Company
ADMISSION CONSULTING COMPANY

Stacy Blackman Consulting

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 27 reviews
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Bill Chionis - A Guiding Light

5 stars
April 17, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 27 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 23 reviews
Teacher: Bill Chionis
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
From the initial phone call to the wonderful news of getting into all 3 school choices (Columbia, NYU, & Cornell), the team at Stacy Blackman have been nothing but supportive.

After my thorough research of multiple consulting agencies I knew that SBC was the best, but the team seriously blew my expectations out of the water. My timeline of 3 months would have been considered impossible by some standards, but the team was up for the challenge and Bill Chionis was a positive guiding light throughout the entire process. Even when the combined pressures of the application process, studying for the EA test, and my professional career were getting to me, Bill was always there to cheer me on and provide sage advice.

Some advice of my own for any prospective SBC client -- Listen and follow their advice. They know what they are doing and only have your best interest in mind!!! If you follow through and deliver on the outlined plan of action, there really isn't much room (in my mind) for failure.

I can't thank Bill and the SBC team enough, I truly don't know what the outcome would have been without their guidance!

Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: West Point
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend! Could not have had a better experience!

5 stars
March 20, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 27 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 23 reviews
Teacher: Danielle
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I opted for the "All-In" service offered by Stacey Blackman and was paired with Danielle. Going into the process I knew very little on what business schools were looking for. Throughout the entire process Danielle was instrumental in shaping my story and ensuring that I put my best foot forward. She not only ensured that my essays were perfect but she took the time to adequately prepare me for the multiple interviews as well. I can honestly say that without her I would have never received a scholarship to my top school of choice! I cannot recommend her or Stacey Blackman highly enough.

Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
College: Cornell
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Internet Development Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

7 Stars For Sherry!

5 stars
March 19, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 27 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 23 reviews
Teacher: Sherry
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Yes, I know I can't rate Sherry seven stars, but consider this. The Burj Al Arab is unofficially known as the only seven star hotel in the world. This means people know unparalleled service when they see it, especially when it's above any industry-wide standard.

How is this relevant? Simple. Sherry went WAY above and beyond any reasonable expectation to help prepare me for the whole process --from essays, to receiving an acceptance into an Ivy League program. Just as the Burj Al Arab staff goes to great lengths to ensure their clients are taking care of at all cost, so to does Sherry in her pursuit to obtaining a yes for her clients! Not only did I obtain a yes from my target school, but in a program I thought was way outside of my reach.

A little about me:
-Former military -- 12 years
-Enlisted
-Military Special Operations community
-Government Contractor
-B.S and MA from oldest private military college in the country
-Husband
-Father to four children
-Late 30's when applied
-WAY nontraditional applicant (can't stress that enough!)

Sherry was very patient with me. She saw ability when I didn't realize it was there.

As we worked through the process, she knew when to push and when to let me think. She did all of this through emails and phone calls, which itself is a pretty tough thing to do. I can't say this enough -- Sherry was absolutely amazing!

Why You Should Consider Working With Sherry

It's simple. Just because you might consider yourself a nontraditional candidate for 'xyz' prestigious university doesn't mean you should not set your bar high. I truly thought there was no way I would ever be accepted into the program I was admitted, but Sherry knew I had all of the keys.

Do yourself a favor and reach out to Sherry. The admission process is changing every year as universities seek ways to deliver innovative content. What worked last year may not work this year. You need someone who understands this and knows how to navigate the rapidly changing process. Sherry has deep knowledge of the admission process and as a result stays ahead of the industry curve. She helped me reduce my admission learning curve by months! In my busy life, that is priceless.

She's passionate, kind, thoughtful, and extremely talented at what she does. You'll love working with Sherry and will grow throughout the process. I know I did!

Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing and supportive consultant that got me into my top choice

5 stars
March 6, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 27 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Hourly Services 4 reviews
Teacher: Karla
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I decided to apply to INSEAD in March of 2016, just 5 weeks before the application deadline. After starting the application, I realized that there are 7 essays required for this application and that if I were dinged without an invite to reapply, I wouldn't be reconsidered for future admissions.

I decided to hire an admission consultant to help me with the process. Karla from Stack Blackman was extremely helpful and professional. She was a former INSEADer and worked in the admissions office. Within the first 15 minutes of our call, she had convinced me on her credibility because she understands the metric that INSEAD used to select candidates. After consulting her, Karla suggests that I use the 10-hour package and that she will expedite the process for me and help me meet the application deadline.

5 rough edits later, I was able to submit all of the essays within 3 weeks, well ahead of the 5 weeks deadline! When I was invited to the 2 alum interview, she gave me a mock and feedback on how to handle some of the more difficult questions such as what 3 unique values do you bring to the program. Overall, it was a great experience with Karla and I cannot recommend Stacy Blackman enough. The packages may be expensive but it's a drop in the bucket compared to the entire MBA investment.

Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Pleasure to work with Shaifali

5 stars
February 28, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 27 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 23 reviews
Teacher: Shaifali Aggarwal
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I want to thank Stacy Blackman Consulting, specifically Shaifali Aggarwal, for helping me through the application process and working with me to figure out how I could put my best foot forward in all of my applications. Shaifali not only helped me figure out which programs would be the best fit for me, but also helped me comb through my past experiences to extract the ones which could be used to reflect my personality and passions. She understood that the application was both a means to explain how and MBA would help me reach my career goals, and also how my experiences could be an asset in the classroom as well.

When I originally started on my business school journey, I was originally skeptical about getting assistance from a consultant, but after talking to a friend who had used SBC and heard about his positive experience, I decided that working with SBC was the way to go. SBC has so many incredible resources and such a supportive staff, many of whom have direct experience on the admission's committees at top schools in the country. I am so glad that I chose to work with SBC and I am now happy to say that I will be attending HBS in the fall and can't wait for the next step in my journey.

Again, thank you SBC and Shaifali and I hope this convinces others to follow suit and work with SBC to put their best feet forward as well.

Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2018
College: Georgetown
Major: Finance
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

SBC got me into Wharton!

5 stars
February 21, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 27 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 23 reviews
Teacher: DC
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
SBC was an absolute pleasure to work with. When I started doing research on various consultancies, I imagined working with a consultant who would simply take a few looks at my essays and give me brief feedback via email. Esther and team made sure this was not the case.

My coach, DC, went above and beyond. She took a clear interest in me and my narrative and worked closely with me to make sure that my story was not only coherent (tying together my disparate professional and personal experiences), but also that it would ring true to my aspirations and simultaneously align with what each school was looking for.

Additionally, DC was refreshingly critical and gave me a "real" outlook on how my application would be viewed given my career to date and my background as a South Asian American male. She was also incredibly responsive - I honestly don't know how she could provide so much depth in her feedback on such quick turnarounds.

Beyond, my one-on-one coaching, SBC also provided opportunities for a mock team interview for Wharton and an individual analysis on performance. This was incredibly helpful.

I'm so lucky to have been paired up with DC (and the SBC team) and could not have imagined a better experience. If you have a chance to work with SBC, and DC specifically, there really shouldn't be any hesitation. Totally worth it. Thank you DC for all of your guidance and for helping me get into Wharton (and an interview at GSB)!

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic experience with Caryn & Esther

5 stars
February 5, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 27 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 23 reviews
Teacher: Caryn & Esther
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
After having initial conversations with 4 other admissions consulting firms, I ultimately decided to go with Stacey Blackman. This choice was driven by a great first conversation with Esther (the initial point of contact who coordinated multiple SBC services throughout the process), fantastic reviews/referrals/results from friends of mine (all got into their top choice schools) who had used SBC, and great fit/reputation of Caryn Altman (ultimately the consultant I chose to work with throughout the process).

The level of engagement throughout the application process was spectacular, and the breadth of experience that both Caryn as well as the broader SBC organization provided me was second-to-none. Even though I was applying to a pretty large number of schools in a single round, and knew Caryn's particular involvement/experience with Kellogg, I was given great, specific advice on how to approach and execute stellar applications to each individual school I w as applying to (including Kellogg).The specific tips I received from Caryn were spectacular and not only instilled a great sense of confidence in me prior to submission/interviews, but undoubtedly impacted the quality of each of my applications.

Things I found to be particularly helpful: 1) Caryn kept me on track throughout the process. I was a little late to the game, and decided to try and fit 5 schools (all M7) into R1. Caryn ensured that we were both on top of our deadlines, and never throughout the process did I need to question whether I'd miss any deadlines or have anything but the highest quality application. 2) I had a below average undergrad-GPA at all the schools I was applying to. After reviewing my transcript in detail with Caryn, we were able to come up with a concise, honest, authentic, and compelling strategy to address this in my additional essays. Honestly, I think this was one of the strongest pieces in my application, and I definitely would not have k nown how to approach this without Caryn's advice and support. 3) The interview assistance (both for one-on-one as well as group interview) was fantastic. I felt not only much more prepared compared to other candidates (the questions asked during the mock interviews were extremely close to those in the actual interview), but much more confident going in.

I am thrilled with the results, and ultimately got into multiple top business schools, including my top choice school!

Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: Emory University
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The Value of Working with an MBA Consultant

5 stars
February 4, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 27 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 23 reviews
Teacher: CP Tseng
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I worked with CP Tseng at Stacy Blackman Consulting ("SBC") on 3 schools (Booth, Wharton, and Columbia all via R1) and got interview invite from all of them. I was admitted to Booth with scholarship.

CP was very thorough in her review and her advice was very on point and made a huge difference in the way I portrayed myself in my essays. I had preliminary writings in the summer that I thought would make great application essays. Looking back, I couldn't be happier that I took the advice from CP vs. using those writings as they didn't hit any of the key points the AdCom would be looking for in an essay. Yes, there are universal things that you have to address as an applicant. Just like you need to speak a certain language to communicate with someone. You have to speak the "language" that the admin people understand.

For those of you who question the value of hiring a consultant for your applications, reach out to SBC and schedule a free chat with one of their consultants. You will be surprised at how much work you need to put into an application and how much time you could save yourself by working with a SBC consultant. As a banking analyst spending 15+ hours/day in the office, I found CP's help extremely valuable. The biggest nightmare for me would be not knowing what to work on or working on things that are not important. CP's comments were always clear, timely and specific. By the time I got home, I could use a very productive 2-3 hour to address her comments and send back a new version. Even I had crazy work schedule, I did not feel overwhelmed in the application process because I always know what to do and how to get it done.

The biggest concern for me as an applicant was time and uncertainty. SBC really helped me use my time wisely and reduced the level of uncertainty significantly. By the time I submitted my application, I was comfortable because I had worked on 20+ versions with CP and someone else on her team who used to work as an admin officer had also reviewed it.

The last thing I would add to this review is that you eventually will need to manage your own application. Getting a consultant doesn't mean that you can sit back and relax. Instead of having them reach out to you (and they will) with feedback, you should be proactive. Getting your drafts done earlier than later and taking every opportunity to get your questions answered either on the call or via email are very important strategies to take. The consultants often have multiple clients and they take requests based on the time of receipt. If you could get a new version done in less than 2 days, don't wait for 3 days. The more feedback you can get, the more value you can get from your service.

Last but not least, getting extra help from a consultant doesn't change your fundamental strengths and weaknesses as an applicant. That's why the kick-off call, which is part of the all-service is important. It is an opportunity to discuss your school choice with your consultant so that the two of you can work towards a goal that is realistic and achievable.

Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
Verified Real Student Review

HBS Admit

5 stars
January 21, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 27 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 23 reviews
Teacher: Shaifali Aggarwal
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
1) Working on my application with Shaifali was great! Right from the get go she helped identify my strengths and qualities I should focus on in my application. Initially, I considered applying to HBS as a stretch target as I often hear that Asian engineers have a much harder time getting into HBS. With Shaifali's help, this we certainly proved them wrong!

2) SBC's team based influence and support certainly helped me refine my application: Esther as my initial SBC contact, and Caryn, who is a former Admissions Officer, as my flight tester, etc. Plenty of admissions officer intelligence in-house which certainly helped polish my application.

3) I spoke to a few other firms but found that SBC was more enthusiastic to help me with my application. The key winner was that SBC showed that they had successful experience working with applicants with my background.

Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you Christine & SBC

5 stars
January 20, 2018
Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting 27 reviews
Course: Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services 23 reviews
Teacher: Christine H.
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Summary

I can strongly recommend SBC and especially Christine based on my business school application experience. As a result of her excellent work and support I got accepted into Columbia Business School and Chicago Booth.

About me / whom this might help:

I am European ( international applicant) with a background in Tech, working as management consultant. Working and traveling a lot and having very little experience with business school applications, I decided to hire a consultant to help me shape my story so that I would be able to differentiate myself from the mass of management consultants and to communicate that story in the language of the Admission team while being as efficient as possible (due to my daily workload).

In retrospect, SBC and especially Christine not only met but exceeded my expectations by far.

Why SBC

I chose SBC because I believe that SBC has an edge over many other admission consultancies due to its very strong marketing position. By not only hiring a consultant but also the back office / expertise of the entire firm, SBC knows exactly how to position your profile for your respective target school (because they have it done a thousand times before). Through this rich expertise and track record my initial contact, Esther, knew in a heartbeat what I was missing in my application and which consultant ( in my case Christine) could support me the best. However, I not only got a perfect match but also access to a lot of reading material, past essays, interview preparation software as well as to Lisa, who was a former Admission Officer and who evaluated my application package from a neutral perspective before I finally submitted it. I believe the best analogy to my thinking is: If you need a surgery and you can chose between a general surgeon and a medical firm that has a specialist for each type of surgery, including yours, who will most likely be prepared for all eventualities?

Why Christine

I believe Christine excels in almost any position including that of an admission consultant. This is because Christine has a very rare combination of an extremely high intellectual capacity, genuity and work ethics. She knows exactly what to do which is reflected in her very clear instructions and in the fact that she never fell behind any deadline, but usually always delivered early over our 6 months. The best example for that is when I decided last minute (48h prior to the deadline) due to a change in my calendar to also apply to Booth. Despite having many other applications, less than 48 hours and not a signed contract for my forth school (yet), Christine was up for the challenge resulting not only in two very intense days with very little sleep for the both of us, but also in an admit from Booth.

While I would have already been more than pleased at this point, there is much more I gained from our interactions and from Christine herself. By preparing my applications, I not only improved my written English, but also learnt how to best position myself in a job interview, by knowing how to best demonstrate my various strengths and capabilities in combination with what sets me apart from others. I believe this is noteworthy, because my work with Christine would still have been fruitful for me, even if I did not gain any acceptance letter.

However, what I loved most about our interactions was that Christine made the application process fun. By finding the right balance between application related and other topics and by making sure that I progressed while allowing me to learn from the process, I truly enjoyed working with Christine. In fact, I was not relieved, but said when I realized that I was done with the application process.