Test Prep Companies, Private Tutoring, GRE Prep Company

Veritas Prep

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Feb 18, 2009
Purchased Course: Aug 27, 2008
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep Full Course in Toronto with Bobby Umar

August 6, 2010
  • Teacher: Bobby Umar
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 770

I took the full-length course on Saturdays. The class was originally scheduled to be held at University of Toronto Victoria College, but the room felt small for the class size (about a dozen) and upon complaining was promptly changed to one of the luxurious meeting rooms at Sutton Hotel. This location was more convenient to subway access, comfortable, and suitable for interaction, both with the instructor and other students.

I did not take the GMAT prior to taking the course, but did take an official practice test and got around 650. My aim was over 700 and hoping for over 720. I ended up with 770 (Q50/V44/AWA6.0) and 99th percentile overall. Prior to the course, I did go through some OG questions as well as GMAT800, but overall lacked strategy and routine.

The course fee buys you a lot - course materials, in-person classes, online services for six months (on-demand lessons, practice tests, questions support, etc.) However, I did not use any of the online services other than the practice tests and the personalized page to make personalized schedule and track results of practice tests.

I definitively recommend taking the Saturday course where you do both a verbal and a quant lesson in the same day, separated by a lunch period. It can be a bit daunting at times, but definitively less than if having to travel to class twice during work week in rush hour etc.

The materials themselves are excellent, and so is the way different books/lessons are organized and sequenced. Covered are test-taking strategies, theory and first principles (both math and verbal), and practice questions of varying difficulty. I made a personal commitment to complete all (and not just assigned homework) questions ahead of class in order to really take advantage of all the learning opportunities (i.e. asking questions in class if unclear) and to provide structure ahead of my test date (5 weeks after test date). The questions are mostly OG or OG style, but there are quite a few tricky ones where you will do wrong but will remember the mistake later upon reading and understanding the answer explanation. Also, which the materials are comprehensive, they are still short enough to be achievable to complete between your classes (i.e. there is not too many variations of the same questions, which wastes precious prep time).

I also could not have asked for a better instructor. Bobby was actually voted as a top instructor in the whole company, and for good reason! He was able to cater to different goals and preparation and knowledge backgrounds among the students. I think the best part was his great personality that kept our attention for hours, with random jokes, GMAT and MBA school advice and anecdotes providing a welcome break from class material when needed. Bobby was always available after class to provide clarification for questions that students did not raise during class. I would say that Bobby's explanations and teaching style (based on Veritas method) overall focused more on theory and less on test-taking strategies. While strategies have certainly been covered, and reading other prep companies' materials on this topic helped with practicing these concepts, the concepts themselves are not too hard to grasp and learning the theory was in my opinion a much better use of class time considering how much we're paying for it. Overall, Bobby is a great guy and a great instructor, and I have already recommended both the company and him personally to several friends who are planning to take the GMAT. Simply a great experience!

Due to my technical background, I thought that I would need to give extra attention to improving and practicing the verbal portion of the material. After I finished the test, I thought that I didn't do so great due to guessing the last few quant questions but finishing verbal with more than 15 minutes to spare...even considered cancelling the score. However, I took Bobby's advice on at least knowing the score before retaking due to the time and cost of the test (and the fact that retaking up to 2 times is not viewed so negatively) and could not believe I scored 770! I was pretty ecstatic as this was totally unexpected as I never even scored above 720 on practice tests. Having Veritas provide the structure, focus and comprehensive but succinct materials helped me get over the top.

Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 9, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

PERFECT!

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Dave Halliday
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Taking a prep course is just what I needed to get myself to study for the GMAT.

Veritas does an amazing job of breaking down the test for you and teaching you simple building blocks to breaking down each problem.

My score improved by over 100 points.

All GMAT courses are expensive, but very well-worth it. The class was a small, intimate class, and DAVE was amazing. He always made sure everyone was along for the ride- but kept the pace up.

The study materials that Veritas gave were great- bc each subject has a book. Instead of one huge study book- the material is broken out.

All around I would recommend this class to anyone.
Joined: Aug 4, 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 4, 2008

Best GMAT Course - hands down!

August 4, 2010
  • Teacher: David Newland
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I took the Veritas Course back in early 2008. Due to several issues I was not able to take the GMAT right after the course (as they recommend) but waited until early 2009 to take it. Despite that I was able to score 650 on the GMAT and got into Cornell's Johnson School of Business.

I am certain that had I taken the test soon after completion of the course I would have scored higher but I was pleased with scoring that high, especially after taking a year off from studying! The teaching and the tips shared by Veritas were invaluable and I would recommend it to anyone!

Ray Saiyed
Joined: Aug 4, 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 8, 2008
Verified Real Student Review

750

August 4, 2010
  • Teacher: David Newland
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I cant say enough about Veritas or David. I did not take the GMAT before the class so I cant give a starting base line. After the class I took the exam and scored a 670, a good score but I knew I needed to top 700 to be admitted to my school of choice. I called Veritas and explained how close I was and didn't have the $1,000 to take the course again. They waved the fee and explained that I could take the class a second time but after that I would have to pay again.

After taking the class a second time, my score increased 80 points to a 750. My verbal jumped to 99% and quant was in the mid 80s.

While Veritas was great about letting me take the class for a second time, my success came as a result of David's teaching. His style, energy, and enthusiasm made the 8-hour weekend days fly by. He was clear, concise, and knew how to teach the skills needed to succeed on the test. On each section he took stock of where the class was and adjusted his time allocation based on where he felt the class needed extra help.

I am confident that the strategies and tips I learned from Veritas allowed me to generate a score that was appealing to my top choice. While expensive, the gains I will generate over the life of my career will far outweigh the cost. I strongly recommend Veritas to someone who is serious about scoring well on the GMAT.
Joined: Mar 1, 2010
Purchased Course: May 10, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Help me to stay focus and organized

August 2, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The online class veritas was very helpful. I have a difficult time studying for GMAT. The class gave me a structure and live person there were very good.
The teacher was very committed and willing to help.
I was able to focus on my GMAT studying.
Joined: Jul 22, 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 12, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Thorough class with excellent instruction and prep materials!

August 2, 2010
  • Teacher: Vincent
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I am currently in the middle of preparing for the GMAT and I wanted to write a quick review on why I am so pleased with the Veritas class I am taking. I have tried studying on my own for the GMAT prior to taking this course and I could never stay focused. The class has been great so far and it follows a logical progression introducing new material and building upon previous lessons. The instructor has done a fantastic job relating to students and alleviating concerns about actual test problems, conditions, etc. The class also moves at a good pace to give students enough time to complete homework and fully grasp/retain the material before moving on to the next section.

I also think the books are the best resource available for a test prep course. I have friends who have taken other classes (Princeton, Kaplan) and their books had considerably less detail than the Veritas materials. I chose this course over others because I wanted to have the most in-depth practice materials available to me. The Veritas books have been an invaluable resource in my prep for the exam.

For people in SF, the location is nice and close to the Financial District although parking can be a bit tough if you commute like I do. Overall, I am really happy with the class and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone trying to decide which prep course to take.
Joined: Feb 8, 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 3, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Course for people short on time

July 30, 2010
  • Teacher: Chris Kane
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

This course was excellent. It helped me go from mid 600s to low 700s in a matter of a few weeks. Chris was an excellent instructor and was dedicated to helping his students. He was clear and focused and kept the class moving at a healthy pace. I would suggest anyone take this class because it is the best way to learn the most the fastest. The course focuses on actually learning the material as well as teaching a few key strategies and shortcuts. Having sat in on various other sample classes I felt that Veritas was the most comprehensive.
Joined: Apr 19, 2010
Purchased Course: Apr 8, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep Verbal Focus

July 29, 2010
  • Teacher: Shoba Narayanan
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 590

I am a non native English speaker and hence verbal is my weak area on GMAT. Hence I was looking for a course on Verbal only. I scouted for few days and then one of my friends, with similar background, suggested me to attend Veritas Prep's Verbal Focus class. I enrolled my self for the class and attended in last week of April 2010. I was expecting a group but to my surprise, it was just me and instructor! Some may say it is good opportunity for 1-on-1 but I missed the interaction, discussion about strategies, problems, solutions, etc. Instructor was ok and course books are also ok. However, I did not get what I was looking for. I completed all exercise problems after the class and still scoring very poorly on practice tests (in range of V26-V36), which is not very different from what I was scoring before attneding the class.
Personally, I did improve on timing or accuracy so I am not impressed with class overall and would not recommend.
Joined: Jul 27, 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 23, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

My Experience

July 27, 2010
  • Teacher: N/A
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The following is a letter I sent to people who helped me answer questions:

Well I ended up taking the GMAT the Saturday before last. On the practice tests, before Veritas, I got a 620 (GMAT Prep, though I did guess a lot and luckily got a lot of questions right). After going through the Veritas On Demand, I got scores of 630 (800 score), 590 (Veritas), and 610 (GMAT Prep). As you can see, I wasn't expecting much more than a 630 if I got lucky.

Test day, I felt really good after my essay, then started struggling with quant (as I had expected because I was consistently getting 35-40) and then I ended up getting back into the test room 1 minute late, though I didn't worry too much because I normally finished at least 5 minutes fast on verbal.

However, Murphy's Law came into effect and the problems were very difficult. I kept looking at my inability to solve the problems in a quick manner and the time clock, realizing at this pace I wouldn't be able to finish the test. So, I did what any wise test taker would do: took a couple deep breaths, prayed, and then guessed on a good 10 questions! Ha, ha. Finally I got back on pace.

I knew that I wouldn't have another chance to take the test until I came back from Afghanistan next year so if I were going to apply to business schools prior to shipping out, I would need a score, no matter how bad it may be. I was honestly expecting at least a 580 or something of the sort, I mean, how well can you do when you guessed on over 10 questions out of 41!?

However, to my unbelief, I ended up getting a 660/82% (V35/73% , Q45/74%)!! I just stared at my computer screen in unbelief and in utter thanks to God who somehow messed with the computer system to get me this score (ha ha). And today I received my official score report and found out that I got a AWA 6.0/90%! Hallelujah! Anyway, though it wasn't as high as I wanted to score, I know myself and I'm not much of a test taker. I hope it's a good enough score to get me into at least a decent business school.


I definitely wanted to spend this time to give you guys a debrief, people whom I believe had a big part in getting the score I did. Ed and Valerie, thank you so much for your incredible patience with all of the questions I had on ... Well, everything! And thank you for your encouragement after the discouraging practice test scores. And Peter, thanks for taking an interest in me when I first called Veritas in wanting to get more information about the program and continuing to encourage me and help me along the way. I thank God for providing me you guys to help me along my journey in the MBA process and hopefully we'll keep in touch!
Joined: Jul 26, 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 31, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent math, solid verbal prep.

July 26, 2010
  • Teacher: Rob Stringham
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 770

I came into the class fairly confident about my verbal preparation but less certain of my math prep. The course was really helpful in both areas. Furthermore, the time devoted to test day strategy was great as well. The instructor did a really good job catering to the varied preparation levels in the class. I highly recommend this course.
Joined: Jun 30, 2010
Purchased Course: May 13, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent but not Perfect

July 24, 2010
  • Teacher: Travis Morgan
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I've decided to break down my review into different sections to make it easier to read and to help people find answers to specific questions regarding Veritas. If you have any questions, please feel free to message me within BTG's site.

Value Added v Price: At first, I was worried about the return on investment I was receiving on my $1,800. I have not taken the GMAT yet, so I can not confirm Veritas' claim of an average 80 point increase, however, I can speak to the class and services they offer - and there are very many. Veritas offers a LOT of services. Upon the first day of class, you have access to Veritas' online services for six months. These services include all the lessons on demand, 9 practice tests, a free 3 month subscription to WSJ, and access to people who can answer GMAT questions via email, phone, and Skype. There are also forums (like BTGs) where you can ask GMAT questions, get admissions consulting, and talk rankings. Apparently, you can even send your practice AWAs in to be graded. Pretty much every possible thing you could want to prepare, Veritas offers. Interestingly, the worst value (and it is not bad) is the actual class. Each lesson only lasts three hours and, especially in the accelerated class, there is almost no time to digest what you learn. However, I don't want to give the impression that the classes or the materials are bad, they are not.

Grade: A

Organization: The way the class is laid out is very interesting. One of the first lessons, Arguments, has nothing to do directly with the GMAT. However, as you go along you realize their methods and it begins to actually make a lot of sense. The classes get progressively more difficult as they build upon each other. While this progression makes sense in school, I would have rather the class have spent time on topics in relation to the number of problems you will see on the actual GMAT. There is an entire three hour lesson on probability/combinatorics, which might show up three or four times on the actual GMAT. It made some sense, but it would have been nice to see Veritas think outside the box.

Grade: B

The Lessons: The Veritas lessons are taught from the books and the books are very good. One of my favorite things about Veritas is they are not afraid to teach "up". In other words, the lesson questions are often very difficult. Most of the strategy they offer is in Verbal and most of the Math lessons teach material. Since, unlike math, it is hard to improve verbal in a short amount of time, this strategy is very solid. There are some irrelevant things in the verbal lessons, but overall (even Sentence Correction) was very good. For those wondering, the reading comprehension and critical reasoning lessons are as good as others claim. All of that being said, this is not No Child Left Behind. You are much better served entering the course with a good grasp of the material than entering it blind.

Grade: A

Instructor: My instructor was Travis Morgan. He is a young guy who previously taught the GMAT with Kaplan and we were his first class with Veritas. His unique background was a huge advantage for us, in my opinion. He was able to deftly weave in and out of Veritas lessons to offer us the best of both worlds. He was very affable, but his best quality was his ability to teach lessons in different ways. If students were having a hard time grasping a concept, Travis changed courses and taught the lesson in a different way until we understood. Unlike Veritas' favorite front man, Brian Galvin, Travis does not command a room and, thus, he isn't what I expected. However, I was not disappointed. While I'm sure that every instructor has their own strength and weaknesses, I imagine they are all very solid.

Grade: A-

Location: It would be very annoying for me to complain about anything in Hawaii, especially for all the people living in a land-locked armpit reading this review, so I won't. I will only say, like most of Waikiki, the Sheraton is a nice building with bad help.

Grade: B

Overall: A-

I think the reason Veritas does not get rated higher is because it markets itself incorrectly. They tout their "elite" preparation and their books come delivered with Latin written on a very impressive looking cover. I half-expected to show up to class and have my instructor be a British man wearing a top hat. If you do not go in with supremely high expectations, you will not be disappointed. If I had the option to take the course again, I would do it.
Joined: Jul 22, 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 28, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Brian Galvin is a very helpful and informative GMAT instructor

July 22, 2010
  • Teacher: Brian Galvin
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I took GMAT two years ago. From self study, I received a 680. Since I wanted to apply to good schools, I figure that I need at least a 700. I took the Veritas Prep live-online class (7 weeks) and it was money well spent!

Brian Galvin was my instructor and he was excellent. Even after the first two classes, I realized that there are so many things that I didn't know previously. He was also very quick in replying to emails. Very helpful and gives you the encouragement that you need. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who would like to improve their GMAT score but have no time to attend a real live class.

I took the GMAT a week after the course and I receive a 710. Thirty points doesn't sound like much but it increases my percentile from 88% to 93% and it was all I need. =)
Joined: Dec 16, 2009
Purchased Course: Mar 10, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

This course is an excellent source of GMAT material and learning

July 21, 2010
  • Teacher: Rob Stringham
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

- My teacher was great during my course at Veritas. He not only teach the basics of GMAT from Veritas material but also give directions for better study and improve skill-set.

- Veritas course material is detailed and covers most of complex problems.

- Veritas course improved my GMAT and enhance my skill-set to a great extent.
Joined: May 28, 2009
Purchased Course: Feb 13, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

The most complete course you can take

July 21, 2010
  • Teacher: Frankie Beecroft
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 730

I'll give a little background on my story before I get into the meat of the review. I self-studied on my own for 2.5 months before my exam. I mainly used the Manhattan GMAT guides and the Powerscore CR bible. I got a 680 Q47 V 38. I needed something to push me over the 700 mark, so I took a course with Veritas Prep.

Overall, my experience with Veritas has been nothing but positive. My instructor was phenomenal. She explains everything very thoroughly and through the lens of how the test makers expect you to think about the test. I think what gives Veritas an advantage over other test prep companies is that they help you to develop a systematic approach for each question type. This ensures that you will approach each question the same way with a proven effective strategy. Other materials only rely on teaching you the content, but if you are unsure of how to apply that content, then knowing the material is almost irrelevant. My instructor was very big on teaching you how to think the same way as the test makers. This was very valuable, because practice tests can only simulate so much. Once you are at the Pearson cener you will undoubtedly be presented with questions that look unfamiliar, but the Veritas preparation equipped me to deal with this.

Verbal: I think their verbal preparation is the best in the business. Before taking the course verbal didn't click for me, but Frankie really got to the core of what the GMAC is looking for and how to approach verbal. For example, Reading Comprehension was a struggle for me because I was unsure of how to read the passages. Veritas teaches you how to read the passages, and they get you to practice reading the passages the same way every time, so it becomes routine and second nature. They don't have you wasting valuable time writing a skeletal sketch or anything like that, but they teach you how to read the passage so that you can answer the primary purpose questions without having to go back to the passage. They teach you how to answer inference, according to the passage, organization questions, and all of the other question types that RC test. With SC, they teach you to develop a method so that you can handle each question similarly. Each verbal book has over 90 GMAT style problems for you to learn from. Overall, it is a great supplement to the Official Guide and the Official Guide verbal supplement.

Math: The quant preparation is really solid. I think the strength of the Veritas quant preparation is that after going through all of the books, there won't be a word problem on the GMAT that you won't be able to do. Its like a word problem immersion experience. Each guide has between 80-130 problems, and there are 7 math books (not including the math essentials guide). I think the biggest advantage that I obtained from the veritas math courses were just being comfortable with everything on the math portion of the test. During my retake there was nothing that I was unable to translate or answer, and I finished the section with 5 minutes to spare.

To sum up, the Veritas class helped me raise my score 50 points (730 Q49, V41), so I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to take a course.
Joined: Jul 21, 2010
Purchased Course: May 11, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course

July 21, 2010
  • Teacher: Jim S.
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Veritas Prep Live Online course was excellent. Not only did it help me review for the GMAT, but it provided me with some excellent tips and tricks for test day. My teacher was excellent. He made me feel confident a ready for test day. If I had to do it all over again, I would definately take the course. I would recommend the Veritas Course to anyone. It is pricey but worth it if you're serious about preparing for the Test. The books were very well written and helpful. They provided me with easier problems as well as challenge problems.
Joined: Jul 21, 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 26, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep GMAT Course was the game changer for me!

July 21, 2010
  • Teacher: Aaron Pond & Bill Robinson
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 680

First off when the books arrived I was impressed with how professional everything looked.

My classes were organized in a manner that allowed me to focus on certain subjects each week.

Teachers knew what they were talking about and were always willing to answer questions.

The teachers genuinely cared for the students and even now that I have taken the test are willing to look over some of my essays.
Joined: Dec 15, 2009
Purchased Course: Nov 11, 2009
Verified Real Student Review

A Great Way to Supplement your GMAT Prep - Veritas Prep Course

July 20, 2010
  • Teacher: laura cook
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I started my GMAT preparation by myself, reading the OG and a few other books. But I could not bring myself to the level of focus and routine that is needed to succeed in the GMAT Test. So I looked for a couple of courses and sat in a free class of Veritas Prep. I liked the instructor and signed up for the course.

The course was well designed and the books were very good quality (both content wise and physically). The instructor was pretty good, she was knowledgeable and addressed almost all our concerns in the class. The homeworks were extensive, and completing all of them is a key to success. Homework help is also available, although I did not use it that much; the instructor's feedback was enough. Moreover, all the materials were available online, in case you missed a class.

The only problem I had with Veritas Prep course was their practice tests. They give you a lot of practice tests, I think 17 in all, but a number of them were useless, both in terms of content and in terms of the scoring algorithm. I also contacted the support team for fixing this issue, but unfortunately it did not happen.

My suggestion, use these tests just for some practice problems, not for assessing your level of readiness. Trust only the Official Tests for scoring assessment.

If you dedicate yourself to attending all the fourteen classes and to doing all the homework problems, Veritas' materials are great and will help you get through pretty well.

Thank You..Niladri. (GMAT - March 12, 2010, 740)
Joined: Jan 18, 2010
Purchased Course: Dec 3, 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep Review

July 20, 2010
  • Teacher: Maritess Panlilio
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Since this was the first class taught at the Anaheim location, I felt that we were somewhat the guinea pigs of the course. The only positive aspect of it was that since there were only 5 students who enrolled, the instructor could cater to each of the students' individual weaknesses. I felt that the instructor's verbal skills and techniques were excellent but her quant knowledge was sub-par. To be honest with you all, after I completed the class, I purchased the Manhattan GMAT set on Amazon.com and practiced on my own which was more effective. Perhaps it could be due to my learning style, but I would suggest that if you have time to self-study go ahead and buy give it a shot before you enroll in a prep course.
Joined: Mar 30, 2009
Purchased Course: Mar 30, 2009
Verified Real Student Review

You can do better

July 20, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I signed up for the veritas course with high hopes. The company markets itself as "elite" GMAT prep. I honestly think you can do better through careful use of self-study methods and a tutor. If you do want to take a class, I would recommend finding a short and cheap one offered by a local college. The reason is, you will get some initial improvement in your score by learning about the types of questions on the test, and some simple tricks..after that, it's all practice practice practice. Taking a long expensive class is just going to waste your valuable time.

Pros:
Methodically takes you through test.
Critical reasoning and Reading Comprehension lessons are good.

Cons:
-For being an elite class, the room felt crowded. I expected better accommodations.
-Long, after this class, you have already spent two months reviewing for GMAT. If the course does not provide needed improvement, you are likely looking at even more time for self study.
-Expensive, even after shelling out the money for the elite class, I still ended up purchasing all the manhatton books, OG guides and others.
-The materials that are provided are not sufficient for achieving a high score. As one example, the sentence correction book I was given was littered with errors in the correct answers portion. It is kind of hard to learn how to do something right if the correct answers aren't given to you. True, error corrections were on the website, but the # of errors is unacceptable for an "elite course"
-Lack of individual attention. Despite being the longest class, that does not mean you will really receive much individual attention. You are basically going to get out of it what the teacher covers.

--Bottom line: Going in with high expectations, I was obviously disappointed in the class. I really think that a class is useful for getting you an initial score boost, but not necessarily to your target score. So if you are going to take a class, I would recommend finding one that is short and relatively inexpensive. Then you can spend the additional time and money on self-study materials and possibly a tutor.

Joined: Jan 26, 2009
Purchased Course: Jun 9, 2008
Verified Real Student Review

To get to 700, Veritas can help. To Go beyond, its up to you.

July 20, 2010
  • Teacher: Ken Kleinfeld
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

To sum things up:
1. The instructor was great. The guy is truly brilliant. He was funny and challenging and motivational. It was a good teaching experience.
2. The curriculum was good, and the material veritas uses is good, up to a point. It is slightly different from the real GMAT questions, but it is much closer to the GMAT type questions than Kaplan and a lot of others that make their questions far more complex but straightforward that GMAT questions, which are simple but worded in a dense manner. This is a key a difference between courses and the test. To really get to beyond 700, you have to work the GMAC books because they are your bread and butter.
3. Results: Before I took the veritas course I took the GMAT and got a 680. I was going to apply to a PhD program so I need a score in excess of 720. I took the GMAT test 6 months after I took the course, after I did a heavy dose of personal study, using the beaththegmat resources, and got a 740. The veritas course was good, if I would have been applying to an MBA a 650 to 700 would have been suffice.
All in all it was a good course, done in a nice place, with a great instructor.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 60 61 62 63 64