Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Veritas Prep - Marriott West Loop - Galleria

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 16 reviews
1750 West Loop South
Houston, TX 77027
Joined: Nov 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
College: Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Mark made me feel like Neo in the GMAT matrix

5 stars
November 21, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1256 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 575 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott West Loop - Galleria 16 reviews
Teacher: Mark Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 790
When I began my study of the GMAT I assumed that self study would be sufficient and that there was no way I would need a prep course. After flat lining on my performance right off the bat I received the recommendation to take the in-person Veritas prep course from a very intelligent individual I know who, as it turned out, had taken the course previously. I signed up for the in person Sept-Oct 2017 course with Mark Robinson in Houston and without a doubt this was an unbelievably good decision. Mark imparted an incredible insight into how to approach the GMAT and it is a testament to his teaching skills that I feel that I have become a better thinker overall, not just a better GMAT test taker. I achieved a score that I never believed would be possible until it popped up on the computer screen, and for that I have to thank Mark and the Veritas Prep team.

Joined: Oct 2016
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
College: Oklahoma State University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommended

5 stars
October 10, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1256 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 575 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott West Loop - Galleria 16 reviews
Teacher: Mark Alan Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 520   After: 660
I took the Tuesday/Thursday Full Course with Mark Alan Robinson in July/August 2016. I took a lot away from this class, not just about conquering the GMAT but about life.

Mark understands that everyone learns slightly different, therefore he presents information in several different ways. He has found ways to show quantitative students how to succeed on the verbal section and vise versa. Mark was also very engaging and made me look forward to going to class. He stayed after class whenever necessary to assist with any additional questions, was very approachable, and sent multiple emails to the class asking how we were doing with studying and test taking. It really made me feel that he genuinely cared and wanted me to succeed. Also, his easy personality and openness created a very healthy and interactive classroom environment.

While going through each lesson book within the Veritas course, Mark also provides a great amount of supplemental information and tips that he has attained over the years of teaching and tutoring. I took the GMAT three times, and this last piece is what I attribute my 100 point score increase to.

Simply put, I couldn't have asked for a better teacher. I would recommend anyone interested in taking the Veritas prep course to sign up for Mark's class. It is well worth it.

Joined: Feb 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2015
Major: Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Houston Live In-person Course

4 stars
March 14, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1256 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 575 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott West Loop - Galleria 16 reviews
Teacher: Mark Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 690
A little preface, I took Manhattan self study a few years ago and sat for the GMAT. I scored in the low 600's.
After contemplating business school, I decided the best chance of my acceptance was to retake the GMAT. After reading numerous reviews online, I decided Veritas Prep was the best choice, especially since they had a money-back guarantee if I didnt beat my previous live GMAT score. The VP materials were excellent and thorough, I think each section clearly broke down the GMAT subjects and strategies needed to master the test. For me personally, an in-person class was very helpful to grasp concepts not easily understood. Our instructor was very good at relating the material to practical business applications( ie: sentence correction errors to real life lawsuits where companies lost millions on the use of the wrong verb conjugation) and had great personal examples (catch phrases, stories, etc.) that allowed me to easily remember material when sitting down and taking the test. My biggest complaints were the classroom and pace of the course. The classroom was small, had tiny tables, was in a mediocre hotel, and constantly smelled of burned plastic. The pace of each night of class was very inconsistent. Often times we would go slow at first, then speed through the end sections(more difficult problems) and not finish each book. We were so slow that we had to add an extra night just to finish all the material, granted it turned out to be a nice review session of all the subjects. Don't think if you go to class, you'll ace the test. Outside of the classroom hours, be prepared to dedicate each weekend to 1 practice test and homework (8 hours at least).

Joined: Feb 2014
Purchased Course: Nov 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Mark is an amazing instructor and his course will affect me for life.

5 stars
February 27, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 1256 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 575 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott West Loop - Galleria 16 reviews
Teacher: Mark Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Mark's in person GMAT course was very beneficial for me. His in depth, easy to follow explanations really helped my understanding of the material. I would highly recommend him, as well as Veritas Prep to anyone I know. Much more effective than any other prep course option out there!

Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2011
College: India
Major: Science and Math
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT Review course

5 stars
March 1, 2013
Company: Veritas Prep 1256 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott West Loop - Galleria 16 reviews
Teacher: Mark Alan Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 680
Veritas Prep has an excellent course syllabus and material and Mark did a great job in highlighting how to think and approach the test. The results were great and I got into the school of my choice for an eMBA program

Joined: Feb 2013
Purchased Course: Jan 2013
College: university of Houston
Major: Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Mark Robinson is the man!

5 stars
February 28, 2013
Company: Veritas Prep 1256 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 575 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott West Loop - Galleria 16 reviews
Teacher: Mark Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Mark Robinson's approach to the GMAT is unique.
The quality of curriculum was great although there were a few errors on the books we were provided for the course. The location where our class took place was very conveniently located for everyone in my opinion. I am still studying for the test, but so far there has been a huge improvement in my score after taking the class with Mark. By far Mark Robinson is one of the best instructors I have ever had.

Joined: Dec 2012
Purchased Course: Jan 2013
College: Boston University
Major: Marketing
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Recommend Veritas Prep

4 stars
February 27, 2013
Company: Veritas Prep 1256 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 575 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott West Loop - Galleria 16 reviews
Teacher: Mark Alan Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Overall - Veritas Prep far exceeded by standards for a general test prep course. Mark Robinson the instructor was phenomenal in his instruction and way he told the class through stories. He specifically made his own slides and charts to help teach the lessons when the book was not as relevant.

Additionally, Veritas Prep customer service, online support is superb. If there is ever an issue, a homework question, or online problem you will hear back from them in less than 24 hours.

That being said, because the Veritas Prep course is relatively new compared to the other test prep companies--it's online tools are not as robust as other test prep companies. Although this is not a critical deciding factor, it still is important in considering the format of the website, evaluation tools of what problems you need to work on, and ease/accessibility of iphone apps.

The course is very fast pace and goes relatively fast. Because I am not under a huge time crunch I think i would prefer to take it in the 12 week course verse the 6.

Joined: Feb 2013
Purchased Course: Aug 2011
College: Russian Federation
Major: Economics
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: Spain
Verified Real Student Review

Good GMAT prep courses, great professor!

5 stars
February 27, 2013
Company: Veritas Prep 1256 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 575 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott West Loop - Galleria 16 reviews
Teacher: Mark Alan Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 530
I was attending September-October 2011 Full Course in Houston, Texas taught by Mark Alan Robinson. He is a great teacher which helped me a lot in preparation for the GMAT! In a very easy fun and friendly way he explained all the aspects of the test and even taught us some tricks about how to solve problems easy and fast. I would definitely recommend these courses and this professor to anyone who wants to improve his/her knowledge and skills before the test!
P.S. International students should not wait for English Language classes there, it’s just a preparation for the GMAT. So if you are not sure about your language, improve it first!

Joined: Feb 2013
Purchased Course: Mar 2012
Verified Real Student Review

Blueberry Muffins

5 stars
February 27, 2013
Company: Veritas Prep 1256 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 575 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott West Loop - Galleria 16 reviews
Teacher: Mark Alan Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I took the Veritas May-June 2012 Full Course in Houston, Texas based on reviews I read online. I am pleased to say that the course far outpaced my expectations. Not only did our instructor, Mark Alan Robinson, cover the course material (which was very well put together) on a weekly basis, he added his years of teaching experience in making the subject matter enjoyable and practical. Mark was also very approachable on a one on one basis both for GMAT and career advice. Great teaching; great advice; great experience. Thanks Mark!

Joined: Feb 2013
Purchased Course: Sep 2011
Verified Real Student Review

Great and fruitful experience.

5 stars
February 27, 2013
Company: Veritas Prep 1256 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 575 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott West Loop - Galleria 16 reviews
Teacher: Mark Alan Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
In a process of choosing among most prominent GMAT courses back in August 2011 I made a comparative analysis of offers, quality and references from those who’d already attended these courses. No doubt the most beneficial course to me was the September-October 2011 Full Course in Houston, Texas. In terms of course organization it granted maximum time of study for reasonable price, abundance of online tests and amazing books with unique and distinguished approach. But whom I value the most is my professor, Mark Alan Robinson. His tutoring style was so easy-going and personal, that the audience was deeply involved into complicated and for some students unfamiliar material. Maintaining a firsthand contact with every student, Mark didn’t hesitate to stay after the lesson and to give additional explanations to those who didn't feel confident in comprehending the material. As a devoted husband and father he came up with great tips, tricks and examples illustrated by children environment and that made it so easy to keep in mind. Another important outcome was manager’s mindset he gave us: fast, savvy and intuitive, avoiding overthinking and straightforward calculations. Overall his know-how was invaluable to me to successfully pass my test and get the scores that let me apply in top-notch schools. Thanks, Mark and Veritas, for your efforts and keep going the same way!

The Latest Veritas Prep Forum Posts

The Latest Veritas Prep Forum Posts