Veritas Prep - Live Online
Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Veritas Prep - Live Online

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 165 reviews
22741 Pacific Coast Highway
Online, CA 90265
erichard18
Joined: Mar 2019
Purchased Course: Jan 2019
Major: Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas & Ravi: Best GMAT Investment

5 stars
March 31, 2019
Company: Veritas Prep 1273 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 500 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 165 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
With so many options for GMAT prep I struggled to decide what path to choose. I knew that it would be a large investment of my time and money and I did not want either to go to waste. I was worried that I would have no way of knowing whether or not I made the right choice. After completing the Veritas Prep course with Ravi, I am certain that I made the BEST choice and the BEST investment.

The Veritas Prep material helped me to understand the test at a level that was unattainable with the materials and strategy I was previously using to study. I found myself continually getting stuck on the same types of problems and could not figure out the root cause. Veritas Prep lays out the material you need to master in a digestible manner that will grow your skillset and deepen your understanding of the test itself.

Beyond the text, Ravi's class kicked my studying into high gear. Ravi holds every student in class accountable for every one of his/her answers. Ravi's classes are intense and he makes the absolute most of every one. His philosophy to think like a 99er forced me to approach every question with respect. After taking Ravi's class I feel confident in my abilities to beat the GMAT. I would recommend to every person looking to improve their study strategy and improve their score to take Ravi's class.

Elizabeth888
Joined: Mar 2019
Purchased Course: Dec 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep + Aaron Pond - highly recommend both!

5 stars
March 26, 2019
Company: Veritas Prep 1273 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 500 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 165 reviews
Teacher: Aaron Pond
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
I highly recommend signing up for a GMAT Prep course at Veritas Prep with Aaron Pond as your instructor! The Veritas Prep program is incredible. They give you both paper and electronic copies of your books. The curriculum is extremely thorough. They give you plenty of practice tests, daily help hours at convenient times, and a great six week program of online courses to prep for the GMAT. The online classes are great. Although I was hesitant of the format, you truly feel like you’re in a real classroom. Each virtual classroom also includes a group chat so you can chat with other students and the instructor. The instructor will often ask questions to the class and you can type in your response. They see how you are performing, which is great for them recommending how you might get extra help on a certain topic.

Before signing up for the course, I did a lot of research on which instructor I wanted. Finally, I decided on Aaron Pond. Best decision I have EVER made! I highly recommend Aaron Pond! He is undoubtedly one of the best teachers I have ever had in my entire life. First of all, he spent hundreds of hours creating a “GMAT Cheat Sheet” that is over 30 pages long and includes every single bit of information that is covered on the exam. In addition, the cheat sheet includes Aaron’s problem categorizations of different topics discussed throughout the course. If you struggle with a certain topic such as “Ratios”, you can easily find Aaron’s categorization of every single ‘ratio’ problem in the Veritas Prep books. I highly suggest you laminate and bind this cheat sheet immediately. (FYI Aaron only gives these cheat sheets to his students. My brother took a GMAT prep course with a different instructor, and he was extremely jealous of my cheat sheets and bummed that he didn’t get any.) I also recommend that you bind the cheat sheet on single-sided paper. I wrote a lot of extra notes on the empty pages. This really helped me out with studying.

Since Aaron is also a teacher outside of Veritas, he truly knows how to engage students in a meaningful way. Quant is not my strong point, and I have never really enjoyed math. Yet during Aaron’s online classes, he actually had me laughing out loud during the Quant sections on a regular basis! Aaron explains some concepts in a way that is so obnoxious yet memorable, so you are sure to never forget the concept on the actual GMAT. Aaron also gives great tips for studying after the end of class in addition to dozens of tips about successfully applying to business schools. Aaron makes himself available to his students well beyond the end of the course, and he is truly your ally in the GMAT/MBA application process. He had the perfect words of encouragement when I was struggling with my practice exams. Once I took the actual GMAT, I reached my goal score that was over 90 points higher than the score I thought I could achieve. Ironically, the actual GMAT felt much easier than the Veritas Prep practice exams. Trust me, you WANT to be surprised this way on exam day. Even after the exam, Aaron has been such a huge help in discussing different business school opportunities with me. He truly wants every one of his students to succeed well beyond the GMAT prep classroom.

Finally, I can’t say enough good things about Jeff Yin, my teaching assistant at Veritas Prep. He was invaluable in answering many of my questions on the side during class. Jeff was so patient at explaining difficult Quant topics in greater detail to me. He would also stay 45 minutes after each virtual class to help me with specific homework problems that I was struggling with. Jeff also runs the “homework help” hours on Mondays and Fridays, so I highly recommend you attend help hours on those days.

Honestly just go sign up for a Veritas Prep GMAT class with Aaron Pond – it will the best decision you ever make.

nooner237
Joined: Mar 2019
Purchased Course: Oct 2018
College: Auburn University
Major: Accounting
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Class with Ravi Sreerama - AWESOME!

5 stars
March 13, 2019
Company: Veritas Prep 1273 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 500 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 165 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
Ravi was an incredible teacher! I didn't know what to expect when signing up for this course, but I'm really glad I took it. Disregarding the GMAT for a second, Ravi was awesome. Really cool dude, super entertaining and hilarious. Made the three hour videos fly by as quickly as possible. He's clearly a smart dude, and gives some awesome tips on how to conquer the almighty GMAT gods. The Veritas course as a whole seems pretty effective. I scored a 640 but have been out of school for five years, so I was pleased. Got into all the programs I wanted so the goal was obtained thanks to Veritas and Ravi.

katrinakeay
Joined: Sep 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Experience Prepping with Ravi

5 stars
November 30, 2018
Company: Veritas Prep 1273 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 500 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 165 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
As the summer was winding down and I still felt unprepared for the GMAT after a couple months of halfhearted "studying", I felt like signing up for a class would provide the motivation I needed. After some research, I decided to sign up for a class with Ravi, and the Veritas course with him was definitely worth the time and monetary investment. Of course, his live online classes were only part of a successful GMAT prep process, but he broke down the test in a way that made it accessible and almost... fun? He doesn't have much of a filter and can be very blunt in class (read: he's NOT afraid to call people out if they did not come to class prepared) but if you can handle it, his classes are great. He is super engaging; somehow, the 3 hours would go by pretty quickly, and I came out of each class feeling like I had learned a lot. If you are looking for a class that will take your preparation to the next level, this is the one.

VL88
Joined: Sep 2018
Purchased Course: May 2018
College: UCLA
Major: Chemical Engineering
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep + Ravi Sreerama are a winning combo!

5 stars
September 20, 2018
Company: Veritas Prep 1273 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 500 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 165 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
I always wondered if test prep courses worked. After taking the Veritas Prep Live Online course with Ravi, I have no doubt that I wouldn't have earned the score I did without Veritas Prep's and Ravi's guidance.

Ravi does so much more than teach content in each class. He does a deep dive into the mind of the testmaker because the GMAT is about logic and strategy, not content memorization. He is also one of the best instructors I've ever had in any subject area. The course was online, but the platform was well-designed and Ravi used it to keep us all accountable through question polls. If you get a question wrong, he will know, and he will call you out on it in a private chat. He doesn't do this to shame you, rather to condition you to expect more from yourself. You want an instructor who does this because it forces you to grow.

Perhaps one of the more impactful things about Ravi as an instructor, for me, is his 99er mentality and that mindset he nurtures in each of his students. I was motivated to study hard, not just for my own benefit, but also to ensure I did Ravi's lessons justice. I took my first GMAT 3 weeks after the live online course ended and scored well by most people's standards, but not by my own that I've come to have thanks to Ravi. I re-took the GMAT a little less than a month later and scored 40 points higher. I would not have done this if Ravi hadn't instilled in each of us this 99er mentality. Ravi took the usually daunting task that taking the GMAT is, made it fun, and gave me a sense of confidence and calmness I had never before felt when walking into a standardized testing center. I highly recommend taking any of Ravi's courses!

P.S. - The Veritas Prep GMAT material is also very good. Its questions and practice tests are well-explained and harder than the real thing, which is good because it's better to train under tougher conditions. Good luck!

d.ellis
Joined: Aug 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Ravi's Veritas Online Course

5 stars
August 17, 2018
Company: Veritas Prep 1273 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 500 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 165 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
If someone had told me before I took Ravi's Veritas Prep course that I would get a 700+ and feel the slightest bit of dissatisfaction, I would have scoffed. However, Ravi dramatically altered both the expectations I had for myself and my approach toward the GMAT exam.

Despite my doubts about the effectiveness of online courses, Ravi had me excited to attend every class (in the middle of the summer). He facilitates a fun and interactive environment that demands preparation and participation in the most beneficial way. In fact, compared to an in-person course, many to which one can show up and get by without participation, this online course, when combined with Ravi's expectations, requires more attention to detail.

Ravi's expectations for his students throughout the course raised the level of expectation I had for myself. In an email before the first class, Ravi sets the tone of investment, comprehensively detailing the structure of the course and how to get the most out of it, proceeding to hold every student to the highest standard for the duration of the course. He takes time during breaks of each class to check in with individuals through the course's online chat feature. He GENUINELY CARES about how you progress, especially if you show enough respect by preparing and participation properly.

Combined with the Veritas Prep methodology, Ravi's insights and approaches to question types across the spectrum of GMAT questions were monumental. Each technique that he teaches is scalable to any difficulty level for a given type of GMAT question. He truly leaves all his cards on the table, and every little point he makes carries perhaps a bigger purpose than one might realize. His lessons will carry you to seeing questions and struggling to begin to think about them to, as Veritas Prep preaches, "thinking like the test maker," often seeing not only a quick and easy approach to a correct answer, but also why some of the wrong answers are tempting.

I strongly recommend Veritas Prep, and specifically Ravi, for anyone willing and able to put in the time and effort that Ravi expects. I genuinely had no idea that I was capable of the improvement that I have seen in my approach to the GMAT over the duration of the course.

bisperling
Joined: Aug 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Aaron's course was great!

5 stars
August 17, 2018
Company: Veritas Prep 1273 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 500 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 165 reviews
Teacher: Aaron Pong
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I took Aaron's online GMAT course and it was a great experience! His engaging teaching style and willingness to address individual student's needs makes for a fantastic learning experience. The resources that Aaron and Veritas provide are designed to help you tackle the GMAT in the most effective way possible. Aaron also suggests the best ways to practice and is always available to help if you encounter certain issues that are not covered in class. Additionally, you can always go back and review the recordings in case you missed something or could not make it to the online class one day. I highly recommend Veritas and Aaron's course!

JRoche
Joined: Aug 2018
Purchased Course: May 2018
College: The University of Texas
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Development
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Ravi's Course Made a Huge Difference for Me

5 stars
August 10, 2018
Company: Veritas Prep 1273 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 500 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 165 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I was hesitant to take an online GMAT Prep course because of my experience with online courses in college. I thought a GMAT online course would be similar - very boring and students would be basically unknown to the instructor. At the recommendation of a friend, I signed up for Ravi's Live Online Class through Veritas and I could not have been more pleasantly surprised. Ravi's classes are extremely engaging and just as interactive as an in-person class. Students type questions/comments into the group chat and Ravi addresses them immediately on camera. It's no different than raising your hand and asking your professor a question. Ravi is also really good at holding students accountable. If you obviously haven't prepared for the day's class, Ravi won't hesitate to tell you to log-off and come back once you have your act together. He expects his students to be prepared and eager each class, just as he is. His motto is "99 [percentile] or Bust" and he expects his students to approach class with the same mindset.

As far as content, I found the Veritas course materials to be really helpful. But, there may be other GMAT prep materials out there that are comparable. A few benefits of taking the class as opposed to just reading the textbooks were (i) being able to ask questions and (ii) the tips, side-notes, pointers, etc. that Ravi would verbally add to the written textbook content. I utilized a number of his pointers while studying for and taking the exam. The most significant benefit, though, was the level of engagement that Ravi created each class. Ravi's classes are interactive, energetic, and enjoyable and, because of that, I was able to focus and retain information quickly. Ron Awad was the TA for my course and the Ravi/Ron duo is second to none. Ron is super sharp and supplements Ravi's lesson with his own tips by posting them in the group chat. He is also hilarious.

In case you are wondering, my enjoyment from Ravi's course is my sole motivation for writing this review. I honestly never write reviews, ever, but I feel that strongly about Ravi's course. He is genuinely a bright, funny, likable guy. He has tremendous command of the course material and he was never stumped by a student's question - not once. His presentation skills are also superb. He doesn't constantly use filler words (ahh, umm, etc.) which would get very annoying after listening to someone speak for three hours. He is professional, takes his teaching very seriously, and cares immensely about the progress of his students. He's also quick to laugh and it's very rewarding to post a comment in the group chat that makes him crack up on screen. Definitely worth a try.

TL;DR - I highly recommend Ravi's Live Online course if you know that you want to take the GMAT and are willing to put in the work to crush it. Ravi’s course is not for those who "think" they want to take the GMAT. I took my exam four weeks after completing Ravi's course and got the score I wanted on my first attempt. I'm not saying that simply taking Ravi's class is a GMAT silver bullet. I do think, though, if you have the will and desire to crush the GMAT, Ravi's course will provide the tools to get you there.

daniellepma
Joined: Aug 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
College: University of California Berkeley
Major: Biology
Industry: Multimedia
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Ravi's 99 or bust mentality is what you want with you on test day

5 stars
August 1, 2018
Company: Veritas Prep 1273 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 500 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 165 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I took Ravi's live online course, and it was the best decision I ever made. First off, the live online format is AWESOME. I was initially worried that it wouldn't feel as engaging or I might not have an opportunity to ask questions, but that is definitely not the case. Class was always dynamic, and the online environment actually ADDED to the experience because we would answer poll questions from which Ravi could actually glean insights on how the class was doing, what we were thinking, and how each individual was performing. He would speak to that in real time + tailor his teaching around it. I really mean that - like, for instance, I ask a question using the main chat box thing, Ravi responds live on camera, addresses me by name, AND he knows whether or not I got the last problem correct (I assume he has a student dash always in view), so he can weave that into his reply as needed. The added bonus? The live online classes are recorded + available to watch again, which is a gamechanger. I watched all quant lessons over in advance of my exam to make sure I had the concepts solidified.

Ravi is a phenomenal instructor. I should note that I actually took my first GMAT exam before my class was actually over, so that should give you a sense of how impactful his teaching and framework were for me. I was able to hit the 700 mark within weeks of beginning serious study, and I definitely plan on taking the exam again (once my class is over this time). Ravi's drills home a "99th percentile or bust" mentality for ALL his students which is incredibly motivating. He does not sugarcoat, he provides tough love, and he is probably not for everyone. He's for serious students (with a sense of humor ;) who can stand to take some fair punches in service of their learning, growth, and development. He really tells it like it is and gives concrete tips + strategies on how to beat the test.

It was the Ravi mindset and smart strategies that helped me more than the review of the content. I'm generally "good at learning" - I can learn content from books or really from any instructor. The things Ravi brings to the table are way more valuable - things like teaching you HOW to guess, shortcuts to beat the timer, HOW to react when you get problems wrong + why takeaways are important, etc.

Despite having a bazillion students, Ravi was also always available to give advice + help his students. I hit a roadblock mid-way through my studies, so I private messaged him during class. He was immediately able to guess what I was doing wrong and "unstuck" me within a matter of minutes. He's that good.

I should also note that I have all the Manhattan Prep books and The Official GMAT guides, and the Veritas material/structure is my favorite. It's smart, designed for speed + efficiency, and spunky if you pick an instructor like Ravi.

xtinalee
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Sign up for Ravi's class -he won't disappoint!

5 stars
July 21, 2018
Company: Veritas Prep 1273 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 500 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 165 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 710
I wish I had known about Ravi's online classes earlier in my GMAT journey because honestly this is the only prep you need in order to succeed. Breaking 700 seemed like an impossible goal until I took Ravi's class. This was my first time taking a live online class so I was a little apprehensive but it was actually a great experience and I probably learned more from his class than all of the prep books I bought combined. It's hard to study when you work a full-time job during the week but Ravi actually made the classes fun and engaging. Ravi private messages you during the course to let you know how you are doing which just goes to show how dedicated he is to his students. You can tell he is passionate about teaching and has no time for slackers. A lot of time and effort is needed to beat this test and I can't thank Ravi enough for helping me reach my goal.