Best Promo Code 2021 & Verified Reviews!

Stacy Blackman Consulting is a leading MBA admissions advisory with a proven track record of acceptances to the world’s top MBA programs. Year after year, our clients’ acceptance letters and scholarship awards speak for themselves. SBC is the preferred admissions consulting firm recommended by The Economist and has been awarded the Spectrum award for excellence in customer service.

Joined: Feb 27, 2021
Purchased Course: Nov 22, 2020
College: Siliguri Institute of Technology
Major: Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

The best decision for the MBA application journey

February 27, 2021
  • Teacher: Christine
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I was on the higher side of experience from the average experience of full-time MBA course and was also rejected from two of the b-schools. It was then that I was searching for guidance and to understand what is going wrong in my application. I found SBC and had my first call with Christine. It was eye opening. She not only guided me in focusing on the right schools but also helped me to come out with my best version. I instantly connected with her like a friend, very comfortable in sharing my fears, my doubts and she was always there to support. We went through multiple versions of my essays, refining and fine tuning them till both of us were satisfied. She made sure I write and re-write all my essays and CV, asked very intriguing and thoughtful questions which helped me to realize that from my own experience there is so much I can contribute and bring to the table. She also arranged a mock interview before my two rounds of interviews at HEC. At the end, it was all worth the effort and hard work when I got admitted to HEC. I was ecstatic and I knew Christine too was waiting with bated breath and she was constantly encouraging me with her positivity. I cannot thank Christine enough for all the inputs, support, guidance and encouragement that she has given. Thank you once again.

Joined: Feb 18, 2021
Purchased Course: Aug 10, 2020
Verified Real Student Review

Wonderful experience!

February 18, 2021
  • Teacher: Stephanie Cohn
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Working with Stephanie has been enlightening and seamless. After rejection in the 2020 admissions cycle, I knew I had to reassess my application. A friend recommended working with an admissions consultant and after thorough research, I chose to work with SBC. My first interaction with Stephanie consisted of honest and valuable feedback. I was facing an uphill battle; an untraditional background and blemishes in my undergrad studies. I shared my story and through her guidance, I developed a cohesive narrative and a linear strategy. From there she made school recommendations, resume edits, and numerous essay reviews. Throughout the process I also found myself reaching out to her frequently to touch base or ask minor questions. As the first person in my family to pursue an MBA, I lacked the “insider” info or the support from someone who has been in the trenches. Stephanie served as my go-to, she contextualized everything and provided me with the lens of the adcom. My work with Stephanie transformed my candidacy and restored my confidence in the application process. The pride she takes in her work, attention to detail, and responsiveness are unmatched. With Stephanie’s help, I received interview invitations from every school, with early admission into one and pending decisions from others. Not only is Stephanie’s craft and knowledge exceptional, but her support and kindness make her an ideal consultant. I would fully endorse Stephanie and the SBC group to any prospective MBA candidate!

Joined: Oct 26, 2020
Purchased Course: May 19, 2020
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing experience

October 26, 2020
  • Teacher: Joey
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

My journey towards an MBA is long and winding (ca. 3 years), but working with Joey at SBC finally resulted in my acceptance to my first choice program (M7).   As an older international applicant with a non-traditional background, I was nervous about the experience at first. One should not underestimate the amount of work that goes into this process. I worked with Joey at SBC on two occasions - once on an hourly basis, once as part of the “All-in” service. If in doubt, definitely go for the latter.   My first attempt resulted in a ding - lesson learned is that one cannot complete three sets of apps in a few weeks, although Joey’s help was immense every step of the way. Despite the odds, we arrived at a quality final deliverable. Although a major setback, Joey took the time to go through a post-mortem and we devised a new strategy.   I signed up for the “all-in” service, which meant that we could spend a lot more time going over the application materials and strategy. It’s hard work for everyone involved, but in particular, for Joey. He was also immensely helpful in helping me prepare for my Zoom interview. An incredibly useful tool that SBC offers is the “flight test” of the application, which helps to uncover any last-minute mistakes (yes, I had a typo on my resume). A few weeks ago, I received my acceptance letter from my first choice school.   What did I learn from all of this?  1. Get a consultant. Especially get a consultant if your background is non-traditional.  2. Take the time to get to know the person you are working with. Joey was an absolute delight - he knows his stuff, challenges bs where he sees it, and having worked with him over the course of a year, he was the #1 champion for my candidacy. This is important!  3. SBC knows what they are doing. I spent some time looking at different firms but landed on SBC quite early on. They are responsive, they do not take you on as a client if they don’t think you have a chance. No false promises - it’s a thoroughly professional approach throughout.  4. MBA admissions is a difficult game with both incredible lows and highs. With that being said, I am convinced that I could not have done this without the guidance of Joey (my consultant), Esther (our matchmaker), and the rest of the SBC team. I am so grateful for all their help!

Joined: Aug 4, 2020
Purchased Course: Mar 10, 2020
Verified Real Student Review

Successful Deferred Admissions Applicant

August 4, 2020
  • Teacher: Erin Barry
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I cannot speak highly enough of Erin and the Stacy Blackman team. I applied to two MBA deferred enrollment programs, and I was accepted to both thanks to detailed insight from Erin. I am a candidate with a sub 700 GMAT score, and I sincerely believed my score would hold me back from admission at top schools. Erin helped me perfectly craft my narrative and show my quantitative skillsets in other areas of the application than the test score. Erin helped me hurdle this challenge with great insight into my essays, helping me creatively articulate my interests and skillsets to the admissions teams. Erin is honest, insightful, and always available. I cannot thank her enough and sincerely recommend her as a consultant. I am so excited to be attending my top choice school in a few short years!

Joined: Aug 4, 2020
Purchased Course: May 22, 2020
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend

August 4, 2020
  • Teacher: Colette Armes
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I had the opportunity to work with Colette for my MBA application. She was extremely helpful throughout the process. She coached me on my resume format and content and helped me think through the essay questions. She asked direct and thoughtful questions to guide me in telling my story in an efficient and captivating way. She was patient and provided great feedback in a timely manner. I feel very grateful for the opportunity work with Colette as she got me to a point at which I was proud to submit my application. She was an extremely valuable resource and I felt as if she was genuinely committed to my success. I would highly recommend working with Colette and the Stacy Blackman Consulting Team.

Joined: Jul 28, 2020
Purchased Course: Feb 18, 2020
Industry: Consulting
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

A great consultancy service which know's exactly what it takes!

July 28, 2020
  • Teacher: Mark O'Brien
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Applying for the Weekend MBA at Imperial College London was not as strenuous in comparison to the admissions process for Ivy League B Schools, however I needed an MBA consultant who would be able to assist me in highlighting my story to the ad coms in the best way possible.  After researching a few companies, I came across Stacy Blackman and I made an initial contact with Bill who specialises in Part time MBA consulting. After a brief chat and a profile review, he reassured me that my choice of school with my work experience was a doable project. He also provided me with a choice of working with Mark who is a UK based consultant and had experience of being in ad-coms of the top b schools here. I decided that as a UK student applying to a UK programme it would make sense to work with a consultant here.   I had an initial chat with Mark who resonated Bill's views and advised me that my profile is definitely a good fit for Imperial. As I was only applying to 1 school, he recommended that I chose the Hourly service option and a few hours should be enough for me. . Due to his experience Mark greatly assisted me with the aspects of the application such as career planning questions, resume and personal statement to best highlight my story and my motivations for studying the MBA. His responses and comments were generally very quick and he was also open to additional questions. Mark also carried out mock interviews with me to give a realistic feel of how MBA interviews are which immensely prepared me for my interview at Imperial.  All in all Mark was a great consultant in my application process and Stacey Blackman Consulting has been a pleasure to work with!

Joined: May 21, 2020
Verified Real Student Review

Joyce is AMAZING!!!

May 22, 2020
  • Teacher: Joyce
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I was coming from an untraditional background and was doubtful that I could even get an interview at my top choices.   Joyce helped me frame my experiences and application in a way that truly made me stand out, and showed my value to top MBA programs. She was so caring, yet honest about my weaknesses as an applicant, and helped me either turn them into strengths, or improve on them to create a powerful, unique application.  She was an amazing resource with my resume review, helping me break down a complex job/industry for Admissions Officers. She helped me see how each part of my application would be perceived by an Admissions Officer, which was critical in framing my application, asking for recommendations, and even prepping for interviews.  She was a God sent when it came to my story, showing me how to frame a cohesive story that was concise, yet fully showed every aspect of who I was and who I wanted to be. I came into our first call thinking that my essay was nearly done. She was honest, stating that other applicants may have the same essay. Over the course of our work together, she took a story that wasn’t very unique, and helped me turn it into a powerful one that showed how unique of an applicant I was, and how my experiences shaped me. She cared so much about my story that she would often email me with additional ideas outside of our calls!  She was very attentive to the different schools that I was applying to, and truly helped me create the best application tailored to each of my top choices.  I ended up getting into Wharton, GSB and HBS, and I could not have done it without the help of Joyce!  When it came to making a decision on my schools, she was an AMAZING sounding board and really helped me solidify my choice. JOYCE IS AMAZING!

Joined: Mar 26, 2020
Purchased Course: Oct 10, 2019
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Go with Yvette!

March 26, 2020
  • Teacher: Yvette
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I was first introduced to SBC from a friend of mine who used SBC's service as well to get into my dream program - Wharton Lauder. She spoke very highly of the company, and after having a few calls with two other companies, I decided to go with SBC. I come from a very typical applicant pool that is nearly impossible to stand out unless there's a stellar GMAT score, which I did not have. When other companies were busy persuading me to lower my goals to mediocre schools, SBC's Sarah Tsai and Yvette Romero were the ONLY people who were honest YET believed in me and my potential.  After the intro call with Sarah, I was quickly paired up with Yvette, who I must say was a match made in heaven. Yvette and I shared somewhat very similar background and that helped us to come up with possibly the best story I could narrate. Yvette was very quickly able to to pin-point my strengths and weaknesses (which is really amazing). Even when I couldn't quite put what I wanted to say in a sentence, she was able to catch the idea into a succinct sentence (I call it Yvette's magical moments). She was also never shy about giving the right feedback and applying that "tough love" to make sure I stay on track and focused. This, I must say, is the quality that you need from your consultant. You NEED someone who's brutally honest and will tell you the truth to help you get there - Yvette was the one for me.  After numerous drafts (probably 7 or 8?) per essay, I was able to submit my applications to two schools and a half(?). While I was dinged from one of the schools I worked on (but it's the most competitive school out there, so I knew it was a long shot), I was invited to interview with both Wharton and Lauder. As I purchased the all-in package, Yvette and SBC's mock TBD helped me prep for my interviews, as well. These were very helpful because thanks to Yvette and SBC's mock TBD, I knew exactly what was expected from my Wharton interviews.  Today, I heard back that I am admitted to both Wharton and Lauder with a bit of scholarships ($). Given the competitiveness of the program (

Joined: Mar 21, 2020
Purchased Course: Jun 11, 2019
College: Harvard College
Major: Economics
Industry: Entertainment/Leisure
Country: Singapore
Verified Real Student Review

Yvette was tremendous!

March 22, 2020
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I reached out to Yvette after a recommendation from a colleague who got admitted to both HBS and GSB. I worked with Yvette on an All-In Package for the same two schools, and had a great experience. From the very first conversation, Yvette helped to apply rigor and structure to my application and career goals, while still keeping my story authentic to who I am. Yvette applied "tough love" well, motivating me to come up with well-reasoned, "no-BS" answers for everything. By the time I submitted my application, I had done significant introspection, which paid off tremendously down the line as I was preparing for interviews. At the same time, Yvette was kind and understanding, always happy to hop on a call to help me calm my nerves, such as when I was unsure as to who should write my recommendations, despite a large time difference (I was based in Asia). Ultimately, I was admitted first round to both HBS and GSB, and thank Yvette tremendously for the help!

Joined: Dec 23, 2019
Purchased Course: Aug 23, 2019
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Yvette Romero is amazing!

December 23, 2019
  • Teacher: Yvette Romero
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I worked with Yvette from the beginning on my applications. She made me feel comfortable with my own story, she guided me to write better essays while being honest with myself. But she also went above and beyond. She advised me on which schools could be a better fit given my personality.

Applying to business schools is no easy task. Yvette helped me organize my applications from the beginning. She made my life easier during this stressful process. Her feedback was on point, and very honest. My narrative was compelling, but not clearly articulated. She helped me improve the way I presented my story. This feedback was customized for each school I was applying. And she has an amazing knowledge on what top schools wants.

We also worked together on my interview preparations. Which is not my strength. She knew right away I was doing things common for non native speakers. And we worked together on improving the structure of my answers based on this. I was able to get into 2 schools 1 full ride, 1 scholarship. And I am also currently waitlisted in other 2 top schools.
Joined: Sep 10, 2019
Purchased Course: Feb 8, 2019
College: Barnard College
Major: Economics
Industry: Retail/Wholesale and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I could not have done this without Christina!!

September 10, 2019
  • Teacher: Christina
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I cannot say enough about Christina and SBC! She was my biggest advocate throughout the whole application process and believed in me from the start, making me feel confident in my ability to succeed in school.

Professional Aspects
--Before the all in package: I spoke with another consultant, Esther, about my candidacy and to determine who the best consultant to work with would be. Esther was extremely responsive and knowledgeable about the elements of a strong application. She immediately matched me with Christina (it was a perfect match in my opinion!).
--Christina: She has had lots of professional experience in retail and understood the challenges that I faced coming from that industry, which is a less common pre-MBA career. She also completed her MBA at Harvard and understood the rigor of applying to and attending a top program.
--Creating a ?brand? and application strategy: Christina quickly helped create a targeted application approach and helped me focus in on the programs that most aligned with my interests and personality. She was so helpful in getting an understanding of the MBA landscape. She also helped create an application that played to my strengths and offset my weaknesses in order to stand out among thousands of competitive applicants.
--Writing essays: Christina?s writing skills are top notch. In fact, I?m pretty sure my grammar and creative writing skills have improved after working with her. She helped me articulate my thoughts, create an outline, and polish my essays so they jumped off the page and reflected my personality.
--Interview prep: We prepped for one interview together and Christina was prepared with a list of questions that school had asked in recent years. After a mock interview, she gave thorough feedback for each question and helped make sure I was as polished and confident as possible going into the interview. She even went the extra mile and sent good luck messages leading up to the interview day!

Personal Aspects
--Christina truly cares about her clients and it shows. She and I frequently spent long hours on the phone weighing the pros and cons of various schools, discussing post-MBA career paths, editing essays, and prepping for interviews. She quickly became one of the first people I talked to about professional developments because of her positive and constructive feedback. She has been a huge force behind my personal and professional development through the application process - both supporting me and giving helpful feedback.
--Christina is full of positive encouragement, but she will also push you because she wants you to have the strongest application possible. I had a long list of things to do leading up to application submission. While I was stressed at times, Christina was always extremely encouraging and built my confidence.
--When choosing a consultant, I recommend thinking carefully about what it is that you are seeking help with. I was looking for someone to help guide me through the whole process, so I decided to go with SBC?s ?All In? package. I also wanted someone who understood my industry and the challenges that came with coming from a less common pre-MBA career. Finally, I wanted someone who I would get along well with and would help me grow throughout the application process. Christina was the perfect match in every single way. Our phone calls often went well beyond the application itself, and into areas of personal development. Christina goes above and beyond her responsibilities, and that is largely because she genuinely cares about her clients. She is exactly the kind of person you want in your corner throughout the application process!!
Joined: May 11, 2019
Purchased Course: Jul 9, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Sophisticated Mentors and Expert Service

May 11, 2019
  • Teacher: Joseph Siesholtz
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Approaching the MBA Admissions process, I had an idea that the applications were rigorous and comprehensive, but I truly had no sense of the level of detail and management necessary to prepare the completed applications for each school. I was pivoting from a career as an independent film director and knew that proving my business and analytical ability would require additional support and guidance. In a quick google search, I found Stacy Blackman Consulting and after reading the reviews felt confident that they would be professional, thorough, and a great resource.

I was immediately paired with Joseph Siesholtz who shared an entertainment background. I cannot speak highly enough about Joey. He was an incredible mentor, highly supportive, and completely transparent. He helped me from the beginning of the process through the end. Definitely request him if you decide to go with their services.
- He emphasized the importance for me to prove my analytical skills through a high GMAT score, which I was able to accomplish with a 710.
- My inclination was to structure my essays so they conformed to more formal business writing. I wasn?t sure what was appropriate to share in the context of graduate admissions. However, Joey coerced me to be authentic and share a genuine personal story, which allowed for much more persuasive and honest storytelling.
- Joey was able to help me define my goals in more MBA-terms and develop concrete lists of roles and skills that I?d like to pursue out of b-school.
- He helped with interview preparation, making sure I presented an appropriate tone and clearly expressed my intentions.

Working with Stacy Blackman and specifically Joey was transformative in priming my mindset for b-school. Having sophisticated mentors guide you through the MBA process, especially if you come from an alternative background, is highly valuable. I received a full-scholarship to USC Marshall, a partial scholarship and admission into NYU for a dual-degree program (MBA from Stern and Master of Fine Arts in film from Tisch). Truly the best experience.
Joined: May 5, 2019
Purchased Course: Sep 24, 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Phenomenal Experience

May 5, 2019
  • Teacher: Christina
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

When I first thought about applying to business school, I didn't think about using a consultant because I didn't realize how valuable they were (particularly given the cost). Now that I'm done with the entire process, I can confidently say that choosing SBC has been absolutely worth it. I could probably write a novel, but I'll try to keep it short and sweet.

I was paired with Christina, who is genuinely one of the most thoughtful, articulate, and hard-working people I have ever worked with. She went above and beyond to make sure that I put forth the best application by working with me on every aspect of my candidacy from pushing me to reach out to current MBA students to bolstering weaknesses on my resume to gathering insights from her friends regarding roles in different industries that interested me! For example, I intend to completely change both my industry and function post MBA, which is extremely risky, but Christina was able to lay out what the flaws would be in my candidacy from adcomm's perspective and how I could improve upon those flaws. She suggested that I find relevant consulting/outside-of-work experience in the industry I wanted to pursue, which ended up being an important part of my story. Without her deep insight into the application process and multiple pointers along the way, I probably would not have even received an interview. She was instrumental throughout the entire process, helping me choose the schools I wanted to apply to, giving essay tips, preparing for interviews, and even post-acceptance, providing helpful pointers before the school year starts.

I ended up applying to 3 schools - Wharton, Booth, and Columbia. I was accepted into all three and also received a scholarship from Booth. Christina is not only a terrific consultant but also an incredible mentor. I could not have asked for a better experience.
Joined: Nov 19, 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 10, 2018
College: University of Chicago
Major: Art
Industry: Arts/Culture
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Could not have done it without Stacy Blackman Consulting!

April 25, 2019
  • Teacher: Erin Barry
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

As a non-traditional applicant from a creative industry, I was nervous about applying to business school. From the beginning, Erin reassured me that my top choice school was a real possibility if we crafted my profile to play up my unique strengths and strategically address any weaknesses in my application.

Given that Erin previously worked in admissions at my top choice school, she was able to provide me with specialized insight with my essays, resume and application as a whole.

Erin was always available over email or phone and reviewed any materials I submitted to her within the day, while I'm sure balancing many other applications. Furthermore, our discussions regarding interview prep gave me ample talking points and eased my nerves.

I could not have gotten into my top choice school without Erin and SBC!
Joined: Apr 11, 2019
Purchased Course: Nov 18, 2018
College: Haverford College
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you SBC and Beth!!

April 11, 2019
  • Teacher: Beth Tidmarsh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I am 100% positive I would not have received the admits I did without Beth from Stacy Blackman Consulting. While I was worried about spending money on a consultant, it was 100% worth it in the grand scheme of things. I worked with Beth on Kellogg and Yale, and I was admitted to both. I was also able to transfer what we worked on to my Stern application (goals, resume, job descriptions, etc.) and was also admitted there with a scholarship.

I looked at five other larger and boutique consulting firms. I felt like many other consultants didn?t care much about who I was as a person/what drives me. Some encouraged me to craft a story they thought the admissions committee would want to hear (for example, one consultant told me to craft my goals around ed-tech because it is hot right now). Others said to me that the schools I was interested in were out of reach, and encouraged me to only apply to second and third-tier schools. It almost felt like other consultancies would make you doubt yourself to get you to buy their services.

SBC was the polar opposite. My first call was with Sarah Tsai, who listened carefully to my needs and matched me with Beth. Beth is a former admissions officer and has an acute knowledge of the way the process works. She was direct, highly intelligent, honest, communicative, nonjudgmental, and just overall lovely to work with. She broke down the application process into manageable chunks and helped keep me on track.

Beth took lots of time to consider who I was as a person and what drives me to help me in creating an authentic, but persuasive, application. SBC was very honest with me about my strengths and weaknesses, and carefully considered how we would leverage strengths and make admissions committees feel better about my shortcomings (quant background).

It was incredibly helpful to work with a firm that has so much admissions knowledge amongst its employees. Lisa (a former admissions officer) did a ?flight-test? of my application, and then I worked to revise it with feedback. I also did a mock-interview and got feedback before my real interviews. Finally, the SBC Wiki page is beneficial. I was able to read previous admits? essays and look at banks of interview questions that other students received to help myself prepare.

I went through 12 versions of my resume and over ten versions of my essays with Beth. SBC focuses on every little detail, down to each 100-character response on the apps.

THANK YOU SBC!!!!
Joined: Mar 22, 2019
Purchased Course: May 18, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Would Give Yvette 6 Stars if I Could!

March 22, 2019
  • Teacher: Yvette
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

When I decided to apply to business schools I was very skeptical about investing in a consultant, but working with Yvette was 110% worth it. Before meeting Yvette I had screened a few consultants from various companies and felt they either tried to sugar-coat things or were skewed toward traditional backgrounds. Yvette was exceptional at striking a balance between being an upbeat cheerleader and a no-BS coach. For example, I was very hesitant to re-take my standardized tests because I felt defeated and believed I was just a terrible test-taker; however, Yvette helped me make an informed decision about the upside of giving it another shot and shared useful test-taking strategies. With more motivation and courage than I would have had on my own, I retook the test and ended up boosting my score substantially. Yvette also identified with my non-traditional background and helped me spin that as a positive attribute throughout my application. Moreover, the level of attention I was given far exceeded my expectations. Yvette was very generous with her time ? both in our verbal discussions and in the effort she poured into every round of edits. Her thoughtful advice and constant encouragement took my application to the next level and I was ultimately admitted to my top school, HBS (which is also Yvette?s alma mater). Yvette made every step of the rigorous process feel manageable and I cannot say enough positive things about her!
Joined: Feb 18, 2019
Purchased Course: Sep 5, 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommended! Christine H. & Stacy Blackman Consulting

February 18, 2019
  • Teacher: Christine
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I am extremely satisfied with the services offered by SBC and namely, my consultant Christine Hawkins, who did an amazing job helping me craft my story.

I had devoted a considerable amount of time preparing for the GMAT and researching schools, however due to some personal issues, I found myself with very little time (less than a month) to work on the applications of two highly selective schools. After doing a thorough research, I decided to approach SBC for support and I quickly realized that I had made the right decision.

Christine promptly managed to get to know my strengths/weaknesses and my story as a whole. Together, we laid out a strategy (which included guidance on the resume, essays, interviews and other crucial factors) that eventually led to two well-rounded applications that perfectly demonstrated my appeal as an MBA prospect to the adcom. Throughout the application process, Christine was very responsive and approachable, providing constructive feedback on various aspects of my application that helped me refine and systematize my seemingly "rugged" story.

In the end, I got admitted to both of the schools I applied to, with about a 80% scholarship from my top choice. I could not have been happier with Christine and SBC and I highly recommend their services to anyone considering a top MBA!
Joined: Feb 16, 2019
Purchased Course: May 26, 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Totally Worth It -- Thank You Keauna!

February 17, 2019
  • Teacher: Keauna
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I worked with Keauna and applied to 8 schools. Although I only worked with her on applications for two schools (it is expensive) I used all of her help/suggestions on the remaining 6 schools so my success in these schools is definitely a result of our work together.

I had an initial free call with Lisa, who paired me with Keauna who does a lot of work with nontraditional applicants. If you are one, I highly suggest working with her! Even in the short consulting call I felt like SBC had a wealth of knowledge and experience and that their services would be money well spent. I chose SBC because they were very straightforward and to the point -- I didn't feel like they were sugar coating anything in order to get me to sign up for their services.

Coming from a nontraditional background, Keauna helped me figure out a cohesive way to tell the story of my career path thus far and why I wanted to get an MBA. Once I got interview offers she also helped me prepare for the interviews. Our mock interview made me feel much more prepared and comfortable going into the real thing.

I was accepted to 5 schools and declined to interview at a 6th. I received two full scholarships, both at top 10 schools. I also received a 50% scholarship at another top 10 school and a 75% scholarship at a top 15 school.

Keanua was always available throughout the process for both the big things like reviewing essays but also smaller, random questions I had along the way. She was also there to talk through which school I ultimately chose to attend. I really felt like Keanua cared about me as a person throughout the process and was genuinely happy for me and my acceptances. Thanks to her I will be attending a top 10 MBA program with a full scholarship in the fall!
Joined: Jan 17, 2019
Purchased Course: May 15, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Christina is the best!

February 4, 2019
  • Teacher: Christina
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

After having calls with most of the major consulting firms, I decided to work with Christina from SBC. Most of the other consultants I had met always told me how I was going to get into every top school right from the beginning without having an understanding of my profile. Christina was the only one to immediately point out specific key strengths as well as potential weaknesses and ideas to address them, as well as being realistic about my opportunities. This was exactly what I was looking for.
Working with Christina proved to be a pleasure from the start. Two words that come to mind when thinking about her are ORGANIZATION and DETAILS. Her approach is very structured, comprehensive and well thought-out, and her ability to focus on even the smallest details, strong points, and potential flaws is overwhelming (in a good way of course!). If there is ANY possibility any part of your application might have a positive or negative effect on your assessment she WILL find it, point it out and work with you to highlight or address it. Relentlessly.
On top of this, Christina has an especial ability to retain every single piece of information you provide and bring it up and find ways to use it (even after a very long time). She really tries to get to know you as best as possible and might even bring up a story or a small detail you told her months ago and hadn?t even thought of yourself to help you prove an important point in your essays or interviews! She really takes your application more seriously than you do...
Her understanding of all schools is mind-blowing (although she went to HBS I honestly think she has attended every MBA program), and she will use this knowledge to point out those parts of you that best fit each school and will explain how and why they are a good fit, providing really valuable advice. This is very helpful to understand what schools you should target too.
Personally (having even met her in person) she is an extremely nice and respectful person, and everything about her is completely genuine. She really cares for you and will do everything she can to maximize your opportunities. If you want to truly give your MBA applications your best shot, she is the only option!
I got accepted into my top 2 schools: HBS and Wharton/Lauder. I cannot recommend her services enough, I would give her 6 out of 5 stars!
Joined: Jan 24, 2019
Purchased Course: Jun 30, 2018
College: Duke University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Phenomenal experience!!

January 24, 2019
  • Teacher: Beth Tidmarsh
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Beth provided a necessary steadiness throughout this entire process. She kept me on track and organized, so that I could focus on strengthening my portrayal of my candidacy. Her insightful guidance throughout this entire process made her an integral part of my support system and I truly could not have done it without her! Her time, patience, understanding, and extreme organization helped relieve much of the anxiety and stress that often comes up when pursuing a journey like getting an MBA!

Beth armed me with a strong basis of knowledge, confidence, and a realistic understanding of how to navigate this tricky process. I am beyond grateful for her thoughtfulness and the genuine care she put into supporting me and my candidacy. Her constant check-ins and words of support helped propel me successfully through this process. Thank you, Beth!
Page:1 2 3 4 5