Test Prep Companies,GRE Prep Company

Target Test Prep

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Jan 16, 2017
Purchased Course: May 23, 2017
College: New York University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep - Responsible for my 700+ score

September 14, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I have utilized Target Test Prep, Manhattan GMAT, Veritas Prep, Magoosh and EmpowerGMAT resources over the course of my study for the GMAT. Target Test Prep (TTP) is the single best resource that I used in order to prepare for the Quant section of the GMAT. It is a resource that helped me to crack the 700 barrier that had eluded me for a long time. I selected the flexible study option and in my opinion, this platform provided the highest value-to-price and ease of use of all the resources that I had utilized for my GMAT preparation. I began to see gains in my GMAT score after I used the TTP content and I would like to give it my highest recommendation. I feel very passionate about this recommendation of the TTP material, because preparation for the GMAT can be a very expensive undertaking that disenfranchises many qualified applicants. There are many companies that will try to extract every dollar that they can from committed students. That is not the case with Scott and Jeff (founders of TTP). There were several instances when they helped me to make a decision that was truly in my interest as opposed to their bottom line. They were incredibly responsive throughout the course of my study, and personally answered questions that I had along the way.

I hope this review will:

1. Help you to see the benefits of the TTP platform.
2. Encourage you to keep your eye on your goal
3. Avoid some of the pitfalls that I made.

Now back to TTP:

The content at TTP is comprehensive and is presented in a user friendly format. Even after review of much of the material from other companies, there were many gaps in knowledge that TTP filled for me. TTP helped me to not only understand a formula but also the derivation of that formula. Once I learned the why associated with some high level concepts, I realized that this knowledge was transferable to many different areas that came into play when reasoning through problems and data sufficiency questions.

TTP helped me to identify the efficient method of solving a problem as opposed to the elegant method. Early in my test prep, I was focused on the latter and wasted precious time during execution. As I used the TTP material, not only did I know how to answer questions, but I also knew how much time/effort would be associated with a particular solution method. This becomes very important when students venture into the 49-51 territory. The videos embedded in the lessons are golden and really help to reinforce the content that is delivered within each lesson.

The design of the TTP platform is very user friendly and helps students to allocate their time (a scarce resource) appropriately during study hours. The study plans provided structure and helped me to maintain consistency when life began to get in the way of my study. The built in analytics helped me tremendously. I was able to easily diagnose my strengths and my weaknesses and leverage the extensive TTP question bank to convert weaknesses into the strengths. I previously did not even have an error log, so I approached my study inefficiently. The design of the platform ushered built-in efficiency gains that I needed in order to boost my score.

Simply put, performance on easy, medium and advanced questions matters. Early on in my test prep I was so focused on advanced level questions that I was very prone to make silly mistakes on easy and medium level questions. This was largely because I didn?t spend any time practicing at these levels when I thought that I had mastered concepts. TTP helps you to ensure that you address all of these buckets with an extensive question bank listed by topic. I finally saw breakthroughs in my performance on advanced questions after I had read all of the material and perfected the easy and medium difficulty questions for each topic. Naturally as my quant proficiency improved, I began to see a higher proportion of advanced quant questions in my mock exams. I increased my accuracy at the advanced stage using TTP and felt that I had a chance to answer any and every question thrown my way correctly.

Initially, I believed that TTP would not provide any incremental knowledge to the knowledge base that I had gained from other platforms, so I questioned the value that TTP would provide. I was wrong. It is the single reason that I was able break the 700 barrier. Regardless of where you are in your test prep, Target test prep has content that will benefit you. You can use the material as the backbone of your preparation or as a complement to another resource. Either way, at a minimum you will gain a clear assessment of where you are and path forward to reaching your goals.

As you embark upon your next steps - Stay Focused. Be Bold. The score that you want is yours. Claim it.
Joined: Sep 5, 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 3, 2017
College: Santa Clara Univ.
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing, modern Quant Prep

September 5, 2017
  • Teacher: Jeffery Miller; Scott Woodbury-Stewart
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 710

If you're anything like me, the Quant section was by far the most challenging from the outset, and continued to pose as a formidable opponent. After taking the test once, and struggling with the Quant, I knew I needed to find a resource. I had been using books from the "big guys," but it wasn't really helping the Quant material click for me. I figured there must be something else out there. I quickly stumbled on Target Test Prep (TTP) - a relatively new player to the GMAT prep game. So I checked them out thoroughly. I was surprised at first to see they were the only company on the market that focused solely on Quant, but that actually gave me confidence - they aren't trying to be everything to everyone. TTP - least for now - is a focused approach for people serious about improving their Quant score.

As a growing company, TTP without a doubt has nothing but your best interest in mind. I found them very communicative, and responsive - never felt alone in the process even though I chose a "self-study" approach with them. Using a combination of written lessons and tons of videos showing exactly how to approach each type of problem, I found TTP to be a robust training course. Two things stood out for me most of all, though. 1: there's no fluff, or clutter. Everything presented, even the basics, are for a reason to refresh and build upon. And 2: the way to approach the Quant questions is what helped me the most. Every service shares their method for approaching it, but I found TTP to be the best for learning really useful tactics that made sense to me, I could retain, and utilize on test day.

In about 6 weeks, after utilizing TTP's entire Quant course, I retook the GMAT and increased my overall score by 30 points. My Verbal remained the same, meaning that my increase was all in Quant: went from a 43 to a 47, thanks to TTP?s help. With their available free trial, I highly recommend giving it a try, and see if the format and teaching approach work for you!
Joined: Sep 1, 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 29, 2017
College: Tufts University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

44Q to 49Q in a month with TTP!

September 1, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: 710

I took my GMAT for the first time in July 2017 and got a 44Q. After months of studying, using all the Kaplan materials (including the Live Online Prep course), and taking countless practice tests with better results, I was really disappointed.

After decompressing for a few weeks, I decided I might as well try the GMAT again while the math was fresh in my mind. I didn't want another year to take the test and have to re-learn everything I had spend months trying to remember. So I decided to take the test again at the end of August.

As I geared up to take the test again, I knew that just using the Kaplan materials wasn't going to get me the score I wanted. After extensive internet searching I landed on Target Test Prep. Beyond having good reviews, the Flexible Program was reasonably priced at $99 a month. this was a big plus after spending thousands on the Kaplan program.

The Dashboard is extremely useful. It shows your strongest and weakest chapters, your accuracy percentage, your average time per question (even divided up between problem solving and data sufficiency), among other things. It is a great quick and easy way to keep track of your progress and see what you still need to improve on.

I began with doing the medium-level practice problems in each of the chapters. That gave me a good indication of what me strengths and weaknesses were. After determining the topic areas I needed to review (e.g., combinations and permutations, probability), I reviewed those specific chapters only. The chapters were detailed and contained a lot of useful tricks to work through problems faster. Especially useful were the video AND written explanations for each practice problem within the chapter. I also liked that the practice problems were divided up by difficulty level and practices sets had accuracy goals depending on difficulty level (i.e., you should aim to get 70% of medium questions right vs. 60% of hard questions right).

Target Test Prep really lived up to its reviews. After using it exclusively for a month, I got my quant score up to a 49. I can definitely say that I was more confident about the quant section going into my test. More concretely, I know I would have gotten the first question of the quant section wrong on test day if it weren't for Target Test Prep.
Joined: Aug 30, 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 4, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep helped me overcome my fear of math

August 30, 2017
  • Teacher: Jeff Miller
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 550 After: 680

In my first attempt at the GMAT, I had tried several resources but never found anything that really worked for me. Enter Target Test Prep. I had a great initial conversation with Jeff who encouraged me to switch up materials to help enliven the process. I took his advice and signed up for the $1 weeklong trial (which is great for us commitment-phobes). I really liked the clean and sleek interface, the dashboard that tracks and analyzes your progress, and, most importantly, the way TTP broke down the material into super specific chapters.

TTP provided the depth and breadth that I needed but didn?t get from the other materials. There were even times when I encountered problem types that I thought were way too specific and that there was no way this would be tested on the actual GMAT. Definitely not the case. As the Boy Scouts motto goes, ?always be prepared.? TTP equips you with ALL the tools and knowledge you need so you?re prepared to tackle every quant problem on the GMAT. Also, TTP is awesome in that you can use the nifty dashboard to focus on very specific problem types. It removes any doubt or confusion on which areas need more focus and attention.

If you struggle with math, use TTP ? This is hands down the best resource available if you need to improve your quant skills. The thoroughness of the program is unparalleled. DO ALL THE PROBLEMS. For the first few chapters, I was only doing the easy and medium problems then resorting to OG problems. Don?t do that. By doing all the problems, you?re drilling key concepts into your brain to the point where you?ll be able to easily identify patterns and solve problems without hesitation. Again, do all the TTP problems and then do all the OG problems.

I also signed up for individual tutoring sessions with Jeff, which was a major game changer. Jeff challenges you to really understand the concepts being tested while also showing you ways to outsmart the test makers. I am not a great standardized test and often let my anxiety get the best of me, but Jeff showed me that if you really understand and know the material, then there?s no reason to get anxious. Just trust in yourself and what you?ve learned.
Joined: Aug 28, 2017
Purchased Course: May 14, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep is the ONLY Test Prep

August 30, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 610 After: 710

As far as GMAT Quant is concerned, Target Test Prep is the way to go. IT IS FOOLPROOF. With only 2 months before my test deadline, I did the flex plan and completed EVERY SINGLE medium and hard test, hitting each accuracy goal as instructed. The lessons were very clear and extra detailed. Before TTP, I tried a few other test preps. TTP is by far better because they focus on teaching you the math to its core- ALL OF IT- as opposed to simply giving you the basics and smart strategy/tricks to answer the most common questions. I tried the latter way before TTP, and in the heat and anxiety of the quant section, you're better off KNOWING THE MATH rather than trying to finesse the GMAT by depending on tricks like testing the answers choices or guessing and checking--especially if you want an advanced score. With TTP, I mastered ALL the concepts and knew each one like the back of my hand, and was able to dive into each question, knowing EXACTLY what to do. In the end, the quant felt easy because I was very familiar with every problem that was thrown at me and trained to do it in 2 min or less. I haven't taken a math class in 8 years and TTP made me more than prepared for the GMAT, it gave me the confidence that I can handle the b-school quant. Note: Give yourself more than 2 months to complete this plan if you can. I did it in 2 months because it was crunch time and I had no choice, but I wish I started with TTP from the beginning of my GMAT journey, 6 months prior.
Joined: Aug 25, 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 25, 2017
College: Christ University
Major: Finance
Industry: Other Services
Country: Saudi Arabia
Verified Real Student Review

THE COURSE FOR QUANT

August 25, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 700

My GMAT journey has been a tumultuous one to say the least. I started my first GMAT way back in 2013 and finally achieved a decent enough score in 2017.
I got a 680 last year, was not happy with it mainly due to the Quant score a 47 (65 percentile).
After much deliberation and 2/3 rejected applications I decided to give my last and final GMAT in 2017, the whole game plan then was to score a good score- 700 plus with a definite improvement in QUANT. Problem was I had no idea how to go about it and this was back in June-17, my exam was scheduled for 5-Aug-17. I stumbled upon Target Test Prep purely by chance, was reading one of the success testimonials of a candidate on BEATTHEGMAT (forgot the user name). He had been in the same predicament and TTP had helped him get to his goal and he had mentioned it was only a $ for a 5 day trial and pointed out that if anyone liked a structured chapter by chapter study course TTP was the one. I read more on TTP and found great reviews on BEATTHEGMAT.

Decided that a dollar was worth a shot, and I was hooked right from the start!
They have three options based on the access duration. Per month $ 69, 4 months- $ 199 and 6 months access- $ 279. Being short on time I opted for the monthly access plan.
TTP has a great teaching format. They have a clear study plan outlined for you and with chapters broken up into groups. You do each chapter review with supporting sums and the best part is their explanation! Jeff and Scott shines in this area- they have an audio visual explanation for each practice sum! This is followed by chapter tests that are broken down by levels of difficulty. The number of sums at their disposal is just mind blowing. After each chapter my confidence grew, even if I didn?t score the best. That was mainly cause of the explanation, they clearly highlighted the pit falls and the traps laid out in those sums and I genuinely learnt from my mistakes. I reached a point that in the difficulty level tests I would wish I got some questions wrong purely to figure out if I missed any traps in the questions answered (delusional of me I know).

The D-day arrived, I wrote the test clicked on result and voila I see a 50 in Quant- 87 percentile.
Came out of the exam center wanting to scream out in joy and for me TTP had rocked and I couldn?t thank them enough. The course was so instrumental in beating my Quant Dragon! If you like a structured learning plan that helps you track your progress and with the advantage you can open and do it anywhere ? TTP is the course for you. I loved it and would highly recommend it. This course was for me a score changer!
Joined: May 23, 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 3, 2017
College: Dartmouth College
Major: History
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Took Target Test Prep and Never Looked Back!

August 25, 2017
  • Teacher: Jeffrey Miller
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 700 After: 750

Target Test Prep?s course structure was exactly what I needed. The dashboard gives you real analytics on your progress, which makes it so much easier to track your strengths and weaknesses. It?s also easy to navigate and simple. As soon as I paid the $1 trial sign up fee, I felt like I was able to get to work immediately. With this plan, I did not take any shortcuts. I did the work. I built myself a calendar around Target Test Prep?s recommended study plan and stuck to it. I tracked my progress on their dashboard, flagging questions I did not understand, and then went back to them to redo later. No other resource I had tried (and I tried many of them) made it so easy to identify and tackle my weaknesses.

I also opted to do individual tutoring sessions with Jeff, Target Test Prep?s head tutor. These sessions were grueling because Jeff purposely showed me the trickiest problems to help me learn how the test is designed to stump you. Through these sessions, I started to learn how to think about problems and how to approach them more strategically.

For me, Target Test Prep was crucial for building the confidence I needed in my quant base, and I truly believe it taught me to think more strategically about the exam overall. My verbal and IR both improved without much additional time spent studying these sections. But I also have to thank Jeff, who encouraged me to go back to the exam and give it one more shot. If it weren't for his motivation, I would not have seen a 50 point increase in my score!
Joined: Jan 10, 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 10, 2017
College: UCSD
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

TTP Helped Me Break 700!

August 22, 2017
  • Teacher: Scott
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 710

TTP helped drive my quant score up from a 45 to a 47 which I needed to break the 700 barrier. After months of studying on my own and disappointment after my first stab at the GMAT, a friend recommended TTP and I couldn?t be happier. Immediately after purchasing the 3-month course, Scott emailed me to check-in. TTP also gave me a free 30-minute consolation over the phone to answer any questions I had about their product.

TTP breaks up quant into digestible sections and gives you flexibility. Each chapter describes the concepts in detail with periodic examples. The short quizzes enable you to choose which level problems you want to test. For each quant subject, TTP helped me identify my strengths and weaknesses and maximize my study time since I could choose between reviewing the chapter material and jumping ahead to the quizzes.

After reaching my target score, Scott congratulated me and was genuinely interested in my next steps and school choices. I?d highly recommend TTP for anyone who wants a one-stop-shop for GMAT quant.
Joined: May 6, 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 29, 2017
College: United States Military Academy
Major: Political Science
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

FINALLY found quant success thanks to Target Test Prep (Q42 to Q46)

August 12, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 710

I identified very early on in my GMAT prep that I needed to focus almost exclusively on prepping for the quant section of the test. I understand that everyone has their own unique path to success on the GMAT, however, if you are like me and mainly struggle with quant as a non-STEM undergrad (or simply lack quant confidence), you will not regret learning concepts, tightening up knowledge gaps, and drilling with Target Test Prep. Their web interface is sleek, easily accessible from your PC or mobile device, and allows you to quickly target and strengthen weak areas.

I have utilized a variety of GMAT prep materials (actually pretty much all of them) but none of them will get you the same bang for your buck as Target Test Prep if you put in the requisite effort. I needed a product that would provide me a structured quant overview, but would also allow me the flexibility to hone in on problem areas and target them with a sufficient breadth of problems. Target Test Prep has every quant concept covered backwards, forwards, and sideways with several 10-18 question ?chapter tests? (sometimes even up to 8 or 9 chapter tests) and a robust , proprietary question bank.

The questions are broken down into easy, medium, and hard- I?ve noticed that many of the easy questions target concepts in ways that you won?t find anywhere else. While many test prep companies pay lip service to mastering quant fundamentals, the TTP ?easy? problems are designed in such a way as to ensure that you have truly mastered the basics before moving on to more difficult problems. The medium and hard problems tend to be slightly more difficult than official GMAT medium and hard problems which is EXACTLY what you want in a GMAT quant prep platform.

The GMAT quant section seemed like an insurmountable obstacle to me until I started systematically attacking it with the help of Target Test Prep. I was able to boost my quant score from a 42 to a 46 and ultimately achieve my goal of a 700+ with a 710.
Joined: Sep 2, 2012
Purchased Course: Mar 4, 2017
College: University of Madras
Major: Finance
Industry: Accounting
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing Course trained to prepare you for a Quant Assasin

August 11, 2017
  • Teacher: Jeff
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Target Test Prep is the best online software available to study and conquer the GMAT exam. The website is user friendly, the platform excellent, and the material first rate. I would not even consider nor would I recommend anyone use another software or prep. I found Jeff and Scott to be awesome individuals to work with and very accessible. The best features of the course include
(1)Having full access to the course for 5 days for 1 $ which is truly amazing-This is a very useful feature if you would like to understand what the course can actually offer
(2)Wide database of questions in excess of 2000 totally - Covering all areas ranging in various levels of difficulty - From Low to High
(3)Target Test prep notes - it allows you to highlight the features and more importantly download it offline for easy reference
I feel extremely confident now attempting the GMAT Course - My scores in various GMAT Tests have improved dramatically after studying with the Target Test Prep course
Joined: Aug 7, 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 7, 2017
College: Fordham University
Major: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Clear, comprehensive study materials designed to improve your score.

August 7, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

I only had 3 weeks to prepare for the GMAT and was looking for a prep program that would provide a flexible, but comprehensive curriculum for the quantitative section. Target Test Prep is exactly that. The program is designed to be both flexible and comprehensive - it divides the material into sections based on skill sets. Each section has a set of slides with curriculum and practice problems, and a set of practice exams ranging from easy to hard with multiple of each. When you first start the program you take a diagnostic exam and determines your weak points. From here, you can tailor your study plan to focus on these areas. The program allowed me to study most effectively, with a focused study plan and the means to practice. The curriculum was more clear and effective than any of the material I found in the test prep books, and the practice exams were manageable, but challenging. I would not have been able to score as high as I did without TTP.
Joined: Nov 12, 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 23, 2017
College: Florida State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I Beat the Quant Section with TTP

August 4, 2017
  • Teacher: none
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 670 After: 700

I am a male, thirty-five years of age, and a native English speaker in the USA. I am single, no children, and therefore have more free time than many people my age. I graduated cum laude from a large state university in 2004 where I studied finance and economics. Immediately after undergrad I went to law school, practiced law for two years, and then worked in healthcare for eight years.

I took the GMAT in December 2016 and scored a 670 (48Q/34V) after several months of self-study with commonly used print materials. I found out in March 2017 that I was not accepted to the three top 25 programs to which I had applied. I thought my GMAT score was the biggest reason for lack of admission and the most important admission criteria that I could improve for the next application cycle. I was also told by several MBA admission consultants that the top finance programs want 49 or higher on quant. My quant had to improve to meet that threshold. My GMAC CAT verbal scores were at 40/41 (in April 2017) and combined with a 49 in Quant would enable a 720+ score. I spent a couple weeks evaluating the various online test prep services.
I chose Target Test Prep for Quant Prep because I had participated in some of the free Tuesday sessions with Jeff and watched some of the other free content TTP has on YouTube. I signed up for the TTP one month renewable plan and followed the short study plan so that I could sit for the test again and finally break 700. The first month I strictly followed the short study plan and found that the TTP program was easy to follow, had user friendly explanations in text and many also in video, and that these studies guided me to a deeper understanding of why every choice was correct or not. I also found that the answer explanations on TTP were far superior to the print materials I previously used to earn a 48Q. I had hoped that one month would be enough for me, but my GMAC CATs were not meeting my goal and I renewed TTP for a second month. During the second month I took practice quant exams nearly every night, including TTP tests that were composed entirely of previous wrong answers. The self-testing options were incredible and allowed me to focus on whatever section needed attention.

In addition to the amazing structured program, the people behind the program, Scott and Jeff, are TTP?s greatest assets. They were always available and responded to emails within a few hours. Scott even texted me while he was traveling internationally.

I took the official GMAT again in July 2017 and scored 700 with a 50Q and 34V. I am thrilled with my quant score and do not believe that I could have scored 50 without TTP. I highly recommend TTP and that you email TTP so that Scott or Jeff can recommend the right study plan for you.
Joined: Jul 5, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 9, 2017
College: NYU-Stern School of Business
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Quant Materials and Tutoring

July 5, 2017
  • Teacher: Jeff Miller
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 700 After: 740

After obtaining a 700 score with self-study and with nothing but waitlists and rejections from elite MBA programs to show for it, I realized I needed to change my approach with respect to GMAT prep. My key improvement area would need to be in the Quantitative section as my 45 score would not be competitive for the programs I was seeking admission to. Based on some reviews of Quantitative materials, I found Target Test Prep fit the bill in terms of the materials (online and mobile friendly) and on cost (Unlimited 6 month access for $399). After about 1-2 months of self study, I engaged Jeff Miller for additional tutoring to help put me over the top. I worked with Jeff for about 3 months meeting 1-2 times a week for 1-2 hours via Skype and WebEx which fit perfectly given heavy travel requirements of my job (consulting). Jeff helped me translate my strong underlying math skills into GMAT success, something which was stymieing me in terms of my ability to secure a high Quant score. My quantitative score improved to a 48 and I was able to get a 740 overall score, which puts me in prime contention for the top programs I am hoping to gain admission to later this year.

I would highly recommend Target Test Prep for GMAT students who are looking to develop GMAT-ready math skills whether math is a strong suit or not. For those who are already strong in math, TTP will help you to better deploy your math skills in the GMAT environment, helping you to see the 'shortcuts' and 'tricks' which can bedevil even seasoned math students especially a few years out of undergraduate. For those who are seeking hands-on instruction, Jeff is an excellent coach, our lessons helped me build the confidence that I could break my streak of two straight 700s and push myself further up the GMAT ladder. Both TTP itself and its tutors are what I would call 'consulting friendly' meaning you can take your GMAT prep on the road.

In sum, would highly recommend Target Test Prep as a tool for success on GMAT Quant!
Joined: Jul 1, 2017
Purchased Course: May 1, 2017
College: Bowdoin College
Major: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies, and Humanities
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Improved my GMAT strategy overall and made me a much more confident test taker. Efficient and easy to follow!

July 1, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 720 After: 760

After I didn't do as well as I wanted to on my first test, I signed up for TTP and bought a few hours of tutoring with Jeff. TTP and Jeff are both amazing - my whole score went up 40 points after going through this program. I can't recommend them enough.

The website is SO helpful - the lessons are really easy to follow and efficient. I was able to get through the short study plan and learn so much in 2 months. I had been using Magoosh before but I found myself not retaining a lot from the videos. TTP has questions after each chapter and videos on the most efficient way to solve them, which makes it really easy to practice. If I didn't get something, I never had to wait more than 30 min for Jeff or Scott (the co-owners) to answer a question. They have a chat feature and respond themselves with how best to think about problems.

Tutoring with Jeff was also amazing. Even though TTP only focuses on quant, Jeff's general advice about how to approach the test helped me with my verbal as well. I had a less expensive tutor before, but that wound up being a waste of money. It's really worth it to pay for someone who can help with your GMAT strategy, not just generally how to solve a problem.
Joined: Jun 19, 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 4, 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Nothing better for Quant

June 19, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 540 After: 660

I started studying for the GMAT middle of last year when I took a Manhattan GMAT course. Upon completion of the course I felt I knew the material but realized that was not the case when I took the actual exam. Next I utilized Magoosh which improved my quant score a little bit but no where near where I had desired. After Magoosh I tried TTP as a friend swore by it. I completed the chapters and used Jeff for private tutoring once a week. TTP really excels in breaking down each topic thoroughly. After utilizing TTP and Jeff my quant score increased 10 points to a 48. Would definitely recommend this service to anyone struggling with Quant.
Joined: Jul 11, 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 16, 2016
College: PENN STATE UNIVERSITY
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Verified Real Student Review

Great Learning Tool!

June 10, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

I tried using some other online learning materials (I learn better on my own), but the video format did not work for me. I looked around for other tools out there, then I found Target Test Prep on of the GMAT websites. At first, I was skeptical, because I hadn't heard of it, and I assumed if it was good, I should've heard of it. I wasn't quite ready to commit despite the great reviews. I gave it a risk-free try (5 or 7 day trial for $1, I'm not sure which it is now). I was immensely impressed especially with the deep analytics they provide on their dashboard. This feature makes it easy to study the whole course or target weak areas. I studied the whole course but got a 46 on my first test. This was because I barely did any practice. They have tons of questions which feed into the data on the dashboard as you attempt questions. I just got a 49Q today after I took all 19 tests on the number properties chapter, whcih I consider the most critical for the test. I couldn't have done it without TTP, as most users call it. If you prefer to self-study, I cannot recommend this enough!!
Joined: Jun 12, 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 29, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Vaulted me to a 770!

June 9, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 700 After: 770

I started my GMAT journey last July, with the expectation of applying to schools in the fall of 2017. As a native English speaker who has always read a lot, I was able to hit the 90th to 95th percentile in Verbal consistently without studying, so I focused my study entirely on Quant. Given the weighting differential between Verbal and Quant, I really only had to get a ?decent? Quant score to reach the 720+ range I was targeting, which seemed perfectly achievable at the time given that math has never been a subject which I have struggled on.

My study process was well-thought out, and I was extremely diligent in my preparation. I used the MGMAT strategy guides, GMAT Hacks Total Math, and a variety of GMATclub resources to prepare. Completed all the questions in the OG Guide 2017 and OG Quant Review 2017 twice. Took all 6 MGMAT CATs and all 6 Official CATs multiple times. Detailed error logs of everything. And I studied A LOT. My first official exam was in October, on which I scored a 700 with a 42 Quant (47th percentile). Disappointed, I continued to study and took another crack in November, which resulted in another 700. Improved my Quant score slightly to 44 (54th percentile), but Verbal fell a bit. Thought ok a little more improvement and I?ll be alright, and scheduled another test for December. The third time was a heartbreaker ? I choked and halfway through the Quant section I knew I was toast, and thought about just walking out with the test unfinished. Another 700 with a Quant score of 42; my performance had declined after hours and hours of studying. Given my non-elite undergrad and work experience, a 700 wasn?t going to cut it for the schools I would consider (especially with such a terrible Q/V split), and I didn?t end up applying for the 2017 intake.

After doing some series reflecting on my performance and spending a lot of time mapping out an improvement strategy, I knew I needed some kind of prep course. Made quite the spreadsheet with information on all the different prep course options, cut this list down, and demoed the finalists. Ended up choosing Target Test Prep out of all of them, which I thought at the time was somewhat of a leap of faith as it is not one of the major players i.e. MGMAT, Veritas, Magoosh, Kaplan or the like.

The Target Test Prep course had a nice progression, forcing you to really master the fundamentals before moving on to some of the more advanced topics you would only see at higher levels. The lessons were great, and I picked up some stuff I did not learn from my prior studies. Thought the video explanations were surprisingly helpful as well, and the dashboard feature made it easy to identify where your weaknesses are and save questions for additional review. However, I think the real key for me was the massive amount of practice questions you were instructed to complete after each lesson. First, I thought they were very, very similar to actual GMAT questions (definitely more so than MGMAT) which helped to a degree. But most of all, doing a ton of questions focused on one specific topic at a time helped to drill concepts into my head and pickup on dumb mistakes I made too frequently, for example misreading the question or making errors on simple arithmetic. I compare it to math homework in high school; you would learn a lesson and then do an excruciating amount of problems that night to really master it. While the comparison to high school math homework might make you think ?yeah umm that Target Test Prep course . . . absolutely not? all I can say is that TARGET TEST PREP FREAKIN DELIVERED! Took the GMAT for a fourth time in May, and stood up and fistpumped (as quietly as possible) when I saw 770 flash over the screen. After spending countless hours studying with little to show for it, the Target Test Prep course propelled me from a Q42 to a Q49 and a 770 overall score. For anyone needing help with Quant, this is your course.
Joined: Apr 15, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 16, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Guaranteed 700

April 15, 2017
  • Teacher: Scott
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 700

Thank you to Target Test Prep for helping me get a 700. I recommend Target Test Prep not only for the course content, but also for the instructors. The course is designed to teach all content in a very digestible fashion to easily recognize different types of quant questions. With the timed practice problem sets for each section, I was able to master the content in a timed environment, translating nicely into the actual test. I can't speak highly enough of Scott, who was responsive, flexible on schedules, and fun to work with. Scott identified areas that I struggled with based off my practice sets, and pushed me to improve. Thank you to Target Test Prep!
Joined: Mar 12, 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 14, 2017
College: Duke University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep was exactly what I needed for quant

March 12, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: 760

5 STARS, HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND FOR QUANT!!

Before beginning TTP, I was at a point in my quant studying where I felt that I knew content well, but didn't really know where to focus or how to move from 60th percentile up to the 80s. TTP works so well because it allows you to drill specific types of problems over and over until you get the concept and then move on to the next. It completely turned around my quant prep. I cannot speak highly enough of the program!

The answer explanations and lessons are fantastic, very clear and easy to navigate. Fantastic interface and an absolute MUST for anybody trying to improve their quant score but feeling stuck.
Joined: Nov 20, 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 16, 2016
College: Boston College
Major: Economics
Industry: Venture Capital
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

44Q to 50Q with Target Test Prep

March 5, 2017
  • Teacher: Scott Woodbury
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I started using TTP a few months into my study and found the detailed lessons and tests helped me gain the edge I needed to get my quant score over the hump. After starting TTP I started consistently scoring 47+ on practice tests for quant, and ended up with a 50 on the real thing. I used it for 3 months and did almost every lesson and found so many tricks and tips that helped me complete the section faster. Highly recommend if you need to give your quant score a boost
Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 9 10 11 12 13