Stacy Blackman Consulting
Company
ADMISSION CONSULTING COMPANY

Stacy Blackman Consulting

Best Promo Code 2019 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 56 reviews
niyantha
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Maximize your potential of getting into a top MBA program!

5 stars
January 9, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Caryn Altman
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
One of the best decisions I made throughout the MBA application process was the decision to work with Caryn of Stacy Blackman Consulting.

Caryn, a former Kellogg Admissions officer, was an invaluable resource to me throughout the application process. She was vital in formulating my strategy that I presented to all schools regarding my future career aspirations. Additionally, she helped me revamp both my resume and my interview responses to specifically fit the business school process.

One of her great qualities as an admissions consultant is her ability to communicate. I never had any worries about not hearing her answers to my questions or seeing her edits to my essays in a timely fashion. Her email responses were thorough, and her edits always went above and beyond. Additionally, at any critical juncture (or whenever I felt I needed guidance), she was willing to jump on a phone call. She maintained this same diligence throughout the waitlist process. When working with Caryn, it is important to reciprocate her communication style and be organized / diligent.

I believe that I maximized my potential to get into a top MBA program by working with Caryn!

stoneyai
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: University of Maryland
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Well worth the investment

5 stars
January 9, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Caryn Altman
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
After having been dinged from all the schools I applied to for the class of 2019, I knew that I wanted to use an admissions consultant when reapplying for the class of 2020. After evaluating several options, I decided to go with SBC for a couple reasons: their track record and my initial conversation with Caryn Altman.

Caryn was upfront with me and did not sugarcoat things - when telling her which schools I wanted to apply to, she said that they would be stretch schools for me, but did not discourage me from applying.

Luckily for me, I got a head start working with Caryn, signing up in early 2017. Caryn and I hit the ground running; within weeks, my resume had taken shape and, per her suggestion, I became actively involved with a couple of charitable organizations around my hometown.

Caryn was always lightning quick to respond to my emails - whether they be essay draft reviews or random one-off questions, she was usually able to respond within hours. She really went above and beyond when it came to responsiveness.

Beyond working with Caryn, I benefited from working with SBC's other consultants for the flight test and mock group interview.

Ultimately, working with Caryn was great because I trusted her and benefited from her candidness in reviewing and talking about my essays and overall candidacy. All of the essays, resume, work, etc. was mine, but Caryn gave me the tools and advice needed to properly frame all of it into a successful MBA application!

In the end, I was admitted to two schools and am proud to be able to say that I am going to be at Booth (a school where I was dinged without interview last year) this fall!!

rafaelclo
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Offer to GSB - great support from SBC team!

5 stars
January 8, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Christina Fu
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Christina Fu was my primary source of contact from SBC and she was simply amazing on the support she provided me during my application to GSB. She is not only patient but also encouraging and always provides an interesting perspective to your application. A lof of times the effort she put into my application was such that it seemed she was more concerned than I was about my application. She is great!

Besides, the support provided by the entire SBC team was fantastic. From Esther's initial debrief, to the flight testers feedback (an experienced former Admissions Officer) to all the in-house admissions officer intelligence - everything was top notch. SBC is definitely top among leading MBA admissions consulting firms, I recommend them, specially Christina for all of those applying to a top 5 school and I wish you all good luck in your application process!

XRT22
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Shaifali & SBC

5 stars
January 5, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Shaifali
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
1) As an applicant coming from a traditional finance background, I had concerns about my competitiveness in the application process. Through discussions with Shaifali, I was able to think of the best way to convey my unique story. She was there to provide advice when I needed it but also to let me work on my on pace. She provided very focused guidance, which I greatly appreciated.

2) In addition to Shaifali's help, I also benefited from the help of Esther (initial contact), Caryn (flight test reviewer), and others. Getting a variety of perspectives gave me comfort in my overall application strategy.

3) After speaking with several other firms, I decided on working with SBC due to its strong history of success and positive experience I had in my initial conversations with the firm.

Ultimately, I was admitted into HBS, Wharton, and Haas.

SGTD20
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience with SBC

5 stars
January 3, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Jessica
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Choosing to sign up with Stacy Blackman to assist in my B-school applications was definitely the right decision. The perspective and guidance that my consultant was able to offer through the application process was invaluable. While I saw myself as an acceptable MBA candidate before hiring Stacy Blackman Consulting, my applications and essays would have not been anywhere close to the final product that my consultant worked with me to produce.

My consultant was Jessica and she was a great individual to work with during this time. Jessica put in considerable time to understand who I was, where I came from, and where I wanted to go, which then helped us to develop my completed profile and highlight my candidacy in the best way possible. We went through multiple rounds for each essay and my resume, getting a ton of feedback from Jessica that helped me to dig deeper within each draft. This led to the final drafts being a collection of refined ideas and themes that had been developed through hours of work between us. After we were through with this part of the preparation, we were then able to submit my total profile to their "flight-test", where a former MBA admissions officer is able to review your profile and provide any necessary feedback. Getting this final sign-off and feedback from a former admissions officer was a huge win and helps to give a high level of confidence when submitting applications. After submitting my application, we then moved to interview prep, which was another lifesaver during the overall process.

Overall, my experience with Stacy Blackman Consulting wasn't about filling out applications, writing essays, or resume edits. Instead, it was about how Jessica was able to work with me to make me a complete candidate that was able to holistically demonstrate who I am through each and every step of the way. All of this culminated with me being admitted to my target school, along with a notable scholarship.

If you are like me and want nothing less than your best application possible -- no regrets, no what if's -- , I highly recommend Stacy Blackman Consulting.

wharton2020
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Major: Economics
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend Dawn & SBC

5 stars
January 1, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Dawn
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I had a great experience working with Stacy Blackman and in particular, my consultant Dawn.

When looking for an admissions consultant, I wanted someone who was ethical and who could best help craft my story and position me for each school's unique criteria. I selected Dawn because it was clear she was a very intelligent, strategic thinker who would give me honest feedback.

While working together Dawn developed a very helpful strategic plan/assessment for my candidacy - a roadmap for mitigating my weaknesses and highlighting my strengths. As someone who is not naturally and consistently introspective, this was feedback was very helpful! I flipped back to this plan often while writing my essays.

In addition, Dawn's honesty and willingness to hold me accountable were important throughout the application process. During one stretch, I was so jammed at work that I was not able to write a quality essay, and instead sent Dawn a half-baked draft. Dawn held me accountable and told me to completely re-do the draft, which was definitely the honest feedback that I needed to submit the best application possible.

All in all, I had a very good experience and it led to a great outcome - I will be going to Wharton next year! Thanks Dawn!

mc75
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Admitted to Kellogg and Wharton with Scholarships because of Christina Fu

5 stars
January 1, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Hourly Services 14 reviews
Teacher: Christina Fu
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I honestly went back and forth for a while before deciding to use an admissions consulting service for my MBA applications, but I am so glad I did! Christina was a pleasure to work with and if I could do the process over again (which I definitely don't want to), I would work with her on a comprehensive basis rather than on an hourly basis because I truly came to depend on her for support and guidance. Beyond just helping me with big items like my essays or recommender selections, she also took the time to guide me on the smaller, open-ended response sections of the applications.

Though we worked together on an hourly basis, she was extremely generous with her time. When I scheduled a one-hour interview prep session with her prior to my interviews with HBS and Kellogg, she stayed on the phone with me for a total of 3 hours, to make sure I felt calm, positive, prepared, and excited rather than anxious about my interview. She was more than just an admissions consultant, she was a great emotional and moral support to me throughout the process, and someone I hope to keep in touch with in the future.

Applied: HBS, Wharton, Kellogg
Interviewed: HBS, Wharton, Kellogg
Accepted: Wharton with the Joseph Wharton Fellowship and Kellogg with the Forte Foundation Scholarship

texascyclist7
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
College: University of Michigan
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome Experience with SBC

5 stars
January 1, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: DD Kane, Esther, Caryn
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I highly recommend Stacy Blackman Consulting. My experience working with DD couldn't have been better. She always gave meaningful and insightful feedback that took my essays and resume to another level. I was skeptical about teaming up with a consulting firm at first, but I'm so happy that I did. With DD's expertise, I was able to fit my entire story into my applications in a natural and authentic way.

I couldn't have asked for a better consultant. Additionally, the whole SBC team was also great to work with. Esther took the time to really get to know me during the on boarding process, and Caryn's feedback on my Flight Test was quick and helpful.

I'm really glad that I chose SBC. With their help, I got into my top programs and received a few scholarships along the way.

visyap
Joined: Mar 2013
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
Major: Marketing
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Extremely stressful reapplication led to awesome outcome with Caryn's help

5 stars
December 30, 2017
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Caryn
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I applied to four top B-schools in 2016, on my own, and was dinged from all of them without interview. After this difficult outcome, I decided to investigate consulting services to get an idea of how my application could be improved the following year. I spoke to a few other services, including the MBA Exchange and mbaMission. In the end, I decided to go with Stacy Blackman because of how helpful my free consultation call with Bill Chionis was. I did a ding analysis with Caryn Altman. Her feedback was so direct and actionable that I decided to do an all-in package with her for a number of schools.

Throughout the daunting process, Caryn's expertise and support were extremely valuable. Caryn was efficient, direct, friendly, and supportive. I applied only to top 10 programs, and stubbornly didn't add any 'safety' schools to my list, despite my scary results from the previous year. When I asked Caryn what my chances were, she candidly told me that it would be a stretch for many of them. Despite the odds, Caryn worked with me to ensure that I had a solid application and that I could showcase myself in the best possible light. She laid out a strategy which allowed me to understand how all the different parts of my application worked to tell a cohesive story.

Some aspects to my admission that I had to overcome:
- I had a pretty low quant percentile on my GMAT, which I tried to mitigate with the GRE, but in the end I still couldn't get my score up to the average of my target schools.
- I had a nontraditional background for an MBA (start-up). I was aware this could give me a 'uniqueness' advantage, but without Caryn's help I struggled to highlight the leadership experiences I had.
- Lack of focus with respect to my long term goals and how my MBA would get me there.

The All-In Package is quite pricey, but if you feel lost with the application process, I'd say it's worth it (recall that I had come off four brutal dings!). Especially because of my test scores, we knew that the rest of my application, especially essays, had to really shine. I consider myself a strong writer, but even so, Caryn had tons of feedback on my essays and was always ready to do another draft. The mock interview gave me such a boost of confidence, and when I did my first real interview I was surprised by how similar the questions were. The flight test feedback that I got from Lisa Anderson was very helpful. Another benefit to the all-in was that I could ask Caryn any general MBA questions I had (ex. interview-related etiquette, what to do when I get a confusing email during the application process, etc).

I also did a mock interview with Erika Olson for HBS, which was excellent, and helped me prepare correctly for the unique HBS interview.

I applied to seven schools in round 1, got interviews with four, and ultimately received offers of admission from two. I am happy to say that I will be at tending Harvard Business School next fall. It wouldn't have been possible without Caryn's assistance - thank you to Caryn and the rest of the SBC team!

Hugh33
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I got into my dream school (CBS) with the help of Emily Lammers from SBC

5 stars
December 27, 2017
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 56 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 42 reviews
Teacher: Emily Lammers
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I had the privilege of working with Emily Lammers of SBC throughout my application process, and after receiving admission to my looong-shot dream school (CBS), I can't imagine having worked with anyone else.

After a close friend of mine had incredible success throughout his application process, utilizing the all-in package with SBC, I was sold on the firm. The next step was matching me up with a consultant who not only specialized in candidates with similar profiles to mine, but also candidates who had similar goals. This is where SBC really shines. The curated consultant selection process allows you to be paired up with a consultant who knows your industry, your schools, and how to tailor your story to help you achieve your goals. This is how I wound up working with Emily and receiving admission to my dream program, of which I wasn't even initially planning on applying to, but Emily convinced me was worthwhile.

From day one is was clear that Emily was committed to my success, and further, that she was passionate about the process in general. We reviewed every relevant aspect of my pre-MBA life in depth to further understand strengths, weaknesses, motives, and anecdotes that would support my applications to top programs. From there we developed our application strategy. Emily's knowledge of the nuances of particular programs and their applications processes allowed me to put my best foot forward for each application and to know how to highlight aspects of my profile that each individual school looks for in applicants. I genuinely can't speak highly enough about Emily and her guidance throughout the process. She was available and enthusiastic about responding to e-mails or phone calls at any time, and the level of detail she provided in reviewing and analyzing my essays was far beyond what I expected. She is a straight shooter and completely candid when providing feedback, which is a necessity when it comes to this process. Emily's ability to provide structure and flow to your story helps your essays shine, and prepares you incredibly well for the interview process. Further, Emily goes way beyond her duties with primary research and often times provided me with program information that was relevant to my career goals so that I could include it in my essays or interviews. Emily reads essays as though she is an AdCom member for each program, and provides highly specialized feedback. She was supportive when I felt overwhelmed, and pushed me when I was lazy. Lastly, Emily made this stressful process incredibly enjoyable and I oftentimes find myself missing the late nights of essay writing, frantic messages of concern, relief that comes with submitting the applications, and elation for interview invites and program acceptances.

We ended up securing interviews with all of my programs and received admission to CBS (we turned down the other interviews after hearing the news from CBS)....an investment well worth it no matter how you look at it. Emily is an absolute legend, and I credit her knowledge, guidance, and passion for the process with my admissions success. Do yourself a favor and ask for her services when you reach out to SBC...you will not be disappointed.