Best Promo Code 2022 & Verified Reviews!

Stacy Blackman Consulting is a leading MBA admissions advisory with a proven track record of acceptances to the world’s top MBA programs. Year after year, our clients’ acceptance letters and scholarship awards speak for themselves. SBC is the preferred admissions consulting firm recommended by The Economist and has been awarded the Spectrum award for excellence in customer service.

Joined: Mar 9, 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 12, 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic experience with Caryn & Esther

February 5, 2018
  • Teacher: Caryn & Esther
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

After having initial conversations with 4 other admissions consulting firms, I ultimately decided to go with Stacey Blackman. This choice was driven by a great first conversation with Esther (the initial point of contact who coordinated multiple SBC services throughout the process), fantastic reviews/referrals/results from friends of mine (all got into their top choice schools) who had used SBC, and great fit/reputation of Caryn Altman (ultimately the consultant I chose to work with throughout the process).

The level of engagement throughout the application process was spectacular, and the breadth of experience that both Caryn as well as the broader SBC organization provided me was second-to-none. Even though I was applying to a pretty large number of schools in a single round, and knew Caryn's particular involvement/experience with Kellogg, I was given great, specific advice on how to approach and execute stellar applications to each individual school I w as applying to (including Kellogg).The specific tips I received from Caryn were spectacular and not only instilled a great sense of confidence in me prior to submission/interviews, but undoubtedly impacted the quality of each of my applications.

Things I found to be particularly helpful: 1) Caryn kept me on track throughout the process. I was a little late to the game, and decided to try and fit 5 schools (all M7) into R1. Caryn ensured that we were both on top of our deadlines, and never throughout the process did I need to question whether I'd miss any deadlines or have anything but the highest quality application. 2) I had a below average undergrad-GPA at all the schools I was applying to. After reviewing my transcript in detail with Caryn, we were able to come up with a concise, honest, authentic, and compelling strategy to address this in my additional essays. Honestly, I think this was one of the strongest pieces in my application, and I definitely would not have k nown how to approach this without Caryn's advice and support. 3) The interview assistance (both for one-on-one as well as group interview) was fantastic. I felt not only much more prepared compared to other candidates (the questions asked during the mock interviews were extremely close to those in the actual interview), but much more confident going in.

I am thrilled with the results, and ultimately got into multiple top business schools, including my top choice school!
Joined: Feb 4, 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 1, 2017
College: Emory University
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The Value of Working with an MBA Consultant

February 4, 2018
  • Teacher: CP Tseng
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I worked with CP Tseng at Stacy Blackman Consulting ("SBC") on 3 schools (Booth, Wharton, and Columbia all via R1) and got interview invite from all of them. I was admitted to Booth with scholarship.

CP was very thorough in her review and her advice was very on point and made a huge difference in the way I portrayed myself in my essays. I had preliminary writings in the summer that I thought would make great application essays. Looking back, I couldn't be happier that I took the advice from CP vs. using those writings as they didn't hit any of the key points the AdCom would be looking for in an essay. Yes, there are universal things that you have to address as an applicant. Just like you need to speak a certain language to communicate with someone. You have to speak the "language" that the admin people understand.

For those of you who question the value of hiring a consultant for your applications, reach out to SBC and schedule a free chat with one of their consultants. You will be surprised at how much work you need to put into an application and how much time you could save yourself by working with a SBC consultant. As a banking analyst spending 15+ hours/day in the office, I found CP's help extremely valuable. The biggest nightmare for me would be not knowing what to work on or working on things that are not important. CP's comments were always clear, timely and specific. By the time I got home, I could use a very productive 2-3 hour to address her comments and send back a new version. Even I had crazy work schedule, I did not feel overwhelmed in the application process because I always know what to do and how to get it done.

The biggest concern for me as an applicant was time and uncertainty. SBC really helped me use my time wisely and reduced the level of uncertainty significantly. By the time I submitted my application, I was comfortable because I had worked on 20+ versions with CP and someone else on her team who used to work as an admin officer had also reviewed it.

The last thing I would add to this review is that you eventually will need to manage your own application. Getting a consultant doesn't mean that you can sit back and relax. Instead of having them reach out to you (and they will) with feedback, you should be proactive. Getting your drafts done earlier than later and taking every opportunity to get your questions answered either on the call or via email are very important strategies to take. The consultants often have multiple clients and they take requests based on the time of receipt. If you could get a new version done in less than 2 days, don't wait for 3 days. The more feedback you can get, the more value you can get from your service.

Last but not least, getting extra help from a consultant doesn't change your fundamental strengths and weaknesses as an applicant. That's why the kick-off call, which is part of the all-service is important. It is an opportunity to discuss your school choice with your consultant so that the two of you can work towards a goal that is realistic and achievable.
Joined: Jan 21, 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 28, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

HBS Admit

January 21, 2018
  • Teacher: Shaifali Aggarwal
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

1) Working on my application with Shaifali was great! Right from the get go she helped identify my strengths and qualities I should focus on in my application. Initially, I considered applying to HBS as a stretch target as I often hear that Asian engineers have a much harder time getting into HBS. With Shaifali's help, this we certainly proved them wrong!

2) SBC's team based influence and support certainly helped me refine my application: Esther as my initial SBC contact, and Caryn, who is a former Admissions Officer, as my flight tester, etc. Plenty of admissions officer intelligence in-house which certainly helped polish my application.

3) I spoke to a few other firms but found that SBC was more enthusiastic to help me with my application. The key winner was that SBC showed that they had successful experience working with applicants with my background.
Joined: Jan 20, 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 29, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you Christine & SBC

January 20, 2018
  • Teacher: Christine H.
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Summary

I can strongly recommend SBC and especially Christine based on my business school application experience. As a result of her excellent work and support I got accepted into Columbia Business School and Chicago Booth.

About me / whom this might help:

I am European ( international applicant) with a background in Tech, working as management consultant. Working and traveling a lot and having very little experience with business school applications, I decided to hire a consultant to help me shape my story so that I would be able to differentiate myself from the mass of management consultants and to communicate that story in the language of the Admission team while being as efficient as possible (due to my daily workload).

In retrospect, SBC and especially Christine not only met but exceeded my expectations by far.

Why SBC

I chose SBC because I believe that SBC has an edge over many other admission consultancies due to its very strong marketing position. By not only hiring a consultant but also the back office / expertise of the entire firm, SBC knows exactly how to position your profile for your respective target school (because they have it done a thousand times before). Through this rich expertise and track record my initial contact, Esther, knew in a heartbeat what I was missing in my application and which consultant ( in my case Christine) could support me the best. However, I not only got a perfect match but also access to a lot of reading material, past essays, interview preparation software as well as to Lisa, who was a former Admission Officer and who evaluated my application package from a neutral perspective before I finally submitted it. I believe the best analogy to my thinking is: If you need a surgery and you can chose between a general surgeon and a medical firm that has a specialist for each type of surgery, including yours, who will most likely be prepared for all eventualities?

Why Christine

I believe Christine excels in almost any position including that of an admission consultant. This is because Christine has a very rare combination of an extremely high intellectual capacity, genuity and work ethics. She knows exactly what to do which is reflected in her very clear instructions and in the fact that she never fell behind any deadline, but usually always delivered early over our 6 months. The best example for that is when I decided last minute (48h prior to the deadline) due to a change in my calendar to also apply to Booth. Despite having many other applications, less than 48 hours and not a signed contract for my forth school (yet), Christine was up for the challenge resulting not only in two very intense days with very little sleep for the both of us, but also in an admit from Booth.

While I would have already been more than pleased at this point, there is much more I gained from our interactions and from Christine herself. By preparing my applications, I not only improved my written English, but also learnt how to best position myself in a job interview, by knowing how to best demonstrate my various strengths and capabilities in combination with what sets me apart from others. I believe this is noteworthy, because my work with Christine would still have been fruitful for me, even if I did not gain any acceptance letter.

However, what I loved most about our interactions was that Christine made the application process fun. By finding the right balance between application related and other topics and by making sure that I progressed while allowing me to learn from the process, I truly enjoyed working with Christine. In fact, I was not relieved, but said when I realized that I was done with the application process.
Joined: Jan 15, 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 15, 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Stacy Blackman Consultants Review- Stephanie Cohn

January 15, 2018
  • Teacher: Stephanie Cohn, Ryan Barba, Maureen Capitolo
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I worked with several consultants at Stacy Blackman on an hourly basis. The three were Ryan Barba, Maureen Capitolo, and Stephanie Cohn- depending on that consultant's expertise for the different programs I was targeting. All three consultants were very professional and extremely knowledgeable on how to best answer essay prompts in a clear and concise manner, but also ensuring how to most effectively illustrate a person's candidacy and fit in the program.

I worked primarily with Stephanie Cohn and I cannot say enough how much I enjoyed working with her. In additional to her insight and knowledge, having previously worked on adcoms, she is also very professional and very prompt in her replies- even with approaching deadlines when the candidate may have dragged his/her feet prior.

The consultants at Stacy Blackman are not ghost writers, but they will help you craft the best essays possible. I highly recommend using them, and Stephanie C. in particular- regardless of what program you are targeting. With Stephanie's help, I was able to get into 6 out of 8 Top 20 programs (4 of which were in the Top 15).
Joined: Jan 9, 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 20, 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Maximize your potential of getting into a top MBA program!

January 9, 2018
  • Teacher: Caryn Altman
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

One of the best decisions I made throughout the MBA application process was the decision to work with Caryn of Stacy Blackman Consulting.

Caryn, a former Kellogg Admissions officer, was an invaluable resource to me throughout the application process. She was vital in formulating my strategy that I presented to all schools regarding my future career aspirations. Additionally, she helped me revamp both my resume and my interview responses to specifically fit the business school process.

One of her great qualities as an admissions consultant is her ability to communicate. I never had any worries about not hearing her answers to my questions or seeing her edits to my essays in a timely fashion. Her email responses were thorough, and her edits always went above and beyond. Additionally, at any critical juncture (or whenever I felt I needed guidance), she was willing to jump on a phone call. She maintained this same diligence throughout the waitlist process. When working with Caryn, it is important to reciprocate her communication style and be organized / diligent.

I believe that I maximized my potential to get into a top MBA program by working with Caryn!
Joined: Jan 9, 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 18, 2017
College: University of Maryland
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Well worth the investment

January 9, 2018
  • Teacher: Caryn Altman
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

After having been dinged from all the schools I applied to for the class of 2019, I knew that I wanted to use an admissions consultant when reapplying for the class of 2020. After evaluating several options, I decided to go with SBC for a couple reasons: their track record and my initial conversation with Caryn Altman.

Caryn was upfront with me and did not sugarcoat things - when telling her which schools I wanted to apply to, she said that they would be stretch schools for me, but did not discourage me from applying.

Luckily for me, I got a head start working with Caryn, signing up in early 2017. Caryn and I hit the ground running; within weeks, my resume had taken shape and, per her suggestion, I became actively involved with a couple of charitable organizations around my hometown.

Caryn was always lightning quick to respond to my emails - whether they be essay draft reviews or random one-off questions, she was usually able to respond within hours. She really went above and beyond when it came to responsiveness.

Beyond working with Caryn, I benefited from working with SBC's other consultants for the flight test and mock group interview.

Ultimately, working with Caryn was great because I trusted her and benefited from her candidness in reviewing and talking about my essays and overall candidacy. All of the essays, resume, work, etc. was mine, but Caryn gave me the tools and advice needed to properly frame all of it into a successful MBA application!

In the end, I was admitted to two schools and am proud to be able to say that I am going to be at Booth (a school where I was dinged without interview last year) this fall!!
Joined: Jan 8, 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 4, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Offer to GSB - great support from SBC team!

January 8, 2018
  • Teacher: Christina Fu
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Christina Fu was my primary source of contact from SBC and she was simply amazing on the support she provided me during my application to GSB. She is not only patient but also encouraging and always provides an interesting perspective to your application. A lof of times the effort she put into my application was such that it seemed she was more concerned than I was about my application. She is great!

Besides, the support provided by the entire SBC team was fantastic. From Esther's initial debrief, to the flight testers feedback (an experienced former Admissions Officer) to all the in-house admissions officer intelligence - everything was top notch. SBC is definitely top among leading MBA admissions consulting firms, I recommend them, specially Christina for all of those applying to a top 5 school and I wish you all good luck in your application process!
Joined: Jan 5, 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 28, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Shaifali & SBC

January 5, 2018
  • Teacher: Shaifali
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

1) As an applicant coming from a traditional finance background, I had concerns about my competitiveness in the application process. Through discussions with Shaifali, I was able to think of the best way to convey my unique story. She was there to provide advice when I needed it but also to let me work on my on pace. She provided very focused guidance, which I greatly appreciated.

2) In addition to Shaifali's help, I also benefited from the help of Esther (initial contact), Caryn (flight test reviewer), and others. Getting a variety of perspectives gave me comfort in my overall application strategy.

3) After speaking with several other firms, I decided on working with SBC due to its strong history of success and positive experience I had in my initial conversations with the firm.

Ultimately, I was admitted into HBS, Wharton, and Haas.
Joined: Jan 3, 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 25, 2017
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience with SBC

January 3, 2018
  • Teacher: Jessica
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Choosing to sign up with Stacy Blackman to assist in my B-school applications was definitely the right decision. The perspective and guidance that my consultant was able to offer through the application process was invaluable. While I saw myself as an acceptable MBA candidate before hiring Stacy Blackman Consulting, my applications and essays would have not been anywhere close to the final product that my consultant worked with me to produce.

My consultant was Jessica and she was a great individual to work with during this time. Jessica put in considerable time to understand who I was, where I came from, and where I wanted to go, which then helped us to develop my completed profile and highlight my candidacy in the best way possible. We went through multiple rounds for each essay and my resume, getting a ton of feedback from Jessica that helped me to dig deeper within each draft. This led to the final drafts being a collection of refined ideas and themes that had been developed through hours of work between us. After we were through with this part of the preparation, we were then able to submit my total profile to their "flight-test", where a former MBA admissions officer is able to review your profile and provide any necessary feedback. Getting this final sign-off and feedback from a former admissions officer was a huge win and helps to give a high level of confidence when submitting applications. After submitting my application, we then moved to interview prep, which was another lifesaver during the overall process.

Overall, my experience with Stacy Blackman Consulting wasn't about filling out applications, writing essays, or resume edits. Instead, it was about how Jessica was able to work with me to make me a complete candidate that was able to holistically demonstrate who I am through each and every step of the way. All of this culminated with me being admitted to my target school, along with a notable scholarship.

If you are like me and want nothing less than your best application possible -- no regrets, no what if's -- , I highly recommend Stacy Blackman Consulting.
Joined: Jan 1, 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 28, 2017
Major: Economics
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend Dawn & SBC

January 1, 2018
  • Teacher: Dawn
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I had a great experience working with Stacy Blackman and in particular, my consultant Dawn.

When looking for an admissions consultant, I wanted someone who was ethical and who could best help craft my story and position me for each school's unique criteria. I selected Dawn because it was clear she was a very intelligent, strategic thinker who would give me honest feedback.

While working together Dawn developed a very helpful strategic plan/assessment for my candidacy - a roadmap for mitigating my weaknesses and highlighting my strengths. As someone who is not naturally and consistently introspective, this was feedback was very helpful! I flipped back to this plan often while writing my essays.

In addition, Dawn's honesty and willingness to hold me accountable were important throughout the application process. During one stretch, I was so jammed at work that I was not able to write a quality essay, and instead sent Dawn a half-baked draft. Dawn held me accountable and told me to completely re-do the draft, which was definitely the honest feedback that I needed to submit the best application possible.

All in all, I had a very good experience and it led to a great outcome - I will be going to Wharton next year! Thanks Dawn!
Joined: Jan 1, 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 12, 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Admitted to Kellogg and Wharton with Scholarships because of Christina Fu

January 1, 2018
  • Teacher: Christina Fu
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I honestly went back and forth for a while before deciding to use an admissions consulting service for my MBA applications, but I am so glad I did! Christina was a pleasure to work with and if I could do the process over again (which I definitely don't want to), I would work with her on a comprehensive basis rather than on an hourly basis because I truly came to depend on her for support and guidance. Beyond just helping me with big items like my essays or recommender selections, she also took the time to guide me on the smaller, open-ended response sections of the applications.

Though we worked together on an hourly basis, she was extremely generous with her time. When I scheduled a one-hour interview prep session with her prior to my interviews with HBS and Kellogg, she stayed on the phone with me for a total of 3 hours, to make sure I felt calm, positive, prepared, and excited rather than anxious about my interview. She was more than just an admissions consultant, she was a great emotional and moral support to me throughout the process, and someone I hope to keep in touch with in the future.

Applied: HBS, Wharton, Kellogg
Interviewed: HBS, Wharton, Kellogg
Accepted: Wharton with the Joseph Wharton Fellowship and Kellogg with the Forte Foundation Scholarship
Joined: Dec 25, 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 31, 2017
College: University of Michigan
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome Experience with SBC

January 1, 2018
  • Teacher: DD Kane, Esther, Caryn
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I highly recommend Stacy Blackman Consulting. My experience working with DD couldn't have been better. She always gave meaningful and insightful feedback that took my essays and resume to another level. I was skeptical about teaming up with a consulting firm at first, but I'm so happy that I did. With DD's expertise, I was able to fit my entire story into my applications in a natural and authentic way.

I couldn't have asked for a better consultant. Additionally, the whole SBC team was also great to work with. Esther took the time to really get to know me during the on boarding process, and Caryn's feedback on my Flight Test was quick and helpful.

I'm really glad that I chose SBC. With their help, I got into my top programs and received a few scholarships along the way.
Joined: Mar 9, 2013
Purchased Course: Dec 7, 2016
Major: Marketing
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Extremely stressful reapplication led to awesome outcome with Caryn's help

December 30, 2017
  • Teacher: Caryn
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I applied to four top B-schools in 2016, on my own, and was dinged from all of them without interview. After this difficult outcome, I decided to investigate consulting services to get an idea of how my application could be improved the following year. I spoke to a few other services, including the MBA Exchange and mbaMission. In the end, I decided to go with Stacy Blackman because of how helpful my free consultation call with Bill Chionis was. I did a ding analysis with Caryn Altman. Her feedback was so direct and actionable that I decided to do an all-in package with her for a number of schools.

Throughout the daunting process, Caryn's expertise and support were extremely valuable. Caryn was efficient, direct, friendly, and supportive. I applied only to top 10 programs, and stubbornly didn't add any 'safety' schools to my list, despite my scary results from the previous year. When I asked Caryn what my chances were, she candidly told me that it would be a stretch for many of them. Despite the odds, Caryn worked with me to ensure that I had a solid application and that I could showcase myself in the best possible light. She laid out a strategy which allowed me to understand how all the different parts of my application worked to tell a cohesive story.

Some aspects to my admission that I had to overcome:
- I had a pretty low quant percentile on my GMAT, which I tried to mitigate with the GRE, but in the end I still couldn't get my score up to the average of my target schools.
- I had a nontraditional background for an MBA (start-up). I was aware this could give me a 'uniqueness' advantage, but without Caryn's help I struggled to highlight the leadership experiences I had.
- Lack of focus with respect to my long term goals and how my MBA would get me there.

The All-In Package is quite pricey, but if you feel lost with the application process, I'd say it's worth it (recall that I had come off four brutal dings!). Especially because of my test scores, we knew that the rest of my application, especially essays, had to really shine. I consider myself a strong writer, but even so, Caryn had tons of feedback on my essays and was always ready to do another draft. The mock interview gave me such a boost of confidence, and when I did my first real interview I was surprised by how similar the questions were. The flight test feedback that I got from Lisa Anderson was very helpful. Another benefit to the all-in was that I could ask Caryn any general MBA questions I had (ex. interview-related etiquette, what to do when I get a confusing email during the application process, etc).

I also did a mock interview with Erika Olson for HBS, which was excellent, and helped me prepare correctly for the unique HBS interview.

I applied to seven schools in round 1, got interviews with four, and ultimately received offers of admission from two. I am happy to say that I will be at tending Harvard Business School next fall. It wouldn't have been possible without Caryn's assistance - thank you to Caryn and the rest of the SBC team!
Joined: Dec 27, 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 13, 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I got into my dream school (CBS) with the help of Emily Lammers from SBC

December 27, 2017
  • Teacher: Emily Lammers
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I had the privilege of working with Emily Lammers of SBC throughout my application process, and after receiving admission to my looong-shot dream school (CBS), I can't imagine having worked with anyone else.

After a close friend of mine had incredible success throughout his application process, utilizing the all-in package with SBC, I was sold on the firm. The next step was matching me up with a consultant who not only specialized in candidates with similar profiles to mine, but also candidates who had similar goals. This is where SBC really shines. The curated consultant selection process allows you to be paired up with a consultant who knows your industry, your schools, and how to tailor your story to help you achieve your goals. This is how I wound up working with Emily and receiving admission to my dream program, of which I wasn't even initially planning on applying to, but Emily convinced me was worthwhile.

From day one is was clear that Emily was committed to my success, and further, that she was passionate about the process in general. We reviewed every relevant aspect of my pre-MBA life in depth to further understand strengths, weaknesses, motives, and anecdotes that would support my applications to top programs. From there we developed our application strategy. Emily's knowledge of the nuances of particular programs and their applications processes allowed me to put my best foot forward for each application and to know how to highlight aspects of my profile that each individual school looks for in applicants. I genuinely can't speak highly enough about Emily and her guidance throughout the process. She was available and enthusiastic about responding to e-mails or phone calls at any time, and the level of detail she provided in reviewing and analyzing my essays was far beyond what I expected. She is a straight shooter and completely candid when providing feedback, which is a necessity when it comes to this process. Emily's ability to provide structure and flow to your story helps your essays shine, and prepares you incredibly well for the interview process. Further, Emily goes way beyond her duties with primary research and often times provided me with program information that was relevant to my career goals so that I could include it in my essays or interviews. Emily reads essays as though she is an AdCom member for each program, and provides highly specialized feedback. She was supportive when I felt overwhelmed, and pushed me when I was lazy. Lastly, Emily made this stressful process incredibly enjoyable and I oftentimes find myself missing the late nights of essay writing, frantic messages of concern, relief that comes with submitting the applications, and elation for interview invites and program acceptances.

We ended up securing interviews with all of my programs and received admission to CBS (we turned down the other interviews after hearing the news from CBS)....an investment well worth it no matter how you look at it. Emily is an absolute legend, and I credit her knowledge, guidance, and passion for the process with my admissions success. Do yourself a favor and ask for her services when you reach out to SBC...you will not be disappointed.
Joined: Dec 26, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 27, 2017
College: UC San Diego
Major: Bio(medical) Engineering
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Experience was above & beyond expectation

December 26, 2017
  • Teacher: Christina Fu
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I cannot thank Christina Fu and SBC enough on my admittance to Columbia Business School with a tremendous fellowship package! I come from a non-traditional background. With a demanding full-time job, extracurricular activities, GMAT-taking, and personal engagements, I knew I had little time to waste, so I was certain to hire someone to guide me in this process.
Christina is a HBS alumnus, she is extremely experienced working with professionals of a variety of industries. I have endless number of good things to say about her, but I will highlight a few below:
- Christina genuinely cares about her clients. I often find our phone conversations go beyond MBA applications. She is not only a MBA consultant to me, but also a career mentor and life coach. She would always guide me in strategic ways to encourage my growth, even in times when I lacked the confidence to do so.
- She knows exactly my strengths to highlight for each individual program. Her guidance has helped me tremendously in standing out amongst thousands of strong applications.
- Christina is also an excellent editor that made my essays alive with creative vocabulary usage and correct grammar. With the help of her brainstorming sessions, I never ran out of ideas to write about myself.
- Most importantly, I was able to establish a bond with Christina - I trust her in that she will put her best foot forward to help me with my applications. She has become a great friend and mentor to me and I am sure we will stay in touch through the years!
I am extremely thrilled to have chosen SBC as my admissions consulting firm and very grateful to have worked with Christina on such an unforgettable journey in life!
Joined: Oct 15, 2011
Purchased Course: Apr 8, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Admitted into Harvard Business School with a 680 GMAT score because of Carol Grayson (SBC).

December 17, 2017
  • Teacher: Carol Grayson
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

TL;DR: Given my 680 GMAT score, I wouldn't have been able to get admitted into Harvard Business School (my dream school) without the guidance of Carol Grayson from Stacy Blackman Consulting (SBC).

On Carol Grayson:
- Taught me how to tell my story to illustrate the type of impact I hope to achieve
- Has over 15 years of MBA admissions experience so she knows what is and isn't important across traditional and non-traditional profiles
- No BS, straight-to-the-point. A lot of tough love, but that helped me learn quickly so that I can craft the right story by myself in time for Round 1.
- Bonus: Provided emotional support every step of this grueling MBA application process (GMAT rewrites, late-night essay writing, interview prep/anxiety).

On SBC:
- Extremely patient with helping me find the right consultant (had to be matched a couple times to find Carol, which was the right fit for me)
- Despite a higher cost, I chose SBC over other leading admissions consulting firms like mbaMission and Veritas Prep because of Carol Grayson and the SBC team.
- When you work with SBC, you're working with the best team in the business. Special shout out to Esther (matching me with Carol) and Lisa (Flight-test expert reviewing my application before I submitted to HBS). SBC has actual former admissions officer intel in-house.

Just like pursuing your MBA, hiring an admissions consultant is an incredibly personal decision. For me, if I was willing to invest around $200,000 USD for my MBA, spending an extra $5,000 on the best MBA admissions consulting to maximize my odds was a no-brainer.
Joined: Nov 20, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 13, 2017
College: St. Olaf College
Major: Economics
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic! Cannot recommend highly enough

November 20, 2017
  • Teacher: Shaifali
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Shaifali was fantastic with helping me prepare my application. She recognized the most effective angle for my application, helped me answer tons of small questions I had along the way, helped me forge a fantastic essay, and interview prep! She was always available, even when my questions weren't necessary and were probably a product of pre-application anxiety, and struck the perfect balance of honesty and kindness.

I cannot recommend working with Shaifali highly enough!
Joined: Oct 18, 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 15, 2017
College: UC Berkeley
Major: History
Industry: Venture Capital
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Effective, organized process with a great outcome

October 18, 2017
  • Teacher: Bill Chionis
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I am thrilled that I chose Stacy Blackman consulting for essay strategy and interview prep. What I loved most about the process was how simple and intuitive they made it. Bill was fantastic at helping me craft my essay strategy and build upon each essay question to create a narrative that was cohesive and compelling. He was incredibly responsive and thoughtful about my approach to the application and would highly recommend him to any MBA candidate. His deep expertise with the process and the various schools was evident in our conversations.
Additionally, since he was very familiar with my school of choice (Columbia), I engaged him to help me with interview prep. After our structured practice and mock interview sessions, I felt so comfortable going in to meet with the admissions committee. I am thrilled that I will be attending Columbia next year and would highly recommend Bill and Stacy Blackman for any future candidate.
Joined: Oct 10, 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 28, 2017
College: Fundacao Getulio Vargas
Major: Business
Industry: Aerosp/Autom/Transp Equipment
Country: Brazil
Verified Real Student Review

Completely outstanding

October 10, 2017
  • Teacher: Christine Howkins
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The service that Christine and Stacy Blackmand Consulting offered me was totally unique and tailored to my needs. I had access to a platform full of resources to apply to the top MBA schools.
Christine helped through the entire process of application, from the GMAT to the interview, in a professional and a personal way. She gave me support on how to build a strategy to explain my accomplishments and career goals.
Since I saw some of my friends' applications, I can afirm that there is no similar service in Brazil.
I only applied to Columbia and was accepted 4 weeks after I sent my application.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 6