Veritas Prep - Sheraton Boston Hotel
Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Veritas Prep - Sheraton Boston Hotel

4.7 stars
(4.7/5) - 26 reviews
39 Dalton Street
Boston, MA 02199
heathermilne
Joined: Sep 2008
Purchased Course: Apr 2008
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Political Science
Industry: Public Relations
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

If you're serious about b-school, splurge on Veritas.

5 stars
August 30, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1274 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 579 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Sheraton Boston Hotel 26 reviews
Teacher: David
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 710
Veritas was great and really made the difference for me and the GMAT. The instructors were phenomenal - especially David, who went above and beyond to provide solid lectures, good examples, and additional supplementary materials.

In addition to great teachers, Veritas' online classes were really helpful - either for reviewing material you're fuzzy on or making up for a missed class. Plus, they give you access to so many practice GMAT tests (some of their own, plus others they license), so you'll really feel prepared by the time test day comes.

The class format of Veritas really sets it apart from other programs. For me, having the hands-on classroom time plus TONS of homework/practice problems was the necessary nudge I needed to make sure I was devoting adequate time to studying.

The books are well thought out and give you a lot of detail. I'd recommend supplementing it with the Official GMAT guide (in your final weeks of studying) to really help give you a sense of the official GMAT Qs.

amac2004
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 2010
College: Stanford
Verified Real Student Review

Simply Amazing

5 stars
August 27, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1274 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 579 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Sheraton Boston Hotel 26 reviews
Teacher: David
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I cannot imagine a better program for GMAT prep.
Their books are very well written (though I would definitely buy the official gmat books to do some official problems). The class is structured in a clear and concise way. I didn't have an amazing classroom experience; for whatever reason my instructor exuded "I am annoyed you" vibes in my general direction (maybe I asked too many questions) but he knew the material well. I know some of my other classmates really enjoyed him. Where Veritas really goes above and beyond is their help resources online. I cannot tell you how many times I have emailed them with lists of problems that I didn't understand. Veritas always responded within the next day or two with detailed explanations for all of my questions. If they had any suggestions about what areas I needed more work on or extra tips and tricks they would send that my way as well. I cannot say enough about their online support.
They really are great program - you will have more than enough help and resources available to get a great GMAT score if you use Veritas as your prep resource!

g1peak
Joined: Aug 2010
College: Union College

Better Study Strategies

4 stars
August 26, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1274 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 579 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Sheraton Boston Hotel 26 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 510   After: 620
Prior to taking the GMAT the first time, I thought I was a smart kid who had done well in high school math course and who's political science degree would carry me through the GMATs Math and Verbal sections. After taking the test the first time with only self-guided studying, I realized that my math was rusty and my verbal strategies were not sufficient.

I reluctantly signed up for the Veritas prep course, but immediately realized its benefits. The course was a great mix of review (re-learning the math that I was good at 10-years ago) and of strategy.

Further, my intructor made himself very available to students; both in person as well as via email. In the days leading up to my exam, my instructor was very quick to respond to emails and provided me with a few excellent pieces of time management advice that dramitcally helped calm my nerves and improve my performance.

In the end, the course material, homework, and in-class teaching helped me to increase my overall score by over 100 points.

scahill
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
College: Vanderbilt University
Major: Economics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep and David Newland were great

4 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1274 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 579 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Sheraton Boston Hotel 26 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
The materials were good. Good homework suggestions. Great strategy tips. A great teacher. David really helped me work on my timing and how to approach the questions. I feel like he helped me to avoid a lot of 'stupid mistakes.' He had tons of hints on how to approach different questions. David was especially knowledgeable about the data sufficiency problems and had a great strategy for approaching them. I got a 750 on the GMAT after taking this class and I certainly didn't kill myself with prep. Probably 2 hours of work before each class then about 4 hours a day the week leading up to the test. I would definitely recommend Veritas Prep and want to give special credit to David Newland who was extremely knowledgeable and helpful, not to mention fun and cool.

bdw451
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2007
College: Northwestern University
Major: History
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course, time-saving tricks essential

5 stars
August 13, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1274 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 55 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Sheraton Boston Hotel 26 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 680
I really thought the Veritas course was a great prep for the GMAT. I had done a lot of prep on my own, but until I took the course, I hadn't felt entirely confident taking the GMAT.

Veritas materials are very close to the actual GMAT. When you buy the course, Veritas sends you a massive amount of material to use, both during the course and on your own. The instructors walk through problems and examples at length. Because I took the weekend course, it was tiring and time intensive, but I felt myself wanting to continually practice and improve.

David Newland was a great instructor. He made it fun, challenging, but always broke down each problem well and did not move on until everyone got it. The best part that helped me in the actual GMAT were the time-saving tricks that David taught. Ways to use the "reading the directions" time at the beginning, indicators of sentence structure, types of quant problems to look for, etc.

I'd recommend Veritas to anyone who is serious about improving their score to get into a top MBA school. It may seem like a hefty price to pay up front, but in the long run it will help achieve your goal.

cnicholas
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2008
Verified Real Student Review

750

5 stars
August 4, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1274 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 55 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Sheraton Boston Hotel 26 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I cant say enough about Veritas or David. I did not take the GMAT before the class so I cant give a starting base line. After the class I took the exam and scored a 670, a good score but I knew I needed to top 700 to be admitted to my school of choice. I called Veritas and explained how close I was and didn't have the $1,000 to take the course again. They waved the fee and explained that I could take the class a second time but after that I would have to pay again.

After taking the class a second time, my score increased 80 points to a 750. My verbal jumped to 99% and quant was in the mid 80s.

While Veritas was great about letting me take the class for a second time, my success came as a result of David's teaching. His style, energy, and enthusiasm made the 8-hour weekend days fly by. He was clear, concise, and knew how to teach the skills needed to succeed on the test. On each section he took stock of where the class was and adjusted his time allocation based on where he felt the class needed extra help.

I am confident that the strategies and tips I learned from Veritas allowed me to generate a score that was appealing to my top choice. While expensive, the gains I will generate over the life of my career will far outweigh the cost. I strongly recommend Veritas to someone who is serious about scoring well on the GMAT.