Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan
Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan

5 stars
(5/5) - 79 reviews
le_gmat
Joined: Oct 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Major: Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

100 Point Increase with TTP, From a 670 to a 770

5 stars
October 11, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 79 reviews
Teacher: Scott
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 770
YOU WILL NOT REGRET TTP FOR GMAT QUANT! GET IT NOW IF YOU’RE SERIOUS ABOUT SCORING 700+

Before I started using TTP, my GMAT prep and practice test scores were inconsistent. Based on online reviews of the “best” materials available, I began studying for the GMAT with Manhattan Strategy Guides, Official Guide Questions, and the Free Official Practice Exams. While the Official GMAT Material is gold, don’t bother wasting your time with Manhattan’s Strategy Guides – there were not enough practice problems and I did way too much passive learning which lulled me into a false sense of security about how much I knew. On my first Official GMAT test, I scored a 670, falling 40 points below my practice test scores and 60 points below the 730 that I desperately wanted before applying to T10 business schools. A close friend of mine who had achieved a 760 with TTP recommended that I stop everything else and focus on TTP to achieve more consistency in my scores.

As a former engineering major, I had good math intuition, but still had a lot of gaps in knowledge from moving around a lot in middle school and high school. To achieve 49+ on Quant, I really needed a program that solidified my knowledge base through an engaging development of theoretical knowledge and practical application of concepts through MANY DRILLS. My goal for GMAT math was to develop muscle memory so that solving math problems would feel just like riding a bicycle. I felt as though that level of comfort and consistency in solving problems would help reduce any anxiety I felt on test day. TTP provided that and so much more!

COMPLETING TTP REQUIRED TIME AND DEDICATION, BUT IT WAS WORTH IT IN THE END!!!!!

My only regret is that I didn’t start TTP sooner. It is very comprehensive and available at such a reasonable price. Give yourself ~2-3 months to diligently go through all the modules. TTP is not something that you should attempt to fully complete in a month. That being said, there is a short study plan you can follow if you are on a time crunch.

Immediately after signing up for TTP, Scott offered to do a call with me, where we identified my concern areas (work /rate, combinatorics/ probability, and advanced geometry) and mapped out a plan of action. I’m bad at following plans so, initially, I skipped around between the different modules and focused on the hard problems, which quickly proved to be a big mistake. The modules really do build on each other and I needed to work through the easy and medium problems first to identify my knowledge gaps and building a strong foundation. Working from the ground up takes awhile, but it really is the best approach. I complemented TTP with the two additional Official GMAT Exam Packs offered by GMAC.

My favorite parts of the TTP platform:
1. ANALYTICS: Not only does TTP provide a dashboard that displays your accuracy and predicted score range, it also allows you to DRILL into the topic and subtopic areas that you are weak on and directs you to the chapters where you can review the relevant material. This level of detailed analysis was so incredibly helpful in establishing a strong foundation. I would spend a lot of time reviewing the topics that I had below 50% accuracy on and paid attention to these topics when doing OG questions and practice tests. The analytics section is also useful because if you have data-driven insights on what your strong and weak sections are, you KNOW which sections to focus on versus skip over on the actual test. Previously, I was relying on my gut to gauge which questions were difficult or would take me a long time to complete, an approach that was not always accurate.
2. TARGET TEST PREP FORMULA SHEET: Target Test Prep provides a helpful cheat sheet of formulas. I printed out this sheet and as I went through the TTP course and Official Problems, I would jot down additional formulas and tricks that I thought were important, but that I would most likely forget a few days later. I looked over my “customized” TTP cheat sheet in the days leading up to my exam.
3. ACTIVE REVIEW SHEETS: TTP Provides Active Review Sheets that you can print out and take notes on as you go through the different chapters. I found it extremely helpful to note the different permutations of a specific problem type on these sheets, especially if it was on a topic that was one of my weakness areas e.g., work/rate problems. People emphasize error logs a lot, but I think having clear, brief notes on the different problems you might encounter on test day is also helpful to review in the weeks leading up to the exam. As I reviewed my notes, which also served as a kind of checklist, I was able to reassure myself that I knew enough, had covered all of my gaps, and was ready to take this test!
4. VIDEO LESSONS: Each chapter has video lessons. I would often review videos on my morning commute or when I had down time. Active learning is best, but sometimes it was nice to just watch videos passively to refresh my memory on a particular topic.
5. FLEXIBLE: Because I am a self-directed learner, I found the well-designed platform offered the flexibility I needed to focus on my personalized needs at times that were most convenient to me.

THE BIGGEST BENEFIT TTP PROVIDED WAS CONSISTENCY IN MY QUANT SCORES.
Post TTP, I only scored 49+ on the Quant section of my practice exams and official exam. Before I took my official test, I signed up for Kaplan’s Official Test Day Experience, to get a feel for what it’s like to take a GMAT practice test at the same test center as my actual GMAT. Although I had to use a Kaplan Practice Test rather than an Official Practice Test during this experience, I found it SO HELPFUL to go through the motions of test day a few weeks before the real thing.
On test day, I found myself extremely comfortable with most of the easy and medium questions. There were still some hard quant curveballs that got me towards the end of the test, but overall it went really smoothly, and I was ecstatic when I saw that 770 at the end of the exam! I hope this helps, and remember that persistence and active practice is key on your GMAT journey!

ChandlerPerry
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
College: University of Maryland
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Comprehensive Program Provided Me with Strong Quant Score

5 stars
July 6, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 710
Before starting Target Test Prep (TTP), I spent so much time and energy utilizing various books and online platforms. For my 2nd retake of the test, I decided to prepare with Magoosh and walked out of the exam DEVESTATED. My quant score had plummeted from my 1st test score and I sat there in my car thinking “how did I get dumber?” As soon as I got home, I signed up for TTP. My friends who were taking the GMAT SWORE by it, so I knew that it was time to give it a try.

I began TTP and was impressed by how thorough the platform was. Because I used so many other platforms, I would always notice when one platform failed to teach a certain concept. That was never the case with TTP.

At one point during my TTP program, I came to a brief halt. I told Jeff that the reason that I hadn’t started the combinations chapter was because I had found combinations to be so challenging in the past and I was scared. He assured me that TTP’s combinations chapter was great so I begrudgingly started the chapter. Jeff was ABSOLUTELY CORRECT! I felt so comfortable with combinations after that chapter, which was amazing because I had been struggling with them for months. TTP did an outstanding job of simplifying topics I had previously struggled with, such as geometry, combinations, probability, and number properties.

Before TTP, I dreaded taking practice exams because my math basics were so shaky. When I took my 1st post TTP practice test, I thought to myself “this seems too easy. I must be failing”. Nope! I just had a really strong grasp of the material. Post TTP, I only scored 49Q and 50Q on my practice and actual exams and I was so proud of myself.

When my friends who are about to start the GMAT process come to me for advice, I always tell them not to waste their time with other platforms and to start with TTP. My biggest GMAT regret is wasting my time and money on all of these other platforms for 7 months when I should’ve just started with TTP.

deltaguy767
Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: NYU-Stern School of Business
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Quant Materials and Tutoring

5 stars
July 5, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 79 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 740
After obtaining a 700 score with self-study and with nothing but waitlists and rejections from elite MBA programs to show for it, I realized I needed to change my approach with respect to GMAT prep. My key improvement area would need to be in the Quantitative section as my 45 score would not be competitive for the programs I was seeking admission to. Based on some reviews of Quantitative materials, I found Target Test Prep fit the bill in terms of the materials (online and mobile friendly) and on cost (Unlimited 6 month access for $399). After about 1-2 months of self study, I engaged Jeff Miller for additional tutoring to help put me over the top. I worked with Jeff for about 3 months meeting 1-2 times a week for 1-2 hours via Skype and WebEx which fit perfectly given heavy travel requirements of my job (consulting). Jeff helped me translate my strong underlying math skills into GMAT success, something which was stymieing me in terms of my ability to secure a high Quant score. My quantitative score improved to a 48 and I was able to get a 740 overall score, which puts me in prime contention for the top programs I am hoping to gain admission to later this year.

I would highly recommend Target Test Prep for GMAT students who are looking to develop GMAT-ready math skills whether math is a strong suit or not. For those who are already strong in math, TTP will help you to better deploy your math skills in the GMAT environment, helping you to see the 'shortcuts' and 'tricks' which can bedevil even seasoned math students especially a few years out of undergraduate. For those who are seeking hands-on instruction, Jeff is an excellent coach, our lessons helped me build the confidence that I could break my streak of two straight 700s and push myself further up the GMAT ladder. Both TTP itself and its tutors are what I would call 'consulting friendly' meaning you can take your GMAT prep on the road.

In sum, would highly recommend Target Test Prep as a tool for success on GMAT Quant!

Jeremy901
Joined: Jun 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Nothing better for Quant

5 stars
June 19, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 660
I started studying for the GMAT middle of last year when I took a Manhattan GMAT course. Upon completion of the course I felt I knew the material but realized that was not the case when I took the actual exam. Next I utilized Magoosh which improved my quant score a little bit but no where near where I had desired. After Magoosh I tried TTP as a friend swore by it. I completed the chapters and used Jeff for private tutoring once a week. TTP really excels in breaking down each topic thoroughly. After utilizing TTP and Jeff my quant score increased 10 points to a 48. Would definitely recommend this service to anyone struggling with Quant.

Jbob56
Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: Metropolitan STate University of Denver
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great teacher, great online resources

5 stars
February 8, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 79 reviews
Teacher: Jeff
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 690
Jeff had a number of great tips and shortcuts to save valuable time during the test, and the online resources at Target Test Prep are exceptionally well put together.

700Slayer
Joined: Sep 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Turned My MBA Dreams Into Reality 550-->730

5 stars
January 14, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 79 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury-Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 550   After: 730
I really cannot thank Scott enough for turning my MBA dreams from a distant dream into reality.

My story with TTP starts out with my score of 550. I will forewarn you, I am NOT a good test taker and this is NOT a quick fix post/review (although TTP can surely help you in 2-3 months). I am successful in business, went to a good college, a driven person and willing to do whatever it takes. However, I am not someone who just studied for a little bit and got the score I needed. This post and review is more for people who really have done everything they can and still need a better score. My journey was 2 years from start to finish filled with an emotional roller coaster and lots of money.

Any who, I did not just randomly take the GMAT and get a 550 either. I studied hard, worked with another tutor and took classes at Manhattan Prep. For some people, Manhattan's traditional way of teaching is exactly what you need. Not for me. The classroom set up did not really dig into my weak areas. I knew I needed some help so I decided to get a tutor from Manhattan. The tutor assigned me problem from the Official Guide as well as lessons from the Manhattan Books across both Verbal and Quant. I don't want to go too much in Manhattan because this post is about TTP, but the tutoring did not help. The tutor never checked-in and was always "busy" to meet so it was very hard to find time to work together. He did not take the time to understand my weak areas, and I felt like he sort of gave up on me. Needless to say, I bombed the test and got the 550 (can't remember the exact breakout but let me tell you Quant was reaaaaaaaaaal rough).

One year into my journey, I was devastated but did not want to give up, especially in Quant. I did research here on Beat the GMAT and found TTP. The night I reached out, Scott (the owner) immediately emailed me back and told me he could do tutoring. I took an analysis test on TTP and pretty much bombed it. Scott was very, very honest with me on my road ahead. He told me I needed to study 3-4 hours a night (no joke) and 6 hours on the weekends to get the score above 700+ in three months. I also needed to be extremely dedicated to our sessions (2-3 per week for 2 hours each) and the lessons on TTP. Finally, someone who was honest with me in what I actually needed to do.

For 3 months, our tutoring sessions were grueling. I felt like I needed a nap after. I thoroughly did all of the sessions on the TTP website too (which are amazing by the way). When the time came around to take the test, I felt ready, but extremely nervous because I had already bombed this test. Well, unfortunately, I bombed it again, 590 (again Quant way lower than verbal). I realized that it wasn't just the knowledge. I also struggled hard with anxiety. Scott had prepared me like crazy but my anxiety was getting in the way.

I went into to a real sad hole for a while. Scott was there every step of the way. We decided to give it another try because we thought over preparation would help with anxiety. 3 more months of studying and tutoring. I was ready this time and felt prepared. However, my score came in at 650 (Q46, V33). Definitely not high enough for a top school.

Scott, again, was there for me and worked with me on a next step plan. I knew my story wasn't over (or that I was the most stubborn person in the entire world) and needed to get that 700+ score because I knew I could and that I was smart enough. I worked on my anxiety on the side, and Scott set me up with a verbal tutor he knew. If I was going to break through 700, I needed to get my verbal score up. He actually turned down tutoring me in Quant this time around because he knew that I fully capable of getting a good Quant score. I worked my butt off and did a million practice tests on TTP while studying with the verbal tutor.

My last and final test, I got a 730 (Q49 VX)!!! I will never forget that feeling. I applied for full time shortly after and got into a top 5 business school.

Scott became more than just more tutor. He became my friend and my mentor throughout this entire process. Even though he doesn't tutor me anymore, we still stay in touch. Scott is THE reason I finally got the score I deserved.

If you read this ENTIRE thing here are a few tips:
-If you don't have a ton of money for tutoring, do the TTP regular course. it's a very cheap option for Quant and honestly, it's the best out there. I would know, I have literally tried almost every other option (don't want to list them all out because it's embarrassingly long). I have sent countless people who thank me as soon as they start. It is SO thorough for Quant, intuitive and easy to digest.
-If you are on your 3rd, 4th, 5th time taking the test. DO NOT GIVE UP!! Try something new like TTP. I swear if you put the work in, the outcome will come.
-If you feel like you've done everything you possibly can, look at trying to balance your mental health. Sometimes anxiety is what is holding you back.

Thank you TTP for everything!!!!

ahaider
Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2015
College: USC
Major: Psychology
Industry: Internet Development Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A long climb to Quant 50

5 stars
June 5, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 520   After: 700
When I first started on the GMAT, I was a year out of undergrad. I thought with my strong grades at USC & strong previous standardized test scores that prep would not be long or hard. I was rocked on my first GMAT - Verbal was a 33. My quant was much worse, I was at a 25.

Needless to say, I was pretty depressed. I felt that my knowledge of math needed a major refresh and I felt I had forgot the vast majority of the concepts on the GMAT. I felt like I needed a curriculum that could teach me the math principles I had forgotten.

I had tried Manhattan GMAT & GMAT club to find problems but I was running into the same issues. I could solve the simple problems but introduce a few variables and I struggled. I needed a course that would review specifically my weaknesses. I came across Jeff from Target Test Prep. We began tutoring and he felt that the curriculum at Target Test Prep would be my strongest prep course.

I reviewed every section and I would bookmark the pages I got wrong. Then I would go back re-read them and practice problems that I could have tailor made to that subject. I noticed that my mistakes came from 5 core subjects and that if I could spend extra time on those I would improve my score. So I prepped and went at it again.

This time I was much closer on the gmat - I got a 34 on verbal and 44 on quant. I felt much better this time but I knew I could crack the 700. I just needed to master the math more.

This past time, I studied for 4 hard months. I reviewed every section at least twice. I did every problem I could from the GMAT book and every Target Test Prep problems. I was still nervous about my verbal so I found myself studying Manhattan GMAT's sentence correction over and over. Then came test day.

The math section on the test felt easy - I finished with 6 minutes left in the exam. I was positive - I had flunked it.

Verbal was much harder and I felt pretty decent about it. The trick with verbal is practicing with the time crunch, I felt myself rushing towards the end. I felt if I had budgeted more time for the problems at the end I would have had a score. However, It was time for me to click and get my score.

I was in complete shock. I got a 35 in Verbal - the 77%. But I scored a 50 - 89% on the Quant. I finally got my 700.

It takes a long time to have GMAT mastery and I couldn't thank Target Test Prep enough. It is my belief that with the quant you have to know how to react instantaneously and have the guts to move on from a problem you won't be able to solve in time. It's not an easy path by any means but getting that 700 was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.

I know that most prep companies make a lot of promises. I fell for one in a similar company that I choose not to name for English prep. However, if you feel like you need to LEARN math and not just practice problems but actually grasp the concepts like I did: then I highly recommend Target Test Prep.

I can't promise you a Q50. No company can. That comes from putting a ton of hard work and hours towards understanding the concepts and tricks. But, I do feel with the program that you will have the tools you need to get a Quant score that high.

Clay15
Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course- Cuts to the Essence

5 stars
March 16, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 79 reviews
Teacher: Jeff and Scott
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
My decision to apply for Fall '16 was very late and therefore my studying was compressed. I spent 2-3 hours per day for two weeks taking the Chapter tests and using the Chapter lessons for instruction on my weak areas. My study approach was far less than ideal, but Jeff and Scott's website is very user friendly and well organized into the key topic areas. With more time, I believe the slightly above average student could take the entirety of this course and achieve a perfect score. Although I never used the tutoring services, these guys are both experts. HIghly recommended after my initial interactions with them.

bbasilie
Joined: Feb 2016
Purchased Course: May 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Best Self Study Plan Hands Down

5 stars
February 13, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 79 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller & Scott Woodbury
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 690
If you are looking to obtain the highest score possible, the maximum learning plan offered by Target Test Prep is without a doubt the best product on the market. I had taken the GMAT previously using other vendors, but Target Test Prep is the most comprehensive and allows for a self study plan that is extremely organized, with thousands of problems, but more importantly detailed answers to help the learning experience. I have passed the CFA & CAIA and I think that the way in which Target Test Prep prepares students is unparalleled. Furthermore, both Scott and Jeff were extremely hands on and the customer service I received could not have been better.

Do not waste your time looking at various options, just go to the Target Test Prep website and you will understand why it is the best!

eynn899
Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2015
College: Cornell University
Major: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies, and Humanities
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

BEST GMAT Course Available By Far!

5 stars
January 18, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 79 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller and Scott Woodbury-Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 710
As previous reviewers have mentioned, Target Test Prep has the best curriculum and tutors for the GMAT exam by far! I took the GMAT exam two years ago after using a mix of Veritas Prep and Manhattan GMAT materials. I also worked with a tutor for 10 hours. I found these materials and the tutor somewhat helpful but I didn’t feel completely prepared or comfortable with the math required for the GMAT.

Ultimately, I decided not to attend business school that year. Two years later, I decided to take the GMAT again. I heard about Target Test Prep because Jeff presented as a guest GMAT tutor in the Forte Foundation’s MBALaunch program. I was so impressed with his presentation that I decided to work on the quantitative section with him. (I’m also currently in graduate school so it took me longer to prepare for the GMAT.) After studying with Jeff for a few months, I felt a million times more comfortable with the quantitative section and the math concepts I needed.

I also worked with Scott Woodbury-Stewart on the verbal section because my verbal score was fluctuating quite a bit. I highly recommend both Jeff and Scott to help with the quant and verbal sections. They are very good at explaining the concepts in different and personalized ways to make them easily understandable to you. It was much more efficient to work with them compared to studying independently. They helped me focus on the areas I needed to improve in the most.

Overall, I took the exam more that once because I got a higher verbal score on one test and a higher quant score on the following test. My higher verbal score was a 42 (96% percentile) and higher quant score was 46 (64% percentile). According to different online score converters, those two raw scores combined are roughly equal to a 710-720. I could not have raised my GMAT score without the Target Test Prep curriculum, Jeff’s quantitative tutoring, and Scott’s verbal tutoring.

Feel free to contact me with any questions about my experience. I was very happy with my experience with Target Test Prep!