Target Test Prep
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Target Test Prep

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 242 reviews
maxolivares
Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Most Comprehensive Quant Course

5 stars
April 18, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Teacher: Jeff and Scott
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 710
Target Test Prep made a major difference to my GMAT Score overall, especially since I was aiming to obtain a high quant score. Before the course, I was mainly scoring around Q40, but I knew that if I were to improve I would have to prioritize this section since I was not scoring at a high percentile. I took other courses and managed to score a 620 on my first GMAT attempt (Q43, V 31). While my Verbal was not as high either, I knew that it was important for me to achieve a high quant score since I am looking to switch to a career that values quant highly. My goal was to reach at least Q47.

I initially began taking other courses that did cover the fundamentals, but non were as comprehensive as TTP. Several other courses I checked out focused mostly on techniques (i.e. smart numbers, testing answers), but I knew that understanding the algebraic approach initially would ultimately help facilitate my understanding of the problems to then apply these kinds of techniques. I believe TTP has the best dashboard and comprehensive modules overall, allowing you to customize your own plan depending on how much time you have before your test. Having failed to obtain my target score previously, I decided to take more time to study for about 3 months (the first two dedicated to TTP) until I felt prepared to score highly on my second try. I did study approximately 3 hours a day to go over TTP and I went through each Module twice, initially focusing on understanding the concepts and later focusing on time management for each test on every Module.

Since I started scoring between 47-49 on my practice CATs, I felt more confident but I did schedule a call with Jeff who gave me a couple of tips to make sure that I was ready for my test and immediately booked my exam for 2 weeks after that call. I found that a lot of times there were concepts I found difficult to grasp entirely, but the Must Know page was of great help to focus on what the most important concepts are for the test and relaxed my mind from stressing to have to know every single concept. Overall, I recommend going through each module at least once since I understand that not everyone has time and based on your performance in the diagnostics, focus on your weak areas that are thankfully displayed on the TTP dashboard. It took a while, but I was finally able to score above a 700 and I owe my thanks to TTP.

Final Score 710; Q49; V38

nmahmood1214
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Great Platform!

5 stars
April 12, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Teacher: Jeff & Scott
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I would fall into the category of test takers who seem to associate some sort of esoteric wisdom with cracking exams such as the GMAT. However, from the very beginning, TTP proved that the test indeed was very tractable and, with a little smart practice, scoring a 700 or above was very much a possibility.

Both Jeff & Scott are always available, and, although I went with the flexible self-study package, I felt highly attended to. I don't think I ever had to wait longer than a minute to get a response from Jeff or Scott. The way the course is set up makes the entire learning process extremely enjoyable. One thing that underpins the course through all the lessons is the essence of the exam i.e. GMAT is more logic than anything else. And, TTP does a phenomenal job at driving that point home and equipping its subscribers with the critical thinking that is key.

Ultimately, I was able to get the score I wanted and would recommend TTP to anyone who is looking for a solid Quant program.

Although TTP is only Quant, it gave me the confidence that helped me through all the sections of the exam.

googolga
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing experience -- everyone should try TTP!

5 stars
March 31, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Teacher: Jeff
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 670
I had about 7 weeks to study for the GMAT (a lot less time than I wanted, but I had upcoming deadlines and other responsibilities) and I definitely don't consider myself a quant person. I took a practice GMAT and scored a 560, which was depressing, but it gave me a baseline to work from.

I initially tried the MGMAT books but felt they lacked an interactive, multi-sensory learning component, so I dropped them in favor of Magoosh. Though I think Magoosh is an interesting program, it basically just throws example after example at you in the form of videos, and I don't think the concepts really get reinforced.

Frustrated, I decided to look at reviews on BeatTheGMAT and GMATClub and that's where I first heard of TTP (the reviews were quite compelling). Since they offered a free trial, I decided to give it a chance. At first, I was overwhelmed with just how massive the study plan is, but I quickly realized that the program is setup extremely methodically, from the very basics of addition and subtraction all the way through to every challenging testable concept on the quant section. The provided quick study notes and the 15 page formula guide were fantastic additions that helped reinforce the concepts of each chapter.

About halfway through my studying, I realized that there were still some gaps in my foundational knowledge, so I hired Jeff, one of the heads of TTP, to do a couple of extended tutoring sessions. He was able to reinforce some of the concepts I was struggling with and exposed others that I thought I knew well -- in reality, I had comprehension gaps in several areas, and Jeff pushed me hard to dig deeper and really understand the concepts in and out. He got me to think like the test makers.

I decided to push my test back by a week and dug even deeper to give me all to studying. I took the test on the last possible day before an international work trip, and I was stunned to receive a 670... in less than 2 months, I'd improved my score by more than 100 points!

Ultimately, I got accepted to Darden's GEMBA program with a scholarship, and I owe a tremendous debt of gratitude to TTP and Jeff for taking me from completely quant naive to confident in such a short period of time. I wholeheartedly recommend both.

kerryo
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Simplified Quant Concepts and Shortcuts

5 stars
March 23, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 700
I 100% recommend TTP. I didn't want to spend the money on an instructor and I wanted the flexibility to study whenever I could find the time with my busy work schedule. TTP provided an exhaustive analysis of the quant concepts that helped me feel more comfortable with the problems when I sat for the GMAT. More importantly, I found that I could determine what questions I was able to answer faster and so didn't spend unnecessary time and finished the math section with some time to spare. I honestly feel that this is the best option out there for anyone with a busy schedule who wants to drastically improve their quant score.

jrn2209
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
College: Cornell
Major: Labor Relations
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very happy with my score after the TTP Flex course

5 stars
March 18, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 760
I'm a good test taker, but tried to study on my own the first time around and scored a 690, much below my goal of 730. I then sought a tutor and was put in touch with Target Test Prep/Jeff Miller.

After 4 months of working through the TTP Quant Flex program, I was scoring in the mid 700s on practice tests. I really contribute my improvement to 1) how comprehensive the quant course was -- it really forces you to learn each chapter and ingrains the information into your memory and 2) my tutoring sessions with Jeff, in which he introduced me to challenging questions that often came up on my practice tests/the real test, and helped explain solutions in ways that weren't conveyed through textbooks/courses.

Although due to the adaptive nature of the test, it didn't necessarily feel easier to me while taking it, my significantly higher scores after getting through the quant program were proof of how much I had learned and my improved ability to recogn ize and confidently solve a wide variety of problems. I would definitely recommend taking the Flex course supplemented with tutoring sessions from Jeff to focus on your weaknesses.

rm1993
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
Major: Economics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep and Tutoring with Jeff Miller

5 stars
March 6, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 680
Jeff was a great help in regards to increasing my quant score on the GMAT. I had an ambitious goal of raising my score 30 points in one month. I had been using a self-paced study plan with another firm and was struggling to get my score higher. Just a few hours with Jeff taught me things that greatly helped my score. I was able to improve my quant score by 5 points (42 to a 47)! If I could have started my studying over, I would have just hired Jeff and used his program from the beginning.

tomgarruto
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent for Drilling Operational Knowledge

5 stars
February 3, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 710
I cannot recommend Target Test Prep enough.

I come from a non-traditional background (Musical Theater), and, when applying to MBA programs, knew I would need to perform at a competitive level in my quant and IR scores in order to make a mark in my applications.

I'm stubborn and cheap and didn't want to sign up for an in person class or one-on-one training (also very uncomfortable failing in front of people, and I knew there would be a lot of failure as I relearned all the math I'd forgotten since high school). I initially used a different program-a long set of books that gave me a good refresher on conceptual knowledge with basic questions about each chapter just enough to cover the basic principles. Even though I spent two months with these books and countless hours studying, my first sitting at a real test was a disappointment. I scored a 39 (37th percentile) for quant and a 6 (70th percentile) for IR. I knew these scores would not prove to an admissions team that I was ready for their business oriented programs. And what was worse, I knew that I was capable of a better performance. I just didn't have the right tools.

I looked around online forums for programs specifically geared towards raising your quant score and Target Test Prep seemed to be the best course content for the best price. I loved the idea of the monthly subscription, as I was registered to take the test again two and a half weeks later, and didn't want to spend a ton of money on something I would (hopefully) only use for a couple of weeks. And with the awesome week free trial, I really would only be using the subscription for a week and a half. The week free trial let me test drive the software and see that it was the kind of guided progression that I was missing out on from my resistance to not take an in person class. It provided a structure that made sense and felt interactive and engaging. The dashboard, study plans, and chapter tests, are invaluable tools. The hundreds of practice questions littered throughout the study guides really drill typical test formats into your study process. Where I had learned conceptual knowledge from the previous program, Target Test Prep teaches operational knowledge that is of real use when approaching the GMAT.

Admittedly, I did not follow the study guide to the letter, as I only had two and a half weeks to use the software. I did make sure to work through all of the study guides and take most of the "easy" level chapter tests. Then I moved on to the mixed review tests. I love that there is always a timer for the tests that counts down two minutes and that the scoring of each test tells you whether a question was easy, medium, or hard. I knew I was ready when the only questions I was getting wrong were "hard" level questions. I also felt confident looking at the dashboard, seeing that I had answered 500+ questions with 80% accuracy.

On the day of my second test, I experienced some major differences in my performance due to using Target Test Prep: I was more comfortable with all question types, I had working knowledge of all quant principles and knew what kinds of problems each question was asking immediately and what formulas to use, I was much speedier and my internal clock told me when two minutes was about up and it was time to move on, and, maybe most importantly, I could immediately identify questions that were simply too tough for me or on insanely difficult subject matter not even explicitly covered by Target, allowing me to quickly guess and move on, buying me time for other questions and saving me the stress of wondering if I could have ever answered it correctly.

With just two and a half weeks of studying with the Target Test Prep software, I raised my quant score from 39 to 46 (60th percentile) and my IR from 6 to 8 (93rd percentile). My verbal section also improved drastically due to having less stress over the quant section (I didn't study any verbal between test 1 and test 2).

Thanks, Target Test Prep, you ROCK!

shaff142142
Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
College: University of Minnesota Twin Cities
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep - Review

5 stars
February 1, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I scored a 740 on the GMAT with only three weeks of studying, due primarily to my usage of Target Test Prep's Flex Plan to target quantitative. I only had a few weeks to study and I knew that my quantitative skills would be my weakest area, so I scoured the internet and my personal network for recommendations on the most effect way to boost my quantitative score. One of my good friends who scored a 750 on her GMAT recommended Target Test Prep, and I would highly recommend this material to anyone who needs to review quantitative in preparation for the exam.

Target Test Prep Flex Plan has roughly twenty chapters covering all different areas of the quantitative section, from coordinate geometry to functions & sequences to probability to rate / work problems. Target Test Prep covered every type of question that I ever saw in any GMAC-published practice material. Along with each chapter is included easy, medium and hard tests that one can take to test the conc epts that were just learned. It was an extremely effective way to target my weakest area, and I wouldn't have done as well as I did without it.

For those GMAT takers that know they are weak quantitatively, this is one of the most cost-effective and high-quality products on the market to address geometry, arithmetic and algebra. Flex Prep is only $99 a month, and it was extremely worth it for me! :)

Pbutler22
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
College: Morehouse College
Major: Political Science
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic Program!

5 stars
January 25, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Teacher: Jeffrey
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 720
I stumbled across this program really late in the study process. I hadn't been studying and had scheduled the exam for 2 weeks from the date I signed up. Knowing that Math would be my weakest point, I needed a rigorous program that would allow me to both concentrate on specific areas of weakness, provide timely feedback, and build on my foundation. In short I was in an impossible situation, trying to cram and relearn math in short order.

The program was fantastic in helping me achieve my goal, boosting my Quant score by 20 points in less than a week of dedicated study. I highly recommend starting the program with enough time to complete the course start to finish, as I think I would have easily added another 30 points.

The flexible pricing and the depth of information is another major benefit of this; given the intensive and time consuming demands of my job, I knew I would not be able to complete a standard course, but I think this program woul d be even better for someone who is really focused on quant!

gamitch23
Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome GMAT quant training

5 stars
January 22, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
I used Target Test Prep in conjunction with some 1x1 tutoring with Jeff. I started pretty much from 0 and in a matter of less than a month, improved 30 points overall with a lot of hard work. Important to note - the Target Test Prep guys teach you the actual math in a way that makes sense but don't go to them looking for test taking gimmicks or tricks. The best way to get control of the quant is to know the important content and Target Test Prep will train you on this. For tutoring, they're hardworking and will do what you need to make progress. They showed me a ton of flexibility and understanding during my crazy scramble study period while remaining honest with me the entire time. I highly recommend working with them and Target Test Prep for GMAT quant -- don't do it like I did, give them more than a month and you'll have what you need to score very well.