Test Prep Companies

EMPOWERgmat

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Jan 31, 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 10, 2017
College: Frankfurt School of Finance & Management
Major: Business
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

In less than 2 month to my target score

January 31, 2018
  • Teacher: Rich and Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 570 After: 630

I applied to Master Programs in Business School in Europe and needed to score at least 600 points. After I did some review in math concepts, I took a practice test and scored 570. It was really shocking for me as I only had 2 months left until the application deadline and really needed to score above 600 on my first try.

At first, I thought that I could master the GMAT with the OG alone but after my second practice test, which I scored even lower (540), I asked a friend who recently did his GMAT for help. He recommended EMPOWERgmat as this course took him to his target score. I gave it a try and really can't thank the EMPOWER guys enough! Their approach is so much better than studying math formulas and rules all day long. They teach you very powerful tactics to beat this test without the need to learn all the math and verbal rules you otherwise would have to learn. Furthermore, for me, it was very helpful to have a study plan and to know what to learn and practice next.

In the actual test, I was still very nervous and not sure whether I learned enough to get my target score but in some situations, I heard Rich or Max speaking in my head and reminding me about all the approaches and tactics I learned during their lessons. This made me feel more comfortable and I was rewarded with a score of 630 in the end. I didn't even imagine to score over 600, so this score was a huge surprise for me and a reward for the skills and tactics I learned during the EMPOWER online training.

All in all, I can unconditionally recommend the EMPOWERgmat training to anyone who wants to reach their target score in minimum time with a really efficient approach. I don't which score I would have scored without the EMPOWER training but honestly, I don't even want to know that.
Joined: Jan 6, 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 20, 2017
College: University of Washington
Major: International Relations
Industry: Internet Development Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great for test taking strategy!

January 28, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 700 After: 710

My experience: I studied for & took the GMAT in 2014 shortly after taking the LSAT. I received a 700 thanks to a really high verbal score (48/ 99th percentile) but low quant (37/ 34rd percentile).

I ended up pursuing an early career Masters in Management rather than the joint MBA+JD I was originally planning on. Last fall I started thinking about eventually applying for an MBA (in 2020) and was at a time in life it seemed more convenient to study for and take the GMAT (no big moves, no big job changes, etc.).

So I retook an exam to see what stuck from 2014 - I think I scored around a 650. I knew I wanted 700+ so decided to read through Manhattan Guides. However, I didn't feel they really improved my math skills. It required memorizing a lot of formulas and I'm more of a common sense test taker (would rather use logic to solve problems rather than relying on memorization - I'm not great at memorizing). After reading reviews I decided to use EmpowerGMAT because it seemed to include a lot of test taking strategies.

It fulfilled all my expectations! It was super helpful. I did the first section and then some parts of the remaining sections. I found the strategies most helpful (e.g. eliminating answers, testing the answers, etc.).

My GMAT score ended up 710 (47 verbal, 41 quant) which I am happy with for the amount of time I put in. I think if you actually did all of the EmpowerGMAT modules you would be in a really good position for 750+.

As far as ROI on time spent goes, I think EmpowerGMAT is great. It provides test taking strategies that will immediately bump your score, and also a great breakdown of concepts tested on the GMAT. I was also impressed with their verbal - I think it would be good for studying for the LSAT reading comprehension actually! Additionally, the fact the materials are online helps a lot with being able to study anytime (I travel for work so this was nice). And the checklist / progress dashboard is pretty motivating. Finally, they are available if you have any problems or questions. Great program!
Joined: Jan 25, 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 16, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat equals number one

January 25, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

When I decided to apply to an MSc Management course at one of the top universities in Europe I knew I had a lot of work ahead of me. This work included studying for and taking the GMAT. I looked around online, seeking advice. To be honest, I didn't know where to start.
Then I came across some forums advocating the EMPOWERgmat program. They offer a free trial, so I thought why not?
That trial turned into 3 months hard studying and following the curriculum carefully laid out by EMPOWERgmat.
The teaching style of both Rich (Quant), and Max (Verbal) ensure no stone is left unturned, and I my confidence grew as I progressed with the course.
In the end, I got 640 in the exam and accepted to the course I desired. I cannot thank the guys at EMPOWERgmat enough for the role they played, and I highly, highly recommend them to anyone embarking on the same journey I did!
Joined: Jan 18, 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 4, 2017
College: Lebanon
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Construction
Country: United Arab Emirates
Verified Real Student Review

A customizable and direct course

January 18, 2018
  • Teacher: Brian Michaels
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 700

Already having a good score, I wanted to reach the 700 threshold; after reviewing several online GMAT courses I chose Empower GMAT's program because its course could be customizable for the duration of study and I only needed to refine my verbal skills. It turned out to be a good decision as the author of the verbal section did an excellent job of simplifying the learning curve all the while giving out out the tricks of the trade especially regarding the SC and CR sections. For people having more than 3 months time to prepare for the test, the course is very rich in material and would be ideal for first timers especially.
Joined: Jul 3, 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 20, 2017
College: Pontificia Universidad Cat?lica de Chile
Major: Engineering
Industry: Aerosp/Autom/Transp Equipment
Country: Chile
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Tactic approach towards my 700 GMAT

January 3, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 670 After: 700

The first time I took the GMAT I only self studied using the GMAT official guide and I was able to get a respectable 670 (Q49 V33). My main weakness was the way I approached quant (too much complex maths and I wasn't fast/efficient enough on most standardized questions), and on the verbal side I lacked a proper strategy (I had the bad habit of not properly eliminating answers and just selecting the one I though that fitted the best)

EMPOWER was a huge game changer. I knew that for my second try I had to take a good, structured course that would go through all the core content and specially teach strategy regarding elimination of wrong answers.

EMPOWER definitely excels at this last topic: its triage tips, and strategies specially for sentence correction, allowed me to improve 30 points (all in verbal, going from V33 to V37)

I would definitely recommend this course to anyone. The only positive criticism that i have is that I believe it lacks a bit more difficult excercises (700+) on the quant side.

Thank you very much EMPOWER for my 700 GMAT which has allowed me to gain admissions at Kellogg, INSEAD and LBS!
Joined: Dec 13, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 5, 2017
Major: International Business
Industry: Chemicals
Country: Switzerland
Verified Real Student Review

100% recommend - 500 to 700 in Practice CATs and I genuinely enjoyed the process

December 13, 2017
  • Teacher: Rich & Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

I am so lucky I came across EMPOWERgmat. I actually signed up to the course mostly because I thought the price point was more reasonable than some of the alternatives, but in the end it was so good that I would have paid anything! Here I will provide some highlights from the course and the main reasons why I would 100% recommend it to anyone preparing to take the GMAT. (I will include more details of my personal experience in the Share Your Experience thread; in short, I went from 500 to 700 in my practice CATs, but score was 650 on the day due to some very stupid timing mistakes).

STRUCTURE
First of all, the structure of the course is excellent; I was able to break the 12 week study plan into clear, achievable goals for each week; a typical week would involved completion of a Quant module (ie. Algebra), completion of a Verbal module (ie. Reading Comprehension), a couple of mini courses on strategy or tactics, and then some practice quizzes. Even as the weeks closed in I didn't feel overwhelmed, because I was following the curriculum and I felt confident that I would have covered everything I needed to know by Test Day. (They have also designed study plans for 8 weeks and 4 weeks, where I assume curriculum is cut back or condensed).

TEACHING
The other amazing thing, was that when I sat down to do a module, for example, 'Algebra', it wasn't at all overwhelming; the module was broken up into clear classes, where Rich would take you quickly through the concepts and then work with you through lots of example questions. Same with Max on the Verbal side. I was very weak in Quant when I started, and the answer explanations in the OG would often just leave me confused and frustrated, but Rich's explanations are so simple and clear. He also has a positive yet pragmatic attitude, which I really enjoyed.

APPROACH
I also really love that this course is specifically designed around beating the GMAT. It's not about improving your maths skills or your English grammar - all of those things are only focused on in as far as they can help boost your GMAT score. There is a lot of focus on clever strategy and tactics. The Test It tactic and Data Sufficiency process completely changed Quant for me, and even in Verbal, where I was already strong, I saw my score go up several points once Max explained the wrong answer types to look out for and little tactics like the 'The Opposite Test' in Critical Reasoning. I think this element of the course is worth its weight in gold and really sets this course apart from others.

ENJOYMENT
Perhaps this is the most important element. I had thought that studying for the GMAT would just be this necessary yet unpleasant task that I would have to endure for a couple of months. I imagined that I would dread every evening and weekend that I had set aside for studying. However, I was pleasantly surprised when this was not the case at all! I know it might sound crazy, but I actually even looked forward to working on an EMPOWER Quant module after dinner. I think it's because there are so many quizzes built into the curriculum, so the study is very interactive and you're constantly getting feedback.

I am usually not one for the gushing review, but I honestly cannot recommend this course highly enough. If you are preparing to take the GMAT, take this course!

(As an additional note/brag, I completed this three months of study while working full-time and parenting a 1 year old child, so I was only getting in an average of 10-12 hours of study a week).
Joined: Jul 25, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 19, 2017
Major: Business
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Become a GMAT assassin

December 9, 2017
  • Teacher: Rich
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 560 After: 640

In September I sat the first time for the GMAT exam with an effort of about two months training. I received a 560 and was very disappointed. Therefore, I wrote a post in a forum and received an answer by Rich Cohen. Rich told me exactly what my issue was without even telling me about EMPOWERgmat.
Nevertheless, for my second prep time I started informing myself about GMAT courses and chose EMPOWERgmat because of the positive feedback by people who took the test a second and third time.

I soon realized that Rich Cohen is the founder of EMPOWERgmat and started asking him further questions via e-mail. Rich replied always in about 1-3 hours. Amazing to have the GMAT assassin himself answering your questions within hours. Rich is very direct and tells you if you are doing totally wrong. He is really pushing you to stand up and do what it needs to become a GMAT assassin. Maybe some people find that offensive, nevertheless I think it helps a lot!

The course itself is very well structured. You start learning using techniques instead of math (or in combination with math). This totally changed my view on the GMAT math section and helped me to get faster and more accurate. The verbal part of EMPOWERgmat is made by Max. His approaches to solve CR questions and RC questions are just amazing. I also really liked that the transcripts of his videos are available. This allowed me to learn in the library without the need to wear my headphones for hours. Unfortunately, I did not improve my verbal that much (from V32 to V33) but I think with more practice in the EMPOWERgmat techniques, I would have improved my verbal part significantly as well. My math score was improved my 10 points (from Q36 to Q46), what I think is amazing for that time and the fact that I was not able to finish the course.

Beside the approaches for math and verbal, EMPOWERgmat includes very useful tactics and information about the test and the preparation for the test itself. I bought myself headphones and pencils that are like the original GMAT headphones and pencils. I really enjoyed the GMAT podcasts, especially the ones for the last days before the official exam.

Learning for another 2,5 months was tough. I had to start writing my bachelors thesis in that time, preparing for internship applications, taking classes in university and working nearly full-time. Nevertheless, EMPOWERgmat made it possible to improve myself by 80 points and receive a 640! I did not even have the time to finish the course (progress: about 45%). I am pretty sure by completing the course and having more time for preparation than I had during the 2.5 months, a near to 700 or 700+ score would definitely be possible coming from 460.
I would highly recommend EMPOWERgmat to everyone!
Joined: Dec 5, 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 9, 2017
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

The Most Effective GMAT preparation course

December 6, 2017
  • Teacher: Rich, Brian
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 680

When I started my GMAT preparation, I was studying by myself. I used to solve questions posted in forums, downloaded free material, going through discussions for explanations, etc. Doing this by myself did not give me a structured approach to the GMAT. Learning for the exam seemed a daunting task. I wasted few months doing this, and I didn't see any improvement in my score. An expert suggested taking the Empower course and after reading some reviews I decided to do so. Looking back, I would say this was a step in the right direction.

This course helps beginners get the right foundation as well as for retakers. I was strong in Quant but not in Verbal, so at first I planned to use the course for Verbal. Listening to Max's explanations for Verbal OG questions seemed so simple. This was a huge confidence boost. I imitated his approach towards SC and RC questions. The SC 5 second rule, and RC Ladder and reading pace improved my accuracy to 90%. I listened to his explanations for all the OG questions and read the solutions in OG as well. I got accustomed to official questions and was able to quickly identify any question that didn't seem official. During the exam, I was so confident in SC, which was a horrible nightmare a few months back, that I completed the questions in a minute and was able to easily eliminate the wrong answers. In RC, the approaches seemed very simple but they were the most effective. But due to some unfortunate circumstances, I did not score well in verbal on the final exam, but that does not discourage me to give these guys a shout out.

At first, I wasn't focusing on the Quant as I was pretty comfortable, but then I thought let me check it out. Rich's explanation and the tips he gives at the end of every explanation are terrific. As he mentions, Test it and Test the answers can be applied to most of the questions. I was stuck at Q48 for a long time, but after combining Empower tactics and my math skills I was able to reach Q50.

By listening to their explanations carefully and practicing those tactics, the GMAT will be a breeze. If anyone is looking for a structured, an effective and simple approach to tackle questions, these guys are the best.
Joined: Feb 25, 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 1, 2017
College: washington university in st. louis
Major: Engineering
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Empower is the best resource I have used

November 21, 2017
  • Teacher: Brian Michaels
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 710

Empower was far-and-away the best tool I used for my GMAT prep. They provide hundreds of instructional videos and use only real, retired gmat problems. They know the test better than anyone I have come in contact with and what really sets them apart is their strategy to "beat the gmat."

The Empower team has analyzed the gmat and has found ways to crack the test, so that you can achieve your highest score. I know this is probably cliche and many companies claim to have a "leg up" on all the competition, but I think Empower truly is the best. I took a course with another test-prep company and studied for about 4 months and got a 660. This was a disappointment because I got a 620 on the diagnostic test.

With empower I studied for about a month and a half and got over the "plateau" that everyone seems to face at some point in their studies. I ended up getting a 710 after using Empower. Additionally, the staff was very prompt in their replies to questions. The company is smaller than the goliath companies such as Kaplan and Manhattan, which works to your (the student) advantage.

10/10 recommend Empower.
Joined: Nov 18, 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 5, 2017
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: Turkey
Verified Real Student Review

30 points increase in a month!

November 18, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 700 After: 730

I took GMAT two times, one in 14 September the second in 3 November. I prepared only using Official Guide for the first one, I got 700, but I aimed higher than that, since I will apply for scholarships too, so I registered for another test. I took 2 weeks break after the first one and decided to prepare more systematically for the second test. I searched for the courses, check the prices, took some trial courses and decided to register for EMPOWERgmat since it seems most logical to me taking into account price and quality. I had only one month to prepare and being able to register for only a month was very convenient for me. I was good at quant, I got 49 in the first trial, so I did not use EMPOWERgmat for quant. I increased my verbal score from 36 to 40 thanks to EMPOWERgmat's tricks. I watched the videos for RC, CR and SC in verbal section and solved the practice questions. The course helped me to be familiar about all verbal question types in GMAT and also taught me how to approach them. Practice questions after each video of a certain type of question helped me to comprehend the concept. I really enjoyed EMPOWERgmat, it is very effective. After you got prepared with this course, you will not be surprised by any question on the actual test. I recommend it to anyone who aims to increase his/her verbal score. I scored 730 on the second try thanks to it.
Joined: Sep 28, 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 28, 2017
College: UCSB
Major: Environmental Studies
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Increased my score 100 points in 4 weeks

November 10, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 630 After: 730

I decided to take the GMAT in the end of September. After doing some research on the best study tools, I heard about EmpowerGMAT and I'm so glad I checked it out. Not only are they a whole lot cheaper than most of the study services (only $99 a month with unlimited access to all of the study materials), but they teach you a ton of great tricks.

I signed up to take the test on November 7th, and started my subscription in the beginning of October, giving me about 5 weeks to study. I ended up not really studying for 2 of those weeks due to a natural disaster happening in my town, but that's another story. I ended up only studying hard for about 3 weeks. My score went from a 630 to a 730 on test day, just with the help Empower gave me. I didn't use any other study materials or programs.

Some of the things I liked about Empower:
-You can go at your own pace. Some of the modules/lessons I already knew really well, so I just skipped them. It's that easy. Or, you can redo modules as many times as you need to.
-Great little tricks. They taught me a few tricks in both quant and verbal that could apply to many different problems, and were super easy to learn. These were a big reason for my score increase.
-It's cost effective. You pay by the month (I think there is actually a two week extension option as well) so you don't pay more than you need to. For me, I didn't want to study for 3 months, and a lot of other services only have like $500-$1000 intensive long programs. So it can work for anyone with any type of study needs.
-There are a TON of lessons and resources on the site. I barely even scratched the surface. Basically any part of the test or topic on the test, there were a ton of lessons and practice problems and tips. And you can do them in any order you want.
Joined: Oct 30, 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 16, 2017
College: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Major: Business
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing Value, Succinct and Effective, 720 in 2 months, +12 points on Quant

October 30, 2017
  • Teacher: Rich Cohen
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

I was looking for a low-cost option as I was not set on taking the GMAT or applying to business school. I stumbled upon EMPOWER after a bit of Google searching and pulled the trigger because it was a great price point compared to other more established prep services. I was immediately impressed with EMPOWER's candid approach to GMAT prep. This service is geared towards one thing: getting you a 700+ on the test. Below are some thoughts I had as I went through the curriculum.

Style: I loved EMPOWER's straightforward approach. In the quant videos, Rich is very direct about what's important and what's not. He gives little tidbits about the architecture of the test that are very helpful in juicing points that other test-takers may miss. Alongside giving a great understanding of how the test works, the video lessons are very effective in teaching the concepts. Most of the quant section relies on math you've learned at some point in the past, so a succinct refresher is all that's needed, and Rich's videos are great at that. They mix in quiz questions along the way to ensure you're getting it. On the verbal side, the sentence correction modules really help in identifying what to look for and how to eliminate wrong answers. I found that I could often get the right answer (even when it sounded weird) by using the EMPOWER rules to eliminate wrong answers. Very helpful.

Accessibility: I had a few "freak out" moments during my studying where I needed some feedback to get me refocused and reoriented. Most of those moments were on weekends and I was very impressed with Rich's accessibility. He personally responded to me quickly even on Saturdays and Sundays.

Overall: I can't imagine there's a better value out there. EMPOWER gives you the tools to succeed and the confidence to understand the test for what it is. Highly recommended as a comprehensive yet succinct and efficient prep course.
Joined: Oct 29, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2, 2017
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Good value for money, would definitely recommend it.

October 30, 2017
  • Teacher: Rich/Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

- The prep overall: really liked the fact that both teachers seem to know everything about the GMAT. You can tell they have been doing this for quite a while and will give you priceless advises on which strategy to go with and how the GMAT functions.
I think that is a real game changer, more than just working on math/verbal skills, understanding what the makers want from you and how they design each question.

- The quant section is extremely helpful, you will get all the essential things you need to know for test day. You will realise that the amount of quant formulas/data/rules to know by heart on test day is actually not that bad at all, Rich is very good at focusing on the essential and will give you tips you might not be able to get anywhere else. This prep made me realise you don't have to be a math genius to succeed in this test it's all about strategy and practice.

- The verbal section: From a non native english speaker's point of view I would have appreciated maybe a more complete verbal section. I found the content pretty light overall on basic grammar/tenses rules, but these are pretty easy to find online anyway so I wouldn't say that was a big issue.
On the other hand as with the quant section the verbal one is more focused on strategy on how to approach the questions and how to understand the GMAT standards.

What I really liked about EMPOWERgmat is that they keep everything to the essentials. Learn what they tell you to and beat the GMAT it's that simple. unlike many prep who will make you drown under useless information/data/books...

If you don't want to waste you time and money I would definitely recommend this prep, I only had one month available, never took the GMAT before and ended up with a more than decent score of 650.
Joined: Oct 9, 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 6, 2017
College: Columbia
Major: Political Science
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

By far the best value for your money

October 9, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

As someone who just graduated from college, I did not want to pay thousands of dollars for a GMAT course if there was a similar alternative for a better price. This is exactly why I ended up choosing the Empower course to prepare for the GMAT. To give some background, I graduated from an Ivy League University as a student-athlete with a liberal arts degree. I ended up taking a job at a top-tier private equity firm out of college, but wanted to take the GMAT in my first few months out of college just so I could have the score in my back pocket for five years.

Because I was just starting a new job full-time, I wanted to be able to prepare for the test on my own time. I really liked the Empower course because they teach you how to attack each question and exploit its weaknesses. This aggressive test-taking style appealed to me as it kept everything exciting and engaging. The video lessons are very clear and thorough, making sure you understand each little step on the way to choosing your final answer.

On my initial diagnostic test that I took without any preparation I scored a 540. My goal, like many GMAT test-takers, was a 700+. After 3 months of preparation with the Empower course I was able to score a 710 on the first try. I firmly believe that anyone who works diligently to truly understand every lesson in the Empower course should be able to attain a 700 or higher. The Empower course gives you the blue-print, all you have to do is follow all their advice!
Joined: Dec 1, 2016
Purchased Course: May 30, 2017
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Worth the money and effort

October 3, 2017
  • Teacher: Rich, Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 560 After: 650

I started out preparing for the GMAT being self-guided, but when I got my first results from taking the exam I was quite dissatisfied. I looked around and liked what I saw from the review of EMPOWERgmat. My quant was already strong, but the additional techniques I picked up from Rich helped quite a bit. My verbal score was really what struggled during the first exam and the techniques that Max will teach you worked very well for me! I didn't have a ton of time to prepare (less than 3 months) for my next exam, so I expect that my score would have been even higher had I taken more time to hone my skills and improve the speed at which I process the verbal problems. Overall, I would recommend EMPOWERgmat with flying colors, since you get a discount on the OG test materials and they are willing to refund you if you do not jump up more than 70 points, a pretty awesome deal! The EMPOWER team was also very friendly and reached out to me a number of times to make sure I felt comfortable before the exam and with my score after the exam.
Joined: Oct 2, 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 25, 2017
College: Villanova University
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Scored a 690 in 1 month with EMPOWERgmat

October 2, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

I graduated college in May of this year and my first day of work was not until September 18th, so I chose to spend a month of my free time being productive and working toward my future by taking the GMAT. I chose EMPOWERgmat based on a friend's recommendation, and I am very pleased with the outcome.

The program is extremely cheap compared to Kaplan, Princeton Review, etc. and also seemed to be the most flexible option. I really valued how the subscription came with a ton of content and allowed me to move at my own pace. I was still able to enjoy the summer on days where I had plans, and when I was less occupied, I could put in a solid amount of work all at once. I valued that aspect of not being tied down to a set schedule during a carefree period of time in my life. For the same reasons, I believe this course to be an optimal choice for any working professional looking to study for the GMAT outside of work, or any undergrad student looking to study during the semester.

The material offered by the course was fantastic in my opinion. The instructional videos did a really good job of reinforcing tricks and tips associated with every type of question in both the quant and verbal sections. The videos and associated practice questions are then supplemented with more material from a GMAT prep book that can be purchased online for about $20.

They recommend that you use the program for a full three months to completely master the material, and I think I would have done better had I followed that suggestion. However, their strategies are very easy to pick up and I was able to take their unique strategies and apply them on my exam to get the score I am happy with. I have since recommended this program to anyone I know thinking about taking the GMAT.
Joined: Sep 17, 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 4, 2017
College: University of Southern California
Major: Health Sciences
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Helped me view the GMAT in a way that led me to success

September 17, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I joined EMPOWERgmat after self-studying with the Manhattan prep books and seeing no improvement in my CAT score week after week. What I found in EMPOWERgmat was everything that I was missing from books and from a self-studying approach. Not only was the video format one I found really useful, but having Rich and Max offering insightful tips and Brian answering my questions via email really provided a personalized approach.

I studied for the GMAT over the course of 2-3 months, and continued to score around 640/650 week after week, scoring 670 on my last two CATs. Somehow, by employing all the EMPOWERgmat tactics, I was able to reach my goal and score 700 on my real exam! This is definitely not something I could have done without using the EMPOWER approach to the test.

I would say that the most value in the EMPOWER course is how my view of the GMAT changed. I was able to realize that I was not studying for a test, but rather training for one, and that this exam was very different to the ones I had completed in the past. Getting used to triaging answers and dropping super hard questions was a tactic that took me a while to get used to, but ultimately led to my success. From just reading books it was unclear to me that the hard questions were worth few to no points and I needed to focus on the easy and medium topics, but this insight proved critical to joining the 700 club.

My experience with EMPOWERgmat was extremely positive and I will be recommending it to all who ask. The price is amazing for the content, insight, and support offered. I would never even consider taking a huge $1000+ course after seeing how powerful EMPOWERgmat is. Thank you to all the team - I couldn't have done it without you!
Joined: Sep 17, 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 18, 2017
College: University of Michigan
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Helpful, easy-to-understand learning tactics

September 17, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 600 After: 660

I've tried various study methods (MGMAT, private tutor, etc) and EmpowerGMAT was a great method to help me refine my learning skills in the final stages of my GMAT journey. The course content is focused on best practices and approaches to answering the question in the most straightforward way possible. For example, no crazy math techniques are necessary - the videos will show you the simplest ("oh, duh!") approach to beat the question, explained in a step-by-step sequence. This approach was refreshingly different from other methods and classes I have taken prior to discovering Empower. I highly recommend this program for students at any point of their GMAT journey.
Joined: Aug 28, 2017
Purchased Course: May 17, 2017
College: Georgetown
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Top Notch Prep and Advice from Empower

August 28, 2017
  • Teacher: Rich & Max
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 750

Empower GMAT is a fantastic course to help you learn strategies and break 700 on the GMAT. It helped me go from a 640 to a 750 on my official GMAT! The videos by Rich and Max are helpful and teach you not only how to answer the specific questions at hand, but also how to apply the strategies they use to other questions. The price is very fair for the material you gain access to and the monthly charge will help keep you motivated to not let your access go to waste. Plus, the discounts you receive on official GMAT practice exams are not offered anywhere else!

The customer service at Empower is also top notch! They answer questions quickly and even forward them to Rich/Max when needed. Rich reached out to me personally to help me strategize and fix my weak areas after my first GMAT attempt and it helped me tremendously - I don't think you'd get that level of service in many other places.

You definitely need to be motivated to use Empower. You have to devote time to taking the lessons and doing the practice problems. If you do, Empower will help you get the score you deserve. Hundreds of videos of practice questions and lessons with material straight from the OG are available with expert advice. If you devote the time and energy into Empower, you can break 700!
Joined: Aug 14, 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 20, 2017
College: St. Olaf College
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT Will Secure Your 700+ Score

August 14, 2017
  • Teacher: Rich
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

As most students soon learn, taking the GMAT isn't like prepping for any other standardized test for graduate school. In fact, since the GMAT is one of the main MBA application components within an applicant's control, students, like myself, realize the importance of maximizing their GMAT score. To do so, I would recommend no other course than EmpowerGMAT.

I enrolled in the EmpowerGMAT course after failing to improve my practice test scores for months, and while pleased with the low cost of the course, was skeptical of spending so much on 'just a test'. Every cent was worth it, in my mind. Empower has a detailed checklist of how to go through a 1-month, 2-month or 3-month course of study. I used the 3-month checklist and it ensured my 700+ score.

The resources provided by Empower are key. Their problem explanations were very helpful and focused a lot on OG content. Their laser-like focus on official materials helped a lot, too! The instructors are obviously very talented and are excellent communicators.

However, what secured by 700+ score was the unique strategy employed by Empower. Their in-house strategies are unparalleled in the GMAT world, and after trying out several other resources, I saw my practice test scores improve only have trained with Rich at Empower.

Before starting my GMAT process, I was hoping for a 650+. Training with Empower gave me the skills and practice schedule necessary to score 700+. If I can do it, you can use Empower to get the score you need.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7