Test Prep Companies, Private Tutoring, GRE Prep Company

Veritas Prep

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Aug 25, 2010

Bobby Rocks!!!

August 25, 2010
  • Teacher: Bobby Umar
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 540 After: 640

I am extremely happy that I picked Veritas - with my hectic work schedule I was not able to study for the GMAT at all but Veritas helped me focus on what was required and I was able to bump my score up by a 100 points.

I attribute almost all of my success to my tutor, Bobby Umar. Whatever Veritas is paying him is not enough. Bobby's method of teaching is very effective - he helped me understand and retain the required material. By the time i finished the course I had the knowledge and most importantly the confidence to face the dreaded GMAT again.
Joined: Aug 25, 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 9, 2010
College: New York University
Major: Music
Industry: Public Relations
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Ethan doesn't beat around the bush

August 25, 2010
  • Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 620 After: 670

I had taken private tutoring from ManhattanGMAt before my second try at taking the test (I studied on my own for the first) and my main complaint was that my tutor and I didn't seem to be able to click well between his explanations of concepts and my understanding of them. When I switched over to Veritas and was matched up with Ethan, right away I knew that his method of teaching was more in line with how I learn. At no point did Ethan just give up the answer, even at my most frustrated, forcing me to really figure things out and his basic advice was great on overall tackling of the test.
Joined: Aug 25, 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 6, 2009
College: UK
Major: Business
Industry: Highly Diversified Manufacturing
Country: Spain
Verified Real Student Review

Amit Kakkad: EXCELLENT

August 25, 2010
  • Teacher: Amit Kakkad
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 660

Excellent lessons and private tutoring. I managed to get the GMAT score I needed to get into business school at my first attempt with only 3 months of preparation. I would advise this course to anyone and a huge thanks to Amit for having supported me in this important milestone. I am leaving tomorrow morning for MBA. Thank you so much!
Joined: Aug 24, 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 26, 2008
Verified Real Student Review

Advanced prep course, be ready to dedicate time

August 25, 2010
  • Teacher: Neil Moakley
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 590

I enjoyed the Veritas Prep course because I got to meet a few ambitious people who were in a similar situation as I was: few years out of college, looking to develop into a business leader, and excited about using our brains again.

Pros:
- Neil was a great teacher who was always willing to help us in class and via email. He provided good context to the problems and comforting reassurance.

- Plenty of problems to review and practice

- Telephone support line for explanations to problems outside of classroom

- Learned tips and tricks to speed through certain math problems

- Feedback for AWA essays on a 6.0 scale

Cons

- The classroom at Penn would automatically lock you out during break so we had to call Neil a couple of times to let us back in; also remember that it was consistently chilly inside (bring a jacket!)

- While there were plenty of problems to solve, I felt that for the verbal and some parts of the Quant, I needed a basic 101 going from the beginning beause I didn't learn those basic concepts. Veritas materials quickly skims over those concepts and just provides practice problems.

- I called the telephone support several times for explanations to problems. While a guy answered a few of my questions, he made me feel guilty for explanations to more than two questions. He made it seem like I was holding back other people from calling in. I would think there would be a call forwarding option if there were more than one person calling. That left a bad taste in my mouth and I didn't call back.

Overall, I enjoyed the course but would only recommend taking certain parts of the course because of how expensive the course is and the level of materials they provide. If you need to just brush up from an already solid foundation, I think this is a good investment. Otherwise, I went with a friend who lent me his Manhattan GMAT materials and they were ideal for someone like me who needed to start over from the basics.
Joined: Aug 25, 2010
Purchased Course: May 5, 2009
College: copenhagen business school
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent GMAT prep course

August 25, 2010
  • Teacher: Amit Kakkad
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

The teacher was excellent. Amit is smart, efficient, helpful and patient. He is always taking time to clarify your concerns and answer your questions. His teaching style is fun, efficient and effective.

If you follow Amit's prep course, his guidance and you put in some hard work to complete all the Veritas study books + practice exams thoroughly you will have every opportunity to get a good GMAT score.

I would recommend taking the Veritas Prep course taught by Amit Kakkad to anyone who is aiming for a top performance in the GMAT.
Joined: Aug 25, 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 1, 2009
College: Ohio State
Major: Geography
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Verified Real Student Review

Great Weekend Prep Course for the GMAT

August 25, 2010
  • Teacher: Jeffrey Lev
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

Jeffrey made the Verbal weekend very enjoyable and the material interesting to learn. His energetic teaching style kept our class engaged in the material and he taught us many helpful tips and tactics to mastering the verbal section.

After attempting to study for the GMAT on my own, investing $$$ in the Veritas program was an invaulable decision. Veritas offers a comprehensive range of resources and a wide variety of prep class options. The weekend course was ideal for a busy professional like myself. I recommend Jeffrey and the Veritas program to anyone I meet who is considering taking the GMAT.
Joined: Aug 25, 2010
Purchased Course: Sep 4, 2008
College: Kettering University
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Aerosp/Autom/Transp Equipment
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course - wrong time in my work schedule

August 25, 2010
  • Teacher: Jeff Lev
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 540

Jeff did a great job of presenting the material and keeping me engaged in the class. The Veritas material is very effective. Unfortunately, I did not prepare sufficiently for the test due to my personal and work schedules at the time. I would strongly recommend taking ALL available practice exams whether hard copy or on-line.
Joined: Aug 25, 2010
Purchased Course: May 14, 2010
College: Austin College
Major: Political Science
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep Instructors care

August 25, 2010
  • Teacher: Amitkumar Kakkad
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 480

I took the full course twice: once in a super condensed 2 weekend study and once again in the condensed one week study. If you are new to GMAT study and/or have not looked at quant or verbal in quite some time, I do not recommend the super condensed weekend course.

My experience the second time around was very good. Amit is bright and cheerful and really knows his stuff. The pace of the course is very good as well and while the material and attention is demanding, it is very achievable. Both of my classes were small with only 6 of us both times and I personally appreciated that element. Amit did not make any assumptions about the knowledge or practice level of the students and treated us all with maturity and openness.

On a side note, Veritas is a young company and they have some growing up to do as is expected. One of the things I feel is most important is certainly the genuine and high level of caring that the instructors and even some of the corporate staff exhibit. I truly believe that they wanted me to succeed and do well and it really showed, even through some of the growing pains. I found that very valuable.

Overall I would and have recommended the course.
Joined: Aug 25, 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 11, 2010
College: LSE
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course - Good Value

August 25, 2010
  • Teacher: Amitkumar Kakkad
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 660

I would recommend Veritas Prep to anyone who wants to take the GMAT exam seriously and score a high score. I have already recommend it to a few of my friends. The teacher was very good and clearly enjoyed teaching us the techniques, skills, mindset and approach one should have when taking the test. I liked the fact that he would use a lot of stories and metaphors to explain key logical concepts.
The books and teaching materials are very well written and extremely comprehensive, and there is also an online version of them that can help when revising. There is an abundance of exercises all designed to give a true representation of the real exam and increase familiarity with key concepts.
The location in London was very comfortable and in my case very close to where i live. In general a very well designed course that can help you achieve a great score. One piece of advise I would like to offer is to take the test within 2 to 4 weeks after completion of the course as a lot of the concepts start to fade away with time. Also work hard during the course and do all the exercises. Finally make sure on the day that you stick to what you have learned and use all the breaks given to you (i went straight to the verbal part of the test and it did affect me as i was to tired..). Good luck!
Joined: Aug 25, 2010
College: LONDON SCHOOL OF ECONOMICS
Major: International Relations
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United Kingdom

Veritas GMAT course taught by Amit Kakkad

August 25, 2010
  • Teacher: AMITKUMAR KAKKAD
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640


I studied the Full Prep course at Veritas. The teacher was Amit Kakkad.
The course material was clear and comprehensive. There were several worked examples and lots of questions to practice.

The teacher was excellent. Amit was helpful, patient and explained complicated material lucidly. He was always available after class to clarify any concerns and answer any queries. His teaching style was approachable and friendly.

It is vital to do the homework that Amit suggests. My score would have been better if I had followed Amit's advice and done the homework questions thoroughly.

Overall, I am confident that you will get a good GMAT score using Veritas material under the guidance of Amit Kakkad.
Joined: Aug 24, 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 20, 2010
College: India
Major: Computer Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Wonderful experience

August 24, 2010
  • Teacher: Jill Witty
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A


The course is wonderful and Jill?s methodology of teaching is fantastic .Also the course curriculum is very elaborate covering all topics in math and verbal. Especially the math study material is too good as it give us in depth preparation of all the topics covered in GMAT.
Joined: Aug 24, 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 4, 2010
College: Penn State
Major: Computer and Information Sciences
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Verified Real Student Review

Best GMAT course - you get what you pay for

August 24, 2010
  • Teacher: Neil Moakley
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: N/A

I have taken two GMAT prep courses now. The first was with a very popular (and cheaper) provider, and the second was slightly more expensive with Veritas. I felt like I got a lot more bang for my buck with the Veritas course. The class size was much smaller, which allowed for greater focus on some of the more challenging test areas. The books were more comprehensive, and provided a greater cross section of problems to study with. My instructor, Neil Moakley, took the program from great to outstanding. He always made himself available via email and after class. He helped provide "focus problems" from our texts to help us quickly hone in on the best areas to practice. He was not only extremely knowledgeable, but also very good at conveying that knowledge to us students sitting in the seats. I highly recommend the Veritas program, and if you're fortunate enough to get Neil, consider yourself very lucky. Your odds of GMAT success just went up.
Joined: Jul 6, 2009
Purchased Course: Jun 9, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Very helpful online course

August 24, 2010
  • Teacher: Jeffrey Lev
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: N/A

I would highly recommend the Veritas Prep Live Online Course for those individuals that can't make it to a classroom center (like myself, living internationally). Actually, I would probably recommend it even if you can get to class, but prefer to take the class from home in your PJs! I really liked how flexible it was -- if I had to miss a class, I could go back and review the recording at a later time. I thought the materials (books) were very helpful and thorough. The slides during the class were nothing spectacular, but my instructor more than made up for it by engaging the class and providing helpful explanations. He was also very available for after-class help and responded in a timely manner to all emails. My instructor also did a good job setting the pace for the class, and making compromises between those that wanted a faster and those that wanted a slower pace. I haven't yet taken the GMATs, but think the class will have paid off. Thanks!
Joined: Aug 24, 2010
Purchased Course: Apr 6, 2010
Major: Business
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic GMAT Course

August 24, 2010
  • Teacher: Bobby Umar
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 560 After: N/A

I had the pleasure of receiving my GMAT instruction and general life coaching from Bobby Umar and I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our interaction. He is genuinely caring as are all the Veritas staff members that I have interacted with! Bobby goes well beyond the call of duty to guide his students in every way without any regard for praise or money. He is a rare gem who puts his heart and soul into teaching truly for the love of it and all he asks of his students is that we do well in life and stay connected with him. Bobby has a rare gift to bring out the very best in people and help them become better people. At Veritas, the staff are genuinely concerned about helping the students in any way they can which is what i really like.
Joined: Aug 24, 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 14, 2008
Verified Real Student Review

Overall a great experience

August 24, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 480 After: 540

The instructor was very engaging which made driving to class a pleasure. He was willing to answer questions of all kinds. I found that the material in the books gave good strategies for the verbal section, but was lacking for the quantitative section. The best part about taking this course was the access to all the practice tests. Overall it was a great experience.
Joined: Apr 6, 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 12, 2010
College: Brazil
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course and teacher!

August 24, 2010
  • Teacher: Megan Kucik
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 280 After: N/A

I have liked the course very much! All the books and assistence are really helpful. The teacher is pacient and explain as many times the student need. My class is small, about 14 students so we have time to ask all the questions we have and the teacher works most likely on everybody pace. It was a good time to learn.
In addition, you have access on-line to on demand classes, forum, and homework help up 6 months after your class. :)
Therefore, I haven't took the GMAT after the course yet, but I am pretty sure I will be just fine on it.
Joined: Aug 24, 2010

Veritas perfect Math prep

August 24, 2010
  • Teacher: Bobby Umar
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 680

Veritas is the perfect Math prep for gmat. It has good coverage and its easy to score atleast in the mid 40's. Bobby Umar is an outstanding teacher. He has a lot of experience in GMAT Maths and can help you get the score you want.
Joined: Aug 24, 2010
Purchased Course: Oct 13, 2009
College: University of Colorado
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I started from scratch

August 24, 2010
  • Teacher: Jill Witty
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 580

When I started the GMAT both my Quant and Verbal were extremely weak. Over the course of the class I improved my GMAT score 120 points. I have no doubt I could not have done that without taking the Veritas course. My teacher demonstrated GMAT knowledge and test takings secrets. At times the course seemed to fast and other times too slow, but overall I benefited. I also felt the study material was most similar to the real test. In fact, I fell like the study materials were most advantageous and worth the money alone.

Overall, great class and I was very impressed with the instructor. I ended up getting into Haas!!
Joined: Aug 24, 2010
Purchased Course: Dec 31, 2007
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Economics
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great and Thorough GMAT Course for All Levels

August 24, 2010
  • Teacher: Neil Moakley
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

I think the most surprising thing about the course was that the class was filled with people of all levels - and yet everyone got a lot out of it! I thought I was enrolling in the course as more of a motivater to take practice tests and study, but in retrospect I am so glad I was there. I learned all the tricks and tips, and my score wouldn't have been nearly as good as it was without the class. On the other hand, some people in the class had absolutley no idea what they were getting into. The instructor was able to keep them up to speed without dragging out the class. I found the class always interesting, the pace fine and the instructor to be very effective.
Joined: Aug 24, 2010
College: Toronto
Major: Business
Industry: Government
Country: Canada

Bobby Umar is a valuable asset to Veritas

August 24, 2010
  • Teacher: Bobby Umar
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 730

Bobby has a very effective and engaging teaching style and makes the most of the already well-planned Veritas curriculum. He also is able to tailor his teaching style to match the differing skill levels of his students.

Both locations (we had a location change towards the end of the program) were very convenient and the facilities were perfect.

I took the GMAT soon after we finished the course and scored well enough to get me into one of the top schools.

I give 5 starts to both Bobby and Veritas.



Page:1 2 3 4 5 58 59 60 61 62 63 64