Test Prep Companies,GRE Prep Company

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Oct 15, 2019
Purchased Course: Jul 17, 2019
College: Virginia Commonwealth University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Broke 700 thanks to Magoosh

October 15, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 700

I finally broke 700 thanks to Magoosh! I took the GMAT two years ago and scored 690 (39V, 44Q). I studied for a month with Magoosh, starting from square 1, and scored 700 (40V, 46Q) today. This time I actually understood the concepts and feel that I can bump my score up even more (I scored 710 in GMAC practice exams). The first time I took the GMAT I scored a 650 (40V, 39Q), so I'm pumped about the 700.

The video lessons were great, effectively communicating the concepts and building in sample problems to learn through on-the-spot practice. The actual practice problems had video explanations which allowed for immediate feedback. The explanations helped me to correct my mistakes and confirm (or deny) that my correct answers were done with the right approach.

Would definitely recommend. I don't think there's a better-valued package out there.
Joined: Oct 1, 2019
Purchased Course: Jun 1, 2018
College: UC Santa Barbara
Major: History
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Started with no background in math or english and went from 500 practice test score to 750

October 1, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 510 After: 750

I got a 750 official score today and now I'm done! Magoosh has been an enormous help for me. I started with a 510 official practice score test about a year and a half ago. I worked my butt off to get here, but it was worth it. The lessons were so helpful from Magoosh and I really can't thank them enough. For me a personal tutor was too expensive, but I found that the video lessons (particularly Mike McGarry's) felt like personal lessons. I started out with such basic knowledge of the material that it took a lot of work for me to even learn basic math principles. Can't recommend the program enough. I've learned some really valuable lessons on how to study for this test so let me know if you would like advice! (tsmith613@hotmail.com) The only other practice materials that I used were the Manhattan Books and Official GMAT Books, but I they were just secondary and it was Magoosh that got me to where I am.
Joined: Sep 21, 2019
Purchased Course: Apr 12, 2019
College: amsterdam
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: Netherlands
Verified Real Student Review

Great value for money

September 21, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 470 After: 610

Before I started with Magoosh, I had already taken the GMAT three times and scored between 460 to 470 on the tests. My main problem was the math part. Verbal I scored 34 consistently, while math stayed around the low 20s. I had a hard time learning from the practice questions on the official GMAT, and the Manhattan books also were not the missing link for me. On my fourth attempt, I finally improved my score to 560 (33Q, 34Q). This was important to me, because this was the first time that I observed progress. I definitely could have scored higher on the math part, as I had not been practicing in the OG at all for that attempt. After 3 more weeks of focusing on OG math, I scored on my 5th attempt a 610 (45Q, 28V). I ran out of time on the verbal part, because I was trying too hard. Otherwise, It could have been a 650 perhaps *45Q, 34V).

All in all, Magoosh tremendously helped me with learning and understanding the "feel" of how to tackle GMAT questions. This was done through the crystal clear video explanations, by which you really get to understand how you can come up with a solution for a certain question. With the score for 610, I got accepted into the master's program I was applying for.
Joined: Sep 20, 2019
Purchased Course: Jun 17, 2018
Major: Mathematics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh's Explanation Videos are the Best!

September 20, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

I used the practice problems for Magoosh extensively. There were hundreds of problems and each question has a very helpful video explaining the solution. I found these to be very pragmatic as they included tips and shortcuts to help save time on the exam.

One possible "con" of the service is I found the 'Very Hard' questions to be more difficult than the most difficult questions on the exam though you may prefer having this so the exam feels easier than your prep.
Joined: Aug 26, 2019
Purchased Course: Apr 28, 2019
College: Sewanee: The University of the South
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: Kenya
Verified Real Student Review

Comprehensive prep software - highly recommended!

August 26, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I found Magoosh to be a comprehensive and effective software in prepping for my GMAT. Their maths videos especially were very helpful, and their prep questions were incredibly useful! I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have gotten my target score in such a short prep time without Magoosh.
Joined: Jul 18, 2019
Purchased Course: Feb 25, 2019
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The best value GMAT prep available

July 18, 2019
  • Teacher: Self-Study
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 770

Magoosh GMAT is definitely the best value in terms of GMAT prep material. You can definitely achieve 750+ with the material. There might be better alternatives out there, but there is absolutely no need. Magoosh is all you need. I had never took a GMAT exam and did not take any other courses. It only took me 6 weeks of study to get 770 on my first try. For full disclosure, I spent about 60% of my time using Magoosh, 30% of my time using 2018 OG and 10% of my time using MGMAT books.
Joined: Jun 29, 2019
Purchased Course: Jan 10, 2019
College: University of Maryland, College Park
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

560 to 740 - A Rollercoaster of Emotions with Immense Payoff.

June 30, 2019
  • Teacher: Multiple support personnel
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

When I started studying for the GMAT in early January based off of a New Years resolution, I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I did fairly well in school, so I figured I'd need a month or two at most in order to get my target score. I intend on going to a T15 school, so I set my sights on at least a 700 cumulative score. Simple enough, right?

How wrong I was. I took a diagnostic shortly after I began my studying and scored a 560, with a particularly weak score in quant. While lower than I expected, I took this as a normal baseline for someone who finished college over two years ago. After a month of not-so-intensive studying with another program (roughly 5 hours a week), I took my first official GMAC practice exam in early February. I once again got a 560 (Q31 V35) - no improvement whatsoever. Discouraged, I did some research online and settled on incorporating Magoosh into my study routine.

This was probably the single greatest decision I could've made. I upped my study time to about 10 hours a week (2 hours every weekday after work, with the occasional session on the weekend.) As shown below, I immediately saw an uptick in my scores:

GMAC Practice Test 2 (Early March): 700 (Q45 V40)
GMAC Practice Test 3 (Late April): 740 (Q49 V42)
GMAC Practice Test 4 (Late June - 5 days before my actual test): 710 (Q46 V41)

Besides having the love and support of my friends and family, I can single-handedly attribute this dramatic change to the targeted assistance from Magoosh. While I didn't pay for their tutoring services, the question bank and lessons provided immense detail on what to expect on the test. On top of this, every single question and lesson had both video and text explanations - catering to both auditory and visual learners. I also want to provide my unbridled praise to the Magoosh Support team, which often times would respond within an hour to any clarifications I needed on questions. I essentially had a tutor for a tenth of the price!

With my newfound confidence, I walked into my exam with my head held high. I left with an excellent score that will allow me to pursue my MBA dreams. If you take away anything from this review, it should be this: Magoosh will set you on the path to GMAT quant success.
Joined: Jun 27, 2019
Purchased Course: Mar 19, 2019
College: University of Michigan Ann Arbor
Major: Business
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh helped me a lot!

June 27, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

My favorite things about Magoosh were (i) the phenomenal video explanations on practice problems and general topics and (ii) the timing of each question to see where you compared to other Magoosh users. As well, Magoosh's question bank was filled with challenging problems that one could use to build meaningful practice tests. The video explanations were again very helpful here, and I strongly recommend them to any Magoosh user (you can also speed them up or slow them down to better fit the pace at which you are digesting the video).

Lastly, the Magoosh service was great. I enjoyed how employees would check in on my progress, answer my questions, and provide me with tips when I needed them.
Joined: Jun 18, 2019
Purchased Course: Jan 12, 2019
College: Virginia Military Institute
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Can't beat the video explanations

June 18, 2019
  • Teacher: Magoosh
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I'm a visual learner, so having video lessons and video break downs of each individual question was crucial for me. Every time I got a question wrong, it was like having an individual tutor there to show me the correct way to do the question. I used a few different book prep resources, but the Magoosh videos were so much better. If you're a visual learner like me, there is no other option, it's gotta be Magoosh!
Joined: Jun 8, 2019
Purchased Course: May 19, 2019
College: Georgetown
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great for quick verbal learning

June 8, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: 770

If you are the type of person that prefers video learning to text learning, Magoosh is probably the best service for you. I previously had used the Economist for 2 months and started with a baseline of 710, only to score a 710 two months later. I then moved to Magoosh and scored a 770 in only 3 weeks. I needed help primarily in verbal, and I found Magoosh?s content to be fantastic. The video format (as opposed to just text) worked very well for me. In addition, the course gives you hundreds of practice questions that can be accessed at any time during your course.

To me, it?s clearly the best value for money out there. And even at its reasonable price, it rivals much more expensive programs when putting price aside.

Highly recommend! Especially for those looking for a shorter study window.
Joined: May 30, 2019
Purchased Course: Apr 16, 2019
College: University of Houston
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Raised my score almost 200%

May 30, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 470 After: 660

I used Kaplan prep for my first exam and did absolutely awful, as the materials I purchased had almost no digital components at all and didn?t give feedback.

The Magoosh software is super easy to use and helped me raise my score while only preparing for a few weeks! The answers to questions are very thorough and you?re always able to get your questions answered quickly.
Joined: Mar 27, 2019
Purchased Course: Mar 7, 2019
College: McMaster University
Major: Business
Industry: Chemical/Pharm/Medical Products
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Absolutely amazing!! Simplifies everything and teaches you great tips and tricks to help you on the test!

March 27, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 560 After: 640

I found Magoosh lessons and answer videos to be so helpful. It helped me gain a better understanding of how to approach questions and more importantly how to save time on the test! With two weeks of intense studying with Magoosh, I improved by score 80 points!
Joined: Dec 11, 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 11, 2018
College: Nottingham University
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United Arab Emirates
Verified Real Student Review

If you've not been a student in along time, it's a very good resource

December 11, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

First off, some simple details. I'm 35, so it's been a long time since I was a student, even more so when it comes to solving the type of question the GMAT throws at you. As such, whilst the OG is useful, it does not so much 'teach' as inform.

The most useful aspect of Magoosh, at least initially, are the hours of tutorial videos. If you need to learn, or re-learn various techniques this is invaluable. They tend to focus on the fundamental principals in clearly delivered 5-15 minutes videos.

Whilst their question bank does seem to be quite good in terms of volume, I would say that their scoring appears to be on the conservative side, at least for me. I attempted the GMAC prep test 1 prior to signing up or even opening up the OG. I got 610 on that first try. After a month of Magoosh I sat each of the GMAC prep tests (1-6) once a week, and it 710-730 each time. The Magoosh predictor, as well as the practice tests, typically had me around 660-680. It's better to be conservative, but still the discrepancy was nonetheless noticeable .

If you need to learn or relearn fundamentals, then I would highly recommend Magoosh as a supplementary provider to the OG and other GMAC materials.
Joined: Dec 8, 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 27, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Great Service

December 8, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

The structured layout of Magoosh was very helpful to keep me on track. You can track your progress, watch videos, and get explanations to questions right away. 10/10 would recommend.
Joined: Nov 2, 2018
Purchased Course: May 31, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Structure is key

November 17, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I think the best thing about this plan is the structure. It forces you to study everyday and to learn both verbal concepts and math concepts from different sources. Magoosh is great for teaching you want. I went from a 38 to a 48. However, I don't think it can get you higher than that score. I believe that if you use this plan you should also consider supplementing it with gmat club quant tests. After i went through all of those exams I found it really easy to score 49-50 and still have 5 minutes left.

In terms of verbal, magoosh is really good for concepts for sentence correction. It will teach you the fundamental idioms; however, I think SC on the actual gmat is much harder than any SC question I have seen on Magoosh, and also on MGMAT practice questions. Magoosh CR is a little easier but in its plan for advanced students it has you do LSAT CR and RC questions which are much harder and prepare you behind the difficulty of the questions on the exam. I don't think I would have been exposed to all the resources available and all nuances of the exam if I hadn't used Magoosh.

For reference, Magoosh also had you do MGMAT practice exams throughout the course. My MGMAT practice score are 570, 580, 620, 640, 720, 720 then gmac gmat exams 720, 720, 640, 750, 690
Joined: Nov 14, 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 13, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Great for practice, but not a good indicator of actual performance

November 14, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

Magoosh is great for both math and verbal because of the in depth lessons and strategies, but I found it particularly useful for practicing math problems. Definitely should buy the premium package if you haven't done some of the math or verbal since high school. Even with an engineering degree, I had to go back and practice heavily on combinatorics, statistics, probability, and geometry. One warning, if you decide to do "practice tests" on Magoosh, which consists of just the Math and Verbal sections, do not pay attention to the score you receive at the end. In each of my practice tests, I would get anywhere between 600 and 670, but when I did the GMATPrep exams and the actual GMAT, I got well over 700 each time. This is because Magoosh's computer adaptive algorithm is pretty simple and can end up giving you strings of Very Hard questions if you do well initially in the sections, which, if you fail these, will kill your score. The most important thing is to just practice practice practice, and then review each question you do regardless of if you got it right or wrong, and take plenty of notes on questions (Magoosh has a feature to let you make notes on each question). The goal should be that by the two weeks prior to your GMAT exam, you're able to narrow down your specific topic weaknesses in the math and verbal sections, and just practice questions on these topics (which Magoosh allows you to filter and do). Best of luck to everyone prepping for the GMAT.
Joined: Nov 2, 2018
Purchased Course: May 31, 2018
College: Rutgers University - New Brunswick
Major: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Structure is key

November 3, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I used the advanced plan for students. I would highly recommend it for anyone aiming for a high score. I did not take the actual gmat before starting, but I scored a 570 on the first practice test structured into the plan. After I finished the plan, I scored a 750. Magoosh will beat the topics into you until you eat, sleep, and think only gmat. Magoosh has so many math questions and super detailed explanations and lesson videos that will teach you more than everything you need to know for the gmat. The combinatrics problems on Magoosh are really challenging and I could only get a few correct. However, the ones on the actual gmat are child's play compared with the ones from Magoosh. I would highly recommend Magoosh and Magoosh's advanced plan to anyone aiming for a high score.
Joined: Oct 19, 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 25, 2018
Major: Bio(medical) Engineering
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I'd definitely recommend Magoosh

October 19, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I watched most of the videos and did most of the prep questions. I found it very useful and attribute my score to the excellent study preparation provided by Magoosh,
Joined: Oct 15, 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 3, 2018
College: Johnson & Wales University
Major: Accounting
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Want a good score? Sign up for Magoosh!

October 15, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 630

I only had about a month to study for the GMAT. Starting out, I was rusty with my math since I had not taken any math course in years. Magoosh had a wide range of videos for simple and complex math. There are about 500 practice questions for math and reading. I cannot recommend this program enough.
Joined: Sep 28, 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 10, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend this product!

September 28, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Fantastic product. I had only about one month to study for the GMAT, and using this course was the best prep decision I could've made. Loved in particular the video explanations of answers to each question as well as the analytics that kept my test prep schedule razor-focused on strengthening my weaknesses. Felt very well-prepared for the GMAT after just one month with this course. Premium is completely worthwhile.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 12 13 14 15 16