Test Prep Companies

EMPOWERgmat

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Jun 24, 2016
Purchased Course: May 2, 2016
College: Ukraine
Major: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies, and Humanities
Industry: Highly Diversified Manufac and Service
Country: Ukraine
Verified Real Student Review

Boost your GMAT with EMPOWERgmat!

June 24, 2016
  • Teacher: Brian
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 600 After: 700

Well, this is my turn to share some thoughts about what took me to 700 score in GMAT. I just would like to say that this journey was stressful and interesting, sometimes depressing but always exciting! Thanks to EMPOWERgmat and their team, especially Brian, who supported me a lot during my preparation phase.
First of all, I did appreciate the style of the lessons. Video format is MUCH MORE helpful than a classical text lesson. I understood that finding a proper answer is only a half of the deal - another one is HOW exactly you go through the process, and EMPOWERgmat is great in setting you on the right trail. The material is given in a consistent and concise way, without some additional burdensome information which was there when I tried other courses. So, video video and video! I am not kidding ? you?ll feel the difference! Possibly there are some similar resources which do the same, I don't even exclude that there are some free resources in YouTube or elsewhere, but consistency is the MUST! Therefore, guys, you just take this course and you have all you need in one place. That is very important! Even if I say that there are no exaggerated loads of materials - this is widely enough to achieve what you really need - boost your GMAT score. And EMPOWERgmat creators put in there so many efforts ? you?ll be amazed! After all, it?s worth paying a bit, not really a fortune.
Now I?ll tell you some history. My first attempt in Feb 2016 was 600 (43, 29) and I didn't practice seriously - just re-read some formulas and got the overall idea what GMAT is. It was quite arrogant from my side or better to say ignorant. I just couldn't imagine what specifically one could practice on verbal if he/she already speaks and reads English^)) My score proved how wrong I was! Nevertheless, I decided not to retake and went to Indonesia where ancient scent of local magic whispered to me that I should retake. While being there I registered for the test and started reading some verbal related materials. I must admit that the resources I used were somehow boring, uninformative, unappealing and finally useless. Well, I did practice maybe 3 weeks or so but, again, my next score proved that I did something wrong. I got 560 with quant and verbal even weaker than before! I don't exclude that ancient scent of Indonesian magic had something to do there but all that was about the same thing - lack of consistency. I was so angry, frustrated and disappointed! It hit my self-esteem a lot! I said to myself that I need to improve seriously and that jokes are over and that I should start serious games. I started researching. I remember I noticed a post from a guy who wrote about EMPOWERgmat and how helpful it was especially in boosting his verbal skills since he had applied mathematics background. That guy was also from Ukraine and I thought that possibly our hurdles in English must be the same or it was just the feeling of brotherhood, doesn't matter. I decided to boost my GMAT and I picked EMPOWERgmat for the job.
I had already applied to my schools with 600 and was anxious to retake as soon as possible so my task was a bit more complicated (you may notice how many strategic faults I committed). So this time I started practicing like crazy and right from the gate I was surprised how I enjoyed the process. Actually GMAT is all about processes at which your skills are tested. Somehow you should learn to enjoy what you are doing since this takes quite a considerable part of your life. First I tried an assault and now can say: never take GMAT by assault.
The interesting thing is that I committed there one more serious mistake. And I paid for it! Exactly 250 USD))) My third attempt, after completing almost 100% of the course, was 550!!! I can?t express how shocked I was! And at this point Brian from EMPOWERgmat team helped me a lot! He was able to set my mind to win and persuaded me to go on. Thanks a lot, Brian! The EMPOWERgmat gave me one month of complementary use after I had failed and supported during 17 days which separated my third test from the forth one. To be frank, the mistake was to go and take the test right after so intense practicing. Now I understand that I just couldn?t get higher score with the head packed with all the things I learned ? I needed some time to put everything in order. Brian let me understand that and he also gave me the feeling that I was ready BUT had to consider the whole thing under a slightly different angle. So I used the course for some rehearsal and some practicing. No major efforts during this period ? just concentrating on the future result (which was also awaited by my preferred school as 600 appeared to be too low, of course!).
You may imagine the stress I had the test day after all the previous bad steps I had already made. When 700(47 38) appeared on my screen it was so fantastic! Here I would add that I took only one practice exam before the last official test and also scored 700(49 35). It means that math in the course was very very helpful while my target improvement was obviously verbal.
Now I hope that my school will be finally happy with my score and as I?ve finished my GMAT story I hope that other test takers won?t repeat the same silly mistakes. Take GMAT seriously and you will be rewarded! And EMPOWERgmat is here to help you! In my case it was only one month during which I passed almost the whole course but it was not a good idea at all. I?d say 3 months would be just great and thus the score might be much better than mine. Yet, I was pleased by friendly feedback I got from Brian when I dropped a note that I finally could beat the GMAT.
It is a bit long post ? the point is to prevent people from the mistakes I did. You better go to the right place and start right preparation. You?ll see the difference! I am ready to provide more details in case someone would be interested in (structure of the course, video modules, error log sheets, grammar and math rules etc.).
My guess is that even without summing up you understand my point. The only thing I would like to emphasize is that you won?t be disappointed if you finally choose EMPOWERgmat even after other courses that you eventually have already tried. Good luck to everyone and know that if one can do it being 33 y.o. and unorganized then you?ll do it for sure!
Joined: May 14, 2013
Purchased Course: May 12, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

feedback

June 22, 2016
  • Teacher: Brian
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I work with empower GMAT for one month to bost my GMAT Scoore (EmporwerGmat Score Booster)

I must say that firstly I was somewhat reluctant with this type of as I already have taken others, but afterwards, I felt it was a great help.

The course helps you not only to clarify your concepts avoiding silly mistakes but also to follow the right strategy on the exam day.

Your capabilities will be leverage granting your acceptance to your dream school. In the end, the solution was always with you.

I definitely recommend the Score Booster from EmpowerGMAT. I hope you also enjoy!
Joined: Oct 30, 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 16, 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A focus on strategy and what you need to know

June 17, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 500

I've tried other GMAT prep courses such as Magoosh and several other trial versions from other companies. This course was the best for me because it focused on what I needed to know and didn't spend a lot of time teaching the nitty-gritty details that take lots of time. I had 2 months to prep and I was able to get the score I needed. My practice test scores improved every time. It was a big focus and strategy in the section on triage was really helpful to help Focus my time where I needed on the test. Overall this course was great for me and I would recommend it for anyone wanting to boost their score and improve their strategy.
Joined: Apr 15, 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 28, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Strategy is Key!

June 5, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

EmpowerGMAT was pivotal in improving my strategy for GMAT. This exam is not all about what you know. Strategy is extremely important. EmpowerGMAT is exceptional in the strategy game.

I started my GMAT journey using another prep company and was fortunate to also get free access to EmpowerGMAT for a month before my exam. Before EmpowerGMAT I was scoring about 600 on my practice CAT?s. I used their guidance and was able to score 700 (Q49, V35) on the GMAT.

I highly recommend this program not only for GMAT preparation but also for the exceptional customer service. In the days before and after my exam Brian, my EmpowerGMAT advisor was very helpful and prompt in all his communications with me. His advice was very helpful in getting me to shed those test day nerves.
Joined: Jun 1, 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 14, 2014
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT turned me into a GMAT Assassin

June 1, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

To provide a little background on myself, I have always been pretty good on standardized testing, achieving high scores on SAT, etc. However, when I took my first CAT completely cold as a diagnostic, I was nervous when I saw my score in the lower 600s. I had hoped to score a minimum of 720 to make me a competitive applicant for the top 10 or so MBA programs. It was around this time that I heard about the EmpowerGMAT course from various reviews on BeatTheGMAT and other sites. I checked out the site and did their 24 free trial and loved it. It was exactly what I needed.

EmpowerGMAT provided me the structure and blueprint to become a GMAT Assassin, I just needed to follow along and put in the time. Well thanks to the awesome videos and study sheets I ended up scoring a 740 (Q48/V44) on my first testing day. I enjoyed Rich's teaching style, and could literally hear him in my head on test day, "If it seems too easy, prove it. Put it all on the paper and prove it to yourself." Well this idea alone saved me from getting 2-3 easy questions wrong on test day, which would have destroyed my already borderline quant score!

Finally, I am not sure what it was about reviewing through EmpowerGMAT, but when I sat for the actual exam it actually seemed too easy. I thought for sure I was getting crushed and it was going to be an embarrassing score, but was happily surprised with my 740.

EmpowerGMAT truly prepared me; definitely the best $300 I ever spent!
Joined: Jan 2, 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 4, 2016
College: Johns Hopkins University
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Course - Helped out my Quant Tremendously

May 10, 2016
  • Teacher: Rich
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 270

I cannot be more thankful for the course. Rich was tremendous in giving quant feedback and this is by far the best ROI GMAT solution out there. I didn't have the money to afford a more expensive program. I did not really utilize the verbal, but I know that this program has helped a couple of my friends with the verbal. Trust me if you want to increase your Quant this is the #1 program. I used others sources. Amazing experience and I got into my dream MBA school!!!
Joined: May 10, 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 23, 2015
College: Georgetown University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course for a Great Value

May 10, 2016
  • Teacher: N/A
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

Look, taking the GMAT isn't fun and neither is studying for it. Here's why I liked EMPOWER:

VALUE:
I've read a fair amount about the diminishing returns of more expensive, more hands-on tutoring for standardized tests and I'm a firm believer in self-study for these sorts of things. I don't want to fork over thousands of dollars for a class or tutor if I can get roughly the same results on my own time at a fraction of the price. EMPOWER was $99/month, which is extremely fair.

RESULTS:
Before starting EMPOWER I took a practice CAT to see how I would do and scored a 650. I took a real GMAT about 2 months into using the course and scored a 660, and then took the GMAT for a second time after a month of relaxing and another month of studying just the areas that I was weak in and scored a 700.

SELF-PACING:
I studied when I could and where I could: sometimes consistently, sometimes in spurts, sometimes at my office, sometimes in my bed. It was all on my terms.

PERSONALITY:
EMPOWER did a good job of transforming GMAT questions from a chore into a challenge. The people coaching you through the strategy and tricks of the test really make it seem like a game and tap into your competitive side.

Like I said, taking the GMAT isn't fun and studying for it isn't either, however, EMPOWER was fantastic and I would recommend it to anyone hoping to prepare as best they can. Paradoxically, I'm thankful that I never have to use EMPOWER again, and that's because of how good it was; it helped me get the score I wanted and now the GMAT is behind me and business school awaits.
Joined: Jan 23, 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 18, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Feel Empowered

May 5, 2016
  • Teacher: Rich and Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

This course was a gamechanger for me. I began my studies some time in mid-December with the Kaplan Premier book. After 3 or 4 days I realised it wasn't going to cut it for me. Upon my friend's advice, I bought the Manhattan books as well as the Foundation for GMAT Math book that they make (highly recommend to begin your studies with this book if you have any doubts about your math skills). After finishing the math books (I initially did not intend to study Verbal) I posted in the GMATclub forum asking for direction (where to from here?). Rich, Empower co-founder/math instructor, was the only person to respond to my message. I took a practice CAT, as he suggested, and scored a 680 but genuinely felt very flustered. The Math section in particular did not fill me with confidence. Long story short, I ended up trying the Empower course. It's cheaper than most of the other courses so I thought "what the heck, why not?". This was a great, great decision.

This course is priceless. So priceless that I kept my subscription going for a third month despite the fact that I had completed the course. The Quant part of this course is immense. The Verbal may help some people (prior to the course I only had an issue with SC. After one month of this course I hit 730 in a practice CAT. After about 14 weeks of studying I scored a 760 on my official GMAT (First try). I don't really know what else I can say about this course because words don't do it justice. Thank you Empower
Joined: Mar 10, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 26, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWER Gave Me the Confidence Boost that I Needed To Beat The GMAT

April 30, 2016
  • Teacher: Rich
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

I am an African American female working in advertising who was having a ton of trouble making progress on the GMAT while trying to self study. I used the Manhattan GMAT books and the Official Guide for self study and no matter how much I studied I could barely crack a 500, after a month of studying. Then while at a BBQ a woman raved about EmpowerGMAT and how she did the 3 month study plan and got a 660.

I figure what could I lose if I tried. EmpowerGMAT was very affordable. $99 a month and instead of overwhelming me with information it more so taught me the strategy on how to take the test and how to "PUT EVERYTHING ON THE PAD." I found tactics that considerably helped me improve my QUANT and VERBAL scores and let me know when to dump questions but more so than anything it provided me with some serious confidence. EmpowerGMAT got me to the low 600s. Once I finished the course I got a tutor to help me with my problem areas to take me over my hump.

I convinced a friend of mine to use EmpowerGMAT and he was able to get over 650. We both struggled initially and EmpowerGMAT just helped us gain the tactics that we needed to be GMAT ninjas. I am very satisfied with my experience.

I am now on my way to a Top 12 MBA program and I couldn't be happier.
Joined: Sep 7, 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 24, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Provides psychological tips and GMAT hacks to help boost your score to the next level

April 26, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 700 After: 730

The Empower GMAT course provides excellent test taking tips from timing to understanding which questions to dump to which questions will occur most frequently on the test. Even with knowledge on how to work each problem, Empower GMAT provides excellent test day tactics and strategies that will get your score to the next level. I was able to boost my score from 700 to 730 largely from their TEST IT methodology that I found to be highly effective. Empower GMAT is able to differentiate itself from its competitors through these tactics and makes it a great tool to have in your arsenal with tackling the GMAT. I strongly recommend to all test takers.
Joined: Apr 4, 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 22, 2015
College: ICEF
Major: Economics
Country: Russia
Verified Real Student Review

No verbiage, pure facts and knowledge

April 4, 2016
  • Teacher: Support team and lessons
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 600 After: 710

Overall courses are really helpful, and there are some great lessons on psychology of GMAT and facts, that are important to BEAT THE GMAT. A lot of useful strategies and ideas to use on the day of the exam. Tricks and techniques that can boost your score in several days!

Moreover, the support team is a great example of how the team should work! Every member will be able to ask a piece of advice from anyone, who works in EmpowerGMAT. In my opinion, EmpowerGMAT team values clients and is happy to help you with any difficulties you may face.
Joined: Jan 10, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 25, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Simply effective, I highly recommend it!

March 25, 2016
  • Teacher: Richard and Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 590 After: 700

I studied extensively for the GMAT using The Economist GMAT Tutor. I found the course quite thick with detail and theory, which I thought was extremely useful. The course has alot of practice questions and long answer explanations. However, my GMAT exam was very disappointing (590) despite having scored always above 650 in the CAT of the course. I was quite frustrated and decided to let go.

Several months later, I decided to give it another try. I was about to start studying again with the same prep course, but then thought that it was probably not suitable for me. There are so many prep course out there, so I thought changing might be a good idea.

I came to know about the EMPOWERgmat course on this blog, and registered for a free trial of the course. I found it so simple and straightforward in the beginning that I thought it was useless. The way Rich and Max (the two professors of the course) show you how to solve problems seemed too easy and poor in theoretical background (the same impression I got when I downloaded all the EMPOWER study material). But THAT was exactly the key! Thanks to the EMPOWER course I came to understand that the GMAT is actually quite easy and straightforward once you master a couple of tricks, and that too much theory is actually counterproductive. The course teaches you the few theoretical fundamentals, and really focuses on answering strategy. This helped me overcome my main mistake which was to answer questions using a theory-based approach (which comes from my background in Engineering), and significantly improved my pacing throught the exam.

In sum, I was really amazed by how my perception of the GMAT changed after taking the course. I highly recommend it to anybody willing to beat the GMAT.
Joined: Feb 25, 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 11, 2015
Major: International Business
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Great value for money!

March 22, 2016
  • Teacher: Rich & Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

Hey folks!

about two months ago I wrote the GMAT after learning with the Empowergmat 3 month prep course. Retrospectively, I can say that the prep course offered a great foundation for successfully taking the Gmat exam. This is attributable to two main aspects of the Empowergmat curriculum that really helped me out.

Firstly, the two tutors - Rich and Max - know what they're talking about. They have a thorough understanding of the essentials that are key in order to be successful in the quantitative and verbal part. Surely, you'll have to invest a lot of time and energy into the learning process but Rich and Max do a good job in setting the right direction during this process.

Secondly, Rich and Max help you to think outside the box when it comes to acing the Gmat on test day. This is done by providing various drills and podcasts about how to prepare both physically and mentally for test day (eating the right stuff, battling fatigue, etc.). In addition, it's very refreshing to listen to them after a long reading comprehension or quant drill.

All in all, I can say that the Empowergmat course was the right choice for me as it offered a lot of helpful insights for an awesome price!

Good look to all future test takers!
Joined: Mar 21, 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 26, 2015
College: Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Investment Management
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

720 to 760 using EmpowerGMAT for 1 month

March 21, 2016
  • Teacher: Rich and Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 720 After: 760

By way of introduction, I had scored a 720 (Q50, V36, IR7, AWA6) on my first, completely self-prep attempt. I obtained an improved score of 760 (Q50, V42, IR8) in my retake after using EmpowerGMAT?s Online Course.

If I had to summarize EmpowerGMAT?s incredible value proposition in an elevator pitch, it would comprise:
1) From (but not solely limited to) a GMAT strategy standpoint, it is an indispensable asset to have in your repertoire of tools, either as a first-time test taker or a retaker. The tactics taught, and the pedagogy used, proved to be extremely valuable during game day.

2) Incredible support system. The pressure is real, and having a receptive point of contact at the other end with rational responses went a long way in not only solving my queries, but also calming my nerves. EmpowerGMAT always kept its channels of communication open and responded promptly.

3) Tremendous value for money vis-?-vis other alternatives available at the time, and in all likelihood, even at the time of your reading this review! Plus, their score guarantee was also the most robust and comprehensive that I could find then. Jump in now, before it decides to hike its rates.

As an engineering graduate with a fairly decent handle on the English language, my first attempt was purely self-prep. I had used the OG 13, taken any and all of the free mock tests made available by different test providers that I could find, and the Official GMAT Practice Tests. Only when I gave the exam and received my score of 720 ? I was admittedly disappointed ? did I begin realizing that knowledge and good pacing alone aren?t enough to break the upper 700?s. I knew I had left marks on the table, and that I was capable of scoring higher. Where do I turn to? My study material was exhausted, and there was little I could gain by going over the concepts again. Purchasing new mock tests was an option, but I had realized that my approach had been largely the same, and repeating the same approach with new mock tests would yield little incremental benefit. Clearly, I needed to change my approach and strategy towards answering the various types of questions.

Herein, EmpowerGMAT emerged as the clear-cut front-runner after a lot of research and comparison. The more I delved deeper into its program, the more I began loving what I saw. From a free trial of its course offerings which gave me some inkling of its tactical approach towards the GMAT (if you are still on the fence about going for it, I would recommend their 5-day trial), to their Score Booster plans which methodically outlined the core areas needed for a score boost, backed by their money-back guarantee ? for me, this was a clear win-win situation. Boost my score, or get my money back. Why not?
What made it even more perfect, was that the online material is self-paced and split in great detail among the sections and topics ? perfectly matching my learning style, wherein I could ramp up the pace and attack what sections needed most attention. Surprisingly, while I had initially planned to just focus on the Verbal Score Booster plan, I ended up devouring the entire collection of videos in about a month, so addictive were the lessons and the pedagogy used! With each video, each set of questions on their platform; I found my confidence levels increasing, realizing how silly I was to have given the exam without the right tactical strategies in place. And boy, did these work on game-day!

The laser focus on the ?right? difficulty (and topics) of questions to go for, the right approach and tactics to use to efficiently solve for each question type, the logic behind the GMAT, what it tests and why, its scoring algorithm, and the motivational podcasts and anecdotes ? all of these gave me valuable skills, and put me in the right mindset to deploy them. EmpowerGMAT helped me transition from a stubborn quant nerd (how I realize I was, in retrospect) to a calm, composed GMAT reasoner, who could reason his way through each type of question and have a set of tools to apply to each.

I would go so far as to say that given EmpowerGMAT?s focus on each and every aspect of the GMAT experience, from broader brush strokes such as topic coverage, to minutiae such as test-day tactics, all you need to score well on the GMAT are EmpowerGMAT and the OG.
Joined: Mar 18, 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 10, 2016
College: Upenn
Major: Economics
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent online review course

March 18, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

After scoring well below my target score on my first and second attempts (I had taken a review course and self-studied the second time), i decided to give Empower a try after reading many positive testimonials. I decided to dedicate 1 month to re-studying for the exam. I followed Empower's refresher curriculum. I very much enjoyed the flexibility and breadth that the review program offered. Empower taught me invaluable techniques and strategies with which to attack the gmat. Going into test day i had a high level of confidence in my ability to hit my target score. After taking the exam i was very pleased to see i got a 710, with 99th percentile in verbal. I owe it to Empower Gmat for the well-thought out and efficient review course.
Joined: Mar 14, 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 31, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Dominate the GMAT with EMPOWER

March 14, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Rich and Max are great tutors to have on your journey to beating the GMAT. All of the tutorials are well explained and detailed.

This course is completely self study and you have the option to shorten or lengthen your study plan based on how much time you have until you take your official GMAT. This course will give you video lectures on key quantitative and verbal techniques and will immediately quiz you on the lessons learned in your next tutorial. At the end of every week or two you will complete a practice exam (These are not included but for $50 you can get 6 from MGMAT) to get a baseline of where you're at and then Rich and Max go over more learning modules to help you dominate this exam.

You should keep this review in context since I've only been using the program for about a month and I have yet to take an official GMAT. However, if you follow the instructions and stay diligent with your studying then there is no excuse for you not to crush the GMAT.
Joined: Feb 5, 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 15, 2015
College: University of Arizona
Major: Marketing
Industry: Sports
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat got me the score I needed!

February 5, 2016
  • Teacher: N/A
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 590 After: 650

Hello fellow GMAT takers,

Like most of you, I struggled when I first started studying for the GMAT. I wanted a good score so I paid for an expensive online course, bought a ton of books and was discouraged when I wasn't seeing the results I wanted. I scored a 590 on my first official exam and that just simply was not good enough for me. Then I came across EMPOWERgmat.

With the help of EMPOWERgmat, my score jumped to a 650 and I improved my quant from a 42 to a 47 (a score I never thought was possible).

I am a visual person, so for me the way EMPOWERgmat explains each problem and shows you how to work it out (in the most time efficient way) was super helpful. I also learned a lot of shortcuts. There were entire quant concepts that I felt comfortable solving before I started EMPOWERgmat, but come to find out EMPOWERgmat solves them quicker and easier.

One element that I was surprised to learn from EMPOWERgmat was test strategy. Going into the test I thought I had to solve every problem and that each problem was "worth" about the same. Wrong. EMPOWERgmat explains which problems are put in the test to trick you up, waste your clock and frustrate you. Those problems you are supposed to skip. Yes, skip. Make an educated guess and skip. The concept of this floored me but they were right. Controlling your test "tilt" is super key and EMPOWERgmat helps you manage it.

Bottom line, there are many many GMAT products out there, trust me I tried a ton, but EMPOWERgmat was my ticket into my top grad program and it can be yours too.

Good luck!!!
Joined: Jan 26, 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 26, 2015
Major: Biochemistry
Industry: Education
Verified Real Student Review

From 600 to 700 - Improved 100 Points!!!!

January 26, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 600 After: 700

I had used Manhattan Prep, but EMPOWERgmat is what pushed me over the top. The 2 month study guide was perfect for me. Rich and Max are really engaging and listening to them really built my confidence. I truly believed I was going to become a GMAT Assassin and crush the test if I just used their easy to follow strategies. Two strategies in particular, TEST IT and TRIAGE made all the difference in the world. To be honest, I should've received a higher score. I felt discouraged because the questions felt so easy to me and I took that to mean I wasn't doing so well on the test.

The thing I like the most was the entire test-taking approach. The content was great, but how to actually approach the GMAT - I don't think there's a better program out there for that. For the first time I stopped trying to spend time on EVERY single question. If it was too hard or I knew I would spend 3 minutes to figure it out, I dropped it. Rich and Max were so ingrained into my head I was laughing at questions on the real thing because I knew exactly what they would say. Their delivery really made the course fun, and I am sad I found out about their platform late in the game.
Joined: Nov 26, 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 16, 2016
College: Cameroon
Major: Engineering
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: Cameroon
Verified Real Student Review

From 590 to 680 in 1 month...!!! We did it @Rich and @Max.

January 25, 2016
  • Teacher: Rich and Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 590 After: 680

Oww what an amazing path we did together.
i was a retaker with 590 v26Q44 score previously and i had only 06 weeks to have a least 650
due to application constraint.
For my first attempt i only used Manhantan books. 02 days after official test, i started again
with well know books (Veritas, Princeton, ...). 02 weeks after i score 590 on the mock, i was so disappointed.
i started looking for a real SOLUTION, which means for me affordable and efficient as i had only 04 weeks left at that time.
in 20 min i decided to take EMPOWERGMAT. why? $85 / per month was excatly what i needed in term of time and was affordable.
And it had 5/5 reviews on gmatclub. so why not? i mean at that point i didn't have anything else as solution.
The EMPOWERGMAT tatics helped so much on quant and the 5s scan on SC really help me on the verbal section.
I will always remember Rich final podcast before the exam: i won't tell you good luck because there is nothing about luck on this exam
put everything down on the pad, work of each point, dump any nasty or crazy question.
During the exam, i was calm,confident. I dumped 3 - 4 crazy questions on the quant session and had 49.
On the verbal, the 5s scan helped so much when i was out of time on the SC. I had a small passage on last 10 questions, i was running out of time
in the past i would have skimmed but i didn't this time, thanks to Max advice. And it gaves me confidence to dump 2 CR questions which was my weakness any way.

Taking EMPOWERGMAT was a very smart decision and i don't regret any of dollars paid for that course;it was worth it.

May be in the next coming months or years i will retake the GMAT just to be in the 700 club, but 680 was what i needed for my applications
PS: Engineer, non-native.
Joined: Aug 1, 2012
Purchased Course: Sep 28, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT provided the right strategy and content needed to succeed

January 23, 2016
  • Teacher: Rich and Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 600 After: 710

In 2015, I gave my GMAT 4 times. ANd I took two different courses before enrolling for EmpowerGMAT

- 1st attempt I used GMATPill and scored 600
- 2nd attempt I used eGMAT and scored 590
- 3rd attempt I just focused on OG guide and scored 640
- 4th attempt I used EMPOWERGmat and scored 710

I would like to specially thank Rich from EMPOWERGMAT for reaching out to me after my failed third attempt. His insight into the ESR report was very helpful as it helped me decide my next steps. He recommended that I change my approach for Quant and SC which I did with the help of EMPOWER total booster course. The concepts tested on the GMAT are all basic ones.

It all depends on how you use your resources (time, mental energy and your skills) wisely. Throughout the course both Rich and Max do a good job on emphasizing what is really required to do well on the GMAT. And the best part was I got a response from Rich within 24 hours for any questions whether it was related to strategy or content etc.

After spending two months with the course I was able to change my approach for Quant - using simple neat tactics such as using numbers to solve problems, working with answers to solve questions, dumping question that was either difficult or questions Rich asked us to dump questions. The last one is very very effective because it saves a ton of time for other questions that really matter. During my actual GMAT, I followed this advice during the Math and Verbal sections. This definitely helping during my Verbal section as I was mentally drained out.

For Verbal, Max's approach for solving SC problems was very helpful - start by glancing the answer choice to get an idea on the concept tested, read the question carefully and cross out answers. Before the course I used to take more than 1.45mins to answer SC question, but with the new approach I was able to solve SC questions within 1.15 mins. I would definitely recommend working with Rich and Max through their EMPOWERGMAT course. It is worth it.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7