• Target Test Prep's 2024 GMAT Focus Edition prep is discounted for the BTG community!

    Redeem

GMAT Focus Course Best Promo Code 2024 & Verified Reviews!

Manhattan Prep was created in response to the growing demand for high quality GMAT preparation. Our mission at Manhattan Prep is to provide students with the skills and strategies essential for success, given today's higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: Focus on the GMAT; Superior Curriculum; Real Teachers

Joined: Jun 9, 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 24, 2014
College: Georgia Institute of Technology
Major: Manufacturing Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

San11 GMAT Experience

June 9, 2014
  • Teacher: Emily Sledge and Whitney Garner
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

I took the Manhattan GMAT 9 Week Online Course from February to April with Emily Sledge and Whitney Garner. After 3 months of hard work, I scored a way past initial my target score (730)! I couldn't have done it without Manhattan GMAT.

The instructors, Emily Sledge and Whitney Garner, at Manhattan GMAT were very friendly and outgoing. They had a deep understanding of the exam and were able to explain problem solutions clearly. I was a little skeptical about class participation in an online class initially, but I was able to easily interact with the instructors throughout the course. They picked excellent problems to work on to learn the concepts and took the time to analyze each answer choice on why it was wrong. I found myself quickly being able to learn concepts from class. The class also gave a structured homework schedule on problems to read every week and strategy guide chapters to read.

Thanks for All Your Help!
Joined: Jun 4, 2014
Purchased Course: Dec 30, 2013
College: Washington & Lee University
Major: Accounting
Industry: Sports
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Course Review

June 4, 2014
  • Teacher: Jonathan Schneider
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

Great course. All teachers are great, but I think Jonathan Schneider is the best. My score increased 110 points from the first practice test until the actual exam. The online resources are extremely valuable on their own and are available for 9 months after the course ends. You are provided with an amazing amount of resources.
Joined: Jun 4, 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 16, 2014
Major: Economics
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great class but not super necessary!

June 4, 2014
  • Teacher: Keith
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

The quality of the materials (MGMAT books) were A+! My instructor was knowledgable and intereting. I actually missed 3 classes but was able to make them up after the course since they have sessions going on at different times of the week. I don't think the classes themselves were very helpful, but the materials and the schedule really motivated me to keep up with the class. I was also able to get a discount as a current student. The practice tests were awesome as well! I improved by 90 points.
Joined: Jun 2, 2014
Purchased Course: Nov 7, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Great course - would absolutely recommend

June 2, 2014
  • Teacher: Rey Fernandez
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

Took the 9 week course in SF - absolutely loved it. I found class to be extremely engaging - the detailed walk-throughs of practice problems were very helpful when it came to mastering the content. The online materials were fantastic as well, as they made it very easy to track progress and identify weaknesses. I would recommend this course to anyone thinking about taking the GMAT, regardless of what their score goals are!
Joined: Jun 1, 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 14, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend MGMAT for a 700 Score

June 1, 2014
  • Teacher: Kyle Widdison
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 720

I would highly recommend MGMAT to anyone wanting to score in the 700's. I first took a Veritas Prep class, which was fine, it helped me get a 680. As I continued to study though, I felt like I plateaued; I wasn't able to further improve on my practice tests.

Soon after I took the test I bought the MGMAT books and started studying on my own. I started to improve again as I feel I learned the content of the test material much better. MGMAT has the best content of any GMAT test prep I've come across. Other companies largely just teach tips and good guessing techniques, as opposed to how to actually understand the content on the test..

Along with using the MGMAT materials I also met with Kyle Widdison, a Manhattan private tutor. He was fantastic. He really listed to my concerns and tried to understand what was holding me back. He's very down to earth and pragmatic. Kyle helped me focus my study efforts very quickly and I started to see immediate improvement. Not only did he help me understand the test material better, he helped me to have a better mental game while taking it. After meeting with him and studying with the MGMAT materials I boosted my score to a 720.
Joined: May 14, 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 27, 2014
College: University of Virginia
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Gmat improved my score 110 pints

May 14, 2014
  • Teacher: David Chong
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

I believe taking the Manhattan GMAT course was the difference between me getting an okay score and me getting my goal score. I am a very motivated person and have always been a good student but having the GMAT really focused my efforts. Before starting I had no idea how to approach the Data Sufficiency questions or Critical Reasoning questions. During class, David really emphasized the skills in the course and reviewed the wrong answers. I think that is what helped me the most is seeing the little differences between right and wrong.

It was towards the end of my studying when I got frustrated and actually had a huge drop in my score (620). It was the second to last practice test I took. After that, I reevaulated how to approach the questions specifically the Critical Reasoning and Sentence Correction. I thought of how David kept emphasizing how one wrong word could make the difference and how the whole sentence correction needed to be right. That was what really got me over the hump on my last practice test (700) and finally on test day to my 720!

I encourage everyone who is hesitant to spend the money on the class. It is worth the investment. The GMAT is a long and tiring test and the skills and shortcuts they teach you in class make you stay focused on the task at hand and really improve your score.
Joined: May 13, 2014
Purchased Course: Feb 10, 2014
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Critical Assessment of Weaknesses & Online Resources

May 13, 2014
  • Teacher: Ryan Jacobs
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

The course, instructor (Ryan Jacobs), and materials were all extremely helpful and very well thought-out. The lessons were helpful in challenging the class while taking the time to explain or re-explain concepts if necessary. While I ultimately think I could have learned some of the material on my own (which is what you do by doing the homework), I believe that the most beneficial aspect of the class was the deep analysis of my performance, progress and areas of improvement.

The online analysis of the practice tests and the practice questions (OG Archer - which use the Original Guide, but add better explanation) was critical to my score improving. I was able to identify both general areas of opportunity, as well as very detailed issues like timing with very specific types of questions. I relied on Manhattan GMAT to develop a strong foundation for the core concepts, then did every practice question I could get my hands on. Their explanations were so much easier to understand than any other resource I could find.

They also provide a free private session to review your practice tests and help you determine a personalized study strategy for your exam. This was very valuable for me as I was able to pinpoint key areas of improvement that made a big difference in my score. I ultimately improved 200 points from my diagnostic and ended up receiving a score in the top 700's. I would strongly recommend this course - worth the investment!
Joined: May 12, 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 13, 2014
Major: Accounting
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A one-hour private tutoring session took me to the next level.

May 12, 2014
  • Teacher: Marc Fienberg
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

I purchased the MGMAT materials second-hand and pursued a self-study strategy.

I was stuck between 700 and 720 on all my practice exams, but was hoping to get into the mid-700s. Enter Marc Fienberg. I thought a 1-hour private tutoring session would really help me go to the next level in my scoring. I was paired with Marc, who was a great instructor. He asked me beforehand (via email) what I was struggling with and what I thought I needed. While private tutoring costs as much as a 1st year associate at a top law firm, the money was well spent for me. Marc was able to quickly talk me through my struggles and give me concise, helpful tips that I used during the remainder of my study time and the actual exam.

On test day, I ended up getting higher than I got an any of the ~7 practice exams I ever took.
Joined: May 12, 2014
Purchased Course: Dec 5, 2013
College: University of Pennsylvania
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Turn your weakest areas into your strengths Manhattan GMAT

May 12, 2014
  • Teacher: Abby Berry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I would highly recommend the Manhattan GMAT prep course for anyone serious about scoring above 700 on the GMAT. I took the 9-week course on UPenn's campus in Philadelphia, and took the test one month after the end of the course.
Manhattan GMAT provided me with enough practice questions to last an entire semester. The other online resources, such as the IR Interact videos, practice exams, and drill sheets, allowed me to customize my studying to address my weakest areas.
In previous standardized tests, my verbal scores had always lagged well behind my math scores. The strategy guides, combined with the in-class teaching, allowed me to raise my verbal score by over 100 points to score 98th percentile on the actual GMAT exam. Overall, I would highly recommend this prep course.
Joined: May 5, 2014
Purchased Course: Nov 14, 2013
College: Colgate University
Major: Sociology
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan GMAT materials make all the difference

May 5, 2014
  • Teacher: Ryan Jacobs
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I took the Manhattan GMAT 9-session prep course, and would be happy to recommend it to anyone interested. The teacher of my course, Ryan Jacobs, is perfect for a class of this style. His high energy style always kept me engaged, and he was always careful to not get too bogged on any one problem during the course.

The real key to Manhattan GMAT though is the materials they provide you with. The course is great, but the syllabus and accompanying books give each student a step-by-step process to follow until they ultimately take the GMAT. My biggest concern before I started studying was that I would eventually run out of material to review, but during the course I was able to follow the GMAT syllabus, and in the ~1 month after the course and before my test I had ample test questions to practice and review.

Additionally, the customer service from Manhattan is great. If I had a question I could always expect a prompt response, even on the weekend.

While I cannot speak to the quality of other GMAT prep companies, Manhattan certainly provides a great service.
Joined: Apr 30, 2014
Purchased Course: Feb 29, 2012
College: University of Virginia
Major: Economics
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan GMAT is the best, bar none!

April 30, 2014
  • Teacher: Tony Calderone
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

I can't say enough great things about Manhattan GMAT! I scored a 760 and was admitted to two Top 5 b-schools - none of which would have been possible without Manhattan's excellent instructors and program. I would highly recommend Manhattan to anyone heading down the b-school route.
Joined: Apr 24, 2014
Purchased Course: Feb 4, 2014
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Incredible instructor teaches useful testing strategies

April 24, 2014
  • Teacher: Abby Berry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

Abby is an incredibly upbeat, knowledgeable, and helpful instructor. She is always eager to hear students attempt answers, and can always turn an off-the-mark response into a learning opportunity for the class. I highly recommend her with no reservations whatsoever - she made GMAT prep both more interesting and efficient than it would have been had I studied on my own.

Manhattan GMAT?s books that come included with the class are comprehensive and helpful. At times there is too much focus on extremely basic information, but that can?t be helped considering the diverse target audience. I found the verbal subject area books to be less helpful, but the math subject area books were superb at helping me cover holes in my foundational knowledge. The included Official Guide questions and answers were key to my studying process.

MGMAT alone can?t get you a good score, but as long as you are willing to put in the time and work, I?m confident that score improvements will come.
Joined: Apr 23, 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 29, 2013
College: Northwestern University
Major: Economics
Industry: Retailing/Wholesaling
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Comprehensive GMAT Study - great focus on Quant

April 23, 2014
  • Teacher: Haakon Brown and Chris Brusznicki
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 680

Absolutely loved the instruction and materials. My two instructors were approachable, helpful and always willing to answer questions either after class or via email. I enjoyed the communication among the class, and would highly recommend MGMAT to anyone interested in pursuing a high score! I improved 110 points and attribute the increase to not only the instruction but also the OG Archer and quantity of problems and explanations.
Joined: Apr 14, 2014
Purchased Course: Feb 11, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Fun class, but guides are good enough.

April 14, 2014
  • Teacher: Faruk Bursal
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 770

The class, as it is taught, is OK. I realized that I would've done just as good had I just studied on my own with the manhattan guides (which are phenomenal). However, going to class was a pleasure because Faruk made it fun and engaging. I looked forward to class every week for this reason.

Here is how Manhattan can improve their program:
- Make the process of KEEPING TRACK OF WEAK AREAS easier and more fluid for students. Right now, Navigator is a little clunky and is not optimal. It also doesn't sync well with other study materials. Maybe Manhattan can design some sort of a portal for students to flesh out and keep track of their weak areas. This is key to doing well on the GMAT (especially for scoring 700+): identifying weak areas and focusing on those.
- Connect all the material we learn in each class. The classes seem separate and disjointed.
Joined: Apr 10, 2014
Purchased Course: Dec 23, 2013
College: Emory University
Major: Political Science
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Materials provided by Manhattan GMAT

April 10, 2014
  • Teacher: Rey Fernandez
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

Manhattan does a wonderful job providing you with all the materials you will need with your studies (study guides, practice questions, practice exams, test prep booklet, and more) and gives you a plan of action (which lays out a weekly reading guid, practice problem guide, and practice exam guide). Without these materials and plan of action, I would have been lost in my studies. Manhattan also provides you with numerous full length exams scored in a similar algorithm to the actual GMAT.

I found the quantitative materials to be very helpful, as I had forgotten most of my high school math (which is essentially what the GMAT tests). I followed the syllabus diligently, read all of the quant reading, and completed all of the quant practice problems. My quant score raised dramatically from my first practice exam to my actual GMAT.

I came into the class already very strong in Verbal, and most of the Verbal material was designed for students who started a bit weaker. So although I learned a few useful tips, I did not gain much from the Verbal Review.

My instructor was a really great guy - friendly, enthusiastic, and helpful. The 9 3-hour sessions are somewhat helpful, but I definitely found self study of the Manhattan materials to be more helpful.

Overall, I definitely recommend Manhattan!
Joined: Apr 3, 2014
Purchased Course: Feb 17, 2012
Verified Real Student Review

Quality GMAT Data Sufficiency Prep

April 4, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 660

The Quest for 750 Data Sufficiency Prep allows you to quickly develop your quant data sufficiency skills in a short amount of time. You can easily figure out where your strengths are and where your gaps are so you know where to focus your studying The software works well and is user-friendly. The course is an interactive class despite being virtual.
Joined: Apr 2, 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 15, 2014
College: University of California Berkeley
Major: Economics
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Resources, Excellent Teacher

April 2, 2014
  • Teacher: Eric Garthoffner
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I would highly recommend Manhattan GMAT to anyone preparing to take the GMAT. My experience with MGMAT was extremely positive. I took the 9-session course with Eric Garthoffner, a wonderful instructor who not only is entertaining, but also is invested in his students? success. MGMAT provides so many resources to help its students succeed on the GMAT. You are given the tools you need to strategize and come up with a game plan specific for you. Their tips and strategies make studying easy to tackle.
Joined: Apr 1, 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 27, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend Manhattan GMAT

April 1, 2014
  • Teacher: Jonathan Schneider
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

The nine week prep class was incredibly valuable and I cannot speak highly enough about my teacher Jonathan Schneider. Jonathan is the rare kind of teacher that can craft a lesson to make sure you register the information while also being fun and engaging. The prep course involves a lot of work, I probably averaged around 10 hours a week of work, but it made a huge difference. I wound up getting a 710 on my first time taking the test, this after a 400 on the first practice test.
Joined: Mar 25, 2014
Purchased Course: Dec 4, 2013
College: Emory University
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Resources and Teacher Quality

March 25, 2014
  • Teacher: Stacey Koprince
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

I would highly recommend taking Manhattan GMAT to prepare for the test. My experience with Manhattan has been nothing but positive. I chose to take the online course with Stacey Koprince and Marcus Hedahl, two wonderful teachers who were extremely invested in your learning experience. The course provided excellent study materials, ranging from in-depth study guides/books, an online bank of question analysis (OG Archer), and online labs. The quality of the instructors cannot be beaten - their enthusiastic attitude was very encouraging, and they shared useful tips and strategies that made studying much easier (and also kind of fun)! Overall, this was an excellent guide to getting the score you want.
Joined: Mar 25, 2014
Purchased Course: Dec 5, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Good course, great materials

March 25, 2014
  • Teacher: Mira Leytes
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

Thought the course itself was as good as expected. Should expect people from all different levels in your class - including some students who may not speak English natively. The value in the course is really the materials and schedule they provide to keep you on track. The online course material is really grade A.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 17 18 19 20 21