Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 301 reviews
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
College: Rutgers University
Major: Biochemistry
Industry: Chemical/Pharm/Medical Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

760 (50Q/44V) Convenient, Self-Paced Program. Excellent for Full-Time Workers With Busy Schedules

5 stars
January 27, 2018
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
Magoosh was the only study material I used when preparing for the GMAT. I scored a 760!!! My target score was a 700. My Magoosh practice test score was a 670. The Magoosh problems were actually a bit tougher than the problems I encountered on the test, and that really helped to push me to master the concepts necessary to do well.

Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Chemicals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

WORTH EVERY CENT YOU WILL PAY!!!

5 stars
January 22, 2018
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 490   After: 610
I can honestly say that I have never been a great standardized test taker. So when I decided I was going back to school to get my MBA, I knew that the GMAT would be my hardest feat. And this was further proven when I took the test the first time. I had a deadline to meet to qualify for a pre-MBA Program and did not have much time to meet it. So I read about Magoosh and read all of the wonderful reviews about the program and decided I should try it. I did the one month study plan (definitely modified but completed all required Magoosh material) and I can say it was all worth it. My score increased 120 points in a short time span. I am still not where I want to be, but now that I have qualified for my program, I plan to review the Magoosh material and do the 3 month study plan (all material included) to get to the score I truly desire. But I would recommend this program to anybody. Especially if you are a visual learner, but don't really have the time to sit in a 3-4 hour weekly prep class (I'm an Engineer in Oil & Gas so time is of the essence). You definitely have to be self motivated, as you are responsible for your progress and the knowledge learned, but I cannot say enough great things about Magoosh. Take from someone who absolutely HATES standardized tests. This will definitely help you well on your way to greatness on the GMAT!

Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
College: McMaster University
Major: Anthropology
Industry: Student
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Great prep tool

5 stars
January 9, 2018
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Teacher: Mike
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 700
Magoosh's video lessons were incredibly helpful in my preparation for my GMAT. The math videos allowed me to refresh on concepts that I haven't visited since highschool being in an arts undergrad program, and helped me to pass my goal score. My initial practice test were estimating a score of 610, with a very poor quantitative score of 37. After my actual test I came out with 45 in Quant and 40 in Verbal for a total score of 700. I really liked the videos that were linked after each practice question to further strengthen knowledge, and I found the practice questions to be very similar to the actual GMAT. I did, however, find the quantitative questions slightly harder than what I saw on the actual test, with Magoosh's software estimating my score significantly lower than what I received on test day. I used Magoosh primarily in my studying and near test day also began using the official GMAT prep guide to do more practice questions. I highly recommend using these videos in your preparation rather than reading from a book, and using it in combination with the CAT GMATPrep tests you are given access to when you register for your exam. I found that score from the GMATPrep to be very accurate in comparison to my final score, so using them in combination with Magoosh will give you a great idea of where you stand.

Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
College: University of Kent (UK)
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

A great resource!

5 stars
January 9, 2018
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 680
I couldn't be happier with the Magoosh course. I used mostly the maths video lessons and practice questions and managed to get 80 points more in comparison to a practice test I took only 3 weeks before my actual exam. It is a great resource and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone willing to significantly increase their score in a very short period of time.

Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
College: Loyola University Chicago
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Don't blow thousands on expensive test prep!

5 stars
December 28, 2017
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Teacher: Mike McGarry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I started using Magoosh about three months before taking the GMAT, and I am thrilled with the results! I hadn't done any sort of math over 4.5 years of professional experience following my undergraduate studies. I don't have a pre-Magoosh score because I never made it through the first practice exam. I had NO IDEA how to answer almost ANY of the math problems. Mike came to the rescue! His videos explain everything you need to know to be successful on the exam, and nothing that you don't. He even explains along the lines of "this topic gets complicated if you dive in more deeply, but it won't be on the test, so don't bother!"

It's not just video lessons, Mike and his team provide video solutions to every single practice problem. On the message boards, you can find more solutions to official guide questions. Text explanations are often very hard to follow and can cause headaches (especially in the official guide) but the videos walk you through each problem step by step, and REALLY make a difference.

The best part is, it's not an expensive class! Magoosh is a steal compared to many in-person classes that charge four figures to attend. In classes like those, you're stuck with the course. Magoosh allows you to replay lessons on difficult topics and rewind videos to make sure an idea sinks in. In conjunction with the suggested study schedule, I believe this is far superior GMAT trainer, and WILL raise you score bigtime!

Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Emphasis on Understanding, and Practice, Practice, Practice!

5 stars
December 2, 2017
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Teacher: Mike
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
Prior to starting with Magoosh, I took practice tests and my highest score was 570. I signed up for a free one-week GMAT prep with Magoosh and was stunned by the level of detail in the few explanation videos I had access to. So I decided to sign up for the premium package which covers all the math topics encountered in the GMAT Quant section. There are hundreds of practice problems ranging from easy questions to very difficult ones, and a timer helps you keep track of your pace. For every practice problem, there is a video explaining how to arrive at the correct answer. There are also dozens and dozens of video lessons that provide a thorough understanding of all the concepts. I kept watching the video lessons and practicing questions and I probably went through more than a hundred sheets of paper doing practice questions! The Verbal Reasoning, Integrated Reasoning and Analytical Writing lessons are also very thorough; however, I focused more on Quant because of my limited time. On test day I made sure to choose Option 3, which has the Quant section first, followed by Verbal, then IR, and, lastly, AW. I was confident because I had not memorized a bunch of formulas, rather, I understood the concepts and was able to answer questions using different approaches and still arrive at the same answer. Thank you Magoosh!

Joined: Nov 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing Prep Resource!

5 stars
November 29, 2017
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 690
My tutor actually recommended Magoosh as a supplemental prep resource. I cannot emphasize just how helpful and integral Magoosh was in my Quant prep. For context, I scored in the mid 500s on my very first diagnostic test. My Quant score was miserable and I desperately needed help improving in this area. My amazing tutor brought me up to speed, but told me to keep drilling with problems out of the OG Guide and Magoosh. There are tons of problems in the Magoosh questions so you'll never feel like you're running out. Every problem comes with a video and text explanation which are extremely helpful when you just aren't getting it. You can even filter problems by difficulty and flag ones you want to come back to, or re-do problems that you got incorrect. The interface is very user friendly which makes for a much more enjoyable prep experience. I've seen other online prep resources that seemed way too unorganized or hard to read that it deterred me from wanting to drill problems continuously.

Fast forward to last week, I took the real thing and scored a 690 (Q47)! This is the highest that I scored on any of my practice tests, and specifically on Quant. Considering where I was before I started prepping, this was truly a dream score for me. I could not have asked for a better result and absolutely recommend it to anyone looking to up their Quant game.

Joined: Nov 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
College: UNC Wilmington
Major: Finance
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Hidden Gem of the GMAT Prep World

5 stars
November 22, 2017
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
When I was shopping around for various GMAT Prep courses, I was disappointed at how expensive all of the packages were. But a friend of mine who scored 700 on his GMATs strongly recommended Magoosh along with the GMAT Official Guide, which totaled about 25% of the costs of other leading brands.

I was blown away. On the blog, there are tips and (most importantly for me) different study schedules that you can select. I picked and held to a study schedule, and it prepared me for the exam right on time.

The practice problems were most helpful for my study style. After I watched the teaching videos and went through the entire question bank, I started taking 20-question quizzes and watching the videos following each question to understand why I got the question wrong or what shortcuts I could have taken if I had got the question right.

If you are wondering which GMAT Prep course to get, and you don't need to be one-on-one with an instructor, let me save you some time and money: buy Magoosh, and buy the GMAT Official Guide.

Joined: Nov 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: University of Bristol
Major: Chemistry
Industry: Military
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Logican, progressive and delivers the results.

5 stars
November 21, 2017
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Math + IR 19 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
I'm 38 and studied for the GMAT at a later stage in life than I'd recommend.

This is noteworthy as the maths is approachable for people like me who are coming at this with a mixed level of knowledge. You can work at your own speed and the video lessons in particular are great if you've forgotten it all!

The aspect I'd recommend the most is the massive question bank with video explanations. This is great when you're just starting out and need to know the start points for your questions. Once you've worked through a reasonable number of these your provided some great data to fine tune your study time.

Using Magoosh, I surpassed my aim by 30 points 2 months ahead of schedule (I'd allowed 6). This is the strongest recommendation I can offer; it's thanks to Magoosh that I'll not be studying over Christmas for the GMAT!

Joined: Nov 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
College: Dartmouth College
Major: English
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh - SO worth it!

5 stars
November 16, 2017
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
Magoosh's content, study schedules, flashcards, and easy-to-navigate site were SO helpful during my GMAT prep. I began studying for the GMAT in mid-September and spent about 2 months studying before taking the test on November 16. When I took the initial diagnostic tests, I scored a 710 - I would have been happy if that had been my final score, but I wanted to gain some confidence through additional prep and practice. I very loosely followed Magoosh's 12-week advanced GMAT study plan during the 8 weeks I devoted to studying (pro tip: skip some of the supplemental math materials; they're not nearly as helpful as Magoosh's questions).

I also liked that I always had access to Magoosh. I didn't need to lug around a heavy textbook - I could just login when I had a free moment to solve a few problems.

All in all, great resource. Well done, Magoosh. Thanks for the help!