Test Prep Companies, Private Tutoring, GRE Prep Company

Veritas Prep

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Aug 27, 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 14, 2010
College: Universidad Iberoamericana de Ciencia Y Tecnologia
Major: Marketing
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Improvement on the verbal section!!

August 27, 2010
  • Teacher: Neil Moakley
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I had a great improved on my verbal score!!!!!! I learned many strategies to attack the critical reasoning section, which ended up helping out on improving my score!!
Joined: Nov 12, 2009
Purchased Course: Sep 8, 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Wrong timing

August 27, 2010
  • Teacher: Amit
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 560

My experience with Veritas Prep was no different than most other people.
After extensive research on the different companies I came to the conclusion that I would go with either MGMAT or Veritas Prep. I am based in London and at the time MGMAT didn't offer classes so had to go with Veritas. My choice would be more difficult if MGMAT did offer classes but I would still select Veritas, as I recall at the time I was attracted to the length of course (don't forget I was just starting and felt the more exposure the better), the amount of resources provided (more books, tests etc) and the location.

The teacher, Amit was an excellent tutor. From day 1 he supriced everyone by sitting within us and chatting to one of us, pretending to be a student. This way he made everyone to be on their feet ALL the time; other methods that he contributed to a very successful teaching method were the way he allocated time between old stuff/new stuff/practise, delivery of new stuff (eg explaining why this is important)etc. To top everything before, Amit has a unique way to coordinate the class during practise sessions, which I will not of course reveal - if you are interested just take his class ;-)

The books were ok (at the time they seemed very good but after using the MGMAT ones I find the Veritas average) but the volume of practise questions is more than enough for anyone wanting to take the test. The tests provided were below average and one of the factors is that Veritas Prep does not create its own tests but buys them from other companies (800score etc)

After a dismissal score I realised that GMAT is a lot harder and focused on studying on my own; after all who better than me to understand my problems?

Reasons for failure: Relying too much on the course, not practising enough, and taking a course very early in my preparation (I was at a time I lacked the basic arithmetic skills). If you dont have the time to put in the effort, just don't do it.

Take-aways: Excellent tutor, reasons for failures (ie understanding them made me improve my score).

I would highly recommend Amit as a tutor. He is passionate, disciplined, organised and strict. Extremely informed (articles re MBA/GMAT, school research), intelligent but above all a human being! He would use breaks to chat re MBA applications and share his experiences, material he came across and provide advice/tips. He is able to connect to the individual on a human level but at the same time maintain his professionalism. If you want to take a course Amit is the person to take it with!
Joined: Aug 17, 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 4, 2010
College: Stanford
Verified Real Student Review

Simply Amazing

August 27, 2010
  • Teacher: David
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I cannot imagine a better program for GMAT prep.
Their books are very well written (though I would definitely buy the official gmat books to do some official problems). The class is structured in a clear and concise way. I didn't have an amazing classroom experience; for whatever reason my instructor exuded "I am annoyed you" vibes in my general direction (maybe I asked too many questions) but he knew the material well. I know some of my other classmates really enjoyed him. Where Veritas really goes above and beyond is their help resources online. I cannot tell you how many times I have emailed them with lists of problems that I didn't understand. Veritas always responded within the next day or two with detailed explanations for all of my questions. If they had any suggestions about what areas I needed more work on or extra tips and tricks they would send that my way as well. I cannot say enough about their online support.
They really are great program - you will have more than enough help and resources available to get a great GMAT score if you use Veritas as your prep resource!
Joined: Aug 27, 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 6, 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Solid Prep Course

August 27, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

Took the full course for Veritas and found both the course and the books provided to be an all-encompassing prep. The course itself was very helpful for those who had little spare time to do review on their own or who had a hard time self-studying -- students were guaranteed to come out of the 3 hour sessions better prepared. While the review of the actual content of the test was extremeley thorough, the only negative feedback I would have is that there was little emphasis on timing. It might have been helpful to do some practice problems under the stopwatch or to get more "live" examples of what to do when time becomes an issue in any particular section of the test. Overall though, very very good course, would recommend it to anyone who was looking for a solid content review and who did not have a ton of time to create their own study schedule.
Joined: Apr 15, 2009
Purchased Course: Feb 8, 2009
College: Dublin Institute of Technology
Major: Marketing
Industry: Internet Development Services
Country: Ireland
Verified Real Student Review

A pupil is only as good as his teacher

August 27, 2010
  • Teacher: Amitt Akakkad
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I travelled from Ireland to attend the course and I was not disappointed.

The course was tough (6 hrs a day for 7 days) but the tutor was fantastic. He spoke two languages; English and Algebra!

Our tutor not only new his stuff (he had taken the GMAT twice and scored 750 + on both occasions) but more importantly he possessed a rare gift of passing on his knowledge in a very patient and memorable way.

A course is only as good as the tutor who is giving it and if you are lucky enough to be taught by Amitt, you are well on your way to scoring 700 +

Davin
Dublin Ireland
Joined: Aug 27, 2010
Purchased Course: Oct 4, 2009
College: University of Tennessee
Major: Marketing
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

This helped me get into my first choice for grad school!

August 27, 2010
  • Teacher: Megan Kucik
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 550 After: 640

Reasons: I tried to study on my own and I did not do well because it's not about the material, it's about how to take the test. This class was definitely worth the money and time.

Results: I increased my score by almost 100 pts which allowed me to get into my number one school choice; Moore School of Business International MBA program! I am here now, and it is awesome!

Process: I chose the online course which was cool, easy and you don't lose any kind of interaction or participation that you would have in a classroom setting. In fact, I think that our class was more engaged online than we would have been in a real classroom.

Teacher: I had Megan Kucik. She is wonderful, she is intelligent, patient and helpful! She helped me understand how to get through many of the math/decision making problems in a more logical and more efficient way. She is such a great teacher and I would definitely recommend her!

GOOD LUCK!!
Joined: Aug 26, 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 23, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

A Great Condensed Course

August 26, 2010
  • Teacher: Jeffrey Lev
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 710

Veritas Prep courses offer an integrated experience between the test prep material and instructor. This greatly helps the student in studying new strategies and referring back to them after the course.

Jeff is a great person. His constructive feedback helped me in closing some flaws in my analysis. His mission was so difficult since I already had scored 660 before the test. I challenged to raise my score to 700+ which I believe he succeeded in it.

I highly recommend Veritas and Jeff. However, if you didn't prepare ahead of the course, the weekend class would be so condensed for you. You better take the full course.
Joined: Aug 26, 2010
College: Purdue
Country: United States

Success on the first try

August 26, 2010
  • Teacher: Jeffrey Lev
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

The Veritas GMAT prep course did the trick for me. I took the weekend course during the spring of 2009, and after finishing up my undergrad I studied for a few weeks before sitting for the exam. My instructor was very helpful in teaching how best to utilize the materials and how to approach studying for the test. By applying what I learned and completing all the workbooks, I was able to earn a score of 760 the first time around. If you're serious about getting a good score on the GMAT, the Veritas system is an excellent resource.
Joined: Aug 26, 2010
College: UCL
Major: Architecture
Industry: Construction
Country: United Kingdom

A comprehensive experience to the GMAT test.

August 26, 2010
  • Teacher: Amit Kakkad
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 600

Located in a London hotel, the GMAT preperation course was undertaken over a period of a few months in the summer of 2009. As it was the first time that I had prepared for the GMAT I was fortunate enough to meet my tutor Amit Kakkad, who was not only helpful in teaching me the basic fundementals to GMAT but also the more difficult task of guiding me through very difficult GMAT test techniques and questions.
Although my test was much more difficult than I had imagined I felt that I had been well prepared for the questions and this is through the quality of the teaching which I experienced as a student of Veritas Prep.
Although I have no experience on other GMAT courses personally, through my research and asking fellow colleagues on other GMAT courses I found that the Veritas Prep course in combination with my excellent tutor was a leading factor in helping me get the GMAT results that I wanted.

Regards,

J.kim
Joined: Aug 26, 2010
Purchased Course: May 20, 2009
College: Edinburgh
Major: History
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic

August 26, 2010
  • Teacher: Amitkumar Kakkad
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

The Veritas course was thorough and comprehensive.

Amit is an exceptional teacher and I don't know anyone who would disagree.

The Course material, sadly, is not especially good. There are inaccuracies, which can be frustrating. I would still recommend the MBA.com official test as a more accurate indicator of progress than the Veritas ones, or the 800Score ones (which come free with Veritas).
Joined: Aug 26, 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 15, 2008
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course!

August 26, 2010
  • Teacher: chris kane
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

Veritas hires highly trained instructors who are knowledgeable about the entire GMAT test taking process. Although my instructor did not allow us much time to ask individual questions, the entire course structure was well-organized, focused on all of the topics, and amount of homework provided was manageable. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to do well on the GMAT and likes to learn in a class setting. Chris Kane is by far the best instructor in the NY region.
Joined: Aug 26, 2010
College: Union College

Better Study Strategies

August 26, 2010
  • Teacher: David Newland
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 510 After: 620

Prior to taking the GMAT the first time, I thought I was a smart kid who had done well in high school math course and who's political science degree would carry me through the GMATs Math and Verbal sections. After taking the test the first time with only self-guided studying, I realized that my math was rusty and my verbal strategies were not sufficient.

I reluctantly signed up for the Veritas prep course, but immediately realized its benefits. The course was a great mix of review (re-learning the math that I was good at 10-years ago) and of strategy.

Further, my intructor made himself very available to students; both in person as well as via email. In the days leading up to my exam, my instructor was very quick to respond to emails and provided me with a few excellent pieces of time management advice that dramitcally helped calm my nerves and improve my performance.

In the end, the course material, homework, and in-class teaching helped me to increase my overall score by over 100 points.
Joined: Aug 26, 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 1, 2010
College: Dartmouth College
Major: Economics
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very good class

August 26, 2010
  • Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Knowledgeable teacher. Good pacing. Lots of practice problems and review. Very worthwhile.
Joined: Aug 26, 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 16, 2010
College: Carnegie Mellon University
Major: Business
Industry: Chemicals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course Syllabus and Dedicated Instructor!

August 26, 2010
  • Teacher: Neil Moakley
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

I took the Veritas Prep Full course with Neil Moakley. It was a very worthwhile class and I highly recommend it to anyone interested in taking a GMAT prep course. I had never been exposed to the GMAT prior to taking this course. I was impressed by the organization of the class topics. We met twice a week with one day devoted to quant and another to verbal. The progression of the topics flowed naturally and logically. The homework problems were both instructional and manageable for someone serious about devoting time to studying.

My instructor for the full course was Neil. I found Neil to be a very engaging and interesting instructor. Sitting in class for 3 hours after a full workday is tough, but Neil managed to make his lectures interesting and interactive. He genuinely cares about his students and offers a multitude of tips to improve GMAT performance, even recognizing his own teaching style may not be suited for the student. Fortunately for me, I found his teaching style to be very effective. Neil's also an expert with the verbal section, and has written some of the practice questions. This is extremely helpful as most students struggle more with the verbal section than with quant.

Veritas Prep is a comprehensive and professional company. They offer 16 practice tests. I found the tests developed by Veritas Prep to be very similar to the actual GMAT. I took my first practice test after my first week of Veritas Prep class. I took the official GMAT practice test and scored a 510. The last practice test before my actual GMAT was a Veritas Prep test and I scored a 640. I got a 640 as my final score. I plan to take the GMAT again to improve by score, but knowing that I have all the fundamentals to master the GMAT and the rest is up to be is a very reassuring feeling.
Joined: Aug 25, 2010
Purchased Course: Sep 4, 2009
College: Swansea, Wales
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Retail/Wholesale and Trading
Country: England
Verified Real Student Review

A Thorough Course Delivered by an Outstanding Instructor

August 26, 2010
  • Teacher: Amit Kakkad
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I attended the Veritas course in London at the Edgeware Road Hilton.
The location was easily accessible and the facilities were all good.
The course booklets were very thorough and easy to follow whilst the online materials were particularly good - great to refer back to if you struggled with a topic in class. My instructor was Amit Kakkad; his knowledge of the subject was absolutely flawless - he was simply outstanding. His delivery of the material was great; he varied the pace well and made it fun when it was needed. Let's face it; the GMAT is pretty heavy going in places. In my view, the things that really differentiate a GMAT course are the quality of the course material and the quality of the instructor. On both fronts Veritas were outstanding. I would highly recommend Veritas courses to anyone looking for help with their GMAT prep.
Joined: Aug 25, 2010
Purchased Course: Apr 21, 2008
College: University of Michigan - Dearborn
Major: Marketing
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Worth the Time and Money

August 26, 2010
  • Teacher: Jeff Lev
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I found the course to be very effective, as I was able to achieve my goal GMAT score through its completion. The material taught in the course is very similar to what I found on the actual test, in terms of both structure and difficulty. In addition, the instructor was careful to make sure that my classmates and I knew the concepts behind the material, which made the class much more valuable than a self-guided practice book. Overall, the knowledge and familiarity that I gained made test day less stressful.
Joined: Nov 7, 2008

Great bang for the buck

August 25, 2010
  • Teacher: Neil Moakley
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 710

What Veritas lacks in the spit and polish of its textbooks (a la Kaplan and such), it more than makes up for in quantity of material, hours of instruction, flexibility with extra help (via phone, email), and very smart instructors.

On the last point, I had Neil Moakley as my instructor and, together with an intimate classroom setting, I found Neil to be incredibly attentive to my needs. Neil struck a nice balance between pushing the class forward and aiding people with their specific areas of weakness (mine was quant). He was also available outside of class, via email, to answer my last-minute questions.

Hats off to Neil for making this class worth my investment, and giving me the tools I needed to graduate from a 660 to a 710.
Joined: Aug 25, 2010
Purchased Course: May 1, 2009
College: Michigan State University
Major: Logistics & Supply Chain Management
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Jeff and Veritas are top notch

August 25, 2010
  • Teacher: Jeff Lev
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

Prior to attending this course I had done a few practice exams, but I was having difficulty with several sections of the material. After attending this course, taught by the energetic Jeff Lev, I felt much more comfortable with taking the GMAT for real. Veritas does a good job of showing you which portions are important, and has a comprehensive set of practice equations. I completed all their books, and my test score was excellent. I now attend a top 20 B-school.
Joined: Aug 25, 2010

Thanks Veritas, Thanks Bobby!

August 25, 2010
  • Teacher: Bobby Umar
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 610

I tried perparing for the GMAT on my own but kept putting it off. Finally, I enrolled with Veritas. Though it was expensive, I must say the courses were very well planned and executed. The venue was great and Bobby was an excellent teacher. He was professional and really went beyond the text book to bring an extra dimension to the course. He's also a great presenter and fun to listen to. His strength is definitely on the Math section so if you're like me and find this portion to be more challenging, it's an advantage to have someone like him. Veritas gave me the chance to complete several practice tests so there were no surprises on actual test day and there was a definite improvement in my score.
Joined: May 23, 2009
Purchased Course: Jul 7, 2008
Verified Real Student Review

Engineer needing desperate verbal review

August 25, 2010
  • Teacher: Neil Moakley
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 630 After: 730

Being an engineer, I desperately need a guiding hand in the verbal sections. I particularly had an issue with the grammar portion of the test. After struggling with self study books and not getting much improvement, I decided I need a prep course. I found Veritas offered a full course in the verbal section over just one weekend.

The 2 day course was intense and moved rapidly without losing anyone. My instructor, Neil Moakley, was very informative and had a knack for explaining the material. I picked up several nuggets of wisdom that allowed me to break into the 700s.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64