Target Test Prep
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Target Test Prep

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 231 reviews
ChandlerPerry
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
College: University of Maryland
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Comprehensive Program Provided Me with Strong Quant Score

5 stars
July 6, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 231 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 78 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 710
Before starting Target Test Prep (TTP), I spent so much time and energy utilizing various books and online platforms. For my 2nd retake of the test, I decided to prepare with Magoosh and walked out of the exam DEVESTATED. My quant score had plummeted from my 1st test score and I sat there in my car thinking “how did I get dumber?” As soon as I got home, I signed up for TTP. My friends who were taking the GMAT SWORE by it, so I knew that it was time to give it a try.

I began TTP and was impressed by how thorough the platform was. Because I used so many other platforms, I would always notice when one platform failed to teach a certain concept. That was never the case with TTP.

At one point during my TTP program, I came to a brief halt. I told Jeff that the reason that I hadn’t started the combinations chapter was because I had found combinations to be so challenging in the past and I was scared. He assured me that TTP’s combinations chapter was great so I begrudgingly started the chapter. Jeff was ABSOLUTELY CORRECT! I felt so comfortable with combinations after that chapter, which was amazing because I had been struggling with them for months. TTP did an outstanding job of simplifying topics I had previously struggled with, such as geometry, combinations, probability, and number properties.

Before TTP, I dreaded taking practice exams because my math basics were so shaky. When I took my 1st post TTP practice test, I thought to myself “this seems too easy. I must be failing”. Nope! I just had a really strong grasp of the material. Post TTP, I only scored 49Q and 50Q on my practice and actual exams and I was so proud of myself.

When my friends who are about to start the GMAT process come to me for advice, I always tell them not to waste their time with other platforms and to start with TTP. My biggest GMAT regret is wasting my time and money on all of these other platforms for 7 months when I should’ve just started with TTP.

byb2103
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
College: Columbia University
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: Singapore
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Online Quant Test Prep Resource

5 stars
June 21, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 231 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 119 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 780
I used 3 months of the Flexible Prep package to study for the quant section of the GMAT this year. I am a native English speaker and knew that I was relatively strong at the Verbal section going into my GMAT. However, despite being an engineer, I was relatively unprepared for the quantitative section of the exam. The quant section wants you to think in a very specific way and memorizing certain tricks and formulas can take you very far. I initially started my prep using the Manhattan GMAT books. I went through all of them and realized that I hadn't really retained any of what I read because the practice was not engaging or well structured. It did not force you to review material periodically and didn't provide very many GMAT style problems to practice with. I took a second CAT after reading the books and found that I'd made very little progress.

Enter Target Test Prep. I read the reviews of many online resources before settling on TTP, partially because of the reviews and partially because their price point was MUCH more manageable than other companies. I feel like I got incredible value for money with the package, ultimately boosting my score from 690 (first CAT exam) to 780 (official score).

Some of the aspects that I liked most about the Target Test Prep software were its plethora of examples and practice problems, the periodic reviews of past material, and the similarity of the problems to the questions in the GMAT official practice exams and actual exam. The software has 2500 practice problems, testing you on every quant subject imaginable. I finished every practice problem, including re-doing some of them when I felt that I wasn't as solid on a topic. Every few chapters or so, the programs prompts you to review the latest material. This kept me accountable and forced me to build knowledge instead of just memorizing a technique for a few days to forget it several chapters later. I used the written study guides and made note-cards in addition to following the online progression.

After completing the studying, I took the 2 practice exams from GMAC and 4 practice exams from Manhattan Prep. The way questions were worded or structured in the GMAC exams was extremely similar to the way TTP had taught me. On the other hand, Manhattan Prep seemed like it was purposely trying to trick you. On the test day, I saw several problems that were structured in a that was almost identical to what I had studied with TTP.

As my final test score obviously demonstrates, TTP prepared me extremely well for the quantitative section of the exam. I would highly recommend it to anyone who really needs to focus hard on quant and may be stronger or more confident in verbal.

tkor
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Detailed & Organized Self Study Course

5 stars
May 29, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 231 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 119 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 710
When selecting a course, I was looking for one that would allow me to study at my own pace rather than having to attend a class. I needed the flexibility to move as quickly as possible rather than waiting around for a class session once a week.

There were a number of things I particularly enjoyed about TTP, including the learning analytics, which allowed me to review my studies at a higher level to see where I had gaps. I also found the end of chapter quizzes to be helpful in determining what I needed to review or didn't understand in the first pass of study.

Overall, it was really nicely organized and was really helpful in improving my quant score efficiently.

Alxandersen
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
Verified Real Student Review

No-nonsens Quant prep

5 stars
May 21, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 231 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 119 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 740
If you want a prep service/ course that helps you drill inn the basics and fundamentals of GMAT Quant, TTP is the best out there! I used Magoosh and MGMAT in preparation for my first GMAT (700, Q46, V40) and although they are good i did not feel that i mastered the fundamentals at a level that enabled me to fully tackle the hardest problems with confidence. After an intensive month of TTP and 1700 practice questions (!) later i knew that the only thing between me and a high score in quant was seeing the "2min" solution and fully understanding the question, not silly arithmetic mistakes, poor formulation of my algebraic equations or uncertainty when tackling inequalities and scientific notations. It was no longer a question about basic skills, but actual knowledge and fully understanding the question. The second time around i felt confident in the quant section and quickly realized that i did OK just based on the difficulty of the questions in front of me, i screwed up pacing a bit (my inability to quit and give up haunts me) but still managed to secure a Q49 for a 740 total (V42). I would recommend TTP to anyone just starting their prep and who wants to do Quant the right way! A special thank you to Scott at TTP for providing friendly and enthusiastic customer service!

jpbear211
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Experience with TTP

4 stars
May 5, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 231 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 119 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 730
My first attempt at the GMAT resulted in a 640 with a strong verbal score and a low quant score. I was waitlisted from my graduate school of choice and was told I needed to raise my GMAT score to at least 700 to be near my program's average score. I stumbled upon TTP through GMATclub and was immediately attracted by the clean website design and the methodical way in how each topic area of GMAT quant was covered by Scott & team. I was diligent to follow the TTP course calendar exactly as it was laid out; although TTP covers only quant, the course trains you and helps you to develop the analytical mindset that is necessary to score high in verbal as well. After three months of studying intensively with TTP and using only OG Verbal materials, I raised my score from 640 to 730 (and also achieved a significant bump in verbal!). If you are careful to follow TTP as prescribed, and take the time to watch the videos and do ALL the practice problems (as well as do signifi cant work with OG problems), there is a good chance you will see score improvement as I did.

barigordon1217
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2018
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Absolutely the best quant prep for the GMAT!

5 stars
May 1, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 231 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 119 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
I'm so happy I found out about Target Test Prep!
I was consistently scoring about 43 on the Quant section which was way lower than I wanted.
I am definitely a math person so was really frustrated that I couldn’t seem to bring it up. 2 weeks before my scheduled GMAT my friend told me about TTP, so I decided to check it out. Right away I was able to tell that this site was legit so I pushed back my GMAT 2 more weeks and even set up tutoring sessions with Jeff.

The program is really great, it covers all the important topics and contains really useful formulas and tricks to watch out for in each section. I also found the chapter tests and review quizzes extremely helpful and important. By the time I got to my GMAT date I felt super confident with the Quant and scored a 49! I ended up getting a 690 (target was 700) and am planning on taking it one more time and trying to improve my verbal a bit (got a 35 and know I can bring this up at least 2-3 points).

Anyone who wants to bring up their Quant score should definitely try TTP!

hankmpls21
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
College: st. olaf
Major: Biology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

TTP Great for those who struggle with quant

5 stars
May 1, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 231 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 119 reviews
Teacher: Scott
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 710
TTP really drills down into the fundamentals of quant. Most GMAT prep softwares use workarounds or one-off strategies but TTP really forces you to refine your fundamental quant skills. Therefore, TTP requires lost of time and dedication but it's well worth it.

The flexible option is really nice for those who have a full time job and have a decent understanding of how the quant section works on the GMAT. The practice problems did not allow you to use GMAT tricks to solve them, rather the problems forced you to use sound quant skills learned in chapters. Overall, TTP is great for those who feel as though they have gaps in their knowledge from a quant perspective. I would recommend TTP to anyone struggling with Quant especially if they have already taken another course or used other prep material that did not significantly improve their score.

I used to do practice problems for hours but TTP forces you to understand the logic and math behind concepts, which proved to be very helpful. I chose TTP primarily b/c my verbal was strong enough but quant needed work.

Aim2019
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
Verified Real Student Review

TTP builds excellent logic to solve Quant Questions

5 stars
April 29, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 231 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 119 reviews
Teacher: Jeffrey
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
Target Test Prep made a major difference to my GMAT quant score. Before the course, I was mainly scoring around Q40 and was maxing out at Q45, but I knew that if I were to improve in Quant, I would have to find a logical way to understand Quant topics and have a systematic approach to attack problems. I had taken a classroom course and then also completed Quant books of another reputed test prep company, however I could never cross Q45 in any mocks. My goal was to reach at least Q49.

I had taken other courses that did cover the fundamentals but weren’t as comprehensive as TTP. Several other courses I checked out focused mostly on conceptual depth without application or direct problem solving using techniques (i.e. smart numbers, testing answers). What works in Quant is knowing the concept well and ability to apply in a structured manner.

TTP does the following to deserve a big “Thank You”:
1. Builds excellent conceptual base for every topic. Furthermore, they have covered all possible concepts & Q types in a topic.
2. It provides a logical approach to solve any Question. Each Q has a video as well as text solution.
3. Provides excellent practice by having Chapter Quizzes of varying difficulty level (Easy, Medium & Difficult). Furthermore, there are review Quizzes before beginning every chapter to help in revising the concepts of the previous chapters. Additionally, there are Review Quizzes after a few chapters to solidify concepts in a cluster of chapters. Finally, there are the Global Review to test our entire Quant Ability.
4. The Quiz solutions also help to identify which concept we are lacking and provides an easy reference link to review the pertaining concept.
5. Provides the best dashboard to pinpoint what topics is our weak link area and focus on the same in terms of accuracy, pacing.

Overall, I recommend going through each module at least once and completing all the Quizzes.
I scored a Q49 in my 1st attempt at GMAT.

Hippler
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
College: Universidade Estadual de Londrina
Major: Computer Science
Industry: Consulting
Country: Brazil
Verified Real Student Review

Regret for not having more time with TTP!

5 stars
April 24, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 231 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 119 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury-Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 710
To summarize my review: TTP is awesome!
In only two week of studying with it I increased my Quant score from 47 to 48, but if I had studied with TTP from the beginning, I'm sure I'd hit at least a 50.
I just had a couple of weeks to study using TTP because I had a due date on my second GMAT exam, but studying with TTP was an amazing experience, based on a few things:

1. It actually teaches you math.
I've seen other courses that teach you only a few tricks to get some questions right, but that is not sufficient to get a very high score. TTP has a methodology that ease the learning process to you, so those tricks are only ways to fasten the solving process of a problem that you'll definitely know how to solve if the trick is not enough.

2. It helps you to track your gaps.
After each exam you take, it clearly states what are your main problems, according to question type, theme, and difficulty level. It even conveniently lead you to themes that you should review before advancing on the study plan. After each test, you review your answers and the official solution, and you can mark why you got it wrong. It helps a lot to become more aware of the changes you need in you.

3. It has an "infinite" questions set.
Seriously, I wasn't even near finishing all the practice questions TTP could give me. In addition to questions grouped into themes, it even has a tool to generate customized tests with a lots of parameters for you to choose, such as difficulty, your average response time on related themes, only new/known questions, only questions that you got wrong before, etc.

4. It has an use experience that meets nowadays expectations
Seriously, why there are still courses that makes you use excel spreadsheets or things like that to track your progress? TTP gets that done easily! There's a pretty amazing dashboard that easily gives you the information you need to take the next steps.

5. The customer service is great!
I sent a few messages on the customer support chat and they answered me really fast, even on Sundays! Theses messages were all about my attempts to optimize my use of the tool because I was so short on time. I did not have any problem to use it.

maxolivares
Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Most Comprehensive Quant Course

5 stars
April 18, 2018
Company: Target Test Prep 231 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 119 reviews
Teacher: Jeff and Scott
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 710
Target Test Prep made a major difference to my GMAT Score overall, especially since I was aiming to obtain a high quant score. Before the course, I was mainly scoring around Q40, but I knew that if I were to improve I would have to prioritize this section since I was not scoring at a high percentile. I took other courses and managed to score a 620 on my first GMAT attempt (Q43, V 31). While my Verbal was not as high either, I knew that it was important for me to achieve a high quant score since I am looking to switch to a career that values quant highly. My goal was to reach at least Q47.

I initially began taking other courses that did cover the fundamentals, but non were as comprehensive as TTP. Several other courses I checked out focused mostly on techniques (i.e. smart numbers, testing answers), but I knew that understanding the algebraic approach initially would ultimately help facilitate my understanding of the problems to then apply these kinds of techniques. I believe TTP has the best dashboard and comprehensive modules overall, allowing you to customize your own plan depending on how much time you have before your test. Having failed to obtain my target score previously, I decided to take more time to study for about 3 months (the first two dedicated to TTP) until I felt prepared to score highly on my second try. I did study approximately 3 hours a day to go over TTP and I went through each Module twice, initially focusing on understanding the concepts and later focusing on time management for each test on every Module.

Since I started scoring between 47-49 on my practice CATs, I felt more confident but I did schedule a call with Jeff who gave me a couple of tips to make sure that I was ready for my test and immediately booked my exam for 2 weeks after that call. I found that a lot of times there were concepts I found difficult to grasp entirely, but the Must Know page was of great help to focus on what the most important concepts are for the test and relaxed my mind from stressing to have to know every single concept. Overall, I recommend going through each module at least once since I understand that not everyone has time and based on your performance in the diagnostics, focus on your weak areas that are thankfully displayed on the TTP dashboard. It took a while, but I was finally able to score above a 700 and I owe my thanks to TTP.

Final Score 710; Q49; V38