Test Prep Companies, Private Tutoring

Bloomberg GMAT Tutor - Complete Prep

Joined: Jul 18, 2019
Purchased Course: Apr 17, 2019
Verified Real Student Review

BEST GMAT COURSE PREP!!

July 18, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 720

If you are thinking about taking the GMAT, I highly recommend using the Economist GMAT tutor prep. I had originally taken a Manhattan Prep class, and my score was still not were I wanted it to be. I decided to give the Economist a try given their score guarantee, and I could not be more happy with my decision. I loved the fact that it was self paced and that you didn't need any books. I also really liked the fact that they focus a lot not only on content but also on different strategies. Having tried two different prep courses, I can say the Economist is worth your money. If you are on the road a lot for work or work long hours, this is the way to go to get the score you want.
Joined: Feb 20, 2019
Purchased Course: Mar 4, 2018
College: Lisbon
Major: Architecture
Industry: Construction
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

The Economist Gmat Course

April 1, 2019
  • Teacher: Isaac
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 520 After: 720

I have an architectural background and have not done mathematics since college. Although I have worked for many years in London, English is not my first language either.

My view on the the GMAT, which I started studying 11 months ago, is that it is a very difficult exam. Once your mindset is aligned you start to appreciate the joy of it, but until then it is a long road. Some people may be good on both Quant and Verbal 'by default', but the fact is the majority are not otherwise the average score would not be just above 550 points.

When I did the trial test right at the beginning of my studying period I got a poor score. I decided to join the GMAT Economist because I was told it was an excellent programme. And it is. It is far more effective than reading through books because the entire training is interactive, intuitive, and easy to understand and memorize. 7 months later my mock exams were already at 740 points. This was a massive improvement.

I attained 720 point s in the official test. This journey was an impressive 200 points improvement, so yes I highly recommend the GMAT Economist.
Joined: Feb 1, 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 1, 2018
Country: Italy
Verified Real Student Review

Couldn't have done it without this prep course

December 29, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

Before stumbling into this course, I had taken a face to face course which was totally unsatisfactory, because it basically explained to me the book content.
I also tried many free trials of online courses but they all had considerable flaws (at least from my perspective).

The main pro of this course is that it provides each topic with some framework to tackle that kind of problem.
I haven't found any comparable, easy-to-use frameworks in any other course.
Also , if you get a problem wrong, the problem is proposed to you again after sometime, effectively making sure that you have understood the theory behind it, and not just read through the solution.
Still on the plus side I would like to note that: the app was easy to use and provided on the go support, on the web version the program provided daily objectives that helped a lot in following the study program.

To be exhaustive, I'll also provide some areas in which I think there is room for improvement, that weren't relevant to me but might be to someone else:
- the app didn't have all the features of the online version and could be improved
- after you are done with a topic you can't review it again, only a synthesis will be available
- daily study objectives are pretty standard each day and should have been more tailored
Joined: Dec 24, 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 16, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Must-buy for individualistic learners who hate rote learning systems

December 24, 2018
  • Teacher: Jake Wengroff
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 610

My experience with Economist GMAT tutor was simply marvellous! I did not want to choose the traditional method of classes every evening, since it does not work with my method of studying. So I tried out the Economist GMAT tutor's free 7-day plan and loved it. I signed up for the premium plan which is valid for 6 months, allows you to practice 6 tests and 6 essays and also provides 6 tutor sessions. Plus you get an online subscription to the Economist magazine.
The format of the Economist GMAT website is so beautiful; you start with basic concepts and further difficult concepts are unlocked as you proceed further, so it all feels like playing a game! Any doubts are cleared by their tutors instantly and the solutions given for each question are so conversational, you feel as if it's a friend talking to you. They also have an excellent mobile app, which I used while commuting, thus ensuring that I was losing no time at all.
The online video sessions with the tutors are super helpful, since they give you methods, tips & tricks to solve any type of question. These online tutorials really boosted my score, especially the ones with the tutor Jake Wengroff.
AWA essay templates provided by the course are also brilliant.
Overall, this course made my life more comfortable during the GMAT, boosted my score in a huge way and allowed me to choose and design my own study method.
Joined: Dec 9, 2018
Purchased Course: May 29, 2018
College: University of Macedonia
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: Greece
Verified Real Student Review

The Economist Prep course gave me what I hoped for

December 9, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 720

I bought the ultimate prep course of the economist which is 6 months long. It allowed me to take my time and prepare without being in a rush. This by itself reduced the stress most candidates usually have by having to sit the exam last minute before the application deadline. The program was really satisfying and it helped a lot to learn. It was even fun at times. The way that the material was designed helped me really learn what I had to in order to reduce the time needed to reply to the questions. It presented the same type of questions through different perspective and through repetition I learned how to solve the questions and quickly recognize what kind of problem I was solving for. I improved my score and I got a 720. I had taken the gmat twice before and never before had I achieved a 7+ score...
Joined: Nov 27, 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 14, 2018
College: Erasmus University Rotterdam
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: Netherlands
Verified Real Student Review

Easy to use & insightful preparation tool, 80 point improvement

November 27, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 740

When I first took the GMAT a year ago, I was struggling with the methodology for certain (quantitative) topics. My 660 (Verbal 85th percentile, Quant 50th percentile) was below my target score, mainly because I apparently had not prepared in the most effective way.

3 months ago, I started with the GMAT Complete Prep, which helped me to better structure my preparation and to point out which topics I needed to practice again. I improved my score to 740 [Verbal 96th percentile, Quant 74th percentile].

Pros:
- Clear theory and methodology per topic
- Practice tests help you spot weaknesses and accurately mimic the actual GMAT [I scored 760, 720, 770 on my last 3 practice tests and scored a 740 on the actual test]
- Friendly and helpful customer service and tutors

Cons
- After completing a topic, only a brief summary is shown. Not all different topics can be practiced again, and the ones that can sometimes use the same practice questions. This can erroneously make you think you fully comprehend the topic, while you actually just memorized the answer/question.
- For Verbal (Reading Comprehension and Critical Reasoning), no concrete tips are given regarding taking notes when deconstructing the argument/passage
- Less focused on IR and AWA.
Joined: Nov 15, 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Comprehensive and well worth i!

November 15, 2018
  • Teacher: Sam H
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 750

I couldn't recommend this program enough - after scoring 650 on the initial diagnostic I dedicated several hours a day towards completing 100% of the guided study. I ended up with a 750, which I was more than happy with.

I thought the Quant sections were easy to understand and full of great time-saving tricks. For example, I learned several tricks on sequences that saved me valuable minutes on the real exam. The Verbal sections were intuitive and QUICK - I felt super confident going into the Verbal section even though it was maybe 20% of the overall course content.

I used two of the live tutoring sessions to brush up on a few concepts, and I found them more useful than I'd predicted. The tutors were diligent in taking notes and emailing them out after our video sessions. Finally, the practice exams (I found) were an accurate predictor of my final score on test day. This program was intuitive and well-worth it. I barely glanced at any other prep materials and got a great result.
Joined: Nov 12, 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 19, 2018
College: University of Massachusetts Amherst
Major: Business
Industry: Retail/Wholesale and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

130 Point Increase - Great Adaptive Learning!

November 12, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 600 After: 730

I loved the Economist GMAT Prep. Before signing up I tried the free trial of Veritas and Manhattan Prep's programs and found that they focused on force-feeding you practice problems, whereas Economist GMAT forced you to slow down and focus on strategy and the fundamentals before jumping into anything. Overall, I feel that this strategy most strongly contributed to my success.

Economist GMAT had a relentless focus on strategy as a whole, and strategy within each question type. I never would have thought that I'd be getting so many difficult problems correct, or that I would be able to diagnose "lost causes" so quickly.

While learning all of the fundamental sentence correction rules and math formulas can be very boring, Economist GMAT's adaptive learning program kept me focused and moving forward. It helped me build a strong base that I'm not sure I otherwise would have been able to create.

Economist GMAT's explanations are second to none. Every question helped me understand the fundamentals, and their adaptive program recognized areas of weaknesses and forced me to spend more time on them. It also forced me to revisit questions I had gotten wrong in the past.

I do feel that I wish that Economist GMAT had an option to focus exclusively on advanced topics when I was "approaching the asymptote" rather than leaving the difficulty of practice problems to chance.
Joined: Nov 2, 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 3, 2018
Major: International Business
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

110 points increase while interning

November 2, 2018
  • Teacher: Isaac
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 570 After: 680

Working with the Economist GMAT prep was awesome. When I decided to take the GMAT I was already working in a very demanding internship. Getting home late every day I felt like I wouldn't have the energy to search for shortcuts and solutions for every topic on my own. After the trial week I scored 570 on my diagnoses test and after completing the course I scored 680 in my first and only ever official GMAT exam. I'm very glad with the 110 points increase and attribute quite some of that to the included personal lessons and test taking/ time management strategies I've learned in these.
In retrospect I can only recommend to take time management (as taught in the program) seriously. Fisrtly, I personally underestimated the importance by far. After I got into it a little, I boosted my prep exam scores from 640 up to 720.
I felt that because of the score increase or money-back-guarante I would have nothing to lose by taking this course.
However, my expactations have been exceeded by far. I even used the app on the subway and loved the simple design, as well as the ease of use. I only started to learn with official questions from MBA.com two days prior to taking the exam. I do believe that wasn't very wise, but proofse to me that the Economist prep is right on track and prepared me well enough.
Joined: Jul 20, 2018
Purchased Course: May 6, 2018
Major: Accounting
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Content, Helpful tutoring

July 20, 2018
  • Teacher: Jake Wengroff
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 560 After: 650

The Economist GMAT platform helped me to achieve a 90 point improvement on the GMAT! I loved the ease of use of the mobile app and how I could study on the go or while waiting on people or appointments. I really needed improvement on the quant, my verbal was already in roughly the 80th percentile but it improved to the 93rd percentile as well.
Jake Wengroff really was by far the most helpful and caring tutor. He did an excellent job helping me comprehend some of the quant concepts and all around went above and beyond.
The one con of the Economist course in my option would be the inability to shift ahead to later topics but at the same time my score really improved so it could mean that their order served its purpose. Overall I would definitely recommend the Economist GMAT course.
Joined: Jul 10, 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 27, 2018
College: Penn State University
Major: Engineering
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Utilize the tutoring sessions

July 10, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 540 After: 620

I started with the program as a way to continue my studies without carrying to OG around. While traveling, I was able to use some offline features on the app. Tutor 1:1 are definitely the key to a successful 70+ increase. I went to take the exam with 3 sessions under my belt and scored a 590. After 2 weeks and an additional 3 sessions I scored a 620. My baseline before starting the program was 540.

Bottom line - if you are looking to study while you travel this is great option. Utilize the tutoring resources and be prepared to do the work.
Joined: Apr 5, 2018
Purchased Course: May 30, 2017
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Manufacturing Engineering
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Lessons/Content, Low Flexibility

April 5, 2018
  • Teacher: Isaac and Sam
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

The Economist Tutor was a huge help to me as I prepared for the GMAT. The three aspects of the program that I found to be most beneficial were the lesson content/structure, tutoring sessions, and simulation tests. The lessons were all very well organized and the concept and strategy explanations we very clear. Each lesson included ample practice to help me solidify my understanding of each topic. The tutors, who were available to meet over Skype, were very helpful. I honestly was hesitant to reach out to them initially, being unsure of what I could discuss with them for 45 minutes that would make a big difference in my testing ability, but each tutoring session was very beneficial. They provided additional articles and materials that helped me improve specific weaknesses and my general test-taking abilities. The simulation tests had a different feel from the official GMAT practice tests. But my range of scores on the Economist tests was similar to my range on the official GMAT tests. I felt that the slightly different feel of the Economist tests helped me become more adaptable while still testing me on my ability to solve the same concepts and questions as one faces the official GMAT.

The biggest downside to the program is its lack of flexibility. When you sign up, you are locked into a time frame (3 or 6 months) and have to pay extra to extend. Additionally, it is VERY difficult to review topics you have already completed. There is no search feature to help you find material you've covered in the past.
Joined: Mar 26, 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 4, 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent

March 29, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

I selected GMAT tutor as a result of its flexible nature. I wanted to make sure that I was taking in all of the content, so felt that the written nature of the program was preferable over other programs that featured videos. I found the "ask a tutor" feature to be the most helpful portion of the ultimate package because I could get detailed analysis on any question I was confused on. I found myself asking for more detailed explanation of many verbal questions, which is why I rated the verbal portion of the program as a 4. I scored a 600 on my diagnostic test, and ended up with a 730, so was more than happy with the final results. The AWA prep created a simple formula that allowed me to score a 6.0 with very little practice. I would definitely recommend this service to anyone that cannot commit to an in-person prep course.
Joined: Mar 9, 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 4, 2017
College: The Bucharest University of Economic Studies
Major: Finance
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: Romania
Verified Real Student Review

A good investment

March 11, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

I bought the Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep 3 month plan on November 4th 2017. At that point, I had already been to some GMAT quant lessons in my city and knew absolutely NOTHING about the verbal part. On February 26th I sit my GMAT Exam for the very first time and scored a 720, Verbal 40, Quant 48, all while also being at uni and having a part-time job.

I can honestly say that the Economist GMAT Tutor was the best preparation tool I could use. It's a very friendly program and it really taught me everything I needed to know in order to secure a good score. I was really impressed with the Verbal lessons, they carefully walk you through all the grammar you need for SC in a very interactive way. The RC and CR tips were also very effective.

The tutoring sessions helped me a lot, the tutors are really helpful and have plenty of experience with all kinds of students, so they know in which direction they need to point you. The advice I got from them, especially the tips on strategy, sure made a difference.

All things considered, I think that the Economist GMAT Tutor is a worthwhile investment if you want a good score and I warmly suggest it to anyone planning to take the GMAT.
Joined: Feb 27, 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 24, 2017
College: Texas A&M
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing Prep Software

February 27, 2018
  • Teacher: Jake Wengroff
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 760

I used the manhattan books and 4 months of study to get to a score of 690. Two years later, the economist tutor brought me up to a 760. The difference is in the amount of practice available on your toughest topics. Instead of rereading the same section of a book over and over, this software presents more and more questions, all at your target score level, until it finally clicks.

The verbal sections are broken down well into bite-sized chunks that can be easily cross-referenced with the solutions in the official guide, so the synergy between the two is great. I relied less on the quant section than I did the verbal, but it does a great job of introducing difficult topics and easy ones alike.

The practice tests are different than GMATPrep, but effective. They always seemed to focus on topics that I struggled with. There was about a 70-100 point difference between these and my final official score.

Lastly, for those topics that you ju st can't figure out, the one-on-one tutoring sessions are amazing. I highly recommend Jake Wengroff not only as an excellent instructor, but as an avid supporter of my success. He took personal interest in me and my weaknesses, and gave me motivation when I needed it most. Especially useful sessions included a review of GMATPrep practice test questions that I missed. It was great to observe his question-answering process.

Overall, highly recommend. Especially if you are looking to dramatically improve your verbal score.
Joined: Feb 6, 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 14, 2017
College: Copenhagen Business School
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: Denmark
Verified Real Student Review

Great Experience with The Economist GMAT Tutor

February 6, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 420 After: 670

Before I started studying for the GMAT, I had no experience whatsoever with the type of questions in either of the sections. Consequently, my initial score was very low and would not allow me to be admitted at my desired business schools. I bought the Economist GMAT Tutor approximately two months before my test, and decided to spend around 100 hours on completing it.
The course is very easy to approach; you open your computer, log in to the software, and it will tell you where to go from there. I felt that the course was very pedagogical and it took me chronologically through the important steps on how to solve the GMAT with a high score. I was very happy with my experience with the program and even more happy to see my score increase by 250 points. As a great bonus, it comes with a subscription to the Economist during the training period which is a great add-on. All in all a great experience and I can only give my strongest recommendations!
Joined: Jul 5, 2012
Purchased Course: May 11, 2017
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Got 40 point Increase

January 8, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I bought the ultimate prep package which comes with 70+ point increase guarantee I got a 650 on my first practice test. This was my baseline score.

I had 7 days of free trial before I pay for the course. At the end of the free trial I completed almost 10% of the course and was definitely convinced that it's worth spending.

Overall, the course content and methods explained in both Verbal and Quant were very helpful. I was comfortable with the format and my course progress. However, 25% down the course I took the second practice test and got 640. This got me worried and I decided to use the live strategy sessions with GMAT tutors. I got some good advice from Isaac who helped me improve my time management issues. Although, it took me 2 more GMAT practice test to figure out the most optimal way to manage the time, once I figured my score was consistently over 670.

I scored a 690 on my last practice test with Economist and scored 690 and 710 on 2 mba.com tests. Eventually, on the D day, I got 690 (V33 Q50).

I was able to cover most of the topics (although took me 6 months since I am a busy full-time working professional). The tests were great and similar to the real test. Also, the live sessions were helpful in assessing the practice tests and discussing customized strategies based on the performance.

Overall, my experience with Economist was good. I would recommend this course to people who are busy working professionals and prefer to prepare at their own pace.
Joined: Dec 27, 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 18, 2017
College: Princeton University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Consulting
Country: France
Verified Real Student Review

An Excellent Platform

December 27, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 630 After: 740

Generally a mediocre test taker, I found The Economist's Complete GMAT Prep software to be an excellent platform to learn.

Fully interactive, you begin with courses that include relevant exercises. As you progress and after taking your first practice test, the exercises become harder, and more tailored to your profile.
The lessons and tricks they teach helped me tremendously in my progression.

After one month of practice, I took my first practice test, and got a mere 630, which was quite demoralizing. Yet, after completing half of the course, I began taking practice tests every two weeks, and continuing the course itself. Eventually, I scored 740 on the actual GMAT.
I would recommend this course to anyone who is completely unfamiliar with the GMAT.

The only one drawback, however, is that there is no way to select the topics of the exercises you want to work on. This could have been tremendously helpful in the later stages of my prep. Something I hope they will improve on!
Joined: Oct 10, 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 20, 2017
College: Universidad Adolfo Iba?ez
Major: Engineering Management
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: Chile
Verified Real Student Review

Very good tutor

October 10, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 480 After: 730

I did some review before purchasing the GMAT tutor of the Economist, and what I liked the most about it is that it was 100% web and interactive. I get easily distracted studying with books, but having to be concentrated in front of the screen solving the problems and reading the content of the lessons got me hooked up for the time I assigned for each of my study sessions.
How it works:
0. I would strongly recommend to take the free trial to see how it works.
1. Before you start to study you have to choose the length of the lesson you want to have. This is very comfortable, I would choose to study 1 hour at lunchtime in my office, 20 minutes in the subway on my way home (there I would do sentence correction) and 1 hour when I got home. I also prevented me to be in too much time in front of the screen without being productive, because after each session I would go have something to eat, have a cigarette, etc.
2. When you start studying the tutor will choose a study plan for you, so for example in 1 hour you can get to study Verbal and Quant.
3. After a few months of studying (and after doing your practice exams) the tutor will go into an "exercise mode" ; you will basically get only exercises, but if you want to review a certain subject you can re-study it by yourself.

Pros:
- You can choose when and where to study. In my case I work over 9 hours a day so I didn't want to go to a classroom after my work, I just wanted to study in mi pajamas in my desk at home. Also I did study on Sundays.
- Very similar to the actual GMAT experience. Since you are always in front of a screen and the tutor shows you how long you take to solve each problem you get a very precise feeling on how long you take to solve a problem.
- Good explanations: The tutor explains you very clearly the solution to each problem.
- Tutor sessions: The tutor gives you a certain number of Skype tutor sessions. The tutors are top levels and if you want to study a certain subject they are very useful.
- Sentence corrections: Since I am a non-native English speaker, it was particularly important to study the verbal part. In Critical Reasoning and Reading Comprehension, there is not much you can do in my opinion. Specially not in a short amount of time. But Sentence Correction is a subject you can get better at. The tutor is extremely good at this subject and in my case I improved a lot.

Cons:
- The only thing I can think of is that if you go into practice mode (just exercises) you can not choose what type of problems to get in Quant; you can choose between DS and PS questions, but if you feel for example weak in probabilities you can not tell the tutor to give you just this kind of problems. Anyway, you can always search on forums the type of problems you feel weak at, solve them, and continue with the tutor.
Joined: Aug 31, 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 17, 2017
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Self-Paced Adaptive Learning

September 1, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

The Economist Tutor program is self-paced and great for people with hectic schedules. The Premium package has so many great features, but here are my favorite:
1. Adaptive - tailors content and exercises to your weakest topics so you can zip through your strongest areas and focus on what you need to practice more
2. Predicted score - adds a level of gamification to the process. It was satisfying to see my predicted score go up week on week, and my final score was within the predicted range. Great accuracy.
3. Skype tutoring sessions - although I didn't take full advantage of this, I would recommend doing 2-3 tutoring sessions if you learn best by walking through exercises with a tutor. Great value compared to spending thousands on in-person tutoring.

My score went up 90 points after taking 80% of the course (I took the test only a couple of months into the course).

Overall, would recommend.
Joined: Aug 22, 2017
Purchased Course: May 13, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Will need supplementary materials, but overall a great course

August 25, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

Overall the Economist GMAT was extremely helpful. I go to a mid-tier public university in the US and am thinking about getting my MBA in 2-3 years. I looked online and this was appeared to be the best resource.

I'll preface by saying I didn't study at all, and the first practice test I took was through the Economist and I got a 550. My quant was in the 30th percentile, but my verbal was already in the 80th.

By the end, my quant was in the 70th percentile and my verbal improved to the 90th percentile. Although the quant is very good, I felt like the questions near the end of the program were too easy and that I needed to find some harder question to push my thinking and expose myself to harder questions.

And overall I thought the Economist sentence correction questions were much easier than the official ones, so if you get the opportunity, I would prep with difficult ones.

Overall a good product and even though my improvement may be an outlier, it should drastically help you.
Joined: Aug 2, 2017
Purchased Course: May 7, 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience even though only 50 point increase

August 2, 2017
  • Teacher: Na
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 700

: I started studying for the GMAT several years ago using just the Manhattan GMAT books. I kept falling off studying. Finally I decided to get committed and start the official Manhattan GMAT in person course. I learned a lot in that but my score was only 650 on the real gmat after that course. I was disappointed because my first practice exam I got a 620 and I got the exact same score on my last one. It's like the class did nothing for my score. When I took the exam o got a 650, which was not good enough for me, but still I was pleasantly surprised that I got higher than my practice exams.

I found the economist GMAT course online after searching for a GMAT course score guarantee. It amazed me that I could go up 70 points with no risk through the economist. I started the Exonomist the day after my first GMAT exam with the hopes of getting a 720.

I found the course to be extremely helpful! The quant section was especially good. It changed to show me more questions of what I needed help on and fewer questions for things that I already knew. I really liked how the course had a score estimate and a percent complete tracker. I also had great sessions with Jake Wengroff, my tutor for all but one of the sessions. You can't pick your tutor in the system but he and I were able to book appointments offline that he would then add to the system so that it would guarantee that he was my tutor. He was really great and I would recommend him for sure!

The verbal section I found helpful, but the sentence correction section didn't seem to be as difficult as the real exam. My verbal score went from a 40 to a 41, so really there was not much improvement there from my first real exam to my last real exam. My quant went up from 40 to a 45. I'm very pleased with my progress. Although I did not get the 700 points that they guarantee I plan on extending my subscription so that I can take the exam again in September and will hopeful ly go up 20 or more points. In all I would recommend the eco moist to anyone. It is possible to get to 700!! You just have to keep working at it.
Joined: Jul 1, 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 13, 2017
College: Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeeth
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

An elegantly constructed, consummate course for every GMAT taker

July 1, 2017
  • Teacher: Jake Wengroff
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

The Economist GMAT can best be described as the ideal tool for working professionals. The tool takes care of your preparation from the get-go: monitoring your progress, planning the courses, making suggestions for review.
Working a full-time job, a regular class-room course wouldn't work for me and I would not be able to fully utilize even the best course in that setting.
The way that the Economist GMAT tutor allowed me to utilize even the smallest bit of time available to prepare and the ease at which my course could be set or reset according to my preferences made a huge difference to my preparation.
All courses improve scores by some amount. However, I can confidently say that the Economist GMAT tutor does even more - it allows the test-taker to identify his/her level to a more accurate degree, meaning that I could go into the test confident that I was going to be fairly close to my target, and so it proved.
A special mention to tutors Jake Wengroff and Kasia Slawinska. Jake worked with me very early on in my prep, teaching me the basics of what the GMAT would be like, how I need to tackle it and what the best methods were to increase efficiency and reduce stress. He'd also helped me with a lot of work on Quants and gave me some very useful tips for test-day preparation. Kasia had worked with me around 10-15 days before the test, teaching me how to accelerate my preparation and plan how best to use the remaining time I had . I cannot commend highly enough the influence of those two on my preparation.
Joined: May 2, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 13, 2017
College: York University
Major: Political Science
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Most useless prep for me

June 12, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Okay here's the thing. I didn't want to write this review. I really wanted Economist's GMAT prep to work for me. It didn't so I decided to buy Kaplan, Manhattan Prep, GmatPrepNow, and Magoosh. All of which are so much better. Here are my reasons:

1) Customizable: Economist doesn't let you customize your lessons. You can select quant or Verbal but within those two, they won't let you choose what you need to work on like the other preps. So if you understand 7 things already and need to work on 3, they make you go through all 10 before you can move on. And God forbid what you need is way down in their lessons, you have to go through everything before it. After emailing them a few times, they said I can check a box that says pick your own lessons, but I tried this twice and it didn't work.

2) Tutoring: The Tutors only work on what you've covered in THEIR course. I've emailed them about questions I had in the original guide but they said I need to go over what they've taught first about that topic. And if that topic is 40-50 lessons down, I have to go through all the topics before I can get a tutor to help me with what I need help in.

3) Strange format: They have this weird prompt screen asking you questions like "Is the math on the GMAT harder than high school math" on the way to the questions you need. You have to keep answering these to move on. I found this a waste of time and I just moved on to the other prep courses out of frustration

4) Refund: Forget about it. If you tell them the course isn't working for you and you would like to use the money on something that is more conducive to your learning, they won't do it. Instead they'll write you long paragraphs about how their course is the best and there's no need to look elsewhere.

5) 5000 practice questions: These aren't in the form of a question bank. I emailed them about this. They said you'll get a total of 5000 questions if you keep answering their questions on their weird path they have designed for you. I wish I had known this before because this was one of the main reasons I purchased it.

I've had the most frustrating experience with them and wish I never paid. It is partially my fault because I should have tried the week trial fully before buying it. However, I thought the lessons were just locked because I hadn't paid yet. But no... you have to go through everything.

So basically I lost $1000 and can't get it back. I am now studying using a bunch of other prep courses because Economist didn't have what I needed and their teaching style did nothing for me. Others might have had a positive experience, but this was mine.
Joined: Jan 22, 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 12, 2017
College: MNNIT
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommended

June 7, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 620 After: 740

I used the Economist GMAT Tutor to prepare and I have to say that it gives a one of a kind & exceptional experience to the process of preparation. The portal to very well designed and organized, making everything simple to consume.

I am a non-native English speaker and started using the Economist portal especially to improve my verbal score. When I started I was around 27-30 range in verbal. That jumped to 40 by the time I took the test (in 4 months).

Eventually, the portal also gave me many hacks for quants which I could use in the practice tests. When used in combination with OGs, The Economist GMAT Tutor can work wonders.

Highly recommended for non-native English speakers!
Joined: May 29, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 3, 2017
Major: Chemistry
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Verified Real Student Review

Could not have beat the gmat without this course! 580 to 710 in five months!

May 30, 2017
  • Teacher: Jake Wengroff
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

My GMAT journey started around September 2016 when I took my first GMATprep practice test and scored a 580 (Q37, V33, IR7). For the next three months I studied on an off using OG books, but quickly realized the book approach would not work for me. After reading some reviews on courses, I decided to try the 1-week free trial for the Economist. I knew straight away that this would be a great course for me. Things that drew me to the course:
-I work a full-time job so I loved that you can complete a session whenever and for however long you want.
-The topics and answer explanations were clear and easy to follow.
-Really liked the time tracker for each question as well as the breakdown in how much time you had spent on Quant and Verbal topics.
-During the 1-week trial I took the free practice test and scored a 610 (Q43, V32, IR2) which I also felt reasonably correlated with my original GMATprep test score.

I knew December would be a difficult month for me to study, so I waited until the beginning of January to sign up for the Ultimate Prep, and the same week I signed up to take the real GMAT on April 1. This was a good time to sign up for the course because the rates were discounted for the New Year. I went for the 6-month Ultimate Prep for the 70-point guarantee and because I anticipated I was going to need to take the test more than once (just based on my experience with the SATs).

Over the next 3-months I studied for about 1.5 hours/day on the weekdays (about 1 hour on Quant and 30 mins on Verbal) and 2 hours/day ay on the weekend. I loved that the course was self-paced, and that it kept track of my progress. I felt like the Quant topics were great and the answer explanations were thorough and easy to understand. The Quant review helped me immensely, and I learned valuable strategies as to how to approach certain questions. I also loved that as you completed more and more topics, the course adapted to your strengths and weaknesses. If you are weak in a particular area, the course really hammers in the material/questions on that topic until you start answering the questions correctly. In terms of the Verbal, I knew that my main weaknesses were CR and SC and the course really focused on these topics. I thought the Stop Signs for SC were useful and helped teach me what common mistakes to look out for in the sentences. During the 3-months leading up to my test I took 5 of the Economist practice test and the second free GMATprep test. My scores were as follows:

1) Feb 18, 590 (Q37, V32, IR4) Economist
2) March 11, 620 (Q47, V29, IR4) Economist
3) March 15, 690 (Q50, V36, IR5) Economist
4) March 18, 680 (Q45, V40, IR5) Economist
5) March 22, 680 (Q43, V42, IR3) Economist
6) March 25, 650 (Q47, V43, IR8) GMATprep test 2

During this 3-month preparation time I also utilized four of the personal tutoring sessions. I can't stress enough how important these sessions were for my progress. I had all of my tutoring sessions with Jake Wengroff and he was AMAZING! We mainly focused on debriefing my practice tests and going through questions I answered incorrectly. One of my biggest hurdles with the GMAT was the timing, and Jake helped me learn timing strategies as well as when it was ok to guess on certain questions. Jake mostly helped me with Quant, but in later sessions we focused more on SC/CR and his help in the verbal section was also great! On top of all of this, Jake is also incredibly nice and supportive. He really helped me deal with my some of my test-taking anxiety.

After months of studying I ended up taking the GMAT on April 1 and scoring a 660 (Q48, V33, IR6, AWA 5.5). I was happy with my improvement on the Quant section, but due to lack of sleep the night before and accidently starting the Verbal section late, I didn?t feel that this score reflected my true ability.

From my first test, it was clear I still needed to do some work on the Verbal section. I think the Economist course is great for teaching strategies on how to approach questions on the Verbal section, but I believe the biggest weakness of the course is that some of the Verbal questions do not closely align with official GMAT questions. I always did very well with the official RC questions, but I found the Economist RC questions to be incredibly difficult. I found the Economist SC questions were good practice, but they were often too easy and seemed to follow a formula. I found the official SC questions to be much more difficult. I felt the Economist CR closely aligned with the real thing. For the Quant, I felt the practice questions were on par with the official questions.

I decided to retake the test on May 20, but for the remaining 1.5 months of study time, I continued to do the Economist Quant practice questions and heavily focus on OG Verbal questions. I also had a three additional tutoring sessions with Jake in which we went over the last two practice tests I had taken before the big day. Come test day, I was able to achieve an overall score of 710 (Q47, V40, IR4, AWA6)!!!! The score forecaster on the Economist software estimated my score would be between 680-740, so this was right on target! In the end, I completed 89% of the Quant material (70 hours), and 86% of the Verbal (42 hours).

I also just want to quickly comment on the IR and AWA portions of the course. The Economist IR questions were reasonable, however, the course review for this section is fairly limited. If you need more work with IR, you may need to seek additional resources. For AWA, I thought the template was great and I used the exact template on the real exam. I submitted three essays for review, and while the feedback was useful, it does take around a week to get a response, so plan accordingly.

I know this a long-winded review, but I 100% believe I could not have achieved this score without this course and Jake?s help! The course may be somewhat pricey, but I think it was worth every penny!
Joined: May 23, 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 18, 2017
College: Maastricht University
Major: Logistics & Supply Chain Management
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Too expensive and less convenient than other courses

May 23, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 510

I studied approximately one month with the Economist GMAT Tutor and was not completely satisfied with the course. First of all, I did not like the fact that there was no clear overview where, in terms of theory, you are. You are able to see how much percent of the course have completed but you do not know what chapter will follow and how many chapters are left. Additionally, I personally thought that the practice questions were not very representative for the actual GMAT questions. I thought the actual questions are tougher than those in the practice mode.

On the other hand, I very much appreciated the Skype tutoring sessions which are included in the course. All lessons were very well organised and were very effective. Also, the five practice exams that the course provides to all students were very good for practicing and provided great explanations in case one does not understand a question.

Overall, I still consider the price for this course way to high and I would therefore not recommend this course. After my first trial, I waited approximately 2 months and studied with the Magoosh Course. Within three weeks, I jumped from 510 (Q37; V23) to 660 (Q46; V35).

Good luck!
Joined: May 3, 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 14, 2017
College: Brown University
Major: Finance
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great for flexible study--if you have too much OR too little time

May 3, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 760

I went from not having opened a GMAT book to a 760 on my first try taking the GMAT with the help of the Economist GMAT Tutor. The whole process took me two months.

I started with the trial run and took my first test and scored a 650 on my first practice test. I enjoyed the flexibility of the program, as I am a college student with a lot of time on my hands and wanted to be able to study on my own time. I studied for around 2 hours every day five days a week.

I am an Applied Math major at school so I thought I would be prepared for the quantitative section. However, on my first test I scored very poorly. I believe that the Economist Quant prep is extremely helpful in giving you the right ways to approach problems. Certain problems that originally took me 5-7 minutes to solve, however, after using the approaches given to me by the Economist tutor, I could solve them in 1-2 minutes.

The adaptive nature of the program is extremely useful. This way certain types of problems that I just couldn't get right originally I easily mastered and problems that I knew how to solve easily originally I didn't waste time on.

I believe the verbal prep also must be among the best. I originally scored about where I thought I should on my practice test, as I do not have strong verbal and grammatical skills. The "Stop Signs" the program used were a great way to identify possible errors in sentence correction. The critical reasoning practice problems were also great and nearly identical to the real test. I believe that the reading comprehension in the GMAT tutor was slightly more difficult than the real exam but definitely helped me prepare.

I completed a little over 80% of the course and in the last two weeks started working more on the GMAT Offical problems in the app they give. I think that using the tutor to have a solid background and familiarity with the types of problems they give and then working on official problems and tests was the best approach for me.

I didn't take as much advantage of the in-app questions and tutoring sessions as I could have. However, the sessions I did have were informative and helpful. They really look at the data and your progress in order to give you helpful and critical feedback.

I scored much lower on all the practice tests I took on the Economist program than I did on the real test--my highest score was a 720. However, I believe that that has more to do with my test taking mentality rather than the difficulty of the real tests as my highest practice score on the Official program was also a 720.

Overall I would definitely recommend the Economist GMAT Tutor, especially if you want to study on your own time.
Joined: Apr 1, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 3, 2017
College: Wake Forest University
Major: Finance
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Perfect Prep Course for Busy People

April 1, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

I decided to apply to Business school 3 months before the application was due. I knew that I wouldn't have time to take the GMAT multiple times and had to ensure the my studying was as efficient as possible. The Economist GMAT course exceeded my expectations. The lessons were concise and easy to understand, and the one-on-one tutoring sessions were extremely valuable.

The best part about the course are all of the practice problems. When you get a question wrong, it not only tells you what the correct answer is, but also why the answer you selected is wrong. You have the opportunity to send an "ask a tutor" inquiry if there are questions that you still don't understand after reading the explanation. I ended up only needing to use about 20 out of 50 available "ask a tutor" inquiries because the explanations provided are so thorough.

After completing the Economist GMAT Prep Course in 2.5 months, I improved my score by 130 points and achieved my target score of 720. I highly recommend the Economist GMAT course!
Joined: Mar 30, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 26, 2016
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Flexible and time efficient GMAT prep

April 1, 2017
  • Teacher: Emily
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

First of all I have to say that my initial goal was to score 700 points in the GMAT which I did not achieve. In my first, and so far only, official try I scored 650 after scoring not more than 580 in the test exams during preparation. After 2 months of classic studying with books I decided to go for the basic Economist GMAT Tutor option. I thought it might be more time efficient in order to support me for an intensive preparation in the last month before my official GMAT (and it was indeed).

I felt really comfortable working with the desktop version as well as the mobile app e.g. on my way to work. You can choose between 5 minute and 60 minute sessions on either quant or verbal or both combined. Tasks that were not answered correctly can be reviewed instantly and are noted by the software. Then, over time it gives you less of your strong tasks and more new topics with your weak spots frequently in between.

I started with a text exam right away and so the adaptive nature of the software got hold of my strengths and weaknesses pretty quickly. Obviously this is generally a huge advantage of software over classic book learning. Unfortunately I realized that far too late, otherwise I would have spend all 3 months of prep just with the Economist app. On the other hand I does make a lot of sense to work at least with GMAT material from two different companies in order to have a comparison.

Due to the insights from the test exam I focused solely on improving the quantative section, where the Economist app provides a massive amount of excercises. Although I spent three weeks only in the quant section I hardly managed to finish 50% of the quant section.

I am sure that the app it helped me to especially work on my weaknesses and that it deserves a huge part of the credits for my 650. Since I just got accepted to my first BS choice I can say that the 350$ were a good investment. They have different payment plans from which my option was the cheapest. It is valid for three months (one week free trial in advance) and comes with the study material + 3 test GMATs, 1 essay review, 20 ask a tutor questions via a chat interface.

Since then I have always recommended this app to anybody who asked me for GMAT prep recommendations.
Joined: Mar 21, 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 6, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Ultimate Economist GMAT Review

March 21, 2017
  • Teacher: Isaac
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

The Economist GMAT Tutor has a rigorous verbal preparation. The Reading Comprehension is more difficult than the real GMAT and it prepares you for very tough questions which is great! The Sentence Correction uses Stop Signs in order to train you which turned out to be very useful as it points you to the type of mistakes you need to look for. It was especially helpful as I'm non-native speaker! The Critical Reasoning was very useful too, showing you the main distractors and traps. The Quant section was great - they teach you shortcut techniques which for example are not shown at the Official Guide. The way I have prepared was to use the Economist as a foundation and practice questions from the Official Guide at the end - once you do that and see the explanations at the OG you will really appreciate how good the Economist is and the way they have taught you to think.
One point for improvement is the time it takes for AWA essays to be graded. It usually takes 1 week and if your GMAT is quickly approaching, it might be a limitation to the number of essays you will be able to submit.
However, the core curriculum which is the most important component was great. The opportunity to take tutor sessions aids your preparation and you can work on your weaknesses. The system offers predicted score which in my case was accurate and it gives you more ambition to work harder in order to get to your goal.
To sum up, I highly recommend the Economist GMAT Tutor and it's a great tool for preparation!
Joined: Mar 2, 2017
Purchased Course: May 18, 2016
Country: France
Verified Real Student Review

I recommend the Economist GMAT tutor for the GMAT math prep

March 9, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 580 After: 650

The Economist GMAT is the best material to beat the quant section of the GMAT. I am an engineer with a strong mathematics background. However my mathematics knowledge is completely different from the one that is needed for the GMAT quant. In fact I've learned how to do calculus steps by steps and prove difficult mathematics theories, but not how to guess , nor to do basic computations in the most effective way and solve problems in 2 mins. Therefore my results on the quant on the very first simulation tests were frustrating. I then decided to take a course to improve my score. I tried the Economist GMAT tutor for 7 days (there is a week free trial ) and noticed at the very first day that it is the application that I needed. The availability of the apps on Android and Windows devices is very useful. I was able to practice in the train while going to work every day...
The course is computer adapative. You will have the questions on the same topic until you ace it. You cannot move to another chapter if you don't do reasonnably well on the previous. The one to one tutor session via skype is really valuable. I was abe to talk to my tutors who gave me precious advice to strenghen my weaknesses , to manage efficiently the t