Admissions Consulting

Personal MBA Coach

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Jul 21, 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 29, 2019
Verified Real Student Review

Go with Scott!

January 27, 2020
  • Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Yes it’s possible to work on your applications yourself and to just ask your friends and family to help edit your essays but why not set yourself up for the best chance by hiring a professional admissions consultant who will help guide you through the entire process?  Like most, I was initially hesitant about hiring a consultant. But after my first introductory call with Scott, I knew I had to work with him. Having been out of school for ~4 years, I was a little rusty with my writing but Scott continued to push me and I was able to write compelling essays for my applications. I also really appreciated the quick turnaround between all of the edits. The mock interviews that Scott helps set up with former MBA interviewers were also extremely helpful and helped me be more confident for my actual interviews.  Out of the 5 schools I applied to, I’ve been accepted into 1 with a decently sized scholarship, waitlisted at another, and I’m waiting to hear back from 2. Obviously hoping for some more good news down the road but it’s nice to have 1 admit so far and I wholeheartedly attribute this success to Scott and Personal MBA Coach!

Joined: Dec 30, 2019
Purchased Course: Dec 18, 2018
College: Vanderbilt Universjty
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend!

December 30, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Scott was fantastic! Extremely thorough coaching and guidance in helping me identify the best programs and target programs for me, helping develop a strong case for MBA, essay guidance, interview preparation, and help with the small but confusing nuances during the application process. I highly recommend
Joined: Dec 14, 2019
Purchased Course: Jan 20, 2019
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

COULD NOT HAVE DONE IT WITHOUT SCOTT

December 14, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

MBA application is a daunting process, especially for someone like me, whose GMAT and background do not stand out (perhaps even slightly below average). Scott takes the time to get to know me and my story and used customized approach to help me navigate through the process. I could not have gotten into my dream program (top 10) without Scott! I think the key to my admission is his essay guidance: he really drilled down into my essays and think through my story, helping me articulate the "Why?" and the "How?". Scott is extremely patient and he always answers my questions in a very timely manner - such a pleasure to work with!
Joined: Oct 2, 2019
Purchased Course: May 11, 2019
College: American University of Beirut
Major: Business
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: Lebanon
Verified Real Student Review

Outstanding Results!

October 2, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I have a GPA that falls in the bottom 20% of my target schools, and a GMAT of 710. My non-traditional background made my profile relatively risky.
Scott immediately pointed out the strengths and weaknesses of my applications, yet still believed in me despite the competitiveness of my target schools.
He always provided fast and great quality responses, was patient and always pushed me to improve every single detail in my application.
I applied to a top school in Europe, with one of the lowest acceptance rate among Europe's top schools, and to an M7 school, and got accepted into both.
Looking back, I can tell for sure that it would have been near impossible to even get an interview if it weren't for Scott's help.
I am proud to have made the decision to work with Scott, and highly recommend him to anyone out there who needs help in their application!
Joined: Sep 6, 2019
Purchased Course: May 28, 2019
College: The University of Texas at Austin
Major: Bio(medical) Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you Scott! Patient, Responsive and Direct. He cares.

September 6, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Scott helped me with school selection and resume prep while I was also on the waitlist for the previous year. I ended up getting off the waitlist, so our time was shorter than expected, but our interactions were all extremely positive. I instantly connected with his straight forward style of both written and verbal feedback - this was helpful at significantly improving my application in a relatively short amount of time. Scott's patience is also evident - he took the time to address all of my questions/insecurities and made me feel more confident in my chances in the M7. Since we talked in the spring, he also advised me on ways to strengthen my resume by the R1 deadlines. Most of all, it was obvious that Scott cared about my application and is passionate about the ins and outs of the admissions process, which is the most I could have asked for out of anyone I'm working with. Absolutely would recommend to my friends.
Joined: Aug 14, 2019
Purchased Course: Aug 1, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Could not have done it without Scott!

August 14, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Scott was a very valuable resource throughout the entire application process. As an international applicant, I did not know a lot of people around me that were going through the same process, therefore I really needed someone that was knowledgable. Scott was a wealth of information and was extremely easy to talk. He was very straight-forward with his advices, not afraid to speak truthfully about the quality of your application, which were fantastic as it saved both his time and mine. When I was choosing an admission consultant, I selected Scott because I liked the idea of having one consultant help me through multiple schools, instead of the large consultancies where they allocate a different consultant for each application. This proved to be a very good decision, as Scott knew my profile inside-out and was able to help me leverage different qualities for different schools. I was wary of the high price tag initially, but after this experience, the amount of admission scholarship I was able to obtain with Scott's help far exceeds the fee. Overall would definitely recommend!
Joined: Jun 18, 2019
Purchased Course: Jun 29, 2018
College: University of Chicago
Major: Philosophy
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Couldn't have done it without him!

June 18, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Scott was an absolutely amazing resource throughout the application process. When I first started working with Scott I hadn't hit my desired GMAT/GRE score and he was up front and candid about what was realistic considering my score at that time. I really appreciated that he didn't pander but was honest and constructive in his feedback. I found him to be extremely knowledgeable on the nuance of what each school is looking for and he gave me great advice for tailoring my story accordingly. His comments on my essays etc were always very constructive and helped me to think about my message from an outsiders perspective. He was always really quick to respond and I felt like I got a tailored, personal approach rather than a one size fits all package.

I also utilized the mock interviews, which were definitely a game changer for me - post mock interview feedback was again constructive and candid and was a great way to practice that I wouldn't have done on my own. Mocks gave me a lot more confidence going into the real interviews.

I got into some really great schools and will be attending Booth in the Fall - I definitely accredit my success to the support I received from Scott. Would 100% recommend him!
Joined: Sep 8, 2016
Purchased Course: May 20, 2018
College: Robert H Smith School of Business, University of Maryland
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Wonderful Experience!

May 4, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I have no words to express how grateful I am for all the guidance and support that Scott provided during the MBA application process. I was admitted into 4 out of 8 MBA programs I applied to and received full scholarship to the one most dear to my heart. My experience with Scott was absolutely invaluable and I know I would not have been able to succeed without him. He was there for me every step of the way. From the first moment I talked to Scott, it was obvious that he truly cares about me and was fully vested in my success. I wholeheartedly recommend Scott to anyone who is looking for an MBA consultant. I could have not asked for a better coach. Thank you Scott!
Joined: Apr 2, 2019
Purchased Course: Mar 7, 2018
College: Cornell University
Major: Business
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Superior Service and Results

April 24, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I had an incredible experience working with Scott. I appreciated Scott the most for providing direct, honest advice - from school selection based on a detailed review of my profile, to providing guidance on potential essay ideas. As a slow, sometimes inefficient writer, it was helpful to brainstorm ideas with Scott before diving headfirst into writing drafts. Scott also worked around my busy schedule and ensured quick turnaround times - never more than 48 hours and frequently within 24 hours. Ultimately I secured admission into the M7 school of my dreams and I firmly believe Scott?s services played a critical role in helping me achieve this.
Joined: Apr 8, 2019
Purchased Course: Aug 7, 2018
College: Cornell
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Experienced, Professional, and Goes Above and Beyond to Help!

April 8, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I had an amazing experience with Scott. He is willing to go above and beyond to help you throughout the admission process-regardless of where you are or what you need help with. Personally, he helped me with school selection, presenting my resume, essays, interview prep, and everything that happens in between. Scott and his team are always happy to answer any ad hoc questions I had and will jump on the phone day or night. Scott was an amazing resource to have and helped me get into my #1 choice. I strongly recommend other students to use Personal MBA Coach. Thank you Scott!!
Joined: Apr 8, 2019
Purchased Course: Jan 2, 2018
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Verified Real Student Review

A reliable companion along your MBA application journey

April 8, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Thanks to Scott's support, I have secured admission to HBS ($$), Wharton ($$), and Kellogg ($$$). I greatly appreciate Scott's support during my whole application process!

Scott is very professional: despite our time difference (I'm an international application), Scott always ensure timely response to my question / request. When he can't, he would let me know in advance and propose a suitable timeline.

Scott is very experienced and rest assured that you can trust his knowledge on MBA applications, whether it's about what the Adcom focuses on or what differentiates each school. As I was applying to multiple schools, some obviously are different from others. Scott was able to make sure I know how to present myself and put myself in the best possible position. While Scott didn't change my life story or career goal in any way, he did help me better tell it to the Adcom.

Finally, Scott didn't try to act like he knew everything, as he introduced his connections that are more familiar with specific school's interview process as we were preparing for the final interviews.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my experience work with Scott and would highly recommend Personal MBA Coach for anyone who's considering an MBA consultant!
Joined: Mar 31, 2019
Purchased Course: Apr 5, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome Service!

March 31, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

It was a crazy ride from start to finish applying for top MBA programs. It wouldn't have been possible without Scott's assistance. Coming from an engineering background, both undergraduate and career wise, I did not know anyone who went to a full time MBA program let alone a top MBA program. I thought I could handle the process my myself with assistance from friends and family. I soon realized I was in over my head. This caused me to regroup and postpone applying to schools for a year while I found an expert to assist me. I heavily researched lots of different admission consultants including having an initial screening with a handful.

Ultimately, I was looking for a consultant who had a few key qualities: success getting students admitted at the top schools, someone who was as invested in the process as me, and someone who would give me the truth without sugar coating it. Scott checked all these boxes. I felt better knowing that I was working with the owner of the consultant company, which isn?t true of some of the bigger consultant companies. This was a big reason why I chose Scott. I was concerned at other admission consultant companies that I would be pawned off to a low-level consultant without much experience.

The entire process was still stressful, but Scott helped me successfully get accepted to 2 top 7 programs and waitlisted at a 3rd. He was great to work with. We started by creating a schedule with milestones to hit as well as an initial brainstorming session. I also already knew what schools I was going to apply to, but he would assist with school selections. We only talked on the phone a few times but that was fine for me. We mostly communicated through email. His response time for emails or questions was normally within a day and around two days for essay revisions. For the most part he was blunt in his responses and opinions. I enjoyed this as I would rather have the truth. This may not work as well for some people who need more emotional support during the process. He also pushed me in my essay writing abilities. As an engineer this was a weak spot for me and he provided a great deal of value with editing abilities.

Overall working with him was a great experience and I would definitely recommend him to others. As the owner of the company I felt that he was as invested in me getting into at least 1 of my target programs as I was. However, a lot of the work is still placed on the applicant and a consultant is only there to assist.
Joined: Jul 29, 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2, 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

More Than Just a Consultant

March 30, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Working with Scott was the best decision I made in the arduous application process. He was HIGHLY responsive to any questions or concerns I had during this stressful time. My only regret is not doing the 5 school package (I chose the 3 school). Scott really knows how to present your story in the best way possible to maximize your chances of admission and scholarship. If you're serious about MBA, get started with him sooner rather than later!! Scott is more than just a consultant, he is a mentor and life coach!
Joined: Mar 25, 2019
Purchased Course: Sep 19, 2019
College: University of Alberta
Major: Geology
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Results that Matter

March 25, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I met Scott at the MBA tour in Toronto in August 2018, we chatted for a bit that day, as I did with many other consultants. About a week later, we set up a free consult and the first thing that made him stand out was how much he remembered from our conversation......many other consultants are just talking heads until you hire them. I enjoyed getting the personalized experience even before I decided to work with him.

I hired Scott in Sept for just one school, and after 2 weeks I decided to go with the 3 school package to reduce my risk. I applied to Wharton, HBS and LBS Round 2.

From day 1 the service was always available, always personal and always so much fun. Scott took a lot of the stress of applying off my back as I could focus on writing the GMAT. We strategized my story in a way that drew on all the strengths I had, strengths I don't notice day2day. We then set out a timeline and from then on all document edits were done in 24-48 hours. If you ever needed to chat about something that was urgent though, you could call or get an email response sooner.

The resume, when I compare the one I was using initially to the final draft he worked with me on, it was day and night.

My essay, he really pushed me to get more of myself out on the paper and that helped for better storytelling. Scott is like the big brother that keeps telling you where you can improve, he will push you to the best essay you can get.

Short answer questions, even these he spent time perfecting with about 3-4 edits for each run down.

In the end, your profile is a well thought out, well-written piece that fully represents you. That is how personal Personal MBA Coach.

Now I'm enrolling in Wharton Class of 2021 and I am so grateful for the help and advice that Personal MBA coach offered. I have recommended him to every MBA hopeful I've met and will continue to.
Joined: Mar 25, 2019
Purchased Course: Jul 31, 2018
College: West Point
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommended!

March 25, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I was originally a bit skeptical on working with a consultant but changed my mind after taking a free consultation with Scott Edinburgh, Personal MBA Coach. I knew within 5 minutes conversation that I needed to work with him. I had taken consultations with another company but Scott possesses a warm personality that to put his clients at ease throughout the application process. Aside from all of his insights, I appreciated Scott?s ability to help presenting my application in the most positive light. Furthermore, he was completely committed to helping me sticking to our schedule and thoroughly review my essays. He diplomatically pushed me to do some self-reflection and demonstrated my unique story in the application essay. As a result of his consultant, I was invited to interview with both schools that I applied.
Joined: Mar 23, 2019
Purchased Course: Jul 2, 2018
Country: Japan
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend

March 23, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I got admitted into LBS Class of 2021. Scott, thank you so much for help!
Scott is highly professional and a down-to-detail consultant and someone you can put into trust.
Scott is very experienced and knows each school very well. Therefore, he was able to bring in more insights beneath general website info.
He has navigated me through entire MBA process with great details and helped me craft my own strategy alone the way.
With his help I was able to identify my strengths and weaknesses and took action on them.
He also kindly introduced his connections to me during interview prep. It really helped a lot!

On top of that, Scott has an admirable work ethic. He worked so hard and always responses within 48 hours, even during midnight.

Thank you so much!
Joined: Mar 22, 2019
Purchased Course: Aug 1, 2018
College: IIT Delhi
Major: Engineering
Industry: Agribusiness
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Superb Support!

March 22, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I reached out to Scott while I was doing my research on various admission consultants, and after the first call with Scott, I knew he was the right consultant for me. Throughout the duration of our association, he has been available through a call / email etc especially when it is a time sensitive issue. We took a lot of time to decide on the target schools based on my application as I wanted to apply to a lot of them, but then he helped me streamline my thought process. His approach in helping me build my story was phenomenal as he was gave me ideas to ponder over instead of just enforcing me to use one strategy. This definitely helped me clarify the career trajectory for the application and in general as well. With his support, I got interviews almost in all the schools I applied, and have gained an admit from one of them. Still awaiting to hear from 2 top schools. I would definitely recommend him.
Joined: Mar 22, 2019
Purchased Course: Feb 15, 2019
College: Brown
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience with Personal MBA Coach

March 22, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Scott offers great insights into school picks, career choices, and interview prep. Heard of him through a friend of mine who got into Top1-2 BSchool with his help and spoke highly of him, so I reached out to him when trying to finalize my school list. He has great connections with the industry and schools' admission teams. He provided me with great colors with each school's unique characteristics and talked me through deciding between admits. He is very accessible through emails, unlike some other consultants I've encountered with.

Glad that I used the interview prep services to help me mock and think through my personal pitch. I felt confident and well prepared walking into my interviews, knowing what questions to expect. Got into my top 3 with his help. I highly recommend Scott.
Joined: Mar 18, 2019
Purchased Course: Apr 1, 2018
College: Brown Uninversity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EXCELLENT SERVICE!!

March 18, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott Edinurgh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I would highly recommend Scott and the Personal MBA Coach to anyone interested in getting accepted into a top MBA program. Scott is patient, organized, attentive, and an excellent coach through the entire process. Together, we laid out a strategy (which included guidance on the resume, essays, interviews and other crucial factors) that eventually led to a series of well-rounded applications that demonstrated my appeal as an MBA prospect to the adcom. But instead of trying to mold my application into a predictable form, we worked together to create an application that was authentic. Scott was an integral part of my HBS application success, and I sincerely recommend him for application consulting!
Joined: Mar 6, 2019
Purchased Course: May 23, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

MBA Consulting

March 6, 2019
  • Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Without Scott, I would not have gotten into both Kellogg and Haas. He provided me with crucial guidance and support throughout the journey. When I had began the admissions process, I was very overwhelmed. Scott did a good job of breaking it down into digestible steps, making me feel that I could accomplish each piece. He was good at helping me with bouncing ideas and solidifying them to ensure that the examples I used were the strongest in the limited word count. The interview prep that Personal MBA provided was also very helpful, interviewing with alumni who could give me feedback that was tailored to the school. This made me feel confident and allowed me to perform better in the interviews when they rolled around. Scott and Personal MBA was crucial for me and definitely would not be where I am today with without the help!
Page:1 2 3