Stacy Blackman Consulting
Company
ADMISSION CONSULTING COMPANY

Stacy Blackman Consulting

Best Promo Code 2019 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 61 reviews
mj2619
Joined: May 2019
Purchased Course: Jul 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Sophisticated Mentors and Expert Service

5 stars
May 11, 2019
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 46 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Siesholtz
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Approaching the MBA Admissions process, I had an idea that the applications were rigorous and comprehensive, but I truly had no sense of the level of detail and management necessary to prepare the completed applications for each school. I was pivoting from a career as an independent film director and knew that proving my business and analytical ability would require additional support and guidance. In a quick google search, I found Stacy Blackman Consulting and after reading the reviews felt confident that they would be professional, thorough, and a great resource.

I was immediately paired with Joseph Siesholtz who shared an entertainment background. I cannot speak highly enough about Joey. He was an incredible mentor, highly supportive, and completely transparent. He helped me from the beginning of the process through the end. Definitely request him if you decide to go with their services.
- He emphasized the importance for me to prove my analytical skills through a high GMAT score, which I was able to accomplish with a 710.
- My inclination was to structure my essays so they conformed to more formal business writing. I wasn’t sure what was appropriate to share in the context of graduate admissions. However, Joey coerced me to be authentic and share a genuine personal story, which allowed for much more persuasive and honest storytelling.
- Joey was able to help me define my goals in more MBA-terms and develop concrete lists of roles and skills that I’d like to pursue out of b-school.
- He helped with interview preparation, making sure I presented an appropriate tone and clearly expressed my intentions.

Working with Stacy Blackman and specifically Joey was transformative in priming my mindset for b-school. Having sophisticated mentors guide you through the MBA process, especially if you come from an alternative background, is highly valuable. I received a full-scholarship to USC Marshall, a partial scholarship and admission into NYU for a dual-degree program (MBA from Stern and Master of Fine Arts in film from Tisch). Truly the best experience.

ccc2152
Joined: May 2019
Purchased Course: Sep 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Phenomenal Experience

5 stars
May 5, 2019
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 46 reviews
Teacher: Christina
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
When I first thought about applying to business school, I didn't think about using a consultant because I didn't realize how valuable they were (particularly given the cost). Now that I'm done with the entire process, I can confidently say that choosing SBC has been absolutely worth it. I could probably write a novel, but I'll try to keep it short and sweet.

I was paired with Christina, who is genuinely one of the most thoughtful, articulate, and hard-working people I have ever worked with. She went above and beyond to make sure that I put forth the best application by working with me on every aspect of my candidacy from pushing me to reach out to current MBA students to bolstering weaknesses on my resume to gathering insights from her friends regarding roles in different industries that interested me! For example, I intend to completely change both my industry and function post MBA, which is extremely risky, but Christina was able to lay out what the flaws would be in my candidacy from adcomm's perspective and how I could improve upon those flaws. She suggested that I find relevant consulting/outside-of-work experience in the industry I wanted to pursue, which ended up being an important part of my story. Without her deep insight into the application process and multiple pointers along the way, I probably would not have even received an interview. She was instrumental throughout the entire process, helping me choose the schools I wanted to apply to, giving essay tips, preparing for interviews, and even post-acceptance, providing helpful pointers before the school year starts.

I ended up applying to 3 schools - Wharton, Booth, and Columbia. I was accepted into all three and also received a scholarship from Booth. Christina is not only a terrific consultant but also an incredible mentor. I could not have asked for a better experience.

skm2767
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2018
College: University of Chicago
Major: Art
Industry: Arts/Culture
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Could not have done it without Stacy Blackman Consulting!

5 stars
April 26, 2019
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Hourly Services 15 reviews
Teacher: Erin Barry
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
As a non-traditional applicant from a creative industry, I was nervous about applying to business school. From the beginning, Erin reassured me that my top choice school was a real possibility if we crafted my profile to play up my unique strengths and strategically address any weaknesses in my application.

Given that Erin previously worked in admissions at my top choice school, she was able to provide me with specialized insight with my essays, resume and application as a whole.

Erin was always available over email or phone and reviewed any materials I submitted to her within the day, while I'm sure balancing many other applications. Furthermore, our discussions regarding interview prep gave me ample talking points and eased my nerves.

I could not have gotten into my top choice school without Erin and SBC!

nmg46
Joined: Apr 2019
Purchased Course: Nov 2018
College: Haverford College
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you SBC and Beth!!

5 stars
April 11, 2019
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 46 reviews
Teacher: Beth Tidmarsh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I am 100% positive I would not have received the admits I did without Beth from Stacy Blackman Consulting. While I was worried about spending money on a consultant, it was 100% worth it in the grand scheme of things. I worked with Beth on Kellogg and Yale, and I was admitted to both. I was also able to transfer what we worked on to my Stern application (goals, resume, job descriptions, etc.) and was also admitted there with a scholarship.

I looked at five other larger and boutique consulting firms. I felt like many other consultants didn’t care much about who I was as a person/what drives me. Some encouraged me to craft a story they thought the admissions committee would want to hear (for example, one consultant told me to craft my goals around ed-tech because it is hot right now). Others said to me that the schools I was interested in were out of reach, and encouraged me to only apply to second and third-tier schools. It almost felt like other consultancies would make you doubt yourself to get you to buy their services.

SBC was the polar opposite. My first call was with Sarah Tsai, who listened carefully to my needs and matched me with Beth. Beth is a former admissions officer and has an acute knowledge of the way the process works. She was direct, highly intelligent, honest, communicative, nonjudgmental, and just overall lovely to work with. She broke down the application process into manageable chunks and helped keep me on track.

Beth took lots of time to consider who I was as a person and what drives me to help me in creating an authentic, but persuasive, application. SBC was very honest with me about my strengths and weaknesses, and carefully considered how we would leverage strengths and make admissions committees feel better about my shortcomings (quant background).

It was incredibly helpful to work with a firm that has so much admissions knowledge amongst its employees. Lisa (a former admissions officer) did a “flight-test” of my application, and then I worked to revise it with feedback. I also did a mock-interview and got feedback before my real interviews. Finally, the SBC Wiki page is beneficial. I was able to read previous admits’ essays and look at banks of interview questions that other students received to help myself prepare.

I went through 12 versions of my resume and over ten versions of my essays with Beth. SBC focuses on every little detail, down to each 100-character response on the apps.

THANK YOU SBC!!!!

ehe1991
Joined: Mar 2019
Purchased Course: May 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Would Give Yvette 6 Stars if I Could!

5 stars
March 22, 2019
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 46 reviews
Teacher: Yvette
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
When I decided to apply to business schools I was very skeptical about investing in a consultant, but working with Yvette was 110% worth it. Before meeting Yvette I had screened a few consultants from various companies and felt they either tried to sugar-coat things or were skewed toward traditional backgrounds. Yvette was exceptional at striking a balance between being an upbeat cheerleader and a no-BS coach. For example, I was very hesitant to re-take my standardized tests because I felt defeated and believed I was just a terrible test-taker; however, Yvette helped me make an informed decision about the upside of giving it another shot and shared useful test-taking strategies. With more motivation and courage than I would have had on my own, I retook the test and ended up boosting my score substantially. Yvette also identified with my non-traditional background and helped me spin that as a positive attribute throughout my application. Moreover, the level of attention I was given far exceeded my expectations. Yvette was very generous with her time – both in our verbal discussions and in the effort she poured into every round of edits. Her thoughtful advice and constant encouragement took my application to the next level and I was ultimately admitted to my top school, HBS (which is also Yvette’s alma mater). Yvette made every step of the rigorous process feel manageable and I cannot say enough positive things about her!

zazagogia
Joined: Feb 2019
Purchased Course: Sep 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommended! Christine H. & Stacy Blackman Consulting

5 stars
February 18, 2019
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Hourly Services 15 reviews
Teacher: Christine
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I am extremely satisfied with the services offered by SBC and namely, my consultant Christine Hawkins, who did an amazing job helping me craft my story.

I had devoted a considerable amount of time preparing for the GMAT and researching schools, however due to some personal issues, I found myself with very little time (less than a month) to work on the applications of two highly selective schools. After doing a thorough research, I decided to approach SBC for support and I quickly realized that I had made the right decision.

Christine promptly managed to get to know my strengths/weaknesses and my story as a whole. Together, we laid out a strategy (which included guidance on the resume, essays, interviews and other crucial factors) that eventually led to two well-rounded applications that perfectly demonstrated my appeal as an MBA prospect to the adcom. Throughout the application process, Christine was very responsive and approachable, providing constructive feedback on various aspects of my application that helped me refine and systematize my seemingly "rugged" story.

In the end, I got admitted to both of the schools I applied to, with about a 80% scholarship from my top choice. I could not have been happier with Christine and SBC and I highly recommend their services to anyone considering a top MBA!

sobe880
Joined: Feb 2019
Purchased Course: May 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Totally Worth It -- Thank You Keauna!

5 stars
February 17, 2019
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 46 reviews
Teacher: Keauna
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I worked with Keauna and applied to 8 schools. Although I only worked with her on applications for two schools (it is expensive) I used all of her help/suggestions on the remaining 6 schools so my success in these schools is definitely a result of our work together.

I had an initial free call with Lisa, who paired me with Keauna who does a lot of work with nontraditional applicants. If you are one, I highly suggest working with her! Even in the short consulting call I felt like SBC had a wealth of knowledge and experience and that their services would be money well spent. I chose SBC because they were very straightforward and to the point -- I didn't feel like they were sugar coating anything in order to get me to sign up for their services.

Coming from a nontraditional background, Keauna helped me figure out a cohesive way to tell the story of my career path thus far and why I wanted to get an MBA. Once I got interview offers she also helped me prepare for the interviews. Our mock interview made me feel much more prepared and comfortable going into the real thing.

I was accepted to 5 schools and declined to interview at a 6th. I received two full scholarships, both at top 10 schools. I also received a 50% scholarship at another top 10 school and a 75% scholarship at a top 15 school.

Keanua was always available throughout the process for both the big things like reviewing essays but also smaller, random questions I had along the way. She was also there to talk through which school I ultimately chose to attend. I really felt like Keanua cared about me as a person throughout the process and was genuinely happy for me and my acceptances. Thanks to her I will be attending a top 10 MBA program with a full scholarship in the fall!

sancho_m
Joined: Jan 2019
Purchased Course: May 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Christina is the best!

5 stars
February 4, 2019
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 46 reviews
Teacher: Christina
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
After having calls with most of the major consulting firms, I decided to work with Christina from SBC. Most of the other consultants I had met always told me how I was going to get into every top school right from the beginning without having an understanding of my profile. Christina was the only one to immediately point out specific key strengths as well as potential weaknesses and ideas to address them, as well as being realistic about my opportunities. This was exactly what I was looking for.
Working with Christina proved to be a pleasure from the start. Two words that come to mind when thinking about her are ORGANIZATION and DETAILS. Her approach is very structured, comprehensive and well thought-out, and her ability to focus on even the smallest details, strong points, and potential flaws is overwhelming (in a good way of course!). If there is ANY possibility any part of your application might have a positive or negative effect on your assessment she WILL find it, point it out and work with you to highlight or address it. Relentlessly.
On top of this, Christina has an especial ability to retain every single piece of information you provide and bring it up and find ways to use it (even after a very long time). She really tries to get to know you as best as possible and might even bring up a story or a small detail you told her months ago and hadn´t even thought of yourself to help you prove an important point in your essays or interviews! She really takes your application more seriously than you do...
Her understanding of all schools is mind-blowing (although she went to HBS I honestly think she has attended every MBA program), and she will use this knowledge to point out those parts of you that best fit each school and will explain how and why they are a good fit, providing really valuable advice. This is very helpful to understand what schools you should target too.
Personally (having even met her in person) she is an extremely nice and respectful person, and everything about her is completely genuine. She really cares for you and will do everything she can to maximize your opportunities. If you want to truly give your MBA applications your best shot, she is the only option!
I got accepted into my top 2 schools: HBS and Wharton/Lauder. I cannot recommend her services enough, I would give her 6 out of 5 stars!

nicolekrantz
Joined: Jan 2019
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
College: Duke University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Phenomenal experience!!

5 stars
January 24, 2019
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 46 reviews
Teacher: Beth Tidmarsh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Beth provided a necessary steadiness throughout this entire process. She kept me on track and organized, so that I could focus on strengthening my portrayal of my candidacy. Her insightful guidance throughout this entire process made her an integral part of my support system and I truly could not have done it without her! Her time, patience, understanding, and extreme organization helped relieve much of the anxiety and stress that often comes up when pursuing a journey like getting an MBA!

Beth armed me with a strong basis of knowledge, confidence, and a realistic understanding of how to navigate this tricky process. I am beyond grateful for her thoughtfulness and the genuine care she put into supporting me and my candidacy. Her constant check-ins and words of support helped propel me successfully through this process. Thank you, Beth!

meb09
Joined: Jan 2019
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
Major: Economics
Industry: Retailing/Wholesaling
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

YES YES AND YES!

5 stars
January 13, 2019
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 46 reviews
Teacher: Beth Tidmarsh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
If you are at all like I was a year ago – reading this thread and thinking – is it worth it? THE ANSWER IS YES. Stop reading and go book Stacy Blackman Consulting now. SBC was invaluable in enabling me get into my dream school.
One thing is for sure in the application process -- you are going to have A LOT of questions. Maybe even doubts or concerns. Stacy Blackman Consulting will have the answers that you can TRUST and answers that are tailored to fit your INDIVIDUAL needs/skills/circumstance. This will make all the difference in enabling you to present yourself confidently, efficiently, and effectively in your written applications and in person interviews. I was amazed by how much my consultant, Beth Tidmarsh, brought out the best in me. I have to say if you are lucky enough to work with Beth, you have hit the jackpot. Beth was nothing short of a dream. She was relentless, professional, effective, insightful, supportive, meticulous, responsive, and worked her tail off to teach me how to put my best foot forward. I truly felt like I had superwoman on my side through this process – there to save the day if I needed her, but all the while coaching me on how to fly on my own!
In summary, go sign up for SBC and don’t look back. Their guidance is worth every penny. When you get that acceptance call from your dream school admissions, you will be so happy you did!!