EMPOWERgmat
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 112 reviews
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
Major: Philosophy
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Learn the Right Approach -- Test It!

5 stars
May 19, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 112 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 112 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 730
After taking the GMAT for the first time last December, I felt like even though I had a solid foundation for the material, my approach still needed a little work. I had already gone through the video lessons offered through Magoosh and learned the Quant basics in the Target Test Prep course leading up to my first attempt. I came away from my first test feeling alright, but like there had to be a better approach to the questions. I emailed Rich directly and asked him for some insight. He was glad to look over my enhanced score report and offer his thoughts on moving forward from there. He had mentioned the Test It method, and it definitely sparked my interest. I ended up going through the all of the lessons on the Test It and Test the Answer approach and review lessons offered through Empower a few times and ended up coming out of my second attempt 20 points higher! So much for not being able to improve an already over 700 score. I could not have done it without Empower's approach to questions. I was able to triage every question right away and get through the entire test. Thanks Rich!

Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
College: Northwestern University
Major: Biology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Engaging, easy to tailor to your needs, responsive!

5 stars
May 17, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 112 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 112 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I loved EMPOWERgmat for many reasons. First, the quality of the practices and the explanation videos was incredible. The software really encouraged you to work through problems on your own first, and then giving you an in-depth explanation, which I feel is the best way to learn. It's also easy to customize this course for yourself. You click through the videos and you can focus more on what works for you and less on what you don't need as much help with. Lastly, whenever I had a question or an issue, the people at EMPOWER were extremely responsive and helpful. Overall, I highly recommend this course! I bumped up my score by almost 100 points using the tactics from EMPOWERgmat and I'm positive that everyone would experience similar results!

Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Great study experience with Rich and Max

5 stars
April 17, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 112 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 112 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 670
After a 610 on January 26th 2018, I have decided to purchase a month of the Empower Gmat course. Before, I did just the OG exercises, but they clearly weren't enough for me, since they only gave me the basics of the Gmat, not the answers to the most difficult questions.
Result after just than a month: 670 Q46 V34, and I am aware that my score could have been even higher. Max and Rich teaching method is incredibly easy but very effective: many small lessons with exercises in between. My passion for mathematics brought me to enjoy more the quant part than the verbal one, even though I had the most important increase in V from 28 to 34.

Highly recommended.

P.S.: their slogan "Gmat assasins aren't born, they are made" is not just a slogan but a lesson to keep in mind while preparing for the Gmat.

Giorgio Pagani
Milan, Italy

Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Loved this tool so much!

5 stars
April 11, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 112 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 112 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I absolutely loved using this tool and felt that is properly prepared me for the GMAT! I ended up getting a score that was 750+ and attribute a lot of that to EMPOWERgmat approach.

The on-demand videos were engaging, informative, and taught me how to properly take the test (not just simply do math or sentence construction). The approach to teaching the content was organized and followed a logical approach that empowered me to grasp key concepts, practice doing problems, and receive almost instant feedback. The overall tone of the entire tool is casual enough to make you feel engaged, not intimidated, but the content demonstrates absolutely expertise and masterly of the GMAT. Additionally, I liked the recommendations that Rich makes about how to take the test well - the preparation meant that I felt cool, calm, and collected when I took the test.

Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
College: University of Delhi
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWER worked like magic!

5 stars
March 9, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 112 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 112 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 650
I had studied the GMAT curriculum from a coaching institute earlier and that too for about 3 months. But when I started with the mocks, it got difficult for me to finish on time especially in the Verbal section as I always ended up missing questions. Also, in Quants my scaled score was completely stuck on a 42 out of 60. No matter how much I practiced, there wasn't any improvement somehow, barely a point or so. In my mocks I was always in the range of 550-600. I gave my GMAT and scored a 560. I knew no way to push my score as I had pretty much exhausted the Manhattan mocks and practiced from Official GMAT Prep, Veritas and sources. That's when I read about EmpowerGMAT online and enrolled for just a month as the college application deadlines were around the corner.

I must say EMPOWER has been my savior. Rich and Max taught me different ways to attack questions and how to save time. TEST IT technique in Quants worked wonders for me and my Quants score got pushed up. This technique actually helped me solve questions in less than a minute and earlier similar questions took at least 2 mins. TRIAGE technique has been a marvel. My score got pushed from a 560 to 650, all thanks to EMPOWER. The team is way quick with their reverts, whenever I had some issue or doubts, I mailed it to the team and got a revert in maximum 2 hours. This course is MUST for anyone aspiring for a high GMAT score! Kudos!

Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2016
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWER gets results!

5 stars
March 6, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 112 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 112 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 730
EMPOWERgmat is the best GMAT prep service I have used. Prior to using EMPOWER's services I have scored a 710 on the GMAT. After receiving admission to INSEAD and having some extra time on my hands I decided to give the GMAT another shot to boost my resume.

Overall, I spent two weeks with the program and focused on both the quant and verbal portions of the course. The main advantage that EMPOWER offers that other providers such as Magoosh and egmat (I have used them both prior) do not are the test taking strategies. While the test taking strategies seem very intuitive and obvious, it provides the test taker with a framework and guideline to follow during the last 10 questions on Quant or last 15 on Verbal when the test taker's brain becomes mush and can no longer function. The GMAT is not only a skill best test ( it is to a point) but also a logic and organization test. At the 700+ level, the test taker who can maintain confidence and poise during the exam will reach his or her dream score (of course, accounting for the +/- 30 point variability).

Overall, this course is great and I am glad I found it.

Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
College: Purdue University
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience with EMPOWERGmat

5 stars
March 5, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 112 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 112 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I am very happy with the training I received from EMPOWERGmat. The best thing about the course is that it is very structured. It has the flexibility that allows you to adjust the pace according to where you stand in your GMAT prep. the recommended duration for the curse is 3 months, however since I wanted to take the GMAT in March, it only gave me 7 weeks to prepare. this meant that I had to study more than what the course duration suggested, however i was able to do that because I was able to dedicate more time, and because i was strong in quant in general.

The strategies taught, especially in quant really enabled me to score higher in quant. In Verbal my weakest section was SC. I really like how EMPOWER Gmat has simplified the SC especially when compared to other test prep companies. Instead of the complicated terminologies used by other test prep companies, which are in line with what OG also uses, the strategy EMPOWER uses really helped me to identify errors in SC much more accurately and faster.

EMPOWER is wayyy cheaper than the competitors, and provide techniques that TRULY help.

Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat the way to beat the GMAT

5 stars
February 23, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 112 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 112 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 530   After: 640
After about 1,5 month of thorough studying (Manhattan booklets, OG's) I took the GMAT. Real bummer, I scored a 530 (needed at least a 600). It was obvious that my approach wasn't effective at all, so I began to look for other online prep companies. I came across EMPOWERgmat. What I liked at first is that you can try it out for 24 hours and after that you pay a monthly fee of $99,- and that's it - you get acces to all the content and you can choose your x month study plan. I only had about a month so I chose the 1 month study plan. The content is simply great. EMPOWERgmat got the GMAT all figured out and knows exactly how it works. They arranged the topics in such order that you're optimally prepared upon test day. They have mini clinic videos - explaining the best techniques and tactics for a particular subject. Furthermore they back-up every question with a short, but powerful explanation video. For me it was almost fun, preparing for the GMAT this way, since I knew that everything I was doing, was the right thing at the right time. The support team is awesome as well. Whenever you have a question they almost immediately reply.

In my month of preparation with EMPOWERgmat I only got to finish about 40% of the content, but still got up 110 points - I mean that's just amazing. I firmly believe that if one completes all the content from EMPOWERgmat (preferably in a 3 month study plan - this gives you a life besides the GMAT), the 700 is an easy target.

I would recommend everyone to go with EMPOWERgmat, they are great!

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome for retakers

5 stars
February 16, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 112 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 112 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 680
I signed up to the EmpowerGMAT course after doing some research on the online courses available that could be completed in one month.

I had already taken the GMAT with some preparation but unfortunately it didn't go as planned. I got a 600 Q38V34. My scores from practice tests were much better so I was really angry. The EmpowerGMAT course made me realize that if I wanted to improve in one month I had to focus on the most frequently tested areas.

Quant: My situation in quant was a bit atypical. I was REALLY good at some complex subjects such as probability, combinations, multi shaped geometry and overlapping sets. But I was failing at subjects such as remainders and percentages. If you don't know it yet you will learn it in your Empower course: some subjects are worth little points and some other are worth a lot. I was good at the ones that were worth less so I had to focus on getting those easier problems correct first. Rich's approach helped me in two fundamental ways: firstly, Test It works wonders on A LOT of problems and secondly, you should prioritize some type of questions over others. I'll tell you this now: focus on getting insanely good at Test It. My score in Quant wasn't great but I truly believe that Test It is the right approach for non-math guys like me.

Verbal: I'm not a native speaker but since the beginning I was better at the verbal section than the quant one. It came more naturally and I found it much easier. My lowest verbal score was actually in my first GMAT (V34), I remember finding that exam extremely difficult, much more than what I had seen at the CATs. I was already really good at CR and RC without taking notes so I didn't follow Max's advice in that aspect, but mainly because I had very little time to get good at doing that. My weakness in verbal came from SC so I followed Max's advice thoroughly and I saw a really good improvement. Once again, Empower is focused on teaching you the most common type of questions. It was the same for SC, they helped me realize that the mistakes are usually the same, you just need to get rid of all the fillers.

Overall I consider it a very good and focused course. I came with some background since I had bought and read all the Manhattan Guides before doing the Empower Course but you could totally get a good score by only following this course. The only reason I'm not giving them 5 stars is because the web page course interface could be better. Apart from that they know what they are doing and they will teach you what you need to know to succeed, nothing more and nothing less.

Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
Major: Economics
Country: Italy
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERGmat is probably the best, most efficient and affordable course on the market

5 stars
February 8, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 112 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 112 reviews
Teacher: No-one personally, I only followed the course
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I am not a native speaker and I am currently completing my graduate studies.

I am writing this review today because I truly am grateful to the guys over at EMPOWERGmat for the service they provide: I could score in the 96th percentile while prepping for a relatively short period of time (1 month and a half, averaging a couple of hours a day) and without too much of a hassle, and for an affordable price. I know this might sound like I'm marketing for them, but the truth is they are so great I decided to write this review. My reccomendation is to try the course as they offer long-ish free trial periods, and check by yourself if it the course will work out for you. I'm sure it will.

The EMPOWERGmat course is GOLD. It consists of video-lesson in which an instructor speaks, and you are only shown a pad onto which he writes down calculations / formulas / important data. They are all very direct and simple (The solution to a Quant exercise averages around 2 minutes, and I think all of the theory lessons don't add up to more than a few hours). The various arguments are split in lessons + exercises made up by the company in order to show specific patterns/tricks + solutions to Official Guide exercises using the EMPOWER approach. The Quant and Verbal are teacher by 2 different tutors. Quant part tutor is almost funny, definitely not heavy to follow, and very clear. Verbal can be a little bit more tedious, but it will give you anything you need to beat the test.

Why is this course different from the other I've checked out? Because it's totally, entirely, nonsense free. It's not one of those courses that make up weird, twisted arguments only to push you to purchase more tests / questions / books. These guys only give you exactly what you need in order to score a very, very good score. Quant covers all of the arguments that show up on the test and actually matter. I'll give you one example: standard deviation. You will never, never, never be asked to calculate the standard deviation formula on the GMAT. You just won't, it's impossible. You are only required to understand the concept, so why would you fill your brain up with that formula? Plus, the sad truth is that the 700-800 level questions idea is nonsense. In order to hit a very high score (think 90-95 percentile) you only need to be consistent with questions of Medium level from the OG, plus figuring out some of the Hard ones. That's it. No need for difficult things, just practice long enough to become consistent: after a while you will feel like the problems are all the same, you will see patterns / where the tentmakers are trying to trick you without even thinking about it. That's the secret to the GMAT: it's really similar to solving a bunch of medium questions and some hard ones, taking the OG questions as a reference.. Worked out for me. Verbal gives you an approach that can help you figure out most of the questions. If you are somewhat good by yourself, you will be able to consistently hit 90-95 percentile just practicing with a couple dozens of questions.