Stacy Blackman Consulting
Company
ADMISSION CONSULTING COMPANY

Stacy Blackman Consulting

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 43 reviews
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: IIT Kharagpur
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

My M7 admit would not have been possible without Beth!

5 stars
June 16, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 43 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Hourly Services 11 reviews
Teacher: Beth Tidmarsh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Having been rejected by three M7 schools in the last application year, I was highly doubtful if I would be successful at my MBA applications this time around. My brother happened to recommend SBC and I opted for the 10 hour service. SBC then matched me with Beth and I cannot thank them enough for it. I have mentioned this numerous times to Beth and would say it again that my Booth admit would not have possible without her guidance and support. Beth’s inputs in every aspect of the application – Resume, short answers, choice of recommenders, essays, tips on video essays and inputs on how to tackle final interviews were highly valuable. One of the aspects that I loved working with Beth was she would push me further to draw my story out and shape it in the best way possible. Highly recommended!

Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
College: Ohio State
Major: Finance
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience with Laura!

5 stars
May 29, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 43 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Hourly Services 11 reviews
Teacher: Laura Nelson
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Laura was so helpful and kind throughout my application process!

I was admitted to all 6 schools to which I applied to and received scholarships with every program in addition to some fellowship opportunities.

Laura helped with resume editing, essay editing, interview preparation, and even school analyses!

I am very thankful for all of her help! She has been a great asset towards my future professional career and I will be forever grateful.

Catie

Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Major: Business
Country: Brazil
Verified Real Student Review

Worth the investment! RECOMMEND!!

5 stars
May 20, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 43 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Hourly Services 11 reviews
Teacher: Laura Nelson
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I worked with Laura on my NYU Masters Application and I'm very grateful for all her help. I had less then 2 weeks to get everything in order an her help was CRUCIAL. We had a online meeting to discuss and set everything that needed to be done and she guided me all the way: helping, editing, structuring and perfecting my essay. She always responded very fast (even though we had a huge time difference) and was professional and friendly. Highly recommend her service!!!

Thank you Laura!!

Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
College: University of Virginia
Major: Engineering
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Worth every penny and then some: SBC and specifically working with Erika Olson

5 stars
May 18, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 43 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 32 reviews
Teacher: Erika Olson
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I chose to work with Stacy Blackman, and specifically Erika Olson, because of a recommendation from one of my good friends from ROTC. I spoke with all of the major MBA admission consulting firms, and chose Stacy Blackman based off of my experience of my friend and the insights from my intro call with Bill Chionis and Erika. I went to a UVA undergrad and majored in engineering with a 3.4 GPA and a 720 GMAT (50Q/37V), and I spent four years in the Army as an engineer officer. I applied to six schools (HBS, Wharton, Booth, Tuck, Darden and Sloan), received interviews at all of them and was admitted to all of them except for HBS. I also received scholarships from Booth, Tuck and Darden. I ultimately chose to attend Sloan. As a military applicant, I did have the know how to craft my own resume, as well as decide what experiences were best to put forward in my essays and interviews. With the All-In package, I knew I would be ridding my application of any military jargon that would confuse non-military folks on the ADCOM (just about all of them) and that the product that I was putting forward to schools would give me the best chance at acceptance. Erika was extraordinarily helpful throughout the entire process. She pushed me to develop the best resume, essays, etc. for each of my applications. Without her help and the rest of the Stacy Blackman team, I undoubtably would not have seen the same results that I did. Because I chose the All-In package I was able to practice my team-based Wharton interview with Caryn Altman, a former member of the Wharton ADCOM, and other SBC clients preparing for their Wharton interviews. The experience and feedback were invaluable to have before I stepped into the actual interview. The prep interview allowed me to go in much better prepared than my fellow interviewers within my group...and I did not see more than 1 of the other 5 at admitted students weekend. All in all, Erika Olson is the best you can do as far as MBA consultants. I would sign up with her 100 times out of 100 again. She goes extremely quickly too. If you want to book her, you need to start thinking March or April of the year of applications to have her as your consultant for Round 1 applications. I've recommended her to all of my military and non-military friends, and if you are serious about going to business school and want to have the best chance of admittance...sign up with SBC and request Erika Olson if at all possible.

Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Margaret is AWESOME!!!

5 stars
May 10, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 43 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Hourly Services 11 reviews
Teacher: Margaret
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Let me cut to the chase: Margaret is the consultant you will never regret to work with! Margaret is the consultant who brought me to the next level, pushed me further, and kept challenging me on essays while I felt exhausted after 6, 7 revisions: three days before one school’s deadline, I thought my essays were final but Margaret kept pushing me to the next level. She clearly laid out the strategic applications plan for me and a lot of the information I had never thought about even after tons of research both from online and from peers who had applied MBA programs. Down the road, because of the enormous experience she has, she even predicted the “career goal confusion” I would face after networking with too many current students and alums, and gave me advice on how to handle it. She even predicted that the strategy some schools use to give offers and I was able to get admitted after her encouragement knowing that it’s one of the strategies the school uses. I did tons of research online before I finally decided to work with Margaret, and one of the questions I asked every consultant is: “what drives you to be a consultant.” Margaret’s answer resonates with me so much: “to help others make their dreams come true is also a dream come true itself, right?” She took time to understand who I am, in order to help my strengths, uniqueness, shining through both in my application materials and interviews: really focusing on who I am. I could keep writing the good things about Margaret forever… but to sum: I was admitted to two S16 schools, with scholarship at one of them: None of this would be possible without her help. I would recommend her to anyone: I recommended Margaret to one of my close friends who is also applying this year: “she is popular and GOOD, I MEAN GOOD! and you better get on her calendar quick!”

Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: University of Southern California
Major: Film, Cinema and Video
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Pleased with my results after working with Dione Chen at SBC

5 stars
May 8, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 43 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Hourly Services 11 reviews
Teacher: Dione Chen
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
My experience with Stacy Blackman Consulting was positive from the jump. I had an onboarding call with Esther Magna, from which I was already able to take away important information about my application process. I felt Esther thought carefully about who from her team it made the most sense to align me with as my main counselor. I was pleased to connect with Dione, who is a graduate of Stanford's GSB and a former application reader for that very AdCom. Stanford was my first choice, and from our initial conversation and throughout the process, I felt I could really benefit from Dione's first-hand experience and intel on that school's particular process and outlook.

I needed to maintain a pretty modest budget for this process, and I appreciated Dione's understanding and consciousness of that as we worked together on an hourly basis. She was generous and extremely prompt over email, providing plenty of information that way so that we could really dive in to the nitty gritty when we spoke on the phone.

I come from a pretty unusual background as far as MBA applicants go, and I also wrote a very personal essay for the "What matters to you?" prompt. It was the kind of essay that could have very easily felt like an overshare, but Dione gave me the advice I needed to properly frame that writing up so that it felt relevant to the AdComm's process while also being true to my experiences. She was sensitive, kind and discreet as we spoke through challenging material and the best way to convey a messy personal story to an AdComm. While I didn't pursue Dione's help for a "Flight Test" final read of the essay, I feel I could not have written the essay successfully without the conversations she and I had to set up my mindset for the prompt.

I also received resume feedback from Dione, wherein she was straight-forward and extremely helpful in helping me understand what the AdComms are scanning for. Especially as someone coming from a non-traditional background, I think it's very, very useful to do a resume edit with someone as knowledgeable as the counselors at SBC, who can help you shape your career story to really engage an MBA application reader.

All-in-all, I was grateful for Dione's generosity, thoughtfulness and very relevant intel in my process. I ultimately succeeded in getting in to my first-choice school, and I believe the help I received from SBC was instrumental in achieving that. Best of luck to you all!

Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: ITAM
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: Mexico
Verified Real Student Review

The best resource for a Latin American Re applicant to Top-tier MBA programs in US

5 stars
May 6, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 43 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 32 reviews
Teacher: Stephanie Cohn
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
As a Latin American re applicant candidate to top business schools in the US, I found the assistance and support from SBC to be extremely valuable. Since the beginning of the process, I was matched with a true counselor that understood very well my personal story and that helped me define the best route for strengthening my candidacy. Stephanie has been the best consultant, who has helped me polish a concise, clear and powerful pitch for Admissions. With her support and Rebekah (former admissions officer as Stephanie) who provided an excellent flight test before submitting my materials, I was admitted at Duke, IESE and currently waitlisted at Tuck. I can confidently say that SBC team is absolutely professional as they provide every resource needed for creating your best application. In this long process of applying to Business School, the support & guidance of former Admission Officers and counselors is critical, as they understand very well the process, and will support you in a comprehensive way, giving you the confidence to do the best of the process.

Thanks for everything SBC!!

Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
College: University of Cambridge
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent all-round support from the Stacy Blackman team

5 stars
May 6, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 43 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 32 reviews
Teacher: Shaifali Aggarwal
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I worked closely with Shaifali Aggarwal, Esther Magna and Caryn Altman over the course of several months. I am an international student from a Finance background, so had to work hard to craft a unique and compelling story. Shaifali was my primary contact. She was always approachable and responsive. Working with her on my essays was great and very productive, and her comments on my latest drafts were always helpful and allowed me to hone in on the key points the admissions committee are looking for.

I should also mention that Stacy Blackman have a multitude of written materials for each school, as well as an online databank with past interview questions. These resources should not be underestimated, and are extremely useful.

Once a good draft of my application was ready, this was sent for a "flight test" with Caryn Altman, who is herself a former AdCom member. She reviewed my application in the same was as she did in real life, and her feedback was also invaluable. Finally, I had some practice interview sessions with Shaifali, which helped me perfect my interview technique and present myself in the best way.

I am pleased to say that I've secured a place at Wharton, my preferred school. I am delighted to be starting there later this year. I would like to thank the entire team at Stacy Blackman for their help over the last few months, and would unequivocally recommend their services to anyone who is serious about their business school applications.

Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Yvette is a gem! 2 full rides, 3 acceptances!

5 stars
May 5, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 43 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 32 reviews
Teacher: Yvette Romero
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I am so beyond ecstatic at the results of my partnership with Yvette and the SBC team! I decided on SBC after reading many outstanding reviews and seeing the results of a friend who used SBC. I was matched based on my nontraditional background with Yvette Romero, a true gem!, and my main consultant who helped me identify target schools, refine my voice through my essays, and ace the interviews. Yvette was thoughtful, encouraging, and incisively realistic while making me laugh through an otherwise stressful process. Throughout our partnership, she asked me questions that highlighted aspects of my profile that I would have never considered to be special. Her advice on how to frame my applications to appeal to adcomm revealed deep insight into the admissions process, and as a result, even small tweaks to my application felt like home runs. Her deep knowledge of MBA admissions ultimately empowered me with a road map to strategically navigate those long months.

What felt most critical to me in our partnership and something that I will always be thankful for is that Yvette gave me the confidence I needed to overcome a low GPA. She taught me how to truly and unabashedly tell my unique story and highlight my strengths. She is a gifted listener and story teller, and she imbues you with these same qualities- asking the right questions until you arrive at the key story for your application to showcase. And because she is truly invested in your success and believes that you deserve your own best work, she will work painstakingly with you until you get it right! I am so proud when I read my essays and think on my interviews, because they feel like "me". Yvette really helped my essence shine.

I received THREE acceptances from top schools, including TWO FULL SCHOLARSHIPS - one from a reach school I hadn't considered until Yvette told me to go for it! As someone with a nonprofit background and the hurdle of a low GPA, I know the price looks a little steep but it is an incredibly worthwhile investment that will pay dividends! I am thrilled to be attending a top business school in the fall and regret nothing about my SBC experience. I cannot recommend Yvette enough. She pushed me to work hard, be honest, and be proud of what I had accomplished. I have loved working with her, and if you make the wonderful decision to do the same, I know you will, too!

Joined: Nov 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: University of Chicago
Major: Economics
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: Korea, Republic of
Verified Real Student Review

Thank You Christine and SBC!

5 stars
May 1, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 43 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 32 reviews
Teacher: Christine
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I worked with Christine Hawkins on 3 applications. Acceptance with a substantial fellowship + need-based aid to my top choice Columbia Business School and interview invite to Wharton would not have been possible without Christine’s and the SBC team’s amazing dedication (both 2Y full-time; withdrew from Wharton and Stern due to Columbia ED).
Even before the process started, I could tell by Esther's (principal manager) enthusiasm and commitment to me to make sure that I was matched with just the right consultant for me, that I had chosen the right company.

I was a female applicant from an increasingly competitive pool, was educated from a US college with mediocre grades, with no off-the-page leadership or community experiences (oh yes, and no GMAT score yet). During what could have been anxious and unsettling times, Christine was a counselor, confidence booster when I was down with unexpected CFA and GMAT test results, and was an honest critique of all my deliverables in the best sense of the term. Christine would lead me to pull out certain ideas, but would never go ahead and write essays FOR me (for many good reasons); when something seemed off to both of us but neither of us could quite put a finger on it, she steered me toward looking in other arsenals of my anecdotes and experiences (which until that point I didn’t know I had or could turn to!) and pulling essay ideas from there.

Christine's comments on my deliverables always came under 48 hours turnaround (though she is not obligated to work so by all means), and I was amazed by her willingness to go above and beyond her call of duty--for example, encouraging me to network with alumni in my area to see if they could submit sideletters for me, and offering to put in extra mock interview sessions. Also, Lisa Anderson's Flight Test put me at east and gave me that much-needed extra boost of confidence as I prepared to hit ‘submit’ for my first choice & anchor school, Columbia. Bill Chionis, my client liaison, was also extremely supportive in keeping me updated of all the different options for application review and his birds-eye-view of the entire process. All of this careful attention to each of my applications as if they were their own will definitely lead me to recommend Christine & the SBC's comprehensive package to friends who are current MBA-hopefuls.