Manhattan Prep
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 408 reviews
Clay O
Joined: Aug 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
College: The University of Texas
Major: Finance
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very Helpful Experience with Great Results

5 stars
August 11, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 408 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 55 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Dallas 4 reviews
Teacher: Jamie Nelson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 720
This course is everything you need to accomplish your GMAT goals. I would say the only thing that is tough is getting through a three hour online class in one sitting. If you see this as being a potential problem for you, don't panic - do these two things and you should be good: (1) pick a good time slot during the week that you will be able to consistently make and a time that you won't generally be extremely tired during (also, don't overthink this, you'll be fine if you are internally committed) and (2) pick a great teacher like Jamie that will make the three hour class as exciting as it is informative. Manhattan Prep actually allows you to test out teachers (the first session is free) which is great because it's is very important to like your teacher - nine 3-hour sessions lay ahead of you (but again, don't overthink it). Would I recommend this course, absolutely. The course material is great and does a good job of steering you toward what you need to focus on.

cbb7kj
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Recommend Mark Sullivan

5 stars
July 18, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 408 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 51 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Atlanta 4 reviews
Teacher: Mark Sullivan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 720
I started working with Mark after taking the Manhattan Prep 10 week course and scoring well below my goal (650 with goal of 700). After this, I decided to invest in private tutoring and started working with Mark Sullivan. I took the GMAT again, and scored 720 thanks to Mark (47 quant, 41 verbal). He quickly diagnosed my weaknesses, and then provided a clear plan to hit my goal. He focused on the biggest hitting items / content areas and devised a plan that I could manage with a full time job.
Outside of providing excellent tutoring services during my paid sessions, Mark was always available to respond to emails and provide feedback on practice tests. I never felt like I was “on the clock” – if we ran slightly over the time allotment, I didn’t feel that he was rushing to end the session. Mark was really a source of positivity and made me feel confident going into the test.

Very highly recommend Mark for anyone needing personalized tutoring!!! Just wish I’d started working with him from the beginning.

vgenerelli
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
College: University of Notre Dame
Major: Accounting
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattn prep with Dhivya - WORTH IT!

5 stars
July 9, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 408 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 283 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 94 reviews
Teacher: Dhivya Arumugham
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
The live Manhattan Prep GMAT course was critical to my success and enabled me to ultimately score a 740. My instructor, Dhivya Arumugham, was very well-prepared, articulate and knowledgeable. I would really recommend Dhivya as an instructor - she provides clear, concise explanations of problems, has a good sense of humor and brings a lot of energy to some mundane topics.

The course is very structured and incorporates quant, verbal, and test taking strategy each week. The online learning portal makes it very easy to manage your assignments weekly, track progress, and flag areas of weakness to review. I took the exam for the first time only two days after the course ended (which is not recommended) and scored a 690. After another month of review using the official guide and other quant drills, I scored a 740. I am convinced that Manhattan prep was key to my success and the price was well worth it.

They also provide additional resources including webinars about certain test areas, selecting the right schools for you, applications, and interviews. You have access to an individual review of a practice exam with an instructor to create a study plan. I also received a free half-hour session with an admissions consultant who helped tremendously and could answer questions about the specific schools to which I applied.

lakersfan8172
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Ryan McGorman: Great Instructor!

5 stars
July 3, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 408 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 283 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 94 reviews
Teacher: Ryan McGorman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Ryan was an excellent instructor who was very engaging in-class and delivered great lectures. He did a very good job breaking down complex concepts into clear and concise points. I found this to be especially helpful in sentence correction. Ryan emphasized finding splits and taught effective strategies that simplified a lot of hard questions. Outside of class, he made a huge effort in being available for questions 24/7. He was very responsive to emails and attentive to my learning needs. I would strongly recommend taking a GMAT class with him.

juliaclark15
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
College: University of Michigan
Major: Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best Course for Maximizing Your Score!

5 stars
June 29, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 408 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 55 reviews
Teacher: Mark Sullivan, Jeff Vollmer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I took the Manhattan Prep Live Online Course because I had read great reviews of the company and also saw that they offered a 25% student discount (I am currently a college student, so this was very appealing to me). Manhattan Prep doesn't hold any in-person classes near me, so I had to take the online course. I was a little nervous about it at first because I thought I would get distracted if I wasn't in a classroom. However, I think the online course was a great decision for me. The Manhattan Prep instructors are extremely helpful and make time during class to give you one-on-one attention. There were ~10 people in my class and 2 instructors. The class met for 3 hours every week. The instructors engaged everyone in the classroom by calling on students and making an effort to understand everyone’s thought process. The instructors solved practice problems with us, thoroughly explained common mistakes or misunderstandings, and walked through ways to approach problems that I found extremely useful on the test. I felt comfortable asking questions in class and reaching out to the instructors outside of class as well. Manhattan Prep also offers several practice exams with full, worked-out solutions and performance analytics capabilities. In addition to the 9-week online class, the plethora of resources available to me during through Manhattan Prep (GMAT Official Guide, Manhattan Prep books, practice exams, etc.) were invaluable to my success on the exam! I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to maximize their score on the GMAT!

nicholaus.tucker
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
College: University of Central Arkansas
Major: Music
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep - Shelton Windham

5 stars
June 29, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 408 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 283 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location) 9 reviews
Teacher: Shelton Windham
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 760
I took the complete GMAT prep course with Shelton, and it was a great experience. He delivered really high-quality, exploratory lectures that really dove into the heart of what the GMAT tests: logic. My first practice score was a 580, and I ended up with a 760 when I finally took the GMAT.

I saw my practice test scores go up considerably during the duration of the course, and kept studying on my own well past the end of the class. My time with Shelton proved more valuable the longer I studied, and I really credit a lot of my success both to his actual instruction and his methodical way of teaching his students to analyze their own weaknesses and address them head-on.

There are no miracles when it comes to test-prep, and you won't wake up with a 700+ score if you don't put in the effort. If you're willing to work for it, though, there's no better choice than Shelton to get you up-to-snuff with the material.

bobgrech
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Great Experience with GMAT Manhattan Prep Course - Ryan McGorman

5 stars
June 28, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 408 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 283 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 94 reviews
Teacher: Ryan McGorman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I took the 9-session GMAT course with Manhattan Prep with Ryan McGorman. Class was extremely helpful in preparing for the test. I increased 140 points from my first practice test. Ryan was a great instructor and does a great job teaching how to approach every type question on the GMAT. He is also very helpful and willing to speak outside of class. The course also comes with great study material for all of the subjects covered on the test as well as 6 realistic practice test

nvs2110
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Definitely worth it!

5 stars
June 10, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 408 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 283 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 30 reviews
Teacher: Logan Thompson
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 750
Would not have been able to get this score without Manhattan Prep. The framework that they put around the questions is critical and makes it easy to understand how to approach problems. Logan was a fantastic instructor - he reinforced key frameworks / concepts in every class and challenged us to always think of multiple ways to solve problems. In addition to the standard Manhattan Prep offerings, I used the Advanced Quant strategy guide. Even though I only got the book a week before my official test, I felt much more comfortable approaching the more difficult quant problems after reading through it. Would definitely recommend Manhattan Prep and Logan to anyone looking to take the GMAT!

sj1234
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
College: Columbia University
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Would highly recommend if you need a good study schedule and to learn specific GMAT strategies

5 stars
June 1, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 408 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 283 reviews
Teacher: Michael Morgan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 740
Came here for the full 9-week GMAT course and my instructor was Mike Morgan. It was a really useful course. The materials and syllabus for the class are well-planned and kept me on track to take the exam about 1.5 months after finishing the course. I worked a 60+ hour/week job while studying, so the homework was a bit tough to keep up with, but I felt it was very valuable to do so. My instructor was also great. His strength was definitely Quant, which is what I most needed help on and it ended up being my strength on the actual exam. He also did a good job of sending up post-course materials whenever we needed and working with us individually during breaks in class if we had specific questions. Most of my coworkers recommended Manhattan Prep over other prep sites and I agree. I would recommend that you take this course if you want an in-person weekly class to keep you on schedule. In addition, if you don't struggle as much with the content but more with specific GMAT strategies, this course would also be a good option. It's not really a course to teach you math/verbal content, since usually the content itself is straightforward - I feel that this is where a lot of other prep companies fall short, as they spend too much time on the content - but rather the tricks and strategies to help you do well on the exam. Each course also comes with a lot of guides, the OG, and a testing dry-erase pad. The online exams are also extremely helpful to supplement the 2 official GMAC practice exams. To me, the MPrep exams were much harder but also helped me perform better as a result.

jtheffelfinger
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A Surprisingly Enjoyable Experience

5 stars
May 21, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 408 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 283 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 32 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Vollmer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 710
It was not until after the 9 week in-person group GMAT course was complete that I learned that we had been Mr. Jeff Vollmer's inaugural class. I must say that I was surprised, because Jeff's teaching throughout the course was so effective and seamless. Jeff has an uncanny ability to answer questions and address confusion in such a way that benefits the entire class despite widely varying ability levels amongst the students. He also has a knack for demonstrating multiple viable methods for attacking the same problem. For those new to the exam, this a critical skill; you will not always have time to execute a full algebraic solution to a problem for instance. You must have multiple tools in your GMAT toolbox, and you must be comfortable in quickly discerning which approach is appropriate for the problem at hand. To boot, Jeff is also a humorous and inclusive teacher, and he made our multi-hour Thursday night study sessions, dare I say it, enjoyable.

As a military officer transitioning out of the service to business school, whose quant skills were certainly a bit rusty, I am very happy that I was able to achieve a 710. I am grateful to Jeff and MPrep, and I would enthusiastically recommend the service to anyone who is considering it.