Test Prep Companies, Private Tutoring, GRE Prep Company

Manhattan Prep

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Dec 13, 2008
Verified Real Student Review

Don't consider anyone else!

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Angela Guido
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The Manhattan GMAT course raised my score 150 points, enabled me to beat my goal score, and helped me gain admission to the program I wanted to attend within 6 months of taking the class.

If that doesn't say it all...

The teacher, Angela, was brilliant, and not only helped you recognize your weaknesses, but motivated you to correct them between each class. The amenities and class size were perfect. Classes are grueling but entertaining, the proprietary texts teach you all the tricks behind the test, and the practice tests are well administered and actually more demanding than the actual test (which is a blessing in disguise when you score higher than your practice sessions.)

That being said, I highly recommend taking the 9 week class with Manhattan. If you live in the North, take it in the winter months so you are distraction free and can really set the time to focus on studying. By the spring you will have aced the GMAT.
Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 31, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Am glad I took the course!

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Eric Caballero
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The Manhattan GMAT 9 session course was super helpful. Our instructor, Eric Caballero, made the class very interesting and covered a significant number of topics every week. The pace was good, and he made sure everyone in class was on the same page. The other great thing about Manhattan GMAT is the quality of the online resources e.g., practice tests, the online performance assessment software, online labs, etc. I was very happy with the course and would recommend it to anyone who is thinking of signing up for a class!
Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 2, 2009
Verified Real Student Review

The best GMAT course available

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Eric Caballero
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Manhattan GMAT has a winning combination: fantastic instructors and a killer curriculum that completely prepare you for the GMAT. My instructor, Eric Caballero, was engaging, dynamic, and funny. He made it easy to learn the material and easy to want to attend class. Eric also made himself accessible outside of class, and was a great resource for both GMAT and MBA related questions.

The curriculum attacks the GMAT from two fronts: while it teaches you tips and tricks for "beating the test", it also teaches you the fundamentals necessary to arrive at the right answer without guesswork. Armed with both strategy and knowledge, my GMAT score jumped 70 points. The homework is essential and, if you need the extra discipline, the course materials include a day by day schedule for assignments.

As an added bonus, the GMAT location in Boston has great snacks during class. It may seem trivial, but it helps!
Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Apr 30, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Thorough and Very Helpful

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Kara Thornton and Whitney Garner
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

1. The course material offered by Manhattan is very comprehensive and covers all GMAT topics in detail along with corresponding problem solving strategies
2. The instructors have a thorough knowledge of each area tested on GMAT and are adept at explaining concepts to the class.
3. The course is well structured and the sessions are very interactive and lively.
4. Unique features such as availability of class recordings, lot of practice tests, question banks etc is very helpful.
5. A must take for everyone preparing for GMAT!!

Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Nov 10, 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Preparation

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I took the Manhattan GMAT 9-session course this winter in advance of taking the GMAT in March and it was an excellent preparation. Not only are the instructors top notch, but the books and practice tests are extremely comprehensive. I recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve their score. I know I wouldn't have achieved my score without their help.
Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 6, 2008
Verified Real Student Review

Focused on teaching concepts, online course offers great flexibility

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Kara Thornton
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I took the 9-week course online, and my score improved 50 points.

Pros:
- The Books: I haven't worked with math concepts that I learnt in high school in a while, so these thorough, A-Z manuals were what convinced me to sign up.
- The Teacher: Not only was Kara able to breakdown 700+ questions to foundational concepts, but the shortcuts she taught probably saved me 30 minutes during the exam. Comparable to the best 1-2 professors I had in college. And all this while working from home with her children running around in the background!
- Flexibility: The online course took travel time out of the equation (even 45 mins a week makes a difference!), and if I missed a class they were all recorded.

Cons:
- Time commitment: On top of the weekly class and reading the manuals, I spent at 12-15 hours a week on practice questions. To get the most of the class, you need to a) complete practice questions and b) track your progress. The analytics the course offers (both Excel files for tracking Official Review questions and online prep exam tracking) really helped me understand the areas were I was weak, and focus my attention for my second try.
Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 23, 2009
Verified Real Student Review

A must-do course!

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Angela Guido
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I highly recommend this course for anyone who is interested in taking the GMAT. I had originally tried to study on my own, but once it proved to be fruitless, I signed up for the 9-week prep course from Manhattan GMAT.

The study guides are very clear in explaining the different strategies. The points are written in simple terms, making it easy to retain many different tips and guides.

The instructors are also great at breaking things down and providing short cuts to help shave down on time. After a long day of work, the last thing I wanted to do was study math tactics and correct, but this course made it very easy to digest! As expected with any prep course, there is a good amount of homework, but it is necessary!

Overall, I had a great experience with Manhattan GMAT, got my target score and was accepted into my first choice school!
Joined: Jun 9, 2009
Purchased Course: Jun 9, 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Everything you need to know before you take the GMAT

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Eric Caballero
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I was hesitant about spending $1500 on a GMAT prep course and wondered how much it could possibly help me. I cannot stress enough how important MGMAT verbal was in boosting my verbal score. Everything you need to know about SC and CR are all taught at MGMAT. They tell you that you can't really do much to improve drastically in RC which is totally true.

I've had friends take courses from competitors and it doesn't seem like the materials are advance enough.

Simply put: if you're aiming for above 700, go with MGMAT. If you're aiming for 600, take any course or just study on your own with the OG books!
Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 5, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

MGMAT IS THE BEST!

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Chris Brusznicki
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Took the class right on Northwestern's campus in the Spring Quarter of my senior year...Taking the gmat was the LAST thing i wanted to do as a senior but Chris (the instructor) made the experience actually enjoyable. To top it off he (and the course) helped raise my score 150 points to get the exact score I was reaching for. All the MGMAT instructors are the best since they get paid the best wages and score in the 99th percentile...I know this is said on the website, but it's true. Don't do Kaplan, go with a company that specializes in the GMAT.

Also be sure to take advantage of all the amazing resources you get...from the online calculator, study tracker, FREE office hours, etc. You are going to work hard but Manhattan GMAT will make sure that work does not go to waste.
Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Apr 10, 2007
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan GMAT is Essential to Acheiving a High Score

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Eric Caballero
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

My GMAT score went from a 570 to a 760, doing nothing except Manhattan GMAT. I ended up going to HBS, and am quite confident I would not have gotten in without this significant bump in my score.

The materials were good enough, but nothing special. Really the only materials you need are the questions, and Manhattan gives you lots of those. But that's not the secret sauce...

The secret is in the instructor and classroom. Eric Caballero take a boring subject, and keeps it alive -- and the techniques Manhattan teaches you are what makes the score go up. You're not learning material like you would from self-study, you're learning efficiency and patterns. Without the deep knowledge of the test that Manhattan has built up, it would be impossible to learn this on your own.

I think the GMAT is a so-so predictor of performance in the MBA classroom. However, it's something MBA programs use to measure you. So you need to do well, and taking Manhattan GMAT gives you an unfair advantage over everyone else.





Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 15, 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Rapid Improvement in Just Two Months!

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Eric Caballero
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 730

Manhattan GMAT provided me everything it advertised: relevant knowledge, time-saving strategies, and most importantly, immediate and dramatic results!

From the first session, my instructor quickly gauged the knowledge-level of different members in the class and tailored his teaching style appropriately. I was extremely impressed by how even from Day 1 I was learning advanced strategies that were quickly becoming second nature for me.

In addition to my charismatic instructor's ability to make challenging (and occasionally dull) topics come to life, the course materials and books were instrumental in breaking down difficult topics into easy-to-understand concepts. Manhattan GMAT also provides students with a sophisticated GMAT tracker, which provides automated, real-time, customized strengths and areas of development for each student. This tracker was key in helping me know where to focus my attention, particularly after completing the course.

Finally, I was pleasantly surprised and pleased with how invested the company any my instructor were in my success. Not only was Manhattan GMAT willing to extend my access to practice exams numerous times, but my instructor also took the time to write detailed, personalized feedback for each student in the course following completion of our classes. This allowed each of us to have a individualized game plan in place on how to finalize our preparation for the exam.

In a few short months, my GMAT scored jumped roughly 100 points, and I ultimately finished with a score of 720. Many thanks to the great folks at Manhattan GMAT!
Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 28, 2007
Verified Real Student Review

Absolutely Awesome Class

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Eric Caballero
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

This class was great! Although studying for and taking the GMAT made for a pretty brutal several months, this class was a huge help, and our Sunday meetings were actually fun...at least as fun as this subject can be. The teacher, Eric, made the class enjoyable and enriching. I give nearly full credit to them for my ability to get a 730 on the test.
Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 3, 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Instructors and Study Materials

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Eric Caballero
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I was extremely please with my Manhattan GMAT experience- beginning to end. The customer service folks are excellent, and the classes are clearly top-of-the line. I took a 9-week course last August and was really impressed by the way in which our instructor (Eric Caballero) engaged the class during each session- he somehow managed to make the 3-hour sessions really fun and rewarding. He also knew each of the students by name, and gave really solid advice about applying to schools during breaks and after each class.

The Manhattan GMAT materials are also excellent. I was particular impressed with the quality of the workbooks. Each book is extremely helpful for all levels of GMAT takers- with great challenge questions in the back. Also, if you have any questions on the materials between classes, it's really easy to get in touch with either your instructor or someone else at Manhattan GMAT to give you some help.

Overall, I was extremely impressed by Manhattan GMAT!
Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 1, 2010

ManhattanGMAT's course is a must if you're prepping for the GMAT.

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Eric Caballero
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The ManhattanGMAT course was incredible in every aspect. From the beginning to the end of the course, my scores improved by over 100 points. The improvement was consistent and tied to what we had covered in class during the previous weeks. The tests that come with the course are amazingly accurate and help you identify weaknesses.

I've heard presentations from quite a few GMAT instructors, and Eric Caballero was by far the best teacher. He set a perfect pace, explained everything in detail, and taught me quite a few tricks that I used on the actual GMAT to solve problems I never would have gotten otherwise.

Overall, five stars - would highly recommend it!

Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 18, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great instructor, phenomenal strategy guides made all the difference.

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Marcus
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I completed the Manhattan GMAT course about 8 weeks prior to taking the actual test, which was a really good idea. Working full-time in finance while taking the class was tough, but spending time to familiarize myself with the type of material through the individual classes was a big help in allowing me to get to a decent level of competency. From there, I built on my notes and studied the strategy guides (which were awesome; see below) for hours on end to get up the learning curve.

While everyone learns differently, I felt like this was the right way for me as the individual classes didn't quite give you enough to truly master the material. Even with the six days of prep time in between, working a busy job didn't really allow me to get a firm grip on some of the broader topics, like number properties, which appear frequently on the test.

That being said, Marcus (the instructor) was really great in showing several different ways to get to the end result. I sat in on other classes a few times and found that Marcus's methods were more in line with my own way of thinking, and quite frankly his teaching style made the 3 hour classes much easier to sit through.

Admittedly, my strategy relied heavily on the strategy guides--ordinarily, I wouldn't have been that comfortable with this, but the guides were so good that it made the work a bit easier. The level of detail contained in the books was perfect, and the breakdown between the "normal" level of material and the "advanced" material was super helpful. This way, I didn't get frustrated by problems that I couldn't solve with a basic understanding of the material, and could master the basics that allowed for the more creative thinking required to solve many of the advanced problems.

The online CAT exams were also extremely helpful, as I found them significantly more difficult than the practice tests available on MBA.com. This helped to prepare me for the real test. In the end, I took 8 practice tests--with scores starting at 550 (taken before the course) and ending with 730 (last practice test, taken two days before the actual test). On the real test, I came out at a 710, which was above my stated goal of 700. I'd say 160 points of improvement was well worth it.

In the end, I would definitely recommend MGMAT to anyone preparing to take the test. Allow for a couple of months, use the strategy guides, and take A LOT of practice tests.

Dan
Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 1, 2010

Excellent teacher and very good course material

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Eric Caballero
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The course material at Manhattan GMAT is very good, typically when you are taking the GMAT you are out of touch with high school maths and also verbal, the course material is structures keeping that in mind, they start with the basics, there are good tools designed to handle different kind of problems. Also I liked my teacher here, Eric, he was full of energy, very smart and you could make out he was not there just to get his job done and leave, but he was there to make the students succeed. I am guessing most instructors there are like Eric because I read and also heard about their very rigorous instructor recruitment process. I would highly recommend Manhattan GMAT to anyone looking to excel in the GMAT.
Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 20, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent course for anyone looking to improve their score

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: angela guido
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I liked the course because it covered all the bases and if you put in the work you have everything you need to succeed. After the course its all up to you.

I like the class because of the practice problems and discussions. I'm a big fan of face to face vs. online so for me it was well worth the money.

Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: May 17, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Good For Self-Study

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The main reason I went with Manhattan GMAT initially was on a recommendation from someone who took the course. As someone who did not have time to take the course and is generally bored in classroom settings I felt like the self-study curriculum was the way to go.

For a very reasonable price you get 9 guides that cover the range of question types (both verbal and quantative) covered on the exam. Each of the 9 guides give you in depth strategies to tackle each question type. They are organized simply and provide a set of questions at the end of each "lesson" which test what you just learned.

Along with the 9 study guides come the 3 offical guides from GMAC (The "Official Guide", "Verbal Review" and "Quantative Revew". These have a ton of sample questions in them which is nice. What is really cool about Manhattan is that they also provide another book that explains all of the quantative answers in "The Official Guide" in a simple fashion. This is good because is seems as if the quantative answer explanations in the Official Guide are unclear in a lot of instances.

Overall I am happy with the purchase and will recommend Manhattan to anyone who asks about a test prep program. I have also heard many good things about their in-class courses from a couple of friends.
Joined: Aug 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 10, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

It was very productive

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Chris Brusznicki
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 430 After: 560

I really like the style and systematic approach of teaching, The best thing about this class is the timetable that they give out and if you follow the timetable, you would be able to cover all the topic.

Would certainly recommend as they have excellent gmat materials and have classes on various timing which is flexible for people to attend.
Joined: Apr 28, 2010
Purchased Course: May 7, 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend

August 5, 2010
  • Teacher: Chris Brusznicki
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I just completed the Manhattan 9-week course and couldn't imagine taking the GMAT without it. Chris was an outstanding instructor that has a passion for bringing his students to the next level. The small class size allows a personal atmosphere and the study material and program is second to none.

I've read some other prep reviews and talked with some people about them. While other classes might teach you the tricks of the GMAT, Manhattan takes the time to actually learn the material starting from a beginners level and building upon it throughout the course.

The class is not easy though, it requires, just like everything good in life, a lot of time and dedication.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 17 18 19 20 21