Test Prep Companies,GRE Prep Company

Magoosh GMAT Packages - Premium

Joined: Aug 26, 2019
Purchased Course: Apr 28, 2019
College: Sewanee: The University of the South
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: Kenya
Verified Real Student Review

Comprehensive prep software - highly recommended!

August 26, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I found Magoosh to be a comprehensive and effective software in prepping for my GMAT. Their maths videos especially were very helpful, and their prep questions were incredibly useful! I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have gotten my target score in such a short prep time without Magoosh.
Joined: Jun 29, 2019
Purchased Course: Jan 10, 2019
College: University of Maryland, College Park
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

560 to 740 - A Rollercoaster of Emotions with Immense Payoff.

June 30, 2019
  • Teacher: Multiple support personnel
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

When I started studying for the GMAT in early January based off of a New Years resolution, I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I did fairly well in school, so I figured I'd need a month or two at most in order to get my target score. I intend on going to a T15 school, so I set my sights on at least a 700 cumulative score. Simple enough, right?

How wrong I was. I took a diagnostic shortly after I began my studying and scored a 560, with a particularly weak score in quant. While lower than I expected, I took this as a normal baseline for someone who finished college over two years ago. After a month of not-so-intensive studying with another program (roughly 5 hours a week), I took my first official GMAC practice exam in early February. I once again got a 560 (Q31 V35) - no improvement whatsoever. Discouraged, I did some research online and settled on incorporating Magoosh into my study routine.

This was probably the single greatest decision I could've made. I upped my study time to about 10 hours a week (2 hours every weekday after work, with the occasional session on the weekend.) As shown below, I immediately saw an uptick in my scores:

GMAC Practice Test 2 (Early March): 700 (Q45 V40)
GMAC Practice Test 3 (Late April): 740 (Q49 V42)
GMAC Practice Test 4 (Late June - 5 days before my actual test): 710 (Q46 V41)

Besides having the love and support of my friends and family, I can single-handedly attribute this dramatic change to the targeted assistance from Magoosh. While I didn't pay for their tutoring services, the question bank and lessons provided immense detail on what to expect on the test. On top of this, every single question and lesson had both video and text explanations - catering to both auditory and visual learners. I also want to provide my unbridled praise to the Magoosh Support team, which often times would respond within an hour to any clarifications I needed on questions. I essentially had a tutor for a tenth of the price!

With my newfound confidence, I walked into my exam with my head held high. I left with an excellent score that will allow me to pursue my MBA dreams. If you take away anything from this review, it should be this: Magoosh will set you on the path to GMAT quant success.
Joined: Jun 27, 2019
Purchased Course: Mar 19, 2019
College: University of Michigan Ann Arbor
Major: Business
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh helped me a lot!

June 27, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

My favorite things about Magoosh were (i) the phenomenal video explanations on practice problems and general topics and (ii) the timing of each question to see where you compared to other Magoosh users. As well, Magoosh's question bank was filled with challenging problems that one could use to build meaningful practice tests. The video explanations were again very helpful here, and I strongly recommend them to any Magoosh user (you can also speed them up or slow them down to better fit the pace at which you are digesting the video).

Lastly, the Magoosh service was great. I enjoyed how employees would check in on my progress, answer my questions, and provide me with tips when I needed them.
Joined: Jun 18, 2019
Purchased Course: Jan 12, 2019
College: Virginia Military Institute
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Can't beat the video explanations

June 18, 2019
  • Teacher: Magoosh
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I'm a visual learner, so having video lessons and video break downs of each individual question was crucial for me. Every time I got a question wrong, it was like having an individual tutor there to show me the correct way to do the question. I used a few different book prep resources, but the Magoosh videos were so much better. If you're a visual learner like me, there is no other option, it's gotta be Magoosh!
Joined: Jun 8, 2019
Purchased Course: May 19, 2019
College: Georgetown
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great for quick verbal learning

June 8, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: 770

If you are the type of person that prefers video learning to text learning, Magoosh is probably the best service for you. I previously had used the Economist for 2 months and started with a baseline of 710, only to score a 710 two months later. I then moved to Magoosh and scored a 770 in only 3 weeks. I needed help primarily in verbal, and I found Magoosh?s content to be fantastic. The video format (as opposed to just text) worked very well for me. In addition, the course gives you hundreds of practice questions that can be accessed at any time during your course.

To me, it?s clearly the best value for money out there. And even at its reasonable price, it rivals much more expensive programs when putting price aside.

Highly recommend! Especially for those looking for a shorter study window.
Joined: May 30, 2019
Purchased Course: Apr 16, 2019
College: University of Houston
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Raised my score almost 200%

May 30, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 470 After: 660

I used Kaplan prep for my first exam and did absolutely awful, as the materials I purchased had almost no digital components at all and didn?t give feedback.

The Magoosh software is super easy to use and helped me raise my score while only preparing for a few weeks! The answers to questions are very thorough and you?re always able to get your questions answered quickly.
Joined: Mar 27, 2019
Purchased Course: Mar 7, 2019
College: McMaster University
Major: Business
Industry: Chemical/Pharm/Medical Products
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Absolutely amazing!! Simplifies everything and teaches you great tips and tricks to help you on the test!

March 27, 2019
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 560 After: 640

I found Magoosh lessons and answer videos to be so helpful. It helped me gain a better understanding of how to approach questions and more importantly how to save time on the test! With two weeks of intense studying with Magoosh, I improved by score 80 points!
Joined: Dec 11, 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 11, 2018
College: Nottingham University
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United Arab Emirates
Verified Real Student Review

If you've not been a student in along time, it's a very good resource

December 11, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

First off, some simple details. I'm 35, so it's been a long time since I was a student, even more so when it comes to solving the type of question the GMAT throws at you. As such, whilst the OG is useful, it does not so much 'teach' as inform.

The most useful aspect of Magoosh, at least initially, are the hours of tutorial videos. If you need to learn, or re-learn various techniques this is invaluable. They tend to focus on the fundamental principals in clearly delivered 5-15 minutes videos.

Whilst their question bank does seem to be quite good in terms of volume, I would say that their scoring appears to be on the conservative side, at least for me. I attempted the GMAC prep test 1 prior to signing up or even opening up the OG. I got 610 on that first try. After a month of Magoosh I sat each of the GMAC prep tests (1-6) once a week, and it 710-730 each time. The Magoosh predictor, as well as the practice tests, typically had me around 660-680. It's better to be conservative, but still the discrepancy was nonetheless noticeable .

If you need to learn or relearn fundamentals, then I would highly recommend Magoosh as a supplementary provider to the OG and other GMAC materials.
Joined: Dec 8, 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 27, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Great Service

December 8, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

The structured layout of Magoosh was very helpful to keep me on track. You can track your progress, watch videos, and get explanations to questions right away. 10/10 would recommend.
Joined: Nov 2, 2018
Purchased Course: May 31, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Structure is key

November 17, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I think the best thing about this plan is the structure. It forces you to study everyday and to learn both verbal concepts and math concepts from different sources. Magoosh is great for teaching you want. I went from a 38 to a 48. However, I don't think it can get you higher than that score. I believe that if you use this plan you should also consider supplementing it with gmat club quant tests. After i went through all of those exams I found it really easy to score 49-50 and still have 5 minutes left.

In terms of verbal, magoosh is really good for concepts for sentence correction. It will teach you the fundamental idioms; however, I think SC on the actual gmat is much harder than any SC question I have seen on Magoosh, and also on MGMAT practice questions. Magoosh CR is a little easier but in its plan for advanced students it has you do LSAT CR and RC questions which are much harder and prepare you behind the difficulty of the questions on the exam. I don't think I would have been exposed to all the resources available and all nuances of the exam if I hadn't used Magoosh.

For reference, Magoosh also had you do MGMAT practice exams throughout the course. My MGMAT practice score are 570, 580, 620, 640, 720, 720 then gmac gmat exams 720, 720, 640, 750, 690
Joined: Nov 14, 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 13, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Great for practice, but not a good indicator of actual performance

November 14, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

Magoosh is great for both math and verbal because of the in depth lessons and strategies, but I found it particularly useful for practicing math problems. Definitely should buy the premium package if you haven't done some of the math or verbal since high school. Even with an engineering degree, I had to go back and practice heavily on combinatorics, statistics, probability, and geometry. One warning, if you decide to do "practice tests" on Magoosh, which consists of just the Math and Verbal sections, do not pay attention to the score you receive at the end. In each of my practice tests, I would get anywhere between 600 and 670, but when I did the GMATPrep exams and the actual GMAT, I got well over 700 each time. This is because Magoosh's computer adaptive algorithm is pretty simple and can end up giving you strings of Very Hard questions if you do well initially in the sections, which, if you fail these, will kill your score. The most important thing is to just practice practice practice, and then review each question you do regardless of if you got it right or wrong, and take plenty of notes on questions (Magoosh has a feature to let you make notes on each question). The goal should be that by the two weeks prior to your GMAT exam, you're able to narrow down your specific topic weaknesses in the math and verbal sections, and just practice questions on these topics (which Magoosh allows you to filter and do). Best of luck to everyone prepping for the GMAT.
Joined: Nov 2, 2018
Purchased Course: May 31, 2018
College: Rutgers University - New Brunswick
Major: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Structure is key

November 3, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I used the advanced plan for students. I would highly recommend it for anyone aiming for a high score. I did not take the actual gmat before starting, but I scored a 570 on the first practice test structured into the plan. After I finished the plan, I scored a 750. Magoosh will beat the topics into you until you eat, sleep, and think only gmat. Magoosh has so many math questions and super detailed explanations and lesson videos that will teach you more than everything you need to know for the gmat. The combinatrics problems on Magoosh are really challenging and I could only get a few correct. However, the ones on the actual gmat are child's play compared with the ones from Magoosh. I would highly recommend Magoosh and Magoosh's advanced plan to anyone aiming for a high score.
Joined: Oct 19, 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 25, 2018
Major: Bio(medical) Engineering
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I'd definitely recommend Magoosh

October 19, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I watched most of the videos and did most of the prep questions. I found it very useful and attribute my score to the excellent study preparation provided by Magoosh,
Joined: Sep 28, 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 10, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend this product!

September 28, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Fantastic product. I had only about one month to study for the GMAT, and using this course was the best prep decision I could've made. Loved in particular the video explanations of answers to each question as well as the analytics that kept my test prep schedule razor-focused on strengthening my weaknesses. Felt very well-prepared for the GMAT after just one month with this course. Premium is completely worthwhile.
Joined: Sep 25, 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 17, 2018
College: Northwestern University
Major: Economics
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great product!

September 25, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 730 After: 760

I entered the Magoosh course frustrated, after having taken the GMAT twice and receiving the same score both times (730). I watched all the Magoosh videos in about two weeks, spent several hours targeting my weaknesses on quant, and achieved a score of 760! I can't recommend this product enough.
Joined: Sep 10, 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 9, 2018
College: Northwestern University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very happy with the product + outcome!

September 10, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 760

I only had 4 weeks to prepare for the GMAT from scratch and found Magoosh products to have worked extremely well in my preparation. I scored a 650 in my very first CAT exam (no preparation); in the actual test, I scored a 760 (M50 / V41). I used Magoosh and OG guide in my preparation and put in about ~120 -150 hrs in total prep time.

Advantages of Magoosh:
1) Video instructions and lessons are much more efficient than live lessons because you can play them at 1.75x playback speed and skip / revist as necessary. The lessons were helpful as material refreshers. Every question also has a mini video explanation, which made me absorb each question much faster than reading from OG / text explanations.
2) High quality question bank, UI is simple to use and makes it easy to revisit wrong questions
3) Every feature is available via iPad apps - the idiom flashcard app was most helpful

Areas for improvement:
1) Bigger question bank for hard / very hard questions - I did all of my practice sessions in "adaptive" difficulty, and found myself mostly working through easy / medium questions in my last week of prep
2) I didn't find a few explanations very convincing (especially in harder CR / DS questions)
3) A few quant questions are slightly poorly worded / misleading - but imo less so than other providers
Joined: Aug 27, 2018
Purchased Course: May 11, 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great product and you can't beat the price

August 27, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

A product that will provide you with all of the information and challenging problems you need in order to get a 700+ score. I condensed the basic 3-month study plan into a 2 month program. The study guides themselves are very helpful and keep you organized and on pace. Magoosh also recommends using other services, I did not use the MGMAT books or practice test they recommended, but did buy the OG. The lessons are great for building the basic blocks and I would strongly recommend using them. Of course, the video explanations are invaluable. When I had taken the two practice test provided by GMATPrep, I scored a 630 and 660. Magoosh is ideal for someone who can manage their own study time and stay motivated/focus to do well on the GMAT without the assistance of a tutor or large sunk cost.
Joined: Aug 25, 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 21, 2017
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Construction Technology
Industry: Retailing/Wholesaling
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great program to take you from beginner to test day

August 25, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

I purchased the Magoosh program when all I knew about the GMAT is that I needed to take it. The reviews and value of Magoosh I found online really caught my eye and thought it would be worth a shot before I take my first attempt at the GMAT. I went through the entire course and took time working on all the problems and watching how the solution videos got to the answers and if they were more optimal than mine even if i got it right. I love the way that they help you think outside the memorization of formulas and really break down number sense and how it can apply across the test. In the end I was able to surprise myself and scored my target score on the first attempt with 3 months of intense Magoosh study. I would recommend the program to anyone starting out as it worked wonders taking me from completely clueless to 650 in a short amount of time.
Joined: Aug 8, 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 28, 2018
College: Monash University
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Transportation
Country: Singapore
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Programme

August 8, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 500 After: 730

Magoosh is great.

It contains all the materials that took me from very bad(seriously like below 500) to 730.

The lessons are easy to follow, with a quiz after.

The only issue I have is that there is not enough 700++ questions. So once you get to that level (and believe me you will), its very easy to run out of questions (because their answers are very good)
Joined: Jul 30, 2018
Purchased Course: May 14, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Video explanations are great

July 30, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 660

The video explanations were great. In the GMAT Official Guide the answer explanations can be short and confusing, but each practice question on Magoosh comes with a 2-3 minute video that clearly explains the logic to get to the correct answer.
Joined: Jul 28, 2018
Purchased Course: May 17, 2018
College: Birla Institute of Science and Technology, Pilani
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Other Services
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

I highly recommend Magoosh to any GMAT aspirant

July 28, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

Magoosh was crucial to my success in GMAT. Magoosh video lessons and video answers to practice questions cleared all the concepts aptly and helped me in understanding my mistakes. Practice questions are similar to actual GMAT questions. Magoosh completely understands GMAT and helps students in the best possible manner.
Joined: Jul 18, 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 7, 2018
College: Texas A&M University
Major: Management Information Systems
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh is an excellent way to improve your GMAT

July 18, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I signed up for the GMAT with a bit of short notice. I had only 7 weeks to prepare for the exam, and many of the topics covered on the exam were ones that I hadn't seen in years. I took the initial diagnostic test from mba.com and scored a 640. It's not a bad score, but it's not a score that I was happy with either. I scored pitifully in math (41st percentile). I instantly started looking for online prep courses and found that many people were recommending Magoosh. They were right to do so!

Over the course of 7 weeks, I did upwards of 1000 practice problems, spending about 2 hours each day working on (mostly math) problems. I watched almost all of the math lessons, and a good chunk of the verbal lessons as well. The test date came up quick, and a practice test that I took on Magoosh's website indicated I was going to score around 650, a marginal improvement at best. However, I felt that I had covered so much ground over the course of my studying, so I didn't stress it too much.

Test day comes up, and I found that I was able to answer many questions with relative ease. I ended up scoring a 710 (47Q/41V), which I was ecstatic about. Magoosh's problems were more difficult than the test's problems, and this helped immensely when test day came. I truly cannot recommend the service enough, they are excellent at what they do, and while everyone's results may not be as good as mine, a motivated individual can go pretty far using this as a resource.

Thanks, Magoosh!
Joined: May 7, 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 4, 2018
College: University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The best at its price range

May 7, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

Arguably, having a video explanation for every single question makes Magoosh the best offer for its price point. While in a perfect world it could use a larger question bank to review with, having each question clearly and concisely explained was immensely helpful in achieving the goal I set out for. Overall, it's absolutely a worthwhile buy in reviewing for the GMAT.
Joined: Apr 30, 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 10, 2016
College: Miami University
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I didn't have a lot of time to study and Magoosh made it happen.

April 30, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 710

I work in consulting and have a very hectic schedule, so study for the GMAT was falling through the cracks. I just needed to boost my score up a bit and Magoosh was perfect for that. I have no doubt that I could have scored even better if I spent more time on the platform, but am more than happy with my score (+700).
Joined: Apr 13, 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 27, 2018
College: University of Michigan
Major: Bio(medical) Engineering
Industry: Biotechnology
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh is the best prep out there

April 30, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

I completed the official GMAT guide before starting Magoosh. Although the official verbal questions are more similar to the actual test, Magoosh's verbal practice is much harder than anything you will face on the real exam. The videos are great at explaining concepts and how to tackle different question types, and the flexibility of learning on your own is much better than taking an expensive course!
Joined: Apr 28, 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 14, 2018
College: Birla Institute of Technology and Science(BITS), Pilani
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Student
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Your ladder to a 700+ score

April 28, 2018
  • Teacher: Sarai Yaseen, Kathryn Tucker,, Aida, Jessica
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

I gave GMAT with less than a months preparation and Magoosh made it possible with its month plan which I followed religiously. I was bad at verbal like most other engineers out there. I focused very little on the Quant part because I was consistently scoring 50-51 on the practice tests. I started with the verbal from the Official guide and the Magoosh question set. I took several 31 question quizzes for verbal at the same time as my exam because that helped me get into the exam mode everyday so tat when the test day arrives , I don't find it difficult to Focus. For the rest of the day, I used to review the question that i did incorrectly and see where I was lacking. There is no substitute to review. Unless you see why you were wrong, you won't improve no matter how many questions you practice. Magoosh video explanations are incomparable with any other resource out there. if you follow the 1month/3 month plan, you can rest assured that you will see a minimum 50 point score improvement.
Joined: Apr 13, 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 27, 2018
College: University of Michigan
Major: Bio(medical) Engineering
Industry: Biotechnology
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Don't take a class!

April 13, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

I completed the full book's worth of practice problems in the Official GMAT Guide before starting Magoosh. While the official guide may be more similar to actual test questions, Magoosh is more challenging and has much better explanations for how to get the answer using the right method.

The lessons are tremendous, and explain the key principles and how to apply them in a coherent, straightforward way. If you took a class, you would be stuck at the group's pace, but the lessons allow you to really hone in on your personalized area for improvement.
Joined: Apr 2, 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 3, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Everything you need to know for the GMAT

April 2, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

Let me start by saying I didn't even know calculators weren't allowed during the test and that a max score is 800. I was not ready for the GMAT, to say the least. Thankfully, Magoosh provides (almost excruciatingly, but necessarily) detailed videos covering all the material you need to know for the GMAT. With the Premium Course, they also provide practice tests and over 800 practice questions, which is what probably helped me the most! They also cover great tips to do quick mental math (ex. doubling and halving). My only regrets are waiting to take their practice exams and not leaving more time to review before my test date. Overall, Magoosh is great for starting from 0 and reaching a score you want!
Joined: Mar 18, 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 11, 2017
College: Penn State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Worth It - No Other Tool Needed

March 18, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

x
Joined: Mar 18, 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 19, 2018
College: Carnegie Mellon University
Major: Finance
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great lesson videos and practice questions!

March 18, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

The lessons were very effective and were a great refresher, especially for the math section. The self pacing of the prep was also very nice!
Joined: Jan 19, 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 12, 2016
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh was a great source in my GMAT toolkit

March 6, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 600 After: 730

Magoosh was a great resource with helpful videos of the official guide questions. I decided to prep for the GMAT in 2014 on a whim and this was the first source I used before the official guide. I used it throughout my multiple retakes and was able to reach my target score of 730. I really enjoyed using the user interface and solving all of the practice questions that are similar to the official GMAC format that you will see on the test date. It was not my own source, and I would recommend getting more than one prep source, but it was definitely a great complementary tool in my test prep toolkit
Joined: Jan 27, 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 22, 2017
College: Rutgers University
Major: Biochemistry
Industry: Chemical/Pharm/Medical Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

760 (50Q/44V) Convenient, Self-Paced Program. Excellent for Full-Time Workers With Busy Schedules

January 27, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

Magoosh was the only study material I used when preparing for the GMAT. I scored a 760!!! My target score was a 700. My Magoosh practice test score was a 670. The Magoosh problems were actually a bit tougher than the problems I encountered on the test, and that really helped to push me to master the concepts necessary to do well.
Joined: Jan 22, 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 16, 2017
College: North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Chemicals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

WORTH EVERY CENT YOU WILL PAY!!!

January 22, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 490 After: 610

I can honestly say that I have never been a great standardized test taker. So when I decided I was going back to school to get my MBA, I knew that the GMAT would be my hardest feat. And this was further proven when I took the test the first time. I had a deadline to meet to qualify for a pre-MBA Program and did not have much time to meet it. So I read about Magoosh and read all of the wonderful reviews about the program and decided I should try it. I did the one month study plan (definitely modified but completed all required Magoosh material) and I can say it was all worth it. My score increased 120 points in a short time span. I am still not where I want to be, but now that I have qualified for my program, I plan to review the Magoosh material and do the 3 month study plan (all material included) to get to the score I truly desire. But I would recommend this program to anybody. Especially if you are a visual learner, but don't really have the time to sit in a 3-4 hour weekly prep class (I'm an Engineer in Oil & Gas so time is of the essence). You definitely have to be self motivated, as you are responsible for your progress and the knowledge learned, but I cannot say enough great things about Magoosh. Take from someone who absolutely HATES standardized tests. This will definitely help you well on your way to greatness on the GMAT!
Joined: Jan 9, 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 15, 2017
College: McMaster University
Major: Anthropology
Industry: Student
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Great prep tool

January 9, 2018
  • Teacher: Mike
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 610 After: 700

Magoosh's video lessons were incredibly helpful in my preparation for my GMAT. The math videos allowed me to refresh on concepts that I haven't visited since highschool being in an arts undergrad program, and helped me to pass my goal score. My initial practice test were estimating a score of 610, with a very poor quantitative score of 37. After my actual test I came out with 45 in Quant and 40 in Verbal for a total score of 700. I really liked the videos that were linked after each practice question to further strengthen knowledge, and I found the practice questions to be very similar to the actual GMAT. I did, however, find the quantitative questions slightly harder than what I saw on the actual test, with Magoosh's software estimating my score significantly lower than what I received on test day. I used Magoosh primarily in my studying and near test day also began using the official GMAT prep guide to do more practice questions. I highly recommend using these videos in your preparation rather than reading from a book, and using it in combination with the CAT GMATPrep tests you are given access to when you register for your exam. I found that score from the GMATPrep to be very accurate in comparison to my final score, so using them in combination with Magoosh will give you a great idea of where you stand.
Joined: Jan 9, 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 17, 2017
College: University of Kent (UK)
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

A great resource!

January 9, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 600 After: 680

I couldn't be happier with the Magoosh course. I used mostly the maths video lessons and practice questions and managed to get 80 points more in comparison to a practice test I took only 3 weeks before my actual exam. It is a great resource and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone willing to significantly increase their score in a very short period of time.
Joined: Dec 27, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 23, 2017
College: Loyola University Chicago
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Don't blow thousands on expensive test prep!

December 27, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I started using Magoosh about three months before taking the GMAT, and I am thrilled with the results! I hadn't done any sort of math over 4.5 years of professional experience following my undergraduate studies. I don't have a pre-Magoosh score because I never made it through the first practice exam. I had NO IDEA how to answer almost ANY of the math problems. Mike came to the rescue! His videos explain everything you need to know to be successful on the exam, and nothing that you don't. He even explains along the lines of "this topic gets complicated if you dive in more deeply, but it won't be on the test, so don't bother!"

It's not just video lessons, Mike and his team provide video solutions to every single practice problem. On the message boards, you can find more solutions to official guide questions. Text explanations are often very hard to follow and can cause headaches (especially in the official guide) but the videos walk you through each problem step by step, and REALLY make a difference.

The best part is, it's not an expensive class! Magoosh is a steal compared to many in-person classes that charge four figures to attend. In classes like those, you're stuck with the course. Magoosh allows you to replay lessons on difficult topics and rewind videos to make sure an idea sinks in. In conjunction with the suggested study schedule, I believe this is far superior GMAT trainer, and WILL raise you score bigtime!
Joined: Dec 2, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 13, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Emphasis on Understanding, and Practice, Practice, Practice!

December 2, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 680

Prior to starting with Magoosh, I took practice tests and my highest score was 570. I signed up for a free one-week GMAT prep with Magoosh and was stunned by the level of detail in the few explanation videos I had access to. So I decided to sign up for the premium package which covers all the math topics encountered in the GMAT Quant section. There are hundreds of practice problems ranging from easy questions to very difficult ones, and a timer helps you keep track of your pace. For every practice problem, there is a video explaining how to arrive at the correct answer. There are also dozens and dozens of video lessons that provide a thorough understanding of all the concepts. I kept watching the video lessons and practicing questions and I probably went through more than a hundred sheets of paper doing practice questions! The Verbal Reasoning, Integrated Reasoning and Analytical Writing lessons are also very thorough; however, I focused more on Quant because of my limited time. On test day I made sure to choose Option 3, which has the Quant section first, followed by Verbal, then IR, and, lastly, AW. I was confident because I had not memorized a bunch of formulas, rather, I understood the concepts and was able to answer questions using different approaches and still arrive at the same answer. Thank you Magoosh!
Joined: Nov 19, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 26, 2017
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States