Test Prep Companies, GRE Prep Company

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: May 27, 2020
Purchased Course: Apr 20, 2020
College: University of Technology Sydney
Major: Creative Writing
Industry: Entertainment/Leisure
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

700 GMAT with 1 month study program

May 27, 2020
  • Teacher: Magoosh
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

When I decided to pursue an MBA program I had around 1 month in order to study for the GMAT in order to be able to get my applications in for the fall semester. I found Magoosh online and they offered study materials at a reasonable price. I went through their practice questions and found which areas I needed to improve on. I then used their video lessons to improve in these areas and went back to the practice questions to test those skills. I used Magoosh for both Quant and Verbal but spent more time on Quant as my Verbal was already pretty solid. I could see the improvements I was making over the course of the month and went it came to the GMAT I was able to achieve my target score of 700.

Joined: May 6, 2020
Purchased Course: Jan 1, 2020
Major: Business
Country: Spain
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing GMAT Prep!!!

May 7, 2020
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 630

I started working for the GMAT around mid-January and was planning on taking it around March. As such, I only had about 1.5 months to study and chose to use the 1-month planner in their blog. Magoosh was especially helpful to me to get started with the GMAT preparation, understand what the exam is about, refresh math knowledge (especially when it comes to geometry and counting techniques), and just have some type of guidance and structure as to how much and what to study. It was a lot of intense work per day, but it was very worth it. Due to the current situation, I had to postpone my exam and do the GMAT Online later on at the end of April. Given that I had already finished my entire study plan in a month, I was able to continue working on the GMAT by doing about 30 exercises a day in Verbal or Math from their "Practice" section to stay on track and maintain my math fitness. Definitely a great way to work towards this exam, can only recommend it!

Joined: Apr 28, 2020
Purchased Course: Jan 27, 2020
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh helped me break the 700 barrier

May 1, 2020
  • Teacher: The online videos (mostly Mike McGarry)
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 700

I work really well using online videos and working at my own pace. Magoosh's video lessons were very helpful for me. I also found a lot of value in the number and difficulty of the questions. Magoosh's verbal questions were very similar and its math questions were more difficult than the official GMAT. Going through all the practice problems helped me out a lot! The 50-point score guarantee is worth trying!

Joined: Feb 28, 2020
Purchased Course: Dec 5, 2019
College: University of Liverpool
Major: Foreign Language and Literature
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent course

March 3, 2020
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

I chose to fast-track my studies using Magoosh, starting serious revision in January 2020 and I took the exam on the 21st February. I previously had been very happy to condemn myself as being "bad at maths" but found both the Quant course and question explanation videos in particular to be extremely well thought out and explained.  I finished with a well balanced grade of 640, which I was really happy with after two months of studying. I'm certain I could have increased with further studies but at the moment this is sufficient for me to enter my chosen schools.  I would certainly recommend this course to anyone looking to start from scratch and give the GMAT a go.

Joined: Jan 22, 2020
Purchased Course: Dec 12, 2019
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent learning strategy with great results

January 23, 2020
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 760

I started Magoosh on a recommendation from a grad school reference. I used the one month study plan between fall and spring semesters of undergrad. This plan was very time consuming and mentally exhausting and I would not recommend using this plan unless you have no choice but to prepare for one month.   The videos were excellent. I was taught shortcuts for difficult quant topics--probability, counting methods--which were key to my success in Quant (49/50). I also loved the practice questions explanation videos and the ability to see so much data (time on each problem, difficulty level, topic for each question, percent correct by topic, etc.   Staff was also very enthusiastic--prompt email responses when I requested information and consistent follow up with new strategies or services to try.

Joined: Oct 15, 2019
Purchased Course: Jul 17, 2019
College: Virginia Commonwealth University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Broke 700 thanks to Magoosh

October 15, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 700

I finally broke 700 thanks to Magoosh! I took the GMAT two years ago and scored 690 (39V, 44Q). I studied for a month with Magoosh, starting from square 1, and scored 700 (40V, 46Q) today. This time I actually understood the concepts and feel that I can bump my score up even more (I scored 710 in GMAC practice exams). The first time I took the GMAT I scored a 650 (40V, 39Q), so I'm pumped about the 700.

The video lessons were great, effectively communicating the concepts and building in sample problems to learn through on-the-spot practice. The actual practice problems had video explanations which allowed for immediate feedback. The explanations helped me to correct my mistakes and confirm (or deny) that my correct answers were done with the right approach.

Would definitely recommend. I don't think there's a better-valued package out there.
Joined: Oct 1, 2019
Purchased Course: Jun 1, 2018
College: UC Santa Barbara
Major: History
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Started with no background in math or english and went from 500 practice test score to 750

October 1, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 510 After: 750

I got a 750 official score today and now I'm done! Magoosh has been an enormous help for me. I started with a 510 official practice score test about a year and a half ago. I worked my butt off to get here, but it was worth it. The lessons were so helpful from Magoosh and I really can't thank them enough. For me a personal tutor was too expensive, but I found that the video lessons (particularly Mike McGarry's) felt like personal lessons. I started out with such basic knowledge of the material that it took a lot of work for me to even learn basic math principles. Can't recommend the program enough. I've learned some really valuable lessons on how to study for this test so let me know if you would like advice! (tsmith613@hotmail.com) The only other practice materials that I used were the Manhattan Books and Official GMAT Books, but I they were just secondary and it was Magoosh that got me to where I am.
Joined: Sep 21, 2019
Purchased Course: Apr 12, 2019
College: amsterdam
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: Netherlands
Verified Real Student Review

Great value for money

September 21, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 470 After: 610

Before I started with Magoosh, I had already taken the GMAT three times and scored between 460 to 470 on the tests. My main problem was the math part. Verbal I scored 34 consistently, while math stayed around the low 20s. I had a hard time learning from the practice questions on the official GMAT, and the Manhattan books also were not the missing link for me. On my fourth attempt, I finally improved my score to 560 (33Q, 34Q). This was important to me, because this was the first time that I observed progress. I definitely could have scored higher on the math part, as I had not been practicing in the OG at all for that attempt. After 3 more weeks of focusing on OG math, I scored on my 5th attempt a 610 (45Q, 28V). I ran out of time on the verbal part, because I was trying too hard. Otherwise, It could have been a 650 perhaps *45Q, 34V).

All in all, Magoosh tremendously helped me with learning and understanding the "feel" of how to tackle GMAT questions. This was done through the crystal clear video explanations, by which you really get to understand how you can come up with a solution for a certain question. With the score for 610, I got accepted into the master's program I was applying for.
Joined: Sep 20, 2019
Purchased Course: Jun 17, 2018
Major: Mathematics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh's Explanation Videos are the Best!

September 20, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

I used the practice problems for Magoosh extensively. There were hundreds of problems and each question has a very helpful video explaining the solution. I found these to be very pragmatic as they included tips and shortcuts to help save time on the exam.

One possible "con" of the service is I found the 'Very Hard' questions to be more difficult than the most difficult questions on the exam though you may prefer having this so the exam feels easier than your prep.
Joined: Aug 26, 2019
Purchased Course: Apr 28, 2019
College: Sewanee: The University of the South
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: Kenya
Verified Real Student Review

Comprehensive prep software - highly recommended!

August 26, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I found Magoosh to be a comprehensive and effective software in prepping for my GMAT. Their maths videos especially were very helpful, and their prep questions were incredibly useful! I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have gotten my target score in such a short prep time without Magoosh.
Joined: Jul 18, 2019
Purchased Course: Feb 25, 2019
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The best value GMAT prep available

July 18, 2019
  • Teacher: Self-Study
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 770

Magoosh GMAT is definitely the best value in terms of GMAT prep material. You can definitely achieve 750+ with the material. There might be better alternatives out there, but there is absolutely no need. Magoosh is all you need. I had never took a GMAT exam and did not take any other courses. It only took me 6 weeks of study to get 770 on my first try. For full disclosure, I spent about 60% of my time using Magoosh, 30% of my time using 2018 OG and 10% of my time using MGMAT books.
Joined: Jun 29, 2019
Purchased Course: Jan 10, 2019
College: University of Maryland, College Park
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

560 to 740 - A Rollercoaster of Emotions with Immense Payoff.

June 30, 2019
  • Teacher: Multiple support personnel
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

When I started studying for the GMAT in early January based off of a New Years resolution, I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I did fairly well in school, so I figured I'd need a month or two at most in order to get my target score. I intend on going to a T15 school, so I set my sights on at least a 700 cumulative score. Simple enough, right?

How wrong I was. I took a diagnostic shortly after I began my studying and scored a 560, with a particularly weak score in quant. While lower than I expected, I took this as a normal baseline for someone who finished college over two years ago. After a month of not-so-intensive studying with another program (roughly 5 hours a week), I took my first official GMAC practice exam in early February. I once again got a 560 (Q31 V35) - no improvement whatsoever. Discouraged, I did some research online and settled on incorporating Magoosh into my study routine.

This was probably the single greatest decision I could've made. I upped my study time to about 10 hours a week (2 hours every weekday after work, with the occasional session on the weekend.) As shown below, I immediately saw an uptick in my scores:

GMAC Practice Test 2 (Early March): 700 (Q45 V40)
GMAC Practice Test 3 (Late April): 740 (Q49 V42)
GMAC Practice Test 4 (Late June - 5 days before my actual test): 710 (Q46 V41)

Besides having the love and support of my friends and family, I can single-handedly attribute this dramatic change to the targeted assistance from Magoosh. While I didn't pay for their tutoring services, the question bank and lessons provided immense detail on what to expect on the test. On top of this, every single question and lesson had both video and text explanations - catering to both auditory and visual learners. I also want to provide my unbridled praise to the Magoosh Support team, which often times would respond within an hour to any clarifications I needed on questions. I essentially had a tutor for a tenth of the price!

With my newfound confidence, I walked into my exam with my head held high. I left with an excellent score that will allow me to pursue my MBA dreams. If you take away anything from this review, it should be this: Magoosh will set you on the path to GMAT quant success.
Joined: Jun 27, 2019
Purchased Course: Mar 19, 2019
College: University of Michigan Ann Arbor
Major: Business
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh helped me a lot!

June 27, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

My favorite things about Magoosh were (i) the phenomenal video explanations on practice problems and general topics and (ii) the timing of each question to see where you compared to other Magoosh users. As well, Magoosh's question bank was filled with challenging problems that one could use to build meaningful practice tests. The video explanations were again very helpful here, and I strongly recommend them to any Magoosh user (you can also speed them up or slow them down to better fit the pace at which you are digesting the video).

Lastly, the Magoosh service was great. I enjoyed how employees would check in on my progress, answer my questions, and provide me with tips when I needed them.
Joined: Jun 18, 2019
Purchased Course: Jan 12, 2019
College: Virginia Military Institute
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Can't beat the video explanations

June 18, 2019
  • Teacher: Magoosh
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I'm a visual learner, so having video lessons and video break downs of each individual question was crucial for me. Every time I got a question wrong, it was like having an individual tutor there to show me the correct way to do the question. I used a few different book prep resources, but the Magoosh videos were so much better. If you're a visual learner like me, there is no other option, it's gotta be Magoosh!
Joined: Jun 8, 2019
Purchased Course: May 19, 2019
College: Georgetown
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great for quick verbal learning

June 8, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: 770

If you are the type of person that prefers video learning to text learning, Magoosh is probably the best service for you. I previously had used the Economist for 2 months and started with a baseline of 710, only to score a 710 two months later. I then moved to Magoosh and scored a 770 in only 3 weeks. I needed help primarily in verbal, and I found Magoosh?s content to be fantastic. The video format (as opposed to just text) worked very well for me. In addition, the course gives you hundreds of practice questions that can be accessed at any time during your course.

To me, it?s clearly the best value for money out there. And even at its reasonable price, it rivals much more expensive programs when putting price aside.

Highly recommend! Especially for those looking for a shorter study window.
Joined: May 30, 2019
Purchased Course: Apr 16, 2019
College: University of Houston
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Raised my score almost 200%

May 30, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 470 After: 660

I used Kaplan prep for my first exam and did absolutely awful, as the materials I purchased had almost no digital components at all and didn?t give feedback.

The Magoosh software is super easy to use and helped me raise my score while only preparing for a few weeks! The answers to questions are very thorough and you?re always able to get your questions answered quickly.
Joined: Mar 27, 2019
Purchased Course: Mar 7, 2019
College: McMaster University
Major: Business
Industry: Chemical/Pharm/Medical Products
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Absolutely amazing!! Simplifies everything and teaches you great tips and tricks to help you on the test!

March 27, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 560 After: 640

I found Magoosh lessons and answer videos to be so helpful. It helped me gain a better understanding of how to approach questions and more importantly how to save time on the test! With two weeks of intense studying with Magoosh, I improved by score 80 points!
Joined: Dec 11, 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 11, 2018
College: Nottingham University
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United Arab Emirates
Verified Real Student Review

If you've not been a student in along time, it's a very good resource

December 11, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

First off, some simple details. I'm 35, so it's been a long time since I was a student, even more so when it comes to solving the type of question the GMAT throws at you. As such, whilst the OG is useful, it does not so much 'teach' as inform.

The most useful aspect of Magoosh, at least initially, are the hours of tutorial videos. If you need to learn, or re-learn various techniques this is invaluable. They tend to focus on the fundamental principals in clearly delivered 5-15 minutes videos.

Whilst their question bank does seem to be quite good in terms of volume, I would say that their scoring appears to be on the conservative side, at least for me. I attempted the GMAC prep test 1 prior to signing up or even opening up the OG. I got 610 on that first try. After a month of Magoosh I sat each of the GMAC prep tests (1-6) once a week, and it 710-730 each time. The Magoosh predictor, as well as the practice tests, typically had me around 660-680. It's better to be conservative, but still the discrepancy was nonetheless noticeable .

If you need to learn or relearn fundamentals, then I would highly recommend Magoosh as a supplementary provider to the OG and other GMAC materials.
Joined: Dec 8, 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 27, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Great Service

December 8, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

The structured layout of Magoosh was very helpful to keep me on track. You can track your progress, watch videos, and get explanations to questions right away. 10/10 would recommend.
Joined: Nov 2, 2018
Purchased Course: May 31, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Structure is key

November 17, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I think the best thing about this plan is the structure. It forces you to study everyday and to learn both verbal concepts and math concepts from different sources. Magoosh is great for teaching you want. I went from a 38 to a 48. However, I don't think it can get you higher than that score. I believe that if you use this plan you should also consider supplementing it with gmat club quant tests. After i went through all of those exams I found it really easy to score 49-50 and still have 5 minutes left.

In terms of verbal, magoosh is really good for concepts for sentence correction. It will teach you the fundamental idioms; however, I think SC on the actual gmat is much harder than any SC question I have seen on Magoosh, and also on MGMAT practice questions. Magoosh CR is a little easier but in its plan for advanced students it has you do LSAT CR and RC questions which are much harder and prepare you behind the difficulty of the questions on the exam. I don't think I would have been exposed to all the resources available and all nuances of the exam if I hadn't used Magoosh.

For reference, Magoosh also had you do MGMAT practice exams throughout the course. My MGMAT practice score are 570, 580, 620, 640, 720, 720 then gmac gmat exams 720, 720, 640, 750, 690
Page:1 2 3 4 5 13 14 15 16 17