Vantage Point Admissions Consulting Hourly Services
Course
ADMISSION CONSULTING COMPANY

Vantage Point Admissions Consulting Hourly Services

5 stars
(5/5) - 6 reviews
shine02
Joined: Jun 2019
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
College: Delhi University
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: Japan
Verified Real Student Review

It was great working with Hannah!

5 stars
June 5, 2019
Company: Vantage Point MBA 6 reviews
Course: Vantage Point Admissions Consulting Hourly Services 6 reviews
Teacher: Hannah Stern
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I applied to business school in Round 1 this year and am very glad that I had the opportunity to work with Hannah, at Vantage Point. I will be attending Harvard Business School this fall and I would highly recommend working with Hannah to anyone applying.

Experiencing an essay based admission process for the first time, I had no idea about the school’s expectations from my essays. Also, I had less than than the average number of years of work ex for my target schools, which made me anxious.

My reasons for choosing Vantage Point were two fold:
1. Personalized attention - I has an initial call with Melody and in 30 minutes she not only understood my profile well but also gave me pointers on how to present myself well in my applications to highlight my strengths and balance my weaknesses.
2. Cost effective - Although most top consultants are priced roughly the same, Vantage Point was at the lower end of the spectrum.

When I first started working with Hannah, I had initial drafts of my essays but quickly realized I was nowhere close to being submission-ready. Hannah knows exactly what each school is looking for and gave me very clear points on how to shape my essays for each. She also helped me rework and rewrite my essays so that they addressed 1) the highlights of my relatively short work ex, 2) my personality / interests, 3) my professional goals, 4) and how the schools would help get me there. Hannah's 'tough-love' really forced me to dig deeper and write essays that truly captured the essence of my experiences, where I am now & where I want to go next. The transformation of my initial drafts before working with her to the final drafts after was truly amazing.

hypucs
Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

It works!

5 stars
April 5, 2019
Company: Vantage Point MBA 6 reviews
Course: Vantage Point Admissions Consulting Hourly Services 6 reviews
Teacher: Meredith
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
If you are reading this review and considering an MBA consultant, I recommend you go with Vantage Point. Below are the reasons.

First, the results: for context, I am a re-applicant. Last year I applied to three schools and did not get admitted to any of the three. This year I applied to four -- Harvard, Stanford, Wharton, and Booth. I RECEIVED YES CALLS FROM ALL FOUR, with substantial merit scholarships from Wharton and Booth. The results alone speak for themselves. Meredith at Vantage Point (and her team at-large) was absolutely critical to my success in this process.

Second, since I am a re-applicant, I had previously engaged two large firms in the MBA consulting space. The first big-name company was an absolute disaster of an experience -- my assigned consultant added significant stress to the process with a very condescending attitude, which led me to my second experience with another big-name firm. The second one was helpful more on the tactical level than strategic, which was to be expected given that I went with their hourly service.

I want to be transparent about my previous engagements with the two other firms so as to highlight why Vantage Point (and Meredith in particular) stand out in this field. At the start, she recommended that I go with the hourly service in lieu of the comprehensive (this recommendation was in my best interest despite the fact that I'd be paying her less), and throughout the process engaged my "project" as if it were her own in the sense that she never feared giving big, strategic feedback (e.g. that I should re-write an entire essay because things didn't read right in terms of level of detail, or because it didn't sound like my voice came through) without being imposing. This was exactly what I needed, and I believe is the most helpful approach for people in the MBA application process.

Furthermore, Meredith was a cheerleader and extremely supportive throughout the process. She REALLY cares for her clients. The MBA application process can be grueling, and picking people who will be on your team and in your corner is crucial. I hope you make the right decision for you (for me that meant Meredith), and good luck on your journey!

analystmamba1
Joined: Jan 2019
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
Verified Real Student Review

From Average To Admitted!

5 stars
January 24, 2019
Company: Vantage Point MBA 6 reviews
Course: Vantage Point Admissions Consulting Hourly Services 6 reviews
Teacher: Melody Jones
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Choosing Vantage Point and Melody as my admissions consultant for my CBS application was the best decision I ever made. I originally entered the process feeling a bit uneasy with my average stats and my ability to stand out from a crowded pool of applicants possessing a similar background. Beginning immediately with our first phone call, Melody understood my goals and pinpointed the exact areas I had to improve on. We worked through numerous drafts of developing all aspects of my story, while also showcasing the unique qualities of my profile where her experience proved to be most impactful. She was always available through phone call/email despite being across the country. I highly recommend the Comprehensive Package because I was able to maximize my output while working a demanding job schedule and the interview prep gave me confidence heading into the real thing. I truly cannot express enough gratitude for the honest and thoughtful work Melody and her team dedicate themselves to.

anon42988
Joined: Jan 2019
Purchased Course: Jul 2018
College: University of Notre Dame
Major: Political Science
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you Meredith!! Accepted to Kellogg!

5 stars
January 23, 2019
Company: Vantage Point MBA 6 reviews
Course: Vantage Point Admissions Consulting Hourly Services 6 reviews
Teacher: Meredith Shields
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Meredith came highly recommended from a friend of mine - and I am SO happy I found her! From our very first chat, Meredith was honest, warm and encouraging. She took the time to understand my desires for wanting to pursue an MBA, and challenged me to craft authentic and engaging essays. Coming from a somewhat non-traditional background, Meredith's help was also invaluable in helping me hone each bullet point on my resume to cut through on my experience and accomplishments. I genuinely believe Meredith's guidance is what made the difference in helping me receive acceptances (and scholarships!!) from 4 of my top choice schools! Could not recommend her more highly - thank you Meredith!

mba2021
Joined: Jan 2019
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
Major: Economics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A Successful Investment

5 stars
January 23, 2019
Company: Vantage Point MBA 6 reviews
Course: Vantage Point Admissions Consulting Hourly Services 6 reviews
Teacher: Melody Jones
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Melody Jones at Vantage Point MBA is a wonderful consultant and I am very fortunate to have worked with her on a comprehensive package (at the moment the only option to mark on Beat the GMAT is hourly services, which are a great option as well!)

Firstly, if you are on the fence about hiring a consultant in general, I was in the same boat last year and I highly recommend pulling the trigger and going for it. When I first decided to apply to business school, I had never even heard of an admission consultant. The concept was foreign to me and as such I was reluctant to pay up for one. However, once I started my essays, I realized that they were nowhere near the standard required for the schools I was targeting. I was really struggling to express my "story" in a cohesive and compelling manner. Given that the MBA is such a large investment overall, I wanted to make sure that I wouldn't be leaving anything on the table, and I ultimately decided to bring in a professional.

I researched most of the firms and interviewed consultants from each of them, but I was immediately drawn to Vantage Point due to its smaller size, which I felt would be most conducive to a genuine, personalized experience. When I spoke with Melody on the phone, I just knew that she was the one. Not only is Melody brilliant, but she is friendly and down-to-earth. I felt like she really understood where I was coming from and where I wanted to go. Having Melody in my corner curbed my anxiety tremendously and increased my confidence - that alone was worth every penny.

I had a 700 GMAT and not-so-great GPA and I was applying to some of the very best schools. On our kick-off call, Melody kept it real with me and was upfront about where my weaknesses were (later, she helped me develop a game-plan to directly address each of these challenges), but she NEVER attempted to discourage me from applying to the programs I'd set my sights on. I believe that it is crucial to work with a balanced consultant like Melody, who makes a point to manage your expectations but then puts in an insane amount of effort to elevate your application to the highest possible level as if your weaknesses didn't exist.

Melody is an MBA expert and if I hadn't worked with her, I'm certain my application strategy would have been all wrong. Admissions folks only spend ~15 minutes reviewing your entire application and I was surprised to learn that most of them do not have business backgrounds. Therefore, you must present yourself and your materials in a way that is drastically different from a job interview, for example. MBA essay-writing requires a significant amount of introspection and Melody possesses the rare skill of helping you spin life experiences (that to you may seem mundane) into captivating stories. Melody worked tirelessly to help me put together seriously killer essays (I'm talking 10+ drafts each). She will not do any of the work for you, but she asks very pointed questions that force you to dig deeper and she will not let you off the hook until every single sentence is perfect. There were many occasions when, after 5-8 drafts, I thought my essay had finally reached perfection and I had mentally checked out of it, only to receive yet another completely red version from Melody. I cannot stress this enough -- if you work with Melody, she will not simply check the box by providing a few iterations of useful feedback. Rather, she will be totally personally invested in you and your success. On that front, this review would not be complete without a shout out to Katherine Canning, who graduated from Wharton and works in my industry. She took time out of her vacation (!!) to do a final, last-minute review of my Wharton essays before submission. The consultants at Vantage Point are passionate about what they do and are seriously dedicated to you.

Finally, pretty late in the process, I realized that one of my 4 target schools actually wasn't the best fit for me and I decided to switch it out for another top 10 school (which I will be attending in the fall!!) just a few weeks before the deadline. I NEVER would have had the courage to take such a big turn so close to the end without Melody's encouragement. When it came time for interviews, Melody held several mock interviews with me. I went from being terribly awkward during the first mock interview to absolutely rocking it at the real thing! Also worth mentioning that throughout the process, I experienced several SNAFUs (the kind you never expect to happen), and if I didn't have Melody to guide me and calm me down, I would have had a meltdown and handled the situation incorrectly.

TLDR: Do something special for yourself this year and hire Melody Jones from Vantage Point MBA!

NJ75
Joined: Jan 2019
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
College: Cornell University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Meredith is the BEST! Admitted at Stanford GSB

5 stars
January 22, 2019
Company: Vantage Point MBA 6 reviews
Course: Vantage Point Admissions Consulting Hourly Services 6 reviews
Teacher: Meredith
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I worked with Meredith and Vantage Point on round 1 applications, and I am not exaggerating that Meredith is the best MBA consultant out there. Meredith and the Vantage Point team provide a holistic, personal and strategic approach to the MBA application process that helps you submit your best possible application.

Meredith’s approach is holistic because she brings to bear the diverse ‘vantage points’ of her entire team. When you finally hit submit, you are confident because your application has already been well-received by her team of former adcoms and battle-tested consultants. Her eagerness to leverage the perspectives of her team mirrors the collaborative spirit of the top MBA programs.

Meredith’s approach is personal because she takes the time upfront to really understand every aspect of your applicant profile, and then helps you to articulate your goals (dream big!), play to your strengths and mitigate your weaknesses. Because she un derstands her clients so well, she is extremely effective at helping you to tease our your very best leadership examples for essays and interviews.

Meredith’s approach is strategic and efficient. When it came time to write essays, Meredith suggested I first tackle the prompts that required the deepest reflection (and the most drafts). This helped me accumulate a database of compelling anecdotes that I was able to leverage on the balance of my applications and interviews.

Most importantly, as an advisor she is spectacular. Meredith is professional, responsive, honest, supportive, approachable and positive. For nearly 12 months, I always felt like I was her only client. I am really grateful for Meredith’s support and guidance, which helped me gain admission to my dream schools - Stanford GSB and Northwestern Kellogg. Thank you, Meredith and the Vantage Point team!!!