Target Test Prep
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Target Test Prep

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 242 reviews
kailin
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Management
Country: Singapore
Verified Real Student Review

Efficient, effective, easy-to-follow and flexible.

5 stars
December 20, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 740
I've heard a lot of stories from friend and through forums of people of people taking the GMAT and not being able to hit the score they want the first time round. From the get go, I decided to engage with Target Test Prep to help me.

Only taking the exam once, I'm still in disbelief of how in the world I managed to get a 740 after only studying for 2 and a half months. I've never even hit that score in my practice exams before.

Can I just say, Scott Woodbury is amazing, I think his online curriculum on Target Test Prep is extremely comprehensive and easy to follow. It has a very effective and efficient structure that builds maths skills and knowledge from the ground up. Just going through my flash cards before the exam, I didn't realise how well even just the lessons in the curriculum online flows and build on one another. The question bank is very extensive and well managed with regards to the stages of the curriculum at which it prompts you to do them. The fact that I could do it any time in my own time was an extreme plus point as well (I live in Asia, so between Scott and me, there's a huge time difference).

I also had one class a week of private classes with Scott, totalling 7 sessions. All that time was spent efficiently clarifying any questions I had, especially on the other 3 sections of the GMAT. These one-to-one sessions are fully flexible. He leaves it to you to decide where you think you may need the most help, while also highlighting areas he thinks you should focus more on improving.

Apart from being a friendly and approachable tutor, his encouragement and his wise, yet simple, advice made everything so much easier for me. The way he put things, it made me think "huh, I don't know why I never looked at it like that before.." The verbal section was my weakest area. We only spent a total of 3 hours on it and my score had improved significantly. To be honest, besides those 3 hours, I hadn't done much other practice for that.

I highly recommend Scott and Target Test Prep. Especially if you're looking for an easy-to-follow and comprehensive curriculum, a supportive and effective tutor, and need that flexibility of doing it in your own time.

oscarwgmat
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
Country: Australia
Verified Real Student Review

The best GMAT course!

5 stars
December 18, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
After studying for the GMAT for several months using the official guides and tests, I was unable to significantly improve my accuracy or test scores (approx 600). I then found a local GMAT tutor (in Sydney, Australia) who prepared a study plan and practice tests for me. After another two months of study, my scores had not improved much and I still felt as though I couldn't see the big picture in terms of content and strategy. Finally, I was put in touch with Scott from TTP by a friend who had worked with him. I signed up to the TTP online program and had an initial Skype session with Scott. Immediately, I noticed that he could explain the path forward in a simple and methodical way. The online course was clean, simple and had some great features (especially the custom tests that only include questions that you have answered incorrectly!). I worked through every question and chapter on the online course in conjunction with weekly Skype calls. After I had completed the course, I decided that I need to achieve 700+ in three simulated tests which I did on Saturday mornings in the office - 710, 740, 720.

I was naturally good at Verbal so 70% of my time was spent on quant. In the weeks leading up to the test I did two or three sessions with Scott focusing on high-level verbal techniques. Although this isn't really advertised by TTP their assistance with Verbal was very helpful.

In total, I studied for the GMAT for over 12 months because I run a company and could only do an hour or two of study each morning. On test day I worked through both sections methodically and scored a 720 (48Q & 41V). From the outset, my goal was to score 700+ so I was very happy with the result.

Without TTP I am sure that this score would have been impossible for me. I cannot recommend them highly enough!

mmz77
Joined: Nov 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Best GMAT Quant Prep! Surpassed my expectations.

5 stars
November 28, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 36 reviews
Teacher: Scott
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
Scott & Target Test Prep made a total miracle happen -- I was scoring in the low 600s when I started with them. Without the course's / Scott's insights, tricks, and tips, I would have never been able to pass the 700 threshold. In fact, I never, ever expected to even hit 720 - my final score was beyond my wildest expectations! I literally started from scratch and worked through the TTP course from Step 1. Scott continued to help sharpen all key skills and gave me some incredible time-saving tricks and tips which made all the different on test day. I had worked with Manhattan GMAT extensively -- Target Test Prep catapulted me to a whole different level. The course is very unique in that you can really drill down on key areas, a-la-carte. You are able to single out specific weak points and drill down on them easily through practice problems. I highly recommend trying their program - you won't be disappointed.

mpfister
Joined: Apr 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep Increased Quant 14 Points: 720 GMAT SCORE!

5 stars
November 27, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 720
After trying almost every prep program under the sun, I found the answers to my quant problems (pun intended) in Target Test Prep.

To start my GMAT studies, I took a Manhattan in-person class in 2014, but I never attempted the official GMAT. At the start of 2017, I was committed to taking the GMAT and started sessions with one Manhattan tutor, and then another Manhattan tutor, but I wasn't seeing much progress, and I was uneasy about the lack of direction with my study plan.

March 2017: GMAT Test 1
630 (40Q, 36V)

While studying for my first official test, I also participated in TTP's free Tuesday webinars, which I found via the Forte Forum (I am a 2017 Forte MBALauncher). I found these webinars to be very valuable and liked the teaching style of the TTP instructor, Jeff Miller.

After my 630, I reached out to Jeff bc I knew something was not clicking with my current Manhattan tutor/study plan. Jeff listened to my concerns and offered to squeeze me in for a session before my second official test, which was scheduled for two weeks after my first. I declined due to the time constraint, but I knew that Jeff would be my first call if things did not go well.

April 2017: GMAT Test 2
610 (34Q, 39V)

Things did not go well. In the cab home, I had Jeff on the phone and he told me that it was okay, that there still is plenty of time, and that we were going to make a plan.

Let me make this scenario clear: Jeff Mille, who was neither my tutor, nor had received a dollar for me, graciously coached me on my previous studying and exam experiences, generously reached out to me on the day of my test to give me encouragement, and reassured me on my cab ride home. I was already impressed wit his webinars, but now it was clear that he was going to be a staple of my support system.

As a tutor, Jeff went above and beyond the call of duty. His goal was to always challenge me. During our sessions, I wanted to get every problem correct; it's human nature. After a series of incorrect problems, when Jeff heard the frustration in my voice, he kindly reminded me that his purpose was to find the areas that I struggled with, exploit that weakness, build on it, and help me grow.

Along with Jeff being an amazing tutor, TARGET TEST PREP IS THE BEST QUANT PROGRAM. The program is rooted in an entirely online structure, which is not only convenient for the times that you don't want to carry the giant OG book, but also superior to programs that try to supplement methods of offline study. For me, this prep program wasn't better than other online prep programs, it was better than ANY prep program.

July 2017: GMAT Test 3
640 (44Q, 33V)

Although this wasn't much overall improvement, MY QUANT SCORE INCREASED 10 POINTS, proving the value of TTP. My verbal dropped six points, which killed my score. I made some poor verbal choices in study prep, but eventually found the right path through a recommendation from Jeff.

At this time I couldn't jump back into studying. I had plans to go to Europe for two weeks and knew that essays, applications, and recommendations awaited my return. I'd like to pretend that I gave taking the test again some serious thought, but from the moment I walked out I knew I would take it again. I wasn't satisfied, and Jeff encouraged me the entire time.

I waited to start studying again until mid-September when the essays lot their allure. I had Jeff tutor me once a week to keep my steady with quant. In addition, I heavily relied on the TTP online program to supplement his tutor sessions. Jeff helped me focus on depth over breadth. It was better to master the biggest concepts than try to touch on every topic that the GMAT may or may not ask me. This advice made a huge impact.

October 2017: GMAT Test 4
720 (Q48, V41)

Total Quant Improvement: 14 points

14 points! I don't think I need to say much after that. Thank you TTP and Jeff Miller.

mileshrp
Joined: Nov 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: Gettysburg College
Major: Psychology
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Hands down best quant prep

5 stars
November 18, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
There is literally no way I would have achieved a 50Q without going through the TTP course and doing private tutoring with Jeff. The chapter quizzes on the website, and the ability to make custom quizzes, enabled me to simulate the CAT experience and focus on areas in which I needed to improve. I could create custom quizzes comprised of only hard questions in the areas in which I needed to improve, and then review the solutions to those problems until I fully understood the concepts. Until signing up for this course, I simply hadn't found anything with that level of depth. The one-on-one tutoring with Jeff was awesome. He taught me tons of tricks for complex problems in addition to general strategies which I was able to use on test day. Let me tell you, when a problem came up that I was able to answer in 10 seconds which would have taken 2 or 3 minutes otherwise, I was grateful I had invested in the tutoring. Jeff, in addition, has a response time which rarely exceeds 10 seconds. Not an exaggeration. The dude is locked in. It was great to be supported like that. Seriously cannot recommend TTP enough.

andre_alex
Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Great prep resource

5 stars
October 11, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Teacher: Jeff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 730
Having previously tried Manhattan Prep and scored 640, I felt I needed a change in direction. Manhattan course is gimmicky, and that's putting it mildly. Their "multiple books" offering is fragmented and cumbersome to navigate. It may work for some people but for me it did not.

By contrast, Target Test Prep's approach was concise and focussed on math excellence. I used their math course and scored 730 overall in a few months time.

drae93
Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
Verified Real Student Review

TTP: Responsible for my 50 on Quant

5 stars
October 9, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Teacher: Scott and Jeff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 710
Scott, Jeff, and TTP are the reason that I scored a 50 on Quant. I have never been a good test standardized test taker, and I tried Kaplan and Manhattan Prep before switching to TTP. No other class or one-on-one tutoring helped me as much as Scott/Jeff/TTP. There material is unique to anything else on the market. The lessons and study plans on the website are interactive and provide insights into the type of questions that no other company can match. Before I started working with Scott, I just memorized problems and hoped something similar would show up on the test. After working with TTP, I understood the material on a deeper level and was able to solve the problems not just memorize formulas. Scott also helped me with my test day anxiety, which was killing my score. I worked with Jeff on my data sufficiency skills because that was my weakest section on Quant. However, on my final exam I got 95th percentile in data sufficiency questions. Do not waste your time with any other company or study material. The website has so much content and dynamic study plan that adapts as you learn more. You also have the ability to create custom tests that were awesome to supplement the practice exams offered by mba.com. I had been studying for 3 months before working with TTP, and I was shocked how much I learned and how much I did not know from the website, study material, and one-on-one sessions. If you want to achieve your highest potential on quant, use TTP!!

statenthefacts
Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: Boston University
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

TTP is the BEST Quant Prep Out There!

5 stars
October 8, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury-Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
Let me just start by saying: 31Q to 46Q....that happened for me.

As someone that had not taken any quantitative courses since high school (I placed out for undergrad), I knew that the Quant section of the GMAT was going to be a particular struggle for me. I began studying for the GMAT by taking a traditional in-person class for a month and a half. I realized that in-person courses were not for me, as I wasn't really being taught Quant just because someone spoke about the subject an hour or two a week. I was consistently receiving Quant scores in the low 30s, likely because I was missing the deeper, fundamental frameworks that would allow me to tackle math again with the most basic of skillsets. It was a waste of money and time. I needed another way to prepare...and that's when I was recommended to try TTP for a week trial.

Scott, the CEO of TTP called me the very first day of my trial to try and get an understanding of who I was, what my goals were, and to provide general preparation advice. This is just but one testament to the company's commitment to helping you as a person. They are personable, reliable, and put their own time into helping you be the best in achieving your test/business school goals. This personal touch and immediate customer service while working on the platform is really an AMAZING element to note -- it is unparalleled!

I quickly signed up after the week trial to do the monthly payment (it was just $99 per month, already cheaper than traditional prep!).

At first, I wanted to the short-term approach to quickly wrap the test up in a month. He reasoned that real subject matter understanding would likely take at least 3-7 months to increase my Quant understanding from the level I was operating at, to my desired score. I didn't believe it at first, but he couldn't have been more correct.

TTP truly teaches you the foundations of GMAT math, and each subject/chapter builds upon the last. The online platform is completely easy and seamless, the material readable and digestible, and the quizzes (take them all!) are comprehensive for each subject. Excluding experimental questions, there were no questions on GMAT exams that I didn't have a clue how to answer -- I always at least knew the method of attack thanks to TTP. Also, there are amazing tools like bookmarking questions, making notes, on-site target analytics, custom tests, and more! This was truly invaluable to me, as the self-guided method of study is most fruitful for me because I can dive as deep into information as I need.

You begin to realize that difficult GMAT questions are actually a myriad of different math subjects that just have to be broken down into small pieces, step-by-step. TTP helped me to realize this. Eventually, the foundational rules, time-saving problem solving skills, and repetition of question types allowed me to go from seeing low 30s, to mid-high 40s consistently-- something that I barely knew would be possible for me!

There is no better Quant prep tool out here - and I sing TTP's praises every day. It's AFFORDABLE and THE BEST You WILL reach your quantitative goals as long as you follow the plan to the T.

zpaulsen
Joined: Aug 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: Peru
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Management
Country: Chile
Verified Real Student Review

Q45 to Q49

5 stars
October 3, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 127 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: 680
I found TTP an excellent choice! I was able to improve my quant score from Q45 to Q49 after only 1 month.
I am a non-native English speaker, so I knew that the Quant score will be a key element of my application to B-schools.
I took the GMAT three times before arriving at TTP and I couldn't increase my quant score even I tried different online platforms and programs. However, TTP showed me new methods to solve the difficult PS question and focused my attention on the most important elements of each DS question.
I am really satisfied with the result!

TamaGGucci
Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best Quant Resource out there

5 stars
September 17, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 242 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 36 reviews
Teacher: Scott
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
TTP is in my opinion the best Quant resource out there. Scott and Jeff are the gurus who put together this platform that teaches you all you need to master for scoring the highest score possible. The interface is clean and intuitive, allowing you to focus on what's most important: Learning the materials

Also, I found the personal tutoring session extremely valuable. They drill down on topics, making sure you can solve the problems on your own the most efficient way without sacrificing accuracy.

I highly recommend TTP to anyone who wants to improve their Quant score from any level.