Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring

5 stars
(5/5) - 40 reviews
Joined: Jan 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Terrible at Math and My Score Improved By Over 100 Points in 3 Weeks

5 stars
January 2, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Brandon Pierpont
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I decided to apply to a JD/MBA program last minute and decided to use Veritas Prep to cram for the GMAT. I always thought that I was really bad at math and even worse at taking standardized tests. I worked with Brandon and my score improved by over 100 points in 3 weeks. I hadn't taken math in 6 years so we really had to start with the most basic concepts, and he was extremely patient and clear when explaining things to me. He was able to improve my score and most importantly my confidence in my ability to do math tremendously. The test taking strategies that Brandon taught me have helped me in school as well. I would recommend Brandon and Veritas Prep for the GMAT to anyone looking to improve their math and test taking skills in a short amount of time.

Joined: Oct 2013
Purchased Course: Aug 2013
College: Wake Forest University
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

GREAT Tutoring Service Thus Far! Progress Update To Follow...

5 stars
October 21, 2013
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - San Diego Marriott La Jolla 12 reviews
Teacher: Bill Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: N/A
Hey Guys -

You may have read my previous review of the Manhattan self-study guidebooks both here and at GMATClub.com, two of the most informative sites on the Web. The Manhattan books were great and helped me get a 670 (47Q/35V) my first time around. I'm shooting for a Top-10 program, however, so I don't feel this will be a good enough score. After undergoing a study abroad program with The London School of Economics (my chosen career is I-banking, leading into PE) and networking with professors, Masters and PhD candidates, as well as a couple Masters in Finance grads who have GREAT positions with some of the largest I-banks in the world, I realized I must do everything possible to shoot above the 700 mark (and hopefully score above 50 on Quant) to place myself in an optimum position to secure a great Masters or MBA degree.

That said, I decided to make the sizeable investment in the 38-hour private tutoring package with Veritas, essentially to provide myself with a "fresh look" since I delved into Manhattan's program and didn't want to overlap.

From the beginning, I felt great about the money I spent as soon as I met Bill Robinson, and thus far I'm quite pleased I decided to go with Veritas. He's a really good guy, VERY sharp (one of the more intelligent guys I've met in quite awhile, and considering I used to work with a few Harvard and Chicago MBAs, that says a lot), and his ability to relate and teach me the material is quite impressive. He's always on time for our lesson, and he's incredibly accommodating (I had to change up our meeting location a few times). He stays in constant contact with me and is always available over email or phone when I have questions (which I admit I have many, haha), and he understands precisely how I need to stay motivated.

I'm slated to sit for the exam in mid-November, so I'll certainly be providing you with updates on my progress. I feel great about heading into the one-month "home stretch" and I actually can't wait to take the test :)

Good luck to all of you.

Joined: Jan 2013
Purchased Course: Feb 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Great Resource

5 stars
March 22, 2013
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Malibu HQ 3 reviews
Teacher: Brian Galvin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The Veritas resources were very useful during my GMAT studying. I really enjoyed using the Veritas On Demand Course as it allowed me to be extremely flexible with my approach. The On-Demand videos allowed me to dive right in to the lesson plans at my office when I was done with work and at my desk at home when I got burnt out from studying on my own. The instructors used modern day examples and lesson plans that will actually resonate with the majority of the people taking this test. This unique approach made me feel like I had to remember less for the test and trust my instincts more.

The videos are balanced between teaching GMAT principles and allowing the student to learn by doing with sample problems listed on the screen. If you need more practice problems to help supplement what you learned in the lessons, Veritas' skillbuilder sections in their books provide a sufficient amount of problems to help you fine tune your approach to all types of GMAT problems. I am a firm believer that repetition will help you beat this test, and Vertias provides you all the tools to help the diligent student succeed come test day..

Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 2011
College: India
Major: Science and Math
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT Review course

5 stars
March 1, 2013
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott West Loop - Galleria 15 reviews
Teacher: Mark Alan Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 680
Veritas Prep has an excellent course syllabus and material and Mark did a great job in highlighting how to think and approach the test. The results were great and I got into the school of my choice for an eMBA program

Joined: Feb 2013
Purchased Course: Nov 2012
College: United States Military Academy at West Point
Major: Sociology
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Data Sufficiency = Princess Bride poison scene

5 stars
February 9, 2013
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 690
Ethan took me from a 610 to a 690.

I have learned from Ethan both in a group and one-on-one setting, and in both he is phenomenal. If you want an instructor who adjusts based off of your learning style, reinforces both the technical and strategic sides of the GMAT while keeping the material engaging, he's your man.

Ethan turns the cold, pragmatic GMAT into a humorous foe by using examples from life and film. After working with Ethan, you won't be able to watch The Princess Bride without thinking of Data Sufficiency... and that's not a bad thing.

I went from being nervous and self-questioning on my first test to relaxed, optimistic, and (I didn't expect to say this) EXCITED on my final test day.
I strongly recommend working with Ethan, especially if you are in the Seattle/Tacoma area.


Joined: May 2012
Purchased Course: Oct 2011
College: Marian University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Retail/Wholesale and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

heck yeah!!!

5 stars
May 18, 2012
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - U. Chicago Gleacher Center 37 reviews
Teacher: Kevin Richardson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 570
this was a very comprehensive review that head me prepared for every aspect of the test plus the private tutor was immensely helpful/motivational for getting my score.

Joined: May 2012
Purchased Course: Dec 2011
Verified Real Student Review

120 Points in a month! Thank You Veritas Prep.

5 stars
May 15, 2012
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - U. Chicago Gleacher Center 37 reviews
Teacher: Kevin Richardson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 550   After: 670
I recommend the tutoring service of Veritas Prep. I had Kevin Richardson as my tutor. With his help, I raised my GMAT score by 120 points within a month! I took the regular Veritas course about 1.5 years ago, but did not take the GMAT right after the course. After 1.5 years, my skills became rusty, and that resulted in a disappointing score. Kevin helped me by analyzing my skill-set and pointing out my fortes and my weaknesses.

He then customized his teaching methods per my needs and built up my confidence along the way. After being burned by the low score, it was important to have Kevin providing me with tips for each section and helping me to regain my confidence. His teaching is easy to understand and right to the point. For anyone considering a GMAT tutoring service, I would definitely recommend Kevin.

Joined: May 2008
Purchased Course: Oct 2011
College: Morehouse College
Major: Accounting
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Over a 100 point increase in just 7 private tutoring sessions

5 stars
April 14, 2012
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Brian Prestia
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I hired Brian Prestia as a private tutor through the Veritas Prep Program. Brian was able to efficiently guide me through the rigors of the verbal and quant focused GMAT exam. Brian was able to effectively explain to me the content that I was going to be tested on during the GMAT. Brian was also able to explain to me that the GMAT is not just a content focused exam but it is also an exam that tests logic. With the combination of hard work and Brian's guidance, I was able to raise my score by 130 points! I would highly recommend Brian as a tutor/class instructor.

jmr
Joined: Jan 2012
Purchased Course: Apr 2011
College: Cornell University
Major: Hospitality Management
Industry: Retailing/Wholesaling
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing tutoring experience with Brian Prestia.

5 stars
January 3, 2012
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Brian Prestia
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
The GMAT was one of the most challenging tests I’ve ever faced; however, the knowledge and support that I received from Brian gave me the confidence and the tools to tackle the test. Brian helped me identify what my obstacles were regarding the test and he helped me develop a plan to overcome them. He worked through many different scenarios with me that I might potentially face on test day so that I felt prepared and so that nothing could throw me off my course. Brian was patient with me and explained different solutions to me as many times as needed. If I didn’t understand something, he explained it in a different way and tried to make things relevant to my life.

Brian had the most positive and cheerful disposition every time we met. His attitude made studying for the test feel manageable. I actually looked forward to our meetings because Brian’s approach and advice calmed my nerves. Most importantly, Brian gave me the confidence in myself to walk into the test with a clear mind and a positive attitude knowing that I had all the tools I needed to succeed.

Joined: Jan 2011
Purchased Course: Nov 2011
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Just what I needed

5 stars
November 9, 2011
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Brian Prestia
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 700
First, I took the Veritas 1-week immersion course – the course was great, gave me the fundamentals, and then I did about a month of studying on my own. Took the GMAT, scored a 610 (45Q/29V). Studied nothing but verbal and took the test a month later, scored a 610 (47Q/28V). Yes, I was puzzled too. Studied for 2 months with tutoring from Brian Prestia of Veritas, scored 700 (47Q/40V). I think my progression speaks for itself and what Brian’s help did for me, but let me tell you what really worked.



Clearly, I wasn’t approaching the verbal section the right way. First off, Brian really helped me adjust my whole verbal strategy and approach. He helped me analyze my strengths and weaknesses for each type of questions, so that during the test I could spend more time on what I was good at and not get bogged down on questions that cause me trouble and that I waste time on (e.g., inference questions). This really improved my timing and sense of focus on the verbal section. I already had read several books and tips from fellow board members, but there is something about Brian’s coaching that really tweaked my whole verbal strategy.



Secondly, Brian really helped me with understanding the necessary verbal content and rules that would ultimately lead me to the right answer (what really matters). Starting with SC, Brian pointed out the GMAT traps I was simply missing, enabling me to answer the questions more quickly and accurately. On critical reasoning he gave me this visual approach that helped me focus on the missing assumption and that didn’t allow me to dawdle on these questions (which was actually a bigger problem than I realized). Finally, on reading comp, he really helped me identify my strengths (main topic) and weaknesses (inference) and gave me a whole different approach to how I read passages.



All in, Brian’s tutoring really helped. But as most people point out, there is no magic bullet here – you still have to put in the work. My only regret is that I didn’t study more quant with him, as I’m quite certain he would have helped me lift my score there. I highly recommend Brian as a tutor.