped me make my application a lot more focused. The Flight Test with Beth was also super helpful, and allowed me to make some final and important edits to my essays.

I would highly recommend SBC!

JJ800
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Outstanding Investment

5 stars
July 22, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: Amy Bergrud
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I utilized Stacy Blackman Consulting, (I chose the All-In package), and it was one of the best investments I've ever made! Not only did I get into both schools I applied to, but I got into my dream school, USC Marshall School of Business, (with a scholarship). I worked with Amy for over a year and she gave me lots of practical advice on how to strengthen my application.

For me, writing the application essays was the most challenging part. Amy's advice on how to both approach the essays and her help with the over half a dozen revisions we did was invaluable. She also motivated and helped drive me to do my best on every aspect of the application, including improving my GMAT score and adding extracurriculars. The flight test, which is offered by Stacy Blackman Consulting, (in which other consultants review your application and essays) is another excellent example of how effective their approach is.

The application process is really a journey and it's important to start early. I would highly recommend Amy and Stacy Blackman Consulting as their expertise and track record speaks for itself. I truly believe that my applications wouldn't have been as successful as they were without their help. Again, I'd highly recommend their service!

jacob20
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Country: Singapore
Verified Real Student Review

Admission Consulting Services

4 stars
July 9, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: Julie Gordon Shipley
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Julie worked with me through my business school applications. She helped me with planning my application strategy , all my essays from the first draft to the final product. She also helped me with my interview preparation with a couple of mock interviews.

Julie's guidance and patience really helped me clarify my career goals and dig deeper to be able to write with conviction and clarity on my short-term and long term goals. All her feedback definitely helped me make my essays stronger and her consistent encouragement helped me stay motivated until we were both absolutely certain that it was the best possible version of my essay before submitting it.

I wholeheartedly recommend Julie and I would not have been able to get admitted at my dream school LBS without her.

kbpeck
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
College: University of Virginia
Major: Engineering
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Worth every penny and then some: SBC and specifically working with Erika Olson

5 stars
May 18, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: Erika Olson
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I chose to work with Stacy Blackman, and specifically Erika Olson, because of a recommendation from one of my good friends from ROTC. I spoke with all of the major MBA admission consulting firms, and chose Stacy Blackman based off of my experience of my friend and the insights from my intro call with Bill Chionis and Erika. I went to a UVA undergrad and majored in engineering with a 3.4 GPA and a 720 GMAT (50Q/37V), and I spent four years in the Army as an engineer officer. I applied to six schools (HBS, Wharton, Booth, Tuck, Darden and Sloan), received interviews at all of them and was admitted to all of them except for HBS. I also received scholarships from Booth, Tuck and Darden. I ultimately chose to attend Sloan. As a military applicant, I did have the know how to craft my own resume, as well as decide what experiences were best to put forward in my essays and interviews. With the All-In package, I knew I would be ridding my application of any military jargon that would confuse non-military folks on the ADCOM (just about all of them) and that the product that I was putting forward to schools would give me the best chance at acceptance. Erika was extraordinarily helpful throughout the entire process. She pushed me to develop the best resume, essays, etc. for each of my applications. Without her help and the rest of the Stacy Blackman team, I undoubtably would not have seen the same results that I did. Because I chose the All-In package I was able to practice my team-based Wharton interview with Caryn Altman, a former member of the Wharton ADCOM, and other SBC clients preparing for their Wharton interviews. The experience and feedback were invaluable to have before I stepped into the actual interview. The prep interview allowed me to go in much better prepared than my fellow interviewers within my group...and I did not see more than 1 of the other 5 at admitted students weekend. All in all, Erika Olson is the best you can do as far as MBA consultants. I would sign up with her 100 times out of 100 again. She goes extremely quickly too. If you want to book her, you need to start thinking March or April of the year of applications to have her as your consultant for Round 1 applications. I've recommended her to all of my military and non-military friends, and if you are serious about going to business school and want to have the best chance of admittance...sign up with SBC and request Erika Olson if at all possible.

Enrique González Bencomo
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: ITAM
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: Mexico
Verified Real Student Review

The best resource for a Latin American Re applicant to Top-tier MBA programs in US

5 stars
May 6, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: Stephanie Cohn
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
As a Latin American re applicant candidate to top business schools in the US, I found the assistance and support from SBC to be extremely valuable. Since the beginning of the process, I was matched with a true counselor that understood very well my personal story and that helped me define the best route for strengthening my candidacy. Stephanie has been the best consultant, who has helped me polish a concise, clear and powerful pitch for Admissions. With her support and Rebekah (former admissions officer as Stephanie) who provided an excellent flight test before submitting my materials, I was admitted at Duke, IESE and currently waitlisted at Tuck. I can confidently say that SBC team is absolutely professional as they provide every resource needed for creating your best application. In this long process of applying to Business School, the support & guidance of former Admission Officers and counselors is critical, as they understand very well the process, and will support you in a comprehensive way, giving you the confidence to do the best of the process.

Thanks for everything SBC!!

Tgggk
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
College: University of Cambridge
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent all-round support from the Stacy Blackman team

5 stars
May 6, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: Shaifali Aggarwal
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I worked closely with Shaifali Aggarwal, Esther Magna and Caryn Altman over the course of several months. I am an international student from a Finance background, so had to work hard to craft a unique and compelling story. Shaifali was my primary contact. She was always approachable and responsive. Working with her on my essays was great and very productive, and her comments on my latest drafts were always helpful and allowed me to hone in on the key points the admissions committee are looking for.

I should also mention that Stacy Blackman have a multitude of written materials for each school, as well as an online databank with past interview questions. These resources should not be underestimated, and are extremely useful.

Once a good draft of my application was ready, this was sent for a "flight test" with Caryn Altman, who is herself a former AdCom member. She reviewed my application in the same was as she did in real life, and her feedback was also invaluable. Finally, I had some practice interview sessions with Shaifali, which helped me perfect my interview technique and present myself in the best way.

I am pleased to say that I've secured a place at Wharton, my preferred school. I am delighted to be starting there later this year. I would like to thank the entire team at Stacy Blackman for their help over the last few months, and would unequivocally recommend their services to anyone who is serious about their business school applications.

mbabound2020
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Yvette is a gem! 2 full rides, 3 acceptances!

5 stars
May 5, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: Yvette Romero
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I am so beyond ecstatic at the results of my partnership with Yvette and the SBC team! I decided on SBC after reading many outstanding reviews and seeing the results of a friend who used SBC. I was matched based on my nontraditional background with Yvette Romero, a true gem!, and my main consultant who helped me identify target schools, refine my voice through my essays, and ace the interviews. Yvette was thoughtful, encouraging, and incisively realistic while making me laugh through an otherwise stressful process. Throughout our partnership, she asked me questions that highlighted aspects of my profile that I would have never considered to be special. Her advice on how to frame my applications to appeal to adcomm revealed deep insight into the admissions process, and as a result, even small tweaks to my application felt like home runs. Her deep knowledge of MBA admissions ultimately empowered me with a road map to strategically navigate those long months.

What felt most critical to me in our partnership and something that I will always be thankful for is that Yvette gave me the confidence I needed to overcome a low GPA. She taught me how to truly and unabashedly tell my unique story and highlight my strengths. She is a gifted listener and story teller, and she imbues you with these same qualities- asking the right questions until you arrive at the key story for your application to showcase. And because she is truly invested in your success and believes that you deserve your own best work, she will work painstakingly with you until you get it right! I am so proud when I read my essays and think on my interviews, because they feel like "me". Yvette really helped my essence shine.

I received THREE acceptances from top schools, including TWO FULL SCHOLARSHIPS - one from a reach school I hadn't considered until Yvette told me to go for it! As someone with a nonprofit background and the hurdle of a low GPA, I know the price looks a little steep but it is an incredibly worthwhile investment that will pay dividends! I am thrilled to be attending a top business school in the fall and regret nothing about my SBC experience. I cannot recommend Yvette enough. She pushed me to work hard, be honest, and be proud of what I had accomplished. I have loved working with her, and if you make the wonderful decision to do the same, I know you will, too!

hyejin.a.kim@gmail.com
Joined: Nov 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: University of Chicago
Major: Economics
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: Korea, Republic of
Verified Real Student Review

Thank You Christine and SBC!

5 stars
May 1, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: Christine
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I worked with Christine Hawkins on 3 applications. Acceptance with a substantial fellowship + need-based aid to my top choice Columbia Business School and interview invite to Wharton would not have been possible without Christine’s and the SBC team’s amazing dedication (both 2Y full-time; withdrew from Wharton and Stern due to Columbia ED).
Even before the process started, I could tell by Esther's (principal manager) enthusiasm and commitment to me to make sure that I was matched with just the right consultant for me, that I had chosen the right company.

I was a female applicant from an increasingly competitive pool, was educated from a US college with mediocre grades, with no off-the-page leadership or community experiences (oh yes, and no GMAT score yet). During what could have been anxious and unsettling times, Christine was a counselor, confidence booster when I was down with unexpected CFA and GMAT test results, and was an honest critique of all my deliverables in the best sense of the term. Christine would lead me to pull out certain ideas, but would never go ahead and write essays FOR me (for many good reasons); when something seemed off to both of us but neither of us could quite put a finger on it, she steered me toward looking in other arsenals of my anecdotes and experiences (which until that point I didn’t know I had or could turn to!) and pulling essay ideas from there.

Christine's comments on my deliverables always came under 48 hours turnaround (though she is not obligated to work so by all means), and I was amazed by her willingness to go above and beyond her call of duty--for example, encouraging me to network with alumni in my area to see if they could submit sideletters for me, and offering to put in extra mock interview sessions. Also, Lisa Anderson's Flight Test put me at east and gave me that much-needed extra boost of confidence as I prepared to hit ‘submit’ for my first choice & anchor school, Columbia. Bill Chionis, my client liaison, was also extremely supportive in keeping me updated of all the different options for application review and his birds-eye-view of the entire process. All of this careful attention to each of my applications as if they were their own will definitely lead me to recommend Christine & the SBC's comprehensive package to friends who are current MBA-hopefuls.

camj5889
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Political Science
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Wharton Round 2 Admit w/ Scholarship

5 stars
April 30, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: Meghan Ellis
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I had a wonderful experience with SBC - receiving the all-in services for my Wharton Round 2 Application. From the outset, my diagnostic and initial conversations with Esther (onboarding) were incredibly helpful and informative. That conversation led to my decision to go with SBC instead of other firms I was speaking with (Veritas, Ivy).

From there I moved to work directly with Meghan, my dedicated consultant. As a former Wharton admissions officer, she was able to provide differentiated advice and guidance to support my Wharton application. She helped me think through my story and highlight the most impactful aspects of my professional and extracurricular experiences.

Equally important, was the mock team-based discussion preparation session that Meghan held for myself and five other candidates who received interview invitations for the Wharton Round 2 Interviews.

Meghan's candor in reviewing my application and in assessing my mock TBD performance informed my approach and strategy on interview day. I had no issues with any aspect of the service.

ski1791
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
Verified Real Student Review

All-In Services Review with Erika of SBC

5 stars
April 29, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: Erika
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I considered Stacy Blackman, Veritas, and MBA Mission before choosing an all-in package. I read extensively online and held phone screens with each before making my selection. After applying during the R1, I am incredibly glad that I chose Stacy Blackman. I highly recommend SBC’s all-in package and specifically have wonderful things to say about Erika.



One of the primary reasons I was initially drawn to SBC is because they let you choose your own advisor, who you work with across all schools/applications, while the advisor will thoughtfully bring-in school-specific experts when necessary. By the time you decide to apply to b-school, your job experiences, grades, and extra curriculars are all set, so the advisor’s primary goal is to help you craft your story.



Besides her impressive background, I chose Erika because one of her previous reviewers had said that she was not afraid to “tell you when you are wrong.” Throughout the process, Erika was beyond candid, letting me know when something was great or making me start from scratch when knew it wouldn’t work. Erika was always reachable and patient, often responding within hours of my countless emails, day and night. Besides having a fantastic eye for helping to craft a narrative around your unique story, she was also very good at keeping me calm and helping me prioritize during an incredibly stressful process.



Erika takes the time to get to know you as a person – asking questions that go beyond what is typical – to make sure your whole life’s story is captured throughout the applications in a way that is impressive and not redundant. The entire time I worked with Erika, I felt like I was her only client – and I felt like she was as emotionally invested in my outcome as I was. I come from an Ivy League undergraduate school with a well-known job and a high GMAT score, so I was especially focused on finding someone to help me figure out how to make my applications standout. There is no doubt in my mind that Erika was a huge factor in my outcome. After applying to seven schools in R1, I am happy to report that I was admitted to both Kellogg and Sloan. I could not have asked for a better partner in this process.