Stacy Blackman Consulting
Company
ADMISSION CONSULTING COMPANY

Stacy Blackman Consulting

Best Promo Code 2019 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 61 reviews
lgntz92
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
College: Rice University
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great from start to finish. Highly recommend DC!

5 stars
April 26, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 46 reviews
Teacher: DC
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I initially received a free consultation from Sarah who gave me some helpful pointers on timeline and my overall narrative. I decided to go 'all-in' for six schools because I knew I wanted to transition from my current career. From there, an SBC rep set up chats with several admissions consultants and I found someone who was a perfect fit. My opinion at the time (and today) is that an admissions consultant pays for itself in terms of admissions scholarships or simply increased lifetime earnings potential.

DC was an incredible and professional consultant throughout the entire application process. First, she walked through my life story and got a feel for what really made me ‘tick’. Next, she helped me develop a strategic plan for my application and we began the arduous process of developing applications for six elite MBA programs.

When I sent DC my drafts, she would always be quick and thorough with reviews. In fact, I found myself hoping (to no avail) that she might take a bit longer so that I could procrastinate. She has a wealth of experience in marketing and communications, so she understood how to focus my messaging. She helped highlight elements of my personal narrative that I had overlooked but that others would find interesting.

I was impressed to find that Stacy Blackman has wiki pages that include school-specific content about culture, academics, sample essays, interview questions, etc. for every major MBA program.

In addition, she is very kind and is always helpful even with tight deadlines. My applications would have been far more time-consuming and much less focused without her guidance.

Prior my first interview, DC gave me a mock interview. She shared some honest feedback that I really needed to hear; she is always polite but will never withhold feedback that might help an applicant.

In the end – of my six elite target schools – I was admitted to four and am currently waitlisted at one. I received 2 full tuition scholarships and a sizeable scholarship from another program. I have decided to go to MIT Sloan School of Management, and I couldn’t be happier! Thanks DC!

slevison
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
College: The George Washington Univeristy
Major: International Relations
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

You NEED Sherry!

5 stars
April 23, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Hourly Services 15 reviews
Teacher: Sherry Holland
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
"I could not recommend Sherry highly enough. She made the entire process so much more manageable. From the start Sherry was responsive, understanding, and friendly. I had an interview at Duke the next weekend, and she immediately offered to walk me through a mock interview to help me prepare, even before we did the initial call. She read all of my essays and responded promptly - even essays that were for other, non-MBA programs that I was applying to. She completely reworked my resume and made me feel like I had a handle on the process more than I ever thought I would. After being in the working world for 4 years before deciding to go back to school, Sherry was exactly what I needed.

gujukrish
Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
College: University of Florida
Major: Finance
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Sherry Holland: Caring & Knowledgeable Consultant

5 stars
April 22, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 46 reviews
Teacher: Sherry Holland
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Sherry was a great resource for my MBA applications. She was very timely and had invaluable knowledge of both the application and admissions processes from her days on a prestigious school's admissions committee and her experience as an admissions consultant.

Although Sherry helped me in each stage of the admissions process, I wish she would've explained to me that some MBA scholarships are negotiable. This is something that I had no idea about and a simple email to a school, at the right time, could have increased my scholarship reward.

With that being said, I firmly believe that Sherry provided me with the best opportunity to position myself for each of the four schools that I applied to. I could not have done as well in the admissions process without her.

dashraymond
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Experience!

5 stars
April 21, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Hourly Services 15 reviews
Teacher: Bill Chionis
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Being international and not having a vast network of colleagues/peers in top business schools, I knew starting off that I would need help with my application process. Additionally, considering my age and other personal factors, timing was critical from my side, and I absolutely needed to put my best foot forward in my application.
Going primarily off of online reviews, I decided to try out SBC. However, I was a bit skeptical about the whole thing initially given the high cost of services. I was paired up with Bill, and at the very outset, was pleasantly surprised by his professional yet warm attitude. He was genuinely interested to build a good working relationship and he even suggested that I purchase hourly services to keep my costs low (and my costs indeed turned out much lower than I had initially anticipated). I was also very impressed by his knowledge of the whole admissions process. Quite honestly, although I knew I wanted to do an MBA, I was a bit fuzzy on my exact career path, and by way of the application process, Bill explained the business world really well and prepared/mentored me on possible career paths based on my background, interests & goals. I must emphasize that the interview prep session was especially helpful and I will carry my learnings from that throughout my career. I had only applied to one top business school and was thrilled when I was admitted to that program.
I definitely recommend his services to anyone considering consultation for his/her application.

leej931
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Bill Chionis - A Guiding Light

5 stars
April 17, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 46 reviews
Teacher: Bill Chionis
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
From the initial phone call to the wonderful news of getting into all 3 school choices (Columbia, NYU, & Cornell), the team at Stacy Blackman have been nothing but supportive.

After my thorough research of multiple consulting agencies I knew that SBC was the best, but the team seriously blew my expectations out of the water. My timeline of 3 months would have been considered impossible by some standards, but the team was up for the challenge and Bill Chionis was a positive guiding light throughout the entire process. Even when the combined pressures of the application process, studying for the EA test, and my professional career were getting to me, Bill was always there to cheer me on and provide sage advice.

Some advice of my own for any prospective SBC client -- Listen and follow their advice. They know what they are doing and only have your best interest in mind!!! If you follow through and deliver on the outlined plan of action, there really isn't much room (in my mind) for failure.

I can't thank Bill and the SBC team enough, I truly don't know what the outcome would have been without their guidance!

aaa39
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: West Point
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend! Could not have had a better experience!

5 stars
March 20, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 46 reviews
Teacher: Danielle
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I opted for the "All-In" service offered by Stacey Blackman and was paired with Danielle. Going into the process I knew very little on what business schools were looking for. Throughout the entire process Danielle was instrumental in shaping my story and ensuring that I put my best foot forward. She not only ensured that my essays were perfect but she took the time to adequately prepare me for the multiple interviews as well. I can honestly say that without her I would have never received a scholarship to my top school of choice! I cannot recommend her or Stacey Blackman highly enough.

GradyB
Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
College: Cornell
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Internet Development Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

7 Stars For Sherry!

5 stars
March 19, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 46 reviews
Teacher: Sherry
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Yes, I know I can't rate Sherry seven stars, but consider this. The Burj Al Arab is unofficially known as the only seven star hotel in the world. This means people know unparalleled service when they see it, especially when it's above any industry-wide standard.

How is this relevant? Simple. Sherry went WAY above and beyond any reasonable expectation to help prepare me for the whole process --from essays, to receiving an acceptance into an Ivy League program. Just as the Burj Al Arab staff goes to great lengths to ensure their clients are taking care of at all cost, so to does Sherry in her pursuit to obtaining a yes for her clients! Not only did I obtain a yes from my target school, but in a program I thought was way outside of my reach.

A little about me:
-Former military -- 12 years
-Enlisted
-Military Special Operations community
-Government Contractor
-B.S and MA from oldest private military college in the country
-Husband
-Father to four children
-Late 30's when applied
-WAY nontraditional applicant (can't stress that enough!)

Sherry was very patient with me. She saw ability when I didn't realize it was there.

As we worked through the process, she knew when to push and when to let me think. She did all of this through emails and phone calls, which itself is a pretty tough thing to do. I can't say this enough -- Sherry was absolutely amazing!

Why You Should Consider Working With Sherry

It's simple. Just because you might consider yourself a nontraditional candidate for 'xyz' prestigious university doesn't mean you should not set your bar high. I truly thought there was no way I would ever be accepted into the program I was admitted, but Sherry knew I had all of the keys.

Do yourself a favor and reach out to Sherry. The admission process is changing every year as universities seek ways to deliver innovative content. What worked last year may not work this year. You need someone who understands this and knows how to navigate the rapidly changing process. Sherry has deep knowledge of the admission process and as a result stays ahead of the industry curve. She helped me reduce my admission learning curve by months! In my busy life, that is priceless.

She's passionate, kind, thoughtful, and extremely talented at what she does. You'll love working with Sherry and will grow throughout the process. I know I did!

tony9800
Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing and supportive consultant that got me into my top choice

5 stars
March 6, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Hourly Services 15 reviews
Teacher: Karla
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I decided to apply to INSEAD in March of 2016, just 5 weeks before the application deadline. After starting the application, I realized that there are 7 essays required for this application and that if I were dinged without an invite to reapply, I wouldn't be reconsidered for future admissions.

I decided to hire an admission consultant to help me with the process. Karla from Stack Blackman was extremely helpful and professional. She was a former INSEADer and worked in the admissions office. Within the first 15 minutes of our call, she had convinced me on her credibility because she understands the metric that INSEAD used to select candidates. After consulting her, Karla suggests that I use the 10-hour package and that she will expedite the process for me and help me meet the application deadline.

5 rough edits later, I was able to submit all of the essays within 3 weeks, well ahead of the 5 weeks deadline! When I was invited to the 2 alum interview, she gave me a mock and feedback on how to handle some of the more difficult questions such as what 3 unique values do you bring to the program. Overall, it was a great experience with Karla and I cannot recommend Stacy Blackman enough. The packages may be expensive but it's a drop in the bucket compared to the entire MBA investment.

ST821
Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Pleasure to work with Shaifali

5 stars
February 28, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 46 reviews
Teacher: Shaifali Aggarwal
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I want to thank Stacy Blackman Consulting, specifically Shaifali Aggarwal, for helping me through the application process and working with me to figure out how I could put my best foot forward in all of my applications. Shaifali not only helped me figure out which programs would be the best fit for me, but also helped me comb through my past experiences to extract the ones which could be used to reflect my personality and passions. She understood that the application was both a means to explain how and MBA would help me reach my career goals, and also how my experiences could be an asset in the classroom as well.

When I originally started on my business school journey, I was originally skeptical about getting assistance from a consultant, but after talking to a friend who had used SBC and heard about his positive experience, I decided that working with SBC was the way to go. SBC has so many incredible resources and such a supportive staff, many of whom have direct experience on the admission's committees at top schools in the country. I am so glad that I chose to work with SBC and I am now happy to say that I will be attending HBS in the fall and can't wait for the next step in my journey.

Again, thank you SBC and Shaifali and I hope this convinces others to follow suit and work with SBC to put their best feet forward as well.

ron2525
Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2018
College: Georgetown
Major: Finance
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

SBC got me into Wharton!

5 stars
February 21, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 61 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 46 reviews
Teacher: DC
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
SBC was an absolute pleasure to work with. When I started doing research on various consultancies, I imagined working with a consultant who would simply take a few looks at my essays and give me brief feedback via email. Esther and team made sure this was not the case.

My coach, DC, went above and beyond. She took a clear interest in me and my narrative and worked closely with me to make sure that my story was not only coherent (tying together my disparate professional and personal experiences), but also that it would ring true to my aspirations and simultaneously align with what each school was looking for.

Additionally, DC was refreshingly critical and gave me a "real" outlook on how my application would be viewed given my career to date and my background as a South Asian American male. She was also incredibly responsive - I honestly don't know how she could provide so much depth in her feedback on such quick turnarounds.

Beyond, my one-on-one coaching, SBC also provided opportunities for a mock team interview for Wharton and an individual analysis on performance. This was incredibly helpful.

I'm so lucky to have been paired up with DC (and the SBC team) and could not have imagined a better experience. If you have a chance to work with SBC, and DC specifically, there really shouldn't be any hesitation. Totally worth it. Thank you DC for all of your guidance and for helping me get into Wharton (and an interview at GSB)!