Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Target Test Prep

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 228 reviews
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
Verified Real Student Review

No-nonsens Quant prep

5 stars
May 21, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 228 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 117 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 740
If you want a prep service/ course that helps you drill inn the basics and fundamentals of GMAT Quant, TTP is the best out there! I used Magoosh and MGMAT in preparation for my first GMAT (700, Q46, V40) and although they are good i did not feel that i mastered the fundamentals at a level that enabled me to fully tackle the hardest problems with confidence. After an intensive month of TTP and 1700 practice questions (!) later i knew that the only thing between me and a high score in quant was seeing the "2min" solution and fully understanding the question, not silly arithmetic mistakes, poor formulation of my algebraic equations or uncertainty when tackling inequalities and scientific notations. It was no longer a question about basic skills, but actual knowledge and fully understanding the question. The second time around i felt confident in the quant section and quickly realized that i did OK just based on the difficulty of the questions in front of me, i screwed up pacing a bit (my inability to quit and give up haunts me) but still managed to secure a Q49 for a 740 total (V42). I would recommend TTP to anyone just starting their prep and who wants to do Quant the right way! A special thank you to Scott at TTP for providing friendly and enthusiastic customer service!

Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Experience with TTP

4 stars
May 5, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 228 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 117 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 730
My first attempt at the GMAT resulted in a 640 with a strong verbal score and a low quant score. I was waitlisted from my graduate school of choice and was told I needed to raise my GMAT score to at least 700 to be near my program's average score. I stumbled upon TTP through GMATclub and was immediately attracted by the clean website design and the methodical way in how each topic area of GMAT quant was covered by Scott & team. I was diligent to follow the TTP course calendar exactly as it was laid out; although TTP covers only quant, the course trains you and helps you to develop the analytical mindset that is necessary to score high in verbal as well. After three months of studying intensively with TTP and using only OG Verbal materials, I raised my score from 640 to 730 (and also achieved a significant bump in verbal!). If you are careful to follow TTP as prescribed, and take the time to watch the videos and do ALL the practice problems (as well as do signifi cant work with OG problems), there is a good chance you will see score improvement as I did.

Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2018
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Absolutely the best quant prep for the GMAT!

5 stars
May 1, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 228 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 117 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
I'm so happy I found out about Target Test Prep!
I was consistently scoring about 43 on the Quant section which was way lower than I wanted.
I am definitely a math person so was really frustrated that I couldn’t seem to bring it up. 2 weeks before my scheduled GMAT my friend told me about TTP, so I decided to check it out. Right away I was able to tell that this site was legit so I pushed back my GMAT 2 more weeks and even set up tutoring sessions with Jeff.

The program is really great, it covers all the important topics and contains really useful formulas and tricks to watch out for in each section. I also found the chapter tests and review quizzes extremely helpful and important. By the time I got to my GMAT date I felt super confident with the Quant and scored a 49! I ended up getting a 690 (target was 700) and am planning on taking it one more time and trying to improve my verbal a bit (got a 35 and know I can bring this up at least 2-3 points).

Anyone who wants to bring up their Quant score should definitely try TTP!

Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
College: st. olaf
Major: Biology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

TTP Great for those who struggle with quant

5 stars
May 1, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 228 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 117 reviews
Teacher: Scott
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 710
TTP really drills down into the fundamentals of quant. Most GMAT prep softwares use workarounds or one-off strategies but TTP really forces you to refine your fundamental quant skills. Therefore, TTP requires lost of time and dedication but it's well worth it.

The flexible option is really nice for those who have a full time job and have a decent understanding of how the quant section works on the GMAT. The practice problems did not allow you to use GMAT tricks to solve them, rather the problems forced you to use sound quant skills learned in chapters. Overall, TTP is great for those who feel as though they have gaps in their knowledge from a quant perspective. I would recommend TTP to anyone struggling with Quant especially if they have already taken another course or used other prep material that did not significantly improve their score.

I used to do practice problems for hours but TTP forces you to understand the logic and math behind concepts, which proved to be very helpful. I chose TTP primarily b/c my verbal was strong enough but quant needed work.

Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
Verified Real Student Review

TTP builds excellent logic to solve Quant Questions

5 stars
April 29, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 228 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 117 reviews
Teacher: Jeffrey
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
Target Test Prep made a major difference to my GMAT quant score. Before the course, I was mainly scoring around Q40 and was maxing out at Q45, but I knew that if I were to improve in Quant, I would have to find a logical way to understand Quant topics and have a systematic approach to attack problems. I had taken a classroom course and then also completed Quant books of another reputed test prep company, however I could never cross Q45 in any mocks. My goal was to reach at least Q49.

I had taken other courses that did cover the fundamentals but weren’t as comprehensive as TTP. Several other courses I checked out focused mostly on conceptual depth without application or direct problem solving using techniques (i.e. smart numbers, testing answers). What works in Quant is knowing the concept well and ability to apply in a structured manner.

TTP does the following to deserve a big “Thank You”:
1. Builds excellent conceptual base for every topic. Furthermore, they have covered all possible concepts & Q types in a topic.
2. It provides a logical approach to solve any Question. Each Q has a video as well as text solution.
3. Provides excellent practice by having Chapter Quizzes of varying difficulty level (Easy, Medium & Difficult). Furthermore, there are review Quizzes before beginning every chapter to help in revising the concepts of the previous chapters. Additionally, there are Review Quizzes after a few chapters to solidify concepts in a cluster of chapters. Finally, there are the Global Review to test our entire Quant Ability.
4. The Quiz solutions also help to identify which concept we are lacking and provides an easy reference link to review the pertaining concept.
5. Provides the best dashboard to pinpoint what topics is our weak link area and focus on the same in terms of accuracy, pacing.

Overall, I recommend going through each module at least once and completing all the Quizzes.
I scored a Q49 in my 1st attempt at GMAT.

Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
College: Universidade Estadual de Londrina
Major: Computer Science
Industry: Consulting
Country: Brazil
Verified Real Student Review

Regret for not having more time with TTP!

5 stars
April 24, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 228 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 117 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury-Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 710
To summarize my review: TTP is awesome!
In only two week of studying with it I increased my Quant score from 47 to 48, but if I had studied with TTP from the beginning, I'm sure I'd hit at least a 50.
I just had a couple of weeks to study using TTP because I had a due date on my second GMAT exam, but studying with TTP was an amazing experience, based on a few things:

1. It actually teaches you math.
I've seen other courses that teach you only a few tricks to get some questions right, but that is not sufficient to get a very high score. TTP has a methodology that ease the learning process to you, so those tricks are only ways to fasten the solving process of a problem that you'll definitely know how to solve if the trick is not enough.

2. It helps you to track your gaps.
After each exam you take, it clearly states what are your main problems, according to question type, theme, and difficulty level. It even conveniently lead you to themes that you should review before advancing on the study plan. After each test, you review your answers and the official solution, and you can mark why you got it wrong. It helps a lot to become more aware of the changes you need in you.

3. It has an "infinite" questions set.
Seriously, I wasn't even near finishing all the practice questions TTP could give me. In addition to questions grouped into themes, it even has a tool to generate customized tests with a lots of parameters for you to choose, such as difficulty, your average response time on related themes, only new/known questions, only questions that you got wrong before, etc.

4. It has an use experience that meets nowadays expectations
Seriously, why there are still courses that makes you use excel spreadsheets or things like that to track your progress? TTP gets that done easily! There's a pretty amazing dashboard that easily gives you the information you need to take the next steps.

5. The customer service is great!
I sent a few messages on the customer support chat and they answered me really fast, even on Sundays! Theses messages were all about my attempts to optimize my use of the tool because I was so short on time. I did not have any problem to use it.

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Most Comprehensive Quant Course

5 stars
April 18, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 228 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 117 reviews
Teacher: Jeff and Scott
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 710
Target Test Prep made a major difference to my GMAT Score overall, especially since I was aiming to obtain a high quant score. Before the course, I was mainly scoring around Q40, but I knew that if I were to improve I would have to prioritize this section since I was not scoring at a high percentile. I took other courses and managed to score a 620 on my first GMAT attempt (Q43, V 31). While my Verbal was not as high either, I knew that it was important for me to achieve a high quant score since I am looking to switch to a career that values quant highly. My goal was to reach at least Q47.

I initially began taking other courses that did cover the fundamentals, but non were as comprehensive as TTP. Several other courses I checked out focused mostly on techniques (i.e. smart numbers, testing answers), but I knew that understanding the algebraic approach initially would ultimately help facilitate my understanding of the problems to then apply these kinds of techniques. I believe TTP has the best dashboard and comprehensive modules overall, allowing you to customize your own plan depending on how much time you have before your test. Having failed to obtain my target score previously, I decided to take more time to study for about 3 months (the first two dedicated to TTP) until I felt prepared to score highly on my second try. I did study approximately 3 hours a day to go over TTP and I went through each Module twice, initially focusing on understanding the concepts and later focusing on time management for each test on every Module.

Since I started scoring between 47-49 on my practice CATs, I felt more confident but I did schedule a call with Jeff who gave me a couple of tips to make sure that I was ready for my test and immediately booked my exam for 2 weeks after that call. I found that a lot of times there were concepts I found difficult to grasp entirely, but the Must Know page was of great help to focus on what the most important concepts are for the test and relaxed my mind from stressing to have to know every single concept. Overall, I recommend going through each module at least once since I understand that not everyone has time and based on your performance in the diagnostics, focus on your weak areas that are thankfully displayed on the TTP dashboard. It took a while, but I was finally able to score above a 700 and I owe my thanks to TTP.

Final Score 710; Q49; V38

Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Great Platform!

5 stars
April 12, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 228 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 117 reviews
Teacher: Jeff & Scott
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I would fall into the category of test takers who seem to associate some sort of esoteric wisdom with cracking exams such as the GMAT. However, from the very beginning, TTP proved that the test indeed was very tractable and, with a little smart practice, scoring a 700 or above was very much a possibility.

Both Jeff & Scott are always available, and, although I went with the flexible self-study package, I felt highly attended to. I don't think I ever had to wait longer than a minute to get a response from Jeff or Scott. The way the course is set up makes the entire learning process extremely enjoyable. One thing that underpins the course through all the lessons is the essence of the exam i.e. GMAT is more logic than anything else. And, TTP does a phenomenal job at driving that point home and equipping its subscribers with the critical thinking that is key.

Ultimately, I was able to get the score I wanted and would recommend TTP to anyone who is looking for a solid Quant program.

Although TTP is only Quant, it gave me the confidence that helped me through all the sections of the exam.

Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing experience -- everyone should try TTP!

5 stars
March 31, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 228 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 117 reviews
Teacher: Jeff
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 670
I had about 7 weeks to study for the GMAT (a lot less time than I wanted, but I had upcoming deadlines and other responsibilities) and I definitely don't consider myself a quant person. I took a practice GMAT and scored a 560, which was depressing, but it gave me a baseline to work from.

I initially tried the MGMAT books but felt they lacked an interactive, multi-sensory learning component, so I dropped them in favor of Magoosh. Though I think Magoosh is an interesting program, it basically just throws example after example at you in the form of videos, and I don't think the concepts really get reinforced.

Frustrated, I decided to look at reviews on BeatTheGMAT and GMATClub and that's where I first heard of TTP (the reviews were quite compelling). Since they offered a free trial, I decided to give it a chance. At first, I was overwhelmed with just how massive the study plan is, but I quickly realized that the program is setup extremely methodically, from the very basics of addition and subtraction all the way through to every challenging testable concept on the quant section. The provided quick study notes and the 15 page formula guide were fantastic additions that helped reinforce the concepts of each chapter.

About halfway through my studying, I realized that there were still some gaps in my foundational knowledge, so I hired Jeff, one of the heads of TTP, to do a couple of extended tutoring sessions. He was able to reinforce some of the concepts I was struggling with and exposed others that I thought I knew well -- in reality, I had comprehension gaps in several areas, and Jeff pushed me hard to dig deeper and really understand the concepts in and out. He got me to think like the test makers.

I decided to push my test back by a week and dug even deeper to give me all to studying. I took the test on the last possible day before an international work trip, and I was stunned to receive a 670... in less than 2 months, I'd improved my score by more than 100 points!

Ultimately, I got accepted to Darden's GEMBA program with a scholarship, and I owe a tremendous debt of gratitude to TTP and Jeff for taking me from completely quant naive to confident in such a short period of time. I wholeheartedly recommend both.

Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Simplified Quant Concepts and Shortcuts

5 stars
March 23, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 228 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 117 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 700
I 100% recommend TTP. I didn't want to spend the money on an instructor and I wanted the flexibility to study whenever I could find the time with my busy work schedule. TTP provided an exhaustive analysis of the quant concepts that helped me feel more comfortable with the problems when I sat for the GMAT. More importantly, I found that I could determine what questions I was able to answer faster and so didn't spend unnecessary time and finished the math section with some time to spare. I honestly feel that this is the best option out there for anyone with a busy schedule who wants to drastically improve their quant score.