Test Prep Companies,Private Tutoring,GRE Prep Company

Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring

Joined: Jan 4, 2019
Purchased Course: Jun 27, 2017
College: Shanghai University of Foreign Economic and Trade
Major: Law and Social Sciences
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

200 points improvement within two months thanks to Dan Bernstein's tutoring

January 4, 2019
  • Teacher: Dan Bernstein
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

really appreciate Dan Bernstein's help! He made my GMAT score improve significantly (by 200 points) in only two months. I don't think I was able to get into my dream school without his mentoring. He was really good at listening to my concerns and pointing out the issues and directions for me very effectively. More importantly, he was also great at encouraging me during the most difficult time. He was not only dedicated in the class but also very responsive after class when I wrote his emails. I was very lucky to have Dan as my GMAT tutor! I would highly recommend you to try him as your GMAT tutor.
Joined: Sep 17, 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 18, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

A private tutor is a great way to help you get those last few points

September 17, 2018
  • Teacher: Paul Fisher
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 700 After: 730

After speaking with several of my friends who were in business school, I decided to utilize Manhattan GMAT for my preparation. I participated in a 9-session in-person prep course (not with Paul) and ended up getting a 700 on my first real GMAT attempt. Although I was happy with my first score, my ultimate goal was to get at least a 730. A look at my split showed there was room to improve in verbal. So for the next month, I dedicated most of my time and efforts toward improving on the verbal section. Unfortunately, when I took the exam a second time, my verbal score decreased and I ended up with a 660.

With time not on my side (due to applications) and feeling a bit lost, I decided to sign up for online private tutoring sessions with Paul through Manhattan GMAT. As a former prep course participant, I was entitled to the cheapest rate for tutoring hours, meaning I could pay as I go while taking full advantage of bulk package pricing.

Before signing up with Paul, I thought studying with an in-person tutor would be best, but I quickly realized how much more convenient and effective the online interface was. Additionally, it enables you to record/playback all your sessions.

From my first session with Paul, I could tell I made a great decision. He was able to identify key weaknesses in my approach and taught me new methodologies and practices that enabled me to be more efficient with my time and energy. Paul's lessons and explanations were always clear and informative. After eight 2-hour sessions, I took the GMAT again and got the score I was hoping for: 730 (big improvement in verbal).

What I enjoyed about working with Paul, aside from him being a GMAT genius (he scored a 790), was his humility and positive attitude. He was very pleasant to work with and is an all-around great guy. If you get the opportunity to work with Paul, know that you will be in good hands.
Joined: Aug 13, 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 10, 2018
College: Trinity College
Major: Political Science
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend Ryan McGorman

August 13, 2018
  • Teacher: Ryan McGorman
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 720

I had already been working with a tutor before meeting with Ryan, and decided to make a switch after making very little improvement and receiving a less than desirable first score. I can say quite positively that I would not have received the 720 without Ryan. All GMAT tutors know the material and can explain it, but that is not what made the difference for me. Ryan was able to pin-point my weaknesses in quant almost immediately, and was able to explain critical concepts in a palatable way. Most importantly, he did not allow me to stay in my comfort zone. He did not just explain a concept and ensure that I could repeat it back to him, but insisted that I be able to explain the reasons why it made sense. Even though it was sometimes painful, he made sure I learned these critical concepts forward and backward. I would (and have) recommend Ryan to anyone who needs an extra push and personal attention. I am extremely grateful for Ryan's help and could not speak highly enough of his talent as a tutor.
Joined: Jul 18, 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 14, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Recommend Mark Sullivan

July 18, 2018
  • Teacher: Mark Sullivan
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 720

I started working with Mark after taking the Manhattan Prep 10 week course and scoring well below my goal (650 with goal of 700). After this, I decided to invest in private tutoring and started working with Mark Sullivan. I took the GMAT again, and scored 720 thanks to Mark (47 quant, 41 verbal). He quickly diagnosed my weaknesses, and then provided a clear plan to hit my goal. He focused on the biggest hitting items / content areas and devised a plan that I could manage with a full time job.
Outside of providing excellent tutoring services during my paid sessions, Mark was always available to respond to emails and provide feedback on practice tests. I never felt like I was ?on the clock? ? if we ran slightly over the time allotment, I didn?t feel that he was rushing to end the session. Mark was really a source of positivity and made me feel confident going into the test.

Very highly recommend Mark for anyone needing personalized tutoring!!! Just wish I?d started working with him from the beginning.
Joined: May 6, 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 15, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Daniel Fogel

May 6, 2018
  • Teacher: Daniel Fogel
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 670 After: 750

After I took the GMAT four times, I saw my score go from a 670, to a 600, to a 660 to a 680. I wanted to break into the 700-club. After exhausting nearly every book, website, CAT exam, I turned to the experts. Daniel is an incredible tutor. Daniel showed me that it isn't enough to simply do the problem and then review the ones you get wrong. Take the time to reflect on the problems and ask questions such as: What could I have done differently? Should I have skipped? On the math section, aside from helping me get a better grasp on the material, Daniel helped me develop a plan of which problems I should skip. Giving the time constraints, this proved invaluable.

I think where Daniel added the most value was for Verbal. Remember, the GMAT is beatable! Man made it, man can beat it. Daniel showed me the tricks of the trade when it came to issues such as parallelism and how to spot those tricks, something that is very important when you get to the higher-level verbal questions.

In addition to going over problems, Daniel also had me do targeted sets and make up my own problems. This type of teaching definitely helped push me over the hump. Now I am riding high on a 750. I know that Daniel is too humble to take the credit, but he deserves all of the credit and then some. He is a great teacher and really helps break down the material into digestible pieces all while rewiring your brain to really learn how this test is made.

I would recommend Daniel to anyone is having trouble getting over the 700 hump.

Best of luck!
Joined: Jun 23, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 21, 2018
College: Emory University
Major: Business
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Breaking 700: Practice, Persistence and a Perfect Instructor

May 1, 2018
  • Teacher: Daniel Fogel
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 720

While I was initially hesitant to hire a private tutor due to the cost, I can wholeheartedly say that time with Daniel Fogel is worth every penny. Daniel explained even the most complex of topics in a simple and digestible manner and also was fantastic at incorporating humor into his sessions. Moreover, Daniel was unbelievable at identifying my weakness areas and he expertly prescribed a very specific set of work for me to do each week. Daniel was always mindful of my goal to break a 700 and having him encourage me to continue pushing by taking CATs and completing tailored material was an absolute difference maker. Daniel shared numerous unique tips and tricks and he shed light on test-taking strategies just as often as he helped me bridge my content gaps in both verbal and quant!

I highly recommend working with Daniel based on his upbeat attitude, strong background in test taking, friendliness and passion for wanting to help others succeed. Daniel was always flexible with appointments and ensured that each session was recorded with detailed notes so that I could allude back to his points! Additionally, Daniel made himself available at almost all hours to ensure I was making progress and comfortable with my weekly assignments.

Daniel helped me push my score from a 680 to a 720 and I could not be happier! Daniel had me work hard and dig deep but there is no doubt in my mind that I would not have attained my dream score if I had never committed to the 2 months of sessions with Daniel.
Joined: Jan 29, 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 28, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring - Dave Mahler

January 29, 2018
  • Teacher: Dave Mahler
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 590 After: 720

Got my target 720 score after approx 4 months that comprised self study, Manhattan Prep's 9-week course on Wall street Manhattan (Dave Mahler was our instructor), and private tutoring (also with Dave Mahler). I started with a 590 Manhattan Prep GMAT practice test.

After the 9 week course, I spent a couple of weeks wrapping up the GMAT OG and then I took a real GMAT test. Bombed it. I decided I needed more targetted tutoring, so I splurged on the private tutoring (8 lessons in total). This was worth every penny. Dave diagnosed my flawed test-taking strategies, and his private lessons sharpened my quant and verbal reasoning skills. These lessons were challenging but crucial to my success on the test - he would often ask me to explain my thought processes WHILE I solved tough problems (DS, PS, SC, CR), and this invariably forces you to think critically about every single step in your own problem-solving process. Every step in my problem-solving process was critiqued and improved upon. As important, Dave was extremely optimistic and encouraging throughout this whole process. He was a firm supporter and you feel that he's invested in your success.

TL DR: Manhattan Prep's private tutoring is very strongly recommended. Dave Mahler is very strongly recommended.
Joined: Dec 7, 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 15, 2017
College: Ivey Business School, Western University
Major: Business
Industry: Food/Beverage
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you Elaine Loh!

January 17, 2018
  • Teacher: Elaine Loh
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 600 After: 720

Without Manhattan Prep and specifically, my private instructor Elaine Loh, I could not have broken through the 700 barrier. I owe my entire 720 (Q49, V40) to Elaine's guidance, tutoring, and her holistic way of teaching. Content is not the sole focus of Elaine's teaching; of course, content is important up to a certain point, but your style of studying and mentality are equally important. Elaine put a huge emphasis on error logging and having a positive and relaxed mindset, and I can honestly say that these two things probably made the biggest difference in my studying.

After I started error logging and becoming more "mindful", upon Elaine's suggestion, my practice scores shot up exponentially. Just for reference, I began my GMAT journey at 600!

More so than her awesome way of teaching, Elaine is just really darn knowledgeable about the GMAT. The way that she is able to clarify points of confusion in a very clear and concise manner is not something that just any smart person can do! She also taught me certain strategies that were very helpful to ultimately succeeding on the GMAT.

All in all, as you can see, I am a huge fan of Elaine and Manhattan Prep. While I can't speak for other instructors, I certainly have no doubts that Manhattan Prep is a top-notch company. If you are struggling with the GMAT, I would highly recommend Manhattan Prep and Elaine Loh!
Joined: Jan 16, 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 27, 2017
College: University of Southern California
Major: Anthropology
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Helped this liberal arts major score a 720 with 46 Q!

January 16, 2018
  • Teacher: Dan Patinkin
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

I completed 10 hours of private instruction with Dan Patinkin upon the enthusiastic recommendation of a personal friend, who had in turn been enthusiastically recommended by both of her MBA bosses. I would like to keep the enthusiastic chain of recommendation momentum going!

Obviously, everyone's results will vary depending on what their strength and weaknesses are, and their individual learning styles. So I'll just keep this to my personal experience.

I began studying for the GMAT in August of 2017. I work in non-profits and studied the liberal arts; the last time I did math was AP Stats in high school and I never took anything more advanced than Algebra 2. Thinking about standardized testing, let alone math, still makes my heart race.

From the get-go, I knew my work with Dan would be pretty much exclusively dedicated to quant, and that's partially why it was important to me to spring for personal tutoring rather than a class. Wouldn't have made sense to spend my precious time and money practicing verbal, since I desperately needed extra support with math.

Manhattan's attention to detail, and that of Dan specifically, helped me transform over the space of a few short months. Don't get me wrong, you have to work a lot.... like 10-15 hours per week for 4+ months... but for me, the hardest part of studying has always been knowing exactly WHERE to focus my efforts, and that's what Manhattan/Dan took care of for me.

So all I had to do, thanks to his help, was.... practice.

At one point, I scored a 490 on a practice test and CRIED. I am proud to say that last month, I sat for my very first (and final!) GMAT in December 2017 and scored a 720 -- 46 Q (WAY above my target) and 44 V!

I wouldn't have been able to make a fraction of these gains -- let alone keep my cool -- if it weren't for Dan's insight, generosity, and encouragement.

Thank you!
Joined: Jan 3, 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 19, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Manhattan GMAT

January 3, 2018
  • Teacher: Keith Blume
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 620 After: 740

I was very lucky to have studied with Keith from Chicago. I initially met Keith through the Manhattan GMAT class pack in which he was the instructor, and later took a few private classes with him to improve my understanding.

Overall, Keith is a very efficient and to-the-point instructor. I was quite confident in math but was making unnecessary mistakes so Keith pinpointed it to exactly where it was and provided CUSTOMIZED study plans for me based on my goal and schedule. As for verbal, he was instrumental in teaching me how to read and answer the question.

My first practice test was in the 600, and with the help of Keith and many hours of hard work, I increased a score of 100+. I would highly recommend Keith to any student who would like to learn and achieve a good score.

Manhattan GMAT also offers one of the best online platforms. It syncs up with the book and the explanations really helped me understand why an answer was right, and better yet, why other answers were wrong. In addition, you can use the report feature to see your overall performance and area of improvement. I would recommend taking a GMAT course with Keith through Manhattan. Thank you Keith!
Joined: Dec 20, 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 18, 2017
College: USC
Major: Film, Cinema and Video
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

You're in the hands of an expert

December 20, 2017
  • Teacher: Dan Patinkin
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 770

I was beyond thrilled with my outcome after working with Dan. If you're willing to put in the work and the time, he'll get you where you want to go. Over the course of four months, I went from a 620 (35Q, 41V, Princeton Review Practice Test) to a 770 (48Q, 48V, Official GMAT). I worked with Dan for 12 hours total, and about 150 hours on my own. I was astonished by how well Dan knew the material - he seemed to have hundreds of questions committed to memory and knew exactly which one to throw at you when. I felt like I was in incredible hands. I also really appreciated that Dan was conservative about how much time we were spending together (minding my budget) and that he was generous with his time between sessions if I had questions via email. After I finished up with Dan, I passed him along to my best friend, and she saw an equally sizable leap between her initial and final scores. I put a lot of faith in Dan as a guide and I am so glad that I did. Highly recommend working with him.
Joined: Dec 20, 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 28, 2017
College: Wake Forest University
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Huge Factor in 90 Point Swing

December 20, 2017
  • Teacher: Chris Gentry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 730

I highly recommend Chris Gentry to anyone in the Atlanta area looking to take the GMAT or looking to improve score. I achieved a 90 point swing over the course of three months, which I attribute greatly to Chris's help during our weekly hour-long sessions.

Learning about different GMAT-tailored test-taking strategies, learning how to manage time crunch more effectively and different approaches to common 700-800 level questions I feel made the difference for me. Getting this score was way above my expectations when I started the process, and I decided to apply to an additional three top-5 schools as a result.
Joined: Oct 5, 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 29, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Great working with Graham

October 5, 2017
  • Teacher: Graham Riske
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: 750

I highly recommend working with Graham. Working with him, I was able to raise my score 40 points in just about 2 months. Not only did Graham help me with tips and tricks for math, but he did it with a calm demeanor that helped with my stressed-out GMAT nerves. Graham was relaxed as he told me to focus on studying smart, rather than just grinding away for hours. Taking his advice, I succeeded and made myself a lot less miserable in the process. I would definitely work with Graham again.
Joined: Aug 30, 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 6, 2017
College: cornell university
Major: Psychology
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Logan is awesome

August 30, 2017
  • Teacher: Logan Thompson
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 560 After: 660

Manhattan Prep is a great GMAT prep program. I was working full time in a busy job that was travel intensive...the online accelerated course was wonderful. It fit into my busy schedule, and really helped me to improve my score. I supplemented the course with a few private tutoring sessions with Logan Thompson...he was extremely patient with me and extremely thorough in his explanations. Logan helped me improve my over all score by 100 points, and boost my verbal score to the 98th percentile. Logan was a life saver! I am now applying to schools that were initially out of my reach. Thanks Manhattan Prep!
Joined: Aug 27, 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 14, 2017
Major: Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Logan Thompson - Highly recommended!

August 27, 2017
  • Teacher: Logan Thompson
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 570 After: 710

Logan is a great teacher! He helped me improve my score from a 570 to a 710. Before reaching out to Logan for private tutoring, I had studied from the Manhattan books. However, it was Logan who helped me understand how to tackle problems, and how to avoid common GMAT traps. He taught me how study and review wrong questions. He was very encouraging through the entire process, always believing in me. He was very accessible, and would always respond to my emails. After our tutoring sessions were over, he would follow-up with me, making sure I was making good progress. I would really recommend Logan!
Joined: Jul 22, 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 20, 2017
College: University of Toronto
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

640 to a 740! Here's my journey:

July 22, 2017
  • Teacher: Chris Gentry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 740

I started with a 3-month class-style course with Manhattan prep. It was an online course with 4 hours of class per week. This was great as I managed to cover all the required topics and brush up on my skills. After completing this course I did the GMAT and scored a 640 (Q52, V76). Although my basics were in place, I definitely wasn't happy with this score and knew I could do better!
MPrep offered a free post course assessment (PCA) (which I did prior to the test) and then they also offered a free post exam assessment (PEA). This PEA helped me tremendously by pointing out specific areas I should focus on to bring my score up to a 700. I went on to take 3 hours of private tutoring with the same instructor who did the PEA. I then did the test again 5 months after the first test and this time my score went up by 100 points to a 740!

The PEA and private tutoring were gold! I would seriously recommend them in order to be able to put all your energy and effort towards specific topics which can actually help bring your score up instead of wasting time on trying to get the 'high-hanging fruit'.

My 3-month course instructors were Eric Garthoffner and Pedro Ledesma who were very thorough and kept me committed to a regular study schedule. My PEA and pvt tutoring instructor was Chris Gentry - he was phenomenal and continued to stay in touch much after my sessions ended and right up till the day I gave the second test with constant motivation and prep tips.

I would highly recommend Manhattan Prep as a resource to prepare for one's GMAT.

Good Luck!

-Komal
740 (Q77, V96)
Joined: Jun 15, 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 20, 2015
College: University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
Major: Psychology
Industry: Transportation
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Success with Keith Blume at Manhattan Prep

June 15, 2017
  • Teacher: Keith Blume
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 730

Despite a lot of serious studying on my own, my previous attempt to crack 700 was unsuccessful, but I couldn't pinpoint why. I had a few visits with Keith, each of which were excellent in two different ways:

First, Keith had no issue narrowing in on my areas of weakness, and he provided highly focused and specific tips on how I could improve. The advice he provided was actionable both while studying and while taking the test.

Second, Keith's calm attitude and demeanor allowed me to believe that the test was not as daunting and intimidating as I'd made it out to be in my own head. He had a highly effective way of boosting my confidence so that when I went into the test, I felt that, as long as I trusted my studying and remembered the advice Keith had provided, I would do well.

Ultimately, with Keith's help, my score increased from a 690 to a 730 - a score I was absolutely thrilled to include on my business school applications. I should also note that Keith is very friendly, very accommodating and communicative, but still ensures that meetings are efficient so that all relevant material can be covered within the allotted time.
Joined: May 10, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 31, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Chris Gentry - Highly Recommended!

May 24, 2017
  • Teacher: Chris Gentry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I highly recommend taking private tutoring sessions with Chris Gentry. Chris provided very helpful tips on test strategy - i.e. which problems you should focus on and which problems are not worth your time. Chris analyzes your practice tests / performance and provides very specific feedback on how to focus your studies. Lastly, and in my opinion most important, Chris was a constant source of positive feedback. Prepping for the GMAT can be a stressful endeavor, and Chris helps remove the stress and anxiety associated with both preparation and test day itself. Chris helped me boost my score from the mid 600's to breaking the 700 mark.
Joined: Oct 24, 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 27, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Tutoring highly recommended

January 29, 2017
  • Teacher: Ryan Jacobs
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 720

Highly recommend Manhattan for GMAT prep. Books are comprehensive, and the tutoring was personalized, insightful, and data-driven (cheers to Ryan Jacobs). Reached my target score in record time and got into my school of choice.
Joined: Jan 19, 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 5, 2016
College: Birla Institute of Technology & Science
Major: Engineering
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

A 30 point jump

January 19, 2017
  • Teacher: Josh Braslow
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: 740

On the first attempt, I scored 710 on the GMAT but I felt it wasn't enough for the schools I was aiming for. In order to address my weaknesses in specific areas and strengthen my concepts, I opted for the 10 hour private tutoring session by Manhattan Prep. My instructor Josh understood my strengths and weaknesses from day 1 itself and provided me with the best strategies to go forward with during preparation and while giving the exam. The approach he suggested me to use while solving critical reasoning questions made a lot of difference in my verbal score. He also helped me understand the concepts in quant that I was struggling with such as divisibility and number properties by giving me ample number of difficult problems to solve. The Manhattan Prep Strategy Guide books and the practice exams were extremely helpful as well in understanding concepts especially sentence correction rules though the quant section on the practice exams was a little tougher and can demoralize oneself at times. But all in all it the course is an excellent way to give yourself that push and reach higher scores.
Joined: Mar 14, 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 22, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Best Tutor- Mark, who believes in you even when you doubt yourself!

September 28, 2016
  • Teacher: Mark Sullivan
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 500 After: 670

I am so glad to be able to write this. It has been a long yet rewarding 10 months. After 1st gmat fail (420), I used Mprep self- interact and improved and got (500) in my 2nd time. I came across a website and the author shared his experiences of taking the Gmat 5 times and the final push was having a great tutor. At first, I was hesitated because I had a poor in person tutor before my 1st gmat and got a 420. I asked myself, am I going to try an online tutor? That was the best decision of my whole gmat journey and worth every penny. I was paired with Mark Sullivan for a post exam assessment and his positive tone and enthusiasm about GMAT were exactly what I needed after my 2nd attempt. Therefore, I asked him if he could private tutor me.

Mark was very diligent and knowledgeable. I told him about my bad experiences with my previous tutor so he quickly shared his tutoring way with me. Mark couldn?t tutor me in July because of his previous engagement, but he clearly wrote down assignments and articles for me before our 1st session in August so that I can start preparing. I knew then that I picked the right tutor.

Mark and I had 6 sessions together, he was always on time and wouldn?t mind staying a few extra mins if I have questions at the end. During our sessions, he was always positive and encouraged me all the time. That was very important to me because I have felt quite beating down after 7 months of rigorously studying. During our sessions, Mark focused on strategies that will help me improve my score, he taught me very useful skills such as how to correctly review error log, gave me drill sheets that will improve certain content area, assign readings that help me with mental strength in preparation for the gmat (gmat is such a mental game in a way), timed set to stimulate exam mode, creating goals for each session and each prep test, etc,.. Mark was very knowledgeable and always willing to answer my questions.

In addition to his tactics on the strategies, Mark?s positivism and encouragement made a HUGE difference on me. GMAT journey could be very lonely and under pressure, having Mark always on my side and showed me support was very crucial to my mental strength. He did not only teach me the skills but he taught me the importance of belief and positivism. I recalled I got a 570 on my last gmat prep 10 days before my 3rd attempt. I immediately sent an email to Mark with all my analysis and asked him should I postpone my exam since I only got a 570. He replied me within hours and said that he think I should go for it because I can and said the prep result was a reference only. We then had our last session, and he sent me 2 more encouraging emails prior to the BIG day and asked me to have confidence walking into that exam room because he knew that I can do this.

My goal was to get a 600 and I ended up getting a 670 (Q 44 V 38)! From 420-670, and I can?t thank Mark enough for teaching me the right way to deal with the Gmat and for believing me all the ways even when I doubt myself! If you are thinking of a tutor, Mark is definitely the right guy! Thank you Mark from the bottom of my heart.
Joined: Aug 7, 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 12, 2015
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Economics
Industry: Retail/Wholesale and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic Resources, Great Tutors

August 7, 2016
  • Teacher: Jayson Beatty
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 770

Signing up for 10 hours with a Manhattan Prep private tutor also gets you all of their books, the Official Guide, 6 CATs, interactive online classes, and the secretly important GMAT Navigator question analyzer. Each of those elements is extremely helpful.

In addition to being the man, Jayson Beatty was extremely helpful in nailing down the tough concepts and providing strategy and feedback. He helped to prioritize my focus and time and guided me to a good score on the GMAT (770). I give Jayson the highest praise.

All of the resources MGMAT provides can be extremely helpful if you invest in using them. Having a GMAT resource like Jayson is most helpful if you work on problems and concepts the rest of the week and come with questions. Having 1000s of pages is only helpful if you read them with focus and don't let yourself ignore things that you don't understand. Overall, Manhattan Prep gives you everything you could need to get a great score, and it's up to you to make the most of it. Manhattan Prep GMAT was absolutely fantastic for me, and I wholeheartedly recommend it.
Joined: Jul 20, 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 20, 2016
College: Villanova University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Joe is a GMAT assassin.

July 20, 2016
  • Teacher: Joseph Martin
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

This was my first tutor-pupil relationship, ever. I found Joe to be flexible and responsive - both of which are supremely important in a work-GMAT balancing act. He knows his stuff inside and out, and is a great guy. I took a diagnostic completely cold and scored a 610; I ended up with a 720 on GMAT #1. Highly recommend.

Thanks, Joe and Manhattan Prep!
Joined: Jul 8, 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 20, 2016
College: Cornell University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Dmitry Farber - Great Tutor For Any Level Student

July 8, 2016
  • Teacher: Dmitry Farber
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 770

Dmitry Farber was an exemplary tutor. He was very flexible with his schedule, and extremely well-prepared for our sessions, such that if I didn't have any specific material that I wanted to review, he was prepared with a full lesson as a backup. He is the absolute KING of metaphors, and you'll realize this if you work with him. But more importantly, he was incredibly understanding, has unlimited patience, and truly cares about drilling the knowledge into his students, rather than showcasing his intelligence. Meanwhile, it was obvious in our sessions that he is brilliant, but able to break down complex concepts in the simplest of ways to understand. I was unique in that I was ALMOST at the score I wanted when I first met with Dmitry, but he was able to give me 750+ score level advice and guidance, put together a study plan for me, and give me the tools so that in the end I was able to score above my initial target score. I would highly recommend Dmitry to anyone considering a private tutor, and I only wish I'd started working with him earlier. He's not only an outstanding tutor, but a great guy who cared about my success almost as much as I did.
Joined: Mar 13, 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 18, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Chelsey Cooley from Manhattan Prep is the best

May 30, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Trust me, paying that $250/hour for Chelsey, especially if you are just under 50 points away from your goal score, is totally worth it. I was struggling with quant - pretty much scored the same every practice exam for 2 months, then 3 hours with Chelsey, my score went up 50 points (in quant alone) within 3 weeks.

Chelsey zeros in on both your strengths and weaknesses and designs a study plan specific to your needs. I think she pretty much knows every single GMAT problem out there and can pick out specific problems that you need to practice. She's practical and to the point. I also feel that Chelsey sincerely cares about her students!
Joined: Feb 23, 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 19, 2016
College: Miami University
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Verified Real Student Review

Could not recommend more highly

February 23, 2016
  • Teacher: Joseph Martin
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

Briefly - I could not be more pleased by my experience with Joe Martin and Manhattan Prep. I was under significant timing pressure, with only one month to prepare for the GMAT, and was blown away by how much I was able to improve though my private tutoring work with Joe.

Joe's instruction, combined with the Manhattan Prep resources, were invaluable in helping me develop test taking strategies for both the quant and verbal and rebuild the math skills that I had neglected since high school.

I was ultimately able to achieve a score that would have been at the very highest range of my expectations when I began this process, and I could not be more satisfied with my experience and outcome.
Joined: Nov 16, 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 16, 2015
College: Barnard College
Major: American Studies
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Joe Martin Works GMAT Magic

November 16, 2015
  • Teacher: Joseph Martin
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 660

The short version: Joe is a gifted, enthusiastic, and patient teacher who helped me improve my score by over 100 points in less than two months of weekly tutoring sessions. Working with Joe made a top-tier MBA program a possibility for me. Work with him. Period. You won't regret it.

The long version: I'm an older candidate who graduated from a liberal arts school and hadn't touched math in nearly 10 years. I took Manhattan Prep's 9-week course and subsequently spent several months studying fundamental math concepts with a different tutor. Despite my efforts, I became frustrated by my progress and Manhattan Prep suggested that I work with Joe.

The difference was night and day. Joe is as humble as he is brilliant and clearly takes pride in helping his students succeed. During our first session, he listened to my concerns, asked pointed questions, and created a structured game plan that struck a balance between content review and test taking strategy. It was apparent that Joe not only has a masterful understanding of GMAT concepts and content, but is also a natural teacher who clearly enjoys working through the material with his students. For example, when I struggled with a problem, Joe would patiently think of different ways to explain the concept until I understood it. I started noticing improvement in my scores within weeks of working together, and was thrilled when I earned a 660 on my first official exam. (That might not sound very impressive to you GMAT snobs out there, but I started at a 410, so that's a victory in my book.) I truly can't recommend him enough; it's an investment that will definitely pay off.
Joined: Mar 26, 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 11, 2014
College: Utah State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very Knowledgeable Tutor But That Didn't Translate to An Improvement In My Score

March 26, 2015
  • Teacher: Mark Sullivan
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 550 After: 550

My assigned tutor with Manhattan GMAT was Mark Sullivan. I was impressed with his knowledge of the GMAT and recommended strategies to succeed. He made himself readily available and provided great resources to help me during our time. His e-mails were informative and always useful.

I didn't see improvement initially with my private tutoring but after a few sessions I began to gain some traction and improve my performance on my practice exams. He served as a great motivator to me when I wanted to quit, and he was able to talk me into sticking with it.

Unfortunately when it came to taking the exam, I saw no difference in my score on the Quant or Verbal section. Needless to say, after spending thousands of dollars on private customized tutoring I was pretty disappointed. As a result, I can't recommend this service to friends. I take responsibility that I may not be the brightest kid and one who has always struggled with formalized testing.

Mark was confident that if I were to retake the GMAT in a month I would be scoring where I was on my practice exams prior the exam (upper 600s). Fortunately for me, I was able to land a great consulting position shortly after taking the GMAT exam but that meant I was unable to get back in and take the exam when that tutoring was fresh.
Joined: Oct 9, 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 9, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Great Prep

October 9, 2014
  • Teacher: Jake Nicholson
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 720

I decided to sign up for Manhattan GMAT because my sister used this program and had great results.

I took the 9-week session and the depth that Ron Purewal explains each question helped me understand the core fundamental of each problem and alternative ways to solve a problem. The prep material that Manhattan provided was also very complete and had tons of practice problems for review.

After the 9-week course, I signed up for private tutoring with Jake Nicholson. He helped me develop a systematic approach to each problem, which allowed me to avoid careless mistakes and to logically think through each problem, no matter how complex it was.

My 1st practice test score from not knowing anything about GMAT was in the mid-500's. From my 1st official GMAT to my 2nd, I improved my score from 680 to 720. I am very happy with my score and highly recommend Manhattan GMAT for anyone who is preparing for the GMAT!
Joined: Sep 5, 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 3, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Brian Birdwell: GMAT Ninja

September 5, 2014
  • Teacher: Brian Birdwell
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 630 After: 680

Brian is an amazing teacher: he is not only extremely personable but also great at keeping the content fun and interesting. He does a great job at teaching the tricks of the trade, a lot of which there isn't time for in the online course. If you're looking to beat the GMAT, look no further than Brian Birdwell! Thanks B!
Joined: Jul 14, 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 15, 2014
College: University of Virginia
Major: History
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: Mexico
Verified Real Student Review

Avi Gutman A+

July 14, 2014
  • Teacher: Avi Gutman
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Avi Gutman and Manhattan GMAT are excellent. Avi is exceptional at what he does. Great teacher, explains concepts clearly, understands the strengths/weaknesses/challenges of each student and has well-articulated blog posts that explain tricky concepts.

Whether as a course or private tutoring, I would recommend Avi and Manhattan GMAT to anyone taking the test.
Joined: Jun 1, 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 14, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend MGMAT for a 700 Score

June 1, 2014
  • Teacher: Kyle Widdison
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 720

I would highly recommend MGMAT to anyone wanting to score in the 700's. I first took a Veritas Prep class, which was fine, it helped me get a 680. As I continued to study though, I felt like I plateaued; I wasn't able to further improve on my practice tests.

Soon after I took the test I bought the MGMAT books and started studying on my own. I started to improve again as I feel I learned the content of the test material much better. MGMAT has the best content of any GMAT test prep I've come across. Other companies largely just teach tips and good guessing techniques, as opposed to how to actually understand the content on the test..

Along with using the MGMAT materials I also met with Kyle Widdison, a Manhattan private tutor. He was fantastic. He really listed to my concerns and tried to understand what was holding me back. He's very down to earth and pragmatic. Kyle helped me focus my study efforts very quickly and I started to see immediate improvement. Not only did he help me understand the test material better, he helped me to have a better mental game while taking it. A