Test Prep Companies, Private Tutoring, GRE Prep Company

Veritas Prep

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Aug 23, 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 1, 2010
College: Vanderbilt University
Major: Economics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep and David Newland were great

August 23, 2010
  • Teacher: David Newland
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

The materials were good. Good homework suggestions. Great strategy tips. A great teacher. David really helped me work on my timing and how to approach the questions. I feel like he helped me to avoid a lot of 'stupid mistakes.' He had tons of hints on how to approach different questions. David was especially knowledgeable about the data sufficiency problems and had a great strategy for approaching them. I got a 750 on the GMAT after taking this class and I certainly didn't kill myself with prep. Probably 2 hours of work before each class then about 4 hours a day the week leading up to the test. I would definitely recommend Veritas Prep and want to give special credit to David Newland who was extremely knowledgeable and helpful, not to mention fun and cool.
Joined: Aug 23, 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 7, 2009
College: University of Western Ontario
Major: Economics
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Bobby - 5 star teacher!

August 23, 2010
  • Teacher: Bobby Umar
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 620

Bobby was a great teacher!

He made complicated material simple and his little tricks/tips were great. He taught all his classes in an engaging and an entertaining way.

I would definitely recommend taking Bobby's prep class.
Joined: Aug 23, 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 29, 2010
College: norway
Major: Finance
Industry: Government
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Bobby is a great motivator

August 23, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 570 After: N/A


Veritas gives you the overview of everything you need to learn on the gmat.
Bobby is a great teacher and even more important a great motivator.

I recomend the veritas and bobby.
Lars
Joined: Dec 15, 2008
Purchased Course: Mar 18, 2008
College: The University of Western Ontario
Major: Political Science
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Bobby Rocks!!!

August 22, 2010
  • Teacher: Bobby Umar
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 560

What makes Bobby Umar such an effective instructor is his ability to command attention at the front of the classroom. Simply put, Bobby makes you want to listen to him when he speaks. His experience as an instructor is unparalleled, giving him the type of insight that is hard to find in any other instructor. What also makes Bobby unique is that each class he shared a little bit about what it was like to be in the MBA program. The Veritas prep program helped me gain the tools and strategies necessary to develop a solid study plan and structure that led to success on the GMAT, which eventually landed me a spot at a top MBA program.
Joined: Aug 22, 2010
Purchased Course: May 15, 2010
College: Pomona College
Major: Graphic Arts/Media Arts
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Bang for the buck

August 22, 2010
  • Teacher: Matt Douglas
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

This class was excellent. It thoroughly went through every problem type that you might encounter on the GMAT, breaking each type down to their core components.

Matt was incredibly knowledgeable about all the problem types as also very entertaining, which is a big plus when going to class for 3 hours after working 10 hours a day. Studying for the GMAT is not fun and it is not easy, but this class made it as enjoyable as it could possibly have been.

I think the only thing that could potentially make this class even better would be to recreate the test taking scenario and actually have full length practice tests incorporated into the class. This is a minor issue because Veritas Prep provides many practice tests of their own that you can take on your own time, but big enough for me to take away 1 star. (If it were possible I would have given 4.5 stars)
Joined: Aug 22, 2010

Bobby makes the course!!!

August 22, 2010
  • Teacher: Bobby Umar
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Bobby - was great he made the material enjoyable and kept everyone interested even after a long day of work.

Great Instructor
Joined: May 10, 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 22, 2010
College: New York University
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good course, very good teacher

August 21, 2010
  • Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

Veritas offers the most classroom hours of any other prep course. My teacher was Ethan Todras-Whitehill, who scored a 780 on the GMAT and was extremely helpful . The quality of the practice tests, however, was very poor and very different from the actual GMAT.
Joined: Aug 20, 2010
Purchased Course: Apr 1, 2010
College: University of Calgary
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Best way to get rid of the "Sounds Right" philosophy

August 20, 2010
  • Teacher: Bobby Umar
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 670

I joined this course because I got a good vibe after attending their free course evaluation class and definitely did not regret it. Course material was very well structured and Bobby had an excellent ability to explain it in a very interesting and simplified manner. In addition to that, Bobby's personal "golden rules" and "MBA life" were a very welcome addition and have been more helpful with the post GMAT process than I ever thought possible. Class size was also perfect for group interaction and the pace worked well to keep everyone in the class caught up.
I joined this course and got a score of 600 on my first diagnostic test and did my GMAT test one week after completion of the 8 week class receiving a score of 670. Given more preparation time after the class I believe it should be possible to give your score a 100 point boost if you put in the necessary effort.
Would highly recommend Veritas Prep as a course and Bobby Umar as an instructor to anyone, only advice would be to stay caught up with the material or it won't be worth your while.
Joined: Aug 20, 2010
College: Concordia University
Major: Finance
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: Canada

Veritas Prep was well worth it!

August 20, 2010
  • Teacher: Bobby Umar
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 680

I took the weekend course from Veritas Prep in my home city (Veritas did not offer their regular format courses here).

I was aiming for a low 600 prior to taking the course, and was consistenly scoring within the mid 600's towards the end of my study period. I was pleased with my actual score on the GMAT I had surpassed my expectations, all thanks to the vast amount of resouces Veritas provides

Despite the intensity and rather short timeframe for the program (4 days), Veritas truly offers a great prep course. Their books are amazing!! Veritas breaks each type of GMAT question into its own book (ex: algebra, geometry, word problems, SC, RC, CR, etc) so you can not only strengthen your overall GMAT skills, but also hone in (or revisit) areas where you feel you may need improvement. At the end of every tome, Veritas includes about 30 moderate to advanced difficulty questions. I suggest really making sure you master the advanced material to propel yourself past the low 600's range. I cannot stress how valuable these books are. I know that they will yet again come in handy if I plan to re-write the GMAT and join the 700 club ;).

Moreover, my instruction Bobby deserves his own paragraph! He is such a friendly and outgoing teacher, and you can feel his passion for teaching when you sit in the room. He truly does care about his students' success (to the point that he provided me with his cell# and encouraged me to call and ask him questions). His energy, experience and sincerity will provide you with a strong foundation for the exam. He provided the class with a ton of admissions and application advice. We still keep in touch to this day, and I'm glad to say I've made such an intelligent friend.


This is more than just a simple crash course. You get a dozen mock exams, online review classes (in addition to the physical location classes), phenomenal books and rather speedy online/telephone based support.

Simply put, Veritas + OG + practice = success!

Joined: Aug 20, 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 25, 2010
College: Purdue University
Major: Engineering
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Cramming for the GMAT

August 20, 2010
  • Teacher: Matt Douglas
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 550

I decided to get an MBA in July 2010 and after speaking with the admissions director the possibility of Fall 2010 enrollment was high AS LONG AS I took the GMAT, achieving a score >500. I thought, no problem, scheduled my test for August 16th, bought a study guide and started studying.

After one day of studying I ended up crying, stressed out and defeated. I had been out of school for 16 years. I could not remember the basics. I needed a calculator to complete the math problems. I needed help and FAST.

I searched for training courses and the Veritas course fit my needs and timeline. I was in class for four weekend days - ten hours each day. Forty hours worth of training. The training was intense but our instructor Matt Douglas made the material easy to comprehend and the time flew by.

Matt was a wonderful instructor. He was very motivational especially when we needed it the most. As anyone connected to teaching, Matt really cared about us. The more effort we put into learning the more effort he put into the training. He pushed us to to our best.

I took the GMAT two days after completing the intensive weekend course and exceeded the score I needed to be accepted into my MBA program. I would never have had the discipline to study on my own so the Veritas program was very helpful.

Thank you Veritas!!!
Joined: Aug 20, 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 30, 2010
College: University of California - Irvine
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Class

August 20, 2010
  • Teacher: Matt Douglas
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 580

The biggest reason I first picked Veritas Prep over all the other prep courses out there is beacuse of the starting time of the classes. The classes starts at 7pm instead of 6pm or 6:30 like most classes. This means I don't have to leave work early and still have some time to eat a decent meal before heading to class.

Matt was a great instructor. Great sense of humor and is really passionate about teaching the materials. Taking the GMAT can be extremely stressful but Matt somehow made learning all the little tricks fun and kept the atmostphere very relaxed.

Overall, it was a great experience and I would definitely recommend this class to anyone looking to take the GMAT.
Joined: Aug 20, 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 13, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Intense Prep

August 20, 2010
  • Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: N/A

The Veritas 1-week Accelerated Course was VERY beneficial to my GMAT preparation. The material was comprehensive, the teacher (Ethan) was passionate and the facility (Grand Hyatt) was superb.

I feel prepared to take on the GMAT with confidence.

Joined: Aug 20, 2010
College: Bucknell University
Major: Economics
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States

Excellent Class Highly Recommended

August 20, 2010
  • Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

Ethan is an excellent GMAT teacher that explains both the verbal and math sections very well. I would recommend him to any friend looking to take the exam. His interactive teaching style is very helpful for understanding the material.
Joined: May 23, 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 8, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great Inside Tips!

August 19, 2010
  • Teacher: Matt Douglas
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 540

I thought Veritas Prep was exactly what I needed. I work full time and my instructor Matt Douglas really helped me focus on what I needed to know before my exam. I only gave my self a couple of months to study, but with the help of Matt and the study materials I was able to get a score I needed to get me accepted to all the schools I applied to!

Matt really took the time to help us with our homework questions during the breaks, after class and even via email! He always made himself available which really helped. Vertias gives you a ton of books and tests. You go through a lot of the questions during the class, but are giving homework assignments as well. I primarily focused on the on-line practice tests.

I did buy the Official GMAT books, but those books don't teach you the tricks that are necessary to succeed on this test! Matt had so many great tricks and tips that really help you when you are taking the test. I recommend the class to anyone taking the GMAT especially anyone that is working full time and trying to balance both their career and school!
Joined: Aug 18, 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 22, 2010
College: Southern Methodist University
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Increased my score to 700, exactly what I needed!

August 18, 2010
  • Teacher: Neil Parikh
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 700

I studied for 4 months on my own using Kaplan, GMAT Official Guide, and Manhattan books. I felt I was really prepared, however, when I took the test I only scored 640 - depressing according to what I was expecting and my practice tests.

I invested $$$ and hired an excellent private tutor from Veritas, Neil. He helped me strengthen the areas in which I was week and helped me raise my score to 700 in only 5 weeks.

I studied really hard and watched every online class on the Veritas website. The practice tests provided by Veritas were scored harder than the real test. I only got 620 on the practice tests, althogh they were really similar.

Really happy with Veritas and my 700 score!

Eduardo
Joined: Aug 5, 2009
Purchased Course: Aug 9, 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Mixed reviews

August 14, 2010
  • Teacher: David Newland
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 540

I have mixed reviews about Veritas. The first time I did it, I used the selfpaced online course. I went through the material, did some practice tests and when I wrote it, got a lousy 540.

I thought maybe it was just a lack of discipline so I called Veritas and got a discount to enroll in a teacher led course online. David was the instructor and I thought overall, he did a good job. The structure is a bit difficult in that all you have is a voice and whiteboard, there's no face to face interaction. I wrote the test again and sadly, I scored the same! I should note that I am a poor standardized test taker and unfortunately, Veritas didn't help me very much in this regard.

Veritas has some great text books (a box full) but I think I'm going to try to study from the original materials first and foremost and try again. The test questions just aren't the same.
Joined: Aug 13, 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 6, 2007
College: Northwestern University
Major: History
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course, time-saving tricks essential

August 13, 2010
  • Teacher: David Newland
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 610 After: 680

I really thought the Veritas course was a great prep for the GMAT. I had done a lot of prep on my own, but until I took the course, I hadn't felt entirely confident taking the GMAT.

Veritas materials are very close to the actual GMAT. When you buy the course, Veritas sends you a massive amount of material to use, both during the course and on your own. The instructors walk through problems and examples at length. Because I took the weekend course, it was tiring and time intensive, but I felt myself wanting to continually practice and improve.

David Newland was a great instructor. He made it fun, challenging, but always broke down each problem well and did not move on until everyone got it. The best part that helped me in the actual GMAT were the time-saving tricks that David taught. Ways to use the "reading the directions" time at the beginning, indicators of sentence structure, types of quant problems to look for, etc.

I'd recommend Veritas to anyone who is serious about improving their score to get into a top MBA school. It may seem like a hefty price to pay up front, but in the long run it will help achieve your goal.
Joined: Aug 10, 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 25, 2010
College: Central Missouri State
Major: Economics
Industry: Government
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great coach. Quirky personality, but knew his stuff.

August 12, 2010
  • Teacher: Ken
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

The class was great, Ken was very professional. I enjoyed the tips he gave us - and the regimen of study. The study materials are first rate, and I really appreciated that the class had 42 hours of instruction. That pace meant that I kept up well, but the class was always moving forward.

My score would have been better - but I had a baby the first week of the class, so I was less than diligent in my study. Don't let that dissuade you - others in the class scored well over 700.

In the end - it was worth the money.
Joined: May 16, 2010
Purchased Course: May 24, 2010
College: University of Illinois at Champaign
Major: Foreign Language and Literature
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing

August 12, 2010
  • Teacher: Jeffery Lev
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 660

The course was great and I had a wonderful teacher in Jeffery Lev. He helped me with everything I was struggling with and I would recommend the Veritas program to everybody. There were so many practice tests I couldn't even finish them all!!
Joined: Aug 11, 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 13, 2010
College: USA
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Aerosp/Autom/Transp Equipment
Country: Austria
Verified Real Student Review

Tutoring Support For The GMAT Verbal Portion

August 11, 2010
  • Teacher: David Newland
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 580 After: 670

My instructor - David Newland - is a proven expert on the GMAT and especially for the verbal exam portion.

David has the ability to gauge the customer's ability level and then to prescribe the right approach for building upon this level. David's style is detailed, constructive and well paced. The atmosphere online and on the telephone is open and relaxed. He passes his tempo on to that of the customer.

I took the time to describe exactly my weaknesses with the verbal section to that a plan of attach could be crafted. David provided me with numerous handouts based on techniques promoted by VeritasPrep and suppplemented techniques developed from him personally. These techniques breakdown the structure of the problem so that the logic behind it can be understood. Techniques are geared to get to the best answer choices immediately.

I was most satisfied with my experience with Veritas Prep course and my virtual sessions with David Newland. I recommend him to perspective MBA student.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 60 61 62 63 64