Grockit

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Jun 30, 2009
Purchased Course: Jul 15, 2011
College: Michigan State University
Major: Engineering
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great concept! Execution still needs improvement

July 22, 2011
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

Grockit was the only "prep course" that I used. I really liked the initial concept: an online study guide that was visually appealing and allowed discussion within each individual question. I also thought the answer tracking and the lesson customizing to your weaknesses was a great idea.

However, the questions were not very effective at teaching GMAT topics - Grockit doesn't have a very strong library of practice GMAT questions... yet at least. Also, execution on the above offerings aren't fully developed yet.

I rate it as a good work in progress, but it didn't really aid me in my GMAT endeavors when I used it.
Joined: Jun 26, 2010
Purchased Course: Oct 13, 2010
College: University of Puerto Rico
Major: Pre-Health Sciences
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

It could be better.

February 2, 2011
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

PRO: The problems are extremely similar to Official Guide questions. Sometimes all they change are the numbers or the names of the people/things/places in the OG questions. Thus, this is as close as one can get to practicing with real OG questions.

CON: But the explanations are not clear and sometimes have typos. The explanations are what you get after you pay for the service but they are not worth paying for.

CON: The customer service is responsive and nice. But I only know this because I kept having to contact them because the Grockit website was not working. I would say about once a month the website is down for a few days.

CON: The questions repeat themselves after a relatively short while.

PRO: It is fun to chat with others and sometimes you get to do problems with a Grockit Tutor for free.

PRO: You can customize the level of difficulty and type of question so that you can practice only certain particular skills.
Joined: Sep 10, 2010
Purchased Course: Oct 27, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great

November 6, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

If you have run out of Official guide questions, Grockit questions seem to be very much similar to the OG questions.

Grockit is much better than practicing from any other site, where people misguide.

Must use..
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Purchased Course: Oct 21, 2009
College: Spain
Major: Law and Social Sciences
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: Spain
Verified Real Student Review

Grockit

October 20, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 630 After: 640

Grockit is a great course but I have found some problems:

- The time to answer the questions 2 min 30 sec is not the time per question that you should take in the real test.
- There are a lot of question repeated.
- The level of the questions is not as difficult as it is in the real test.
- The Grockit's CAT test is not accurate. It is not really a CAT and you can find questions in the test that you have answered before.

Joined: Sep 26, 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 1, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Grockit is what you make of it

September 26, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 550

I used Grockit to prepare for my GMAT exam. I mainly went through the solo practices and found the questions to be similar to the type found on the exam. I didn't do as well as I wanted to on the exam but that's because I didn't take advantage of what Grockit had to offer. I think that Grockit is a little unpolished compared to Kaplan or Princeton Review but it's still a useful tool.
Joined: Sep 9, 2009
Purchased Course: Mar 21, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Overall a good resource to have

September 15, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Grockit questions seem to be very similar to the OG questions and are a good resource for practicing on a daily basis.

I would definitely recommend someone preparing for GMAT.

Joined: Sep 15, 2010
Purchased Course: May 11, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

best, most convenient, lowest cost study tool for GMAT test prep

September 15, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I have been a satisfied user of grockit for the past several months. The fee for standard membership was more than reasonable, and the online collaboration integration is brilliant. I only wish I was more motivated to spend more time on it, so I could finally take the test.
The instant grading and categorization of question types and other stats are extremely helpful and time saving compared to doing this on paper out of a book.
Joined: Sep 15, 2010
Purchased Course: Apr 27, 2009
Major: Logistics & Supply Chain Management
Verified Real Student Review

Great way to learn interactively!

September 15, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

I thought Grockit was a great way to learn new concepts, practice the ones I had learned, and challenge myself with new questions. The way the site is constantly interactive helps you go from question to question is much better than just trying to go through a book on your own. Not to mention the live help you get through questions in the rooms hosted by Grockit teachers! Some were even free, which was fantastic.

I can't say enough with how much this helped above and beyond what I could have gotten out of just a book.
Joined: Dec 27, 2009
Purchased Course: Jun 4, 2010
College: University of Texas at Austin
Major: Economics
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Grockit Standard Review

September 15, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Grockit is a great site that has tons of interaction that can help to make learning fun for the GMAT. You can race against other Grockiteers or play games in Verbal or Math against them - even get tutored if you'd like extra help! It brings GMAT prep to life and creates a place where you want to strive to succeed. Many top notch features are through Grockit, one in particular is where your stats are displayed in your profile, allowing you to check out your strengths and weaknesses.

Sign up for Grockit today, you won't regret it!
Joined: Jun 22, 2010
Purchased Course: May 3, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great for Practice

August 3, 2010
  • Teacher: No teacher
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Grockit, I feel, is working very hard to give new features all the time. But there seems to be a problem that rises to it.

First the bugs. There are a few. Grockit introduced timed solo practice tests, and untimed solo practice tests. The untimed solo practice tests seem to have been disappeared. Also. Grockit has a great feature that after answering a certain number of questions, you can take a "Challenge test". My math test are no longer valid. Perhaps it could be that I am only allowed so many Challenge Quant tests, but the user interface should inform me, rather than not do anything. For reading comprehension, Grockit seems to have alloted a lot of time for each reading comprehension question - which is not at all what should be there on the GMAT

But again, its a great way to practice questions. I would recommend it for the quant section. I also have faith that Grockit will improve considerably for their GMAT section, since it seems to be a very promising site and a novel concept. If you start your GMAT preparation early, get Grockit for practice questions.

All the best to Grockit :)
Joined: Jul 21, 2010
Purchased Course: May 31, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Addictive!

August 2, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 610 After: 710

I am using this in conjunction with the OG and the Knewton online course. I think that each tool addresses certain learning issues. I used Knewton for their lectures, study materials, CATs, and strategy. I use the OG for questions most similar to the ones I will encounter on the actual test. Finally, I use Grockit for rapid exposure to the most number of questions and instant feedback on how I'm progressing. Grockit's system of points and achievements may sound gimmicky, but it actually makes the whole experience fun and addictive.

Positives:
-The social nature of group study.
-The sheer number of questions you are exposed to.
-The instant feedback.
-The ADDICTIVE nature of their reward system.

Negatives:
-User interface is cluttered.
-Question/Answer explanations are often unclear and occasionally wrong.

I rate this program a 3.5 for the weak question explanations and will round up to 4.0 for the sheer fun.
Joined: Dec 27, 2009
Purchased Course: Apr 3, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Online Solace

July 28, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The Grockit Online course brings with it the charm of Prep anywhere, anytime.
Since I stay far from the hustle bustle of city,it has proved as a boon to me.
I have been supplementing my self study using Grockit 's online tests.I also got an oppurtunity to attend a free essay lecture by one of the faculties,and the experience was very structured and useful.Moreover,You have the ease of revisiting your Questions and using them for self improvement.
would recommend Grockit for supplementing your Self Study.

One area of improvement could be the availability of CATs.But any day its a value for money proposition.

Cheers!!
Skprocks
Joined: Jun 24, 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 5, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great prep material with dead simple user interface

July 28, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

Grockit has been successful in bringing studies and social networking together on a single platform, providing users with very friendly user interface and ease of use platform for their GMAT prep.

The content, in both Quant & Verbal is comprehensive and covers a wide range of difficulty levels. Students can narrow down to their choice of questions such as "Diffcult Questions in Data Sufficienty - Inequalities, Speed Distance Time" and Grockit will prepare a targetted session, throwing only the kind of questions you selected.

What differs Grockit from others is the group studies feature where students can study in groups, disucssing the questions, approach and mistakes while looking at the question.

Some problems that i encountered were
1. A few questions involving fractions and long equations do not load entirely.
2. As you spend a lot of time practicing, after a point of time the questions start repeating.
Joined: Jul 26, 2009
Purchased Course: Jul 27, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Effective Learning

July 27, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The simple Idea to learn with other GMAT aspirants, each coming from different background and possesing different skill level, has been really evolved by Grockit. Any person who has completed OG, should take atleast standard membership.

For Solving GMAT problems you should several ways to crack question. You can't simply rely on one method. I believe this is the best thing I learnt and it really has helped me a lot for improving my GMAT score.

Even if you solve few questions, while interacting in chat regarding that question, you learn much more than any official explanation, which is also provided by the way.

The instructurs are very proactive to guide you and motivate you(by star). The questions are good enough to review the OG problems and some difficult ones too. You can review any question you have attempted from the review section and hence no need to make notes, just revise would do and save your time,
Joined: Apr 15, 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 14, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Hate Studies ?? Join Grockit..

July 27, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Do you hate studying Maths? Do you ever like going through boring long RC passages?? Hey, but do you like to be competitive ? Then Grockit is the suitable place for you.

I started GMAT studies 2 months back and joined Grockit very recently. I have taken standard membership which includes unlimited access to all the questions.

There we have formed a study group and we help each other with our mistakes. I can solve problems on my own as well. The best part is we can set timer.

This helps to make a habit of solving problems in an exam like environment.
Problem explanations are good enough.

Another great thing is we can set questions as per our requirement and finally Grockit gives us a graph of detail performance on each key area.

Only the negative part I think is quite few questions are similar to official guide. This can be advantageous as well as repetitive.

Overall, I would recommend Grockit. It's an good engaging way to study.


Joined: May 16, 2010
Purchased Course: May 5, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Hone your time management and presence of mind

July 27, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 770 After: 770

Grockit is by far one of the best ways to start off your GMAT preparation. With it's well designed UI and simple philosophy of shooting you with questions one after the other in a timed environment, it is a straightforward and addictive practice solution.

It was especially useful to be able to review answers, read alternate explanations and watch my strengths and weaknesses analyzed in real-time. Using Grockit definitely helped me achieve my 99 percentile score.

Highly recommended!
Joined: Dec 21, 2009
Purchased Course: Feb 10, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great product

July 27, 2010
  • Teacher: Vivian Kerr
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

It's really revolutionary product. Study can't be that fun. It's became quite addictive after times. I know so many friends of mine who use to learn from grockit day and night. It's also very flexible. As I am also working this kind of product is a great help for me. and if I found difficulty in any of the question so many students or faculties are always there to address my problem areas.

Also faculties here are really very good and quite expert in their area. It was awesome experiance to learn with grockit.
Joined: Mar 25, 2010
Purchased Course: Dec 22, 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Learning made fun.

July 21, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Enough has been mentioned about the benefits of Grockit's social features and about its difficulty level , you can read the complete review here

http://www.beatthegmat.com/mba/2010/06/16/course-review-grockit-complete-gmat-course


But i would like to mention a few takeaways.

1.Gratification via awards [ Hot streak, hot steak ..socialite..] is very much required during GMAT prep. At times GMAT prep can be a disheartening process, when you get a lost list of questions wrong.But once you are on a roll in grockit it rewards you with badges that go a long way for boosting confidence.

2. Reinforcement of concepts via group learning. Although not many participants are willing to participate in the review process post answering a questions. The ones that do are really helpful. Many a time I have had to explain the solution and that reinforced that concept for me. As they say, the best way to learn is to teach.

3. Timed practice integrated in the practice course itself. I believe my first exposure to timed practice was in grockit. Signed up for membership right after I saw that feature. The essence of building an internal stopwatch was explained via the practice.

Since it was completely online I could not opt for that course as I have a constraint regarding the time zone.But even the standard membership would suffice to make GMAT learning fun

PS: I really wish they had the CAT integrated in their current learning and also slight increase in difficult level, but I am not complaining.They seem to adding new features every other day. I have seen etherpad integration into their course which makes for a serious tool for AWA preparation.

It keeps me excited to look for new features in my UI everyday

Grockit makes GMAT fun

Joined: May 4, 2009
Purchased Course: Aug 27, 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Good supplement to a self-study approach or a formal GMAT course

July 20, 2010
  • Teacher: Multiple Tutors
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I started a self-study approach to the GMAT last year with the following resources: practice tests from websites and GMAT prep books, GMAT Official Guide, and the supplemental Official GMAT Verbal and Quant guides.

During this time, I decided to supplement my strategy with Grockit due to the low cost (especially with the BTG's discount code) and the flexibility to study on Grockit online. I used Grockit's online sessions to complete problems and chat with others about the solution/problem. The online, interactive chat in Grockit was helpful as I was able to reinforce my strategies by explaining and discussing the questions/solutions with other users. I tried to join sessions with the 'official' tutors on the website who were useful in explaining the solutions/problems. Moreover, the online membership means that you can start a session at any time, any place - one of the main reasons why I started a membership since I travel frequently and physically attending classes would have been difficult.

Some areas of improvement include the inability to pause a session to discuss a solution further and repeat questions for both the Verbal and Quant sections. In addition, some of the questions were the exact same questions in the Official Guide.

After I finished studying, I took the GMAT late last year and achieve a total score of 700 although there was a big disparity between my Verbal and Quant scores. I would recommend Grockit as a supplement to a self-study approach or a formal GMAT course (online or classroom).