Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 20 reviews
1221 22nd St. NW
Washington, DC 20037
Joined: Jan 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
College: Agnes Scott College
Major: English
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

100 point increase with Veritas Prep

5 stars
October 7, 2015
Company: Veritas Prep 1257 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 487 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 530   After: 630
After scoring a 530 on my GMAT, I knew that I needed to step my GMAT study game up several levels. Not only that would I wanted to submit in Round 1 for 2015, so I didn't have much time.
David and his co-conspirator (Moderator) Brigidette were fantastic. I learned a number of new strategies for both the verbal and quant section that helped me.

Joined: Aug 2015
Purchased Course: May 2015
College: University of South Florida
Major: English
Industry: Education
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent but fast!

4 stars
August 24, 2015
Company: Veritas Prep 1257 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 575 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Anthony Ritz
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 510   After: N/A
This was an exceptional course. I really struggle with math, but the structure of the course helped me get the most out of my GMAT prep. The Skill Builder sections due before each lesson were easy to understand and super helpful. The tools taught during class were beneficial but take practice to reinforce. Anthony is a legit genius and a really talented teacher, especially when it comes to quant. I would recommend him with no hesitation. The course is fast, though... very fast.

Joined: Apr 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
College: The College of William & Mary
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing

5 stars
April 23, 2015
Company: Veritas Prep 1257 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 575 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Anthony Ritz
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 710
Anthony was amazing. He is an incredible instructor and I think the he truly cared about my improvement. My first two GMAT scores were 660 and 680. I was really hoping to get over 700 so I decided to take a class and tutoring with him. I recently took the GMAT and achieved a 710 and I truly believe it of Anthony. I would absolutely recommend him to anyone who is interested in taking a GMAT class.

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Anthony Ritz Outstanding Tutor!!

5 stars
March 13, 2015
Company: Veritas Prep 1257 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Anthony Ritz
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 500   After: N/A
Anthony is truly a brilliant individual and a tremendous tutor whose successes on standardized testing are virtually unmatched. He scored in the 99th percentile on the GMAT exam, and is just as successful on other exams as well. Watching him masterly dissect and break down questions and answers is quite a sight to see, yet he does so in ways that are understandable to the student he is tutoring.

However, above all else, Anthony's best quality is that he genuinely cares about each one of his students. GMAT prep and the GMAT itself are both incredibly frustrating and pride-swallowing experiences, but Anthony made them manageable. He teaches you how to think properly, and also how to build a game plan for success. Additionally, for 1-on-1 tutoring, he is very accommodating when it comes to scheduling. He makes himself available for sessions even if your only availability is on a Friday night. He is 100% dedicated to ensuring to the best of his ability that his students reach their GMAT goals.

I improved 100 points from my first exam to my second exam, and I could not have done it without Anthony's help. If you are determined to score well on the GMAT and are located in the Washington, DC area, I highly recommend Anthony to anyone looking to take their testing abilities to the next level.

Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep better than the rest

5 stars
October 18, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 1257 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 575 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Anthony Ritz
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Veritas is by far the best investment one can make if considering a prep course for the GMAT or LSAT. They begin by teaching you about the true purpose of the exam and how they use both quantitative and qualitative to test these abilities. In essence, they begin the course by explaining to you why the hell the GRE and GMAT use high school level problems to test your post-graduate ability. Once they explain this in their foundational lesson, the rest of the exam makes much more sense. My instructor, Anthony Ritz, was fantastic in not only explaining problems but in constantly reminding you about the foundations of the exam, which brings so much clarity in times of extreme confusion! He is always open to ANY questions and will make sure you understand the material before the class moves on. I even did a few private tutoring sessions with Anthony and he really helped pinpoint my weaknesses in the exam. After a significant amount of work and targeting these weaknesses I have improved in my abilities.

Additionally, Veritas' online instructors (like Brian) are really helpful during the online videos. I missed a class and had to do the online course which I was hesitant to do because I need a person there teaching me the material. I was pleasantly surprised by the online videos which kept me engaged the whole time during the course.

I was a bit concerned about the price at first but it is really worth the money. I previously did a $500 GRE course based off of the Manhattan Prep and after I was done with it I scored the same on my GRE as the day I took it hungover my senior year in college. SO whatever package you get from Veritas is well worth your money. Not only do you get the books, the great teachers and the online sources, but also additional resources such as MBA counseling (another really helpful feature).

You will not regret using Veritas and I guarantee a great experience.

Joined: Feb 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course, Worth the Investment

5 stars
February 28, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 1257 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 575 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Nick Bluhm
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I'm only several weeks into the course and have yet to take the actual test, but so far I've been very pleased. Nick is a great teacher and truly cares about each student's progress. He takes a keen interest in your development and always has extra time for help during or after class. He moves quickly so he won't linger on problems but he makes himself available if you ask. Well worth the time and money.

Joined: Oct 2012
Purchased Course: Sep 2012
College: Emory University
Major: Business
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course

5 stars
October 22, 2012
Company: Veritas Prep 1257 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 575 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Eric Maltzer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Eric's enthusiasm and encouragement were exactly what I need to rev up my GMAT preparation. He genuinely cares about his students doing as well as possible and it shows. Before entering the class I was worried that sitting through 3 hours of GMAT instruction a night would be pretty boring, but Eric was highly engaging and made class interesting. He is a great teacher and explained the concepts in terms that made them easy to grasp quickly and remember.

The Veritas course materials are great - there are tons of practice problems and they are provided in actual physical books as well as online (for those of us who don't like carrying around heavy books). They also give you access to 15 full CAT practice tests, which are very useful.

Joined: Jul 2012
Purchased Course: Apr 2012
College: University of Maryland
Major: Biochemistry
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Solid Materials, Superb Teacher. This Course Gives You All the Tools to Succeed!

5 stars
August 26, 2012
Company: Veritas Prep 1257 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 575 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Eric Maltzer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
Most of my undegrad had been mostly science-based so I enrolled in Veritas hoping to brush up on my quant skills and score high enough on the GMAT to target top 20 schools. Going into the full veritas course I had barely any prior knowledge of the GMAT or of any standardized testing for that matter. My review will consist of 3 sections: Eric, the Veritas materials and specifics, and my course experience and various specifics. However, if you have any additional questions please feel free to PM me.

Eric Maltzer is not only a fully qualified GMAT teacher/tutor but has aced many standardized tests and has deduced many common denominators and tips that apply on all standardized tests. Eric was great because he didn't waste time with rote memorization or esoteric techniques. He really focused on strengthening our "core" GMAT skills, habits we would need or find helpful with anything the GMAT could possibly throw at us. In fact, many of the tips and techniques Eric taught will be helpful on many standardized tests. Eric also held one-on-ones at least twice with each student in the class and expressed interest in our progress and offered tips for our unique scenarios. Eric also asked that we keep in touch and email him if we needed any advice or had any concerns at any point during the GMAT process (he also responded to emails really quickly). I left Eric's class feeling that I had an in depth knowledge of the GMAT and its tricks which allowed me to maximize my pre-GMAT studying time and get the score I got.

The Veritas materials were through and did a great a job overall. The veritas course books go through in depth strategy and technique for various GMAT topics. Some of their techniques were invaluable while some I didn't really need that much. However there are two really great things about Veritas. The first is that, especially in the quant books, I found that Veritas provides better explanations than any other books I used. Going through their quant books easily brought me into the above average quant range. Secondly, Veritas has a great website that provides quality lectures on each GMAT topic which I found really helpful. With this course get free access to the website for a year and you can also retake the Veritas at any course, anywhere in the world for free!

The course was held at the Washington Marriott in the Dupont Circle/Embasy Row area which is nice and pretty central. It was held in a board/meeting room and there were pitchers with ice water as well as pens and notepads there for us everyday with I thought was really nice. As I said my primary focus was quant and over the summer I moved for 19th percentile on my first practice test to 65th percentile on the actual GMAT, not bad at all! In fact, on the official GMAT practice test I took right before the GMAT I hit a 48 quant (86th percentile). If I had started up with a little more math prowess I sure this course would have put put me well into the 700s. Eric and Veritas gave me all the tools to succeed, the Veritas course is really a quality product!

Joined: Feb 2012
Purchased Course: Mar 2012
College: George Mason University
Major: Public Administration
Industry: Government
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Well worth the money

5 stars
June 29, 2012
Company: Veritas Prep 1257 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 575 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Eric
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I took the Veritas GMAT prep because business school is a large investment and I want the school I choose to be worth the money I am going to pay, i.e. want to get a good job upon graduation. Of course to get into the good schools you must have a high GMAT score. I know this is not my strong point so I researched test prep companies and decided on Veritas. By end of the first week I knew I had made the right choice. Eric, the instructor, is extremely knowledgeable about the GMAT and standardized tests in general. He also managed to keep 3 hours of GMAT class interesting (a feat I previously didn't think possible). Further Eric actually cares about his "kids". He goes out of his way to answer emails and hold one-on-ones with all students to make sure everyone is able to reach their full potential on the GMAT. I can assure anyone if you go to all the classes and put the effort into understanding the material you will do well on the GMAT because Eric explains the GMAT so that everyone of normal intelligence can understand. I honestly say this might be my best investment yet.

Joined: Jun 2012
Purchased Course: May 2012
College: Georgetown
Major: International Relations
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Refresher of Critical Concepts

5 stars
June 24, 2012
Company: Veritas Prep 1257 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 575 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Eric Maltzer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I was prepared to be bored silly for 6 hours a week of GMAT concepts and problems, however Eric's teaching style made it much more enjoyable than expected! It could have been a real grind (and it wasn't easy at times) but it was helpful to be taught by a peer - his examples and stories from taking the GMAT were very memorable. He also came up with many helpful hints for us that weren't in the books. He made himself available to the class and was happy to answer any and all questions we had without making us feel like we were imposing on his time outside of classroom hours.

I learned a lot about the structure of the GMAT, thought the books and sample problems were very well done, and hope to get a great score when it comes time to take the actual test! The support provided by Veritas Prep, including all the online help, was a great addition to the classroom hours. And I love the fact that I can drop into classes later - something I plan to take advantage of.

I suppose the real proof will be when I take my first GMAT later this summer and, hopefully, get a great score!

The Latest Veritas Prep Forum Posts

The Latest Veritas Prep Forum Posts