Stacy Blackman Consulting
Company
ADMISSION CONSULTING COMPANY

Stacy Blackman Consulting

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 48 reviews
AJM20
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you Christine & SBC

5 stars
January 20, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: Christine H.
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Summary

I can strongly recommend SBC and especially Christine based on my business school application experience. As a result of her excellent work and support I got accepted into Columbia Business School and Chicago Booth.

About me / whom this might help:

I am European ( international applicant) with a background in Tech, working as management consultant. Working and traveling a lot and having very little experience with business school applications, I decided to hire a consultant to help me shape my story so that I would be able to differentiate myself from the mass of management consultants and to communicate that story in the language of the Admission team while being as efficient as possible (due to my daily workload).

In retrospect, SBC and especially Christine not only met but exceeded my expectations by far.

Why SBC

I chose SBC because I believe that SBC has an edge over many other admission consultancies due to its very strong marketing position. By not only hiring a consultant but also the back office / expertise of the entire firm, SBC knows exactly how to position your profile for your respective target school (because they have it done a thousand times before). Through this rich expertise and track record my initial contact, Esther, knew in a heartbeat what I was missing in my application and which consultant ( in my case Christine) could support me the best. However, I not only got a perfect match but also access to a lot of reading material, past essays, interview preparation software as well as to Lisa, who was a former Admission Officer and who evaluated my application package from a neutral perspective before I finally submitted it. I believe the best analogy to my thinking is: If you need a surgery and you can chose between a general surgeon and a medical firm that has a specialist for each type of surgery, including yours, who will most likely be prepared for all eventualities?

Why Christine

I believe Christine excels in almost any position including that of an admission consultant. This is because Christine has a very rare combination of an extremely high intellectual capacity, genuity and work ethics. She knows exactly what to do which is reflected in her very clear instructions and in the fact that she never fell behind any deadline, but usually always delivered early over our 6 months. The best example for that is when I decided last minute (48h prior to the deadline) due to a change in my calendar to also apply to Booth. Despite having many other applications, less than 48 hours and not a signed contract for my forth school (yet), Christine was up for the challenge resulting not only in two very intense days with very little sleep for the both of us, but also in an admit from Booth.

While I would have already been more than pleased at this point, there is much more I gained from our interactions and from Christine herself. By preparing my applications, I not only improved my written English, but also learnt how to best position myself in a job interview, by knowing how to best demonstrate my various strengths and capabilities in combination with what sets me apart from others. I believe this is noteworthy, because my work with Christine would still have been fruitful for me, even if I did not gain any acceptance letter.

However, what I loved most about our interactions was that Christine made the application process fun. By finding the right balance between application related and other topics and by making sure that I progressed while allowing me to learn from the process, I truly enjoyed working with Christine. In fact, I was not relieved, but said when I realized that I was done with the application process.

alret85
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Stacy Blackman Consultants Review- Stephanie Cohn

5 stars
January 15, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Hourly Services 13 reviews
Teacher: Stephanie Cohn, Ryan Barba, Maureen Capitolo
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I worked with several consultants at Stacy Blackman on an hourly basis. The three were Ryan Barba, Maureen Capitolo, and Stephanie Cohn- depending on that consultant's expertise for the different programs I was targeting. All three consultants were very professional and extremely knowledgeable on how to best answer essay prompts in a clear and concise manner, but also ensuring how to most effectively illustrate a person's candidacy and fit in the program.

I worked primarily with Stephanie Cohn and I cannot say enough how much I enjoyed working with her. In additional to her insight and knowledge, having previously worked on adcoms, she is also very professional and very prompt in her replies- even with approaching deadlines when the candidate may have dragged his/her feet prior.

The consultants at Stacy Blackman are not ghost writers, but they will help you craft the best essays possible. I highly recommend using them, and Stephanie C. in particular- regardless of what program you are targeting. With Stephanie's help, I was able to get into 6 out of 8 Top 20 programs (4 of which were in the Top 15).

niyantha
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Maximize your potential of getting into a top MBA program!

5 stars
January 9, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: Caryn Altman
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
One of the best decisions I made throughout the MBA application process was the decision to work with Caryn of Stacy Blackman Consulting.

Caryn, a former Kellogg Admissions officer, was an invaluable resource to me throughout the application process. She was vital in formulating my strategy that I presented to all schools regarding my future career aspirations. Additionally, she helped me revamp both my resume and my interview responses to specifically fit the business school process.

One of her great qualities as an admissions consultant is her ability to communicate. I never had any worries about not hearing her answers to my questions or seeing her edits to my essays in a timely fashion. Her email responses were thorough, and her edits always went above and beyond. Additionally, at any critical juncture (or whenever I felt I needed guidance), she was willing to jump on a phone call. She maintained this same diligence throughout the waitlist process. When working with Caryn, it is important to reciprocate her communication style and be organized / diligent.

I believe that I maximized my potential to get into a top MBA program by working with Caryn!

stoneyai
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: University of Maryland
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Well worth the investment

5 stars
January 9, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: Caryn Altman
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
After having been dinged from all the schools I applied to for the class of 2019, I knew that I wanted to use an admissions consultant when reapplying for the class of 2020. After evaluating several options, I decided to go with SBC for a couple reasons: their track record and my initial conversation with Caryn Altman.

Caryn was upfront with me and did not sugarcoat things - when telling her which schools I wanted to apply to, she said that they would be stretch schools for me, but did not discourage me from applying.

Luckily for me, I got a head start working with Caryn, signing up in early 2017. Caryn and I hit the ground running; within weeks, my resume had taken shape and, per her suggestion, I became actively involved with a couple of charitable organizations around my hometown.

Caryn was always lightning quick to respond to my emails - whether they be essay draft reviews or random one-off questions, she was usually able to respond within hours. She really went above and beyond when it came to responsiveness.

Beyond working with Caryn, I benefited from working with SBC's other consultants for the flight test and mock group interview.

Ultimately, working with Caryn was great because I trusted her and benefited from her candidness in reviewing and talking about my essays and overall candidacy. All of the essays, resume, work, etc. was mine, but Caryn gave me the tools and advice needed to properly frame all of it into a successful MBA application!

In the end, I was admitted to two schools and am proud to be able to say that I am going to be at Booth (a school where I was dinged without interview last year) this fall!!

rafaelclo
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Offer to GSB - great support from SBC team!

5 stars
January 8, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: Christina Fu
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Christina Fu was my primary source of contact from SBC and she was simply amazing on the support she provided me during my application to GSB. She is not only patient but also encouraging and always provides an interesting perspective to your application. A lof of times the effort she put into my application was such that it seemed she was more concerned than I was about my application. She is great!

Besides, the support provided by the entire SBC team was fantastic. From Esther's initial debrief, to the flight testers feedback (an experienced former Admissions Officer) to all the in-house admissions officer intelligence - everything was top notch. SBC is definitely top among leading MBA admissions consulting firms, I recommend them, specially Christina for all of those applying to a top 5 school and I wish you all good luck in your application process!

XRT22
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Shaifali & SBC

5 stars
January 5, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: Shaifali
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
1) As an applicant coming from a traditional finance background, I had concerns about my competitiveness in the application process. Through discussions with Shaifali, I was able to think of the best way to convey my unique story. She was there to provide advice when I needed it but also to let me work on my on pace. She provided very focused guidance, which I greatly appreciated.

2) In addition to Shaifali's help, I also benefited from the help of Esther (initial contact), Caryn (flight test reviewer), and others. Getting a variety of perspectives gave me comfort in my overall application strategy.

3) After speaking with several other firms, I decided on working with SBC due to its strong history of success and positive experience I had in my initial conversations with the firm.

Ultimately, I was admitted into HBS, Wharton, and Haas.

SGTD20
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience with SBC

5 stars
January 3, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: Jessica
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Choosing to sign up with Stacy Blackman to assist in my B-school applications was definitely the right decision. The perspective and guidance that my consultant was able to offer through the application process was invaluable. While I saw myself as an acceptable MBA candidate before hiring Stacy Blackman Consulting, my applications and essays would have not been anywhere close to the final product that my consultant worked with me to produce.

My consultant was Jessica and she was a great individual to work with during this time. Jessica put in considerable time to understand who I was, where I came from, and where I wanted to go, which then helped us to develop my completed profile and highlight my candidacy in the best way possible. We went through multiple rounds for each essay and my resume, getting a ton of feedback from Jessica that helped me to dig deeper within each draft. This led to the final drafts being a collection of refined ideas and themes that had been developed through hours of work between us. After we were through with this part of the preparation, we were then able to submit my total profile to their "flight-test", where a former MBA admissions officer is able to review your profile and provide any necessary feedback. Getting this final sign-off and feedback from a former admissions officer was a huge win and helps to give a high level of confidence when submitting applications. After submitting my application, we then moved to interview prep, which was another lifesaver during the overall process.

Overall, my experience with Stacy Blackman Consulting wasn't about filling out applications, writing essays, or resume edits. Instead, it was about how Jessica was able to work with me to make me a complete candidate that was able to holistically demonstrate who I am through each and every step of the way. All of this culminated with me being admitted to my target school, along with a notable scholarship.

If you are like me and want nothing less than your best application possible -- no regrets, no what if's -- , I highly recommend Stacy Blackman Consulting.

wharton2020
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Major: Economics
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend Dawn & SBC

5 stars
January 1, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: Dawn
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I had a great experience working with Stacy Blackman and in particular, my consultant Dawn.

When looking for an admissions consultant, I wanted someone who was ethical and who could best help craft my story and position me for each school's unique criteria. I selected Dawn because it was clear she was a very intelligent, strategic thinker who would give me honest feedback.

While working together Dawn developed a very helpful strategic plan/assessment for my candidacy - a roadmap for mitigating my weaknesses and highlighting my strengths. As someone who is not naturally and consistently introspective, this was feedback was very helpful! I flipped back to this plan often while writing my essays.

In addition, Dawn's honesty and willingness to hold me accountable were important throughout the application process. During one stretch, I was so jammed at work that I was not able to write a quality essay, and instead sent Dawn a half-baked draft. Dawn held me accountable and told me to completely re-do the draft, which was definitely the honest feedback that I needed to submit the best application possible.

All in all, I had a very good experience and it led to a great outcome - I will be going to Wharton next year! Thanks Dawn!

mc75
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Admitted to Kellogg and Wharton with Scholarships because of Christina Fu

5 stars
January 1, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Hourly Services 13 reviews
Teacher: Christina Fu
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I honestly went back and forth for a while before deciding to use an admissions consulting service for my MBA applications, but I am so glad I did! Christina was a pleasure to work with and if I could do the process over again (which I definitely don't want to), I would work with her on a comprehensive basis rather than on an hourly basis because I truly came to depend on her for support and guidance. Beyond just helping me with big items like my essays or recommender selections, she also took the time to guide me on the smaller, open-ended response sections of the applications.

Though we worked together on an hourly basis, she was extremely generous with her time. When I scheduled a one-hour interview prep session with her prior to my interviews with HBS and Kellogg, she stayed on the phone with me for a total of 3 hours, to make sure I felt calm, positive, prepared, and excited rather than anxious about my interview. She was more than just an admissions consultant, she was a great emotional and moral support to me throughout the process, and someone I hope to keep in touch with in the future.

Applied: HBS, Wharton, Kellogg
Interviewed: HBS, Wharton, Kellogg
Accepted: Wharton with the Joseph Wharton Fellowship and Kellogg with the Forte Foundation Scholarship

texascyclist7
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
College: University of Michigan
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome Experience with SBC

5 stars
January 1, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 48 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 35 reviews
Teacher: DD Kane, Esther, Caryn
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I highly recommend Stacy Blackman Consulting. My experience working with DD couldn't have been better. She always gave meaningful and insightful feedback that took my essays and resume to another level. I was skeptical about teaming up with a consulting firm at first, but I'm so happy that I did. With DD's expertise, I was able to fit my entire story into my applications in a natural and authentic way.

I couldn't have asked for a better consultant. Additionally, the whole SBC team was also great to work with. Esther took the time to really get to know me during the on boarding process, and Caryn's feedback on my Flight Test was quick and helpful.

I'm really glad that I chose SBC. With their help, I got into my top programs and received a few scholarships along the way.