Personal MBA Coach
Company
ADMISSION CONSULTING COMPANY

Personal MBA Coach

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 20 reviews
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: May 2018
College: Georgia Institute of Technology
Major: Engineering
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Interview Prep Success with Personal MBA Coach

5 stars
June 18, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 20 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 20 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I worked with Scott on the interview preparation portion of my application to HBS. I can say honestly that without this interview preparation, I would not have been ready for the depth of questions I was asked in my actual interview. This package was a critical part of my preparation, and allowed me to go into the interview feeling confident and prepared. Scott was always just a quick email away if I needed anything, and his service was a key factor in my preparation that ultimately led to an HBS admission. I would recommend Scott and his team to any of my peers applying to business school. And can truly say it was 100% worth the money. Thank you Scott!

Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Wonderful experience working with Personal MBA Coach!

5 stars
June 2, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 20 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 20 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I could not have asked for a better experience working with Scott and his team at Personal MBA Coach. Before starting each application I scheduled a phone call with Scott to review my ideas for the essays and ended each call with a clear path forward. After drafting the essays and sending over to Scott I received thoughtful and helpful feedback within 48 hours which helped me keep moving my MBA applications forward. Working with Scott on essays and with his colleagues on interview prep was incredibly helpful. I ended up being admitted to my top choice M7 program with a large merit fellowship and am so glad I chose to work with Personal MBA Coach throughout this process.

Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: Yale University
Major: Biology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Could not have done it without Scott

5 stars
May 23, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 20 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 20 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Scott was absolutely instrumental to my success in the business school application process; there was no way I would have been as successful and comfortable without him.

From our very first conversation, it was clear that Scott had exactly the expertise, experience, and empathy I was looking for in an excellent MBA coach. Scott guided me through the entire process, including picking my target schools, setting milestones and deadlines, crafting my story, reviewing my applications, essays, and recommendations, interview prep, and even up to post-offer strategy.

Throughout the process, Scott was extremely available at all times of the day; there was not a moment that I was worried that he would not be available to me for an important part of the process. In addition, he pulled no punches; he was truly fully invested in my success and pointed out my strengths and weaknesses clearly and specifically.

Again, without Scott's guidance, the MBA application process would certainly have been a much harder and stressful process and there could very well have been a different outcome for me in the end.

Joined: Feb 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend Using Scott & Personal MBA Coach team

5 stars
May 8, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 20 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 20 reviews
Teacher: Scott
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Choosing Scott as my MBA consultant was the best investment I made in preparing for graduate school admissions.

I initially discovered Scott/Personal MBA Coach through a meeting with a recruitment member from the program I would be applying to. He spoke very highly of Scott and his team and recommended that if I needed help with any stage of the application or test preparation to consider Scott.

About a year later at a QS MBA fair, I sat in the different MBA counselor panels and Scott’s presentation and expertise hit the nail on the head for what I was looking to achieve (1) authentically branding myself for an MBA, (2) support and guidance during the application process, and (3) he knew the school I was applying to and could bring a different perspective that I wouldn’t be privy to.

In our first meeting (via phone), he explained the different services and packages, I chose the 1 school application and test prep services package and he outlined what the process would look like moving forward. He was very gracious and helpful in explaining the questions I had and making the plan customizable to what I would need. We set up the timeline to apply and he put me in connection to a tutor on his team to begin test preparations.

The tutor, Shaudi, was extremely helpful, accommodating and resourceful. We met twice a week over skype (using google docs and screen share also) and she was extremely generous with examples and additional material. Having used other test prep services to prep for the GMAT I was wary of signing up for another as I was just ready for it to be an expense that didn’t drive any results but this could not be further than the truth. I wish that I had just spent the money up front to do the tutoring rather than the 8-week group prep course I had done earlier.

I am an extremely type-A, calendar, to-do list driven person and they both were extremely attentive and organized which definitely helped settle my nerves. What I especially appreciated is that they broke the process down into digestible bits. I like to finish all my outstanding items/projects at once, and that approach would not have worked here and Scott and Shaudi organized it in such a way that I knew what was coming and could see how I was making progress each week. I cannot recommend Personal MBA Coach, Scott and Shaudi enough they made my application process go so smoothly and helped remove a great deal of stress I had.

Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend working with Scott!

5 stars
April 27, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 20 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 20 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I worked with Scott this past year on both my Round 1 and Round 2 applications for business school. Scott and I met early on in the process and he helped me frame my story for why I wanted to go to business school and what I would contribute. Throughout the process, Scott helped me construct my broader pitch, refine my essays, and prepare for interviews.

I found Scott to be valuable across all three of these dimensions. His ability to offer constructive, candid feedback is a great asset and not something you will get at all admissions services. In particular, I would recommend Scott's ability to coach through interviews. His practice interviews prepared me very well for the actual ones, with the questions often being virtually identical. He was even able to help me practice group interviews in a way that facilitated improvement.

Overall, I would wholeheartedly recommend Scott. Working with him took a lot of stress out of the process and certainly improved my chances in what is often an uncertain admissions process.

Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
College: New York University
Major: Real Estate
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

12/10 review (and results)

5 stars
April 26, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 20 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 20 reviews
Teacher: Scott
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Scott did a fantastic job preparing me for interviews and creating my resume. I came in with a below average (at best) resume and he did a fantastic job helping me stand out to give me that extra edge. Scott is attentive, quick to respond, professional and provides an experience second to none. Not only did he help me cater my resume towards business school applications but also worked diligently on a resume catered toward the internship I had been pursuing - and was ultimately rewarded. Having used other services (both private and larger "institutional size" programs), I can honestly say he is by far the best.

Joined: Jun 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Scott Gets the Job Done, Success!

5 stars
April 17, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 20 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 20 reviews
Teacher: Scott
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
When doing my initial search for an admissions consultant, I was first drawn to the big-name consulting companies. Yet, after doing more research I realized that I did not merely want to be another faceless customer at one of these big firms. I knew that I needed the personalized support that Scott at Personal MBA Coach provides in order to get through the application process in one piece, allowing me to get into my dream school of CBS.

Joined: Sep 2012
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: Berlin School of Economics and Law
Major: Computer Science
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Simply the best. Scott got me into Stanford GSB!

5 stars
April 13, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 20 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 20 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I don't write online reviews. Especially not 6 years after the purchase. But Scott deserves an exception.

I knew MBA applications were a long shot for me to begin with. Coming from a no-name international school (not known to the U.S. application dropdown menu), I was hoping that I "had it in me", but at the same time know that I needed to craft the perfect application, most importantly the essays, to stand out.

My first call was into Sandy Kreisberg. My second into Scott. I went with Scott, and never regretted it. The results spoke for themselves: 4 applications (all top schools), 3 admissions, including my dream choice: Stanford GSB.

Scott knows inside out how to tailor your best and hightest-chance-of-success application package. He continually challenged me to craft the unique and authentic essays that opened the doors to the top MBA programs for me. And as if that all was not already a utopia of awesomeness, Scott helped me secur e a full-ride scholarship from my national government. I mean, give me a break, Scott.

When I arrived on campus, GSB's (back then) Dean of Admissions Derrick Bolton took me by the side and told me it was my "What Matters Most To You and Why" essay that made the difference. I honestly look at that essay and I think it's the best piece I have ever written in my life. Would have not been the case without Scott.

Beyond essays, Scott is a fountain of wisdom for school selection, general application strategies, resume editing, picking recommenders, and being there for you during the emotional rollercoaster than MBA applications can be. Take my word. I could not think of a better person than Scott to partner up for this journey that can be such a life-changer. Certainly was for me. THANK YOU, SCOTT.

Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: Providence College
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Scott got me into grad school!

5 stars
April 11, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 20 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 20 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Scott is a friendly, honest and matter of fact guy. He is easy to get along with and I always benefited from having conversation with him. As far as the consulting goes he is not only a great resource to bounce ideas off of, but also an excellent essay editor. Much of my reason for a consultant was to get a strategy for my application to school. Scott was great and this and I had success at 3/4 schools I applied. However, Scott's strongest suit is his essay editing that I have to believe are second to none. He could take my writing/ideas and really make it all come together. Lastly, I was waitlisted at two of my top choices and Scott helped me develop a timeline and plan to strategically show my enthusiasm for the programs while not overwhelming the admissions committee with materials. I would highly recommend him for all facets of the application process.

Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Strong results

5 stars
April 5, 2018
Company: Personal MBA Coach 20 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 20 reviews
Teacher: Scott
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
After meeting with and chatting with over 7 MBA admissions consultants, ranging from the biggest brand names to the smallest independents, I decided to go with Scott, Personal MBA Coach, as my advisor for 8 schools. Not because he was the most optimistic or pessimistic, but because he seemed honest and like an easy guy to work with, with an equal to or better track record of success versus his competitors.

We agreed on some safe schools, some matches, and some reaches, and decided that a strategy of applying to 8 match-to-reaches with no safety schools would be an optimal strategy for my goals and risk tolerance. I applied to all of the M7 and Tuck, and to my surprise received offers of admission to 3 of the 8 schools, with interviews and eventual waitlist at 2 more, which I chose not to pursue.

As a realist, I understand that a lot of your profile is set in stone. GMAT, GPA, Work Experience, but there is still a huge amount of room to market yourself in a certain way that personal MBA Coach was key in. Knowing what pieces of my career and background to emphasize were part of this.

One additional reason I chose Personal MBA Coach over some of the larger companies was that he ensured me that whether it was interview prep, essay brainstorming, or essay revisions, he would be the only person I spoke and dealt with whether by phone or email. This ended up being absolutely 100 percent true. There are of course other good consultants out there, but Scott is extremely connected to the process and is able to identify trends that others cannot.