Manhattan Prep
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

Best Promo Code 2019 & Verified Reviews

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 420 reviews
ddells29
Joined: Mar 2019
Purchased Course: Sep 2018
College: Cornell University
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Ryan McGorman is an excellent instructor and took me to the promised land

5 stars
March 11, 2019
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Teacher: Ryan McGorman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I took a 9-week course with Ryan McGorman and was far from disappointed. On the contrary, I think Ryan is an excellent instructor and was the primary driver behind my score increase. Ryan is patient with those in his class who need some extra time, but can quickly switch into 6th gear for his more advanced students. I appreciated the way that he was able to simplify concepts down to their bare bones. Ryan demystifies much about the GMAT and enables his students to succeed. It also helps that Ryan is a great guy and is a pleasure to spend a few hours with every Sunday. Thank you Ryan!!!

wmarshall
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
College: University of Virginia
Major: International Relations
Industry: Public Relations
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great on strategies and content

5 stars
March 10, 2019
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Volmer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I took the 10-week Manhattan Prep course with Jeffrey Volmer (in the D.C./Northern VA area) in winter 2018 and was very pleased with the experience. Jeff is an excellent and patient teacher who always made himself available outside of class hours to answer questions.

The Manhattan coursework and classroom format encouraged self-study. For someone who may not be motivated to study alone and profits from the pressure of having to keep pace with peers, this is a great option. In addition to reintroducing the grammar and math concepts that one will need to ace the test, the Manhattan curriculum emphasizes the strategies a test-taker must use to optimize his or her score under the time constraint and how to recognize and approach recurring “tricks” that the test throws at you. Jeff did a great job of giving equal currency to the test content and strategies.

I started studying for the GMAT without having taken a math course since high school (eight years prior). Given the intensity of the quant, this was my greatest weakness. But the Manhattan textbooks (especially Foundations of Math) provide an overview of the basics and ample drill exercises to help improve on that portion of the test.

I did not take the test for business school so I wasn’t trying my damnedest to break 700 (I didn’t). The programs I applied to also accepted the highest score in each category (Quant/Verbal/IR/Essay) from any test sitting, so I had different incentives from someone applying to an MBA program. If you struggle in one category, I would recommend supplementing the Manhattan coursework with a tutor as you get closer to test date. If you are in the D.C. area, I’m fairly certain Jeff offers tutoring and would make an excellent one-on-one teacher.

FinallyDoneGMAT2018
Joined: Feb 2019
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep In Person Class: A Good Place to Start

4 stars
February 13, 2019
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 98 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Mcgorman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 670
I took my first diagnostic test back in Nov 2017 and scored a 520. I decided to do a 9 session in person class with Manhattan Prep every Saturday. Ryan was an awesome instructor and the class was very collaborative. He created a great learning environment, where my classmates and I strove to help each other understand tricky questions and materials. The course provided a great framework for my GMAT studying. However, I do think most people will need to study for several months or use other services to propell them to higher scores. After Manhattan Prep I scored a 640 & 670 respectively. It wasn't until I used tutoring and TTP that I was able to get to my target score (740).

tkleyn
Joined: Jan 2019
Purchased Course: May 2018
Verified Real Student Review

High Quality Preparation in a Fun Environment

5 stars
January 19, 2019
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - San Francisco 21 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Jacobs
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 690
I had a tremendous experience with Manhattan Prep. The teacher for my class, Ryan Jacobs, did wonderful job covering all the required material in a fun, engaging and genuine environment.

Ryan also did a great job covering "outside of the book" topics related to the GMAT such as time management and other strategic issues that I was previously worried about. By the end of the course, I felt 100% confident walking into the test center, and was able to get the score I needed to reach my dream school. Thank you MPrep!!

chenliyeah
Joined: Jan 2019
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
College: Shanghai University of Foreign Economic and Trade
Major: Law and Social Sciences
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

200 points improvement within two months thanks to Dan Bernstein's tutoring

5 stars
January 5, 2019
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 98 reviews
Teacher: Dan Bernstein
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
really appreciate Dan Bernstein's help! He made my GMAT score improve significantly (by 200 points) in only two months. I don't think I was able to get into my dream school without his mentoring. He was really good at listening to my concerns and pointing out the issues and directions for me very effectively. More importantly, he was also great at encouraging me during the most difficult time. He was not only dedicated in the class but also very responsive after class when I wrote his emails. I was very lucky to have Dan as my GMAT tutor! I would highly recommend you to try him as your GMAT tutor.

mkt8080
Joined: Dec 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience

5 stars
December 9, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Logan Thompson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: N/A
Great class and highly recommend taking it with Logan Thompson -- he's very patient and his methods are creative and effective!

adrianh
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: May 2018
College: University of San Diego
Major: Business
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: Switzerland
Verified Real Student Review

I can highly recommend Jamie Nelson for the Manhattan Prep Online 9-Session Prep Course!

5 stars
November 19, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Teacher: Jamie Nelson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 730
When I first started studying for the GMAT, it was clear to me that I would do the same thing that I had done in college and that I had been quite successful with; I sat down in a quiet corner with a GMAT guide and started crunching. Unfortunately, I had to learn the hard way that that was the wrong way to approach the GMAT. Even after the third try, my highest score was a 660 and the magical 700+ score seemed far from reach.

I decided that I had to radically change the way I studied and prepared for the test. I signed up for the Manhattan Prep 9-Session Online Prep Course with Jamie Nelson and already during the first course I realized that I had had some fundamental misconceptions about the test. Jamie did a great jobs explaining how the test works and what strategies you need to use to successfully master it. Moreover, she did a fantastic job explaining all the different quant and verbal topics and concepts and thanks to her enthusiastic teaching style the classes were fun and engaging. When I entered the test center for the fourth time, I felt much better prepared and I walked out with a 730!

I wish I had known about Manhattan Prep and Jamie's course from the beginning; this would have saved me a lot of time and stress. However, I hope that this review will help others avoid the mistakes I've made. Take a course for the GMAT, it makes a huge difference and is definitely worth the money. In particular Jamie's course!

alicepike
Joined: Oct 2018
Purchased Course: May 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommended!

5 stars
October 16, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Starr
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 730
I got 730 in the GMAT after taking the 10 week course with Ryan Starr. I had taken it twice before and I wish I had done the course earlier! Ryan has a great teaching style, he really knows his stuff so you feel confident in what you're learning and the classes are fun. The course covers all aspects of the GMAT from exam content to test day strategy, so all bases are covered. If you want to get your best score then this is absolutely the course you should invest in.

bhs125
Joined: Sep 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
College: Vanderbilt University
Major: Economics
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome, efficient course with Ryan

5 stars
September 27, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 98 reviews
Teacher: Ryan McGorman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 730
Great course - focused on efficiency and strategies, rather than extraneous content. Everything I learned was very useful during the actual test. Ryan, in particular, was an awesome teacher. He was very blunt, and direct; and I even found it helpful (weirdly) to approach questions with his emphatic voice/intonations, as well as his helpful analogies. There was an optimal balance of quant vs. verbal content, and the strategies were very helpful, particularly in time management/on the quant section. Additionally, the 1-on-1 assessment during the course to help focus my strengths/weaknesses did wonders for my score. There were only 2 minor negative aspects with the curriculum: 1. Limited practice tests (more personal preference – I study best through excessive repetition, so I wanted more than 6) and 2. Slightly too much IR focus in the homework assignments.

bm1324210
Joined: Sep 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
Verified Real Student Review

A private tutor is a great way to help you get those last few points

5 stars
September 18, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Teacher: Paul Fisher
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 730
After speaking with several of my friends who were in business school, I decided to utilize Manhattan GMAT for my preparation. I participated in a 9-session in-person prep course (not with Paul) and ended up getting a 700 on my first real GMAT attempt. Although I was happy with my first score, my ultimate goal was to get at least a 730. A look at my split showed there was room to improve in verbal. So for the next month, I dedicated most of my time and efforts toward improving on the verbal section. Unfortunately, when I took the exam a second time, my verbal score decreased and I ended up with a 660.

With time not on my side (due to applications) and feeling a bit lost, I decided to sign up for online private tutoring sessions with Paul through Manhattan GMAT. As a former prep course participant, I was entitled to the cheapest rate for tutoring hours, meaning I could pay as I go while taking full advantage of bulk package pricing.

Before signing up with Paul, I thought studying with an in-person tutor would be best, but I quickly realized how much more convenient and effective the online interface was. Additionally, it enables you to record/playback all your sessions.

From my first session with Paul, I could tell I made a great decision. He was able to identify key weaknesses in my approach and taught me new methodologies and practices that enabled me to be more efficient with my time and energy. Paul's lessons and explanations were always clear and informative. After eight 2-hour sessions, I took the GMAT again and got the score I was hoping for: 730 (big improvement in verbal).

What I enjoyed about working with Paul, aside from him being a GMAT genius (he scored a 790), was his humility and positive attitude. He was very pleasant to work with and is an all-around great guy. If you get the opportunity to work with Paul, know that you will be in good hands.