Stratus Admissions Counseling
Company
ADMISSION CONSULTING COMPANY

Stratus Admissions Counseling

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 21 reviews
nepra
Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic experience working with Stratus!

5 stars
June 1, 2018
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Teacher: Donna Bauman
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I applied for my MBA after only 2 years of work experience so I knew I would need help developing my story. I did initial consultations with a lot of programs but Stratus was one of the few who believed I could do my MBA despite having only a few years of work experience and a biology background.

Donna and the Stratus team helped me overcome my low work experience to not only get admitted to 3 of the 4 schools I applied to but also receive scholarships to all of them.

Donna was easily accessible via email or phone and responded to my inquiries within a few hours. With her help, I was less stressed and was able to finish applications well before the deadline. Donna went above and beyond to help me not only with applications and school choices but also with interviews. She even took the time to meet me in person before an on-campus interview and coached me in person.

I had a fantastic experience with Donna and the rest of the Stratus team. They pushed me to dig deeper and present a story I was proud of. Donna was really invested in my applications and I am so grateful for her help. Overall, Stratus Prep exceeded my expectations and I would definitely recommend them, especially Donna to anyone who is applying for business school. I’m not sure I would have gotten in without her help.

kxz
Joined: Jun 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
Major: Business
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very Responsive, Available, and Managed Expectations Well

5 stars
May 30, 2018
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Teacher: Susan Cera
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Susan and the team (other consultants who reviewed essays, etc.) did a great job:
- managing my expectations while being supportive
- helping with introspection and subsequently reviewing essays
- reaching goals both in terms of short term (application deadlines) and long term (school location preference, etc.)

Susan was very responsive to my emails and were happy to set up chats via phone or Skype whenever I needed it. Thanks Stratus!

jennahaleyk
Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: tufts unviersity
Major: Economics
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Crucial to my success in getting into business school.

5 stars
May 24, 2018
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Teacher: Susan Cera
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Susan was amazing to work with! From reflecting on why I truly wanted to go to business school, finding the right school for me, and the fast response to my questions (and I had a lot), I would recommend Stratus Prep to everyone!

KO6278
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
Verified Real Student Review

I had a wonderful experience working with Stratus.

5 stars
May 4, 2018
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Teacher: Jennifer Jackson
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I highly recommend working with Stratus Admissions. I had the pleasure of working with my consultant, Jennifer Jackson, beginning in June 2017. At the time (similar to many prospective applicants!), I was juggling full-time employment and GMAT studying. Facing the applications themselves seemed daunting. Working through Stratus’s introspection activities with Jennifer gave me a starting point and was an incredibly helpful way to frame my ‘story’ and clarify my MBA and post-MBA aspirations.

Jennifer worked with me to set a realistic timeline given the large number of schools I was planning to apply to and, while she was always flexible when work or life got in the way, was great about keeping me on track throughout the process. She was extremely responsive and knowledgeable about the programs I was applying to – if I ever had a question about a program that she couldn’t answer, she would reach out to her peers at Stratus to help me get the needed information. I particularly recommend the comprehensive counseling package. Having the opportunity to receive structured feedback from multiple sources at Stratus, including my assigned senior strategist Susan Cera (who was also fantastic to work with!), a proofreader and a school-specific specialist for each program, ensured I was putting forth the best possible application.

Thanks to the help of Jennifer and the Stratus team, I was ultimately accepted to three top-10 programs and will be headed to my dream school this fall!

ppate
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A Needed Resource

5 stars
May 2, 2018
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Teacher: Harold Simansky
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Thanks to Stratus' guidance, I recently was accepted into the Wharton MBA this year (after 2 prior rejections!). I had the opportunity to work with Harold Simansky and I couldn't have wished for a better experience. Harold takes the time to understand you as a person, professional, and MBA applicant and truly helps you form your best application that highlights your individuality and that positions you in the best manner possible. In addition to this, other Stratus' process brings along other consultants for various steps of the application process to help review and refine your application (and add another great perspective). All in all, if you are serious about applying to a competitive MBA program- I highly recommend Stratus to maximize your prospects of acceptance. Cheers!

harrisonfs
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommended!

5 stars
April 23, 2018
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Teacher: Donna Bauman
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I had a really great experience working with Donna Bauman. She was exceptionally encouraging and supportive throughout my application journey. She was always willing to provide helpful, honest, and timely feedback (within 24 hours) and was able to be flexible to accommodate with our time zone differences for interview preparations. Most importantly, she really took the time to understand my unique background and aspirations and was a true advocate to ensure that I conveyed my unique story across my applications. I would highly recommend Donna and Stratus to anyone looking for an admissions consultant!

jolieduhon
Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
College: University of Nevada - Las Vegas
Major: Hospitality Management
Industry: Retailing/Wholesaling
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Stratus Admissions Counseling is Top Notch!

5 stars
April 18, 2018
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Teacher: Susan, Jamie
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
When I started on my MBA application journey two years ago, I was pretty far from being the ideal candidate. I did not graduate from an ivy league university, I didn't come from a traditional business school industry, and my story was nothing remarkable, or so I thought. Working with my Senior Strategist, Susan, first in the MBA Early Edge program and then in the MBA Admissions Counseling package (along with my MBA counselor, Jamie) infused me with a confidence I can't describe. With their guidance and support, I was able to start thinking next-level about my applications, my mission and my future. I will be starting at a top-20 school in the fall full-time program and I couldn't be more proud of the hard work it took to get here!

ejsilva
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
College: University of California, Davis
Major: Agriculture
Industry: Agribusiness
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

They will focus your motivation, efforts, and experience incredibly

5 stars
April 7, 2018
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Teacher: Temitope Oluwayomi
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I started using Stratus Consulting in Spring 2017 with the goal of applying by Fall 2017 for Round 1.

tl:dr Stratus was incredibly helpful. The introspection templates, essay feedback, and school guidance gave me insight into a process I was new to. Like anything, you get what you put in, and money isn't enough. But if you are really willing to work, Stratus will take that effort and focus it into a top application for your top schools. It worked here as I was recently admitted to the Stanford Graduate School of Business with an undergrad GPA below 3.0 and a GMAT score of 710.

More detail:
Stratus helped to frame my experiences in a way that not only helped me pick the best ones to share, but to craft my own goals/trends through them. Like most of you, I imagine, I am going to business school to make a specific move in my career. That move isn't coming from no where but has showed itself throughout my early career. That is easy to say but often very difficult to show in 250-750 word essays while also getting the tone, grammar, and writing style down. So firstly, Stratus was crucial in helping my instrospection process occur early and thoroughly.

Take that introspection and turning it into essays is difficult, however. Nonetheless, my Stratus advisor helped me do just that. We must have gone back and forth (I chose a package that had them help me with two schools, but ultimately I applied to 9) at least 10 times on each schools essays. She always provided helpful insight, guidance, and was not afraid to challenge my assumptions. Additionally, when the time was right, my Stratus POC gave my essays to others on her team to get additionally invaluable feedback.

For me, I tend to procrastinate and with work, personal life, and building a side business, I knew that if I didn't commit to an investment like Stratus, I would not be able to stick to a timeline to apply with high quality essays. I ultimately applied R2 (wanted/needed to get my GMAT score up) and Stratus stuck with me through the entire process. I highly recommend them to students who are ready to work, excited about business school (and other graduate schools, btw), and know they need a little fire to keep them going through the long haul.

Overal, I am happy with my decision regardless of what school I got into, but certainly ecstatic that I was afforded this opportunity to attend Stanford. My advice: if you are going to commit to this process, go all in. Commit. The worst feeling you will have from this process (worse than the long GMAT hours of studying) is realizing at the end of it that you could have done something more. Don't let that happen. Act now, organize, and make 2018 your year to do this! Good luck!

zackline
Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
College: North Carolina State University
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Experience, Top Notch Employees, Personal Touch

5 stars
March 26, 2018
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Teacher: Donna Bauman
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I will be the first to admit that I was skeptical about using an MBA admissions consultant. I went back and forth about the idea for at least six months while I did research and after talking with several consultants I finally went with Stratus. I could not have been happier with my choice. Donna Bauman was the best thing that happened to me along the way to applying to business school. Donna took the time to not only help me with the application process but also to help me make some difficult personal decisions about where to apply, decisions that were greatly assisted by her own personal anecdotes and experiences. Through a clear and concise pipeline we worked together every step of the way, with Donna taking time out of her evenings and weekends to help with my often last minute modifications and revisions. The employees at Stratus went above and beyond to help work around my schedule and timeline throughout the MBA application process, and after the hours and hours spent talking to Donna on the phone I now consider her a friend. Several months ago I was accepted to my #1 pick school, and awarded a hefty scholarship to boot, making Stratus more than worth the price I paid for their services.

mbaperson12345
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: May 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Application Fundamentals and Strategy/Comprehensive Package

5 stars
March 19, 2018
Company: Stratus Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Course: Stratus Hourly Admissions Counseling 21 reviews
Teacher: Susan Cera, Harold Simansky
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
When I first considered using a consultant, I was hesitant to commit to the price of a comprehensive package without truly understanding what working with a consultant would be like. The Application Fundamentals and Strategy option with Stratus was a relatively low-risk way to start the process and gave me the flexibility to choose how I wanted to proceed (i.e., working solo, purchasing hours, or upgrading to a comprehensive package) thereafter. I was worried that in using a consultant, I would lose my "voice" trying to fit into some consultant mold, but the outcome was quite the opposite. The Introspection process forced me to think about how different experiences in my life have shaped me personally and professionally and to examine post-MBA career options that fit with both my experiences and aspirations. Susan helped me identify themes across these different goals and experiences. The upfront work I did with Susan laid the foundation for my application strategy, kept my story grounded, and was directly applicable to several essays and even interview questions. It also helped guide my conversations with supervisors when I asked them to write my LORs. For me, the Application Fundamentals and Strategy option was a great way to "try out" working with a consultant while still moving the ball forward on my applications. I did end up upgrading to a comprehensive package. Susan, Harold, and the rest of the Stratus folks were great resources throughout the process and gave quality feedback on essays and interview prep. The application process is a grind, no matter what. There really aren't short cuts. But for me, it was helpful to have a knowledgeable sounding board/resource throughout the process. I overall had a great experience working with Stratus, and I am excited to be attending an M7 school in the fall.