Test Prep Companies

EMPOWERgmat

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Feb 5, 2020
Purchased Course: Nov 25, 2019
Country: United Kingdom

EmpowerGMAT: +60 Points: 660 To 720 (Q47, V41)

February 5, 2020
  • Teacher: Rich & Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 720

+60 Points: 660 To 720 (Q46, V41)  I Signed Up To Empower GMAT After My 1st Trial Of Taking The GMAT And Scoring 660 (Q40, V40). My Aim Was To Get Above 700 Points As This Would Unlock The Entry Into The University Of My Dreams, As Well As The Needed Funding!  Here Are The Three Top Reasons Why Empower GMAT Helped Me:  1) Avoids Boredom: This Sounds Super Trivial, But After Having Studied For 4 Months In A Row And Then Not Getting The Score I Wanted, I Felt Demotivated And Frankly A Little Fed Up With Reading About The Latest Innovation In Protein Synthesis (Bless All Biologists Who Read This). Through Its Mix Of Podcasts, Videos And Exercises The Course Uniquely Achieves To Keep You Motivated. As The GMAT Is A Marathon, This Was Key!  2) Provides GMAT Hacks: Empower GMAT Has So Many Proprietary Tips And Tricks That Other Courses Like Magoosh Or More Official Sources Like The Manhattan Guides Or The Official Guide Just Do Not Have. Something Like Triaging (I.E. Educated Guesses), RC Tables Or In-Depth Explanations Of Why Hard Questions Just Do Not Matter, Helped Me Tremendously During Test Day.  3) Quality Explanations: What I Loved About The Course Is That Each Problem You Tackle Is Supplemented By A 3-5min Video That Gives A Step-By-Step Explanation Of How To Solve The Problem. Now… You Might Not Need To Watch All Of Them, But They Are There In Case You Want To Have A More Detailed Explanation, Which Is Oftentimes Very Useful And Definitely So Much More Engaging Than Reading An Explanation In The Back Of Your Official Guide.  THANK YOU RICH AND MAX!

Joined: Jan 19, 2020
Purchased Course: Jan 4, 2020
Verified Real Student Review

This program works!!

January 19, 2020
  • Teacher: EmpowerGMAT
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 710

This program works! I first took the GMAT a few months ago after using the Manhattan GMAT test prep app. I seemed to be scoring well on the practice questions, so I thought the test would be a breeze. I was wrong! I quickly found I had a pacing problem. Additionally, I had not learned the tips and tricks to triage questions. As an engineer, I wanted to solve every quant problem. This (as many of you probably know) is definitely not the smartest strategy when taking the test.  I scored a 650 on my first attempt and felt I could do much better with a focused study plan. After shopping around for some test prep services, I was shocked to see how much money some other companies wanted for a study plan. Truth be told, I settled on Empower mainly because I found it to be the most fairly priced test prep course available. Additionally, they offer a score boost guarantee, so there was no risk in giving it a try.   I very quickly realized that the Empower study program was far superior to what I experienced with Manhattan. There are multiple study plans available depending on your goals. The material actually breaks down the strategies required to beat the test. They show you how to answer questions in the most efficient way possible, which really helped fix my pacing problem. They incorporate Official Guide questions into the study plan and show you how to solve them. Empower also introduces multiple triage tactics and explain why it’s okay to “dump” the really tough questions on the test (and still get a high score).   By the time I took the GMAT again, I felt incredibly prepared. I ended up boosting my score by 60 points over the course of about 6 weeks of studying. In my opinion, there is no better value than Empower’s course. If you follow the plan and heed their advice on test taking strategies, you WILL do well on the GMAT!.

Joined: Dec 17, 2019
Purchased Course: Nov 22, 2019
College: Denison
Major: Economics
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Improved score greatly

December 17, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 720

Empower greatly changed the way I viewed GMAT prep. I had basically dealt with the GMAT like any other test until I took it with EMPOWER. EMPOWER gave an entirely new strategy to me. Amazingly I went from 73rd to 94th percentile and I may be able to go to a school I always wanted to go to. I am honestly a bit mad at myself I did not do it sooner, since I wasted my time doing things the wrong way for a long while.
Joined: Dec 3, 2019
Purchased Course: Oct 31, 2019
College: Institute Paul Bocuse France
Major: Culinary Sciences
Industry: Food/Beverage
Country: Austria
Verified Real Student Review

580 to 690 in 3 WEEKS - Q36 to Q48 - Hated Math, Love it Now!!

December 3, 2019
  • Teacher: Rich
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 580 After: 690

hi! I usually don't write reviews, unless I absolutely hate something or absolutely love it. With my EmpowerGMAT prep, it was the latter. In July this year, I started prepping with examPAL and diligently studied my material for the following three months. This is not to drag the program, as it did teach me the basics in an easily understandable way and might have worked perfectly for someone else.

October came around and the date of my GMATapproached rapidly. I might have been over-confident, going into my first GMAT. During my mock exams, which I kept as close to reality as possible (no breaks, distraction or other) I scored in the high 600 and even hit a 700 once. I was aiming for mid 600.

That being said, when I sat my first GMAT, I thought this was the easiest the test had ever been. The whole time I was telling myself "oh wow, how come the exam is this easy this time?" BIG MISTAKE. Instead of concentrating on what was in front of me and pushed by my big ego, I thought I was doing great and shining until I clicked "send essay" and stared at the 580 in front of me. I sat there and stared at my screen until the test instructor came around and asked me to leave the chair if I am done with my exam. I went outside and still couldn't believe that after investing MY ENTIRE LIFE to the GMAT for three months, studying 7h per day and pushing aside other hobbies, meetings etc. I was only able to score 580. To me, it wasn't representative of the amount of work I put into this prep.

Other than that, it wasn't even close to the minimum I needed to apply to my Master's.
After spending two days being semi-depressed and debating of just letting it go and accepting a 580, I started reading on different forums, specifically looking for people who had managed to see a jump in their score in a short amount of time.
I had three weeks until the last possible GMAT date.

I contacted my former study platform and looked for advice to understand if I would be even capable of seeing an increase in as little as three weeks. Rich answered to one of my posts and I decided to try out EmpowerGMATs free trial.
The thing that hooked me immediately, was their approach. Now, I do not have a math background. In fact, I studied culinary arts and restaurant management - yes, management, so there was a bit of biz in there, but needless to say, I wasn't forced to calculate around with integers, radicals or work problems for a good 5 years. And if, then surely not on paper but with a calculator.

I used Empower's score booster, their shortened program which immediately caught my eye as it is advertised as directed towards people who wrote the GMAT once already. It is all laid out clearly, with a step-by-step guide to follow so it leaves no room for guesswork. The whole course is structured in mini-videos and in-between exercises BUT THE BEST PART is that Empower, and Empower only makes use of the OG guides. I purchased them back in June, before even knowing which online study platform to use because I thought that I would surely need those books. During my three months with examPAL I didn't touch the books at all, but in Empower's structure, you have built-in Quizzes of different difficulties for which you always use the OG guides. It means you're practising with the real deal only.

I studied hard, and I mean HARD, for the following three weeks, focusing mainly on math, and diligently went through all of the prep material.

Now, one important thing though: When I asked for advice in forums if an increase in three weeks would be possible, everybody said no. I was nearly discouraged. The mere reason why I managed to bump my quant from 36 to 48 was because of Rich's way of teaching math. What I loved is that he cuts back on unnecessary stuff, teaches you the vital things only, AND MOST OF ALL he teaches you how to be thorough. I no longer guessed around in DS or answered based on what I thought was true based on some notes and calculations, but started following a strict way of figuring out what is right and wrong in DS and HAVING PROOF FOR IT written on my paper, so whenever I clicked on an answer I was dead-sure it was the right one.

I cannot thank the Empower team enough. Lyndsay was always quick to help and their platform is well built, self-explanatory and full of little surprise bits like motivational podcasts and extra study material as well as built-in reviews and Quizzes to strengthen all you've learnt so far.

CANNOT RECOMMEND ENOUGH GUYS!!
Joined: Oct 28, 2019
Purchased Course: Aug 1, 2019
College: Brigham Young Univeristy
Major: Business
Industry: Construction
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat is amazing!

October 28, 2019
  • Teacher: Stacy, Rich
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 680

My GMAT experience began towards the end of summer when I finally decided it was time to pursue an MBA. My goal was to get into BYU's MBA program. After looking over their requirements, I saw that the average GMAT score of admitted students is 680. I had no idea what I was getting myself into, so I started looking at various GMAT prep services. I was a little overwhelmed with all of the options available, so I narrowed my options down to 3 and took my first practice CAT. I scored 500...and was super disappointed. EMPOWERgmat looked to be the most promising option, so I decided to give them a shot. They were extremely helpful in answering all my questions early on.

The coursework and program layout is awesome. It is very flexible and you can get studying in wherever you have the time. I opted to study for a couple of hours early in the morning and then another couple of hours in the evening before bed. The videos (practice problems, mini clinics, etc.) are all thorough but concise. No fluff at all. They teach you exactly what you need to know for the exam, for both verbal and quant. I spent more of my time working on quant material, as my verbal scores were consistently better than quant. Not only does the course teach you the material you need to know, but also specific tactics to answer the questions accurately and efficiently. Pacing is a huge part of the GMAT, and Rich especially helps with pacing for the quant section.

Throughout the course, you take all 6 practice CATs and review them in depth to see where you are progressing and where you need to improve. My second CAT (the first CAT after starting the course) went up to 600, and every score after ranged from 600-690. I had a hard time committing to some of the test strategies Rich outlines and I am confident that is why my scores didn't break 700. Towards the end of the course (3 months) I got more comfortable with the strategies and decided to commit to them on Test Day. When I finished my exam and saw 680 appear on the screen, I was beyond thrilled! That was exactly the score I wanted to get, and I have no doubt the credit goes to EMPOWERgmat. The course makes sense, is well-organized, and is flexible for any schedule. I cannot recommend them enough. The price is right and they know what they are talking about. If they didn't, my score would have been much lower than 680 for sure.

Study with EMPOWERgmat with confidence, they are the real deal!
Joined: Oct 20, 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 20, 2019
Verified Real Student Review

From 560 to 690 with EMPOWERgmat

October 12, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

My GMAT journey started on October 2018. Based on the reccomendation from a friend I started by following the Beat the GMAT's 60-Day Study Guide. As suggested in the plan, my initial approach was to learn the content through the OG, supplement it with the free GMAT Prep Now Videos available (free videos aren't available for every topic) and then solving topic-related problems from the OG. Unlike many people, my Verbal performance was already quite sound so I decide to start with Quant.

After 6 months of following this self-study approach, I realized that it wasn't really working for me - I was spending too much time and energy on raw math, memorizing formulas and trying to understand the OG's super mathy explanations but I didn't see much improvement in my performance, consistently scoring between 560 and 590 in every practice test I took.

That's when I decided to go for an online prep course and found EMPOWERgmat in one of the forums.

After completing the 3-day trial period, I ended up choosing this plan for several reasons:

1) I really enjoyed the instruction style - more than simply focusing on the questions, EMPOWERgmat gets you to use the most effective approach to get the right answers in the shortest amount of time

2) They use official problems but teach you how to solve them using EMPOWER tactics, which I found a lot more useful than the explanations on the OG

3) It is one of the most affordable programs out there but you can still customise it to your needs by choosing from one of the several study-plans available

I completed their 2-month study plan and finally took the GMAT on July 2019, scoring 690 (Q41 V42). I credit it all to EMPOWERgmat!

Their syllabus is based on a tactical approach and Rich and Max do a great job at preparing your for what GMAT really is - a critical reasoning test. Their videos are easy to follow and show you how to effectivelly solve both Quant and Verbal problems from all difficulty levels. Also, the course teaches you a valuable skill - how to triage the questions that are too hard to too weird and that would make you waste precious time and ultematelly hurt your score. Finally, the syllabus also includes a few podcasts that cover the physical and psychological tactics needed to become a true "GMAT assassin". I have always struggled with test day anxiety but after following their advice I arrived at the test center feeling calm and confident - I think that is crucial if you are looking for a high score.

Overall, I highly reccomend EMPOWERgmat to everyone who is looking for a strong and proven strategy to beat the GMAT. Studying for the GMAT is not easy, but if you take everything Rich and Max teach you to heart I promise the hard work will pay off!
Joined: Sep 18, 2019
Purchased Course: Jul 19, 2019
College: Bentley University
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Really good, would recommend

October 1, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: 750

After sitting on my 710 sore for twelve months, I decided to retake the GMAT. Having used Manhattan the first time around, I was eager to shop around and landed on EMPOWERGMAT. EMPOWERGMAT had a specific study guide geared towards re-takers (including the following versions: Verbal Booster, Quant Booster, and Total Booster). I also drew a sort of comfort from the score guarantee that they offered (either I increase my score or I get a full month's refund). Over the course of the next two months, I was able to effectively follow their Total Booster Study guide, which leaned heavily on the Original Guide Books, and made material strides in my math and verbal skills. They had a number of videos that were easy to follow and effectively tackled problems of all difficulty levels. I was struck by the instructor's in-depth knowledge of the GMAT exam and their use of pointing out shortcuts and strategies, which I was able to quickly fold into my repertoire. I also loved that EMPOWERGMAT offered podcasts that gave me physical tips on how to maintain focus during the exam. By the time I sat for my exam, I was brimming with confidence and was not surprised by sudden improvement (particularly in Verbal) from when I had previously taken the exam (710 to 750).

I would highly recommend EMPOWERGMAT to anyone looking to take the GMAT or, in particular, re-take the GMAT.

Lucas
Joined: Aug 5, 2019
Purchased Course: Mar 2, 2019
College: University of Central Arkansas
Major: Finance
Country: Dominican Republic
Verified Real Student Review

My experience with EMPOWERgmat

August 5, 2019
  • Teacher: Rich and Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 590 After: 690

After graduating from college in the Spring of 2018, I knew that I wanted to get a master's degree from a top 20 business school. For that, taking the GMAT was a must. I purchased the official guide, read some basics about the test, and decided to take a practice test to see where I was and to try to structure a study plan accordingly. I scored 520 on my first practice test. I spent the following month practicing with questions from the official guide and took another practice test. This time I got a 610, which gave me very high hopes, given that I had improved by 90 points in just one month.

At that point, I kept solving problems from the official guide and also supplemented my studies with some YouTube videos and other online content. I took a 3rd practice test and got a 580, which was a little discouraging. Long story short, I kept studying with the OG and with some free online material for 3 months and took 3 practice tests during that time. While I felt that I had learned a lot, that knowledge wasn't translating into a higher score: I was stuck at 590-610.

One day I decided to look into GMAT prep courses and read reviews on the different forums. Most of the courses I was seeing were very expensive and I knew I just couldn?t afford to spend several thousand dollars on my prep at the moment. I stumbled upon EMPOWERgmat and was impressed with what I read about it. I used the 1-hour trial and emailed Rich, asking for advice on which plan was the most appropriate for me.

I bought the course and went through it in about 3 months. I took my first official GMAT and got a 670. I studied for an extra month and retook the test, getting a 690 (Q46 V38). Even though that score was a little under the 700 mark, I decided to keep it.

What makes this course great? Its practical approach. Instead of focusing on hard-to-explain, complicated ideas and methods, this course focuses on teaching you the easiest and most efficient way to get questions right. On the quantitative side, Rich shows you how to approach and solve problems in practical ways that keep the math simple, maximize your time, and limit your room for error. On the verbal side, Max shows you how to tackle the 3 type of verbal questions in the easiest way possible, again, without having to memorize any complex grammar rules or ideas. Also, you can always contact Rich for advice and trust that he will reply the same day with personalized insights. Overall, this course will teach you everything you need to crush the GMAT.

Once you buy the course, take what Rich and Max teach you to heart. Look to apply all the tactics and strategies, especially Triaging. Some of these ideas you will learn might seem weird and you will be tempted to avoid them. However, you should make it a point to use them every time an opportunity arises. In the end, you will see great results.
Joined: Jun 24, 2019
Purchased Course: Apr 28, 2019
Major: Computer Science
Industry: Consulting
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

660 to 710. Thanks to EmpowerGMAT

June 24, 2019
  • Teacher: Rich Cohen
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 710

I started my initial GMAT preparation in August 2018. For two months, I followed the Manhattan Prep guides and the official guide, trying to solve all the questions they had. With this initial prep and two official GMAT mocks taken, I scheduled the official test for mid-November. Since this was my first take at the GMAT, I was not much aware of strategies and just carried my own timing strategy and practice as the sole weapons for the test. As a result, I went to the test unprepared and nervous, even after a lot of practice and hard work put in. Quant section timed out before I could answer the final question, final score was 660(Q43,V38), and I came out of the test center disappointed. But as soon as I reached home, I decided to give it another shot, this time with full preparation. Bought the ESR and did some analysis to conclude that while I had the basic understanding of all the concepts tested on the GMAT, I lacked certain key strategies to nail them in time on the test. That's when I decided to go for an online prep course.
While most of the courses offered concept based knowledge which I wasn't looking for at that point, I came across EmpowerGMAT on one of the GMAT forums. As one of its posts said, the course syllabus was based on GMAT strategies and it offered one day trial. I immediately signed in to check it out. As I went through the syllabus I realized that this course offered exactly what I was looking for: strategy based approach to "Assassin the GMAT". Took the one month course and rescheduled my second GMAT for a week after the end of the course. The best part about EmpowerGMAT was that it not only helped me understand easy and effective ways to tackle three different types of questions, but also gave me the confidence to Triage the type of questions that when solved, would harm my timing on the real test, but when skipped, would not hurt my score.
And then came the D-day. Rich's podcasts helped me deal well with the test anxiety and I reached the test center on time. Without any delay I finished all the formalities and sat for the retake with a better focus and higher confidence. And then those 3 and a half stressful hours ended with a 710(Q45,V41) on the screen. Thanks to EmpowerGMAT.
I would recommend this course to any test taker who has basic understanding of the concepts and is looking for some strong strategies to deal with the GMAT. Plus they always have these amazing offers, which make them value for money. EmpowerGMAT does what it claims.
Joined: Jun 6, 2019
Purchased Course: Mar 21, 2019
College: University of Colorado
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Empower

June 6, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

Based on a recommendation from a friend, I used empowerGMAT when preparing for my GMAT. I purchased the 3 month subscriptions(including practice tests) and completed the 2 month recommended syllabus. I found the empower videos to be incredibly helpful and the way the course was structured truly built foundational capabilities before advancing on - helping you to understand how the questions work before reviewing the math equations and concepts. The videos were interactive and often provided multiple ways of solving the problem - much more thorough than what I believe you can get from other programs out there. After getting a 640 on my first practice test, I got a 710 on the GMAT and did not take it more than once. I definitely credit my success to the empower program!
Joined: Oct 5, 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 28, 2019
Verified Real Student Review

Stuck at 650 practice for 6 months. 700 (Q41 V44) on test day.

May 9, 2019
  • Teacher: Rich & Stacy
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

EMPOWERGmat was just the course I needed in order to push my score to the coveted 700+ range. I began studying in October 2018 with Magoosh videos , MGMAT quant books, and OG practice questions. After 6 months of studying with those methods I simply wasn't improving. My practice tests were scoring 630-650 before and were stuck at 650 even after 6 months of studying. I posted on the forum about my struggle and what might be a better method and Rich, the quant instructor from EMPOWER responded with ideas that were helpful. Ultimately, I am so grateful that I posted on the forum and heeded his advice because EMPOWERGmat was perfect for my mindset and for honing the skills to a fine point.

In regard to quant studies, like many people I was always good at math but not necessarily the logic behind the math. I could solve a problem but didn't always know why I could solve a problem. Other resources I used spent a great deal of time on the raw math, memorizing formulas, preparing for every scenario, and it just wasn't working for me. EMPOWER on the other hand teaches the distinction that the GMAT isn't about raw math, but rather the logic behind the math ie critical thinking. The videos Rich provided, especially those walking through OG practice questions were invaluable. Also, the strategies involved in the EMPOWER method are not necessarily unique to the course, but, from my experience, the clarity with which they are discussed and the breadth of problems they are useful for was far greater than other resources.

Verbal was a strong point of mine before EMPOWER, but I still had fine tuning to do. Once again, EMPOWER succeeded in teaching how to approach the test tactically and logically rather than just with memorization or brute force. The strategies applied to the verbal portion were superior to other resources I used and, although there isn't one thing that specifically sticks out, the verbal teaching as a whole was incredibly useful in making that leap necessary to reach 700.

Altogether, EMPOWERGmat suited my way of thinking and taught me how to approach the GMAT not as just a list of formulas, grammar rules, etc, but rather as exactly what it is, a critical thinking test. My final practice test was a 740 and although I didn't reach that level on test day (influenza A will do that to you) my 700 score more than fulfills the score needed for my online MBA.

Thanks to the entire EMPOWERGmat team, and thank you to Rich and Max specifically!
Joined: Apr 2, 2019
Purchased Course: Dec 29, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

My journey from 640 to 720

April 5, 2019
  • Teacher: Rich
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 720

After a bit more of studying the GMAT I finally achieved the +700 (720 q50v38) I was aiming for. I would like to share my experience with you, so can see that at the end of the day hard work pays off.

My journey with the GMAT began around May 2018 when I took the decision of pursuing an MBA a bit more serious, so I bought in the Facebook marketplace a second hand collection of the Manhattan preparation guide + GMAT 2016 Guide. A few weeks afterwards I purchased the OG 2019 as well.

I took the first test and I scored around the 550?s. I began to work with the guide, self-preparing myself, and went through some of the exercises of the OG. I quickly realized that the task was not as easy as I thought so again decided to go for the Veritas prep course. This course took place during the weekends (3-4 hours Saturday & another 3-4 hours Sunday). One month after the course I was scoring in the 650?s-670?s reaching a max of 690 in one of the GMAT CAT. I decided to book the exam for October (gave myself 2 months after the course to practice). The exam went completely wrong, I was not prepared to handle such a monster and got stuck in several question. I guessed the last 7 questions in Q and probably the last 5 in V. The result was a 640 q45. I am a very stubborn person so I decided to retake it one month after (with no change in the study plan) since I believed that as one of the top engineers on his graduation, the results, especially in Q, didn?t reflect the really. Should not be a surprise if I tell you that I got a 640 again in this try.

By this time I was very disappointed and thought that the GMAT was not for me. I went through a process of reflection and the conclusion was that I was not understanding the exam and my method of study and the methods I was taught were not working for me. That?s when, through a friend that is preparing the GMAT as well, I found out about EMPOWERGMAT. The price was much lower than what I had paid before (from 4 figures to 90 per month wtf), they had a so-called BOOST program that roughly lasts a month, a guarantee of 70 points if you are at or above 640 and the flexibility of learning whenever you want since the classes are already recorded and are uploaded to a platform. I had a 50% offer and the 640+70 (710) + the 1 month Boost fitted my plans so went for it. What I discovered changed my perception of the exam, made really visible to me the mistakes I had been doing and really made me see the GMAT from another view. I don?t want to make it very long but the key points for me were:

- Flexibility on taking the classes: I took the classes after work, with them didn?t have to stress of whether I had to be in time for the class to begin. I just had to turn on the computer and select the next class
- I was afraid that the videos would be very generic and that the content would not be a quality one. NO. Explanations were EXTREMELY clear (I am a nonnative English speaker as you could have probably notice from my grammar). I would divide the content in two parts
o Basic knowledge: Basic math/Verbal/Thinks you need in order to do the exam. Having this you may go up to a 670 but it?s very difficult to cross that line.
o Strategy: EmpowerGMAT strategies for the test, identify complex question, how to guess, how to save time, how to face the exam. If you are looking for a +700 you need to EXCEL this section. Its simple, you may think in some cases that it?s crazy (why would you skip a question????) but if you follow their advice 100% you will get the +700. This strategies help you save time (using the answers in your advantage for example) or be 100% sure of your answer in DS questions.
- Lot of exercises & examples. From basic to advance. Not only focusing in the super complicate 3 shape geometry question. Let?s begin with the basics and build from there.
- Personal advice: How should you face the day of the exam, what you need to have with you, things that will make you live easier.

After 1 month of study I began to score in the official test around 710 (760 the second time I took them) and around 670 the Manhattan one (I found the Q part of this one?s very challenging in terms of time).

I followed all the EmpowerGMAT advice the day before and the day of the exam and for the first time I went to the Pearson Center confident that I could beat the GMAT. I began with the Q section this time and?.got stuck in the first question. It was extremely simple, so simple that I doubted myself. I spent there 3-4 minutes instead of skipping it and I paid for this in the rest of the Q section. There was also another breaking point when I got a very simple question (around the 20-21 question) that I could not understand. I knew that one cost me a lot of points. The verbal section when alright, I followed all the strategies I was taught, focused on ready, used the 5 second preview in SC & identified the conclusion & missing information of each CR question. When I got press the submit button in the AWA (I hate that the scores are shown right afterwards and no intermediate screen btw) I though my score would be between 680 and 700. And it was! In only one month of study I went from 640 to 690 q47. My scored had improved three points. I had mixed feelings by this time, on one side I really began to enjoy the exam (it was more like a game by this moment) and on the other I didn?t break the 700 barrier. I know that having a 7 in the first digit of the GMAT is very important both to apply for M7 but also to apply certain job positions afterwards. I had to break that barrier and for the first time I felt like I could do it.

I was contacted the day after the exam by EmpowerGMAT to understand how I performed. I explained my situation and they offered a free one month extension of the program, they
also gave me some tips that were crucial based on my ESR and the feedback I gave to them. I want to highlight that the feedback was given by Rich, CEO of the company and the person you hear teaching the videos. I studied for 1.5 month more, take 3 more cats scoring in all three 710 (Kaplan) and went to the exam.

The night before I visualized myself getting the score I wanted. I had studied for more than 6 month and in 24 hours I was going to receive the score I was expecting. I had become an assassin for the GMAT, this was no longer an exam, and it was a fight. A fight in which my opponent would try to trick me in every question and would try to block me from achieving my objective. Luckily I was up for the challenge, I let me tell you something I was really enjoying it.

I went to the exam with my peanut butter and jelly sandwich and the woman from reception (after so many times) already recognized me. I winked and she and I told her that luckily today was the last time she would see me. Got assigned locker number 10, a sign of how much I was going to excel this day. When I sat on my computer I faced my opponent, I was very excited about this final battle. I went quickly through the screens and began the exam. I got a difficult first question in Q, I stared at it, 3 equations, 3 variables. Difficult to solve. I identified the pattern in 10 seconds, took another 10 seconds to solve it. In 45 seconds I got the first tricky question solved. The GMAT would have got to step up his game if it thought I was going to trap me this time. I followed all EMPOWERGMAT advice this time. I got some crazy difficult questions this time but I skipped them I also got again a question I knew was going to mean a lot of point. This time I used EmpowerGMAT techniques in DS and I was 100% of my answer. I finished the section with 30 seconds left in the clock. I thought that either I had done pretty well or I bombed the Q section. The verbal section went very well, this time I was much more structure and the first 3 quarters went very good. Unfortunately by the end of the third I got a very difficult text, to be fair, I got a bit stuck but manager to get over it. I had to solve the last 10 question in an average of 1 minute. I thought I got a bold question by the end of the exam so I thought I was not doing so badly. After the break did the IR & Awa and was again ready to press the final button before getting the score. I look at the computer and knew this would be the first time I was going to enter that room. I enjoyed the trip but it was time to close a chapter. I closed my eyes and clicked on the button. 720 Q50 V38. I made it.
Joined: Feb 3, 2019
Purchased Course: Aug 21, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat for 600 to 690

February 5, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 600 After: 690

I decided to purchase an EMPOWERgmat subscription because I was hitting a wall with my studying. I had taken a few practice tests from a different company and found that I was scoring below 600, even after weeks of studying. A few posts on reddit kept pushing me to use a subscription service, and based on the experiences people had written about, I had a feeling that EMPOWERgmat would be right for me. I was 100% correct about that. Even though I barely missed the mark of a 700 by getting a 690, this was a high enough score to meet my original goals. I also had a lot of challenges along the way, and I?m proud of this accomplishment considering my circumstances.

EMPOWERgmat gives you the tools and allows you to develop the skills you need to get 700+ on the GMAT. Plain and simple. If you put the work in over 3 months, consistently studying about 2 hours a day and about 4 on weekends, I?d say that would be sufficient to get to your goal, assuming you have a starting point similar to mine. Whether you already have a high baseline (>600), or you?re struggling with your practice tests (<600), EMPOWERgmat will give you the building blocks necessary to achieve your desired score. It will take you longer, however, to recover from your initial score to get to your desired score. You can expect to spend even more hours studying if you?re trying to fill knowledge gaps that others have already mastered.

The name EMPOWERgmat is apt because you will feel empowered as you proceed through the course. Rich has a particular way of motivating you during his video lessons. Max is also very good and I particularly like the way the Verbal training is laid out. Reading from a textbook and working practice problems is mandatory, but video lessons walk you through the ways that the test is designed to trick you. The GMAT is about separating those who are lazy and unwilling to perform the hard work necessary to achieve a high score, and those who are systematic, patient, and confident in their ability to parse through seemingly impossible questions. Even if you are faced with a question that is at the upper limit or on the outskirts of your ability, EMPOWERgmat will teach you exactly what to do with such questions.

The EMPOWERgmat website is not state-of-the-art, but it?s more than enough to get the job done. You?ll be spending the majority of your time on the modules that are already in place, giving you more than enough material to chew on as you prepare. Some people rely on trackers and tools and other ways to measure their progress and stay motivated. My singular motivation was the business school of my dreams and the career that awaits me on the other side of it. You can use EMPOWERgmat with confidence, knowing that regardless of your motivation and goals, their people, website, and methods will equip you with everything you need to succeed.
Joined: Oct 2, 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 5, 2018
College: Monash University
Major: Business
Industry: Agribusiness
Country: Australia
Verified Real Student Review

From 600 to 730 in 2 months with Empower GMAT

January 22, 2019
  • Teacher: Rich, Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

I started studying for the GMAT by buying the OG. I took the diagnostic and realised I need to do a lot of work on my quant. I spent a couple of weeks working my way through the Manhattan Foundation of Math book before taking my first official practice test on the 3rd of November. I scored a 600 (Q32, V40). I was aiming to get a 690 before Christmas, so I had a lot of work to do.

I spent two days evaluating online courses before settling on EmpowerGMAT. I chose this course for a few reasons - I liked the instruction style, and I really liked the fact that they used official problems (with video solutions). A couple of the other online courses I'd sampled used their own questions and they differed significantly from what I'd seen in the OG. I also wanted a course that covered both Verbal and Quant - although I was much stronger at Verbal, I also recognised that a few extra points here could really boost my overall score.

I settled into a rhythm working through the Empower course. It contains a mix of strategy (how to approach the GMAT, when to dump questions etc.) and content (the quant fundamentals, in particular, were helpful). I really enjoyed Rich's teaching style and appreciated the sense of humour and encouragement. Studying for the GMAT is a long grind that will take more than 100 hours... you've got to be able to keep it light!

The syllabus and content are really excellent and that's what matters. If I had any areas for improvement it would be in the software, which I found a little buggy at times (particularly the Mistake Tracker). But without a doubt, the course was an amazing investment for me - especially when you compare the price to some of the other courses.

I sat the GMAT just before Christmas and ended up with a 730. According to the dashboard I completed 95% of the Empower course - it was definitely worth it!
Joined: Jan 20, 2019
Purchased Course: Aug 3, 2018
College: University of Sheffield
Major: Psychology
Industry: Military
Country: Singapore
Verified Real Student Review

Becoming a GMAT Assassin with empowerGMAT

January 20, 2019
  • Teacher: Nil
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 740

I took the GMAT a total of 4 times over a period of 6 months.
In my first 3 attempts, I scored 680 consistently (1st: Q47,V36, 2nd: Q49,V33, 3rd: Q47,V38)
In my final attempt, I scored 740 (Q50, V41).

In my first GMAT attempt, in trying to save on preparation costs, I only utilised books and online adaptive tests to prepare for the exam, and both resources were by Princeton Review and mba.com. However, after completing my the first attempt, I felt that I did not have good time management and there were topics in which I had a weak understanding. Thus, I turned to GMAT club forums to find out about other resources that would better prepare me for the GMAT. It was through the forums and the regular GMAT club emails that I came across empowerGMAT.

The aspects of the empowerGMAT that helped me the most are listed below:

1. Improved my Time Management

The GMAT is not just about getting questions right; it is about getting the 'easier' questions right within a time limit. empowerGMAT helped me understand the value of each question type, especially for the Quans section. In having a better feel of the type of questions that would help me score well, I was better able to prioritise my time during the exam.


Besides understanding the value of question types, the course taught me quick tricks to shorten my math calculations as well as how to exploit the format of the GMAT. For instance, the concept of testing values from the answer options helped to save me time from calculating long, arduous mental sums.

2. Provided Good Training to Strengthen Foundational Knowledge

empowerGMAT teaches you the fundamental concepts needed for the various sections in the GMAT. It does so with easy-to-follow videos and guided examples. It also structures your learning process and helps you to keep track of the progress you make.

3. Provided Tips on how to be a GMAT Assassin (stuff beyond the content)

Something that I valued the most from empowerGMAT were the tips given beyond the content of the actual GMAT. It provided tips on how to psychologically prepare yourself for test day. I continued to hone these skills with each GMAT attempt. Furthermore, the staff at empowerGMAT are highly supportive. After each GMAT attempt, they checked on how I did, offered a free extension to my empowerGMAT subscription, and helped me to analyse my weaknesses after I bought the Enhanced Report.

These helped to provide me with realistic training and it better prepared me for the actual GMAT.
Joined: Dec 6, 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 8, 2018
College: ITMO University
Major: Computer Science
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: Russia
Verified Real Student Review

From 0 knowledge about the test to GMAT Assassin in 2 weeks

December 6, 2018
  • Teacher: Rich, Max, Brian Michaels, Stacy Wilson
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

As the title suggests, I took the GMAT just two weeks after learning what this test is all about. And on my first try, I beat the GMAT with a score of 720. So yes, this is possible, but I would advise against trying this at home. Those were two weeks of very intense studying for 10+ hours a day. Not many people can afford to spare this much time on prepping and have the resilience to study for this long.

On my first day of prepping I took a "cold call" practice test and scored 660 on it. Everything after that can be considered an improvement of this score. My initial verbal score was significantly higher than my quant score, so I focused first and foremost on improving my quant results.

I spent the next four days revising high school algebra and geometry, which I had completely forgotten at the time. Then came the time to choose a GMAT course. I took free trials of several different courses and evaluated them during my fifth day.

In the end, I chose EMPOWERgmat for several reasons. Not only was it one of the most affordable courses on the web, but it also focused on really beating the GMAT, not just studying for it. Moreover, something about how Rich explains things, his charisma, really clicked with me.

Unlike other courses, EMPOWERgmat doesn't just prepare you for the questions but tries to use every trick in the book to help you get the right answers effectively and efficiently. For the quant section this mainly revolves around three Empower tactics: Test It, Test The Answers, and Triage. These tactics are very simple, yet extremely helpful for saving time on the test.

After 8 more days of preparation with EMPOWERgmat, I felt confident enough to take the real test and wasn?t disappointed with the result. I became the GMAT Assassin that Rich and Max promised I?d be.
Joined: Nov 23, 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 6, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

From 620 (Q45 V31) to 690 (Q47 V38): The Importance of Strategy

November 23, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 620 After: 690

I have always abhorred standardized tests. When I realized I would have to actually study for the GMAT to apply to MSc Finance programs, I was not happy to say the least. From my initial research, I ended up getting all the Manhattan Prep books for learning the material and decided to self-study. The Manhattan Prep books, with the OG books, led me to get a 620. I was happy with my Quant score (I started from way lower), but my Verbal score disappointed me mainly because I thought I had a decent grasp on the material.

I was aiming for at least a 650 or above so I knew I would have to take the GMAT again. Since I had gone through everything I could on my own, the idea of a class or course started to sound better. I was looking for two things in a course, cost and quality. After some research, I decided to sign-up for EMPOWERgmat for $85 for the first month through a promo. I also picked up the Official CAT 3&4 pack for a discounted price through them.

EMPOWERgmat as a course focuses on strategy more than textbook style material teaching. It is my opinion that while knowing the material is important, strategy plays a HUGE part in doing well on the GMAT. The course taught me things about the test that I would have never found out on my own. For Quant, the best advice the course gave me is to dump the really difficult questions. I straight-up axed at least 3 questions on the Quant because I knew even if I would get them correct, it would take up 3 mins or more. Not only did this give me more time on the rest of the gettable questions, but also allowed me to actually finish the questions at the end of the section with sufficient time.

The Verbal section is where the strategy and technique I learned really pulled through. I honestly think the SC, RC, and CR modules in the course taught me more than the books considered as the best for this section. The way you do questions in the Verbal section almost becomes tactical and leaves you feeling that you actually selected the correct answer. The video lessons are great and the instructors are fantastic.

This is advice for people looking to retake this exam. If you have been focusing solely on the learning the material and have not found success, it is time to focus on strategy. I was offered a 70 point guarantee over my initial 620 and I got a 690!
Joined: Nov 21, 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 25, 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

MAJOR score boost in only a month using empowerGMAT strategy

November 21, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 540 After: 640

When I started studying for the GMAT, I had my eyes set on a top 50 business school. For my desired program I needed a score around the 60th percentile (about 610) to be considered a competitive applicant. After a couple months of using Kaplan book resources and the two practice CATs available on mba.com I took my first GMAT in October of 2018. I was devastated when I walked away with a score of 540 (Q35 V28). With only a month before applications were due, I knew I would have to try again.

I quickly began researching various GMAT prep companies. I only had a month of study available to me so I was looking for something affordable with no long-term commitments. I found empowerGMAT through the forums and heard great things about their service. Empower GMAT offers a monthly subscription service and had a convenient one-month study plan carefully designed for people (like myself) in a time crunch so I decide to get started studying again. Here?s my review of their service:

Customer Service 10/10: Before I had even purchased the empowerGMAT subscription, I had reached out to their customer service team to learn more about their score improvement guarantee. Their response was insanely quick, I don?t even think an hour had passed before they got back with me in each case. Not only did they reassure me on the structure of their score improvement guarantee, but they also offered me extremely valuable guidance on how to proceed in improving my score (based on the official score report I sent them from my first GMAT). Of all the GMAT prep companies I interacted with, empowerGMAT is by far the most professional and responsive. They truly care about helping you improve your performance.

Content 10/10: The course content consists of a syllabus that guides you through training exercising on various GMAT topics. EmpowerGMAT offers a handful of different syllabi options to match the amount of time you have to study, including a one month option for people like me who are in a rush. Although, it does appear that a 3-month study plan is this most popular option. Overall, the syllabus keeps you on pace to meet your study goals ? no thinking required!

The typical format is to watch instructional videos by Rich for the quant section and Max for the verbal section. The lessons include a few practice problems and quizzes to help with retention of the material. The course then allows for you to take quizzes based on the official guides (this requires you to have the official guide to get the questions) and offers video explanations for the solutions of each problem.

Both Rich and Max are great instructors for the video lessons. That is, they are clear and concise in their explanations. They don?t waste your time by explaining long, complicated equations and rules for each question. And to top it all off, they both have a solid sense a humor ? making the videos entertaining to watch. I never really had a dreaded feeling of studying with empowerGMAT.

Strategy 10/10: Being in a massive time crunch, I was focused more on a strategy to squeeze out as many points as possible rather than learn content. The empowerGMAT tactics both Rich and Max teach you are absolutely INCREDIBLE. Once you practice their strategy and learn to apply it to GMAT problems, the CATs become magically that much easier. And if you?re like me, and have a pacing problem, applying their strategies will certainly help you to pick up the pace. Not only do you learn strategies for each section, but Rich also offers strategies on how to handle stress and fatigue during the exam.

Quant & Verbal 10/10: Being a native English speaker, I naturally geared myself more towards the quant modules. Not having taken a math class in over two years, I found the quant modules by Rich to be very clear and concise in conveying what you need to know. They even offered a review module for those like me who might need to brush up on some of the basic math skills taught back in high school.

As a native English speaker, I found the verbal modules to be easy to follow. I was particularly bad at sentence correction on my last exam and focused by studies around that. Max does a great job conveying the information you need to know without throwing a whole lot of grammar jargon at you ? something I would imagine that non-English speakers would really appreciate.

Conclusion: Overall, I would have to strongly recommend empowerGMAT for anyone looking to boost their score, particularly for those in a serious time crunch like myself. I took my second GMAT in November of 2018 less than a month after the first and made a 100 point improvement to score a 640 (Q42 V35) and walked away with a score higher than what I needed to be competitive for my desired program. I did nothing more on the second exam than apply the empowerGMAT tactics and instruction that I learned through the course. I have strong confidence, that if I had more time to study, I would have no problem scoring 700+ with empowerGMAT?s service.
Joined: Nov 15, 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 4, 2018
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

30 point improvement in less than a month - GMAT710

November 15, 2018
  • Teacher: Rich, Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 710

I had given the GMAT twice before each time scoring less than my target score of 700+. Both times, I had tried using different strategies, practicing with Official Guides, GMATPrep mocks and Veritas books. Self-study just wasn't working and I wasn't able to figure out why.

I, then, decided to take an online course and chose EmpowerGMAT, quite honestly, because it was among the cheapest ones I could find and I needed a short guarantee program since deadlines for the second round were coming closer. I wasn't too skeptical since the Empower program had really good reviews and I had seen Rich's comment on GMAT forums to believe that the program would be helpful in achieving my goals. And I was proven right.

The program is structured extremely well and questions are present with gradual difficulty levels which helped me gain confidence over the topics. Rich and Max's videos were really well thought-out and they basically not only teach you everything you need to know but also tricks and exam strategies which are extremely helpful during the actual exam. In particular, I used to always try to answer every question and used to end up missing out on the questions at the end of each section. Empower's pacing strategy and how to skip questions completely changed the way I approached the exam. For the verbal section, my weakest section was SC and the Empower Concept videos helped improve my SC to the level that I barely used to get any SC wrong in the practise tests. Even their simple motivational podcasts and general exam strategies were so great.

They also provide a lot of extra resources as well like the GMATPrep Exams at a discounted price and a phone call with a counselor to review your essays.

Overall, the EmpowerGMAT course is the best decision I made regarding my GMAT. I would genuinely recommend this program to everyone, especially retakers. Also, a big thumbs up to their customer support team!
Joined: Nov 13, 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 8, 2018
College: University of Alberta
Major: Economics
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Best way to Approach the GMAT

November 13, 2018
  • Teacher: Stacy Wilson
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 690

When I started the process to apply to business school, I originally thought the GMAT would be the easiest portion due to my background as a CFA and Investment advisory. However on my first attempt I scored a 650 and realized that I would probably need to prepare before I took an actual attempt. I found EMPOWERgmat online and heard great reviews, so I jumped in and followed the course format. Since I had a limited time of 1-2 months, I took the fast track course and spent 2-3 hours every day. The tricks and practice they provide really gave me an edge in increasing my score. I ended up getting a 690 on my actual try, even though I had achieved a 720 on a practice exam. Regardless, this score was above the average of what I needed and am more than happy with the outcome.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 6