Manhattan Prep
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

Best Promo Code 2019 & Verified Reviews

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 418 reviews
FinallyDoneGMAT2018
Joined: Feb 2019
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep In Person Class: A Good Place to Start

4 stars
February 13, 2019
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 289 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 98 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Mcgorman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 670
I took my first diagnostic test back in Nov 2017 and scored a 520. I decided to do a 9 session in person class with Manhattan Prep every Saturday. Ryan was an awesome instructor and the class was very collaborative. He created a great learning environment, where my classmates and I strove to help each other understand tricky questions and materials. The course provided a great framework for my GMAT studying. However, I do think most people will need to study for several months or use other services to propell them to higher scores. After Manhattan Prep I scored a 640 & 670 respectively. It wasn't until I used tutoring and TTP that I was able to get to my target score (740).

tkleyn
Joined: Jan 2019
Purchased Course: May 2018
Verified Real Student Review

High Quality Preparation in a Fun Environment

5 stars
January 19, 2019
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 289 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - San Francisco 21 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Jacobs
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 690
I had a tremendous experience with Manhattan Prep. The teacher for my class, Ryan Jacobs, did wonderful job covering all the required material in a fun, engaging and genuine environment.

Ryan also did a great job covering "outside of the book" topics related to the GMAT such as time management and other strategic issues that I was previously worried about. By the end of the course, I felt 100% confident walking into the test center, and was able to get the score I needed to reach my dream school. Thank you MPrep!!

chenliyeah
Joined: Jan 2019
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
College: Shanghai University of Foreign Economic and Trade
Major: Law and Social Sciences
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

200 points improvement within two months thanks to Dan Bernstein's tutoring

5 stars
January 5, 2019
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 98 reviews
Teacher: Dan Bernstein
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
really appreciate Dan Bernstein's help! He made my GMAT score improve significantly (by 200 points) in only two months. I don't think I was able to get into my dream school without his mentoring. He was really good at listening to my concerns and pointing out the issues and directions for me very effectively. More importantly, he was also great at encouraging me during the most difficult time. He was not only dedicated in the class but also very responsive after class when I wrote his emails. I was very lucky to have Dan as my GMAT tutor! I would highly recommend you to try him as your GMAT tutor.

mkt8080
Joined: Dec 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience

5 stars
December 9, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 289 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Logan Thompson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: N/A
Great class and highly recommend taking it with Logan Thompson -- he's very patient and his methods are creative and effective!

adrianh
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: May 2018
College: University of San Diego
Major: Business
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: Switzerland
Verified Real Student Review

I can highly recommend Jamie Nelson for the Manhattan Prep Online 9-Session Prep Course!

5 stars
November 19, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Teacher: Jamie Nelson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 730
When I first started studying for the GMAT, it was clear to me that I would do the same thing that I had done in college and that I had been quite successful with; I sat down in a quiet corner with a GMAT guide and started crunching. Unfortunately, I had to learn the hard way that that was the wrong way to approach the GMAT. Even after the third try, my highest score was a 660 and the magical 700+ score seemed far from reach.

I decided that I had to radically change the way I studied and prepared for the test. I signed up for the Manhattan Prep 9-Session Online Prep Course with Jamie Nelson and already during the first course I realized that I had had some fundamental misconceptions about the test. Jamie did a great jobs explaining how the test works and what strategies you need to use to successfully master it. Moreover, she did a fantastic job explaining all the different quant and verbal topics and concepts and thanks to her enthusiastic teaching style the classes were fun and engaging. When I entered the test center for the fourth time, I felt much better prepared and I walked out with a 730!

I wish I had known about Manhattan Prep and Jamie's course from the beginning; this would have saved me a lot of time and stress. However, I hope that this review will help others avoid the mistakes I've made. Take a course for the GMAT, it makes a huge difference and is definitely worth the money. In particular Jamie's course!

alicepike
Joined: Oct 2018
Purchased Course: May 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommended!

5 stars
October 16, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 289 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Starr
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 730
I got 730 in the GMAT after taking the 10 week course with Ryan Starr. I had taken it twice before and I wish I had done the course earlier! Ryan has a great teaching style, he really knows his stuff so you feel confident in what you're learning and the classes are fun. The course covers all aspects of the GMAT from exam content to test day strategy, so all bases are covered. If you want to get your best score then this is absolutely the course you should invest in.

bhs125
Joined: Sep 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
College: Vanderbilt University
Major: Economics
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome, efficient course with Ryan

5 stars
September 27, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 289 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 98 reviews
Teacher: Ryan McGorman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 730
Great course - focused on efficiency and strategies, rather than extraneous content. Everything I learned was very useful during the actual test. Ryan, in particular, was an awesome teacher. He was very blunt, and direct; and I even found it helpful (weirdly) to approach questions with his emphatic voice/intonations, as well as his helpful analogies. There was an optimal balance of quant vs. verbal content, and the strategies were very helpful, particularly in time management/on the quant section. Additionally, the 1-on-1 assessment during the course to help focus my strengths/weaknesses did wonders for my score. There were only 2 minor negative aspects with the curriculum: 1. Limited practice tests (more personal preference – I study best through excessive repetition, so I wanted more than 6) and 2. Slightly too much IR focus in the homework assignments.

bm1324210
Joined: Sep 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
Verified Real Student Review

A private tutor is a great way to help you get those last few points

5 stars
September 18, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Teacher: Paul Fisher
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 730
After speaking with several of my friends who were in business school, I decided to utilize Manhattan GMAT for my preparation. I participated in a 9-session in-person prep course (not with Paul) and ended up getting a 700 on my first real GMAT attempt. Although I was happy with my first score, my ultimate goal was to get at least a 730. A look at my split showed there was room to improve in verbal. So for the next month, I dedicated most of my time and efforts toward improving on the verbal section. Unfortunately, when I took the exam a second time, my verbal score decreased and I ended up with a 660.

With time not on my side (due to applications) and feeling a bit lost, I decided to sign up for online private tutoring sessions with Paul through Manhattan GMAT. As a former prep course participant, I was entitled to the cheapest rate for tutoring hours, meaning I could pay as I go while taking full advantage of bulk package pricing.

Before signing up with Paul, I thought studying with an in-person tutor would be best, but I quickly realized how much more convenient and effective the online interface was. Additionally, it enables you to record/playback all your sessions.

From my first session with Paul, I could tell I made a great decision. He was able to identify key weaknesses in my approach and taught me new methodologies and practices that enabled me to be more efficient with my time and energy. Paul's lessons and explanations were always clear and informative. After eight 2-hour sessions, I took the GMAT again and got the score I was hoping for: 730 (big improvement in verbal).

What I enjoyed about working with Paul, aside from him being a GMAT genius (he scored a 790), was his humility and positive attitude. He was very pleasant to work with and is an all-around great guy. If you get the opportunity to work with Paul, know that you will be in good hands.

tconklin1992
Joined: Sep 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2018
College: Dartmouth College
Major: Economics
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Success

5 stars
September 10, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 289 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location) 10 reviews
Teacher: David Mahler
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I participated in David Mahler’s ten-week Manhattan Prep GMAT course in Spring/Summer 2018. Following an initial practice exam score of 590, I scored a 760 on my first and only GMAT sitting in July.



Having not been acquainted with the exam format or any official GMAT resources, I selected Manhattan Prep as a familiar service with a positive reputation in New York and among my undergraduate classmates. I completed my undergraduate degree in 2014 and am applying this fall to MBA programs for matriculation in Fall 2019. I considered the GMAT to be an unpredictable and time-consuming first step in the admissions process. I knew I needed to prepare strategically, given my time constraint, which justified the course investment.



For me, the robust course materials and carefully organized curriculum were critical for achieving a high score. The strategy guides necessarily walked me through a massive variety of content I hadn’t encountered since high school. Infamously, this content represents only half the battle. The GMAT also tests strategy and decision making, and, in my experience, emotional composure. Rather than separating the content from these components, the strategy guides themselves incorporate these challenges throughout. For example: I found the importance of strategy selection during the Quant section to be remarkable. Solving a problem with even the most refined “textbook” technique is frequently penalized by way of time. As the curriculum advances through Quant subjects, the books reiterate alternative (or “shortcut”) strategies in their different applications. Only purposeful practice with several strategies and, more importantly, review of that practice, can bolster one’s ability to select efficient strategies or cut bait when necessary. Not only do the Manhattan Prep strategy guides cover content with digestible pace and organization, they immerse that content in strategy and in the context of agile decision-making. While it is impossible to benchmark, I think the strategy guides alone enabled me to score in the 700-720 range (a far cry from where I began). The books are ordered, which helps organize studying and makes them less daunting to approach. For those on a budget and/or not local to New York, the materials are a rich resource on their own and well worth the investment.



In order to score those additional 40-60 points (it’s all relative), I believe the in-person class to be worth the incremental investment. Research the instructors and consult the online reviews. I had an exceptional and memorable experience with David Mahler, whose instruction was as effective as any college professor I can remember. While I chose Dave because we shared an Alma Mater and he recorded a 790 GMAT, I believe online reviews such as this one testify to his talent and led many of my classmates to choose his course. I’ll begin there: my section was fully booked with ~12 students as opposed to a section with four or five students that I addended as a make-up. All things equal, the smaller section was surprisingly less productive than the larger. The smaller headcount did not come closer to resembling a tutored course—if there is even one other student the curriculum cannot be tailored to you. The increased individual attention only caused the instructor to check in with each student before proceeding to the next practice question or topic. Class is not about solving individual problems—there are too many to address. Rather, as Dave emphasized, a class succeeds if it can polish your study and review process. You must prepare mostly on your own. As a person that struggles with self-regimen, I needed Dave’s guidance to “work smarter” and accomplish as much as possible with the little time I had. Dave held us accountable in our coursework. There was no passing his class, as his objective was to nudge us as close to our potential as was possible in ten weeks… you are not evaluated by your instructor. I performed well on the problems in class, but this was not a barometer of my ability relative to my classmates. It was an opportunity, each time, to recognize areas of improvement and consider better strategies. I got careless and made silly mistakes. Dave did not hesitate to knock me down a peg and I never once felt like I “passed the test”. There was always a critique to be made and a weakness to recognize in future problems, when exams don’t break for discussion, when there are 20 problems ahead, when review is no longer a luxury. Dave was able to challenge every person in the room at once, facilitating discussion and holding attention. It was masterful instruction and it was a blast.



The GMAT is a terrific test. I don’t believe it can be conquered, but I know that it can be whittled down to a more manageable feat. Believe it or not, that process can be fun. No exam, including the GMAT, can print an objective assessment of your intelligence. The GMAT doesn’t try to do this. It anchors itself in 30-60-90 right triangles and comma splices and proceeds to test your decision-making and composure. But it doesn’t do this mysteriously—there’s tape on its schemes that you mustn’t break down yourself. Manhattan Prep has done it for you. I can’t imagine approaching the GMAT without being coached on its tricks. It is my enthusiastic recommendation that any prospective MBA student prepare for the GMAT with David Mahler and Manhattan Prep. The cost was a large investment for me, and provided an overwhelming return, which feels pretty good.

wrosen25
Joined: Aug 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
College: Trinity College
Major: Political Science
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend Ryan McGorman

5 stars
August 13, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 418 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 98 reviews
Teacher: Ryan McGorman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 720
I had already been working with a tutor before meeting with Ryan, and decided to make a switch after making very little improvement and receiving a less than desirable first score. I can say quite positively that I would not have received the 720 without Ryan. All GMAT tutors know the material and can explain it, but that is not what made the difference for me. Ryan was able to pin-point my weaknesses in quant almost immediately, and was able to explain critical concepts in a palatable way. Most importantly, he did not allow me to stay in my comfort zone. He did not just explain a concept and ensure that I could repeat it back to him, but insisted that I be able to explain the reasons why it made sense. Even though it was sometimes painful, he made sure I learned these critical concepts forward and backward. I would (and have) recommend Ryan to anyone who needs an extra push and personal attention. I am extremely grateful for Ryan's help and could not speak highly enough of his talent as a tutor.