Target Test Prep
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Target Test Prep

Best Promo Code 2019 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 248 reviews
robertg
Joined: Apr 2019
Purchased Course: Mar 2019
College: University of Virginia
Major: Economics
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I wouldn't try any other study plan, if quant is your concern.

5 stars
April 30, 2019
Company: Target Test Prep 248 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 131 reviews
Teacher: Scott and Jeffrey
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 730
I needed to improve my quant score, which is why I chose TTP. They have a program specific to quant. After taking the diagnostic test, you get a study plan.

The way I attacked the curriculum is I focused on going through all the textbook chapters (which cover every single kind of problem you could possibly see on GMAT quant). Then I would emphasize the "easy" and "medium" practice tests, because TTP says what separates the good from great is not the ability to get easy questions right but the inability to get the easy questions wrong.

This seemed to ring true because I finished the whole textbook and 2/3 of the practice problems (I did 1640, totaling over 33hrs of working problems) and proceeded to score in the middle of my target range.

The lessons are so clear. The curriculum is easy to follow. The solutions make sense. And Scott and Jeffrey respond to emails.

I wouldn't try any other study plan.

JazzMilo
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2019
Verified Real Student Review

TTP Equals Quant Success

5 stars
March 26, 2019
Company: Target Test Prep 248 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 131 reviews
Teacher: Jeff
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I took a chance on Target Test Prep because it was highly regarded by people on this forum, and it did not disappoint in the slightest. If you're looking for a go-to resource for Quant improvement, look no further than TTP. Firstly, the course is extremely reasonably priced. (I used their Flexible GMAT® Preparation Plan due to time constraints, but the other options deliver even better value per month.) The TTP interface was clean and engaging, making the learning of quant concepts (dare I say) fun! The TTP team was exceedingly responsive to course content questions and Jeff in particular was an advocate for my success as I prepared for success. I only wish TTP had a verbal course -- if TTP ever develops one it's game over for other GMAT prep services.

FinallyDoneGMAT2018
Joined: Feb 2019
Purchased Course: Aug 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

TTP - the most comprehensive for Quant

5 stars
February 7, 2019
Company: Target Test Prep 248 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 38 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 740
I took the GMAT twice, scoring a 640 (42Q) and a 670 (45Q) respectively. I had used other GMAT prep materials and studied for 6 months but still felt overwhelmed on the Quant section. I felt like I had a good base in quant but needed something to push me to a top score. Luckily, I was recommended TTP. I cannot state how comprehensive that site is! I dedicated a couple of months to review each chapter, take the practice quizzes, and take their longer exams. Come test day I honestly felt like I had seen every problem the GMAT threw at me. If you really dig into their materials, no question should come as a surprise. It is such a comforting feeling when taking the test. I ended up scoring a 49Q the next two times I took the exam. Finally, finished a few days ago with a 740!

venivinnyvici
Joined: Jan 2019
Purchased Course: Nov 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Great prep, especially for quant!

5 stars
January 5, 2019
Company: Target Test Prep 248 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 131 reviews
Teacher: Scott
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 720
I signed up for the Target Test Prep service for a quick brush-up prior to my GMAT exam. I had previously taken the exam and scored well in verbal, but needed a serious quant boost!

After reading multiple reviews, I went with Target. I had my exam coming up in about a month, and needed some intensive core skills review + practice problems. The 'chapters' available on Target were an awesome way to walk through fundamentals. There was even an option for 'accelerated practice' which lets you focus on slightly more complex material.

The practice tests were comprehensive, testing a whole slew of possible GMAT areas. The answer explanations were thorough. There were also video explanations which I found super helpful.

The team was super responsive to any questions I had - both material-wise and customer service-wise.

Overall, I'd highly recommend.. especially if you need to focus in on quant over a short period of time! My score was much more balanced after studying with Target. Thanks Scott and team!

ibuoye
Joined: Jan 2019
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
College: Emory University
Major: Foreign Language and Literature
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Target got me the score I needed

5 stars
January 3, 2019
Company: Target Test Prep 248 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 131 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 700
I went from a 670 to a 700. My quant went from a 39 to a 44. The program is affordable, the coursework is logically organized, comprehensive, and the videos provide detailed explanations of how to solve every type of problem you will encounter on the GMAT. The program covers just about every type of problem you will see on the GMAT quant section. I only took one math class in college, and I majored in Chinese, so if I can understand the material well enough to improve my quant, anyone can. If you follow the program as it is designed, your quant score will improve.

rnlgus
Joined: Dec 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2018
College: Columbia University
Major: Economics
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Helped me Improve My Quant Significantly!

5 stars
December 20, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 248 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 38 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 720   After: 740
Merely taking practice tests and using the Official GMAT guide did not allow me to significantly improve my quant score. Prior to TTP I received quant scores of 47 and 46 on my official practice tests (for an overall 720 and 710).

I stopped taking practice tests and used TTP exclusively for an intense month of quantitative review. After that month, I finally took two additional practice tests and received quant scores of 49 and 51 (for an overall score of 750 and 760 respectively).

I finally took the GMAT for real and received a quant score of 49 and verbal 42 (for an overall 740). I am very pleased with how much I was able to improve using TTP. It really brings your quant skills to where it needs to be to get stellar scores on the GMAT.

CTaetna15
Joined: Dec 2013
Purchased Course: Aug 2018
College: University of Connecticut
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Go with Target Test Prep for Quant!

5 stars
October 30, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 248 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 131 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 770
Amazing- got me from 44Q -50Q — 690 to 770 in two months. Probably would have gotten 51Q if I had finished the program!

IReadABunch
Joined: Oct 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

TTP Offers a Great Value

5 stars
October 11, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 248 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 131 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 720
For a reasonable price, TTP offers TONS of material. It's a highly structured and organized program that really helps to refine your quant skills. Whether you're a naturally high scorer or someone with a lot of room to improve, Target Test Prep offers a strong system to help boost your score.

Personally, I used TTP for one month (a bit rushed - to really take advantage of the resource, I'd recommend at least 2 months), and saw a pretty decent improvement. I scored a 45Q on my first test and managed to bump it up to a 47Q through TTP. Though, I think I under performed on test day, as I was getting 49Q on practice tests.

Through thousands of practice problems and thorough explanations of all the concepts you'll see on the GMAT, Target Test Prep is a great resource to hone your skills.

le_gmat
Joined: Oct 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Major: Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

100 Point Increase with TTP, From a 670 to a 770

5 stars
October 11, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 248 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 79 reviews
Teacher: Scott
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 770
YOU WILL NOT REGRET TTP FOR GMAT QUANT! GET IT NOW IF YOU’RE SERIOUS ABOUT SCORING 700+

Before I started using TTP, my GMAT prep and practice test scores were inconsistent. Based on online reviews of the “best” materials available, I began studying for the GMAT with Manhattan Strategy Guides, Official Guide Questions, and the Free Official Practice Exams. While the Official GMAT Material is gold, don’t bother wasting your time with Manhattan’s Strategy Guides – there were not enough practice problems and I did way too much passive learning which lulled me into a false sense of security about how much I knew. On my first Official GMAT test, I scored a 670, falling 40 points below my practice test scores and 60 points below the 730 that I desperately wanted before applying to T10 business schools. A close friend of mine who had achieved a 760 with TTP recommended that I stop everything else and focus on TTP to achieve more consistency in my scores.

As a former engineering major, I had good math intuition, but still had a lot of gaps in knowledge from moving around a lot in middle school and high school. To achieve 49+ on Quant, I really needed a program that solidified my knowledge base through an engaging development of theoretical knowledge and practical application of concepts through MANY DRILLS. My goal for GMAT math was to develop muscle memory so that solving math problems would feel just like riding a bicycle. I felt as though that level of comfort and consistency in solving problems would help reduce any anxiety I felt on test day. TTP provided that and so much more!

COMPLETING TTP REQUIRED TIME AND DEDICATION, BUT IT WAS WORTH IT IN THE END!!!!!

My only regret is that I didn’t start TTP sooner. It is very comprehensive and available at such a reasonable price. Give yourself ~2-3 months to diligently go through all the modules. TTP is not something that you should attempt to fully complete in a month. That being said, there is a short study plan you can follow if you are on a time crunch.

Immediately after signing up for TTP, Scott offered to do a call with me, where we identified my concern areas (work /rate, combinatorics/ probability, and advanced geometry) and mapped out a plan of action. I’m bad at following plans so, initially, I skipped around between the different modules and focused on the hard problems, which quickly proved to be a big mistake. The modules really do build on each other and I needed to work through the easy and medium problems first to identify my knowledge gaps and building a strong foundation. Working from the ground up takes awhile, but it really is the best approach. I complemented TTP with the two additional Official GMAT Exam Packs offered by GMAC.

My favorite parts of the TTP platform:
1. ANALYTICS: Not only does TTP provide a dashboard that displays your accuracy and predicted score range, it also allows you to DRILL into the topic and subtopic areas that you are weak on and directs you to the chapters where you can review the relevant material. This level of detailed analysis was so incredibly helpful in establishing a strong foundation. I would spend a lot of time reviewing the topics that I had below 50% accuracy on and paid attention to these topics when doing OG questions and practice tests. The analytics section is also useful because if you have data-driven insights on what your strong and weak sections are, you KNOW which sections to focus on versus skip over on the actual test. Previously, I was relying on my gut to gauge which questions were difficult or would take me a long time to complete, an approach that was not always accurate.
2. TARGET TEST PREP FORMULA SHEET: Target Test Prep provides a helpful cheat sheet of formulas. I printed out this sheet and as I went through the TTP course and Official Problems, I would jot down additional formulas and tricks that I thought were important, but that I would most likely forget a few days later. I looked over my “customized” TTP cheat sheet in the days leading up to my exam.
3. ACTIVE REVIEW SHEETS: TTP Provides Active Review Sheets that you can print out and take notes on as you go through the different chapters. I found it extremely helpful to note the different permutations of a specific problem type on these sheets, especially if it was on a topic that was one of my weakness areas e.g., work/rate problems. People emphasize error logs a lot, but I think having clear, brief notes on the different problems you might encounter on test day is also helpful to review in the weeks leading up to the exam. As I reviewed my notes, which also served as a kind of checklist, I was able to reassure myself that I knew enough, had covered all of my gaps, and was ready to take this test!
4. VIDEO LESSONS: Each chapter has video lessons. I would often review videos on my morning commute or when I had down time. Active learning is best, but sometimes it was nice to just watch videos passively to refresh my memory on a particular topic.
5. FLEXIBLE: Because I am a self-directed learner, I found the well-designed platform offered the flexibility I needed to focus on my personalized needs at times that were most convenient to me.

THE BIGGEST BENEFIT TTP PROVIDED WAS CONSISTENCY IN MY QUANT SCORES.
Post TTP, I only scored 49+ on the Quant section of my practice exams and official exam. Before I took my official test, I signed up for Kaplan’s Official Test Day Experience, to get a feel for what it’s like to take a GMAT practice test at the same test center as my actual GMAT. Although I had to use a Kaplan Practice Test rather than an Official Practice Test during this experience, I found it SO HELPFUL to go through the motions of test day a few weeks before the real thing.
On test day, I found myself extremely comfortable with most of the easy and medium questions. There were still some hard quant curveballs that got me towards the end of the test, but overall it went really smoothly, and I was ecstatic when I saw that 770 at the end of the exam! I hope this helps, and remember that persistence and active practice is key on your GMAT journey!

seiramf
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: May 2018
College: University of California, Berkeley
Major: Psychology
Industry: Retail/Wholesale and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course for GMAT Quant

5 stars
September 30, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 248 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 38 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury-Stewarrt
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 710
It's been a decade since I've been in school, so to say that I was unfamiliar with the concepts tested on the quant section is an understatement. TTP helped me to get back to the basics and build my quant skills from basically non-existent to a solid understanding. I highly recommend it for anyone looking to improve their quant score. The creator of TTP, Scott, was also incredibly helpful and supportive throughout the process. It's apparent that he cares about each of his students and he took his time to explain to me the importance of taking a strategic approach with studying for the GMAT, and of course exactly what that strategy is. He also offers one-on-one tutoring for those who are looking for more hands on support.