Test Prep Companies

EMPOWERgmat

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Nov 18, 2012
Purchased Course: Jan 4, 2015
College: United States Air Force Academy
Major: Engineering Management
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

590 to 700 - EMPOWERgmat gave me the extra boost!

January 16, 2016
  • Teacher: Rich and Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 700

I believe EMPOWERgmat was the key piece to me earning my 700. They have a score booster curriculum for those who feel their GMAT abilities have hit a ceiling. This is exactly what I needed. I really liked that they took all the GMAT study plan strategizing out of my hands; their syllabus is easy-to-follow, and as long as you just do what they tell you, your score WILL improve. Rich and Max bring a lot of enthusiasm to their instructional videos, making long study sessions easier to endure. They evoke the "athletic coach persona" and communicate the GMAT concepts and strategies in a way that really motivates you to crush the test. I noticed occasional misspellings in the practice problems in their videos and minor bugs in their online platform (as of 01/16/2016, it looks like they completely revamped and upgraded their platform!), but these small issues never got in the way of my studying. Their website may not have the shiny production value of the large, established test prep companies (i.e. Manhattan GMAT), but it's the value of the content that counts, and EMPOWERgmat delivers.

The most important thing I learned from EMPOWERgmat was to alter my approach and mindset - it's not about how much content you know, it's almost ALL about strategy. Once you nail the concepts down, you have to realize that the GMAT will reward those who treat the test like a business situation. To specify, you have limited resources (time), and the GMAT will reward (with a high score) those who maximize the utility of their limited resources (spending time on problems you know how to solve and/or strategically guessing versus spending all your time on difficult problems that don't count much towards your score anyway). This fundamental shift in mentality completely freed me to not get bogged down in the concepts I didn't know or with which I was not comfortable. EMPOWERgmat hammers this perspective into all of their instruction so that it becomes second nature. This is what paved the way for me to earn that 700. For anyone looking to boost their score or take a high-quality course from the comfort of their home, I highly recommend this course!
Joined: Jan 13, 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 13, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Simple but very effective

January 13, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 580 After: 640

I had used flashier, more expensive on-demand, multi-media GMAT prep courses the year before and had not really found a huge amount of success with them. EmpowerGMAT was recommended to me by a friend who had significantly improved his GMAT score and has since made it into a top B-school. I was immediately impressed by the simple format, clear instruction style, focus on practical tactics as well as actual knowledge. The explanations of why the B-schools actually care about the GMAT were so helpful as it finally put this pretty beastly test into some context. At least I understood why I was being put under intense time pressure in the quant section and why certain approaches were more important than others. Prior to this explanation it had just felt as though the schools were being sadistic for the sake of it. After all, I am good at maths and yet they seem to care so much about this one, single test. Grr. Although I ultimately made a silly schoolboy error on the quant section on test day (ran out of time - Doh!) I did raise my overall score and rate the EmpowerGMAT course very highly. Their customer service has also been exemplary and when I needed them they were prompt, polite and very helpful.
Joined: Jan 9, 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 26, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience with EMPOWERgmat! 700 to 760 in 2 months

January 9, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 700 After: 760

I used EMPOWERgmat to help prepare for my 2nd crack at the GMAT. I scored 700 on my first try, but I knew I could do better on the Verbal section. I'm happy I found EMPOWER because their "Score Booster" programs provided just what I needed. The videos on the site cover all the details, without wasting any time. RIch and Max do a great job of breaking down the material and providing tips on how to best approach problems. One of my favorite aspects of the EMPOWER experience is that Rich and Max will always let you know which questions are "worth points." This made me realize that in the past I had put much time and effort into problems that were not necessarily as "important."

Their approach to SC helped me realize just how logical that section is and I began treating those questions with the same confidence I approached the Quant questions. In the past, timing was an issue for me on the Verbal section and I found the RC and CR EMPOWER tactics to be extremely helpful in my time management efforts. Come test day I was able to attack the passages with confidence and use proper note taking strategies to cut down my time spent on each question.

My Verbal score increased from a 37 to a 46 in just 2 months! My goal was to keep my Quant score (49) right where it was and to improve my Verbal score and that's just what I did in 2 short months using EMPOWER. It had been almost 4 months since my first GMAT attempt so I found the Quant Score Booster to be helpful in refreshing my Quant skills to get back to where I was originally. I 100% recommend EMPOWER for all retesters who are committed to improving their score and just need some guidance along the way!
Joined: Jan 5, 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat Score Booster

January 5, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

EMPOWERgmat really helped me organize my approach to the GMAT. After self-studying for about a month and a half, I used the EMPOWERgmat Score Booster to inject some purpose into my studying. The course provided me with new, simple techniques for both verbal and quant and allowed me to develop an effective strategy for each question type. I started to understand how the test makers were thinking and I was able to identify the difficult questions that were not worth worrying about. If you are seeing minimal improvement with self-study or other courses, I highly recommend making the switch. The course simply gets to the point and allowed me the confidence to score a 730 on my first attempt.
Joined: Dec 30, 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 15, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Good for that Final Push

December 30, 2015
  • Teacher: None
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: 740

I had taken a course prior through another reputable company and that was great. It set the foundation for me but I needed something else to give me that final push. That's where Empower came in.

I think what sets Empower apart is they have a great support system in case you have questions and their material really reflects that they understand the test and want to give you every piece of advice to help you ace it, from your mindset going in, even to miscellaneous things like what you should eat or small tricks you can do.

Through Empower I was able to push my score from 710 to 740 and make no mistake, those last 30 points are very difficult to achieve.

Overall, a strong score is always dependent on your work ethic first. No course by itself will help you achieve your goals without it, but having Empower did everything outside of that to guide me there. Thank you!
Joined: Dec 17, 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 6, 2015
Major: Finance
Industry: Retail/Wholesale and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highest ROI in GMAT Prep: It helped me go from 590 to 720

December 19, 2015
  • Teacher: Rich and Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

Most likely, I do not fit the profile of a lot of GMATers out there: My wife and I just had our first child when I started studying, I was running a de novo business AND I have been out of school for 10 years. I was short on sleep and did not have the luxury of dedicating time to a classroom course.

To sum up my experience with EMPOWER: Excellent. Rich and Max really try to get everyone to understand not just the concepts, but HOW THE EXAM WORKS and HOW TO BEAT IT.

Highly Recommend If: you are budget conscious; do not have the luxury of time to devote to a classroom setting; you have a good baseline to work with.

A very surprising aspect of EMPOWER: the staff and Rich are very engaged.
When you watch the lessons and listen to the podcasts and you hear Rich say, "email me - I want to hear about your GMAT experience" he absolutely means it. As an example: I was scheduled to take the GMAT in September. My infant son had not slept at all the evening before the exam. I went into the testing center on fumes. I BOMBED the verbal. My raw verbal was a full 10 points lower and my GMAT score was 100 points lower than my last two CATs.

I emailed Rich and shared my experience with him. Over the course of 1 day and several emails, Rich spent time trying to dissect if there was more to my poor performance than a lack of sleep. He loaded me up with a few tweaks to the Empower tactics, reinforced some others and off I went to my 720.

In fairness, I did need to employ another course to supplement my verbal. However, the tips and methods Max teaches in Empower are very helpful. ?Patterns Patterns Patterns?
I would generally suggest to supplement the Empower course with a question bank outside of the OG with good explanations. Rich and Max do a great job articulating the concepts, but I still needed additional questions to practice on.

I do want to thank Rich and the Empower team. I appreciate your support and hope to hear about many more Empower success stories.
Joined: Dec 15, 2015
Purchased Course: Nov 15, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great insides to boost confidence!

December 15, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 570 After: 610

Before using EMPOWERgmat's course I was using another online course that is very well known for its good quant explanations for over 6 months. I took the GMAT three times, but never scored higher than 570, whilst I needed to score at least 600. I explained Rich from EMPOWERgmat my tactics and he quickly gave me motivating feedback. During the entire course Rich and his team will boost your confidence that you need during your test. Some questions are just too hard to answer correctly and they distract you from answering other, easier questions correctly. EMPOWERgmat taught me that not every question matters and I listened to them, as I did not have anything to lose. During my GMAT quant I triaged (strategically guessed) four of the harder questions and I told myself they were too hard to actually count. Eventually I scored 48 on the quant section, an amazing increase from the 39 I scored on my previous GMAT and no I do not consider myself a maths genius, but more the opposite! I was even more impressed that I saw my score boost by this much in only one month time. Thanks EMPOWERgmat for the insights and the great and fun explanations. I am more than satisfied with my 610 score!
Joined: Sep 12, 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 7, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommended! 580 to 720 in 2 months

December 11, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

I was able to improve from a 580 to 720 (Q47 V41 AWA6 IR7) after just two months with Empower! I did use another test prep company right before Empower, but I really believe the tactics and tricks Empower teaches are worth preaching and their methods are refreshingly different. On test day, knowing when to trash a question was absolute key during the quant section.

I took a GMATprep practice test 2 weeks before my exam date and I got a 660. I was so disappointed and almost lost hope that I could obtain my dream score. But I tried my hardest anyway and what I think made the biggest difference was focusing on the verbal section. The same amount of points in verbal meant so much more than the same amount of points in quant. That was something I never would've realized without Empower. I should probably mention my quant score only improved 3 points since day 1! Without Empower I wouldn't even know how to study smart and use my time efficiently.

Now I am able to apply to my target schools knowing that my GMAT will not be the reason I do not get in.
Joined: Nov 10, 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 6, 2015
College: BYU
Major: Business
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat Verbal ScoreBooster saved my GMAT score

November 10, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 710

I used EMPOWERgmat a little bit before taking the GMAT the first time and I scored 640 - on par with my discipline and practice. I felt embarrassed by this score so I decided to actually follow the ScoreBooster module for Quant and Verbal. I studied for about 3 months consistently by going through each module outlined in the ScoreBooster packet.

My strength was not Quant, so that's where I focused most of my time initially. However, the more I focused my practice time on Quant, the more frustrated I became as my practice test scores were flat in the mid-600s. I decided to take Brian's advice from the EMPOWERgmat team and focus on Verbal.

Max's modules in Verbal were super helpful to exploit my strengths in Verbal. I revisited my past practice tests and realized how weak I was on CR prompts, so that's where I focused my study time. Amazingly, my scores improved. I stopped worrying about all the math formulas and instead focused all my time on CR prompts and SC tactics.

It all came together when I took a practice exam a week before the GMAT. I totally fumbled the Quant section in that practice exam, I was ~10 minutes behind pace and ended up racing through the last 15 questions, just clicking-through on most. I thought that low 600s was inevitable given how poor the Quant section went for me. I put myself back together during the 8 minute break and knew I had to just crush Verbal. So I did - all that practice really paid off. I submitted the last question and thought I would be lucky to get mid 600s. My score: 700. I was shocked! How could that be given how badly the Quant section went? I scored 99th percentile in Verbal. All that focus on Verbal redeemed my score and helped me feel much more confident.

So I took the GMAT the next week with the same approach - do the best I can on Quant, stay on pace to avoid the anxiety of rushing, and then just freaking attack Verbal like a rabid lawyer. I got a 710 and feel happy with that...

EMPOWERgmat's approach to Verbal was crucial for me. If you struggle with Quant or are just average at it like me, then I recommend doing the Verbal ScoreBooster. Exploit your strengths, and you'll achieve a higher score faster. Worked for me.
Joined: Oct 26, 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 3, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

650 to 740

October 26, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 740

I decided to go with empower because of its affordable price, the score booster method which allows you to skip most quant fundamentals, and the various advice and strategies used to work around certain questions and save precious time for the questions that do matter.

For the Quant part, I feel that EmpowerGMAT will definitely be more helpful for people that already have a good grasp of the fundamentals but do want that extra boost by adding efficient strategies to their arsenal, such as the art of triaging and test it methods that must become like reflexes. While those strategies may feel at first counter-intuitive, I do feel that they are much more effective than focusing solely on extremely hard quant questions such as the ones you can find on GMATClub

The Verbal part is extremely useful; I would probably recommend EmpowerGMAT just for their advice on RC which will help you achieve easily 100% accuracy on any level questions. The CR methods are broken down to very simple concepts that are easy to apply and clearly show you which topics are worth more of your time. The SC part focuses less on remembering many complex grammatical rules, and is more oriented towards simple things to look out for, as well as clearing out obvious mistakes in wrong answer choices.

Unfortunately, I failed the official exam a couple of days after finishing the course. I scored a 640 while I was aiming for a 690, which I consistently got on CAT?s at home. I was extremely stressed, especially on the quant part and to my surprise the verbal was a complete disaster.

I rescheduled an exam for the next month, and sent an email to EmpowerGMAT in order to explain what happened.

I got in touch with Brian, who was extremely helpful in identifying the factors that led to the scores I kept getting, and just as I suspected myself, I was not correctly applying the strategies given by EmpowerGMAT. Furthermore, my knowledge of the material was not really an issue, and thus more practice questions were not going to help me much.
Brian also wrote me a detailed email that outlined exactly what strategies I absolutely had to implement on the test day. I felt that this email as probably the most helpful advice EmpowerGMAT gave me.

I only had enough time to test them on one GMATprep CAT before the real exam. I got a 710, breaking through the 700 barrier for the first time.
The next morning, I focused as much as possible on implementing the tactics that had worked the day before. I couldn?t believe the score that showed up: 740, ranking in the 97th percentile.

Those tactics helped me achieve a score that many, including myself, have only dreamed about.

I would highly recommend EmpowerGMAT, especially to the people that feel like they are beginning to stall and don?t gain any more points by doing additional practice questions. I would also encourage people to contact them directly and tell them about your particular issues or situation, the EmpowerGMAT team is extremely kind, helpful, and comprehensive.
Joined: Mar 21, 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 11, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT on Demand Course- Excellent for Non natives

October 8, 2015
  • Teacher: Max Peterson and Rich Cohen
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 750

I stumbled upon empowergmat via their 5 days for 5$ event that they had back in June 2015 and wanted to try the course out as I was looking for study tips and tricks to improve from my 690 in my 2nd GMAT attempt. I wanted to reach 730+ but had already exhausted all the available resources. I enrolled myself for the 5$ event and I was surprised to see the the depth and clarity in their verbal video tutorials by Max and the follow up questions not only cemented what you learned in theory but also taught you about the common traps. After the first day itself I enrolled myself for 1 month and as they provide a month to month billing (highly transparent and helpful for short term commitment that I was looking for!), it proved to the boost that I needed to push my score from 690 to 750 in 1 month.

Max's appraoch to CR completely changed my thought process and it made me more confident of dealing with 700+ level questions. The SC approach was straightforward without the use of unnecessary grammatical jargons. RC was taught with an eye out for achieving maximum accuracy while not going abvoe the average time per question.

Rich's test it and triage approaches in quant not only helped me in undertsanding the various time saving strategies, these also helped me in understanding the mind of the test maker at GMAC.

All these strategies worked wonders for me in the actual GMAT and I was able to clearly see why the incorrect answers were incorrect. Once i had this undertsanding, i was more confident with my answers.

I would definitely recommend EMPOWERGMAT to retakers who are looking at a highly compressed preparation schedule that will give them amazing results.
Joined: Jul 1, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 9, 2015
Country: Bulgaria
Verified Real Student Review

From 580 to 650; All Credits Go to EMPOWERgmat

October 3, 2015
  • Teacher: Rich and Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 580 After: 310

My first attempt was in mid-July 2015 and scored a miserable 580 Q39 V31. I was stunned with my quant score as I have never scored this low during my mock tests.

Luckily, however, I came across to the EMPOWERgmat course, which, I think, is the BEST available course so far. The studying process with the program is efficient and gives you the tips and knowledge that you will use during both preparation period and the actual exam. More importantly, Rich?s videos are so much fun as well. He is the real GMAT assassin!

Following two months of preparation (70% of the time spent on Quant section and the remaining on Verbal), I showed up at the test center. The AWA section and integrated reasoning went OKAY and then when I moved to the quant section I felt way more confident and followed Rich?s instructions. I completely failed in the verbal section as my RC skills are very low and was so frustrated that expected the exact same score as before. Anyways, I finished the test and the score popped up: 650 Q47 V32. Improved my quant score by 8 points and verbal ? by 1 point only.

Even though it is just the beginning of my GMAT journey and 650 is not a good score at all, I wanted to share this experience with you. This 70 points improvement would have been IMPOSSIBLE without EMPOWERgmat. The next 70 points improvement will come from the stress management during the exam and from more preparation for the verbal section.

Good luck to you all!
Joined: Sep 28, 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 19, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

740! You'd have to be nuts to use another course.

September 28, 2015
  • Teacher: Max and Rich
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

EMPOWERgmat helped me earn 740, the 97th percentile.

On my first GMAT Prep test I scored a 520, and although I was kind of terrified, I learned that that was actually better than the average starting score, which made me feel a lot better. I set about following the 3 month study plan with an obsession. I think the thing that made the biggest difference is understanding that to get good at answering GMAT questions, and working the adaptive CAT, you have to build specialized skills.

Here are the skills from the course, and my own reflections that enabled me to get a 740:
+Double check - Especially on the questions you know you can do. Early on, I missed way too many questions I because I made stupid, idiot mistakes. Rather than just hitting my head against the desk, I reflected on what bad habits were causing those mistakes. Before you click ?next?, double check.
+The test measures thoroughness. If the question says, n > 2, don?t just think 3, consider 2.1.
+Attention to detail - When you read a question, read it carefully enough to catch exactly what it?s asking for because they?ve got a brutal punisher answer waiting for you otherwise
+Spotting the gaps - This is especially helpful in CR, and DS. In Empower, they teach about the 3 common flaws/assumptions: 1-No other factors, 2-Success, 3-Relevance. In every CR argument, you can count on at least one of them, and you?ll know how to answer every assumption, strengthen, weaken, and evaluate the argument question. In DS, knowing what?s missing makes finding the right answer a lot more direct, and sort of takes the mystery out of it.
+Being in control when you read - It's way to easy to race through the content as you read, but I'm sure you noticed that when you don't race, you're far more accurate. For me at least, it was night and day. The only way to perform at my best is to read with careful, slow, high engagement.

You should also follow EMPOWERgmat's rules to picking your best score really carefully. That changed everything for me. I owe EMPOWERgmat everything for sharing this strategy, and I hope that others can benefit from the system the same way I did. The course did it all. It teaches the content, the tactics, and the x-factors, and for a fraction of the price of other courses.

Taking EMPOWERgmat is like leasing a Rolls Royce for $99 month. It feels like it's too good to be true, but it's the real deal. You'd have to be nuts to take another course.
Joined: Apr 14, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 6, 2015
College: Stockholms university
Major: Finance
Industry: Student
Country: Sweden
Verified Real Student Review

Best verbal techniques out there and great fundamental tricks to ace the GMAT

September 23, 2015
  • Teacher: Rich & Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

I came across Empowergmat here on the forums and since my verbal and math skills were stagnating around the 33/42 mark I felt like giving them a try.

I only took the course for one month as a way to prepare for my official Gmat that was creeping closer each day but I learned so many techniques and ways to think about the test!

I especially loved the verbal modules as the key techniques and understandings I derived from the course quickly got my verbal from a 33 to the 40 range. I also really liked the Little things that they added, such as how you should view the test and what really matters.

All in all i am extremely happy about the experience and feel that it would have taken a lot longer time to reach the 700 level (even more to get a 720) without the use of Empowergmat.

Thank you Max & Rich for your teachings!
Joined: Jul 16, 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 27, 2015
College: Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
Major: Economics
Country: Greece
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT is the company to choose if you want maximum results with minimum cost.

September 16, 2015
  • Teacher: Rich and Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 660

I started studying alone for GMAT in November 2014 using the Official Guide books, the Manhattan Prep Tests and Kaplan 800. At that time, I was scoring around 590 level, which was good considering that I had just started studying for GMAT and I did not have any previous encounter with that type of math or verbal questions. I studied for approximately 5 months but I wasn't making any notable progress. While I was strong on Verbal, my Quant skills suffered considerably (they were hoovering at the 39 level while Verbal was at approximately at 34). It was then when I decided to seek for help.
I decided to try EmpowerGMAT because I needed help with the Quant Section before anything else and I had read many good things in the forums about Rich, the math tutor of empowerGMAT. This course was also one of the cheapest to buy out there.
The entire course is comprised of modules that teach you tactics and strategies for every single part of the exam by solving real GMAT questions. You will learn methods that will help you solve Quant questions very easily, methods that will help you divide long RC passages to smaller segments, tricks to identify wrong answers in CR and many others. EmpowerGMAT teaches you the tricks to solve certain questions that they seemed hard before, and how to avoid lengthy calculations that eat away your remaining time.
Overall, the course is great, the whole team is very helpful and they try hard to answer any questions you might have as soon as possible. In my opinion, the one thing that made all the difference in increasing my score 70 points was that Rich and Max not only teach you how to solve these questions the easiest way possible, but they also teach you how the GMAT works and how it awards or punishes the test taker.
I totally recommend this course to anyone who wants to take the GMAT, give it a go and you won't regret it.
Joined: Sep 6, 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 12, 2015
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Program!

September 6, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 670 After: 720

I decided to try Empower after one of my friends, who had just started business school, recommended it to me. I was at first a bit skeptical of just having online classes, but they give you a lot of guidance (1-month plan, 3-month plans) to keep you on your feet. I had already spent time studying, so I knew all the rules, but Empower strategies really pushed me to process the questions more efficiently - particularly the confidence to dump hard math questions. I could envision Rich's voice encouraging me to skip a question when I was on the exam, which I had previously never been able to do. The videos were engaging and easy to follow and I really wish I had started with Empower from the beginning of my studies. Great program!
Joined: Aug 26, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 19, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

I owe my 720 to EMPOWERgmat! The most powerful GMAT Course.

September 5, 2015
  • Teacher: Max and Rich
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 630 After: 720

EMPOWERgmat is crazy powerful. I was languishing in the low 600s for about 4 months and was starting to get really discouraged. Two of my friends at work recommended EMPOWERgmat and I signed up. The reason they recommended the course is because it emphasizes the things that lead to points. For example, yes the course covers all of the rules you need for SCs, but it shows you how to attack the questions in a way that make it so cut and dry. I especially loved the tactics on the verbal side of the course, which is exactly where I needed help. I was able to go from a V33 to a V44 in about 6 weeks, which if I had known were possible I would have signed up for EMPOWERgmat from the start.

If you are shopping for courses TAKE EMPOWERGMAT! You'll learn how to beat the GMAT and be a trained tactician.
Joined: Mar 31, 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2, 2015
College: Tennessee Wesleyan College
Major: Accounting
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT to the rescue!

September 1, 2015
  • Teacher: Rich & Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 730

I decided I wanted to take the GMAT earlier this year and did a TON of research of self-study guides. I borrowed some books from friends, had some Manhattan prep stuff and tried to teach myself the content and familiarize myself with some math I hadn't done in YEARS. I took multiple practice CAT's and scored nothing higher than 700. With an average of around 680. I went into the real GMAT not very confident of hitting my 730 target score. I walked out with a 680 and very discouraged. I knew that to get different results I had to change how I studied. I looked over Magoosh, e-gmat, and EmpowerGMAT. After browsing forums and looking at the course overview I signed up for Empower. It was the best decision I made in my GMAT studies. I knew I wanted to take the GMAT again in around 30 days. I went through the entire Empower course in that time. There 1 month plan was a great help and I was able to pace myself through all of the modules. I had to put a lot of time in, but I was fully prepared to do so!

I begin to learn some of Empower's exclusive tactics, Rich and Max explained things clearly and concisely, and gave me such confidence. They have some great insights in how to BEAT the GMAT. And by that I don't mean get all the questions right, I mean information on how questions are composed and how the scoring works which allowed me to understand where I should be focusing. Their Quant is OUTSTANDING. Although I only scored a 44Q on test day, my 2 practice CAT's leading up to my real exam I scored 48Q on both. I didn't have a good performance on the day with Q, but that was down to me. Rich had given me the tools. Verbal was an area I knew I could improve. I felt VERY strong at RC, but SC was an area I knew I could improve a lot. Empower's SC is underrated. I read very few people telling me Empower's SC was good when I was doing my research. But it just clicked for me! I NAILED the verbal on test day and got a 47 (99th percentile) to score 730 Overall (96th percentile). I could not have done it with Empower. If you put the time in, they will give you the tools to ROCK the GMAT.

I feel like I could retake the exam and score 750+, but I have the score I need right now and will be evaluating my options for B-School!
Joined: Jun 5, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 6, 2015
College: The University of Alabama
Major: Health Sciences
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat Review

September 1, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

The EMPOWERgmat video course was incredible and definitely helped me beat the GMAT! I followed the 2 month study plan (after having used another video-based test prep method that I didn't love off and on for a few months), which is extremely organized and gives you a great outline of what to study and when. In addition to the great video lessons, there are also full video answer explanations for every single problem in the GMAT Official Guide. This was SO helpful, especially the week leading up to the test. I took 7 practice tests and ranged in scores from 630 to 700, and I got a 750 on the actual exam. Would recommend this product to anyone, especially auditory learners! It's very reasonably priced too.
Joined: Sep 9, 2014
Purchased Course: May 5, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Empower GMAT if you want a 700+

August 24, 2015
  • Teacher: Rick
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

EmpowerGMAT was great for helping me fine tune my quant skills to achieve a 700 score. I was able to increase my quant score by 9 points using their empower assassin techniques. Rick does an in depth analysis of all the possible topics that you will see on test day. I would recommend Empower to anyone interested in taking the GMAT especially if you are aiming for a top score!
Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7