Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services
Course
ADMISSION CONSULTING COMPANY

Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services

5 stars
(5/5) - 42 reviews
sobe880
Joined: Feb 2019
Purchased Course: May 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Totally Worth It -- Thank You Keauna!

5 stars
February 17, 2019
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Keauna
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I worked with Keauna and applied to 8 schools. Although I only worked with her on applications for two schools (it is expensive) I used all of her help/suggestions on the remaining 6 schools so my success in these schools is definitely a result of our work together.

I had an initial free call with Lisa, who paired me with Keauna who does a lot of work with nontraditional applicants. If you are one, I highly suggest working with her! Even in the short consulting call I felt like SBC had a wealth of knowledge and experience and that their services would be money well spent. I chose SBC because they were very straightforward and to the point -- I didn't feel like they were sugar coating anything in order to get me to sign up for their services.

Coming from a nontraditional background, Keauna helped me figure out a cohesive way to tell the story of my career path thus far and why I wanted to get an MBA. Once I got interview offers she also helped me prepare for the interviews. Our mock interview made me feel much more prepared and comfortable going into the real thing.

I was accepted to 5 schools and declined to interview at a 6th. I received two full scholarships, both at top 10 schools. I also received a 50% scholarship at another top 10 school and a 75% scholarship at a top 15 school.

Keanua was always available throughout the process for both the big things like reviewing essays but also smaller, random questions I had along the way. She was also there to talk through which school I ultimately chose to attend. I really felt like Keanua cared about me as a person throughout the process and was genuinely happy for me and my acceptances. Thanks to her I will be attending a top 10 MBA program with a full scholarship in the fall!

sancho_m
Joined: Jan 2019
Purchased Course: May 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Christina is the best!

5 stars
February 4, 2019
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Christina
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
After having calls with most of the major consulting firms, I decided to work with Christina from SBC. Most of the other consultants I had met always told me how I was going to get into every top school right from the beginning without having an understanding of my profile. Christina was the only one to immediately point out specific key strengths as well as potential weaknesses and ideas to address them, as well as being realistic about my opportunities. This was exactly what I was looking for.
Working with Christina proved to be a pleasure from the start. Two words that come to mind when thinking about her are ORGANIZATION and DETAILS. Her approach is very structured, comprehensive and well thought-out, and her ability to focus on even the smallest details, strong points, and potential flaws is overwhelming (in a good way of course!). If there is ANY possibility any part of your application might have a positive or negative effect on your assessment she WILL find it, point it out and work with you to highlight or address it. Relentlessly.
On top of this, Christina has an especial ability to retain every single piece of information you provide and bring it up and find ways to use it (even after a very long time). She really tries to get to know you as best as possible and might even bring up a story or a small detail you told her months ago and hadn´t even thought of yourself to help you prove an important point in your essays or interviews! She really takes your application more seriously than you do...
Her understanding of all schools is mind-blowing (although she went to HBS I honestly think she has attended every MBA program), and she will use this knowledge to point out those parts of you that best fit each school and will explain how and why they are a good fit, providing really valuable advice. This is very helpful to understand what schools you should target too.
Personally (having even met her in person) she is an extremely nice and respectful person, and everything about her is completely genuine. She really cares for you and will do everything she can to maximize your opportunities. If you want to truly give your MBA applications your best shot, she is the only option!
I got accepted into my top 2 schools: HBS and Wharton/Lauder. I cannot recommend her services enough, I would give her 6 out of 5 stars!

nicolekrantz
Joined: Jan 2019
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
College: Duke University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Phenomenal experience!!

5 stars
January 24, 2019
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Beth Tidmarsh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Beth provided a necessary steadiness throughout this entire process. She kept me on track and organized, so that I could focus on strengthening my portrayal of my candidacy. Her insightful guidance throughout this entire process made her an integral part of my support system and I truly could not have done it without her! Her time, patience, understanding, and extreme organization helped relieve much of the anxiety and stress that often comes up when pursuing a journey like getting an MBA!

Beth armed me with a strong basis of knowledge, confidence, and a realistic understanding of how to navigate this tricky process. I am beyond grateful for her thoughtfulness and the genuine care she put into supporting me and my candidacy. Her constant check-ins and words of support helped propel me successfully through this process. Thank you, Beth!

meb09
Joined: Jan 2019
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
Major: Economics
Industry: Retailing/Wholesaling
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

YES YES AND YES!

5 stars
January 13, 2019
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Beth Tidmarsh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
If you are at all like I was a year ago – reading this thread and thinking – is it worth it? THE ANSWER IS YES. Stop reading and go book Stacy Blackman Consulting now. SBC was invaluable in enabling me get into my dream school.
One thing is for sure in the application process -- you are going to have A LOT of questions. Maybe even doubts or concerns. Stacy Blackman Consulting will have the answers that you can TRUST and answers that are tailored to fit your INDIVIDUAL needs/skills/circumstance. This will make all the difference in enabling you to present yourself confidently, efficiently, and effectively in your written applications and in person interviews. I was amazed by how much my consultant, Beth Tidmarsh, brought out the best in me. I have to say if you are lucky enough to work with Beth, you have hit the jackpot. Beth was nothing short of a dream. She was relentless, professional, effective, insightful, supportive, meticulous, responsive, and worked her tail off to teach me how to put my best foot forward. I truly felt like I had superwoman on my side through this process – there to save the day if I needed her, but all the while coaching me on how to fly on my own!
In summary, go sign up for SBC and don’t look back. Their guidance is worth every penny. When you get that acceptance call from your dream school admissions, you will be so happy you did!!

pgt1991
Joined: Jan 2019
Purchased Course: Apr 2018
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Exceeded Expectations!

5 stars
January 10, 2019
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Maureen
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I cannot express how grateful I am for Maureen and Stacy Blackman. With the help, support, and resources of Maureen and Stacy Blackman, I found great success in my MBA applications. I was accepted to Tuck, Ross, and Fuqua, my top choices!

From my initial consultation with Sarah Tsai, I received customized and tailored advice from Stacy Blackman. Sarah matched me with Maureen based on my background and goals, and it was a great fit! Maureen took the time to really get to know my background, experiences, and goals, and worked with me to create a schedule and application plan. When I fell behind schedule due to disappointing GMAT scores, she helped and motivated me to stay on track and ensure that I ultimately met my round one deadlines. From the beginning, she set clear expectations and made me aware of my weaknesses. This allowed me to acknowledge and address these weaknesses in my application. Most significantly, I had a low GMAT quant score. While I felt discouraged, Maureen pushed me to retake the test multiple times, and even consider the GRE. She encouraged me to take advantage of all possible opportunities to ensure I submitted my best possible application.

Maureen and I worked on countless resume, essay, and email drafts. Because she really understood my experiences and goals, she helped me to create unique and personalized essays. She consistently emailed me back drafts the same day with strong edits and ideas. I emailed her daily with questions and concerns and she never failed to respond in a timely and thorough manner. Maureen was invested in my success throughout the whole process. She provided insight into the particular programs that I was applying to and helped me to differentiate my applications. She followed up with me after each interview and event that I attended. I am so incredibly grateful for Maureen and Stacy Blackman.

kelloggMMM2019
Joined: Dec 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Investment

5 stars
December 28, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Beth Tidmarsh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I worked with Beth on my applications for Kellogg/MMM and Tuck. I was accepted to both with scholarship at Kellogg!! I also applied to Darden and Yale. While I didn't work with Beth on those schools, I was able to transfer a lot of what we worked on for Kellogg and Tuck to the Darden and Yale apps. Throughout the process Beth checked in with me on how my apps for Darden and Yale were going, and I could bounce some essay ideas off her as well. I could tell she really cared about my success in all my applications. I was also accepted into both those schools- with a scholarship at Darden!

I'm still a little in shock that I was accepted everywhere, and I know I couldn't have done it without Beth. We went through countless revisions of my essays and resume, and even a few rounds on the short answer questions. Also invaluable was the peace of mind I got from working with her-any question I had I knew I could email her about and get a fast response.

I had vetted multiple other consulting firms but ended up choosing SBC because on my consultation call with Esther she was realistic about my weaknesses (a 50th percentile quant score on the GMAT and not a strong undergrad/work quant background) without trying to "scare" me. She also was able to deliver value instantly by accurately teasing out my strengths in 30 minutes. I knew that if I could get that much out of a consultation call the full service would be worth it- and it was!

pathtomba2019
Joined: Dec 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2018
Country: Afghanistan
Verified Real Student Review

Could Not Have Been Happier

5 stars
December 27, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Amy Bergrud
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
From the moment I first contacted Stacy Blackman and was received by Bill, I knew I was in for invaluable advice from day one. I had this whole plan in my head for my story and how I was going to approach my MBA applications, and Bill told me straight up what was wrong with it and why it wouldn't fly in reality, and from my experiences since, I have seen why I was wrong in the first place.

After agreeing to take part in the service, I was matched with Amy and she was nothing but fantastic from the start. I could easily tell that she put actual care into crafting my story and putting together everything to make myself look more appealing to each school. She was incredibly responsive and helpful at every step of the way, from helping edit my essays, to helping me arrange my resume and accomplishments in the best way possible, and there is no way I could have ended up landing the offer of a lifetime I did without the help and support from Amy and Stacy Blackman.

In addition, the flight test from Beth really helped my confidence level in choosing the schools that I targetted, and let me focus on doing well at the interviews knowing my profile was good enough for those schools.

I would highly recommend the service to anyone who is serious about their future!

ndx91
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Couldn't have done it without SBC

5 stars
November 9, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Erin Barry
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I am so glad I was able to work with Erin, who used to be an admissions officer at CBS. I applied to CBS and Wharton, and I ended up getting into CBS for ED and withdrew my application for Wharton, where I also received an interview invite due to Erin's help.

I spoke with several consultants and ultimately felt that SBC was the right fit for me. I had my intro call with Esther and she was very enthusiastic and encouraging, even though I felt nervous about my untraditional background and not having done as many extracurricular activities as some other applicants.

I truly couldn't have done it without Erin's guidance. My essays went through several edits and in the end, they were completely different from where they started and so much better. My background is a little bit untraditional and Erin was able to help me turn that into a strength. Because Erin used to be on the admissions committee at CBS, she knew what they were looking for and helped me make my application a lot more focused. The Flight Test with Beth was also super helpful, and allowed me to make some final and important edits to my essays.

I would highly recommend SBC!

JJ800
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Outstanding Investment

5 stars
July 22, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Amy Bergrud
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I utilized Stacy Blackman Consulting, (I chose the All-In package), and it was one of the best investments I've ever made! Not only did I get into both schools I applied to, but I got into my dream school, USC Marshall School of Business, (with a scholarship). I worked with Amy for over a year and she gave me lots of practical advice on how to strengthen my application.

For me, writing the application essays was the most challenging part. Amy's advice on how to both approach the essays and her help with the over half a dozen revisions we did was invaluable. She also motivated and helped drive me to do my best on every aspect of the application, including improving my GMAT score and adding extracurriculars. The flight test, which is offered by Stacy Blackman Consulting, (in which other consultants review your application and essays) is another excellent example of how effective their approach is.

The application process is really a journey and it's important to start early. I would highly recommend Amy and Stacy Blackman Consulting as their expertise and track record speaks for itself. I truly believe that my applications wouldn't have been as successful as they were without their help. Again, I'd highly recommend their service!

jacob20
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Country: Singapore
Verified Real Student Review

Admission Consulting Services

4 stars
July 9, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Julie Gordon Shipley
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Julie worked with me through my business school applications. She helped me with planning my application strategy , all my essays from the first draft to the final product. She also helped me with my interview preparation with a couple of mock interviews.

Julie's guidance and patience really helped me clarify my career goals and dig deeper to be able to write with conviction and clarity on my short-term and long term goals. All her feedback definitely helped me make my essays stronger and her consistent encouragement helped me stay motivated until we were both absolutely certain that it was the best possible version of my essay before submitting it.

I wholeheartedly recommend Julie and I would not have been able to get admitted at my dream school LBS without her.