ApplicantLab
Company
ADMISSION CONSULTING COMPANY

ApplicantLab

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 5 reviews
JasonPap
Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: University at Buffalo
Major: Business
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

ApplicantLab Rocks!

5 stars
November 5, 2018
Company: ApplicantLab 5 reviews
Course: Applicantlab Admissions Consulting 5 reviews
Teacher: Maria Wich-Vila
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
When initially considering applicant lab I thought it might potentially be a waste of money but that I'd give it a shot before a gave a consultants a couple thousand dollars or more to help me through this process. I never ended up using a one on one consultant because ApplicantLab helped me organize my thoughts and goals in a way that put together a compelling business school application.

Maria from applicant lab spent time helping me through the parts of the application process that I did not understand and even letting me know what parts of my career vision needed to be reshaped.

I would recommend ApplicantLab to anyone! Def give it a shot before shelling out thousands for a consultant.

BTCapital12
Joined: Oct 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
Major: Accounting
Industry: Investment Management
Country: Philippines
Verified Real Student Review

Exceptional value for money

5 stars
October 31, 2018
Company: ApplicantLab 5 reviews
Course: Applicantlab Admissions Consulting 5 reviews
Teacher: Maria Wich-Vila
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Good day everyone.

Almost exactly a year ago (2017 October 2) I was rejected from CBS early decision, my dream school (since forever). I applied with what I thought were OK stats (e.g., 730 GMAT, 3.8 GPA from Southeast Asian Uni, MBB + PE). Dinged without interview.

So I did what any rational re-applicant would do and immediately hone in on a higher GMAT score (which I was able to bump to a 750). The NEXT thing I did was go on these forums and find myself an MBA admissions consultant.

At this point - we're practically on the same boat - and I found that Applicant Lab seemed to fit my needs (low risk $-wise, self-paced, school-specific help). I ALSO looked at online reviews myself (and thought that there was NO WAY these reviews were LEGIT). Funnily enough, upon writing this review, I realized that you had to submit a valid GMAT score to even WRITE a review (so yeah, these reviews must be largely legit). Now that we're past the whole fear of 'fake reviews', you have to believe that this is LEGITIMATELY THE BEST MONEY I HAVE SPENT ON MBA ADMISSIONS.

The lab (which is practically a web-based application dashboard) really sorts everything out for you from start to finish (YES, INCLUDING THE INTERVIEWS). The videos that accompany each stage per school were very insightful and really put things into perspective.

For me, the most useful part of the Lab was the interview preparation part. It combines external tools (where to find the likely questions) with internal tools (like what things would which schools be concerned about) and how to position your story to address those questions. It ensures that you have an excellent framework for dealing with the entire gamut of questions you can be asked.

FULL DISCLOSURE: Literally no one in my entire family has EVER attended an MBA program. In my country, only 10-15 people go to a top 15 MBA program EVERY YEAR. So there is almost NO ONE to ask advice from. Hence, almost everything in the Lab was news to me. I realized some very specific things that I would never have figured out in my lifetime (e.g., leave a lot of the point-blank bragging for the recommendation letters - so at least it's someone else saying you're the world's best at X; or don't focus on a SINGLE STRENGTH throughout your application).

I swear to God the Applicant Lab really fixed my re-application package. really fixed my interview prep. really helped me FINALLY get in CBS.

howdytex2
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Major: Film, Cinema and Video
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Admits (& Scholarship Money) at Duke Fuqua & Oxford Said

5 stars
October 29, 2018
Company: ApplicantLab 5 reviews
Course: Applicantlab Admissions Consulting 5 reviews
Teacher: Maria Wich-Vila
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
With a quantitative score hovering at the 55% percentile, I knew I was going to be facing an uphill climb to convince admissions officers that I would be a good fit for the rigor of a top MBA program. Not knowing where to start, I scheduled a few free thirty minute consultations with some of the top MBA Admissions Consultants. They confirmed my worst fears, recommending I look at safety MBA programs in the Top 40 or 50. One even told me that in order to achieve my dream of a Top 25 program my applications would have to be “flawless.” Luckily, they could help… at a cool $11,000+ dollars for my five schools. As a non-profit manager, this equated to about ⅕ my annual salary, before taxes. It’s no wonder I started to lose hope.

However, just a few months before the Round 1 deadlines, I was lucky enough to hear about ApplicantLab through an email from the Forte Foundation. I was hesitant at first, would access to a website really help me get accepted to a top MBA program? After four months of using ApplicantLab throughout the entire application process, I can finally say HELL YES. ApplicantLab was the only ‘consulant’ I used to write all of my five applications and I was accepted to Duke Fuqua, the school of my dreams in early action with a scholarship(!). I was also accepted to Oxford Said and received interview invites at all 5 schools before withdrawing my other applications. The best part? I paid the same amount to apply to five schools as ONE HOUR with a consultant at the other firms. My friend also used the service and had similar success. She was just accepted to Darden in Early Action with a lower-than-average GPA.

Since I spoke with those consultants last year, my GMAT/GRE score did not change. I didn’t suddenly acquire a promotion, a Noble Peace Prize, or some incredible extracurriculars. The only factor that changed is that I started to use ApplicantLab. The program walked me through every step in the process from developing career goals, to brainstorming my leadership stories, to the actual essay writing, to interview prep. There were multiple modules that are totally unique to ApplicantLab. In particular, the Career Vision and Why MBA modules were essential in making my eventual career essays and interviews bulletproof. Maria asks you questions in these modules that you might have not even thought about and gives you concrete examples to build upon for your own goals.

I also owe a debt of gratitude to the carefully curated and specific advice Maria has supplied for every single school, short answer, essay, and most common interview questions. In most of the schools, you can even access 10-30 minute video presentations where she tells you how to best answer the question. She also recommends the specific traits AdComs at your particular schools are looking for in your application.

Save the money you planned on using for expensive admissions consultants for business school. When you use ApplicantLab, you are going to need it for next year’s tuition!

Mohitdurge
Joined: Oct 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2018
College: NITK Surathkal
Major: Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

A complete MBA Application Tool - Got into HEC Paris

5 stars
October 29, 2018
Company: ApplicantLab 5 reviews
Course: Applicantlab Admissions Consulting 5 reviews
Teacher: Maria, Carin
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
In short - ApplicantLab covers all aspects of an application, has personalised advice to address the weaknesses in profile and an in-depth analysis of all the essays of the school and writing advice that caters to all kinds of MBA applicant profiles.
ApplicantLab is a complete product for MBA admissions - with help on brainstorming, strategising, essay writing, resume writing and interviews. There are sections that help jog your memory to draft life stories and make your application come to life. The analysis of each of the essays is very intricate and mentions exactly what the school expects. There are video tutorials on how to navigate the schools' website to dig for material in terms of clubs, electives etc. There is a diagnosis of your profile, highlighting your strengths and weaknesses and how strengths can be leveraged and how your weakness can be addressed. I was a job hopper, had a sort of average GMAT and below average undergrad grades and all these concerns are addressed in the modules.
Maria and Carin have also always replied to my questions within 24 hours. I also booked a "Sanity Check" session with Carin, and it was the best review ever. It was crystal clear on things I needed to write and things I needed to remove from my essays, how my story could be enhanced and there were suggestions for editing as well. There was also a detailed review of my resume in the sanity check session and I was able to bring down my resume to 1 page, highlighting all the best parts. I absolutely needed no other tool/consultant after the video review. I was struggling with the "Why MBA" part and there is a whole section on ApplicantLab dedicated to this. It will help you frame a story that starts with your past/current position, ending with your Long term goal and fitting the MBA perfectly in between.
ApplicantLab has also helped me with the interview process since doing the extensive modules on the motivation for an MBA and the particular school created the content for all my answers. Why MBA? Why not a different path to your goals? Why MBA Now? Why a particular school? Why not some other school? Why should we admit you? All these questions became much easier to answer!
I recommend ApplicantLab to all the MBA applicants. It is really cheap, user-friendly and a complete tool addressing all aspects of an MBA application.

jaymekk
Joined: Oct 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
College: SUNY Buffalo
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing consultant for the price that you'd spend on a weekend with friends

5 stars
October 25, 2018
Company: ApplicantLab 5 reviews
Course: Applicantlab Admissions Consulting 5 reviews
Teacher: Maria
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Let me be 100% clear, you will not find another person who cares as much personally for your success on a consultant level. Maria is dedicated and will prove it to you by going the extra mile. She simply missed an email from me which she got to a week later, and gave me a free 30 minute (more like 45 minute) interview practice prep for any school. I choose Darden and through her interview prep and advice through the application process I got admitted.

I understand some people may not be sure 100% certain since this is mostly online, but let me clear, the tools she provides as well as her personal touch WILL help you get into a top program for an extremely competitive price. I'm telling you guys, use Applicantlab. Even if you're not planning on using a consultant, 200 bucks is nothing for this.

Thank you Maria for everything! Cheers!