Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling
Course
ADMISSION CONSULTING COMPANY

Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling

5 stars
(5/5) - 28 reviews
nextstophbs2021
Joined: Apr 2019
Purchased Course: Nov 2018
Major: Business
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you Stratus

5 stars
April 19, 2019
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Teacher: Donna Bauman
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
*Disclaimer - I bought a 4 school package (beatthegmat only showed hourly consulting as an option if that shows up).

Before writing about Stratus, I’ll say it’s important to know what you’re looking to get out of an MBA consultant. I began the process with Stratus with only 40 days until round 2 submission, so not only was I looking for guidance on school selection, application strategy, resume and essay review, and interview prep, I also needed a project manager of sorts to clearly lay out deadlines and allow me to use the little non-working time I had most efficiently. I had talked to several consultants and it was clear that Stratus had the full package. When I first talked to Donna I knew we would work well together (while the Stratus process is great, your relationship and ability to work with your individual consultant is the most important piece).

As far as value add goes, I can’t praise Stratus, Donna and Cartha enough. The introspective application strategy is something that contributed greatly to my essays and I would not have gotten there on my own. By connecting me with former clients and knowing where my strengths played best, Donna helped inform my school selection. My professional resume was turned upside down into a great MBA resume. The school specific essay review, interview guides and mock interviews were dead on. And apart from their own gain from my success, they were truly rooting for me throughout the process.

To speak to results, I applied to 4 top 10 programs, was admitted to 3, waitlisted at 1. Even if I started months earlier and had a wide network of recent MBAs, I’m not sure I would have produced the same quality of applications.

AnonMBA22
Joined: Apr 2019
Purchased Course: Nov 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

MBA Consultant Review

5 stars
April 11, 2019
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Teacher: Rachel Nelson, Donna Bauman
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Rachel, Donna, and the rest of the Stratus team were amazing. Their honest opinions and attention to detail throughout the entire process was so helpful. Rachel has a very calm presence and I never felt rushed; she was very positive and always reassured me we'd get everything done, even when I was getting stressed out. Donna was very helpful during the school selection process and her knowledge of the different programs is amazing. I got into my top program even with a very low GMAT score thanks to Stratus so I would whole-heartedly recommend Rachel and the Stratus team to anyone looking for comprehensive help with MBA applications.

akkhan
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2018
College: McGill University
Major: Economics
Industry: Real Estate Development
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

AWESOME experience working with Samantha Merton of Stratus Prep

5 stars
March 29, 2019
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Teacher: Samantha Merton
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
To all aspiring candidates of the top Global MBA programs

Regardless of how good you are at writing essays/ high GPA & GMAT/ etc. trust me a 5 hour counselling package from a top MBA counselling firm such as Stratus does not guarantee but can significantly increase your probability of admission. The amount you will spend vs. the ROI of getting into a top school is intangible. I must also thank my friend Tanwee for highly and I mean highly recommending Samantha Merton of Stratus Prep.

My MBA applications would not be anywhere near as strong without Samantha’s input. She really enabled me to dig deep and table my best personal/professional story. She also knew a great deal about what each specific school was looking for in a candidate. I can safely say that my 8 hours with her has made me better at expressing my ideas/thoughts concisely and has made me a stronger writer overall which will pay dividends beyond the MBA application process.

Think of the process as a gruelling boxing match that lasts 12 rounds. Having her always in my corner as a coach throughout this marathon was hands down one of the best decisions I have made. The speed at which she responded to my emails every time (even during holidays!) really made my life easier and allowed me to meet my target deadlines. I got interviews from all 3 schools I applied to – INSEAD, LBS and IESE. The mock interview I did with her also prepared me comprehensively for the actual interviews at these schools. She helped me with content, pacing, tone, brevity, etc. With one last INSEAD interview to go, I am well prepared stepping in for Round 12. She is a true professional and it has been an absolute pleasure working with her. She went above and beyond my expectations. I do not think I can ever thank Samantha enough for all her help!

dreilly
Joined: Mar 2019
Purchased Course: Aug 2018
College: university at buffalo
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great coaching experience that kept me on track and focused on the right story

5 stars
March 19, 2019
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Teacher: Lisa Cummings
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I highly recommend Stratus overall and in particular would recommend Lisa Cummings who helped coach me through essays, resume, and interview prep. I was accepted into MIT and believe she was essential to that process. Lisa was firm in her direction and keeping me on pace, yet patient with my more nuanced questions that came up. A good consultant is not writing your essay or resume, but is ensuring you are presenting the best possible version of yourself. Lisa taught me to think of it as a branding exercise – does your story make sense, are your themes coherent, are you speaking directly to the program of interest. I spoke with a half dozen consultants plus two at Stratus before making a decision. These types of services are not cheap so it is essential you find someone that you can work well with and understands the program you’re interested in. The staff is very flexible and responsive and have a very refreshing approach to how they handle clients compared to other services – mainly that the consultants do not handle the sales and pricing conversations, which I found in other program often made me feel like I was buying a used car. I found a package that worked best for me and do not regret it one bit.

hbs_admit_2021
Joined: Mar 2019
Purchased Course: Jul 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Terrific experience with Jennifer Jackson of Stratus

5 stars
March 14, 2019
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Teacher: Jennifer Jackson
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I highly recommend Jennifer Jackson of Stratus. Although Jennifer advises some applicants from the very start of their business school application process, I engaged her after I had written self-reflections and begun drafting essays. I wanted someone to serve as a sounding board for my ideas, and to offer tips on expressing myself effectively in writing and in interviews.

First, I appreciated that Jennifer could adapt her approach to clients of all readiness levels. As mentioned, I came to Jennifer having already completed a fair amount of preparation. Instead of making me rewrite my thoughts in her templates or follow her usual process, Jennifer got to know me through the materials that I had already put together myself. Her adaptiveness saved me time and ensured that I got what I was seeking out of our sessions together.

Second, I enjoyed the advantages that came from Jennifer’s membership in the larger Stratus organization. As a few examples: Jennifer shared guidance from the most knowledgeable individuals in her network. She set up a Wharton practice group interview, led by another Stratus employee, alongside other applicants from Stratus’s clients. And I received encouraging emails from both Jennifer and Susan Cera, head of Stratus, as I went along. I believe that these advantages are distinct to organizations, as opposed to independent advisors.

Third and most important: Even as an applicant who had already done some preparation, I benefitted from Jennifer’s advice. As a sounding board for my ideas, Jennifer helped me to identify my most compelling stories, recognize areas where I could add depth, and cut color commentary. She also pointed out stylistic areas to improve in my interviewing style, and our practice boosted my confidence.

All in all, it was a pleasure working with Jennifer and Stratus. I would recommend them both to clients at any stage in the business school application process. (And I was ultimately accepted at two of the top five U.S. MBA programs first-round.)

nancyz
Joined: Feb 2019
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
College: University of Toronto
Major: English
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Best investment and truly cares about your success

5 stars
February 22, 2019
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Teacher: Donna Bauman
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I worked with Donna on a 4-school package and couldn’t be happier with the results. Donna knows the ins and outs of the process and so much more. We worked on my key themes (that become building blocks of the application), school selection, a resume revamp, and created a winning strategy. Everything was methodical yet never did I feel that the relationship was “transactional”. Donna truly puts herself in your shoes and becomes a mentor. The perk is that you also get a team behind Donna, including other senior consultants and school-specific consultants, to provide a comprehensive impression of your application.

Amazing experience with Donna and the Stratus team. Super fast response time and always on top of things. I got into several dream schools with combined scholarships that made over 2000% return on my investment. Heading to a top 10 school. Good luck!!

guillaume90
Joined: Feb 2019
Purchased Course: Sep 2019
Country: France
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience working with Stratus!

5 stars
February 6, 2019
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Teacher: Josh, Mariya
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Working with stratus admissions has been a real pleasure from the beginning call with Josh, in depth exchanges with Mariya, and support after admissions. I am a non traditional candidate and I really needed expert help guiding me on how to most strategically position myself for business school. Stratus Admissions was very helpful from the beginning in hearing my story and pairing me with a consultant with a similar background that could provide insight into how to apply and what areas I should emphasize in the application. It was exactly the expert source that I was looking for. Mariya's comments on my essay were very helpful and it was actually a pleasure seeing how the dispersed ideas that I had from the onset became focused and powerful in the final essay. I am extremely satisfied with my overall experience working with Stratus throughout the entire process and would recommend them to anyone that is considering business school applications (especially from non-trad backgrounds)!

nb25
Joined: Dec 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
College: university of nottingham
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

No MBA consultant can possibly be better than Susan

5 stars
December 12, 2018
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Teacher: Susan Cera
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Working with Stratus Admissions, and specifically Susan Cera, was one of the better decisions I have ever made. Not only did they do their job: get me into one of my dream schools (Berkeley Haas), they did so much more.
Thanks to Stratus, I have reflected on my unique career and life goals in such detail that I have gone from having a vague idea about what I want to do to knowing concrete plans that I am so excited to pursue. They also helped me figure out what my resume gaps were and find ways to address the gaps. The result has been me getting more involved with the community, creating one of the most rewarding experiences I have had in recent years.
Susan is brilliant. I don’t have a bad word to say about her. She is kind, but honest. If you want to give this process 110%, Susan is the one for you. She takes the phrase “going above and beyond” to the next level. We chatted all the time and she was always available to help, whatever the question may be. She has been an incredible guiding light for me in this process and did her job perfectly. I couldn’t recommend her higher and am so grateful I found her.

jigishpatel13
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Stratus, Susan, and Donna are awesome!

5 stars
November 1, 2018
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Teacher: Susan Cera
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I worked with Donna Bauman on the MBA Early Edge for about six months and then with Susan Cera on my applications for about eight months. Working with the Stratus team is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. At Stratus, while I had a lead mentor in Susan, so many other staff members helped me with various aspects of my application. Susan brought in different expects based on their expertise and what I needed to present my very best self.
In addition, Susan helped me craft a vision of who I am and what I want to accomplish, not just for two years in business school, but in my professional career. She asked strategic questions to bring out my true self. We developed a strong relationship and she took so much time to get to know me beyond simply my business school aspirations. She was personally invested in my success. She is also super connected with MBA students and officers. She connected me to at least one student at every school I was applying to.
Susan is also very ethical. She supported my recommenders and helped me provide them with guidance rather than simply writing the recommendations for my recommenders to submit. In essays, she provided feedback and questions and left the final decision making to me so my authentic-self shined.
From my first conversation, I knew Susan was the perfect person to help me present my best self to MBA admissions committees. She is passionate, knowledgeable, well-connected and ethical. While I am excited to be done with the admissions process, I will miss working with Susan, Donna, and the Stratus team. Susan and Donna are the best!

Arvind_89
Joined: Sep 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2018
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Donna's advice leads to interview call

5 stars
October 18, 2018
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 28 reviews
Teacher: Donna Bauman
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
As a PS to my earlier review, I especially wanted to thank Donna for her intuitive advice in recommending to apply and later helping me with my interview preparation for one of the top M7 school. I applied solely relying on Donna's counselling and turned out that she was right !

Donna also helped me prepare for my interview with specific tips and interview pattern for this school. Immensely thankful for her help !