Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Grockit

4 stars
19 reviews
Joined: Jun 2009
Forum Posts: 94
Purchased Course: Jul 2011
College: Michigan State University
Major: Engineering
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great concept! Execution still needs improvement

3 stars
July 22, 2011
Company: Grockit 19 reviews
Course: Grockit Premium Membership 19 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
Grockit was the only "prep course" that I used. I really liked the initial concept: an online study guide that was visually appealing and allowed discussion within each individual question. I also thought the answer tracking and the lesson customizing to your weaknesses was a great idea.

However, the questions were not very effective at teaching GMAT topics - Grockit doesn't have a very strong library of practice GMAT questions... yet at least. Also, execution on the above offerings aren't fully developed yet.

I rate it as a good work in progress, but it didn't really aid me in my GMAT endeavors when I used it.

Joined: Jun 2010
Forum Posts: 2
Purchased Course: Oct 2010
College: University of Puerto Rico
Major: Pre-Health Sciences
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

It could be better.

2 stars
February 2, 2011
Company: Grockit 19 reviews
Course: Grockit Premium Membership 19 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
PRO: The problems are extremely similar to Official Guide questions. Sometimes all they change are the numbers or the names of the people/things/places in the OG questions. Thus, this is as close as one can get to practicing with real OG questions.

CON: But the explanations are not clear and sometimes have typos. The explanations are what you get after you pay for the service but they are not worth paying for.

CON: The customer service is responsive and nice. But I only know this because I kept having to contact them because the Grockit website was not working. I would say about once a month the website is down for a few days.

CON: The questions repeat themselves after a relatively short while.

PRO: It is fun to chat with others and sometimes you get to do problems with a Grockit Tutor for free.

PRO: You can customize the level of difficulty and type of question so that you can practice only certain particular skills.

Joined: Sep 2010
Forum Posts: 12
Purchased Course: Oct 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great

5 stars
November 6, 2010
Company: Grockit 19 reviews
Course: Grockit Premium Membership 19 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
If you have run out of Official guide questions, Grockit questions seem to be very much similar to the OG questions.

Grockit is much better than practicing from any other site, where people misguide.

Must use..

Joined: Nov 2009
Forum Posts: 1
Purchased Course: Oct 2009
College: Spain
Major: Law and Social Sciences
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: Spain
Verified Real Student Review

Grockit

3 stars
October 20, 2010
Company: Grockit 19 reviews
Course: Grockit Premium Membership 19 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 640
Grockit is a great course but I have found some problems:

- The time to answer the questions 2 min 30 sec is not the time per question that you should take in the real test.
- There are a lot of question repeated.
- The level of the questions is not as difficult as it is in the real test.
- The Grockit's CAT test is not accurate. It is not really a CAT and you can find questions in the test that you have answered before.


Joined: Sep 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Grockit is what you make of it

3 stars
September 26, 2010
Company: Grockit 19 reviews
Course: Grockit Premium Membership 19 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 550
I used Grockit to prepare for my GMAT exam. I mainly went through the solo practices and found the questions to be similar to the type found on the exam. I didn't do as well as I wanted to on the exam but that's because I didn't take advantage of what Grockit had to offer. I think that Grockit is a little unpolished compared to Kaplan or Princeton Review but it's still a useful tool.

Joined: Sep 2009
Forum Posts: 3
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Overall a good resource to have

4 stars
September 15, 2010
Company: Grockit 19 reviews
Course: Grockit Premium Membership 19 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Grockit questions seem to be very similar to the OG questions and are a good resource for practicing on a daily basis.

I would definitely recommend someone preparing for GMAT.


Joined: Sep 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
Verified Real Student Review

best, most convenient, lowest cost study tool for GMAT test prep

4 stars
September 15, 2010
Company: Grockit 19 reviews
Course: Grockit Premium Membership 19 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I have been a satisfied user of grockit for the past several months. The fee for standard membership was more than reasonable, and the online collaboration integration is brilliant. I only wish I was more motivated to spend more time on it, so I could finally take the test.
The instant grading and categorization of question types and other stats are extremely helpful and time saving compared to doing this on paper out of a book.

Joined: Sep 2010
Purchased Course: Apr 2009
Major: Logistics & Supply Chain Management
Verified Real Student Review

Great way to learn interactively!

5 stars
September 15, 2010
Company: Grockit 19 reviews
Course: Grockit Premium Membership 19 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
I thought Grockit was a great way to learn new concepts, practice the ones I had learned, and challenge myself with new questions. The way the site is constantly interactive helps you go from question to question is much better than just trying to go through a book on your own. Not to mention the live help you get through questions in the rooms hosted by Grockit teachers! Some were even free, which was fantastic.

I can't say enough with how much this helped above and beyond what I could have gotten out of just a book.

Joined: Dec 2009
Forum Posts: 4
Purchased Course: Jun 2010
College: University of Texas at Austin
Major: Economics
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Grockit Standard Review

5 stars
September 15, 2010
Company: Grockit 19 reviews
Course: Grockit Premium Membership 19 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Grockit is a great site that has tons of interaction that can help to make learning fun for the GMAT. You can race against other Grockiteers or play games in Verbal or Math against them - even get tutored if you'd like extra help! It brings GMAT prep to life and creates a place where you want to strive to succeed. Many top notch features are through Grockit, one in particular is where your stats are displayed in your profile, allowing you to check out your strengths and weaknesses.

Sign up for Grockit today, you won't regret it!

Joined: Jun 2010
Forum Posts: 44
Purchased Course: May 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great for Practice

4 stars
August 3, 2010
Company: Grockit 19 reviews
Course: Grockit Premium Membership 19 reviews
Teacher: No teacher
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
Grockit, I feel, is working very hard to give new features all the time. But there seems to be a problem that rises to it.

First the bugs. There are a few. Grockit introduced timed solo practice tests, and untimed solo practice tests. The untimed solo practice tests seem to have been disappeared. Also. Grockit has a great feature that after answering a certain number of questions, you can take a "Challenge test". My math test are no longer valid. Perhaps it could be that I am only allowed so many Challenge Quant tests, but the user interface should inform me, rather than not do anything. For reading comprehension, Grockit seems to have alloted a lot of time for each reading comprehension question - which is not at all what should be there on the GMAT

But again, its a great way to practice questions. I would recommend it for the quant section. I also have faith that Grockit will improve considerably for their GMAT section, since it seems to be a very promising site and a novel concept. If you start your GMAT preparation early, get Grockit for practice questions.

All the best to Grockit :)

The Latest Grockit Forum Posts