Test Prep Companies

EMPOWERgmat

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Nov 15, 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 4, 2018
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

30 point improvement in less than a month - GMAT710

November 15, 2018
  • Teacher: Rich, Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 710

I had given the GMAT twice before each time scoring less than my target score of 700+. Both times, I had tried using different strategies, practicing with Official Guides, GMATPrep mocks and Veritas books. Self-study just wasn't working and I wasn't able to figure out why.

I, then, decided to take an online course and chose EmpowerGMAT, quite honestly, because it was among the cheapest ones I could find and I needed a short guarantee program since deadlines for the second round were coming closer. I wasn't too skeptical since the Empower program had really good reviews and I had seen Rich's comment on GMAT forums to believe that the program would be helpful in achieving my goals. And I was proven right.

The program is structured extremely well and questions are present with gradual difficulty levels which helped me gain confidence over the topics. Rich and Max's videos were really well thought-out and they basically not only teach you everything you need to know but also tricks and exam strategies which are extremely helpful during the actual exam. In particular, I used to always try to answer every question and used to end up missing out on the questions at the end of each section. Empower's pacing strategy and how to skip questions completely changed the way I approached the exam. For the verbal section, my weakest section was SC and the Empower Concept videos helped improve my SC to the level that I barely used to get any SC wrong in the practise tests. Even their simple motivational podcasts and general exam strategies were so great.

They also provide a lot of extra resources as well like the GMATPrep Exams at a discounted price and a phone call with a counselor to review your essays.

Overall, the EmpowerGMAT course is the best decision I made regarding my GMAT. I would genuinely recommend this program to everyone, especially retakers. Also, a big thumbs up to their customer support team!
Joined: Nov 13, 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 8, 2018
College: University of Alberta
Major: Economics
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Best way to Approach the GMAT

November 13, 2018
  • Teacher: Stacy Wilson
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 690

When I started the process to apply to business school, I originally thought the GMAT would be the easiest portion due to my background as a CFA and Investment advisory. However on my first attempt I scored a 650 and realized that I would probably need to prepare before I took an actual attempt. I found EMPOWERgmat online and heard great reviews, so I jumped in and followed the course format. Since I had a limited time of 1-2 months, I took the fast track course and spent 2-3 hours every day. The tricks and practice they provide really gave me an edge in increasing my score. I ended up getting a 690 on my actual try, even though I had achieved a 720 on a practice exam. Regardless, this score was above the average of what I needed and am more than happy with the outcome.
Joined: Oct 31, 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 3, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT or bust

October 31, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 610 After: 710

I started my GMAT studying about 6 months ago and wasted a lot of time with an expensive tutor and going about studying with no plan. My first test in August was a disaster. I got a 610 and I was SO upset.

I took about a month break and had to get surgery. I wanted to reset and figure out my new plan.
I started doing some research on what online program/tutoring to do going forward as I wasn?t going back to spending 150 plus on a tutoring session. I landed on EmpowerGMAT. Fast forward to Oct 1. I made my game plan, an attack strategy of sorts. I was going to follow Empower?s one-month guide to studying and take the test Oct 30th.

I 100000 % made the right call.

I am not going to lie and say I just did it causally and everything worked out, I straight up GRINDED for four weeks everyday. I spent hours day in and day out working through all of their lessons. It was 100 dollars for the month and the best money I have ever spent. I learned so much more from those videos than I ever did with any other material/tactic. They had advice and guidance I had never come across before and it was working. My CAT?s and practice problems were showing the results I wanted. I scored a 730 on my next CAT about 2 weeks into the month. I felt stronger than ever answering every type of question. You know in school when you finally understand a subject or piece of material and then afterwards you could nail it every time? That?s how I finally felt; it was all clicking. The lessons and practice problems were helpful and to the point. Yesterday, I took my second (and final!!) test. I scored a 710 and couldn?t be happier. I attribute so much of my success to EmpowerGMAT. If you are willing to do the lessons and take the time, it will improve your score?no DOUBT.
Joined: Apr 22, 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 24, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

580 (Q44 V26) to 670 (Q45 V37) in 2 Months!

October 4, 2018
  • Teacher: Rich, Max, Stacy
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 580 After: 670

6/23/18 - Official GMAT #1 - 580 - Q44 - V26
10/1/18 - Official GMAT #2 - 670 - Q45 - V37

I owe my 90 point increase entirely to EMPOWERgmat.

I self-studied for 1 month and got a 580. I was miserable and I wasn't sure if I could beat the GMAT. I took the month of July off from studying as I decided what my new approach would be. I knew I learned best through instructional videos. I don't like in-class instruction and I wanted it to be self-paced. Another big thing is PRICE. The GMAT exam is expensive enough, I didn't want to spend $1000 on a class - that's outrageous and unnecessary. Then I found EMPOWERgmat. I went through their trial period and I knew within a few minutes that this was the class for me. You pay $99 a month so if you can finish the whole online course in one month then you save money!

It took me two months to complete the entire Score Booster EMPOWERgmat course. I started studying on August 1st, 2018 and my GMAT retake was scheduled for October 1st, 2018. I do work full time and I honestly wasn't as diligent as I could have been. Had I studied more consistently (as opposed to just utilizing my weekends) I could have gotten a 700+.

Rich and Max's videos were amazing and they teach you everything you need to know. They taught me that the "trap" answers that always got me are actually punishment answers because I was doing something wrong. They also told me I can SKIP certain questions. I was shocked by that and I found it difficult in the beginning to skip hard/time consuming questions. Once I started skipping 3-4 questions in both Quant and 2-3 in Verbal, my practice scores shot up to 690. Now, given my goal sore of 650, I didn't focus as much on the Quant section because I was always within a range of 44-46, which was fine for me. What I needed to focus on was the Verbal section and the strategies for solving each type of problem. The strategies I learned from EMPOWERgmat were critical in improving my verbal score by 11 points! Only in the one week before my exam did I do official GMAT questions outside of those presented in the EMPOWERgmat course. So, as I said, if you put in more practice than I did, you can get a 700+ with the strategies taught to you by EMPOWERgmat.

Quant: Rich's videos helped me sooo much with pacing. I always ran out of time during my practice exams so I always got a bunch of questions wrong at the end. And the questions at the end are almost always GETABLE. The GMAT puts them there to reward the people who are doing well on time. Also, I was finally getting number property and overlapping set questions correct thanks to the strategies that Rich taught. If you struggle in math, Rich will teach you all the basics and then the tricks to make you better.

Verbal: Max taught me strategies I never knew I needed. I thought I could get by on Verbal because its just reading words. Nope. I needed those strategies in order to get an 11 point increase in my verbal score. After watching all the verbal section videos, SC was finally easy, I was able to knock out the 3 wrong answer types on CR, and RC was actually simple if you spend more time reading the passage! I hated the Verbal section of the GMAT, it was never my strong suit. But Max's videos were so amazing that I started to enjoy some of the questions because for the first time, I KNEW I was choosing the correct answer, I wasn't just guessing between 2-3 answers. The most important thing I learn from Max is how to choose the right answer when you've narrowed it down to two answers. That strategy helped me the most because I always got it down to a 50/50 shot, but I always chose wrong.

Overall, EMPOWERgmat is the best course out there. It's inexpensive compared to others, it's self-paced, and they provide so many other benefits with the class (they set you up with an advisor, they have an option for a 30 min phone call with a pro to look at your admissions essays/profile, you can get GMAT official exams at a discounted price). EMPOWERgmat is the best bang for your buck. The team is incredibly helpful and I've already recommended the course o multiple friends and colleagues who want to take the beast that is the GMAT. You won't regret choosing EMPOWERgmat. Start with their free trial, I promise you will like it.

Good luck and happy studies!
Joined: Apr 18, 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 12, 2018
College: Vassar College
Major: Environmental Studies
Industry: Agribusiness
Country: Colombia
Verified Real Student Review

Nailing a 710 with EMPOWERGmat

September 3, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 630 After: 710

Everyone I knew was recommending a private tutor, but I was worried about both the price and the inability to move completely at my own pace. I am super super happy I stumbled on EMPOWERgmat. I went from a 630 to a 710 after working with them, and saw an incredible improvement in my Verbal score (from 82nd percentile to 98th!).

Verbal: I really enjoyed Max's videos on the verbal section. The dude knows this part of the exam inside and out, and through his videos, he gives you great insight into how he approaches each question and arrives at the right answer. I had worked with other prep books before so it took a little time for me to be completely won over by the new approach, but it really worked wonders. When it came to Verbal, I just tried to pretend I was Max and approach each question exactly as he would. In fact, the process became quite fun as I began to see the little tricks and stumbling blocks the test writers like to throw at us. I found his SC approach the most helpful, and improved greatly. Before Empower, I was having a ton of problems with SC and didn't know why! I learned quickly I was focusing on all the wrong things.

Quant: While I really enjoyed Rick's videos and approach as well, I didn't see the improvement I was hoping for in the quant section, and I'm still not sure why. I went from a 38 to a 42, but that still left me in the 43%, which for me was quite disappointing, as I don't consider myself to be bad at math. Rick is an absolute master at the quant section and while studying, I felt like I was picking up a ton of knowledge and techniques that would help me. However, I continued to struggle with Quant through my CATs and finally, on my official exam. When I was looking for a program to sign up with, many people recommended EMPOWER explicitly for the quant. Again, while I felt like I was learning a ton with Rick's videos, I am nervous to personally recommend this section, as I didn't see much improvement. However, I think with a little more time and review, I could have been much more successful with the guidance and help of Rick.

Overall: Studying and eventually taking the GMAT is a real pain, especially when so many of us already have pretty full schedules. I found working with videos much more effective than books as they do a better job of drawing in and holding your attention. EMPOWER's videos are all carefully thought out, and engaging enough that you aren't desperately trying to not fall asleep. The syllabus is also laid out in a way that takes the guess work out of planning your study schedule. I would feel more than comfortable recommending these guys to anyone. They are damn good at what they do and clearly take their work very seriously. Keep calm and Empower On.
Joined: Aug 17, 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 10, 2018
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Best self-pased course for retakers!

August 29, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 720

Empowergmat helped me boost my score by 40 points in a less than a month. I had given the GMAT twice before, each time getting the same score despite using different tactics and extensively practicing with the Official guides and official mocks. I switched to Empower for my third attempt because after my 2nd one i realised that self-study was not working for me and i really needed a game- changing strategy as i was looking a score boost of a minimum 40 points.

I chose the Empower 1 month plan after reading so many positive reviews about them on gmat forums. I honestly was skeptical because i hadn't heard of any friends or colleagues use the platform before. But as soon as i started with the trial, i was convinced of the simplicity and effective approach followed. The concept videos are structured in a very thoughtful manner and makes every topic seem easy and intuitive. My ESRs from the previous attempts had indicated that my weakest area in verbal was SC so i was primarily focused on improving my SC sccuracy. I would recommend anyone who shares the same weakness to watch their SC concept videos atleast twice to etch them in your mind. My verbal score jumped from 35 in the last two attempts to 41 with just 3 weeks of prep.

I also really liked the mini clinics to teach quant formulae and the podcasts to boost confidence before every mock. Would definitely recommend the software especially for retakers who have tried to get the desired score in conventional ways and failed. Lastly, i haven't seen a more proactive customer support in any professional service i have ever taken. The response time in under 30 mins for any questions and they go out of their way to provide you with all the help they can.
Joined: Aug 17, 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 10, 2018
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Best self-pased course for retakers!

August 21, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 720

Empowergmat helped me boost my score by 40 points in a less than a month. I had given the GMAT twice before, each time getting the same score despite using different tactics and extensively practicing with the Official guides and official mocks. I switched to Empower for my third attempt because after my 2nd one i realised that self-study was not working for me and i really needed a game- changing strategy as i was looking a score boost of a minimum 40 points.

I chose the Empower 1 month plan after reading so many positive reviews about them on gmat forums. I honestly was skeptical because i hadn't heard of any friends or colleagues use the platform before. But as soon as i started with the trial, i was convinced of the simplicity and effective approach followed. The concept videos are structured in a very thoughtful manner and makes every topic seem easy and intuitive. My ESRs from the previous attempts had indicated that my weakest area in verbal was SC so i was primarily focused on improving my SC sccuracy. I would recommend anyone who shares the same weakness to watch their SC concept videos atleast twice to etch them in your mind. My verbal score jumped from 35 in the last two attempts to 41 with just 3 weeks of prep.

I also really liked the mini clinics to teach quant formulae and the podcasts to boost confidence before every mock. Would definitely recommend the software especially for retakers who have tried to get the desired score in conventional ways and failed. Lastly, i haven't seen a more proactive customer support in any professional service i have ever taken. The response time in under 30 mins for any questions and they go out of their way to provide you with all the help they can.
Joined: Aug 7, 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 17, 2018
College: Connecticut College
Major: Environmental Studies
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT - great value & results. Highly recommend.

August 7, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I relied exclusively on EmpowerGMAT for my test prep, and it paid off. The platform provides study guides to users who want a structured study plan, but also allows flexibility to users who want to focus their study time on particular weak areas (for example, I focused 100% of my study efforts on Quant b/c I didn't need the help on Verbal.) The practice problems and accompanying video lessons provide clear and easy-to-follow guidance for answering each question, and the quizzes leverage the GMAT Official Guide, so you can be confident your practicing on problems that closely mimic the real thing.

Throughout the "mini lessons," Rich acknowledges that there are multiple ways to solve a problem, but shows you the best (i.e. fastest) way to solve them, and gives you clear guidance for employing those strategies wherever possible to pick up valuable seconds/minutes on Test Day. He also shares strategic insight into how the test works and what the test-makers are really looking for, which helped me get more comfortable with triaging questions and drastically improved my time management.

The people at EmpowerGMAT are really helpful and proactive in ensuring you're satisfied with your test prep materials. When my first attempt at the test didn't go the way I'd hoped, they were quick to offer me a month of complimentary access, and Rich provided his feedback on my Enhanced Score Report to help me focus my study efforts prior to my next attempt. I was regularly impressed by the value I got from EmpowerGMAT, and at a price point far below what many of the leading test prep courses charge, it is undoubtedly worth the money. I highly recommend.
Joined: Jul 7, 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 8, 2018
College: Harvard University
Major: Chemistry
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT Quant Booster

July 7, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

My first ever practice gmat without any studying I scored a 680 and was really stuck at 680 for a while, with my quant score always bringing me down. After 2.5 months of studying, my math knowledge was where it needed to be, but I didn't have a good strategy to tackle the section. I stumbled upon EmpowerGmat while looking for resources and was drawn to the 30 day Quant Booster. I loved the videos, the structured approach and checklist of things to do. It was helpful for me to have a set list of tasks that I had to accomplish in a given timeline. It made studying feel much more guided and gave me a tangible goal.

What I learned most from EmpowerGMAT was strategy on how to complete the test, and it applied to every section, not just Quant. I had triage techniques, frameworks for timing and pacing myself, and learned more about how to skip a question and move on to another to still get a high score. At the end, my final gmat score was a 720 which is exactly where I wanted it.

I would definitely recommend EmpowerGMAT for anyone looking for structured approach to studying. It will not substitute coming up with your own general strategy and approach (no gmat prep site should), but it is a fantastic way to hone in concepts you're less comfortable with, and provides a lot of helpful problem sets for you to work through. You can use it in the beginning of your studies, or if you're stuck months into studying.

Thanks Empower for the help!
Joined: Jan 13, 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 25, 2018
Major: Philosophy
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Learn the Right Approach -- Test It!

May 19, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: 730

After taking the GMAT for the first time last December, I felt like even though I had a solid foundation for the material, my approach still needed a little work. I had already gone through the video lessons offered through Magoosh and learned the Quant basics in the Target Test Prep course leading up to my first attempt. I came away from my first test feeling alright, but like there had to be a better approach to the questions. I emailed Rich directly and asked him for some insight. He was glad to look over my enhanced score report and offer his thoughts on moving forward from there. He had mentioned the Test It method, and it definitely sparked my interest. I ended up going through the all of the lessons on the Test It and Test the Answer approach and review lessons offered through Empower a few times and ended up coming out of my second attempt 20 points higher! So much for not being able to improve an already over 700 score. I could not have done it without Empower's approach to questions. I was able to triage every question right away and get through the entire test. Thanks Rich!
Joined: May 17, 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 28, 2018
College: Northwestern University
Major: Biology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Engaging, easy to tailor to your needs, responsive!

May 17, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

I loved EMPOWERgmat for many reasons. First, the quality of the practices and the explanation videos was incredible. The software really encouraged you to work through problems on your own first, and then giving you an in-depth explanation, which I feel is the best way to learn. It's also easy to customize this course for yourself. You click through the videos and you can focus more on what works for you and less on what you don't need as much help with. Lastly, whenever I had a question or an issue, the people at EMPOWER were extremely responsive and helpful. Overall, I highly recommend this course! I bumped up my score by almost 100 points using the tactics from EMPOWERgmat and I'm positive that everyone would experience similar results!
Joined: Mar 19, 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 30, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Great study experience with Rich and Max

April 17, 2018
  • Teacher: Rich and Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 610 After: 670

After a 610 on January 26th 2018, I have decided to purchase a month of the Empower Gmat course. Before, I did just the OG exercises, but they clearly weren't enough for me, since they only gave me the basics of the Gmat, not the answers to the most difficult questions.
Result after just than a month: 670 Q46 V34, and I am aware that my score could have been even higher. Max and Rich teaching method is incredibly easy but very effective: many small lessons with exercises in between. My passion for mathematics brought me to enjoy more the quant part than the verbal one, even though I had the most important increase in V from 28 to 34.

Highly recommended.

P.S.: their slogan "Gmat assasins aren't born, they are made" is not just a slogan but a lesson to keep in mind while preparing for the Gmat.

Giorgio Pagani
Milan, Italy
Joined: Apr 11, 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 14, 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Loved this tool so much!

April 11, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

I absolutely loved using this tool and felt that is properly prepared me for the GMAT! I ended up getting a score that was 750+ and attribute a lot of that to EMPOWERgmat approach.

The on-demand videos were engaging, informative, and taught me how to properly take the test (not just simply do math or sentence construction). The approach to teaching the content was organized and followed a logical approach that empowered me to grasp key concepts, practice doing problems, and receive almost instant feedback. The overall tone of the entire tool is casual enough to make you feel engaged, not intimidated, but the content demonstrates absolutely expertise and masterly of the GMAT. Additionally, I liked the recommendations that Rich makes about how to take the test well - the preparation meant that I felt cool, calm, and collected when I took the test.
Joined: Mar 8, 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 19, 2017
College: University of Delhi
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWER worked like magic!

March 9, 2018
  • Teacher: Rich and Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 560 After: 650

I had studied the GMAT curriculum from a coaching institute earlier and that too for about 3 months. But when I started with the mocks, it got difficult for me to finish on time especially in the Verbal section as I always ended up missing questions. Also, in Quants my scaled score was completely stuck on a 42 out of 60. No matter how much I practiced, there wasn't any improvement somehow, barely a point or so. In my mocks I was always in the range of 550-600. I gave my GMAT and scored a 560. I knew no way to push my score as I had pretty much exhausted the Manhattan mocks and practiced from Official GMAT Prep, Veritas and sources. That's when I read about EmpowerGMAT online and enrolled for just a month as the college application deadlines were around the corner.

I must say EMPOWER has been my savior. Rich and Max taught me different ways to attack questions and how to save time. TEST IT technique in Quants worked wonders for me and my Quants score got pushed up. This technique actually helped me solve questions in less than a minute and earlier similar questions took at least 2 mins. TRIAGE technique has been a marvel. My score got pushed from a 560 to 650, all thanks to EMPOWER. The team is way quick with their reverts, whenever I had some issue or doubts, I mailed it to the team and got a revert in maximum 2 hours. This course is MUST for anyone aspiring for a high GMAT score! Kudos!
Joined: Jan 19, 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 16, 2016
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWER gets results!

March 6, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: 730

EMPOWERgmat is the best GMAT prep service I have used. Prior to using EMPOWER's services I have scored a 710 on the GMAT. After receiving admission to INSEAD and having some extra time on my hands I decided to give the GMAT another shot to boost my resume.

Overall, I spent two weeks with the program and focused on both the quant and verbal portions of the course. The main advantage that EMPOWER offers that other providers such as Magoosh and egmat (I have used them both prior) do not are the test taking strategies. While the test taking strategies seem very intuitive and obvious, it provides the test taker with a framework and guideline to follow during the last 10 questions on Quant or last 15 on Verbal when the test taker's brain becomes mush and can no longer function. The GMAT is not only a skill best test ( it is to a point) but also a logic and organization test. At the 700+ level, the test taker who can maintain confidence and poise during the exam will reach his or her dream score (of course, accounting for the +/- 30 point variability).

Overall, this course is great and I am glad I found it.
Joined: Mar 5, 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 9, 2018
College: Purdue University
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience with EMPOWERGmat

March 5, 2018
  • Teacher: Rich and Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

I am very happy with the training I received from EMPOWERGmat. The best thing about the course is that it is very structured. It has the flexibility that allows you to adjust the pace according to where you stand in your GMAT prep. the recommended duration for the curse is 3 months, however since I wanted to take the GMAT in March, it only gave me 7 weeks to prepare. this meant that I had to study more than what the course duration suggested, however i was able to do that because I was able to dedicate more time, and because i was strong in quant in general.

The strategies taught, especially in quant really enabled me to score higher in quant. In Verbal my weakest section was SC. I really like how EMPOWER Gmat has simplified the SC especially when compared to other test prep companies. Instead of the complicated terminologies used by other test prep companies, which are in line with what OG also uses, the strategy EMPOWER uses really helped me to identify errors in SC much more accurately and faster.

EMPOWER is wayyy cheaper than the competitors, and provide techniques that TRULY help.
Joined: Feb 23, 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 15, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat the way to beat the GMAT

February 23, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 530 After: 640

After about 1,5 month of thorough studying (Manhattan booklets, OG's) I took the GMAT. Real bummer, I scored a 530 (needed at least a 600). It was obvious that my approach wasn't effective at all, so I began to look for other online prep companies. I came across EMPOWERgmat. What I liked at first is that you can try it out for 24 hours and after that you pay a monthly fee of $99,- and that's it - you get acces to all the content and you can choose your x month study plan. I only had about a month so I chose the 1 month study plan. The content is simply great. EMPOWERgmat got the GMAT all figured out and knows exactly how it works. They arranged the topics in such order that you're optimally prepared upon test day. They have mini clinic videos - explaining the best techniques and tactics for a particular subject. Furthermore they back-up every question with a short, but powerful explanation video. For me it was almost fun, preparing for the GMAT this way, since I knew that everything I was doing, was the right thing at the right time. The support team is awesome as well. Whenever you have a question they almost immediately reply.

In my month of preparation with EMPOWERgmat I only got to finish about 40% of the content, but still got up 110 points - I mean that's just amazing. I firmly believe that if one completes all the content from EMPOWERgmat (preferably in a 3 month study plan - this gives you a life besides the GMAT), the 700 is an easy target.

I would recommend everyone to go with EMPOWERgmat, they are great!
Joined: Aug 1, 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 8, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome for retakers

February 16, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 600 After: 680

I signed up to the EmpowerGMAT course after doing some research on the online courses available that could be completed in one month.

I had already taken the GMAT with some preparation but unfortunately it didn't go as planned. I got a 600 Q38V34. My scores from practice tests were much better so I was really angry. The EmpowerGMAT course made me realize that if I wanted to improve in one month I had to focus on the most frequently tested areas.

Quant: My situation in quant was a bit atypical. I was REALLY good at some complex subjects such as probability, combinations, multi shaped geometry and overlapping sets. But I was failing at subjects such as remainders and percentages. If you don't know it yet you will learn it in your Empower course: some subjects are worth little points and some other are worth a lot. I was good at the ones that were worth less so I had to focus on getting those easier problems correct first. Rich's approach helped me in two fundamental ways: firstly, Test It works wonders on A LOT of problems and secondly, you should prioritize some type of questions over others. I'll tell you this now: focus on getting insanely good at Test It. My score in Quant wasn't great but I truly believe that Test It is the right approach for non-math guys like me.

Verbal: I'm not a native speaker but since the beginning I was better at the verbal section than the quant one. It came more naturally and I found it much easier. My lowest verbal score was actually in my first GMAT (V34), I remember finding that exam extremely difficult, much more than what I had seen at the CATs. I was already really good at CR and RC without taking notes so I didn't follow Max's advice in that aspect, but mainly because I had very little time to get good at doing that. My weakness in verbal came from SC so I followed Max's advice thoroughly and I saw a really good improvement. Once again, Empower is focused on teaching you the most common type of questions. It was the same for SC, they helped me realize that the mistakes are usually the same, you just need to get rid of all the fillers.

Overall I consider it a very good and focused course. I came with some background since I had bought and read all the Manhattan Guides before doing the Empower Course but you could totally get a good score by only following this course. The only reason I'm not giving them 5 stars is because the web page course interface could be better. Apart from that they know what they are doing and they will teach you what you need to know to succeed, nothing more and nothing less.
Joined: Feb 8, 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 24, 2017
Major: Economics
Country: Italy
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERGmat is probably the best, most efficient and affordable course on the market

February 8, 2018
  • Teacher: No-one personally, I only followed the course
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

I am not a native speaker and I am currently completing my graduate studies.

I am writing this review today because I truly am grateful to the guys over at EMPOWERGmat for the service they provide: I could score in the 96th percentile while prepping for a relatively short period of time (1 month and a half, averaging a couple of hours a day) and without too much of a hassle, and for an affordable price. I know this might sound like I'm marketing for them, but the truth is they are so great I decided to write this review. My reccomendation is to try the course as they offer long-ish free trial periods, and check by yourself if it the course will work out for you. I'm sure it will.

The EMPOWERGmat course is GOLD. It consists of video-lesson in which an instructor speaks, and you are only shown a pad onto which he writes down calculations / formulas / important data. They are all very direct and simple (The solution to a Quant exercise averages around 2 minutes, and I think all of the theory lessons don't add up to more than a few hours). The various arguments are split in lessons + exercises made up by the company in order to show specific patterns/tricks + solutions to Official Guide exercises using the EMPOWER approach. The Quant and Verbal are teacher by 2 different tutors. Quant part tutor is almost funny, definitely not heavy to follow, and very clear. Verbal can be a little bit more tedious, but it will give you anything you need to beat the test.

Why is this course different from the other I've checked out? Because it's totally, entirely, nonsense free. It's not one of those courses that make up weird, twisted arguments only to push you to purchase more tests / questions / books. These guys only give you exactly what you need in order to score a very, very good score. Quant covers all of the arguments that show up on the test and actually matter. I'll give you one example: standard deviation. You will never, never, never be asked to calculate the standard deviation formula on the GMAT. You just won't, it's impossible. You are only required to understand the concept, so why would you fill your brain up with that formula? Plus, the sad truth is that the 700-800 level questions idea is nonsense. In order to hit a very high score (think 90-95 percentile) you only need to be consistent with questions of Medium level from the OG, plus figuring out some of the Hard ones. That's it. No need for difficult things, just practice long enough to become consistent: after a while you will feel like the problems are all the same, you will see patterns / where the tentmakers are trying to trick you without even thinking about it. That's the secret to the GMAT: it's really similar to solving a bunch of medium questions and some hard ones, taking the OG questions as a reference.. Worked out for me. Verbal gives you an approach that can help you figure out most of the questions. If you are somewhat good by yourself, you will be able to consistently hit 90-95 percentile just practicing with a couple dozens of questions.
Joined: Nov 10, 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 11, 2017
Major: Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Empower GMAT: The results-oriented course

February 5, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 610 After: 730

I was initially drawn to Empower GMAT because of a review - the poster had gone from a 490 to a 770 in 3 months. Since I couldn't ignore the effectiveness demonstrated in that story, I decided to see whether this improvement was representative of their other clients. Not only was Empower very positively mentioned on the forums, but it also included 1, 2, and 3 month study plans so they can be used to fit most time frames.

After signing up for the free trial, I was sold. Empower focuses on a fundamental aspect of the GMAT: it is, categorically speaking, predictable. As such, Rich and Max present the course in a way that capitalizes off of that. Although there is no substitute for knowing the GMAT's curriculum, which Rich and Max cover in its entirety, the GMAT's underlying theory is relatively rudimentary, and so tactics and strategy reign supreme. Rich's strategy game is insane. He will tell you which questions to dump, which questions don't count, and which questions your absolutely must get right. He will teach you how to guess properly, how to manage your time, and even how to get over a 700 while only focusing on 75% of the questions you see on test day. By the end of the course, you will experience such an intimate understanding of the GMAT and its underlying structure that come test day, you will go in there knowing exactly what to expect and how to get what you want.

Empower not only emphasizes strategy above all else, but also only focuses on official GMAT questions. A huge pet peeve of mine is when test prep companies try to focus on their own "in-house" made questions rather than just use the most accurate resource available: questions made by GMAC. I can guarantee you that test prep companies who make their own questions do not spend $2000-$3000 per question like GMAC does. You might not see a difference as a beginner, but once you get used to GMAC official questions and then start doing third-party questions, you will notice that they have a different feel to them. With Empower, you focus your efforts where they are most effective: questions made by the test maker.

In terms of customer service, I was always - without fail - taken care of within 2 hours of submitting a ticket or a request. Because Empower is a small company, I tended to deal with the same people and it is just refreshing to not have to constantly explain your situation to whoever your case has been passed on to. With that in mind, I felt that Empower's staff were truly invested in my success and in my experience using their website. In short, if you need anything done, or have a question, you can get a response fairly quickly and it will be from someone who sincerely wants you to succeed.

Finally, looking at the price tag for some of these other courses, Empower's course offers incredible value. The videos are focused, engaging, and entertaining and give you what you need without focusing on adding unnecessary production value that will ultimately come out of your pocket.

Whether you are an experienced test taker or have never taken a standardized test before, Empower will definitely add to your arsenal as you prepare for the GMAT. I would definitely recommend this course!
Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7