Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC
Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 20 reviews
1221 22nd St. NW
Washington, DC 20037
cleverusername
Joined: May 2012
Purchased Course: Dec 2011
Verified Real Student Review

Extremely Thorough Prep

4 stars
May 4, 2012
Company: Veritas Prep 1274 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 579 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Anthony
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The tutor was extremely knowledgeable about the GMAT and made sure to keep the 3 hours as interesting as possible. In addition to learning the material, we also learned many little tricks and tips that are necessary to do well on the GMAT. The prep books are extremely thorough and do a good job of covering everything from the basics all the way up to what a 700 level question would look like.

DNidess
Joined: Apr 2012
Purchased Course: Dec 2011
College: University of South Carolina Honors College
Major: Accounting
Industry: Military
Country: United States

In two months I went from having no idea what was on the GMAT to scoring a 750.

5 stars
April 17, 2012
Company: Veritas Prep 1274 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 579 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Anthony
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
I knew from the first class that Veritas was going to be worth my time and money and I was not disappointed. The course breaks down the different GMAT sections into major sub-topics and gives you techniques to solve every type of question in a timely manner. I know that I would not have figured most of these out on my own.

My instructor, Anthony, was an expert on the subject and, more importantly, could convey it succinctly and in a manner that made it very easy to pick up. He kept the classes interesting; it never seemed like a trial to sit through the seven hours on Saturday, and he even made himself available to answer questions after the course had finished. As a professional teacher myself, I consider his abilities to be top of the line.

Although the instruction was the centerpiece of the course, the additional materials also made a huge difference. The hundreds of questions in each book and the many practice tests and performance trackers on the website were key to getting in the necessary ‘reps’. By the time I actually took the GMAT I felt completely comfortable with the types of questions on it, the curves used to throw you off, and the time constraints.

I would recommend Veritas and Anthony to anybody who is serious about doing well on the GMAT. If I had not gotten the score I wanted the first time through, I would have instantly gone through their course again to further improve. But that wasn't necessary. Once was plenty.

kp1234
Joined: Aug 2011
Purchased Course: Mar 2011
College: Yale University
Major: History
Industry: Government
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Worth the Investment

5 stars
August 30, 2011
Company: Veritas Prep 1274 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 579 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Bill Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
VeritasPrep breaks down the material into digestible, manageable sections. It's clear they have given a lot of thought to how to appeal to a broad spectrum of learners--whether you need a process or mnemonic device or gobs of practice problems. There's no way I would have scored as high as I did without this class.

My one suggestion to those like me (full time jobs, out of school for a few years) would be to plan to spend 6-8 weeks after the course taking practice tests and doing problems. My work schedule didn't allow me the time I needed to put in studying during the class, so I needed the following weeks to practice and hone all the tricks I learned during VeritasPrep.

When I hear about my friends' experiences with other courses, I am confident I took the right course for me. From the materials to the method, VeritasPrep gave me all the tools I needed for the test. I would highly recommend their class.

Joined: Jun 2019
Purchased Course: Mar 2011
Verified Real Student Review

Full Course Plus Private Tutoring Paid Off

5 stars
August 22, 2011
Company: Veritas Prep 1274 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 579 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Bill Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I took the full course and took the GMAT 3 weeks later. I was not pleased with my original math score so I decided to do a few private tutoring sessions with my instructor Bill Robinson before taking it again. We only focused on math, which was the area I needed to improve. Spending the time one-on-one really helped me to refocus my attention on certain concepts and strategies. Bill helped me figure out what I needed to work on which also motivated me to study better on my own. I took the test again 5 weeks later and was thrilled to reach my goal score.

UWDoug
Joined: Aug 2011
Purchased Course: Mar 2011
College: University of Wisconsin-Madison
Major: History
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A good foundation and lots of practice

4 stars
August 21, 2011
Company: Veritas Prep 1274 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 579 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Bill Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
Veritas Prep was a good foundation that offered a ton of practice. My instructor, Bill was super knowledgeable and available. The classroom work covers all the concepts, and the work books offer a lot of practice. The in-class instruction mirrors the beginning of each lesson book, which I thought was a let-down. However, in my opinion the real value is the sheer amount of practice tests that Veritas offers through their online service, which is included in the course package. I took every practice test possible - that is what made me feel truly prepared. Also, online lessons are available if you miss one, which is a decent substitute. All together the course was definite positive and worth the cost, the availability of the instructor and the volume of practice problems meant I saw almost every trick on the GMAT.

JK1108
Joined: Aug 2011
Purchased Course: Mar 2011
College: Tulane Univeristy
Major: Psychology
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Huge Improvement with Little Work

5 stars
August 19, 2011
Company: Veritas Prep 1274 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 579 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Bill Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
My first practice GMAT score was 620 (before starting the course but after spending a little time reviewing the Kaplan books) and my last one was 750 (after Veritas). I got a 740 on the actual GMAT and only had to take it once.

The class is great. It is broken down into easy to remember and understand lessons mixed with GMAT tips. I didn't have to do much outside of class to prepare. My instructor was wonderful. He knew the answer to every question (even ones I made up on the spot) and was happy to help during class hours or even outside of class.

The online materials at Veritas were also helpful. I used the practice tests a few of the quizes. I know all the lessons are online as well if you miss any or just want to review.

NathanC
Joined: Apr 2011
Purchased Course: Jan 2011
College: New York University
Major: History
Industry: Government
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Extremely Comprehensive and Thorough Course- Helped a "Non-Math Person" Score Well on the GMAT

5 stars
April 12, 2011
Company: Veritas Prep 1274 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 579 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Eric Maltzer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Selecting a GMAT course was an important decision for me. As someone who is applying to JD/MBA programs and does not have much direct business work experience (having worked primarily in government), I knew that my GMAT score needed to be top-notch in order to be competitive for the schools I’m applying to. I chose Veritas Prep because I had been told how thorough their class was, and I knew that their courses were longer and more comprehensive than comparable course offerings with other companies.

Having now completed both the Veritas Prep course as well as the actual GMAT, I am very glad that I chose Veritas. My GMAT score was above 700, which I was very happy with. Interestingly, this score is significantly better than my LSAT score in terms of percentile ranking, in spite of the fact I have never really been a “math person” and have not taken a math class since my last year in high school (in 2000- eleven years ago)!

I would credit what for me was a very successful test to a few factors: The intensity of the Veritas curriculum, the quality of my instructor (all Veritas instructors have to score at the 99th percentile to even be considered for hiring), and I guess also the fact that I did study quite hard. (The materials you get in your Veritas class are EXTREMELY comprehensive, by the way. I spent a LOT of time studying, and I still did not work through all of the materials in the books and online. You definitely get your money’s worth in this regard).

The Veritas class I took (in Washington, D.C.) was taught by Eric Maltzer, and I could not have been happier with him as an instructor. Eric’s approach was in-line with the Veritas model overall in that he did not believe he was there to teach us how to cram “testing tricks” into our heads for test day. Rather, he taught us how to think about and approach the various math problems and verbal exercises by teaching the fundamentals. As someone who, while not bad at math, has not taken a math course in over a decade as mentioned, this “fundamentals” approach was very useful and took away a lot of the mystique surrounding the quantitative section. That’s not to say that the quantitative section was a total breeze on test day (though I did well), but it did teach me how to approach problems and also not to freak out when I saw a problem that seemed like a curveball (which somehow actually seemed to happen on problem number one!). In the end, this helped me to score nearly as high on the quantitative section as on the verbal section (only one point lower, in fact).

Eric was also the type of teacher who took a huge interest in his students, checking in with each of us individually and always making himself available to meet before or after class. I was very impressed with his dedication, which was superior to what I saw in the LSAT course I previously took from a different leading test prep company.

Overall, if you are looking for an intensive test prep course which takes a non-dumbed-down, fundamentals-focused approach, I wholeheartedly recommend Veritas. You’re going to spend the same amount of money as you would with one of the other established companies, but you’re going to get a more thorough course, excellent test prep materials (print and online), and – in my experience – high quality instruction.

ET1189
Joined: Mar 2011
Purchased Course: Dec 2010
Verified Real Student Review

A worthwhile 8 weeks.

5 stars
March 14, 2011
Company: Veritas Prep 1274 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 579 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Eric Maltzer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
Before taking the Veritas Prep course with Eric, I was unsure if it was even worth taking a course. I thought that if I put in time through self-study, my score would increase enough. Luckily, I opted for the course and learned a lot more than simple facts and formulas that can be found in any prep book.

Eric taught me the requisite soft skills necessary to beat the GMAT. The test isn't about memorizing question types or mathematical equations. It's a test of mental poise and agility. Eric repeatedly emphasized what he called "the fundamentals" and assured me in one-on-one sessions that if I mastered those core concepts and stayed focused, that I could get a great score.

My score went up 60 points in the 9 week period from the first lesson until test day. Now, my score is competitive at all business schools, instead of just most business schools. I attribute the score increase to the skills I learned in the course with Eric, not rote memorization.

AmmonD
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 2010
College: Central Missouri State
Major: Economics
Industry: Government
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great coach. Quirky personality, but knew his stuff.

5 stars
August 12, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1274 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 579 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Ken
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
The class was great, Ken was very professional. I enjoyed the tips he gave us - and the regimen of study. The study materials are first rate, and I really appreciated that the class had 42 hours of instruction. That pace meant that I kept up well, but the class was always moving forward.

My score would have been better - but I had a baby the first week of the class, so I was less than diligent in my study. Don't let that dissuade you - others in the class scored well over 700.

In the end - it was worth the money.

MBABound?
Joined: Mar 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2009
Verified Real Student Review

530 to 690

5 stars
July 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1274 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 579 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Travis Sorensen
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 530   After: 690
This course helped me move from a 530 on my first diagnostic to a 690 on the GMAT. The materials, pace, and focus on content was critical to helping me improve my score.

I took the Saturday course which combines 2 sessions in one day. No other company offered that flexible schedule.

I would highly recommend this course.